Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Suffolk University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 out of 23 people found this review useful. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students of all types. Very diverse and open. Students that want to learn and succeed should apply. Students that feel like they would enjoy being there. From dance to hockey, to bike riding to planning a dance, if there's something you like Suffolk is sure to have it. If not you can start something new!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in school, have a great perspective, get an interview and tour the school. Make sure it's where you want to go and be excited because it's an amazing school.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though it's not cheap it's very affordable for a private university. There are so many scholarships and financial aid that is available. If it's your dream school don't give up because of the expense, Suffolk can make it happen!

    Am enjoying being here

    It's so fun! There is always something going on and so many things to join. It's in the heart of Boston so you can shop or catch a movie in between breaks and hang with friends all over the place. You can be yourself and meet so many great people.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are really great. They tell personal experiences that you can learn from and relate to and are always available for extra help or a question. They really help you learn and care about your success.

  • 01/25/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who love the city and want to explore, yet have a great education. I recommend this school especially for students who cannot sit in a lecture hall with hundreds of other students. This University is well known for having small classes where everyone can interact freely with the teacher and when the teacher knows everyone by name. Suffolk has great programs in law, art, sciences, and business fields. Any student who wants to be a Forensic Scientist or Biochemistry major has the amazing opportunity of working hands on with the Boston Police which I love! Student who will do well are students who are unique, diverse, and driven.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend if you are applying to this University that you take honors courses and AP courses while getting decent grades because they look highly upon that. I also cannot recommend enough that you go in for an INTERVIEW! This is extremely important (in fact this and my grades is probably what got me into Suffolk) because they want to see how you are as an individual. Don't be lazy and not go, if I was able to make it (living 3 and a half hours away) you can too! And when you go to an interview don't stress out just be yourself, and they love volunteer work so stress upon that. Before you go for an interview please research the college and the major you wish to peruse. They don't stress as much as they say they do on SAT scores or ACT scores. But if you are an okay SAT taker like me I recommend you take the ACT's I found the ACT's more understanding, and I got a higher score! If you have time I also recommend that you stock up on extra curricular activities of vast assortment but don't let your grades slack either.

    Bang for the buck

    This school offers good scholarships and grants for those who work for them. The dorms as I mentioned before are high tech and beautiful, and the view will take your breath away (over the Common)! The food is really nice but the drinks are expensive. The education you are getting here at Suffolk is well worth the money spent! You will learn a lot more from being in a small class then you would from a lecture hall!

    Will enjoy being here

    I have wanted to go to this school for about a year and a half now, it is the school of my dreams! It is right in the heart of Boston and the dorms are surrounded by the beauty of the city! The dorms are beautiful especially Miller and the students are friendly and diverse. The city is an amazing place to experience and to dive right into, you can find anything there!

    Will learn a lot

    When you walk into a class room of about 16-22 students to one teacher, you really feel at home because everyone knows who you are! You will never sit in a lecture hall with 500 students so if you are that type of person this University isn't for you! But if you are like me and you like to work with the teacher then this school is a perfect fit! The labs are really nice if you are a science major because the teacher makes sure you are following along with the lab every step of the way.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This is an urban campus environment so be sure to visit before you say yes. Of great interest in their campuses in Madrid (Spain) and Dakar (Africa) , as well as their international program efforts.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who will study on their own time, because no one will sit around to remind you to do it. Business, Law, NESAD, Political, Journalism, Theater, and various Science majors will be happiest here. Otherwise, the program may be too small and underdeveloped to make it feel like it's worth the degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best! Now that you're out of high school, it's up to you to remind yourself to do the laundry, get dinner, and study for a test. Your parents, peers, and teachers will no longer remind you about everything you have to do, and when deadlines are coming up. DO WORK STUDY. Suffolk awards almost everyone with it, and you really should take advantage of the money by getting a job on campus. There are a lot of local homeless shelters and schools that accept volunteers, and my time as a volunteer really shaped my year, so do some community service. As long as you try your best, you can make anything a rewarding experience!

