Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Stephens College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artists Fashion Theatre Musical Film Independent Women!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared to meet people and get involved. All the clubs and activities are really fun, and everyone wants more members. The leadership scholarship helps with that as well. Make nice with your RA in case you have roommate troubles, because everyone is required to share a room unless you bring a pet. But roommates are usually pretty great!

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive school, but the amount of financial aide available makes it about the same price as in state tuition to a public university. Get the lowest meal plan--you get the same amount of flex points no matter what. And it's cheaper to go buy your own groceries then it is to eat in the commons. The food is looking up! They've had more options this year and they're trying to make it healthier. They offer vegan and vegetarian options as well. There's always a fresh salad bar.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's located in the middle of downtown. 2 blocks away from a large co-ed university, 2 blocks away from any and all shops/restaurants, and 2 blocks away from a beautiful lake/park. Pets are allowed on campus, and in dorms. There's always something artsy going on, and the people are really friendly. A lot of the girls (it's a women's college) go home on weekends their first semester, so it can be pretty quiet around campus, and hard if you're from out of state. But it quickly gets better and easier!

    Am learning a lot

    I'm a theatre student here and this program is amazing! It's intense, but extremely satisfying. You go to each theatre class with the same people and you build a great trust that allows you to do really great work with each other. All the theatre faculty are there to encourage you and give you information about the professional world. They always have their doors open if you ever want to ask a question, and all their criticism is constructive. They understand the realities of doing theatre professionally and they make sure you understand them too. They can be harsh, but it's all to make you better. The core classes can be on the easy side. They aren't very challenging, but the teachers are engaging and the class sizes are small enough that discussion is always on the lesson plan. There is a lot to be learned in a class discussion. The classes to choose from can be really interesting as well such as: history of rock and roll, or the jazz experience. Theatre and Fashion are the largest majors at the school, and they are the best programs to enroll in. Otherwise, this college can leave a little lacking in the academic department.

  • 01/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Motivated learners. With most of the classes you get out what you put in. Fashion Majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the smallest meal plan!

    Bang for the buck

    The required meal plan is awful! The flex points are nice though, I recommend going for the smallest meal plan because you'll get the same amount of flex dollars which can be spent on junk food, candy chips etc.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've found it's kind of hard to meet people. It's required that students live on campus but the majority of students in the dorms keep their doors closed.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning a lot about myself and some of the classes are fantastic with knowledgeable teachers (Keene, Cothren)

  • 11/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Am learning a lot

    I am a fashion design student. I have learned so much about the industry even though I've only been here a semester. I love it ! Everyone is friendly, classes are legit, and there is so many fun clubs and outside events to join and attend.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    here at steve's we have campus security on-site 24/7. they are located in the dorm and are extremely accessible at all times.

    Greek Life

    we do have greek organizations on campus, in addition to our academic greek organizations we have sigma sigma sigma and kappa delta.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is plenty to do and are plenty of clubs to join for such a small campus. we also have the advantage of being able to join clubs and participate in activities at mizzou.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for creative students with a lot of ambition and tenacity. not commercial ambition and tenacity but the real stuff. this school will challenge you mentally, physically, emotionally and financially, but it is worth it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    presidents office! our president is incredible, as the lady in the red shoes and has the chocolate bowl in her office, she is always open to listen to the problems of those that are willing to express them. this i would consider an unusual tradition because not all school presidents, especially college presidents are as involved with students as ours.

    Bang for the buck

    the academic charge is worth every penny, the room and board is a bit on the expensive side but overall it all pays off.

    What to do for fun

    this is columbia! even when there's nothing to do, there's something to do. yes, we support mizzou sports but we also have our own sports teams on campus. thus, between our campus and mizzou, i'm sure you'll find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining improves every year. this coming year we'll have the option of frozen yogurt in our new student union! otherwise we have the options of unlimited meal plans to eat whatever whenever. or, if you live in an apartment you get to choose the all-flex plan where you have a dollar amount per semester to shop at the convenience store, hot box cookies, kaldi's coffee (in our cafe on campus) or papa johns.

    Dorm Life

    as this is a small campus there is a great community feel on this campus. the dorms are actually quite nice and spacious compared to other dorms. there is an option to live in a pet dorm if you choose. there are on-campus apartments and once you reach your senior year you have the option to move off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the course load and academics are most certainly rigorous. however, that is what makes it worth coming to stephens because we are learning things from the time we walk in the door most other programs don't begin learning until their junior year.

    Tips for prospective students

    coming to stephens is one of the greatest decisions i have made, it is also an incredible investment i've made. when deciding to come to steve's know that the initial commitment is easy, staying committed through four years is difficult but it is definitely worth it in the end.

    In three sentences

    stephens is an incredible school in all aspects. it is a small campus, with small classes but they all have quality and value. this school makes well-rounded students even more rounded and builds incredible stephens women!

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Creative, sassy, smart, genuine & independent leaders interested in Fashion, theatre, dance and/or equestrian (which are the biggest & best majors at the school, in my opinion)

    Tips for prospective students

    Be bold and don't spend your life worrying about tomorrow. Remember yesterday and plan for tomorrow but live in today. College is for you to learn a lot and enjoy life!

    Bang for the buck

    While the numbers may add up to a lot initially, Stephens is great at giving scholarships. I currently receive four scholarships from the school which cover about half of the total cost. I wouldn't trade my time at Stephens for anything, so I definitely say it's all worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm amazed by how many amazing friends I have made during my time here. I was home-schooled during most of high school and missed out on having a lot of friends my age. Stephens has brought me together with gals I know I'll be friends with forever. It's especially neat making friends with girls from all kinds of majors (Stephens has so many majors from equestrian to fashion design to theatre). Don't be afraid to step out there & join a group or club because it's a great way to find those amazing life-long friends. Also, Columbia is a great town to go to college in. There's surprisingly so much to do all within a short walking distance. You have to check out Shakespeare's Pizza and Sparky's for amazing local treats.

    Am learning a lot

    I am going into my senior year at Stephens this fall and I simply cannot believe how much I have learned thanks to this awesome school. I went in freshman year knowing only that I love fashion and I wanted to be a part of it somehow. The instructors of the fashion department have a thorough understanding of the industry and are a pleasure to learn from. Specifically, the fashion design teachers are amazing. My classmates and I have gotten really close with them due to their helpfulness and genuine desire to see you excel. I participated in the Honors House Program for my core liberal arts classes, which turned out to be a great decision. Interesting classes like Understanding Terrorism and Contemporary International Fiction helped to challenge me and really make me think.

