Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Stevens Institute of Technology Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    As a division 3 school, you couldn't ask for a better relationship between athletics and academics. Varsity sports are completely sponsored for the school, so I've saved thousands of dollars yet been able to remain athletic. Coaches recognize that students are looking for a good academic education, yet professors are very willing to work around athletics events (and even come support them!)

    Bang for the buck

    Stevens students are highly recognized in the industry. Many companies exclusively recruit from Stevens because the students are so well prepared.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a small, close knit school. As long as you get involved, its the best years of your life.

    Am learning a lot

    Stevens provides a challenge, yet most of the learning is practical or hands on. I feel exceptionally prepared for real world work in the future!

  • 04/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For a small school, Stevens has quite an eclectic student body. There's something for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely get involved with the co-op program (alternate semesters of work and study). Although the classroom is a great place for learning, nothing can beat actually working in my field.

    Am enjoying being here

    Even though school work is always the main priority, there's always something going on on campus. Personally, I am involved with our radio station as well as a few other clubs. Additionally, our entertainment committee provides subsidized trips to different concerts, plays, and events.

    Am learning a lot

    Stevens provides a rigorous academic curriculum. I am challenged in my classes, but have learned much since high school.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are great, they are really personable and are pretty relaxed. But when it comes to your safety that is their top concern.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are seriously clubs for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun, New York City is directly across from the school and the city of Hoboken is so much fun to live in. There are always activities on campus and in the city, it is hard to be bored here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a smaller school this is the school for you. This school also focuses on the sciences so you should have a strong background in them.

    In three sentences

    There are not many major choices outside of engineering however it offers a great education in all of the majors. As an athlete I enjoy the feeling of family in the team and the school. It is a large campus but still small enough to get to classes quickly.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The campus police are very nice and are dedicated to keeping everyone safe. Hoboken in general is a relatively small, safe town.

    Greek Life

    Stevens doesn't have a huge Greek life. We have about 12 fraternities and 3 sororities. However, what they lack in size they make up in involvement. The Greek organizations are heavily influential around campus and the events they organize are really fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    Stevens has a club for anything you can think of. With activities ranging from archery, to club sports to anime club and everything in between. If you can't find something to interest you in the already established clubs you can create one. All the clubs on campus are student run and organized.

    Great for these types of students

    Stevens is for anyone interested in technology. If you're inquisitive, creative and like to learn then Stevens is the place for you. The school has an uncanny way of letting you have it all. You can play sports, join clubs, get work experience, travel abroad and anything else you want to do. Come to Stevens if you want to take advantage of everything the world has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    Stevens is a small, private institute meaning that the cost of tuition is very high. However, Stevens offers a cooperative education program that allows student to get real job experience before graduating and other ways to prepare you for joining the work force. The faculty at Stevens is very dedicated to ensuring that everyone who graduates gets a job and they are about 85-90% successful.

    What to do for fun

    Stevens campus is located on the banks of the Hudson River, after about a 5 minute train ride you are in New York City. There's always something going on in the city; from plays, to sporting events and anything else you might want to do.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall serves delicious food. Also there are tons of affordable restaurants in Hoboken with cuisines ranging from Greek, to Italian, to Chinese.

    Dorm Life

    The Stevens freshman dorms are a little old. The bathrooms have been newly renovated, but only of the dorm have air conditioning. The room are small, like all dorm rooms, but livable. Stevens also offers really nice off campus apartments for upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Stevens is a technical institute mainly for engineering students. They want their students to be the best they can be so the classes are very challenging. If your going to pursue a degree in engineering prepare for intense accelerated math and science courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you choose to come to this school be prepared to work hard. Stevens is a fun school with a lot to offer, but you have to work for what you want.

    In three sentences

    Stevens is one of the best engineering schools in the country. The school's location is a perfect mix of urban and suburban environments. If you choose to attend this school you won't regret it.

  • 06/06/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Although it's a bit expensive, I think I'll get a great education and even graduate with a job already confirmed.