    Bang for the buck

    Suffolk is a good value for certain majors, but not for others. If you're interested in Business or Law, Suffolk has two great schools that will give you the tools you need to enter the real world. However, my major which was only started at Suffolk a few years ago, lacks a real structure and key components I need to get a good education. Suffolk is by no means a bad school, but certain programs are certainly better than others. It is also a private school which makes it a little more costly, but they give out a lot of financial aid. So, if you do well in high school or have a particular strength, chances are you will get a good package which will drive down the costs.

    Am enjoying being here

    Sometimes I really enjoy Suffolk, and other times I feel there are a lot of things missing. For one, the sense of community and school activity lacks greatly. The school is not so good at getting the word out about events or student happenings. The campus is also really spread out, so you have to walk through the Boston common to get to classes. The food was really sub-par until they opened up the cafe at 73 Tremont which is WORLDS better than anything they had before, so it's where I go most of the time. You'll be happy here if you are outgoing and take the time to make friends, and you may find you enjoy being with a lot of people who are a different race or class than you. I think one thing I really like about the school is that the demographics range from inner-city kids to rich international students, which makes a unique culture at the school.

    Am learning a lot

    Suffolk University is the type of place where you learn if and only if you are willing to do a lot of work. There have been many kids in my classes who rarely show up or don't pay attention to the lessons, and needless to say they have not succeeded academically. You really have to look out for yourself, but the teachers are more than willing to work with you and help you if you are the one to go to them. I have also had classes where teachers don't seem to care about how or what they teach and give everyone whatever grade they feel they deserve regardless of how hard they've worked. It's very mixed, but I've found the more you try, the more reward you get.

  • 02/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Classes are small and the professors know who you are, if that interests you than Suffolk is a great option. It is also in the heart of Boston and if the city is an exciting place for you, then again check it out. The buildings aren't the newest, so don't expect a fancy establishment, but they are historic and a part of the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Suffolk isn't an incredibly difficult school to get into; just prove that you're a decent student and odds are, you'll get in. I would definitely check out the school before applying because it isn't a typical university in the sense that there is no campus. It is literally scattered around the south end of Boston which is great if you're a city person and aren't afraid of being independent. Definitely take a look around and make sure it meets your expectations.

    Bang for the buck

    My major isn't a huge focus for Suffolk so I'm not sure if I'm getting my money's worth...

    Am enjoying being here

    The administrative aspects of the school could be improved. The library hours are also pretty limiting.

    Am learning a lot

    Love the professors! I've yet to encounter a professor who completely bored me or didn't offer at least valuable information.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A school great for city prowlers, fashionistas, and outgoing goons. If you're looking for a huge sense of college life (such as: sports, greek life, socials) this isn't your school. Independent students who want to pursue businses, law, and criminal justice should succeed here; granted they do their studying!

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm in a ton of extracurricular activities, mainly marketing/business related ones. That helped tremendously (with scholarships too!). They love volunteer work, so throw some time into that. Basically, be real. My admissions essay spoke about how I don't believe in formal education, but doing it for society's acceptance of the newer generation.. I totally bashed everything they stand for but I got a personal comment back via email stating the relief it was to read something real. Go for it, be bold.. but do so in a respective manner.

    Bang for the buck

    I've received a ton of financial aid offers so far from Suffolk alone, though it is up to you to do the individual research and gain scholarships from outside sources. When you apply for the FASFA you're automatically considered for all scholarships the school offers, which is great for us lazy students who don't want to take the time to fill out applications all day. I think it's relatively affordable and the counselors for financial aid are wonderful.

    Will enjoy being here

    If you're looking to be in a city and urban setting, this is DEFINITELY your school. It's located in the heart of Boston, and majority of the campus surrounds the commons. Being an urban campus, walking quite a ways is necessary to get to certain classes. A small price to pay for a beautiful city.