  • 09/03/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Stephens College is known well for their theater and drama majors. Students with those majors will have the best experience especially in learning. All the other majors though, are still taken just as serious. They have great programs for all types of majors and minors and are even more than happy to help the undecided find what courses to be taken until they know what is right for them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most definitely visit the school ahead of time. It isn't like much schools I have visited before. The activities, groups, and sororities all still exist but are set up differently. It also being an all girls school; be prepared for many girls. All the time. Boys are now allowed but the percentage is still low. It is, however very close to downtown so you have quick access to unique stores as well as convenient stores. It is also within walking distance of the Mizzou campus. So you are able to interact with those of Mizzou easily. Overall, this is a great school but you will have the most success here if you are majoring in theater and drama.

    Bang for the buck

    Initially, the college is a private school so it is much more expensive than the average community college. If you have a great academic background though, you will be flooded with many scholarships and grants through their financial department alone. If your high school grades and activities weren't so great however, it is much more expensive.

    Did enjoy being here

    It is a great environment. You are surrounded with all types of people with all different backgrounds. It was a great learning experience.

    Did learn a lot

    Stephens College is similar to most high schools in a sense that most classes are fairly small. Thus, makes it much easier to be able to have one on one time and have more group projects.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    parties, shop

    Food and Dining

    at first the food was ok, i feel that we should have more choices.

    Dorm Life

    i don't to much care for the dorm life. i rather live off campus in my own space.

    In three sentences

    its a good school. they have a wonderful fashion program. i like it here so far.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Stephens Security works 24/7 to keep students safe. Dorm halls are locked 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Stephens has 2 sororities, Kappa Delta and Sigma Sigma Sigma

    Great for these types of students

    Stephens is known for its Fashion, Theater, Dance, and Equestrian departments.

    Bang for the buck

    Stephens is more expensive that most public colleges and universities, but the skills you learn and the people you meet will set you apart from all other college graduates when you begin your job search. Stephens women are very passionate.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Columbia is just minutes away from campus. There are outdoor concerts, boutiques, and many other fun things to do downtown. Mizzou's campus is also minutes from Stephens if you're looking for the traditional college life. There is also a new student union on Stephens Campus with a huge projector and a number of different video game consoles. There is also a pool table and many other games along with many TVs and comfy furniture. It's a great place to hang out!

    Food and Dining

    There is always somewhere to eat at Stephens. The dining hall is open 7 days a week. There is a Kaldis Coffee on campus that uses flex dollars that are already paid for in your meal plan. Flex dollars can also be used to order Papa Johns pizza and Hot Box cooks who will both deliver to the dorms. Downtown Columbia is just minutes away from campus and there are dozens of places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Stephens is extremely safe. Stephens security staff works 24/7 to escort you to your dorm or car late at night, unlock your room when you forget your keys and much more.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a place for everyone academically. If you're looking to be challenged there are classes for that, but at the same time if there certain areas you struggle in, there is plenty of support on campus to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus before you decide because it will really give you a feel for what life will be like that school.

    In three sentences

    Stephens is a small college setting. All of the students and instructors have very close relationships. Stephens will give you an extremely well rounded education and you prepare you for any career better than any other college or university.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24 hour campus security, with more than enough staff members. Our campus is the safest in Columbia, and takes pride in it.

    Greek Life

    We do have sororities here on campus, there are only a few though. A lot of people I know went into them, and loved it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Even though we are a small school: we have a ton of clubs! As well as anyone can start their own club. So many to chose from though!

    Great for these types of students

    -Art students -Equestrian -Anyone who loves good college food -Any girl who enjoys making life long friends

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    1.) Our campus is said to be haunted. Some spooky stories have happened hear, and everyone agrees if you look hard enough you will find something. 2.) Our president of our school only wears red shoes. 3.) Our school used to be a pilots school as well. 4.) One tradition we have is having a group called The Ten, this group of girls is chosen secretly by the school based on our ten ideals. (Responsibility, Creativity, Leadership, etc) They then watch over the students to pick the next years ideal girls. Very honorable position.

    Bang for the buck

    Unfortunately I cannot rate this a 5. Our school is decently expensive, but there are ways around it. Almost 95 percent of our students are rewarded scholarships that help them pay. This is a private institution, so it will be more expensive than a public university. From my personal story: the Stephens staff new I was tight on money and did everything in their power to help me find ways to pay for it. I was awarded and told about many scholarships, loans, and student working opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Our college is located in college town USA. In Columbia, we have two other colleges right next door practically. So if you are afraid about how small our school is - do not be alarmed. It is easy to make friends from the surrounding schools. As well as our college is located directly on downtown. It is a one minute walk to get to our famous downtown which has: food, clubs, and shopping!

    Food and Dining

    This area I can proudly say is our best. We have our own catering company that brings/cooks us fresh food everyday. We even have sushi fridays, which is made right in front of you. If you are looking for a school with great food - it is ours!

    Dorm Life

    I personally loved my dorm experience. As a freshman the dorms you are usually put in do not have air conditioning- unless asked for. All other years do. The dorms are very nice and slightly larger than normal dorms. All students are very welcoming and it is easy to make friends within these dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Since this is an art school - the classes are just that. Only a few general ed classes are necessary, and the rest are exactly what you are going into (which is much different than a regular university). Most of these classes are very hands on, and do deal with clients in the real world. It is difficult (like any other college) but if you are excited about your area of study you will have a good time!

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should be made aware that this is an all girls college, and that housing on campus is necessary all four years: unless otherwise approved. This college has very small classes (anywhere from 5-20) and has a lot of hands on training in any field offered. This is a perfect college to help with networking and learning real world industry items.

    In three sentences

    Stephens College is the perfect fit for any young girl pursuing a career in almost any aspect of art. It has been very beneficial to me as a Graphic Design and Film Major. The students and staff can be considered as one large family, and the atmosphere is one of the most welcoming I have ever seen.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Stephens College is located in the heart of Columbia, Missouri. Just about five minutes from both University of Missouri and Columbia College, Stephens is in the middle of a college town and right next to downtown Columbia. The restaurants and other colleges make Columbia a fun place to be and theres always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok at Stephens. It gets old at times. But right when you get tired of it, the staff switches it up with something new and tasty.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Stephens are a little older than most. The rooms dont have cable but every lobby does. Also, some rooms don't have air condition

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Stephens College provides an environment for all to learn. The small class sizes and caring professors make students feel comfort in an academic environment

    Tips for prospective students

    To the future Stephens women; Stephens College is an open environment where women are free to express themselves in almost any way possible. The Stephens staff and alumni make it possible for the current Stephens women to achieve far more than a degree

    In three sentences

    Stephens College is a great institution. With only about 1,000 students, all female, they prepare women for real world day to day experiences with their courses and degree requirements. Stephens' small class size make it easier for each student to get one on one attention to succeed if needed.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is EXCELLENT!

