Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

State University of New York at New Paltz Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is good for students who are not vegetarian/vegan and who don't have mobility impairment. I would also assume it's good for science/math students because it is necessary for those subjects to be extremely structured unlike art.

    Tips for prospective students

    Regarding School of Liberal Arts and Sciences: Though most people don't know this, at New Paltz is possible to make up your own major. For example, I was originally a spanish major with an Italian minor and I wanted to study french so I created a Contract Major in Romance Languages. Your adviser may try and steer you away from doing this but don't let them put you down. If you decide to create your own major in what ever subject you choose, I would suggest working with the Associate Dean Dr. Lynn Spangler; she's very supportive. Regarding School of Fine and Performing Art: New Paltz is a seeming liberal town/university with a very big art program. One would think it's a great place for art students who are on a budget and don't want to give up a liberal arts education, but it really depends on what your goals are. Take the Painting Department for instance: very strict, very difficult to get into the BFA painting program(limited studio space), bad attitudes toward illustrative work, work is almost exclusively done in oil. Basically, don't come here if you have thoughts in the back of your head of eventually becoming an illustrator, because it won't fly here. There's only one water color class, and it doesn't teach control of the medium, again-big focus on oil. The good thing is if you get into the BFA program for painting you get your own studio space which is extremely rare especially for undergraduate school. If you're interested in Metals: while visiting the school faculty may lead you to think that though uncommon, students are able to work on a large scale as opposed to jewelry-don't buy it. Furthermore, the BFA program is not very interdisciplinary at all. You choose one art form and pretty much stick with it. It is also nearly impossible to get a BFA in four years, especially if you have other majors/minors. As far as art history goes, don't plan on being an Art History major if your interested in art other than European, Greek, Roman and American art. there is an extremely limited number of art history courses offered in subjects other than these, but they are very flexible with transferring other courses from study abroad etc. Regarding Campus Life: If you have mobility impairment I would not suggest coming to New Paltz. I live in Capen, an accessible dorm: there is no elevator and the kitchen is on the 3rd floor. Hasbrouck Dining Hall is no better: If you use a wheelchair you need to use the backdoor entrance and take an extra long trip to get there(there are stairs leading to the front door of the dining hall and then there is another set of stairs from the entrance upstairs to get to the food). Downstairs from Hasbrouck there is a food court that is open late at night. In order to get inside with a wheel chair you need to go through the back entrance/through the kitchen which ironically has the most nauseating odor. In addition, during the winter, the maintenance crew does a terrible job clearing ice on the walk ways on campus, which makes it very easy to slip and fall/ have your wheel chair go out of control. There is a Disability Resource Center on campus but they only do so much.

    Bang for the buck

    I know New Paltz is a state university and is cheaper than private schools, but including books (and if your an art major, art materials), living money, fees, etc it comes out to nearly 20,000/year: so I expect to get a good education from this place... Unfortunately it's rare to get a professor who really knows how to teach. Sometimes i wonder why I am paying my professor's salaries when they have not taught me one thing the entire semester. This especially goes for a few professors in the Italian and Spanish Departments. Campus food is extremely overpriced. It is mandatory to have a meal plan if you live on campus. The food is absolutely repulsive and not at all nutritious--if your a vegetarian/vegan you will probably become anemic(I speak from experience).

    Am enjoying being here

    I am pretty indifferent about attending this school. I do not like living in the dorm though- it's dirty and loud, and the professors aren't the best. What I do like about the school is its proximity to the mountains. There are a lot of State Parks and there are a lot of very beautiful places to swim and hike when it's warm. I like that it's away from the city, but at the same time it takes very little effort to get there. I also like having the great study abroad opportunities.

    Am learning a lot

    The statement I am learning a lot at SUNY New Paltz is really a hit or miss depending on who your professor is. I have learned a lot from some professors, but I truly feel that other courses were an utter waste of time. If you suspect your professor doesn't know what they are doing after a few days of class, I suggest dropping it right away and adding a different one.

  • 02/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    New Paltz is great if you are not a transfer student. I have to drive 40 minutes every morning because they don't offer any campus housing for us. The commute also makes it much easier to miss class when things like blizzards come in to play. New Paltz seems to not care about it's transfer students.

    Tips for prospective students

    My suggestion is that if you plan on being a transfer student, apply early and MAYBE you can get a dorm, if that is what you wish to do. Also, make sure you go into orientation knowing what you need to take for the most part. As far as freshman go, I think you will have a very good time if you can live on or close to campus.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY New Paltz was rated 36th out of 100 on Kiplinger's BEST VALUE schools. You will get everything you pay for. State schools will always be cheaper than private schools and they are definitely a good way to go, considering you still get a stellar education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying New Paltz, for the most part. However, being a transfer student is a very unpleasant experience. First of all, there is no on campus housing if you transfer from another school. You have to find your own apartment or commute from home if you live close enough. Second, making my schedule at orientation was a nightmare. The majority of the classes had filled and there was no one on one advising. It was hard to know exactly what you needed to take, and even if you did know, the class probably was full. They were able to put me in some full classes, but they will not do that for certain courses, such as Psychology courses. Also, parking for commuters is much further than parking for residents and faculty/staff. The people here are very friendly, and there is a 2:1 ratio of residents to commuters, so fitting in is not extremely hard. The professors and staff are also very helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    This is my first semester at New Paltz and I do feel like I am learning a lot. It's a liberal arts college, so there is a great variety of choices of classes to suit you. My professors are all very intelligent and have great styles of teaching, so it's not just sitting in a lecture an hour every day. For my art class we actually take field trips to local museums. There is a lot of hand on work, not just listening to a lecture, which, in my opinion, makes for a better learning experience.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is extremely safe. There is very little to worry about at any time of day or night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Two thumbs up for club and student organization activities. Join a student organization if you can! It will be very enriching.

    Great for these types of students

    New Paltz is great for open and friendly people. There are people of every race, ethincity, sexuality and spirituality here. Its a great place to melt in the pot!

    Bang for the buck

    You can get whatever experience you want out of college. For that reason, I say that New Paltz is a very worth the experience.

    What to do for fun

    Yoga classes are really great to take it your free time! Also exploring the town, or the mountains and rivers is really fun. Definitely take hikes, go rock climbing, and swim in the lakes (not the wallkill river)!

    Food and Dining

    The on-campus food is not ideal, but that is coming from some who is vegan that prefers organic and local food. If you enjoy fried junk food, on-campus food is the way to go. However, they do have some vegan/ vegetarian friendly options. The off campus food is great and there are many different options.

    Dorm Life

    If you enjoy cooking and living in a unsupervised environment, dorm life is not ideal. However, living on campus can be a safe and comfortable experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher, a class could either be really hard or really easy. On average, the professors are engaging and the workload is not too intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a student organization to stay involved and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    New Paltz is an open and diverse community that is ripe with opportunity. The campus is beautiful and there are many great student organizations, which can help you to meet like-minded people. Its academics are average, although there are some really amazing professors here!

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    New Paltz town cops and Campus Police are literally everywhere. Drugs busts are a normal occurrence, and you can witness a student getting pulled over at least two to three times a week. If you are scared of walking back to your dorm alone at night, there are emergency blue light stations scattered all throughout campus, as well as a number you can call for assistance and company on your return home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Zombies VS. Humans is probably one of the weirdest things happening around campus. Expect at various times to be walking back from class and suddenly find yourself within a whirlwind of bandana-cladded students and flying nerf gun pellets.