    Will learn a lot

    I've yet to start my semester, so I don't have much to say regarding teaching styles. I believe it all comes down to study habits though.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Suffolk University gives good financial aid that helps immensely with the private school tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the city of Boston. Go the museum or the aquarium. Go to Mike's pastries for cannolis. Just hang in the Boston Common.

    Food and Dining

    The food can get a little redundant. Overall the food selection is good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. They're a little on the expensive side but they are still worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in clubs and extracurricular activities. Living in a living learning community is also a good way to meet people in your major and become a part of the Suffolk community.

    In three sentences

    The school is right in the middle of Boston and there are many places to hang out in the city. There are a lot of resources available for students in the university like tutoring, career services, counseling, and diversity services. The school puts emphasis on getting involved actively in the community with clubs and community service, with many interests that can appeal to anybody.

  • 06/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 5 people found this review useful. 8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    join clubs! just do something besides academics

    Bang for the buck

    great financial aid

    Am enjoying being here

    its in the heart of Boston so there is always something to do.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Its Boston, what isn't there to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't very good, but there are so many great restaurants near by, it truly wasn't an issue.

    Dorm Life

    Live on campus your first year, that is the best way to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the honor program and was able to balance my full load there along with the rigor of playing women's basketball, and I still finished with a 3.9 gpa.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would attempt to spend an overnight at the school, or at the very least a day in the city. You have to make sure that you love Boston, or you won't love Suffolk.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk Universities location in Down Town Boston is ideal for any college student. I found that an open campus only enhanced my experience. Boston is, in my opinion, one of the best cities to go to school in.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe! there is security around at all times ensuring student safety.

    Greek Life

    there is a fraternity and sorority, however, suffolk is not big on greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and activities to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    great for business, communication, science, law!

    Bang for the buck

    i have enjoyed being a student at suffolk university. the professors have all been amazing. i do wish the financial aid office was better, however. for a private education, you get what you pay for. you can also help finance your education with scholarships and grants.

    What to do for fun

    being in the heart of the boston, there is so much to do. there are sport games such as the bruins (hockey), red sox (baseball) and the celtics (basketball), concerts, great cuisine, and many museums to name a few. newburry street is also a short walk for a day out shopping. the aquarium is also 5 minutes away. being in the city, there are also many bars and clubs one can enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the dining halls is pretty good. it is very clean and the workers are very nice. the food ranges from wraps, salads and soups to warm meals such as pasta, chicken etc.

    Dorm Life

    personally, dorm life was not for me. i lived with someone i didn't know and it wasn't the best experience as we were very different in terms of values and beliefs. the best dorms to live ( in best to worst ranking ) are; miller hall ( right next to the sawyer business school classes and close to the other buildings), west ( has apartment style dorms) and tremont. i lived at all three. tremont is the oldest and worst building to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    the sawyer business school consists of an abundance of group projects, case studies, exams and lots of readings to prepare the students for their future careers. it is important to stay on top of the work load and plan ahead with assignments in order to get good grades and avoid stressing out. you get a lot out of the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    always do the readings before class. go to all of your classes. stay on top of your work! get to know your professors and fellow classmates! try not to show up to class late as a lot of professors get really annoyed at this!

    In three sentences

    the sawyer business school is full of diverse and innovative students and professors. the professors are extremely helpful and spend time to get to know the students. the classes are all interesting. for a private education, suffolk is an excellent school!

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    a big diversity is a good opportunity for student to get involved in culb activity.

    Food and Dining

    so far to be honest i don not know how the food taste but i know for sure is good.

    Dorm Life

    i havent been in the doorm yet, but i know it because of a friend of my, who told me that the doorm are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    when it comes to academic way it is the highest in city

    In three sentences

    suffolk university is a great college and good opportunity for me to pursuit my eduaction. .

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Suffolk is a really safe school. The campus police work along side Boston Pd no matter where you are in the city you will be safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Suffolk is a great places for students who love the city life, with a small school atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    Being in the city everything is pretty expensive. The university though does try to get tickets for shows and sports at discount prices. You can also use your student id to get discounts in a variety of places around the city.

