Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Suffolk County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who want to learn and maybe get an Associates degree to start a career. Not only that, but you can automatically transfer to 4year schools after applying for the transferring program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs!

    Bang for the buck

    This school offers good scholarships and financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students, professors, and staff are very friendly here and you can join many clubs to make new friends and find new ways of learning things.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the classrooms are small which is a big plus because that way you can have more one-on-one time with the professors. Not only that, but there is a lot of extra help provided around the campus.

  • 10/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who are unsure of what they are looking to major in , and those who want to save money plain and simple.

    Tips for prospective students

    Suffolk gives you the same liberal arts education as well as any other 4 year college, so the best thing to do is to apply early and to have no doubts that this is the right choice for you. The purpose of Suffolk is to help start off your college experience while having fun doing it. Who would want to save money now that our economy is at its difficult times. The best thing is that most colleges accept the transfer credits towards liberal arts so you can start off your new school in the same level as everybody else.

    Am enjoying being here

    Not only do I get a great education, but i have fun attending clubs doing so, they have plenty of student activities to get you motivated to enjoy and learn , as well as having learning centers that work one on one with you if your having trouble on a specific subject. Needless to say i think we know who the winner is here!

    Am learning a lot

    Suffolk has amazing academic opportunities , that will allow you to save money and transfer out to the school or your dreams, all with hard work and commitment.

  • 08/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious, intelligent, hard-working, diligent, respectful, responsible, and all those other positive qualities of a great student. Good luck!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because Suffolk is a 2-year college doesn't mean that it should be taken lightly. Come to class ready to learn and be respectful to your professors because they ultimately control your grade. If you put your fair share of effort into what you do and your professor sees that they'll pull some strings to help you through. Many successful individuals started here at Suffolk and went on to greater things.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other colleges, Suffolk offers a reasonably affordable tuition rate. If you apply for financial aid or scholarships you should be relatively fine. The books are affordable and any smart shopper or a person with a well-defined budget can attend here and end up with some spare cash to keep themselves entertained. Overall, you're paying for a great education so study hard and make use of your money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've had no complaints so far. The students are relatively friendly or they keep to themselves. It's a nice college vibe when you step onto campus: random faces bustling about, the open air as you walk to your next class, or the subtle silence of the Huntington Library. It's a great academic environment.

    Am learning a lot

    I've definitely learned a bunch here at Suffolk County Community College. A majority of the professors I've had so far have been extraordinarily helpful and for me went the extra mile to help in any way possible. Don't get me wrong, there are a few professors that were difficult to deal with and there were moments where I just wanted to get up and walk out. But as a sum, the professors here really do want their students to succeed.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I saw a cop there today :)

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of clubs offered.

    Bang for the buck

    I thought it would be way cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    I heard there was a lot of clubs.

    Food and Dining

    I have not tried their food.

    Dorm Life

    I have not dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not attended classes yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    I cannot give advice because I am a new student.

    In three sentences

    It's really big and it seems like a nice school. The staff seems nice and helpful. I feel like I need to get use to the school.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SPORT, CLUB

    Dorm Life

    NO DORM

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 62

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    suffolk is a place where i really learned what i wanted to do. the advisors were very helpful and guided me to finding what i want to study and pursue as a career in life. i am glad that i went to this college first.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is wonderful and friendly.

    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    students lending a helping hand is a wonderful club to join as well as campus activities board.

    Great for these types of students

    any student looking to recieve a certficate or an associates degree.

    What to do for fun

    join a club.

    Food and Dining

    the food is awesome and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    most of suffolk community colleges gradautes have attended such schools as nyu, unc chapel hill just to name a few.

    Tips for prospective students

    my number one tip is build a relationship with your professor. make sure you have a great circle of friends on campus, especially ones who are specialized in your area of study in case you need them to tutor you.

    In three sentences

    great place to start. they have wonderful professors who care about you. a caring staff who is there to help you.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends, go out to eat or go to the beach.

    Tips for prospective students

    A great first start and a fantastic 2 year institution.

    In three sentences

    This college is a wonderdul start. It is a great transition from High School to college life. The classes are of course college level with more personal class settings.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is common hour, and when it's warm sometimes we have a DJ playing music in the courtyard.

    Food and Dining

    The school cafe is very nice !

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter school so there is no dorm life, but it is a great school to meet new people and make new friends anyway!

    Academic Rigor

    Just because this is a community college doesn't mean that it's the easy way out. The academic standards here are helled as high as any other university! As long as you go to class and study, you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is such a wonderful school to start your college career. At Suffolk, you will be able to be in a smaller class and have opportunities to learn on a more personal level. I would definitely take advantage of the free tutoring in the brand new beautiful library, and stay in touch with your professors! They are more than willing to help you as long as your willing to do the work!!

    In three sentences

    Suffolk County Community College is a great way to start your college career. This commuter school has some of the most amazing professors you will ever meet. This is THE two year college to go to on the east end of Long Island.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There were some car break-ins a few semesters ago, but that was the only incident I've heard of. And they were caught quickly. There are emergency stations with phones and lights throughout the campuses. In every building there are phones dedicated to contacting security. Security itself has guard shacks and cars that are constantly monitoring the campus,. The guards themselves are friendly and helpful, and the professors will go out of their way to make sure you are safe.