    What to do for fun

    It is very, VERY difficult to have a good time here if you are not 21 or over, or if you do no posses a fake ID. Bars are the source of campus night life in New Paltz, with Greek life coming in second. House and fraternity parties never really extend past midnight, and cops are constantly raiding the bars. It is almost stressful to go out and enjoy a typical college experience. On campus activities are mundane and childish. Events like make your own rock pet and decorate a pimp cup are laughable, but often times that is a student's only option. There are many clubs and sports to get involved in; it's really just up to your drive and preference. For example, the acapella singing groups around campus are really fun and put on enjoyable weekend shows. These are a nice change of pace in comparison to a night of drinking. When it is nice out in New Paltz, the town is pretty good to walk around and hang out in. Practically every dining establishment on Main Street is incredibly delicious and well-priced. There are a few parks to relax in as well. However, if you want to explore the Rail Trail or the impressive hiking locations around New Paltz and the surrounding cars, they may not be accessible unless you have a car or bike.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is generally atrocious, and the meal plans do not provide enough options to be nutritionally healthy. There is Hasbrouck, the main and only dining hall, which many students despise. Hasbrouck does provide a constant supply of seasonal fruits and vegetables, which is awesome, but on weekends there is usually an insufficient quantity. Certain days may provide specialized pasta stations, make-your-own-taco nights, and other enjoyable meals. Outside of Hasbrouck are several on-campus fast food institutions that accept dining dollars. Students should expect subs, quesidillas, and other carb-packed meals that will certainly expand your waist size. The sushi bar, however, is surprisingly good and not overly expensive. Jazzman's and other quick coffee cafes are generally reliable and allow students to grab quick meals in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    The campus is extremely overcrowded. Most dorms house 3 students when they can hardly contain 2. The dorms are old and quite dirty as well, and I have heard rumors of PCBs (dangerous chemicals) that circulate throughout the air in a few of the dorms. One weekend, a girl threw up in a bucket in a bathroom, and the janitors did not touch it for over a week, causing an entire floor to lose their bathroom privileges. Parking is scarce for dorms as well. There are two newer dorms on the south side of the campus that provide larger rooms and air conditioning, but they are socially isolated and quite a distance away from the main academic buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, I feel as though I am not challenged enough in my academic classes. For a public school that boasts a low acceptance rate and top-notch academics, it merely disappoints. Professors are usually great with communication, but many of them seem to lack the initiative to really push their students. In one of my classes, I received a perfect score on every single paper I wrote, with the professor only writing one general comment on the first page. Rather than feeling accomplished, I felt mislead; the work seemed pointless. However, it really is up to you to obtain the education you desire. If you ask a professor for extra help or to review your work, the majority are glad to do so. As for my art classes, the professors are very much enthused and give great feedback. It's more of my fellow art classmates that lack inspiration/motivation.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student looking for a decent education at a rather fair price, then New Paltz may be for you. The college accepts most, if not all of your Advanced Placement credits from high school. This is extremely beneficial in getting your general education requirements out of the way, and could possibly allow you to graduate early. If you are a Communications Disorders or Metals major, I would especially suggest going here because the facilities surrounding these fields are incredible and harbor a wonderful staff. If you are incredibly career driven, you may want to go to a more reputable school in a more career-centered area, such as New York City. Internships around New Paltz are not overwhelmingly influential. I made the mistake of choosing New Paltz because of it's low acceptance rate. I wanted to be surrounded by inspirational, determined, and intelligent classmates. In reality, I met a large number lot of not-so-bright, disinterested students.

    In three sentences

    SUNY New Paltz is a decent, medium-sized school with an overall friendly and creative atmosphere. However, much of the faculty and student body seem to lack motivation for educational success, and the small-town environment does not provide much room for occupation-prepping experiences.

  • 12/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, social, liberal, and hardworking

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, have fun once in a while, and be open to new opportunities and people.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY New Paltz is a state university. So it is more afforable than private universities. New Paltz has many organizations and programs that help students, especially first year students, manage with college life.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy being in New Paltz. The people are very kind. The town is quiet and peaceful. Its much different from what I am use to, being from the city.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot from this school. In high school I did not study much and got good grades. In college I have had to change my routine. Now I have to study.

  • 12/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anybody, I have met all types of people here. Anyone you can or cannot categorize is here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit us! There are great tours, and if you apply and get accepted there is an accepted students tour in April (which I attended last year and where I fell in love with the school).

    Bang for the buck

    I took a lot of college courses while in high school and new paltz took all of them, so that is saving me a lot. It is a SUNY so its priced about the same as the rest of them I do believe. College is still expensive no matter where you go so if you're going to go SUNY check out New Paltz!

    Am enjoying being here

    The town is great (during the day, at night if you aren't 21 the bars aren't where you're going to go). The people here are nice, its a liberal art school.

    Am learning a lot

    I love the professors I have gotten, I believe that I have learned a lot in my first semester here.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are emergency phones all over campus.

    Greek Life

    exciting.

    Clubs and Activities

    the list is endless.

    Great for these types of students

    all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    wing night at mcguillicuddys.

    Bang for the buck

    there are always specials at different places.

    What to do for fun

    take a hike in the mountains. go to town and see an open mic performance.

    Food and Dining

    variety of options.

    Dorm Life

    lots of activities.

    Academic Rigor

    a good amount of hours per week doing work.

    Tips for prospective students

    enjoy every moment. get involved.

    In three sentences

    suny new paltz was interesting and exciting. the teachers were helpful and imformative. the student body was diverse and friendly.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They seem to do a good job but once in a while you hear of a crazy story.

    Greek Life

    School hates it, but it made my entire experience.

    Great for these types of students

    Hippies.

    Bang for the buck

    Food is overpriced, and living on campus is much more expensive than living off.

    What to do for fun

    Go into town, plenty of places to eat and shop. Bars are fun.

    Food and Dining

    Hasbrouck is awful, the SUB is very good especially with all the recent changes they have made. Shouldn't be forced to eat at Hasbrouck so much as freshman though.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are decent but some RAs are too strict while others are super lenient.

    Academic Rigor

    It varies depending on teacher so much that it can't even be rated properly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers, don't declare majors right away, move off campus and save money!

    In three sentences

    Making unnecessary changes which don't benefit current students. Lots of fun off campus in town. Decent school but some teachers should not be teaching.

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    New Paltz has a mellow atmosphere to the extent where some classes are taken outside on warmer days. This school is ideal for students looking to go into the Arts. The town is only a short walking distance and the area nearby provide lots of outdoor activities such as snowboarding and hiking trails.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's good. It's a state school and it's really good for out-of-state students... it has been nationally recognized for its value. Tuition-wise, it's great. However, they raise prices of room and board without warning which is incredibly unfair.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a pleasant area and a pleasant campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel as if I were more challenged in high school than here in college. For many majors, classes are offered in a specific sequence, making it hard to rearrange things and take a wide variety of courses.

  • 07/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is for students who are still deciding on what they want to do. It is also a school for students who already know too. It is also for students who like nature because there are a lot of beautiful scenic places. Basically it is a school suited for anyone and everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school may be confusing at first, but what campus isn't. The people are extremely friendly and outgoing. You don't have to worry if you don't have a major in mind yet, because most students don't. Many change their major at least once during their college career.

    Bang for the buck

    For what we pay, I would like to get more out of it but seeing that tuition is rising in all colleges, it seems fair. The cost of the food and the things sold at the book store are fairly priced.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small which makes it easier to meet people. It's very cozy side of campus and the town outside is so cute. I have grown to love the campus and the people.

    Am learning a lot

    Since New Paltz is a liberal art school, there are so many different subjects and things you can learn here. New Paltz offers many classes and students are free to take whatever they want to.