    What to do for fun

    Since Suffolk is in the middle of the city there is an endless amount of things you can do for fun. You can talk a nice walk on Newbury and go shopping and get something good to eat at all the different restaurants on that one street! You can also enjoy a picnic at the commons which is filled with students on sunny days. You also have lots of plays you can attend because of all the schools located in boston, or a variety of museums you could check out. These are just a few of my favorite things to do but there is SO much more.

    Food and Dining

    Suffolk's food is good, but I just wished I had more of a variety of food, also the food is over priced.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun and great way of meeting people. You get a reasonable amount of aspace, and have the cafeteria closed by. The only down side is that they are way over priced.

    Academic Rigor

    Suffolk is only a challenge if you dont study!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to join at least one club, its a great way to get involved and meet friends. Also do not be scared to step out of your comfort zone, the world is full of surprises.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk is a great university right in the heart of Boston. Here at Suffolk I feel like a receiving a great education and still able to have fun and be young in the city. Being at Suffolk I have had the great opportunity to meet students all over the world, and make long lasting friendships.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SU offers many organizations/clubs! Also, being in the heart of Boston means you can explore the State House, the Freedom Trail, and venture off to Faneuil Hall!

    Food and Dining

    Food is great! However, there aren't enough seats for *all* students.

    Dorm Life

    I am not a dormer; I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    It definitely challenges me, and I enjoy it. I learn a lot of things from the professors here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never give up. If you need help, ask. There are many faculty members who are willing to help students achieve their goals.

    In three sentences

    While SU lacked a campus feel to it, it is still in the heart of Boston, which is a plus. Future students will definitely enjoy the scenery. Also, they will enjoy being in the city.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there is none

    What to do for fun

    Drink, hang out in the dorms, travel around the city, go to other colleges' frat parties.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check ratemyproffessor.com before signing up for classes. Some of the teachers are really awful

    In three sentences

    This school is okay.... it's really overpriced, especially for a school nobody's heard of.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The city of Boston has a lot to offer for tourists, and nightlife!

    Food and Dining

    If you ever get tired of the campus food, there are tons of other places you can go to eat. You're smack in the middle of downtown Boston, where there is different varieties in food to indulge in!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are generally small, you can get a lot of one-on-one attention with your professor if needed. You can also contact them VIA email, and they post a lot on blackboad to remind you of upcoming things in their class and around campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can keep up with the New England whether, it can sometimes get the best of you in the colder months. Make sure to get involved as well, there are tons of commuters and international students on the Suffolk campus, so you are bound to meet, and see, someone new everyday!

    In three sentences

    Diverse city campus

  • 08/24/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    The campus was great, right in Boston Commons. I really liked the art school, the dorm was amazing. I think Boston would be a terrific plase to go to college.

  • 08/26/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    What I found most interesting about this school is their program in Madrid. I love Spanish and I think that it is awesome. I would love to learn in Spain.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the commons!

    Food and Dining

    Eat at the 73 cafe, the salads and sandwiches are great! The dorm food and dining is not so good.

    Dorm Life

    The 150 dorm is not a very clean one; however, the people are very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    If you put your effort into the classes then the workload is not that bad

    In three sentences

    I love Suffolk University. It is a very international student oriented school with many options to expand your horizons.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Focused students who are ready to be independent and want to experience city life. The English department is a gem.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sometimes classes meet at the Red Hat, and students love to eat at Derne. Lay on the Common between classes!

    Bang for the buck

    As a serious student, Suffolk gave me stellar financial aid. It's a treat to be able to spend a few years on Beacon Hill, and then maybe move to a move affordable neighborhood off campus. Take advantage of the huge study abroad opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the local museums (particularly the Museum of Fine Arts at which Suffolk students are admitted for free). Maximize your experience and eat as many different types of ethnic cuisine as you can find. Leave your door open if you do decide to live in the dorms; you never know who will wander in.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo handles the dining service and Suffolk and while they seem open to student requests and critique, the workers were on strike last year on account of maltreatment and the food leaves much to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    I would always advise living off-campus. Suffolk University is a city school and the real experience lies in exploring the colorful neighborhoods and meeting students from other universities. The independence of students who live off campus is surprising and ultimately inspiring.