    Greek Life

    Very little outside of the Greek letters on the honors program apparel and supplies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are probably close to 50 if not more clubs. Unfortunately they all meet at the same time every week, so you can usually on manage two. They offer clubs that are dedicated to certain subjects, to clubs that discuss video games and horror movies, to human rights groups. There are constantly conferences, awareness weeks or award winning speakers all throughout the semesters.

    Great for these types of students

    Financially smart students who want to explore academia before committing themselves to debt. Those who want to reestablish themselves academically after high school and transfer to practically any school they want afterwards.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the Southhampton building one particular wall leading to the art wing has a piece of dried gum on every brick with a very detailed face carved into it. It's not even gross, just endearing and beautiful. There are some cats that live on the campus that people have built houses for and leave food for. There are a few unpaved paths through trees and grass that are often used. And another unpaved path that goes form the Annex building to the gym; it is extremely convenient because those are the two farthest points of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Psychology: Rooney, Vollaro Philosophy: Postl, Kosciuk English: Penna, Difranco Sociology: Beardmoose These are all incredible professors, most with doctorates. Access to such incredible minds for the price of this schools tuition makes this school a great choice.

    What to do for fun

    They have a game room where lots of Super Smash Brothers gets played. Decently sized patches of grass to play football and frisbee with outlets near by for radios. You can almost always find a presentation from a speaker or club to go to. Regular field trips with the honors society to different cities and colleges.

    Food and Dining

    It is like a more sophisticated version of a high school cafeteria. More choices, mediocre health wise. Not a whole lot of options for vegetarians and vegans. The prices are ok, but you probably don't want to buy something every day.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Honors Program 3.70 Deans List Phi Theta Kappa

    Tips for prospective students

    Sometimes you have to seek them out, but there are constantly things going on on campus to get involved with or attend. The honors program is a must and is recognize by some top tier schools. Professor Rooney, Postl, and Kosciuk are a must.

    In three sentences

    It's a great place to figure out your interests for a reasonable price. The extracurricular activities, and on campus opportunities with diverse speakers (including Nobel prize winners) are plentiful. The professors are extremely knowledgeable, and there are some who seem like they should be teaching at ivy league schools.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is phenomenal. There is someone on patrol at all times, keeping a close eye to ensure a safe environment for the students, staff, and visitors.

    Bang for the buck

    Regardless of one's background, Suffolk County Community College creates an open, accepting atmosphere welcoming diversity.

    What to do for fun

    Suffolk offers many activities, clubs and organizations for student participation and those with varied interests. One can join a music ensemble, the campus newspaper, or take part in athletics!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is lovely, spacious, and the staff is very friendly. There are various types of food and beverages available to meet the wants and needs of all students. From homemade wraps and salads to the deliciously brewed coffee much appreciated by those enrolled in 8am classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, while on campus you are given the opportunity to escape every day life and concentrate solely on your studies.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty is kindhearted, dedicated, and tenacious in their desire to instill knowledge in their students. Every professor keeps office hours available in order to further assist students in any questions or difficulties they may have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind, you will learn more than you could have ever hoped to by some of New York's finest professors. Work hard, your grades are a direct reflection of your perseverance which is recognized and respected.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk County Community College is an outstanding establishment. With an open, welcoming environment, students are made to feel at home, while receiving a fine education. Not only does one feel comfortable and at ease in the classroom, but is also confident in knowing their learning experience is valued by the faculty and staff.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is lots of clubs to join. In every semester, these clubs go to many different places for field trip. Along with that, there are several other activity that the clubs plan to do

    Food and Dining

    There is a big cafeteria. The food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm avalible

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very approachable. If for any reason, someone didn't understand the topic in class, he/she can see the mentor or go to the lab. There is lab avaliable for every subject to help the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very affortable. Professors are very understanding and supportive. GET your Associate Degree from here!!! You won't reget it.

    In three sentences

    Students like me who are nervous about their first year of college should join this scool. I found it an intermedite step; similar to high school yet very different. It is also one of the cheapest college to get your associate degree.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont slack! It will be VERY easy to simply not show up to class, most professors will give you points for attending class...take them! Make the most of your experience here, it will lead you on a path of success if you do. You can finish suffolk in 3 semesters if you really apply yourself.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk County Community College will help you reach your potential if and only if you put the time and effort into it, it is what you make it out to be. The professors and students are for the most part very respectful and helpful, they want you to succeed. It is not as easy as everyone thinks it is.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Common hour

    Tips for prospective students

    Get advice for future classes before making choices.

    In three sentences

    I rate the college as number 1. The classes are challenging. Its a great college to start earning a degree.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many campus clubs and events going on at the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips are to become active in your clubs and college life.

    In three sentences

    This college has great professors, who want you to succeed. Campus Activities are amazing if you get to be involved. It is not 13th grade, it is regular college, Professors do not baby you in class like in High school

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Relaxation station is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Some good food; expensive and greasy.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    All depends on the class and the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework on your teachers, and don't come until you're really ready to invest in school.

    In three sentences

    Good stepping stone school to a bachelor's. Some really great professors, some not so much - watch for which you get. Very unhelpful staff.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security around every parking lot all of the time.

    Great for these types of students

    All ages and ethnic groups.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Common hour is on Wednesdays from 10-11:20.

    Bang for the buck

    Private school education for community college prices! This is the least expensive school on Long Island.