    Will enjoy being here

    I think I will enjoy being there, only because the campus is really nice. It's right next to the water, which means there's always a great view. I won't get to enjoy it that much, since I might be staying at home, but I'll still be able to enjoy being there during the day.

    Will learn a lot

    From what I've heard, Stevens is a great place for those who are willing to learn. This is one of the reasons why I have chosen to go there. The curriculum is great and there are just so many opportunities there. For example, the co-op program will allow me to gain experience in the work field while learning about that specific career and what it takes to succeed in the field.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in its own little niche in Hoboken with its own private police force on call 24/7. Never any major problems.

    Greek Life

    Definitely go greek. It makes the experience at Stevens much better. There are fraternities and sororities that meet almost anybodys preferences.

    Clubs and Activities

    The sports teams are good and improving. There are numerous clubs and activities meeting every single week. The school sends out a newsletter with a list of the events every week.

    Great for these types of students

    People who know how to study hard or work hard for the grades that they want.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stevens has a huge wave pool tank that the navy often rents to use for naval experiments. Very impressive.

    Bang for the buck

    The school sits on a hill and has an amazing million dollar view of the New York City skyline.

    What to do for fun

    Go Greek! There are numerous comedians, concerts, events, move nights, etc. Once you turn 21, Hoboken has an amazing bar scene.

    Food and Dining

    Some repetition with the food on the menu, but the quality is very good compared to other schools.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are new, some are old. Apartments are nice, but Hoboken is an expensive town. Greek life is the way to go.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is very hard, but the payoff makes it worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work, study hard, and check deadlines. Get involved with greek life or sports or clubs.

    In three sentences

    Stevens is a highly ranked engineering school located in a young persons town with New York City right across the river. The workload is hard, but the job placement upon graduation is high. A small campus and student population means you will get to know each other very well.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police boxes everywhere, and campus police are always driving around to inspect campus

    Greek Life

    There are 3 sororities and about 7 fraternities. They are all fairly active.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a good bit of clubs, but if we don't have it, and there is an interest for it, you can make your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    smart, hardworking, determined students who now they want to do lab work

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People are always riding unicycles around and playing ukeleli.

    Bang for the buck

    Great academics and good job opportunities, but tuition is a little high.

    What to do for fun

    New York is 10 minutes away, so its easy to get there. also, there are frats on campus if you're into greek life.

    Food and Dining

    There is not too many healthy options on campus. A lot of our food is fried and gets boring to eat after a few weeks. But there are many places to eat in town.

    Dorm Life

    Davis is nice because it's close to classes and ha air conditioning, but they turn off the ac units in the winter so you have to open your windows when the heat is on too high.

    Academic Rigor

    The tests are ridiculously hard. It is not uncommon to get a 44 on a test and still get a C in the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know you want to do engineering before you come here. It is very hard to transfer out to another college.

    In three sentences

    Great academics, but you need to know for sure that you cant to do lab work if you go here, The people are super smart, but sometimes have trouble relating or socializing. It looks great on Grad school applications.

  • 09/24/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    It's not so important having fun, because I want concentrate on my studies. I would love visiting the campus but my budget is to low.

    Will learn a lot

    I want to become a pediatric cardiologist. That's why I need the best educacion I can.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police on campus!

    What to do for fun

    new york city. washington street. everything you need. parks everywhere.

    Food and Dining

    the food is your average college food.

    Dorm Life

    depends on where you are situated.

    Academic Rigor

    worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    study, get friendly with the admissions, don't sweat it.

    In three sentences

    a wonderful and beautiful campus. the staff are all great and friendly. it is rigorous but worth it!

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are a little more nerdy

    What to do for fun

    Besides all the activities on campus, there is a lot to do around Hoboken. Plus, you are a short train ride away from both Jersey City and New York City

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great! Our campus security people are nice and the local Hoboken police are very connected with the school and available to help.

    Greek Life

    I joined a sorority my first year and I love my big and all my other sisters. They keep us very busy doing lots of fun things.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have so many great clubs and there are plenty of fraternities and sororities to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Like learning and working with others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stevens is the high point for the Hoboken area, so when a hurricane hit we were the safest place to be!