  • 10/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    artsy, hippy, non-homophobic, and even if you are not this kind of kid, after a year here, you will be a total hippy.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you look well rounded and write a kick-ass essay. join clubs, do sports, get an internship or take college credits while in high school, do things that make you stand out an a good college candidate

    Bang for the buck

    prices keep increasing on tuition but it is still a SUNY and you get a great education

    Am enjoying being here

    so much better than SUNY Oneonta!!! I live off campus and i love where i live and my friends here but school is sometimes a terror to go through

    Am learning a lot

    depending on the teacher and the effort you put it, is what you get out of it. i have had teachers i loved but more often than not, it is a struggle to go to classes. some you learn more than others

  • 11/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who can effectively manage their studying time. Those who are not so into sports and athletics (since it isn't a big part of the campus, but it is definitely there).

    Tips for prospective students

    Freshman year is a very important time to start getting involved. I made the mistake of not joining many clubs or venturing to see what the school has to offer. There are so many student organizations that they definitely have something for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Room and board is a little expensive, but you almost have to expect that from any school. If in state the overall tuition isn't horrible, but if out of state if will do damage in the money area.

    Am enjoying being here

    The town is very enjoyable. There is a lot to do if you own a car or have another mode of transportation. Personally, I don't have a car and the town and the areas within walking distance can become boring very quickly.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes that are offered here are definitely different from your basic high school classes. They allow students to really explore topics they may have never heard of before. The professors I have encountered so far are pretty knowledgeable in their fields and from my experience many hold PhD's which is a positive thing.

  • 12/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The campus is such a great place for students who are somewhat artistic, whether through music or painting, photography, or just sitting outside and enjoying the outdoors. The school may not be for everyone, but it is a great choice for those interested in majoring in Art, Education, Engineering, etc. There are many clubs and organizations at SUNY New Paltz, including a sexual orientation equality club, and the campus community takes the principle of diversity very seriously, there are students of nearly every ethnic background and language here. There can be health benefits at New Paltz? Yes! If the student has a breathing problem, such as Reactive Airway Disease or Asthma, the air near the mountains helps relieve the coughing fits, I hardly need to use my inhalers now. Never fear of the freshman 15, as every first year will be walking, jogging, skateboarding, biking, or roller blading everywhere, and there is a HUGE extremely equipped gym on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    A female first-year's top most needed items for college: a printer, sunglasses, rain boots, umbrella, a well stocked first aid kit, and hand sanitizer. A printer should be in your room, simply because at 11pm you want the luxury to print an assignment off of Blackboard Learn, and not walk across the dark campus to the [possibly closed] library. And each student,or room, should have a First Aid kit, with some Pepto Bismol, for the first two weeks of transitioning from great home-cooked food to what is served in Hasbrouck Dining Hall. Trust my roommate and I, the Pepto Bismol and medical gloves will be needed, especially when one of you gets sick in the room. Bring some spending money, for those weekends where you don't feel like eating the small selection of food served only on the weekends in the dining hall.

    Bang for the buck

    I love the pricing of the tuition, but the textbook costs are making my wallet cry. Some professors, especially for lab courses (mainly in the sciences) require the newest, most expensive textbooks. As long as the student has enough water, snacks, and cold-cuts in the room, they are set for dorm life. The town of New Paltz has a UCAT LOOP bus, free for New Paltz students with a valid ID card. This bus is so wonderful, it drops you off near the grocery stores, by the banks, pharmacies, etc.

    Am enjoying being here

    I currently live in Gage Hall, and it is such a nice building, with TWO laundry rooms, and elevator, and multiple lounges. The town is so close, and there is a Starbucks Coffee shop around the corner from the academic buildings. Certain dorm halls should be a last choice for most normal, non-partying freshmen, or first-years as SUNY New Paltz calls us. The halls ought to be last choice because of the odors or extremely small laundry rooms, like Shango or Scudder. When looking for a building to live in, check the campus maps! This should heavily impact your choice, consider if you want to be able to run to class in 5 minutes, or would you like to be near Hasbrouck Dining Hall?

    Am learning a lot

    Here at New Paltz, there are definitely teachers you can either learn tons from or nothing from. We are taught using SmartBoard technology, and online with Blackboard Learn. In my first year, and first semester, at New Paltz we got hit with Hurricane Irene. The mail room, administration, and book store buildings had their basements flooded--we could not access them for more than one week. The flooding caused the campus' Wi-Fi and Internet to fail, and the dorms were without cable. Our classes were cancelled for 3-4 days, simply because the professors could not teach off of the Internet. Though the professors teach off the Internet, the majority of them do a great job maneuvering on the Smart Boards and on the new technology, though the older professors have some issues.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police is pretty good. never been any serious problems on campus, and if there have, campus police has been there to stop it.

    Greek Life

    some frats and sororities, but they're mostly unaccredited.

    Clubs and Activities

    some clubs are great, but many are inclusive and tough to fit in to.

    Great for these types of students

    hippies and hipsters. seriously, people who go to new paltz generally were meant to be born in the 60's.

    Bang for the buck

    better priced than most schools, but i think it's still a little pricey for what they offer.

    What to do for fun

    there is virtually nothing to do in the town of new paltz. the town consists of a few restaurants, some head shops and that's about it. there is the new paltz loop that can take you into town, but again there's almost nothing to do. the closest mall is over 30 minutes away, and it's a ghost town almost all the time. unless you're a big partier, you're kind of out of options. the only other thing i would recommend are some clubs. i really enjoy dumbledore's army (the on campus harry potter fan club) and miami theatre players that do shows available to anyone.

    Food and Dining

    as a first semester freshman, you are only allowed to have a hasbrouck only dining plan. as nice as it is to have unlimited meals, the dining hall gets old quickly. the food is not bad, but after a while, you just want something else. there are quite a few on campus options that are not hasbrouck, but you'll have to use hawk dollars or your $50 dining dollars. the food on campus other than the dining hall is surprisingly great! the other cool thing about your hawk dollars is that there are buisnesses around town that will take hawk dollars as payment (ie subway or la bella pizzeria).

    Dorm Life

    dorms are alright, not the worst i've seen, but they are fairly dirty, even after they've been cleaned. god help you if you live in a triple. not only is it one extra person to deal with, but when there are 3 desks, 3 dressers and 2 closets in a room that is meant two, it's really crowded and it gets old fast.

    Academic Rigor

    the gen ed's are exactly what they say they are, general. they are tailored for all grade levels, so they aren't horribly challenging. classes can also be slightly harder or easier based on your professor. not the most academically challenging school.

    Tips for prospective students

    look at the course catalog! i can't stress enough how important it is for you to really make sure that the school you choose (new paltz or otherwise) has your major and enough classes in that major to keep you there. i made that mistake.

    In three sentences

    extremely rural surroundings, with little to do around town. huge party school with lots of smoking, drinking and drugs. not receommended for potential theatre students- not a strong program, and unpleasant people and professors; good for general education though.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i saw blue lights, it's a nice town. it seemed pretty safe. i saw lots of police cars driving around both times i visited.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a ton of clubs, and if there isnt one youre interested in, you can start one pretty easily as long as you have other people who are interested.

    Bang for the buck

    i heard it was ranked among the top 100 best value colleges by the princeton review or something of that nature

    Food and Dining

    i ate in the dining hall, there was nothing wrong with the food. there are a lot of options, and there are also a lot of food options in town.

    Dorm Life

    the suite i visited looked pretty nice, there was a living room- like lounge with 4 doors leading into the 4 rooms. they were normal dorm rooms, nothing special. there is free cable and you cant have a microwave. you have to rent a micro-fridge from the school, which is basically just a microwave bolted to the top of a mini-fridge. the bathroom was also stemmed off the lounge area, and had 3 sinks, a shower stall, and two bathroom stalls. the girls living there told me that it gets cleaned once a month.