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the clubs! The honors cottage is always open and is quieter than the Cafeteria but not as quiet as the library.

    Food and Dining

    Pack your own lunch if you like healthy and inexpensive options. There are microwaves available for students in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't let a Community College make you think you're going to have an easy ride! Since most of the college professors teach at other expensive, private schools they give the same amount and same intensity of work to their SCCC students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can, avoid taking out student loans and go with one of the Payment Plans that the college offers so you won't have any debt once you graduate here. Also, be on time to your classes no matter where you go. Just because you are going to a Community College does not mean you can act like you are still in high school.

    In three sentences

    Most of the professors teach at other private schools on Long Island. You will receive a private school level of education while paying a fraction of the cost. The majority of their credits transfer to SUNY colleges in New York.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    First year college students, helps you adjust to college work.

    What to do for fun

    Common hour, trips, zumba

    Food and Dining

    Cafe's food is actually pretty good, salad bar is delicious

    Dorm Life

    Commuter school

    Academic Rigor

    You get the same education as a 4 year school, maybe better since it is more specialized.

    Tips for prospective students

    Begin at Suffolk before going away, you save money while getting your beginner classes out of the way !

    In three sentences

    Helpful and honest staff members. Clean and welcoming campus. Saved me a lot of money after transferring home from out of state.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do in the surrounding area.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is done by the catering company Dover. Food is pretty decent.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, it's a community college

    Academic Rigor

    They have a good Honors program known as the honors college and their nursing program is very competitve to get into.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared for class, it's college not high school.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see security on premises.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not joined any as of yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Full time working students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a childcare on the premises. Financial aid can be used toward that cost.

    Bang for the buck

    I really like Suffolk County Community College. They are very helpful when I have questions.

    What to do for fun

    I only take evening and online classes.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten at the school yet.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm at the school.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is regimented very well. I learned a lot from the two (2) classes I have taken so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at all the possibilities with your major and make sure that you can transfer most of the credits to a four (4) year shool.

    In three sentences

    The school has great flexibility with classes. The evening and online classes work well since I work a full time job. The location is also great and easy to get to.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Keep your ID on you at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs have faculty moderators but tend to be run by the students themselves. This leads to a passionate atmosphere.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for both local students and otherwise.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing I really noticed.

    Bang for the buck

    Hope you have a lot of bucks!

    What to do for fun

    The mall is right by the Selden campus, and if you keep an eye on the Long Island website, there's plenty if interesting events year-round.

    Food and Dining

    If you know where to go, you'll never have an empty stomach. BY the Selden Campus, in Seldan Plaza, there are two great places for a healthy snack or even a meal! Take a look at the Tropical Smoothie Cafe as well as Red Mango, a gluten-free, perfectly healthy frozen yogurt shop that's almost too good to be true!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, it's a community college, you tend to live in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are there to pass you. Some teachers are there to teach. Others expect you to teach yourself. Find the right teacher and you'll be engaged. The wrong teacher....let's not go there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to RateMyProfessor dot com before you take a class with someone. With the variety of teachers and class types at Suffolk, it's always good to know what teacher does what best.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk can actually be summed up in three words; affordable, reliable, homey. The teachers are competant, the cost isn't too bad, and it does have a nice personal atmosphere. It feels like /your/ college.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Suffolk has many club and activities going on year round.

    Great for these types of students

    Fresh out of highschool to returning students.

    Food and Dining

    Basic cafeteria food, but lots of dining nearby.

    Dorm Life

    They do not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take notes, study, and keep an open communication with your professors.

    In three sentences

    I was able to get a fantastic education at Suffolk. My professors were excellent and professional at all times. I would recommend Suffolk Community College to anyone undecided about College, you can get your start here and transfer to any 4 year institution that you want.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for an opportunity to learn from teachers who care.

    Academic Rigor

    As legit as any school. Some teachers are good, some let you coast through, some are just bad at teaching, some are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it seriously; you'll be rewarded.

    In three sentences

    If you want to learn, you will find plenty of help. If you want to coast, you can do that too. It depends on you.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join clubs. hang out in veterans plaza when the weather is nice.

    Food and Dining

    typical cafeteria/ mall food court menus.

    Dorm Life

    suffolk has no dorms...

    Academic Rigor

    i find the classes pretty easy and very similar to courses i took in high school. i even ended up rereading a lot of high school books for my english classes. definetly recommend the honors program if you want classes a bit more challenging and interesting topics.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to find someone to carpool with traffic and finding a parking spot are a nightmare when youre running late. take advantage of the clubs and trips the school offers.

    In three sentences

    suffolk is very student oriented. they make up for the lack of dorms with plenty of clubs and student activities to interest everyone. the faculty is very helpful and efficient when you have a problem or questions.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergency phones through out campus, clear crossways for pedestrians, public safety officers are respectful, and the police are usually on campus.

    Greek Life

    No greek life that i'm aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great clubs there is a little bit for everyone. Student government allows you to create your own to if there is enough interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are eager to learn. Students that are bright but can't afford a big university tuition. Students that want to be close to home but also want a great opportunity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Im not aware of any traditions that suffolk participates in.