    Bang for the buck

    I am not sure about how much bang I am getting for my buck, but I sure am busy and challenged.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different things to do in Columbia Missouri for fun. There are also basketball games to watch.

    Food and Dining

    The flex plan needs to be reviewed and changed a bit, but other than that the food is pretty good. I have had a few not so good meals there, but all in all, its good.

    In three sentences

    When I started at Stephen's College, I was trying to choose between them and another school. I chose Stephen's and I have not been disappointed yet. Everyone is so caring and my education is very personal.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is VERY expensive, but the education is wonderful as is the experience.

    What to do for fun

    Campus is right smack in the middle of downtown Columbia so you are never far from a nice restaurant or some sort of club/shop.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, however, the options are somewhat limited for special dietary concerns like vegetarians and particularly vegans. The vegan options are severely lacking here.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are crumbly in places, however, many dorms allow pets, which helps ease the wear and tear caused by homesickness for many.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses here can be intense, but that it is to prepare you for the outside world. Though rigorous, you are sure to learn all that you need to know and have easy access to all of the help that you need to engrain this knowledge and these skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely look into taking AP courses and tests in high school as well as CLEP tests to see what liberal arts classes you can get out of paying for.

    In three sentences

    Stephens is a fantastic college choice for anyone looking for a unique experience, well rounded experience. Stephens surrounds you with competent, strong, eager to learn women. This school also gives you the tools necessary to succeed outside of the realm of the university.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Women who are looking for an experience that will open their minds and to grow in an environment that is very comfortable and encouraging. I have yet to meet a Stephens woman that I did not like. It's the most friendly environment I've been in, personally.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite place is probably Stephens Lake. It's very big and beautiful. You can swim or fish in the lake for free, and they have a gorgeous walking trail.

    Bang for the buck

    I am very happy at Stephens. Even though I wasn't really warm and fuzzy about the all girls part, I feel like it's been a great experience that I wouldn't trade for any other. The only thing about Stephens that I haven't been a hundred percent happy about is the fact that the school practically makes you live in the dorms. I have done the math, and for the price that I pay to share a bedroom with another girl and a kitchen with an entire building is the same as I would pay to have an apartment to have a bedroom and bathroom to myself, and a kitchen shared only by three others.

    What to do for fun

    Stephens has midnight breakfast during mid terms and finals. It's like a party with breakfast food and sometimes we dress up and sometimes we wear our PJ's. We also have our Spookathon and write-like-a-pirate-day (inspired by the official talk like a pirate day). We also have a student union, which has pool, ping pong, and that sort of thing.

    Food and Dining

    You have many options. I usually don't get bored with the food but some can. Friday is always sushi night.

    Dorm Life

    Though the dorms are ideal for student's with pet's, the dorm life is not the cheapest for what you get. Though many want to experience dorm life for the full college experience, those of us who do not have limited options. There are less apartments on Stephens' campus now then when I started, and mostly upperclassmen get the opportunity. Stephens is slowly becoming a smoke free campus, so if you smoke you may find yourself walking farther from the dorms to do so in very hot or very cold conditions. There are limited air conditioners in freshmen dorms and cheaper dorms. Parking is usually limited as well. There are parking spots for those that have a pass, but the parking lots may be one or two streets down from your actual dorm building, and though there's 25/7 security its creepy walking alone in the dark sometimes. I don't have a parking pass because I find parking on the side of the street is actually closer than the available parking spots in the farther parking lots. If you want to live off campus you can, but you might have to give up some financial aid for the trade off. If you live in a dorm on campus you have to have a meal plan. Which the dinning hall closes at 7pm on week days, and is only open 11am-8pm on the weekends .

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Stephens may have different politics, but they are passionate about their subjects and expect you to have your own opinion. We may not all ever agree on the same thing, but we can understand other's perspectives and respect them.

    Tips for prospective students

    The women here will never treat you like a child or like you are different in the negative sense, so don't be shy. We're not in high school anymore.

    In three sentences

    A safe open environment where you can learn your degree and yourself with confidence.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    two sororities- kappa delta and sigma sigma sigma

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who won't go crazy without men and are willing to work hard in their major.

    Bang for the buck

    more expensive than it should be. sometimes we wonder where our money goes.

    What to do for fun

    there are many events around campus, as well as easy access to downtown.

    Food and Dining

    the food varies. sometimes it seems like the chefs are trying really hard, while other days it seems like they just threw something together. there are few options, but there is always pizza and other comfort food to fall back on.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is wonderful socially because the school is so small, and living on campus is required until senior year. everyone gets very close. the facilities, though, are fairly old and have been known for vermin (that doesn't go over well at women's college).

    Academic Rigor

    liberal art classes vary, but many of them are a joke, just something to get through (it all depends on the subject and teacher, of course). the classes within majors, though, can be relatively difficult (but this again depends on the subject and teacher).

    Tips for prospective students

    go to class. classes are small, so you can't get away with it and you will miss key information.

    In three sentences

    stephens college is a great school for women looking into performing arts. it is a very small school, so much attention is given to individuals. summer programs and internships are an integral piece of what sets stephens apart in the success of their students.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around at Stephens! They will come unlock a door for you when you are in the hall wrapped in a towel and have locked yourself out. Or, they'll pick you up at 3 am off campus because you are too drunk to drive yourself home (I've heard some stories). The point is, they actually care about your well being and will go the extra mile to make sure you are safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many opportunities to get involved on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Stephens is great for artistic students going into fashion, theatre, filmmaking, and marketing. Not a day goes by that I don't walk past someone sitting in the middle of the sidewalk drawing for a class. It's great!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As a theatre major we have Stevies every year. What that is, is the second year majors through our own awards ceremony for the graduating third year students. We are such a family!

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive, but I truly believe Stephens is worth every penny. Not only am I gaining a fantastic education, but the teachers really want to see you succeed far beyond this school. Stephens sets you up with a remarkable network of people in the career field you are going into.

    What to do for fun

    Stephens is right next to Mizzou and a 5 minute walk from downtown which means you get exercise on your way to shopping, dining, and night life. I love spending my afternoons at a coffee shop downtown with a good book. Also, Stephens is located in Columbia which is right in between St. Louis and Kansas City; if you ever get bored you can take a short road trip and do some shopping with friends!