    Academic Rigor

    The level of academic rigor at Suffolk pales when compared to other schools in the area, and finding individuals who will challenge you is key. However, once you get past the lack of selectivity in the incoming student body, the faculty is spectacular.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends who are acquainted with lots of faculty members and use their recommendations to navigate your courses. Also, try to balance your course load; challenge yourself but also take professors who will allow you to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk University gives generous financial aid and has a dedicated faculty, depending on your choice of major. While it's in the heart of Boston, situated on Beacon Hill, living in the dorms alienates students from the social scene in the five college area. The experiences might have at Suffolk are very dependent on your level of interest in your area of study.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Suffolk has tons and tons of clubs and activities for everyone and if they don't have a club you want, you have the freedom to grab some friends and create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is good for students who love the city, want small classes, and just want to make the best of their college experience.

    What to do for fun

    You're in the heart of Boston. There is tons to do. You could go to a club or to dinner or to a concert. The possibilities are kind of endless.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fairly good. There are a lot of different options and you can ask the chefs to prepare your meal a certain way ahead of time. If you don't want the food from the dining halls, your Ram Card can give you discounts at numerous restaurants near the school.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't started school yet but at orientation it seemed that the suite styled dorms have potential to be a lot of fun. If you want to party, be smart about it, but remember you're in school not a club.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small, but the professors are engaging. As long as you prioritize, it is difficult to fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    When filling out the housing application, make sure you rank doubles and singles before the quads and triples. You will be much more comfortable that way. Also do not request roommates before/after orientation, let the RD's do their jobs; they'll find a roommate for you.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk is amazing. The professors and other faculty members make sure that your experience here is the best. The dorms are nice and each one has AC/heat; as long as you don't get a quad, you should feel right at home.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Boston Police, State House Security, MA State Police, Common Mounties, and Suffolk Police all Patrol our campus. As well, Suffolk Police is trained with the State Police.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 80 clubs and organizations to get involved in in any field of interest. 6 friends can easily start any club and get funding for it. We aren't a campus where people just cheer on from a stadium; we are a campus where people make change and get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Ambitious, hard-working, motivated, diverse, mature.

    What to do for fun

    Boston... on top of everything the college has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    Average, like anything else.

    Dorm Life

    Best dorms in the country. Luxurious city living.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the program it can range from extremely intense to as much effort as you want to put into it. I will be graduating with an accurate representation of my knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind; Suffolk is a very diverse place with a lot of fresh new ideas. You can be anyone you want here and accomplish everything.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk is an amazing school for anyone who is looking to break out of the norm. The non-traditional campus and fantastic programs are awesome, combined with the city life of Boston is the best. Nothing gets better than this well rounded University.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Suffolk give you motivation to keep dream. There you have opportunities to become successful.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe considering being in the city. Campus police are there to escort you if need be.

    Greek Life

    Not very big, I think there are only 1 sorority/fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to join you will never get bored!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Going to the cafe under the library after class for breakfast and lunch was a tradition because of it's great food and hidden location.

    Bang for the buck

    Living in the dorms is expensive but you definitely are one of the luckier friends in your group because of how nice they are.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous places to go: Fanuiel Hall, Fenway Park, the Prudential, Copley Square, Harvard Square and all of these places are only a T Ride or walk away!

    Food and Dining

    There are 2 dining halls on campus, which aren't bad. However, there are small cafes in the academic buildings which are really nice. Not to mention, being right in Boston allows for the whole city to be your menu.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is minimal, because only freshman/sophomores really live on campus due to the lack of housing. Located right in Boston, it's difficult to have many dorm buildings, however with that being said, the dorms are beautiful and well taken care of. The rooms are spacious, carpeted, no brick walls, only one building has communal bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are challenging, but your hard work and determination allow you to push through and succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to get to know your professors!