    Academic Rigor

    i was told it was good, it is a pretty selective school.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit!! i've been there twice, its a beautiful area :d

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    new paltz is a very safe campus, there are blue lights set up every few feet with a telephone inside in case of emergency. there is an escort service available as well if you do not feel comfortable. the police station is located right on campus and they are very helpful.

    Greek Life

    there are many sororities and fraternities at new paltz each containing unique qualities. there is a jewish fraternity that hosts events and fundraisers. there are many types of sororities and fraternities depending on what one is looking for, ranging from academic to religious.

    Clubs and Activities

    this has to be new paltz's strongest point. there is an extensive amount of clubs ranging from crochet/knitting to fencing. there are many activities offered through the gym such as skiing, rock climbing, ice climbing, trapeze, and the list goes on.

    Great for these types of students

    its great for students of all walks of life. new paltz offers a great study abroad program so if you are itching for an adventure you should go abroad from new paltz. specifically, new paltz has a strong artistic community with many talented artists, poets, and musicians.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    new paltz has annual festivals such as rock against racism where crafters sell their crafts on the quad of the school while musicians play on a stage. there is also a big musical performance at night which has very popular musicians, for example last year the rapper nas preformed. also the regional poetry slam is held at new paltz and its a great competition of listening to people pour their hearts out.

    Bang for the buck

    while the tuition rises it becomes difficult for people to attend state collages, however if one is going to spend any kind of money they should choose new paltz. i was having trouble paying for school so i took out student loans. even though the tuition is high i would not choose another college.

    What to do for fun

    there are always events occurring on and off campus, it is almost impossible to not find something going on. new paltz is known for our regional poetry slams, musical performances and there is also an art gallery on campus. the gym offers great classes such as yoga and belly dancing and they are free for students to attend as much as they would like.

    Food and Dining

    there are 3 meal plans that students can choose from, and they depend on which dining place one prefers to eat at. hasbrouck dining hall offers an all you can eat buffet-style cuisine and a small vegetarian/vegan section. the sub has many options for different cuisines ranging from sushi to mexican.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is a great way to meet others and become involved. the ras in each building put great effort into letting students know of upcoming events. ras are normally very nice and are always helpful, you can go talk to them at any point in the day or the week.

    Academic Rigor

    as an art major i feel the faculty at new paltz will work with students one-on-one for optimal understanding. if a student if confused or unsure, there is always the option of going to office hours that all teachers provide. there are many classes to choose from in each major, and with my personal experience i feel that i am receiving the best education i can.

    Tips for prospective students

    become involved in the many activities new paltz offers. there is an extensive range of clubs offered with people welcoming you to try them all. new paltz really knows how to make people feel comfortable.

    In three sentences

    the state university of new york at new paltz has a welcoming environment and its students and faculty are truly unique. i feel that teachers take time out of their schedules specifically for helping students. the culture the school embraces is friendly and there are opportunities for everyone to become involved and meet others.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe, campus police is very helpful and emergency phones are widely available on campus. also taxi services are available for students who don't feel safe walking late at night

    Clubs and Activities

    new paltz has a diversity of clubs to meet everybody's needs and it is easy for students to start their own clubs if the wish.

    Great for these types of students

    liberals, environmentalist, gypsies, new paltz is also great for students who are into nature hikes and mountain climbing. lots of farms in the area so seasonal fruits like apples and strawberries can be bought literally farm fresh at fair prices.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the clock tower is automated, the business building is very far away from most of the other buildings on campus but, there is a park across from it that is great for relaxing during warm weather. the school also has annual concerts with stars like gym class heroes, nas, and wale that are free for students. the view of the mohonk mountains is amazing from the 10th floor of the jft.

    What to do for fun

    its a party every night, frequent mountain trips are offered year long. in the fall there's apple picking and strawberries in the summer time. ultimate frisbee and handball clubs. movie theater

    Food and Dining

    food on campus is good and diverse except in hasbrouck dining hall. freshmen have a mandatory hasbrouck meal plan for the first semester. but improvements are in the works for hasbrouck and alternative meal plans for first semester freshmen.

    Dorm Life

    off-campus student, but from my friends who live on campus i've heard that its best to choose suite style dorms because the bathrooms are cleaner. there aren't any curfews for the dorms and residence are allowed to have overnight guest as long as they check them in.

    Academic Rigor

    you get what you put in. if you study hard and put in the time and effort required to get an a you'll get it. some professors might seem very easy at first but they know what they what and expect it from you, even if they don't say it. so once again office hours are you friend!

    Tips for prospective students

    come with an open mind. don't be afraid of your professors, they are there to help and have office hours for a reason. bring your sense of adventure, you can always discover something new and interesting at new paltz.

    In three sentences

    new paltz is frequently ranked as one of the best small state universities in the country. it boasts a highly trained intellectual faculty with many years of experience in their fields. the neighboring community is very friendly and open to people from a diversity of backgrounds.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus

    Greek Life

    Greek life is there but not in your face

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of activities to chose from

    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters...or anyone really

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a pond with duckies!

    Bang for the buck

    They offer scholarships and programs to help pay for the tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Go to town! Go climb the mountain! Go swim in waterfalls! Dance, party, go to bars, stay on campus...there's so much to do!

    Food and Dining

    Dining is okay, but i've compared it with other SUNY's and it's one of the best.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are great, people are friendly and nice and the RA's always have fun programs.

    Academic Rigor

    They definitely have a great reputation for business, art, education and liberal arts. But every major is great here.

    Tips for prospective students

    GO HERE! It's cheap, beautiful, the town is lively, academics are great and it's fun.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love New Paltz. It is warm and inviting. The school is awesome in every single way.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many places that are dark and creepy, especially by the south side dorms (Esopus and Lenape) since they are right by the woods. The campus police aren't around too much, but I guess they come around when you need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs on campus, there's a club for everybody.

    Great for these types of students

    Art lovers, education majors, diverse, unique people.

    What to do for fun

    There are a bunch of bars in town, it's fun for upperclassman. For freshman, there are a bunch of programs and fun lectures on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are different food places on campus. Freshman have an unlimited meal plan that grants them access to Hasbrouck Dining Hall as many times a day as they please.

    Dorm Life

    With 13 dorms to choose from, it's fun to go room-shopping and see where one wants to live.

    In three sentences

    It's a diverse school, full of all kinds of people. The professors are generally concerned about their students' academics and well-being. Set in a small town, New Paltz is good school for students who want a quality education.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We've had some scares on campus but many of them have been handled properly.

    Greek Life

    New Paltz has several fraternities and sororities to choose from, although Greek Life is not my thing, most of my close friends are members and they are all awesome people!

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm a member of Cheerleading and I absolutely love my team. New Paltz also has so many other clubs, club sports, and organizations to consider.

    Great for these types of students

    Artists, jocks, prospective fraternity and sorority members, hipsters, hippies, and anyone who's just willing to be themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the beginning of the year and towards the end of the year campus holds so many different barbeques to celebrate its students as well as the nice weather. We also have performances from people such as Nas and Wale.

    Bang for the buck

    The town is just awesome! Everyone here is nice and very open. Everyone is also unique in their own way and people are very unlikely to judge you.

    What to do for fun

    Town is always a hot place to be at night. During the day I spend my time lounging on the quad or at the gym either working or working out. The gym is always a great place to meet people and make friends! I'm also a member of the cheerleading team. Go Hawks!