    Food and Dining

    The campus dining hall works hard to put out healthy choices. I appreciate that there is always a salad bar and fruit bar fully stocked.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus and have never lived in a dorm, so I cannot comment on the dorm life here at Stephens.

    Academic Rigor

    Stephens is a private college, which means academics is its strongest focus. It isn't a large research university that has classes of 200 people, you are expected to be in class and do good work. That sounds like a lot of pressure, but you will be thankful when you get your degree and you know you earned every bit of it by putting in outstanding work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a planner! They sell them at the bookshelf and they are only about 10 dollars. This is the greatest investment into your college career you will make. By writing things down and keeping track of what you need to do you can relax and have peace of mind that you aren't going to be late turning in an assignment.

    In three sentences

    Stephens College is a grade A school! It is constantly working toward maintaining and updating it's facilities, while going toward a more green campus environment. The teachers, staff, and students all truly care to see you succeed.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security will do anything for you, even help you move if you switch dorms.

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities on campus: Kappa Delta and Sigma Sigma Sigma

    Great for these types of students

    Stephens has a very diverse campus, but especially great for students interested in an art of some sort. With the variety of majors offered--equestrian studies, biology, pre-law, graphic design, fashion, theater, liberal arts, business--anyone will easily become acquainted to campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight Breakfast: On the day before finals, we go to the dining hall at 10 pm to 12 am for delicious breakfast served by the faculty and dancing. Pet Central: Stephens allows pets in the dorms. Many girls bring their dogs, cats, and rabbits.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Columbia as a variety of things to do: clubs, ice cream, frozen yogurt, music.

    Food and Dining

    Fresh Ideas caters the food at Stephens. They offer both unique recipes found across the globe and more traditions meals at the same time. A grill option salad bar if offered every dining time as well.

    Dorm Life

    There is nothing better than a movie night with Stephens ladies! Plus, living with girls that have similar interests forms excellent study groups.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of majors are intense-- theater, fashion, biology, equestrian science, pre- law, graphic design. Each major is difficult in its own way, much of if it is VERY time consuming. Students in any major will learn to complete tasks efficiently and thoroughly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time wisely. The amount of time an instructor provides for a project may seem like a lot, but time flies! During your first week of school, take the time to read all of your syllabi. Not only does it provide tips for academic success in the course, but it provides all the due dates for the semester. Set yourself goals each week to make sure all of you assignments are completed without rushing. Example: research week one, write first draft weeks 2-4, and edit week five.

    In three sentences

    Stephens College has been a fantastic experience so far. Student develop strong working relationships with instructors that will set you for success. Stephens has a strong support system-- both your peers and instructors-- that challenge to grow as a woman and achieve your fullest potential.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our security gaurds know all of our faces... they're like big brothers to us. We ALWAYS feel safe.

    Greek Life

    Two sororities-- Kappa Delta and Tri Sigma

    Clubs and Activities

    SO MANY. Two sororities, clubs for every major, greek week, movie clubs, athletic teams. There are a ton.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, Creative, Individuals, career driven, set short-term and long term goals, hard workers

    Bang for the buck

    Its a bit expensive.. but all worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Plays, games, movie nights, sorority life

    Food and Dining

    Typically good. some days better than others. Healthy options available.

    Dorm Life

    Huge, single rooms in very cute antique buildings. Things are always changing--in a good way

    Academic Rigor

    It varies. The 100's and 200 levels are usually easy peazy. But once you get up to upperlevel courses, you will be working your BUTT OFF.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't fool around your first year. Stephens is for people who know what they wanna do, changing your major a million times here is not something i'd suggest.

    In three sentences

    Stephens is a tight-knit community. Everyone knows and cares about everyone. Students here go on to succeed.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Stephens has an awesome campus security system. The security staff are extremely nice and very helpful if you ever need anything. If you're ever in trouble there are emergency telephones posted all around campus. If you're stranded somewhere in Columbia feel free to call campus security and they will come pick you up. They also have no problems with letting you into your room if you've accidentally locked yourself out (this is from personal experience). Stephens has the safest campus in town and when you look around you can tell.

    Greek Life

    There are a few sororities here. Maybe three. From what I can tell the girls who join them have tons of fun and become really close friends, but that's all I can say since I am not in any of them.

    Clubs and Activities

    We might be a small school but there are tons of clubs here. I can't even begin to list them all, but I promise if you want to be in a club you'll have no trouble finding one.

    Great for these types of students

    Stephens is a good school for Film students, English/Creative Writing students, Theatre students, and Equestrian students. This is a liberal arts school and has very thorough programs for them. Aside from that, it has one of the only equestrian departments around and a damn fine one, from what I hear. I am a Creative Writing major and am finding the program very demanding and enjoyable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    1. There are an abundance of ghost stories around here, if you're into that sort of thing. Several buildings are said to be haunted and many of the girls here will confirm that they've seen some pretty strange stuff go down. 2. Our dean wears only red shoes, and her reasons are quite hilarious. 3. The most prominent tradition however, dates back to 1921. Stephens has a list of Ten Ideals to which the students are supposed to adhere; respect, courage, independence, support, sensitivity, responsibility, belief, creativity, intelligence, and leadership. Originally it was the mission statement of the school to educate young women and help them realize these ideals within themselves. Today that tradition is going strong with the selection of The Ten. Every year ten girls are selected secretly by the staff and administration and rewarded for embodying one of these ideals. It is quite an honor to be selected as one of The Ten.

    Bang for the buck

    Stephens is very expensive, averaging about $35,000 - $40,000 a year in total. But the administration is very good about financial aid. They will help you as much as they possibly can in this regard. Because of this my grants and awards outweighed my loans by a fair chunk. In the end, I came out about as well off as I would have in a state university.

    What to do for fun

    Stephens sits a stone's throw away from downtown Columbia. There is a mass of shops here: clothing shops, free trade hippie shops, a concert venue, tattoo parlors, tea and coffee houses, a small theatre, restaurants, etc. Columbia is also home to a couple of movie theatres, a mall, a roller rink, swimming pool, and bowling alley. All your commercial basics. If you want something a bit closer, the Stephens theatre students always have a new production in progress and there are many plays and musicals through out the year.

    Food and Dining

    I would suggest going with the simple basic meal plan. It will feed you throughout the year and you get the same amount of flex points no matter what. Being a vegetarian I was worried about the meal options, but to my pleasant surprise there are always vegetarian options. A salad bar and a fruit bar are always open as well. The negative star here comes from the lack of gluten-free options available. They try very hard to always have gluten-free options, and the kitchen staff is very understanding and helpful. However, sometimes it can be a bit of a hassle since they often have to make a meal for you separately, which takes some time. Flex Points are great. Basically it means that you are awarded $100 on your student ID card which you can spend on coffee and snacks at the campus coffee shop, Papa John's Pizza or Hot Box Cookies (which is a cookie shop down the street).