    Bang for the buck

    By far one of the cheapest colleges that offer a great education. There isn't a meal plan though so your forced to buy the expensive food or bring lunch from home.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and events during common hour. Most events are chosen by the upcoming season or holiday. Our sports teams are also fun to watch.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. There is a broad selection, but it can get pricey.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    If you don't pay attention you will fall behind. Keep your nose in your books and ask for help if needed. Do not feel embarrassed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to learn and exercise every help center that pertains to your major. The tutors are your peers and are very knowledgable of the course work.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk academics can get intense. If you come prepared to learn then you should not have a problem. The teachers are always there to help.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Long Island beaches

    Food and Dining

    Large varieties of local eateries such as New York pizza

    Dorm Life

    This is not applicable since I live at home. Unable to rate.

    Academic Rigor

    Fast paced learning. Excellent nursing program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early

    In three sentences

    The school is close to home. Which allows me to live at home.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    If you don't like what they have, you can always create your own.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it

    What to do for fun

    Going to a club can be interesting but most students just leave and get some real lunch during the hour set aside for club activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is overpriced, and kinda sucks.

    Dorm Life

    You get the comforts of home...literally. There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The honors classes are harder and challenge you; but general level classes can be easy and boring.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know what you want to major in, or if you really want to go to school anymore, just try it out for a semester. Go into the honors program if you have a 3.2 or above; it'll get you some better than average professors that care, smaller class sizes, and free lunch at least once a semester.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk is a great place to figure out what you want to do with your life. It's a great education for the money, but scheduling classes is a pain. Some professors are great and others suck but the ones that are great leave an impression.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The activities and making friends.

    Food and Dining

    Its okay.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Its good but some of the courses are hard though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus on your school work.

    In three sentences

    The school is great. The teachers are involved and find ways to help you improve. They also have degree bridges that makes transferring easy.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always around.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the work and you will get good grades.

    In three sentences

    I have not been here long enough to give a proper evaluation of the campus. I can tell you what I know about the school. The professors are good and the academic counselors are helpful.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, with emergency phones and alarms posted at various spots around the site, and guards willing to accompany you at night if you are uncomfortable walking alone.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who aren't sure where they want to go in life just yet, and need more time to explore their options. It's also a good starting point for students from low-income families who rely heavily on financial aid.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering how cost-effective the school is, especially for students who require financial assistance, Suffolk is a great place to start.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of clubs at the school, many of which available to go to during the common hour so that they do not interfere with classes. Some of the clubs even organize field trips to places like Boston and Six Flags.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and food offered within were all really good, the only issue being that the prices were constantly going up.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Suffolk.

    Academic Rigor

    I would give the academic rigor a 4/5. I was a student in the Honors program at Suffolk, and the amount of work required for the classes was substantial. Some of it was difficult, but it was definitely worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to start somewhere local and work your way up, Suffolk is a great choice. The class sizes are not all that large, which allows teachers to dedicate more focus to each of their students; and there are so many different majors to choose from to explore if you can't necessarily decide what you want to major in upon graduation from high school.

    In three sentences

    The school does a considerably good job in the wide variety of programs it offers despite only being a 2-year university. The programs are moderately challenging and actually teach you something. Additionally, there is a wide assortment of different extra-help available on campus for students to take part in, if they feel they need more help with different subjects.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus public safety always out and about keeping SCCC safe. Multiple systems in place to alert students faculty and the authorities of any emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities on campus. you will find something to do that fits your style or attitude.

    What to do for fun

    SCCC has many clubs, sport teams and there's also common hour where you can play different sports in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has great food with a wide variety of sandwiches salads drinks, soups, ect.

    Dorm Life

    It is a commuter college. no dorms on campus so you have to travel to and from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Fair. SCCC is no Harvard but its no walk in the park either. It really it all comes down to the professor you have for your class.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you pay attention in class and do all your work on time you will be fine. If you have time be sure to join a club or sports team it is the best way to meet new people and have fun while on campus.

    In three sentences

    SCCC is a great school to start your college career. SCCC has a great teachers and a great atmosphere. I give the school a 10 out of 10

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    GOOD EDUCATION FOR THE AMOUNT YOU PAY.

    What to do for fun

    THERE ARE MANY DIFFERENT CLUBS YOU CAN JOIN AS WELL AS SPORTS TEAMS FOR FUN.

    Food and Dining

    CAFETERIA IS CLEAN AND THERE ARE MANY PLACES TO CHOOSE FROM TO EAT.

    Dorm Life

    THERE ARE NO DORMS.

    Academic Rigor

    PROFESSORS ARE VERY GOOD. WELL EDUCATED AND GIVE YOU A WEALTH OF KNOWLEDGE.

    Tips for prospective students

    SUFFOLK IS ONLY A COMMUNITY COLLEGE BUT YOU SHOULD STILL TRY TO DO YOUR BEST BECAUSE YOUR NEXT SCHOOL WILL LOOK AT YOUR GRADES FROM THERE. ALSO, ALWAYS ASK QUESTIONS WHEN YOU DON'T UNDERSTAND SOMETHING RELATING TO YOUR PROGRAM OF CHOICE OR YOUR FINANCIAL AID.