    In three sentences

    Suffolk University is a wonderful school located right in Downtown/Beaconhill area of Boston. It's a place with many opportunities for students with it's wide variety of classes/majors. The professors are skilled, intelligent, and do everything they can in order to make sure you're getting the education you deserve.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus always has a security guard and suffolk police. Safety is highly enforced.

    Greek Life

    There is much of a Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus and it's easy to find what you like around suffolk.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who love the city, like boston and don't mind walking!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    73 tremont is the best place to eat on campus and conveniently located under the library.

    Bang for the buck

    Dorming is very expensive but a little over priced. Other than that, if you're commuting it's a great deal.

    What to do for fun

    Depending on what type of person you are there are many ways to have fun. Suffolk is in a great location in the middle of the city, whether is clubbing, shopping, watching the red sox, going to a show or partying at a frat suffolk has it all.

    Food and Dining

    Good over all menus, 73 tremont has great salads, sandwhiches and starbucks. Dorm food is by sedexo and they are very welcoming to suggestions from students regarding the menu.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which dorm, but the 150 tremont dorm is the best because of it's traditional dorm structure. Each floor has a common room making it easier to socialize as a freshman. Miller has great dorms, bathrooms and close location to classes but people have a hard time making friends because some floor don't have commons rooms and others are too far from the rooms. 10 West is more for upper class men.

    Academic Rigor

    The education is not very challenging, classes aren't very hard. If you're looking for a good education with little academic pressure suffolk is for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the city, especially if you're a small town kid!

    In three sentences

    It's a great school for kids who want more of a city feel instead of a traditional campus. Suffolk is big on diversity making every student feel comfortable. The education is good but a bit easy, maybe because of the high acceptance rate.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every school building is guarded 24/7 by trained police officers, very safe environment. I have never felt like I was in danger at anytime, while at Suffolk.

    Greek Life

    I never been apart of the Greek Life. However Suffolk does have Greek life for both guys and girls, and from what I've herd from my friends who are a part of Greek life. Its really easy to join and a very rewarding experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    Suffolk has loads of clubs, for any kind of interest. From glee clubs to sports, to even weirder stuff like the people watching club, if you can think of a club Suffolk has it, and if they don't starting a club of your own is no problem too.

    Great for these types of students

    Suffolk is great for any kind of student, anyone can fit in and feel like they are a part of the community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not many people know this but the beach is actually very close to Suffolk. Just a short subway ride north and you can be at the beach no problem.

    Bang for the buck

    Suffolk is a little pricey but compared to other Boston schools like Northeastern or Boston University, Suffolk is much cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    Suffolk being in downtown Boston finding something fun to do is really easy. There are clubs, restaurants and museums everywhere you look. Going to sporting events is always great. With the Garden and Fenway being so close. Its easy to go cheer (geer) on the Bruins Celtics or Red Sox anytime really. The Boston Common is right outside your doorstep, and its a great place to place some sports, walk around, or just sit and read a book.

    Food and Dining

    Suffolk's cafeterias are not the greatest I've seen, but the food is always good, and you can get something hand made whenever you want. If you cant find what you want in the cafe, just step outside and any restaurant you can imagine is within walking distance from all the dorms.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms at Suffolk are the best I have ever seen. The rooms resemble hotel rooms or apartments more than dorm rooms. They are very comfortable and are a great home away from home. Living in the dorms is great too, the friends you make with the people in your dorm can end up being your best friends at school. And Suffolk is a great place where you can foster relationships that last a life time.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor you take and class you chose, classes range from very easy to very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join student groups that involve your field of study. Its a great way to make friends and learn a lot about something your passionate about.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk University is a great school, the teachers are very knowledgeable and always willing to help you no matter the class size. If your looking for an urban environment, you cant beat Suffolk, located right in the heart of downtown Boston. Great education plus a great place to go to school, Suffolk University is a fantastic place to get your education.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt 100% safe at Suffolk. The dorms always have security checking IDs to make sure you live there..anyone else must be signed in. Although the campus neighbors many strangers, police are always right near by.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to join, and it really improves your overall experience at Suffolk.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing Students

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite pricey, but to live in Boston and get a great education I would say it is affordable with financial aid and scholarships. Suffolk was extrememly generous when awarding scholarships for great grades! So work hard !