    Dorm Life

    I really like living in the dorms. Sometimes it gets annoying when girls make a lot of noise in the hallways (this happens more often than you might want it to, which is where I subtract a star). For the most part people in the dorms are nice and won't trouble you. Depending on the dorm you're assigned to your floor may be really open with each other - leaving their doors open, hanging out in the hallways, etc. - or really private - closed doors, lots of quiet time. Depends on the mix of people I suppose. One great thing about the dorms here is that there are designated quiet hours during the conventional sleeping period. Also, during finals week the dorms enforce 24/7 quiet hours. It's mighty helpful for concentration. There are also pet dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here can be quite challenging and there will be times when you have to put everything you've got into an assignment or project. Other times, however, it feels as if the classes are deliberately easy to pass. The freshman composition classes are like this. Much, much too easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated. Whatever your high school experience, whether you were the most popular cheerleader in school, or the nerdiest wackiest girl who got teased a lot (like me), there is a place for you and you will find friends. I promise.

    In three sentences

    Stephens is a private liberal arts school for women. It's very friendly, quite beautiful, and tons of fun. When on campus I literally think to myself 'I'm home.'

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can call the Security number at 3:28 am and say you need an escort across our tiny campus, and they will either walk with you or pick you up in a van and bring you to your room. Locked out of your dorm? Give them three minutes. Lost downtown? Give them ten. They are some of the hardest working and most compassionate people on campus--and they'll let you in to just about any building on campus at any hour of the night if needed.

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities on campus--Kappa Delta and Sigma Sigma Sigma--that are both highly active in the social scene at Stephens. They are each known for doing amazing charity work, and for being some of the friendliest faces on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always new clubs and groups starting up at Stephens. The amazing thing is, if something you want to join isn't there, you can start your own club simply by stopping by Student Services. It doesn't take a long process, and it's your call on how often you meet. Though, I don't think many girls need to start new clubs with how many wide varieties we offer. We even have an Equestrian Riding Therapy Club and a Quidditch team.

    Great for these types of students

    Stephens is great for women who want to succeed in life, and don't take no for an answer. If you want to work hard, and get one of the best and most interactive experiences in college, Stephens is the place to go.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stephens just re-birthed an old tradition at Stephens of walking across the main campus bridge as a symbol for starting a new life. When the students graduate, they will walk across the bridge in reverse to show them leaving the Stephens halls and heading back into the world. Another fun thing that we have is our Mashtini bar--various types of mashed potatoes dressed up inside martini glasses and eaten at social events! Last, as if it already wasn't pretty cool, our President of the school wears red shoes to show that Stephens is the No place like home Dorthy referenced. And Dianne gives out free chocolate any time you stop by her office. Who can't beat that?

    Bang for the buck

    Stephens lives by the philosophy that the school works to fit the student's needs--not the other way around. So long as the courses are available and the drive is there, girls can graduate with just about any major under the sun. One girl graduated not too long ago with a degree in Horror Films. She could write the scripts, do the make-up and costume work, write and perform the music, and direct and film the entire production. What other school can you choose to do that at?

    What to do for fun

    Columbia is a college town, so there are a million things to do here--and for cheap! From movies to 18+ clubs to Mizzou's world renowned Recreational Center, there is always something to do. And, you could always stay in and watch movies on a rent-able projection cinema screen in our Student Union (complete with a frozen yogurt machine.)

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has amazing food and there is always a lot of variety--from pizza and salad to sushi Fridays. Our school also labels all of the food as vegetarian friendly, gluten-free, dairy-free, and soy-free. The staff is amazingly helpful, but the only sad thing is how early it closes! Dinner ends at seven!

    Dorm Life

    All of the dorms are spacious and come with very nice furniture and beds. The only downside is that some of the Freshman dorms do not have air-conditioning yet. The school is working on having all of the rooms have AC, but they expect it to be a maximum of two academic years before that happens.

    Academic Rigor

    A vast majority of the classes are taught by teachers who know what they are doing. Classes are challenging every day, and you never quite know what could happen in a daily classroom--even with the semester schedule prepared in advance. Also, teachers tend to move quickly, so be prepared to review the work, and to get out of classes early (unless you are in a dance class)!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to apply, make sure you talk to as many people as possible in your prospective major here at Stephens. Each department does things differently depending on your year and level, as well as being vastly different than any other college. Talk to EVERYONE.

    In three sentences

    Stephens is called a Woman's College because there are no boys here--but it is also called that because it creates women. Stephens is a school that molds itself to fit its students; not the other way around. In layman's terms--this school cares, a lot, about you.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is the best. They really care about our safety. If you get out of class late and have to walk back to your dorm, you can call security and they will escort you back. They don't mind at all.

    Greek Life

    Sigma Sigma Sigma and Kappa Delta.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a couple of sororities on campus: Sigma Sigma Sigma and Kappa Delta. There is also fashion modeling group where students can be the models for fashion students. They put on a fashion show every year.

    Great for these types of students

    Stephens is great for Interior design, fashion, theater, dance, creative writing, and equestrian students. I am an interior design major and this is my second year at Stephens. We are already working with a real client so we are getting some real life experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Okay, so it's pretty expensive but the amount of financial aid they offer is pretty amazing. Anyway I think it is worth it for the quality of education we are getting here. Classes are small which means one-on-one time with teachers (no appointment necessary), and close knit, friendly classes. Small classes mean easier presentations.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of fun things to do around campus. Groups and organizations are always hosting events. The other night we had casino night (no actual money involved) and there were prizes. There are also plays, fashion modeling group, and sororities. But if you don't want to hang out around campus it is only a couple of blocks away from downtown. There are plenty of shops, restaurants, a theater, and an art museum all within walking distance of campus.

    Food and Dining

    Stephens has pretty good food. They offer gluten free, vegan, and vegetarian in the dining hall and have recently added a new student union (hang out area) complete with a Wii and bean bag chairs. They are also getting frozen yogurt soon.

    Dorm Life

    I like living in the dorms but sometimes it can get loud on the weekends. Security is the best here. They really care about our safety and will walk you around campus if you don't feel safe. They don't mind. They will also unlock doors for you if you lose your keys. :)

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be pretty intense. As an interior design student I started working with real clients my sophomore year. Every teacher I have had here is really helpful though. They like it when you ask questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid situated before the last minute. Save up some money, you will need it for supplies if you are a design major.