    Food and Dining

    Most people on campus dread Hasbrouck Dining Hall, but personally I love it. It is a buffet with so many choices. The Sub is okay, but the food is kind of fattening. I love Oscars but once again you have to make healthy choices to stay healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay as long you get the right RAs and RDs. Some of them are unjust. Dubois and Gage are definitely the best halls to live in!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are pretty hard, but as long as you put the time in you will have no problem succeeding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind and an open mouth. Don't be afraid to speak out for what you believe in. With hard work, dedication, and good time management skills you can handle being part of an organization, working part-time, having fun, and still getting a high GPA.

    In three sentences

    New Paltz is an excellent environment for diverse students. Everyone here is unique in their own way, which I love. Each group of friends is like its own Breakfast Club, where the strangest people just mesh and form lasting friendships.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The artsy, musical, and overall creative types!

    Bang for the buck

    New Paltz has to be one of the best SUNY schools out there!

    What to do for fun

    There are some events on campus at the Terrace and Student Union Building. Joining Intramural sports was also a great time. Mostly students tend to go off campus and into town for fun. The Rail Trail and Mohonk are a must explore!

    Food and Dining

    I know that college dining is not meant to be anything special but I personally have trouble with food on campus. I'm a vegetarian and I'm picky so I may not be the best person to judge on this issue.

    Dorm Life

    My first experience in the dorm buildings was not all too welcoming. I ended up in the athletes dorms with mostly upperclassmen. My second year was so much better and I suggest Capen Hall to anyone and everyone!

    Academic Rigor

    I do not particularly consider the academics here too challenging but I have enjoyed almost all of my classes and professors. I have had a lot of work and reading in my classes but nothing beyond my abilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that you look into the dorm building you live in. I had two very different experiences in two very different buildings.

    In three sentences

    New Paltz is a certainly a funky school and area. If you hopped into a time machine and typed in 1960s it would you bring you to present day New Paltz and completely fool you. The atmosphere here is very positive and accepting.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    New Paltz is a very artistic community, but you don't have to be the next Picasso to feel at home. A good place to discover who you really are and meet people doing the same.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall on campus has improved greatly over the past year, but it's still not amazing. That said, you can get some really delicious meals at just about any other campus dining location. And if you just don't like campus food, there are plenty of great restaurants in town.

    Dorm Life

    I met some of my best friends in my residence hall. Every hall has a slightly different personality. Esopus houses a lot of freshman, Lenape is home to the Honors Program students. Most athletes live in Gage or Bliss. There are both suite-style and traditional corridor-style halls, and freshman are able to live anywhere.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't taken too many upper-division courses yet, but those that I have taken are challenging without being inaccessible. Professors are more than happy to talk after class, during lab, or during their office hours if you need clarification or have questions about their department.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour and ASK QUESTIONS! The tour guides are super-nice and won't think that your question is stupid or weird, and they understand that choosing a school is hard. The more questions you ask, the more information you have and knowledge is power. Talk to an admissions counselor if you feel unsure or have specific questions. Students who take the initiative to set up an interview are always appreciated.

    In three sentences

    A fun, exciting, friendly, and accepting campus community. Caring faculty interested in student success. Oh, and laundry is FREE!

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many blue lights. You barely hear of any crime.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for anything.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a SUNY school, it does have a nice price tag. New Paltz is a very good school.

    What to do for fun

    There is a cute little town outside of the campus. There are many clubs. You'll never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. There are so many places to eat. There are lots of healthy choices

    Dorm Life

    The dorming is beautiful. They really have some nice new additions. My favorite dorm is Esopus

    Academic Rigor

    So many people get jobs right out of college because New Paltz is so helpful.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt more safe walking around in the middle of the night. The most dangerous and illegal thing a person in or around New Paltz is likely to do to you is offer a puff of their joint to you, and then say OK, cool when you decline. The crime rate is relatively low, and almost everyone out at night is off on a fun adventure, so you'll never encounter a creeper or anyone who'll do you harm. It's a happy campus and happening little town.

    Greek Life

    There are some sororities and fraternities around campus, but they are not a huge presence on campus. They're there and active for those who want that kind of experience, but there's no need to join a frat or sorority to have a social life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's clubs for everything under the sun here, and if there isn't a club already existing for what you want to do, it's easy to start one of your own. Some of my favorites include Dumbledore's Army, Humans vs Zombies, Live Action Role Play, Swing Club, New Paltz Players, Epic Glee, Miami Theatre Players, Ninja Alliance and Writer's Block, to name a few. There are also plenty of human and civil rights themed clubs, like our Dream Team and the Queer Action Coalition. There's also the Parkour Club and Capture the Flag, as well as many other club sports for those who wish to keep physically active

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for moderately self-motivated people who think having a good time is more than just drinking. It's the perfect school for artsy, techie or nerdy kids who didn't fit in to the typical in-crowd in high school, and really anyone else. It's socially accepting of all kinds of people, however, and all that's required of students who don't follow comic books, games or the latest art and theatre trends is to give it all a shot, because who knows, you may like it!

    Bang for the buck

    Because New Paltz is a SUNY, it's relatively inexpensive, as schools go. But just because it's relatively cheap doesn't mean you lose out on something a more expensive school has to offer! New Paltz offers programs and services that you'd otherwise have to take out a second mortgage for, like research programs that pump out the leading scholars and scientists of tomorrow, and a Theatre program whose recent graduates include several network tech executives and one Tony Award winning lighting design assistant. For 16-20 thousand a year, that's pretty impressive!

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of fun places to go and things to do around campus. When you're not fighting people with NERF guns or swing dancing, you can hike on Mohonk Mountain or walk the Rail Trail, or even just go exploring in the woods south of the main campus buildings. There's also a dance club and plenty of parties for those interested, and dances on campus for those who prefer less drink in their dance. And no matter what, someone's always going on an adventure and looking for a friend to join them, and someone's always hosting a movie night they'd love for you to come to, so you're never lacking in social opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    There's plenty of delicious food, on and off campus. Hasbrouck, the main dining hall and the all-you-can-eat buffet, is a fantastic place to meet people over food, and when you're ready for something new, Hawk Street Station downstairs serves delicious, made-to-order pasta and paninis in the evenings, as does Backstage Cafe in the afternoons. There are dozens of fantastic cafes and coffee shops on and off campus, and plenty of inexpensive restaurants within 5-10 minutes walking distance of campus. Personally, I highly recommend the Bakery -- they make the most delicious Reuben I've ever tasted, and they're easy on the wallet too!

    Dorm Life

    Your dorm experience here is completely determined by where you are. There are plenty of programs for residents in each dorm (like macaroni art, condom casinos and Super Bowl parties), but some are more populated than others; likewise, there's more of a sense of community in some dorms than others. If you're looking for it, however, you will find strong dorm spirit wherever you land. I didn't get too far into that myself, but I know very happy and very lovely people who did, so you'd be in good company!

    Academic Rigor

    New Paltz hits a nice balance in academics. Nobody will ever have you taking a harder class than you're willing to take, but there are plenty of more challenging classes for those who wish to take them. Your workload is completely determined by your own interests in that way. This does mean that, in order to get the most out of college here, you need to be self-motivated, but one would think a little self motivation would be necessary at any college, so in the long run it's nothing to worry about. What's most important to me at least is that New Paltz offers the freedom to let your motivation take you in any of a number of academic and extracurricular directions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be nervous! Nobody here will EVER judge you! And don't worry about your grades. If you're applying, all your grades do is get you past the first round. Not everyone who's here came in with an impressive transcript, but they did all have passion for something, whether they were studying it or not, and that shone through in their essay and extracurricular resume. That's what the Admissions people here are looking for -- passion.

    In three sentences

    I love everything New Paltz has to offer. You have a wealth of academic and research opportunities, a rich cultural and social scene, and plenty of fantastic food all around. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an artsy or geek-friendly campus, and anyone looking for a good, rewarding time in college.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SUNY New Paltz students like to go out to the bars on the weekends while taking time off from their studying. The local town is full of music and funny people.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria for students on campus is not that great but only option. A few good dining places, pizza, Mexican, sushi, Chinese, fast food.