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, go out to dinner, go ice skating, go to the movies, plenty of places to go shopping, sit in the commons, get icecream, and so many other things. Suffolk also has many on campus activities to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food was great, many choices. I wished I had a few more options but I can't really complain other than the price. Staff was great !

    Dorm Life

    Spending one year in the middle of Boston was a dream I never expected to come true. But it did and I couldn't have had a better year than my freshman year dorming at Suffolk. The dorms are clean, up to date, and very roomy for college dorms. I was at tremont which was more social than the other dorms and deffinitely a great choice for freshman.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I was given and would like to pass on: GET INVOLVED! And work hard because Suffolk loves to award scholarships for students who deserve them.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk University has great professors that not only challenge your mind but guide you thoroughly through the course. The campus is in the heart of Boston which is another plus. And there are also so many opportunities for clubs and activities for students to get involved.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is not very safe to be walking around at night in downtown Boston, there are some robberies and random people. But it is much safer in daylight. Always watch your back in downtown Boston no matter the time and be aware of your surroundings ALWAYS. This is speaking from experience, I am a native Bostonian and have been downtown numerous times, way too many to count.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs to join at Suffolk from sporting clubs, dance clubs, food clubs and so much more!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the Commons, go to the movies, go ice-skating or just walk around town and it will definitely be an adventure!

    Food and Dining

    There are many options in downtown Boston for food. There are all types of restaurants, cafes, fast food and lots of bars.

    Dorm Life

    I am not dorming, I am commuting. But I here that the rules are not very strict when it comes to dorming.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not too tough or not too easy but are just right for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active at Suffolk if you are commuting, that is a great way to meet people as well as in your classes. Join a club or do some sports!

    In three sentences

    Suffolk is very diverse with lots of fun people to meet and lots of exciting clubs or activities. You are right next to a train station and buses for easy access. The surroundings are excellent with variation and keep you interested if you are not familiar with downtown Boston.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus because the Suffolk and Boston police are always there to keep us aware.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek life on campus, but it's not as popular.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are alright. Only a few are quite active in the community like the ramifications (the a capella group), Voices of Zion (Gospel choir), Black Student Union, and others.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is prodominately white, but it doesn't mean that other cultures and races can't fit in. There's a lot of events for hispanics, African Americans, and Asians. However, as a black girl, it can sometimes be a little uncomfortable being a minority.

    Bang for the buck

    Suffolk is expensive, but there are always scholarships that they can give you, so it's not like no one can afford being here.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of events on campus like, movie screening, parties, concerts, game nights, and much more. I've been to many so far, and it has been quite fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, but you will miss your momma's cooking.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really expensive. I'm a commuting student, so I'm not really sure how it really is. But, it has been easier for people to meet friends and create relationships. The Miller Hall is the best dorm, but the others tend to have the most complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends what classes you're in and what major you have, but as an English major, it's not hard at all to aim for your degree. My freshman year is doing good because I've been on top of the work. As long as you don't party every night and slack off, college will be a piece of cake.

    Tips for prospective students

    Suffolk will be so boring if you don't join a club, team, or go to any events. You can have fun with friends in the dorm, but the city and Suffolk got a lot more to offer Commuting there isn't all that bad, but be prepared to do twice as much involvement. Since you're not living on campus, it's a lot harder to make friends, but the best way is to get yourself involved in something to put yourself out there.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk is a good school for any major, especially business, but it's really expensive. Some of the professors are really reasonable, yet some tend to push you a lot. Also, being in the city is fun, and you can take the train to all of the other colleges and go to parties.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Activities and dramas at Suffolk theater

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to see tutor before handing paper in. Use time management

    In three sentences

    Give student a solid education in the fundamentals that are crucial to success in business. Help student to develop leadership skills to frame a compelling vision, communicate it effectively, devise a plan to achieve it, and inspire others to implement the plan successfully. Teach how to embrace and manage change

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are in the city. You need to learn how to be careful in a big city. That's how it is. Suffolk University police really can't do anything, they are mostly an annoyance. However, there is always state police (for the State house and courthouse) and Boston Police around. There is also a lot of people, so I always feel safe enough.