    In three sentences

    Overall Stephens College is great. Last October we got to volunteer for Extreme Makeover: Home Edition in Joplin. Who knows where Stephens will take us next.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Meet new friends in the dorms and around campus. Only a block away from downtown makes it easy to walk to the restaurants and shops.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall offers a good variety of food for the most part. Most of the staff is very nice and eager to please. The salad bar is a great place to try and stay healthy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are older and are being updated slowly but surely. They are cozy and have a rustic feel about them. Old downtown loft is how I would describe it.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are very personable. They help where they can and provide students the ability to be individuals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not bring everything and the kitchen sink.

    In three sentences

    Stephens is a great place for a girl to be herself and express herself with freedom. There are many opportunities made available here for degrees and job opportunities. The enrollment is very easy and any help needed is provided by great people.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is located in the downtown area of Columbia, MO but security here is amazing. If for any reason you don't feel safe, you can call them and they will escort you anywhere on campus that you want to go. They are really nice too.

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities on campus: Sigma Sigma Sigma and Kappa Delta. They organize and host a bundle of activities on campus that change every semester. Sometimes they will do a 5K run to raise money for various organizations or they might host an event that is just for fun so students can get together, meet new people, and just have a good time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs and activities of campus. Almost every major has a club. They include: Campus Life Unleashed CLU, Dance Collaborations, Errors of Comedy, Fashion Modeling Group, Humans vs. Zombies Columbia, Innovative Fashion Association, Interior Design Association, Jetsetting Susies, Ladies in Tea, Martin Luther King Student Union, Psychology ClU, Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), Sketchy Business, SOS (Susie's Organized for Service), Stephens CRU, Stephens Equine Therapy Association, Stephens Film Club, Stephens Pre-Law Society, Vollyball, Soccor, and Basketball teams, and Warehouse Theatre Company. I'm not sure if that is all of them but I think this short list can give prospective students an idea of what Stephens has to offer.

    Great for these types of students

    Stephens is great for the following majors/minors: Art, Biology, Business, Creative Writing, Dance, Education, Equestrian, Fashion, Film Making, Graphic Design, Integrated Media, Interior Design, Legal Studies, Marketing/Communication, Photography, Plus Program, Psychology, and Theater. I think most of these are for the bachelor's program but you can absolutely minor in any of these as well. There are also some other courses that are just minors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite tradition is the one where all students are expected to go to the president's office to get candy. She buys it out of her own pocket especially for her students. A more serious tradition is the Ten Ideals tradition. The Ten Ideals are Respect, Courage, Independence, Support, Sensitivity, Responsibility, Belief, Creativity, Intelligence and Leadership. Throughout the semester ten anonymous people on campus observe students and pick the ten that best represent the Ten Ideals of Stephens College.

    Bang for the buck

    Okay, it is really expensive here but I think it is worth it. The quality of the education, support, and friendship you will receive here is outstanding. Classes are somewhat small so you will get one-on-one time with teachers. There are also a multitude of networking opportunities. Teachers bring in guests to class who are professionals and who will often give you internship opportunities. Of course there are also scholarships available, especially if you transfer from another college with a good GPA.

    What to do for fun

    Stephens is located in the downtown area so there are lots of shops and restaurants. Stephens Lake Park is also a short walk from campus and is a really nice spot to picnic, hang out, jog, and star gaze. The theater majors are almost always putting on plays, there is also an art gallery, costume museum, and library on campus. There are often events hosted by different groups on campus. Stephens is the place to be.

    Food and Dining

    Stamper Commons does a pretty good job when it comes to our food. They offer gluten free, and vegetarian food and have a fresh salad bar, fruit bar, and desert bar. Different food is offered everyday but there are some things they offer on a regular basis. For instance, this semester, Monday is Mexican day, Tuesday is macaroni day, Wednesday is Asian day and Friday is Sushi day, etc. They offer other things besides these things on those days but if you don't want to eat there every day then you can decide what you like and eat there on those specific days.

    Dorm Life

    I like dorm life because I feel like it puts me right in the middle of all the action. I meet more people, I feel a little more independent, and I get a lot more homework done than if I was living at home. The rooms are old but they are in pretty good condition and if there is something wrong facilities is only a phone call away. They will even replace burnt out light bulbs. The rooms are also all located on campus close to everything: classrooms, cafeteria, downtown, the park.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here can be pretty demanding. I am only a second year interior design student and I am already working with a real life client. This is really good because it is preparing me for when I graduate. It is giving me the upper hand because, unlike most college graduates, I will have already had real life experience in my field. Also, last October the interior design department got to go to Joplin, Missouri and help with the Extreme Makeover: Home Edition project there. Stephens is really good about giving their students stuff to put on their resumes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard but be ready to be successful. Start working on financial aid ASAP. The more scholarships you try for the better your chances of getting one.

    In three sentences

    Stephens College is all I dreamed college would be. It has everything from on-campus groups to good location. There is not another college I can think of that I would rather attend.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security at Stephens is always on top of things. You need something; you just call them and they will be there. You need to be walked somewhere or walked from somewhere; you call them and they will be there.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life at Stephens is really good to become apart of. You make a lot of friends, you develop better leadership skills, and develop very good socialization skills.

    Clubs and Activities

    Stephens has over fifteen clubs and activities. There is a club or activity for every major or minor out there. It's very hard to chose which club you want to be part of because there's so many.

    Great for these types of students

    Stephens is great for equestrian majors, biology majors, dance and theatre majors, and very good for fashion majors. There's so many choices of classes for all kinds of people and career paths.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual traditions are the crossing of the bridge; which is as a freshmen you cross the bridge, then when you graduate you cross back over the bridge. Another, unusual tradition is that there is The Ten; which is ten graduated women who which the freshmen and see which ten freshmen represent the Ten Ideals of Stephens College.

    Bang for the buck

    You are receiving so much education for your money. You also, get special deals on all kinds of things. Stephens is totally worth the money because they have so many connections in the career.

    What to do for fun

    Fun at Stephens can be going out with friends, going downtown for lunch, or there's many groups to get with on campus to have some fun together. You and your friends can go watch the movies, and go roller skating.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Stephens is really good and they specialize your food for you sometimes. They have many options for your desire of food. Their deserts are so good!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. You can bring your pets and you have the option to have a roommate or no. You became close to your floor neighbors. Dorm life at Stephens helps you become more social, and you make lots of awesome friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very educational and are way different than high school. You have to keep up with your work and organize your time wisely.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise you to talk to your teachers about any questions you have. And, make many friends because that's just more connections you have. always work hard for what you want and don't ever give up on yourself.