    Bang for the buck

    Stevens is a private school, so it isn't cheap, but I think it is worth it for the quality of education I am getting. And I love my ultimate food plan: any food any time.

    What to do for fun

    There is always someone in the dorms to hang out with. Or go off campus into Hoboken where there are lots of restaurants and shops. And with a 15 minute train ride you can be in New York City!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is great. The ultimate meal plan lets you go in as many times as you want, and whenever you want. It is open til midnight. Love the ice cream and coffee runs!

    Dorm Life

    The best! I made so many friends my first month there that it felt like home. I love my new Steven's family.

    Academic Rigor

    Very demanding and challenging, but I am learning more that I ever dreamed. The teachers and TA's are great about helping students. They want you to learn and do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your sun screen and winter coats. Stevens location on the Hudson River is beautiful, and you'll love using all the outside areas on beautiful, but when winter winds blow across the Hudson, you'll be glad to have a warm coat.

    In three sentences

    Don't be fooled by the small size of Stevens. Stevens is a great school. Both the faculty and the students who go there are incredibly supportive and want you to succeed.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Police is great and takes very good care of the school. The city is also pretty safe, so there shouldn't be anything to worry about.

    Greek Life

    You see people from Greek life everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities going on campus! You can even start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Technology Students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ducks, ducks everywhere. You must get a rubber duck.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe Stevens is worth your money. There is much going on around the school. Although, be aware you will be very busy with homework and studying! :). In my opinion, it is worth it at the end!

    What to do for fun

    You may go outside and play volleyball in the sand or play Frisbee. You can jog by the Hudson River, or go to New York City watch a play or just walk around. Clubs and organizations hold events almost weekly, providing many opportunities for students to come out and have fun!

    Food and Dining

    I really like it. There are a few dinning places in the school and the city has several other places to go. The food in the school is pretty good, I am satisfied.

    Dorm Life

    I am not a dormer myself, but it seems to be good from what my friends say.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of homework due and exams. Not all classes require much, but the core ones sometimes are challenging. I think all the learning is worth in the end though.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college is close to the city, there are lots of things to do. Be prepared to spend a lot of time studying for exams and doing homework. If you want something, go after it, people at Stevens are willing to make it happen. Get involved!

    In three sentences

    Stevens presents a great community. There are lots of opportunities when it comes to internships and job experience. The education is of great quality, and all students thrive for success.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent police department

    Greek Life

    Plenty of frats and sororities on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost anything you can imagine

    Great for these types of students

    Math and science people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dressing up the horse statue.

    Bang for the buck

    You will defineatley get your moneys worth. Great ROI.

    What to do for fun

    You can go into New York in about ten minutes or you can walk down by the Hudson or just hang around the beautiful campus.

    Food and Dining

    Anything you possible want to eat is within five minutes walk.

    Dorm Life

    Nice dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very hard engineering school but the teachers are very willing to work with you and help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a trip out to the campus. I guarantee you will love it.

    In three sentences

    Best opportunities after school. Great sports programs. Great view from campus.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is super safe, and as a girl I feel comfortable walking around campus at 3 in the morning. The police won't bother you, until you give them a reason to.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities and clubs on campus, but starting your own is near impossible.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of Entertainment Committee events, tons of clubs that will hold at least three events in a weekend. If none of these events are for you, you have Hoboken and New York City right at your fingertips.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is simply cafeteria food, so as long as you go in expecting that it is decent food. The bright side is that you get access to the food from 7am to midnight, something most schools don't offer, and you get unlimited access as long as you live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are fine; they definitely get better as you move to upperclassman housing. Just a warning though Res Life is awful at placing you in rooms or working with you to switch roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very difficult, but you come out with more knowledge than most students going into a similar field at a different school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are ready for a rigorous curriculum, and also be careful of time management because finding time to study can be difficult, with New York City right next door.

    In three sentences

    It is a great technology school open and friendly to all different types of people. There are a lot more than just nerds at this school. However, it is tough, do not expect to get straight As if that is what you received in high school.