    In three sentences

    SUFFOLK IS A GOOD SCHOOL WITH GREAT PROFESSORS. HOWEVER, THEIR ADMISSIONS AND FINANCIAL AID OFFICES NEED MORE QUALIFIED PEOPLE. THEIR CAMPUS IS NICE BUT VERY BUSY WITH PARKING IN THE BEGINNING OF THE SEMESTER.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe. A Security truck is always in view.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Latin Dance Club, Glee Club, Ballroom Dancing Club, Zumba, Student Government etc

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everybody here seems to smoke, and its pretty nasty to have to walk around.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price we pay to go here, the education matches it

    What to do for fun

    Join some clubs!

    Food and Dining

    I personally never eat on campus, because the food is so expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, so everybody jokes about our cars being the dorms. After all, this is where most of the students hangout inbetween classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is actually pretty intense for a community college. I find myself studying and doing homework for hours every day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Think about going to one of the campus' that are further from your house, to avoid seeing everybody you graduated with. Give yourself a chance to meet new people and get more of a college experience evern thought your staying home and going to a local community college.

    In three sentences

    The food is expensive. The teachers don't get dressed. It is very cheap.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police do not really do anything, but there is no crime or speeding or vandalizing on the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities. Same kinds you would see at any university.

    Bang for the buck

    A very good education for a low price and have a great chance of getting hired in Long Island after graduating.

    What to do for fun

    There are many classes as electives, activities, clubs, and sports to take part in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a little pricey but tastes alright.

    Dorm Life

    There are no campus dorms for Suffolk County Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Liberal arts feels like high school all over again. But if you take a major, the curriculum is completely different and to be take seriously. The classes needed to graduate with a degree other than liberal arts are tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get there a half hour before class starts because you will be hunting for a parking space for the first half of the semester.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. The instructors care and help out the students. They give you real live situations that they've experienced to warn you or for you to look out for when you graduate and become part of the working force.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Each student is REQUIRED to have his/her ID and suffolk id on their car at all times. But they could be more stricter.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs are offered here from fashion to ballroom dancing. They have many clubs for different cultures and ethnicities especially since its a well diverse school.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to save money, have a fresh start after having a bad grade in high school, or want to transfer to another school, I highly recommend to start at suffolk. This college is a stepping stone to something better.

    Bang for the buck

    Suffolk Community College is phenomenal if you want to save money. Semesters run usually from $1,500-2,800 dollars depending the amount of credits you take. They have amazing programs and the most recognized is the RN program which is very competitive.

    What to do for fun

    As I said in the previous text, Long Island has many things to do all year round. Near the grant campus, we have the ranger outlets 5 minutes away. Beaches in the north and south coast all along Long Island. There are many places to go such as billiards, go kart tracks, miniature golf, Dave and busters, malls, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    In the grant campus (which I go to), has one main cafeteria in the whole campus. The food is good however and the prices are reasonable. The Dover cafe which is located in the HSEC building has the nicest staff.

    Dorm Life

    One negative in suffolk is that their is no dorm life. The majority of suffolk community college students is that they all live at home. But that doesn't stop us for going out and having fun. The beaches are minutes away, and there are many places to go in Long Island. Long Island is a Strong and Happy island!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not as hard nor as easy. Persisting in doing the work is the best way to go when taking a class in suffolk. Participating in class, asking questions you don't know, and doing the homework such as reading or doing questions will help you along the way. It depends what you make of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell students to take the opportunity to join the clubs and free learning sessions that are offered from the college. The tutoring especially because their are people there for you if you need any help in any of your classes. Going to clubs and sessions also open you social network to more students making college also fun and exciting.

    In three sentences

    For Suffolk County Community College I would rate it a full 8. The professors and staff truly care of us students to become professionals and give us there all to make us succeed to academic success. They have tutoring 5 times a week for any topic which is free in our tuition.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Too many. PTK Honor Society, Honors Club....

    Great for these types of students

    its great for those who don't know what they want to major in, or those who want a second chance.

    Bang for the buck

    You take the same classes as other college students but for a lot cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    OK, but like all colleges, food is more expensive than it should be.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I think its equal to all other colleges. If you study and do your work you will be just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and keep your eyes open for opportunities.

    In three sentences

    It is a place of second chances.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I got through my gen ed courses with 0 loans or debt. Affordable and productive if you major in liberal arts. Otherwise, seems students lose out on a lot of their credits switching majors or trying to transfer more particular classes.

    What to do for fun

    Community college with no dorming.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent and better than a lot of campus'. There is also a lot of vending machines for drinks and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    No dorming

    Academic Rigor

    Honors program is not as challenging as it could be. I would put it straight in the middle of high school and a 4 year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to go and make friends you must get involved on campus. If you are looking to transfer out make sure you the attention of a professor or counselor to help you from the beginning or it can get very complicated and wasteful.

    In three sentences

    Great place if you are looking to complete one of the two year programs, could do a little more helping those students focused on transferring and taking classes that will help them doing so. Definitely buys time to figure out your academic and career goals.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really good

    Clubs and Activities

    Perfect I play softball and it has really good coaches.

    What to do for fun

    Play sports is so fun. We hand out a lot .

    Food and Dining

    So cheap

    In three sentences

    Soffolk community college is the best. There are amazing clubs. Really good laboratories.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Suffolk offers many options in their cafeteria from pizza and spaghetti to sandwiches and salads. The prices are fair and the food is quite good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Suffolk.