    In three sentences

    Stephens College is really educational and the teachers are so great. It's an all women's college with so much too offer you. Stephens has so many paths you can take for your degree to be successful in your career field.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security on campus is amazing and cares about the safety of each individual student.

    Greek Life

    We have two sororities on campus. Sigma Sigma Sigma and Kappa Delta.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many organizations on campus to get involved in. No matter what your cause or your interest, there is definitely a group for you.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of restaurants downtown as well as clothing stores. There is also a mall not far away and if you are interested in night life, there are a few great clubs downtown as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is divine. Fresh Ideas is our current food provider and they are so could at trying new things with their food and giving new fresh options to students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great and everyone is respectable of everyone else's space. We respect everyone's study times and have quiet hours for those who like to sleep in college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Stephens are amazing! I love all of my required classes because they teach me so much about the world and different interesting facts I never would have thought possible for me to know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do things! There are so many opportunities on this campus that there is no reason you should ever be bored, or not have any friends. Socialize on campus or socialize off with people from other campus. Which ever you do, get to know people and have great experiences in college while you can.

    In three sentences

    Stephens is a tight-knot community. It really is like a huge family that supports you and wants you to succeed. It is such a relief to have teachers that can talk to you on a personal level rather than talking down to you as if they are better than you because they are your teacher.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our security works really hard to make sure we feel safe. There are secru-keys for all of the residence halls and everyone that is a student has one, so only students and staff can get access to the residence halls. We have emergency poles all around campus. Our security is even willing to walk with you at night if you feel uncomfortable.

    Greek Life

    To my knowledge there are about 4 sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs here on campus, some are pretty awesome. I'm not a part of one personally, but I know quite a few people who are a part of some.

    Great for these types of students

    Creative, friendly, kind, driven, willing to work, opinionated, different.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Senior Hall is known to be one of the more haunted areas on campus. We have a friendly ghost named Sarah who is very protective over our college.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown is just a few blocks away from campus, there are lots of cool hangouts for you and your friends to relax and have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    It depends. I'm a picky eater, but most of the time there is always something good to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Some things aren't all that great about the dorms. They are rather old and sometimes it's a bit annoying, other than that, it's pretty decent.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone works really hard especially in their major classes and everyone strives to do their best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply for as many scholarships as possible. Every single bit of money helps!

    In three sentences

    Everyone here is extremely friendly. The professors are fantastic and always willing to help. The campus is beautiful!

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a ton of stuff to do for fun in Columbia. Stephens has tons of clubs for all sorts of interests. There is also a lot of shops and restaurants downtown that are in walking distance from Stephens.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is not too shabby for campus cuisine. Fresh Ideas is the company that makes all of the food. The worst thing about it is the use of Styrofoam in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are so much fun. It is like a slumber party every night. You will meet new people and everyone is very friendly there and RAs are very accessible.

    Academic Rigor

    How tough a class is really depends on your professor. Sometimes you'll do mostly notes and discussions, but some classes might require a lot of tests and papers. The different teaching styles teach you how to adapt to new scenarios.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of going to a women's college! It is fun and its surrounded by a great college town. You will always have opportunities to do cool things on campus and in the community.

    In three sentences

    This college encourages personal and academic growth. The college is welcoming and full of friendly faculty and students. It is a safe place where women grow to learn who they are and meet their full potential.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Tons of clubs and events going on in downtown Columbia every week. Programs by Stephens organizations occur a few times a month as well.

    Food and Dining

    Great variety of food. Some days are better than other but dining is all you can eat and there are so many options you are sure to find something to eat every time.

    Dorm Life

    The buildings are older and could use a lot of remodeling. Reconstruction has been ongoing for the past 2 years but still need a lot of work. However, the residents are great and a lot of fun, sure to make a lot of great connections just from Res Hall neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging and demanding but faculty goes out their way to ensure you achieve good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind. Stephens has a lot to offer and could really use people who are willing to contribute to the community.

    In three sentences

    Stephens earns an excellent rating. I have never heard of an institution more dedicated than Stephens faculty. It's like being a part of a close-knit family.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Theatre is amazing.

    What to do for fun

    Theatre.

    Food and Dining

    It has good food, lots of choices.

    Dorm Life

    Loved it.

    Academic Rigor

    It is quite a good school.

    Tips for prospective students

    They make it easy for you.

    In three sentences

    I love Stephens. It is exactly what I am looking for. They have been very helpful.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food sounds a little sketchy, but then again, who will have time to make their own?

    Dorm Life

    I am so excited to bring my dog Tazz with me. He and I are are both excited to meet everyone

    Academic Rigor

    It looks super involved and I can't wait to attend

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Stephens is great for those interested in equestrian, child education, psychology, biology, business and marketing, theater, dancing and fashion majors.

    What to do for fun

    Girls just want to have fun! At Stephens there are many clubs and organizations to join. There are two sorroites on campus; Tri Sigma and Kappa Delta. Off campus fun may include walking down town to explore new resturants, stores, and meet new people with diverse backgrounds. Around town there are movie theaters, bowling alleys, clubs to hang out in and trails to walk, run, or ride on.

    Food and Dining

    The food an dining at Stephens is catered by Fresh Ideas who are bases out of Florida, USA. There is a variety of food for both vegitarian and meat lovers.The meal plans are simple for Stephens students; if you live on campus your meals are unlimited (paid through your tuition) and if you live off campus you get a certain amount of money to spend on food at the dining hall or Kaldi's coffee. On occassion students get to make their own desserts for fun and events are held in the dinning hall during finals week.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Stephens is full of excitement because pets are allowed in two of the dorms on campus. Alot of socializing takes place in the lounge on each floor of the dormitory. It is easy to get to know your neighbors because the residential life lets you choose which dorm you want to live in and who your roomate will be.

    Academic Rigor

    Somethings that will help your college expierence to be great would be academic honesty. Cheating on a test is never taken lightly as well as plagiarism. Professors want to know what your thoughts are not those that were stolen off the interent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would be to work hard every day, listen to your professors, arirve to class on time, and always turn your assignments in on time. College gives you more responsibility because you must be able to have effective time managment skills and respect that others time is just as valuable as your time. Although caffine gets many students through a study session the best thing you could do would be to study in advance, eat healthy, and get plenty of sleep the night before a big test.