    Dorm Life

    They only clean the dorm suites once every few weeks, once it gets too messy they will not help clean. Small older dorms but the newer ones are nicer if you can get into one, or off campus apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Some students try very hard and study but others will do drugs and just get by. The art program is good as well as business and education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to SUNY New Paltz if you want to experience a unique town if you want to relax and be in a good environment to learn and make new friends.

    In three sentences

    It's a pretty good school for between Albany and New York City. The teachers and students are mostly friendly kind. I like the small campus and the close community you get.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I must say that the professors in this school are over all very helpful and very welcoming! Once entering the campus you will find yourself in a very welcoming environment. The students are also very accepting of other students, which allows students to fit in and feel at home pretty quickly.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe, and as far as I know there isn't too much crime here.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities and fraternities. If that isn't your thing, you won't even notice that they're there, and if you do want to join, the people are pretty cool and the houses are nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have yet to join any clubs, but I have attended several functions on campus and had a blast!

    Great for these types of students

    The friendly kind with high aspirations and a will to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Awkward hour at Has. It is not exactly a tradition, but it occurs daily; the time when they change the food over from lunch to dinner. Avoid eating between like 3;45 and 5 pm, unless you're just looking for a snack.

    Bang for the buck

    I am from out of state, so the tuition is a little expensive, but I am sure it will be worth it in the end.

    What to do for fun

    We hang out, go out, eat and play games! It is a pretty amusing place to be.

    Food and Dining

    Hasbrouck is usually pretty good, but some things are hit or miss. They have been making improvements. There is a decent selection of food for any type of diet.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, I wasn't too sure how much I wanted to love with a bunch of strangers. Living here in a suite on campus though is the best experience I have ever had. The people I have meet here will certainly be my life long friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but rewarding nonetheless. I really feel like the courses I am enrolled in will help me in my future career and daily life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! There is no way to choose a college but to make a trip to it, and a trip here will definitely sell you on attending New Paltz.

    In three sentences

    The people here are great, the campus is pretty and the classes are informative! I don't even know where begin telling you how much I love it here! New Platz is a very friendly and academically stimulating place.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school is diverse and has one of the best student to teacher ratio. The campus is setup in such an amazing area and the rooms are beautiful. This school is most know for its great education program.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of nature to explore

    In three sentences

    Definetley worth the money youre paying!

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although the New Paltz campus is an open campus, there is always University Police patrolling campus. Also, there are yellow posts with blue lights all over campus, if you press the big red button inside the yellow box on the post the police will come right to you if you need help or someone to walk you back to your dorm at night.

    Greek Life

    Only about 1% of the students at New Paltz are involved in Greek life, but they're always hosting events and if you add them on Facebook you'll be notified of every one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's over 120 clubs. A lot are community service based, but there are a lot of clubs just for fun. For example, Humans Vs Zombies is a club that is just like a giant game of tag with Nerf guns that goes on all over campus. Even if you're not involved, it's fun to watch.

    Great for these types of students

    Art students, it's a very artsy school, but not weird artsy.

    Bang for the buck

    New Paltz was definitely the right choice for me. There's always something going on on campus and there's always something to do off campus.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of activities and events that the campus has every night. We go see the improv groups and a capella groups preform, we go to clubs once or twice a week. You can hang out and throw a football around on the quads. As a freshman there's activities on Fridays called Freshman Fridays and those can be a lot of fun and good to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    As a freshman we get unlimited visits for the dining hall. It's not grandma's cooking, but it won't kill you. Some dishes are really great, while others aren't so great. The food at the student union is a lot better! There's so many choices; sushi, sandwiches, pizza, pasta, Mexican food and more. You can buy them using hawk dollars or your own money. It's worth it, but you shouldn't spend all your money there!

    Dorm Life

    I live in Esopus hall and I love it! I'm in the FYI program and everyone here thinks it's for people who have a hard time making friends, but everyone I know who's in the program is extremely friendly. I get along great with my room mate, she's my best friend. Every night we hang out with the people in our hall, it doesn't matter if we're doing homework together or just hanging out. Everyone supports each other with their work or even their personal lives. Everyone is going through the same changes you are so if you have a hard time everyone will be sensitive to your problems! It's like we're a big family!

    Academic Rigor

    It's college. The work is not that hard, but the work load is definitely a lot more that high school!

    Tips for prospective students

    New Paltz has become a competitive school because of it's SUNY benefits. Definitely get involved with your school, get good grades and make your application show New Paltz how you're unique.

    In three sentences

    The campus is absolutely beautiful. Everyone here is so nice and friendly! The town and campus have to much to offer for us and it's very rare that we ever get bored.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its safe, I know that I can go out at night and get home fine. With that said please use caution and common sense anyway because crimes happen everywhere.

    Greek Life

    It's small here but it exists.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over a 150 clubs, which includes clubs associated with majors, cultures, and religion, sports clubs, extreme sports language clubs, writing clubs, dance clubs etc. There is a lot for everyone; the problem is not going overboard with it.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like music, art, teaching, Woodstock type places, cute little towns, and nice people.

    Bang for the buck

    So far it's worth going into debt...but that's because I am not paying any of my student loans yet (by that time I'll probably feel a little different because who wants to pay bills?)

    What to do for fun

    There are programs in dorms, and in the student union, such as BINGO night, water balloon fights, obstacle courses, entertainment (comedians, singers, magicians etc). The town is nice place to go eat, see a movie and have fun, and Poughkeepsie is not too far either. You can spend time in the main lounge and meet new people, in your room with friends etc.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Hall is good, not mama's cooking but you'll find the foods that you like. Plus food in town is great in general and there is variety. There is also the Student Union, which has a variety of restaurants in it too, and that food is good too.

    Dorm Life

    Go for it! It may cost extra but it is worth it, because you meet so many people, get a true college experience, and build great bonds with people

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to get involved, go out of your comfort zone, and to try new things. Be sure to stay out of your room as much as possible! There are so many opportunities, go check them out even if you do not think you'll be interested; you will be surprised at your self.

    In three sentences

    New Paltz is great! The people here are nice, welcoming and helpful. There are plenty of things to do on campus and in town.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many clubs, great town.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know the campus ahead of time, it is quite large.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus! Wonderful teachers! Offices do not inform you of things you need to know and/or do, they expect you to figure it out on your own.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 34 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    again not the greatest and expensive

    Dorm Life

    Not the greatest and expensive

    Academic Rigor

    as above

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school before you make a final decision

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice school in a small town in upstate New York. A small school and at first hard to find a good group of kids but once that is established social life is good. Great academics but the school challenges you to challenge yourself.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am a part of greek life one campus and I love it. I would not say it is similar to other school but it is nice.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy students, liberal students, open people.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in the town. There are many cute stores and restaurants. There is also the mountains and the rail trail which is great for hiking. At night there are several bars in the town.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is not that good.

    Dorm Life

    There are some new dorms but most of them are old. Try to live in the newer ones. The old dorms seem slightly dirty and run down.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are hard but others are easy. It is the same as any school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you become involved in activities, you will not experience anything otherwise. Make the most of your time.

    In three sentences

    I love my experience at SUNY New Paltz so far. You have your good and bad teachers like everywhere else though. You have to make the best of it.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every student has a different definition of fun. Some enjoy going to parties and the bars for fun. Others join clubs and sport teams to have fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall offers a variety of food. Although it may not compare to a home cooked meal it is decent.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean and comfortable for the most part. RA staff is kind and friendly making dorm life rather enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has high academic standards. The school work is rigorous. New Paltz is a great place for student who enjoy to be academically challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class every day, pay close attention to the syllabus. Make sure to do homework in a timely manner and study for tests.