    Academic Rigor

    Suffolk does push you to succeed and to think out side of the box. If you ever need help there are many opportunities to get a tutor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Joining clubs around campus is a great way to make new friends and become an active member of the college. Most clubs have fun activities that will help you towards your degree.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk is a great college to start you on your way to getting your degree. The class sizes are small enough for you to get a great interactive learning experience. Suffolk wants their students to excel.

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a club for pretty much anything you are interested in, and if there's not you can make one. there really informative seminars, concerts, plays and movies. there's a calender of events on the schools website. ENJOY!!!

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is not bad, i tend to bring my own food though

    Dorm Life

    no dorms, commuter school

    Academic Rigor

    the quality of education at Suffolk is something i think a lot of people take for granted. they offer great academic programs that you could compare to any four year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to suffolk, go into it with a positive attitude and ignore what your friends and peers have to say. Before coming here most of the people i talked to had nothing but negative things to say about suffolk. I think alot of people take for granted the quality education that is offered here. I came from Berkeley college in manhattan, it was ridiculously expensive, the classes were big and you would be lucky if the professor remembered your name by the end of the semester. suffolk offers a great education for a really fair price.

    In three sentences

    I have recently started at Suffolk this past January and I've found it to be a lot more than i expected. The classes are small and the professors here are so willing to work with you and spend one on one time with you, which is very rare for a college.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very helpful car battery died and where willing to help with out a problem.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    Basic cafeteria nothing special.

    Dorm Life

    Off Campus

    Academic Rigor

    Very disciplined i had alot of work in some classes others where a breeze but many of the professors take pride in their work and actually get a message across.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize your resources: library, career and transfer center, computer lab, and writing center

    In three sentences

    I started here about two years ago and finally graduating in May 2013. I have to say Suffolk is great, like any school I had good and bad professors. There is a huge diversity among students and professors as well, I would highly recommend plus you will be saving a lot money.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't live on campus so I really don't know

    Academic Rigor

    It is very good. I really had no problem. If you do your work and do what your suppose to do you will excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do things early. Don't wait till last minute to choose classes. Follow instructions and you will have a good experience.

    In three sentences

    web site is student friendly. financial aid office helped, but was always crowded, easy to get around on school grounds

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is a safe secure place. the security guards always on their tows making sure everything is going smoothly as it should. they are also helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have all different kinds of clubs there. they also have desi, spanish and african american clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    the campuses are great. i have never had any problem with getting to class or finding parking. it is a great way to start off your college education at suffolk county community college.

    What to do for fun

    i go to the gym at the campus or go play badminton at the gym on common hours.

    Food and Dining

    they have freshly food made everyday. fast food to healthy food.

    Dorm Life

    i actually commute, because i live just 15 minutes away from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    they have all this programs you can join in the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would suggest starting off with suffolk, if you are undecided on what you want to do regarding to your major or field.

    In three sentences

    suffolk county community college is a great way to start off your college life. they offer the best education there is. It is much more easier to transfer out to four year colleges.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always safe, but not overwhelming.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great clubs and activities!

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students just entering the college environment should attend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a pretty cool nature preserve that everyone should check out.

    Bang for the buck

    The amount you learn compared to the price you pay can't be matched!

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of great clubs to join as well as a gym and pool.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is definitely a great school to start your college education! If you take accounting classes, make sure you take the with Professor Weinstein and Professor Pace, they are awesome!

    In three sentences

    Great teachers, who really care about your success. They have good class sections as well. They also provide an affordable tuition price.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    cannot rate this

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and keep yourself organized.

    In three sentences

    A good school with a great staff. I have thouroughly enjoyed my time here.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    46 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I used the campus police once to get my backpack out of one of the locked classrooms. They're helpful, if needed. Also important to note is that diverse students like to loiter right outside the Babylon Student Center. I've witnessed them make crude comments toward female students as well as gawk at them. Don't stop when around them. Keep moving.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    Computer science, golf, anime, community service, math, football, baseball, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal arts students. You can get two years out of the way without paying the high cost associated with those two years at a more expensive school. The degree is just as pointless, but you save so much money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None noted.

    Bang for the buck

    For what you get, the degree, the amount you pay is a great value.

    What to do for fun

    Students like to hangout in the square, located in the center of four buildings. They listen to music, play hackeysack, throw footballs around, play soccer, skateboard, etc. The school has official clubs to join, an orchestra, and athletic teams.

    Food and Dining

    The food is high quality and reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    No dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    If you're in the IT curriculum expect to have three technology classes per semester. The textbooks are 700+ pages each. Each class has about three tests, so they count dearly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study! If you don't understand something in the textbook be sure to reread it more slowly and in a more comfortable environment. The professors can't make you absorb information. You must discover it for yourself.

    In three sentences

    The campus has a nice layout. It is conveniently located. For the degree it is a great value.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no problem at all

    Great for these types of students

    casual learning--very relaxed

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown

    Bang for the buck

    the school is close to the mall and lots of stores

    What to do for fun

    hockey-basketball-baseball and other sports

    Academic Rigor

    pay attention and you will be fine

    Tips for prospective students

    great place to get a start

    In three sentences

    nice hometown school

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always someone at the entrances and patrolling.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone and everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    I think students get the education they need and paid for.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on: clubs, theater play, movie, field trip, lectures, etc. All you need to do is ask around.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad. I would rate it average compared to other colleges.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at SCCC that I am aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are easy if you follow the professors' instructions and read the textbooks. There is also tutors who can help struggling students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the professors about your area of interest and get involve on activities and clubs around campus.