    In three sentences

    Stephens is like a small community in a medium size city. Stephens College should be rated a nine out of ten because the passion that stephens faculty have for all the students is phenomenal. Attending Stephens allows many women to thrive in the work place as well as create lasting friendships with other women from around the world.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a big security team here and they're always keeping a lookout.

    Greek Life

    Well there's a sorority here called Kappa Delta but I don't know much about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm part of an improv club called Errors of Comedy and a skit-writing club called Sketchy Business. I'm also doing a children's theatre group called Sprouts.

    Great for these types of students

    Theatre students, biology students, and equestrians.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being a women's college is pretty unusual. Being a women's college that allows male students is even more unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    Like all colleges, it's really pricey. It's less expensive for me as a guy but I'm not getting a degree out of it unfortunately.

    What to do for fun

    Check out the plays that the theatre program puts on.

    Food and Dining

    There's a pretty standard cafeteria where you can go and get all you can eat. The prices differ depending on the time of day but you can get a meal plan with unlimited cafeteria privileges.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but most of the students do and the dorms are really nice. Some of them allow pets.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm taking six classes and I'm busy with schoolwork all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to make friends and don't judge people too quickly.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice school. It's mostly a women's college but they have a mixed theatre program. And it's in Columbia which is a nice town.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    You have to come here it's great, it's very personalable

    In three sentences

    I love this School!!!!!

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there are two sororities

    Great for these types of students

    theatre majors, fashion majors

  • 02/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security are always driving around making sure everything is safe. throughout campus there are stations that had a phone and you can call the police or security if needed. If you're stuck in your room sick, they'll bring you food, and will sometimes even be your DD if you need!

    Greek Life

    there are two sororities on campus, Kappa Delta, and Tri Sigma.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many many different clubs and activities for students to join.

    Great for these types of students

    This is an all-girls school, so you need to make sure you're okay with that! Mizzou is right around the corner though, so there are guys everywhere downtown!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each year students with the '10 Ideals' are picked, so make sure you do your best and be the best person you can be!

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers really want to see you succeed, so they will do whatever they can to help you.

    What to do for fun

    Stephens is downtown, so there are movie theaters, dog parks, shopping, and lots of food. Many of the bars and clubs have weekly performers, so there's always a concert going on.

    Food and Dining

    I personally love the food! There are options from pizza, to the grill, fruit, salad bar, sushi on Fridays, and every night there are the 'cultural' options which range from chicken to fish to pasta. Everything is delicious, and they even have a dessert bar!

    Dorm Life

    The pet policy is awesome, you're allowed to bring your dogs and cats, lizards, fish, birds, rabbits, rodents, just no snakes! Dorms are kept clean, and each building has activities for the students to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course all of the teachers vary, but all are willing to work with you, and make sure each individual student succeeds. The classes range in difficulty, but if you're having issues Student Services are more than happy to help!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus, and try to sit in on some classes to make sure it's right for you.

    In three sentences

    A lovely school, where we all feel like family. The faculty and staff are wonderful, and can't do enough to ensure your success! The pet friendly rules are quite awesome, and lots of people have animals!

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight Breakfast. One night during finals, the faculty and professors all dress up in a certain theme and host a breakfast for all the students at 10:00 at night! It's a great way to unwind and de-stress during finals week.

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    It's just a short walk from downtown, and there is always something happening there. Get a pass to the Mizzou Rec Center.

    Food and Dining

    It's okay. Some meals are better than others.

    Dorm Life

    Always something going on! Very fun and exciting!!

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging, but if you put in a lot of work and effort, you can achieve good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend visit days and visit all the major's showcases. Also, get to know the faculty and develop a relationship with them.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security and safety is fantastic! No only are they on constant patrol, they are only a phone call away for any issue that may arise. This group of security personnel will meet you at your car if you do not feel safe walking back to the dorm, they will go across town and pick you up at the mall or downtown if you want to come back and the rest of your group is not ready. They also coordinate runs to Wal-Mart so there is no need to ride the local bus if you don't want to. They are super friendly and caring 24 hours a day!

    Greek Life

    Stephens has two sororities on campus students may pledge. Kappa Delta and Tri Sigma are both active on campus and throughout the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    Even though Stephens College is a womens only college, sports are still a part of the Stephens experience. Stephens Stars athletes enjoy sports such as softball, volleyball, soccer, basketball, golf, to name a few. If sports is not a students idea of fun, there are numerous clubs and other groups to become involved in throughout the Stephens campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Stephens College is great for any young woman who wants to grow without restraints found at many co-ed institutions. While fashion, theatre and dance make up a large portion of students attending Stephens, there are many other liberal arts and pre-professional programs to choose from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year Stephens college chooses ten women who exemplify the Ten Ideals of a Stephens Women. The identities of these women are kept secret until the end of the year. Some say many of the buildings of this campus are haunted and every year at halloween ghost tours are taken to the areas believed to be haunted at this college which is over 175 years old.

    Bang for the buck

    Stephens is a highly respected college known throughout the US. The list of alumni who have gone on to great things is quite large and will only continue to grow with each graduating class. This group of alumni is also a great source for internships and employment after graduation. While tuition is higher than some other institutions, the benefits and perks of a private college are quite nice.

    What to do for fun

    Columbia is a college town, with not only Stephens College but Columbia College and Missouri University. There are always activities to partake in all over town, a downtown area full of restaurants and bars as well as shopping, and parks to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    Any college food program can always be better, but Stephens dining and food is very good. We have a large variety daily and even have a Sushi Chef who comes in roughly once a week to make fresh Sushi for all to enjoy!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Stephens is wonderful! Not only can you find a wonderful roommate, but you can also choose to bring your own pet with you to reside in your dorm room. If don't have a pet of your own you can foster a pet instead. If pets are not your thing there are dorms that are pet free, or even apartment style dorms to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    While classes are rigorous, staff is always ready to help in any way possible. The classes here are meant to push you not only academically but mentally and emotionally as well so that you will become a strong independent women. Using women's issues makes these classes more meaningful and rewarding not to mention interesting, for example take a chemistry class and you may learn how to make perfume!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't dismiss this college before making a visit, its small size and personable, profession and caring staff make this feel more like home away from home rather than just a place where you are a number rather than a name. Everyone here is on a first name basis from students to staff (even the college President)! Also remember, that even though this campus is a girls only campus, there is no reason to worry about not being able to meet boys if that is what you want to do, with Missouri University and Columbia College just 2 miles away in either direction there are males all around.

    In three sentences

    Stephens is a fantastic place where girls can grow into powerful, well educated young women. It is a place full of opportunities without the need to fight males for a top spot. All of our studies are centered around women's issues making learning both interesting and rewarding.