  • 06/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Stevens police are the nicest guys you will ever meet. Need a ride to the train station cuz it's raining at 6 in the morning? They've got your back. You see them around all the time and everyone is so at ease because we know they are there for our safety... Or to cheer us on at a sporting event, which is pretty awesome too.

    Greek Life

    As of right now Stevens has 14 frats and 4 sororities. Community service, academics and parties, that's all you really need to know.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs to participate in. We have theatre, robotics, radio, sports, and dance, just to name a few. All freshmen receive a flash drive with all the clubs on campus that they can participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Stevens is great for anyone thinking about engineering, mathematics, or the sciences. If you're the type of student that appreciates your professor knowing your name and being invested in your success, Stevens is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    While Stevens is not a big school, we do have our traditions, whether it be rubbing your hands together for a basketball free throw, or going to visit Castle Point before finals. (Castle Point is the most beautiful sight you will ever see of the New York skyline)

    Bang for the buck

    Stevens has been at the top of the list for many surveys done for return on investment. While the ticket price scares many off, admissions is very generous with financial aid in comparison to other schools and Stevens graduates have an easy time finding a high paying job right out of college.

    What to do for fun

    Stevens has an Entertainment Committee that sets up all kinds of fun events throughout the year including Super Bowl parties, picnics, trips and shows. The admissions building has a free bowling alley in the basement and if all else fails, there's always New York! A train ticket is only $2.50. Go explore!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is set up in an all you can eat style. You swipe in and have plenty of options including a salad bar, the grill, brick oven pizza, pasta station, ice cream bar, and the sandwich and wrap station. Although the food is not to die for you can always find something you want to eat. Plus it's open till midnight, so late night study snacks are always an option.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are bigger than most of my friends' at other colleges, and there is the opportunity to stay on campus all four years. Freshmen dorms are usually doubles with a community bathroom and kitchen per floor along with laundry facilities in each building that are already paid for through housing. Starting your sophomore year, you can live in an apartment style dorm with kitchen, living area, bathrooms and 2 bedrooms for 4 people.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't come to Stevens with your old high school study habits. The classes are demanding, but that is what makes the school so respected by those working in the field.

    Tips for prospective students

    You want a strong base in mathematics and sciences. Aim for over 1800 on your SATs. If Stevens is your top school, apply early decision, as you are likely to get more financial aid that way.

    In three sentences

    Stevens is the perfect way to experience a beautiful small college while being a 5 minute train ride from New York City. You receive personal attention in classes, and are part of a Division 3 athletics power house. It truly is the best of both worlds.

  • 06/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. You will see campus police around all the time. They are very friendly people and always willing to lend a helping hand.

    Greek Life

    We have a significant Greek life for such a small school. The fraternities and sororities host many events that are very fun and entertaining. They are also extremely close by located only one block off of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities on campus from greek life, sports, professional groups, community service,and so much more. A student will definitely be able to find a club or activity that they enjoy.

    Great for these types of students

    A Stevens student has to enjoy an academic challenge and not be afraid to work hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You will love Castle Point the views are amazing and you will find yourself just sitting there a lot.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun at Stevens. There is just about any type of club you could think of. New York City is Right across the river with many different activities to do. Although you may not find yourself going there a lot because there is just so much to do in Hobken,it's full of great restaurants and little shops.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is all you can eat which is great. It serves better food than your average college dining hall there are also a lot of extra perks that come with the meal plan. Duck Bills are probably the best part which give you money to spend at restaurants down in town, and let me tell you I have never had a bad meal in Hoboken.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are pretty average your freshman year. After your freshman year the choices you have for housing increase immensely. There are many different options on and off campus dorms and apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class at this school pushes you to try new things and learn along the way. Classes are hard and take a lot of studying time, but you definitely learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking at this school be ready to work hard. The average amount of credits per semester here is higher than at other universities. Also, you are going to have to work in your classes. Things might not always come easy, but the benefits of the extra work is immense.

    In three sentences

    Stevens is a great small school. Teachers are very attentive to your individual needs and classes challenge you at every level. The best part of this school is the community, you have NYC right across the river, but there is so much to do in Hoboken you don't even have to go into New York.