    In three sentences

    SCCC has great programs and teachers. The extracurricular activities are phenomenal. The advisors and staff offer great support and guidance.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are always on watch. They drive around the campus all day long checking to see if everything is alright. There are also emergency phones around the campus just in case something happens.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anyone can find a club to join at Suffolk. We have a lot of clubs to choose from. We also have competitive sports teams you can choose to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Suffolk County Community College is great for any type of student who is looking to save money and transfer to a 4 year institution.

    What to do for fun

    Suffolk County Community College offers a lot of activities. What's so great about these activities is that there is something for someone. Anyone on the campus can find something they like and join. There is also a swimming pool and a weight room.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Suffolk is nothing to brag about. It's almost like the same food you would find in your high school cafeteria. Yes you have more options to choose from but overall its okay.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Suffolk County Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    At Suffolk the class difficulty depends on the course or the professor. Either way you're going to have to study if you want success in the class room. You can also choose what time you have you classes. So if you have to work, you can make your class around your work schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's definitely a great way to save money for two years.You can get your grades up and transfer to a 4 year university. Majority of the universities in the United States accept credits from two year institutions. The classes are small so learning and asking questions is not overwhelming.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk has 3 campuses to choose from depending where you live. All three campuses are small. Commuting to these campuses are very easy.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police officers are abundant , SCPD is on campus, and Sheriff's office is across the road

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    wide variety.

    Great for these types of students

    Don't just go there and drive home... make Suffolk your second home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The nature trails at the Brentwood Campus are lovely.

    Bang for the buck

    100% best choice I made, in terms of my education, was going to SCCC.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs

    Food and Dining

    The cafeterias are decent, just lack variety.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    The Honors program is challenging and not to be doubted. I worked harder at Suffolk than I did when I attended a private university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the most of your time there. Participate. Succeed. Do your work, and you will end up in great places.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk is the best education you can get for your money. Going here allowed me to figure out what I truly want to do, and saved me from taking out tremendous loans. Take advantage of this terrific program!

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Suffolk is ultimately the cheapest school on Long Island because it is a community college. No doubt you get your moneys worth. The classes are great and they offer many activities.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join. Currently I am in the Honors club and Photo club. Both offer many different events. Many of the clubs offer field trips as well.

    Food and Dining

    Personally I have not had the food myself, but I have heard different people say it is horrible and others say it is great. Although many people say the grilled cheese is the best.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorming.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are more difficult than a high school student may believe. There is still time to have fun and join clubs as long as you manage your time well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not think that Suffolk is easy. It may be a community college, but it is much more difficult than you think. The professors are helpful and you must do your part to keep up with your classes.

    In three sentences

    Although many people have the idea Suffolk is for students that did not care in high school, it is not true. Over the past two months I have meant people who genuinely love learning. Suffolk has a great atmosphere and is a good start for a student just coming out of high school.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of campus activities and clubs available to SCCC students. SCCC also has a common hour where no classes are held so you can meet with clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The food isnt that great. There are some nearby places off-campus but you'll end up giving up your parking spot.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great selection of adjunct professors that come from various colleges and universities in the area. The professors really embrace those who want to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch out for parking. Parking is ridiculous, so you better show up early before class to get a spot.

    In three sentences

    Very good school for a community college. The school is great for older students or adults. Great learning environment.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If planning to transfer later on have a school in mind and work with them so you can take the right classes at Suffolk.

    In three sentences

    It's a great start school. Most Professors are willing to help the students and some like to challenge them to help them get the most out of the class.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is okay, it's good if you just need a quick bite.

    Dorm Life

    I don't even think you can dorm here..

    Academic Rigor

    It can be difficult depending on the classes you take. Anything can be accomplished with just a little effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and make good friends that can help you study in time for test.

    In three sentences

    SCCC is a great start for anyone going to college for the first time or a returning student looking to start a degree. There are a great staff that are willing to help you and wonderful tutoring centers for almost any class.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The best part of Suffolk is the price. I maybe pay $2,500 per semester as a full-time student, and I can take care of all of the classes that I would have had to take at a $26,000 college. What makes it even better is that it's close to home so I don't have to waste gas money or pay for a dorm.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafe is pretty good, but it's easier for you to go to one of the many delis or fast food restaurants that are within 15 minutes of campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers really care about what they're teaching, making the classes entertaining and easier to walk away with information. It's not hard to get good grades here as long as you put a little bit of effort in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack here- this is your last chance to get easy good grades.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you don't know where you want to go or what you want to major in I would suggest going to Suffolk first. Its a great way to try out different classes and majors without spending tons of money at a 4 year private school. Also if you stay in the SUNY schools most if not all of your credits transfer.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on during common hour on Wednesdays. Also, many students get games of football or ultimate frisby going on in the courtyards.

    Food and Dining

    Their sausage egg and cheese is amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, the harder classes are in the math department that I have taken.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with a counselor before you make your schedule every semester. There are some classes that have many pre-reqs that may have you staying for a 5h semester. The teachers are there to help, don't be afraid to ask for tutoring or extra credit.