    In three sentences

    SUNY New Paltz is suitable for students who enjoy being academically challenged while also being able to maintain a social life. This quint little town is filled with tons of friendly people not to mention it offers great classes and wonderful professors making it easily a lovable place.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is a great aspect of SUNY New Paltz. There is a police station located right on campus. The school also has a blue light system. There are multiple boles located around campus. If one were to ever feel threatened or in danger they can run to the pole and click a button, which will ignite a blue light and alert the campus police.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life at SUNY New Paltz is very scarce. Sororities on campus are far more prevalent than fraternities. Though there are not many involved in the Greek Life, it is a great way to make friends and also do community service as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities. Some of them include, Dance Association, Culture Shock, Spanish Club, and Intramural Sports.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who are academically motivated, but know how to have fun as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual thing about the campus is the amount of hawks that are present on it. A lot of people will stand by the ponds to watch the progression of ducks that are born and raised throughout the semester.

    Bang for the buck

    All of the items on campus are fairly priced. The bookstore allows students to buy both inexpensive books supplies and clothing apparel. The bookstore also sells used rental books, which are as cheap as books that you can purchase off of Amazon.

    What to do for fun

    There are many on-campus and off-campus activities. Movies are constantly being shown on campus. There is also a dance club in town called Cabaloosa's.

    Food and Dining

    There are many food options on campus that are quick and easy to get to. Both vegetarian and vegan options are available at all dining facilities. The food is fairly priced and the meal-plans are very generous.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at SUNY New Paltz are upheld greatly. They are clean and located all very close to one another. They make getting to class no hassel at all.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at SUNY New Paltz are challenging, but manageable. I maintained a 3.5 GPA by studying and visiting the Writing Lab routinely. I advise students to visit not only the Writing Lab, but the Tutoring Center as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise prospective students to visit the campus beforehand. Taking a tour can assist greatly in finding out if this school is the right choice for you. You will get to see not only the demographics of the campus, but what the student body is like as a whole.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school for those majoring in Education or Art. The classes here are challenging, but easy to do well in, due to the available resources on campus. Utilizing the Writing Lab and Tutoring Center will aid in maintaing a high GPA at SUNY New Paltz.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Transfer and off campus students are second class citizens.

    In three sentences

    Great small hippy town feel. Great clubs make you feel at home. They don't help off campus transfer students much.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always feel safe and comfortable walking at night on campus

    Greek Life

    It's there if you want it, but not a big part

    What to do for fun

    Go up to the mountains and preserves, various clubs and activities, plenty of live music in town and shows on campus

    Food and Dining

    Fresh vegetables and fruits from local farms!

    Academic Rigor

    You will find people in your classes who can't keep up with the work and you will find classes that are a breeze.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check to hear feedback on professors before you register, if you can. Take advantage of all the welcoming clubs and enjoy the weather when you can.

    In three sentences

    A relaxed and comfortable atmosphere but the parties are there if you want them. There are challenging courses with great professors, but also easy-get-by ones, SCHEDULE ACCORDINGLY!! A green, pretty campus that is not too big but not too small.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things to do on campus, as well as the surrounding town. There are nearby mountains if you like hiking and many shops in town.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. There aren't many options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty good. Some are brand new. A few are older, but still in good condition.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty tough, but if you do your work and don't slack you'll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and do your work. Balance your social life and your academic life.

    In three sentences

    It's a very diverse community. The nightlife is great. The classes and professors are awesome.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Like every campus, there are dangers. Mostly those come from poor choices made while intoxicated. However, the campus police are vigilant in their duties and caring towards the students.

    Greek Life

    Pretty minimal. There are a few frats and sororities but they don't have an noticeably influential hand in campus life for the most part

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs vary anywhere from hiking to LARP to debating and singing. The list is quite diverse and anyone can find at least one to join.

    Great for these types of students

    The more go with the flow you are the better however anyone will fit in here because that is the basic mindset of the students. We are a really laid back bunch.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a few ponds on campus that the students fondly refer to as the gunks. These ponds are home to fish, some turtles, and flock of ducks. Every Spring, duckings hatch and it is always a big event on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The school offers a good education for a fraction of private school costs.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of good clubs on campus and the town is really nice at anytime of the year. Also, the school is located right in the middle of the Catskills so there are many hiking, rock-climbing, biking and outdoor activity opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    The student union building offers decent food. it's pretty expensive but so is food anywhere else. The dining hall is less that gourmet, though, I suppose that is to be expect of a state facility.

    Dorm Life

    Asbestos aside, the dorm life is not bad. The buildings are clean and the people (as far as I have experienced) are more or less respectful of others, especially during stressful testing weeks.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the class. Some teachers are very strict and rigorous in their coursework while others are very lax.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a big hippie school with a lot of free love among other things. The good news is that you don't need to follow those belief to fit in and make friends. Everyone is accepted for whoever they might be.

    In three sentences

    It's an incredibly accepting school where anyone of any faith, sexual-orientation, gender-orientation, and style will find a place to fit in. Both students and staff are liberal in their thinking and that is apparent as one walks through campus and attends classes. There is a niche here for everyone.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never once felt in danger. Small campus, always patrolled, and call boxes within short distance of anywhere you might be.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, poltical (liberal), outdoorsy

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, mountain climbing, just get out and enjoy nature. Go for a drive through the country and see all the small towns and local restaurants. 2 hours on the train to NYC. Of course, there are all the usual bars associated with college life as well.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food on campus, great food in town. Lot's of veg-friendly options.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't have much basis for comparison, but I think the classes were appropriately rigorous for the levels. Of course, it depends a lot on the teacher. I worked hard but never felt like it was impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some community colleges have an automatic acceptance policy into SUNY schools, so if you are looking to get your AA then transfer, it's definitely worth looking into.

    In three sentences

    Great university at a great price! Teachers are passionate about their fields, classes are fairly small. Great college town and lots of outdoor activities nearby!

  • 05/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are into the arts, for hippies, new agers, laid back students. I don't think of SUNY New Paltz as a party school, but it's certainly a laid back school as far as the student population. Don't get me wrong--everyone at SUNY NP knows the feeling of stressing over midterms and finals, but the atmosphere of the school in general isn't one of stress and chronic workaholism.

    What to do for fun

    I actually live in another town, so don't hang out in New Paltz very often. Though I know that MacGullicuddy's and Cabaloosa's are favorites.

    Food and Dining

    Campus food is good, but expensive. There're three main places to get eats: the dining halls in the dorms, the Jazzman's Cafes located in the library and the Jacobson Faculty Tower, and the food court in the Student Union Building. Investigate what appeals most to your tastebudes and your wallet, and spend your Hawk Dollars wisely.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, so I can't really rate them. But my friends who do live there seem satisfied, overall.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, the classes are generally challenging and interesting. The faculty is knowledgeable and seems to love what they do. Their instruction is thorough and covers a lot of ground.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a bit of a sprawling campus, so you may want to bring a bike or skateboard with you, if you don't have a car or don't like walking. SUNY New Paltz is situated right in the town of New Paltz, which is an interesting town. It's not just a college town, either, so make the rounds of New Paltz early and often. Make friends.

    In three sentences

    SUNY New Paltz is a wonderful school with a bright, engaging faculty and an eclectic mix of students. ALmost everyone I've met there, so far, has an upbeat, can-do attitude that is as inspiring as it is infectious. I wish I had begun my college career at this lovely, optimistic school.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Blue light system and hotlines. Campus police are around but won't bother you if you're drunk or acting stupid unless they think you'll hurt someone or yourself.