    In three sentences

    The business department is great. Unfortunately, most students are commuters so its harder to make friends. The teams don't really do much so there is little school spirit.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many events are held at Suffolk during Common Hour, such as scholarship information, special guests, poetry, the events are always different.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise students to talk to the transfer counselor and see their chances of attending a better school in the future.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk has many different opportunities for all types of students. The staff is very helpful and the transfer schools are top of the line. Suffolk is a very good community college for the price.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Purchase all required books. Take lots of notes. Pay attention in class, no texting, gaming or sleeping.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is patrolled by security on foot, cars, and carts. There are emergency intercoms located all over campus. Excellent campus safety.

    Greek Life

    I have no idea what Greek life is and I am very involved with the college so I assume we don't have it!

    Clubs and Activities

    Awesome college for clubs and activities. There is always something going on and new clubs piping up.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for commuters and those who can not afford the 4 year colleges or university's.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As the Christian club leader I bring my club and other clubs for a prayer at the flag pole at least once a month and it doesn't seem unusual to me but it is a great tradition. Also we built a veteran garden where we honor those who have fallen and pray for those who are in service.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great starter school for the money. The professors usually teach at the bigger and more expensive schools in the surrounding area but use the same material and lectures.

    What to do for fun

    You can either join a sport or a club for fun. You can also play games or hang out in the lounge. If you are not into any commitments you can play intramural sports or just sit in on a club meeting.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the healthiest choice but the cafeteria and kitchen is a rather clean environment. The food does gives you the proper nourishment you need for the day despite other expensive and healthier alternatives surrounding the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. But if your like me you get to the college early and leave rather late.

    Academic Rigor

    The Honors Program is suggested to all. It is rather difficult but it gives you the intensity well needed if you are either right out of high school, transferring from other colleges or even going back to school.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to get involved for a couple of reasons. First, is being able to see that the information you learn in the classroom is truly needed. Second it builds you as a leader and as am individual. Third gives you the experience of helping others for a better cause. Last but not least gives you a better sense of membership for the college and community surrounding.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk gave me skills and knowledge I need to know in order to succeed and become successful. Suffolk also gave me opportunity to utilizes those attributes in the form of clubs and events. Without Suffolk I wouldn't be the person who I am today.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always public safety roaming through the roads on campus and parked in the parking lots.

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely affordable

    What to do for fun

    Extracurricular activities such as clubs and sports are the best way to get involved and have fun at Suffolk, as it is only a commuter school. The CAB (Campus Activities Board) is always offering new and fun activities to participate in through the year from discounted tickets for trips to see a Broadway play to movie nights in the commons, getting involved is not impossible at Suffolk. The drama club is filled with welcoming and lively individuals that will gladly accept anyone who shows an interest in theatre. You will make life-long friends in the drama department through participating in the two school plays that go on per semester. Suffolk has inter-mural and competing sports teams on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The commons at Suffolk is small but they have a decent variety of food. There is a deli, pizza station, and grill. The sandwiches are about six to seven dollars depending on what you get on them. The pizza looks and tastes like actual pizzeria pizza although its not the same. There is also self-serve fridge filled with pre-made salads, wraps, chic-pea salads, and sandwiches if you are on the go and do not have time to wait on line for food to be freshly made. With snacks such as pop-tarts, muffins, chips, pretzels, yogurt, protein shakes, and much more, you will always have a great choice to decide what to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Suffolk County Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offered at Suffolk are challenging and will keep you busy. Throughout the semester it will be rare if you have a week with absolutely no work. Professors tend to give exams around the same time due to the weeks in the semester so make sure you stay organized with your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure when you go to make your schedule you plan ahead so you can get the classes you need. Priority registration is a must if you want to get the best classes you need or want, as classes always tend to fill up quickly. Parking can be a hassle so try to arrive about fifteen to twenty minutes before the start of your class to assure you can get a good parking spot. If you are going to take online classes make sure it is not a class you will have a lot of trouble with because communication with the professor is key to success in many of your classes. Prioritize your work load accordingly to the schedule of your life.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk provides an array of opportunities to succeed in academic and extracurricular areas. The professors are knowledgeable in their field and the small class sizes allows you to form a personal relationship with your professor. The affordability and easy commute make the two-year attendance at Suffolk County Community College fly by.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty darn safe! Just be careful and have self awareness. Don't go wandering around campus alone at dark if you feel uncomfortable. Don't follow strangers into secluded areas.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a good amount of clubs here, and you can start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated to actually make the best of your time here. Appreciate and accept the college for what it is.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Look around, there are some areas kind of underneath the buildings that are hidden.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent! Very cheap, affordable way to get a decent education and credits.

    What to do for fun

    There is a large library here, and sports you can partake in.

    Food and Dining

    Decent for a community college. Quite overpriced, but there is a decent selection. Fried chicken, sandwiches, salads, pizza, energy drinks...you should find at least something here.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on what your strengths and weaknesses are, and if you are in honors classes or not. D

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember it is community college; there won't be perks that 4-year colleges get. That being said, if you work hard and put the effort in, this can be a great place to come to, get a good education and experience, and transfer.

    In three sentences

    Selden campus is nice for a community college! Very large, pretty clock-tower area. Some great teachers.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and teams at suffolk.

    Food and Dining

    Good food but VERY expensive

    Dorm Life

    You don't dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the classes or professors you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a plan on how long you want to stay.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school if you do not know what to do. Advisors are not helpful. They do not help you graduate in 2 years.