    Greek Life

    Seems nonexistent because they don't act like jerks. But it's there!

    Clubs and Activities

    Dozens of clubs. If there isn't one that you like, you can make your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Quirky, fun, friendly people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone has to experience the lemon squeeze. Its a hike on one of the local mountains. Lots of clubs offer free trips there. Also you are a legend if you swim through the gunk, which is a pond that divides the campus. I wouldn't swim through it though...

    Bang for the buck

    Low cost but a great education. I don't know why people don't come to SUNYs.

    What to do for fun

    So much! Hiking, shopping in town, looking at thrift shops, taking walks on the rail trail, going to an open mic, partying, going to the clubs and bars, and so many fun campus activities!

    Food and Dining

    Better than most, but I'm a foodie. I always bring food from home when I go back!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms need an upgrade, but they're big!

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard but not insane. I feel like I'm learning a lot. No easy A's!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, do lots of extracurriculars, and be yourself!

    In three sentences

    SUNY New Paltz is the perfect college for me. I fit perfectly, and everyday I can walk through campus being myself and making friends along the way. I do well in school, and I'm challenged.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus to get a feel for the environment.

    In three sentences

    The campus aesthetics are breathtaking. The people on campus are very friendly. The faculty is helpful and supportive.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards milling around and a network of emergency call boxes that students are taught to use

    Greek Life

    I am not involved but there are many academic frats and only 2 or 3 part frats

    Clubs and Activities

    over 300 clubs and there are always more forming

    Great for these types of students

    Art students, very liberal atmosphere

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of ducks and there are always people feeding the ducks. Also a conspiracy theory that the modern shape of our logo is a duck foot.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY New Paltz has made top ten on lists about payback on majors.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the college town, see the many acapella groups perform, there are parties every weekend you want to go out.

    Food and Dining

    Its pretty good as far as college food goes.

    Dorm Life

    Many dorm options.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are reasonable, but a lot of effort needs to be put in to deserve an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to an early orientation.

    In three sentences

    The campus is located in a beautiful area full of hiking opportunities. All off the teachers I have are interested in discussion. There are tons of classes to choose despite the medium size of the school.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police have been everywhere. Very friendly.

    Greek Life

    Lots to choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost every club you can imagine

    What to do for fun

    Nearby hiking. Bus station to NYC is on campus and another within walking distance.

    Tips for prospective students

    This campus appears to have a little bit of everything.

    In three sentences

    So far everybody is really helpful. The campus is beautiful. My dorm is really nice.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I really Love it here. The people here are all extremely friendly. however, the weather gets really hard to predict a couple weeks in.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Great Night Life. Tons of bars, plenty of restaurants, scenic trails, and enough clubs for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    There is a place for everyone from corridors to suites. Residential buildings are found near to town, next to classes or in front of the cafeteria, which can be very convenient in the winter. The RA's are open friendly and diverse. The dorm life is a great way to be exposed to different people and is a great learning environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Great english and french language departments the professors strive to improve your writing skills. The professors are open and easy to reach. Every class is a learning environment. Each class varies in teaching style from seating in circles, open class conversations, to serious small or auditorium classes.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police not just security guards are located right on campus. Ongoing updates are provided from the college about any safety incidents or threats. College has a very open communication policy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous clubs to participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    The opportunities for learning and obtaining experience in a field are great for the price.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay with lots of choices in local village as well. Lots of options for vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I do not know about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors have high expectations but they are not unreasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make it a point to meet with your professors during office hours so they get to know you.

    In three sentences

    The programs and classes offered are great for the price. Most professors take a genuine interest in their students with lots of opportunities for learning outside of the classroom. The campus is very nice and the student body is accepting.

  • 03/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I walk home at night, sometimes at 4 in the morning because was doing art or coming home from a party. I have always felt safe on campus. We have police patrols, a blue light safety system with 247 call boxes placed around campus. If you ever feel scared walking home at night, you can call the university police and they will escort you home. SUNY New Paltz has a well lit campus and a relatively low crime rate. We also have self defense classes that go on throughout the year and just added martial arts classes this semester.

    Greek Life

    We have quite a few fraternities and sororities on campus. The associations like to organize parties and one fraternity even had a build-a-bear party on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    New Paltz has an amazing variety of clubs. We have academic clubs, clubs based on major, fun clubs, athletic associations and classes, and Greek life. We even have a Doctor Who club here.

    Great for these types of students

    Every type, there is something for everyone here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a guy on campus who is somewhat of a legend. He is called boom box guy because he rides around on a bike with a boom box sitting on his shoulder blasting music.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great school for a great price.

    What to do for fun

    We have free movie nights every month and tons of events on and off camps. We have theater shows and have famous artists come and talk to us. We have quidditch tournaments, yule balls, cosplay conventions and video game nights. We also have tons of 'get fit' events and 'stress free' days where they bring bouncy houses and puppies on campus. We have a plethora of clubs and organizations and have something for everyone. We also have events inside our residence halls like baking cookies, arts and craft nights, and dance nights.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall food is great with a vegan, pizza, burger, salad, fruit, ice cream, and pasta station and a grill. We also have a bakery and there and another dining establishment right downstairs. New Paltz has a food court with sushi, burgers, Mexican food, pizza, and a salad bar. We also have two Starbucks on campus and one fine dining restaurant. We also have tons of options off campus with numerous pizza places and a gluten free pasta place.

    Dorm Life

    Every residence hall is its own little community with people always stopping by to say hi. Each residence hall has its own events which include a lot of baking, movies, dancing, arts and crafts and even some formal parties. I live in Lenape hall and am very satisfied with my experience there. The hall is in very good condition with plenty of lounges, a kitchen, computer lab, and a fitness center.

    Academic Rigor

    My courses are very challenging, but are manageable. The professors here are incredibly helpful and knowledgeable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and join clubs that interest you, New Paltz has tons to choose from. Don't be afraid to go out and meet new people or try new things, make the most of your college years.

    In three sentences

    SUNY New Paltz has a beautiful campus and some of the friendliest students you will ever meet. Our art program is amazing and we have tons of evens on and off campus. The professors are helpful and the advisors are always available if you need someone to talk to.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always monitoring campus.

    Greek Life

    There are a lot of options for Greek life. You can choose between white, latino, and black organizations.

    Bang for the buck

    Great deal. Tuition is cheap for a great education and college experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations you can join. During the warmer months there are activities and games sponsored by the campus which you can be apart of.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not the best on campus but there are a lot of great restaurants in town that offer delicious alternatives.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun and its a great way to meet new people and have wonderful memories. There are few residence halls that are new and some are being renovated and there is one that is currently being constructed.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors are helpful. Class size is generally small which is good for participating in class and getting to know your classmates and professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend open houses and tours if you can. It will benefit you if you are considering attending.

    In three sentences

    This school is very good academically and socially. Most students here are open minded and friendly. There is a diverse student body and many clubs and organizations.

  • 04/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been several shootings on or around campus since I started there a year ago. All have been people who were visiting other students. Students have overdosed on campus...

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of options! And at the cost of all the other students, whether they participate or not!

    Bang for the buck

    For the price, you will get a pretty good education.

    Food and Dining

    I have heard nothing but terrible things about the food... But I have never purchased any of it.

    Dorm Life

    IDK I don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    It is definitely challenging enough. There is also an honors program that is even more challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    DON'T COMMUTE!!! It is a pain! Live on campus or within walking distance.

    In three sentences

    If you are a commuter student, especially if you have a family of your own, this school is NOT going to make any effort to accommodate you! The teachers might, depending upon who you get. If you are going back to school, don't go here!