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities and there may be a fraternity. So, none.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bova's in the North End is a 24-hour Italian bakery that you must go to. The food isn't that good, but it is an experience. Also, our school seems to have a love affair with Bolocco, which sells burritos and other Mexican food. We always get it for free, and any catered events feature Bolocco.

    What to do for fun

    Under 21, there isn't much to do at night. Typically, my friends and I will take midnight walks to Bova's (a 24-hour Italian bakery) or down to the Harbor. During the day, there's shopping, and Harvard Square and the Prudential Center are only a T ride away.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is not a swipe system, it's based on meal points. You only get a certain amount each semester, and it seems that people either run out or don't spend enough. The food in the dorms doesn't really taste that good either. I give it two stars because the food in the academic buildings is actually not that bad.

    Dorm Life

    There are three dorms on campus; Miller Hall, 150 Tremont, and 10 West/Modern Theater. Miller Hall is really close to class, so it's nice to be able to roll out of bed and go. There is some partying, but it's pretty controlled. The other dorms are about a fifteen minute walk to the academic buildings, and are very intense on partying.

    Academic Rigor

    After completing my first semester, I'd say that the classes are fair. You will always have at least one class that will be a pain each semester, but after talking to some seniors, you shouldn't have more then two out of four challenging ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that not having a campus is truly what you want! Some people think it's a great idea, but then get to Suffolk and hate that aspect. Also, when taking a tour try to walk around the area; go see the North End, the Boston Harbor, Fanueil Hall, and the Commons. That's your neighborhood!

    In three sentences

    Suffolk University is a great city school. With no campus, you are truly integrated in Boston's life. Walking to the Harbor, through the Commons, or to the North End are just daily activities when you go to Suffolk.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do

    In three sentences

    Suffolk is helpful. their financial aid program can be a little confusing. they can be difficult

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs and activities for all interests

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love the city, smaller classrooms for more attention

    What to do for fun

    Go out and enjoy the city! Shop, eat, explore.

    Food and Dining

    Food is typical cafe food. Cafeterias in certain buildings are better then the residence hall dining.

    Dorm Life

    Very good. Nice buildings, mainly for freshmen. On campus apartments for upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very good at teaching their subjects. Makes class enjoyable and you learn alot!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure the city is for you! It is unlike other colleges because there isnt a real campus.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk University is a great college. The classes are small, and the teachers are great. Living in the city is a great experience.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Suffolk is very safe and secure. Even thou right in the middle of downtown Boston it is safe for all students because of the guidelines set by Suffolk to ensure security (ex. id card a must to carry everyday)

    Greek Life

    Get to class early, Listen carefully, and do your homework. Just focus on school and strive to do your best,

    Clubs and Activities

    Not very involved yet, but hear they are great.

    Bang for the buck

    Don't at Suffolk much, Don't really know

    What to do for fun

    Go to movies, club events.

    Food and Dining

    Right in downtown Boston so there are many places to go eat. I prefer the food court, The Corner, because they have more variety. Moreover, the food inside campus is also good but limited, coffee is awesome at the sawyer cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live here, i commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Good classes. Get tougher but with help from many of services here it can be done and good grades and come out of it,.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to deal with change. Suffolk may seem like easy because some teachers are lenient but they can be harsh some. We have good teachers here but you need to work hard to get good grades, just like in any other school. But here, i have been told that we get more vacation therefore academically speaking it can be hard.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk is awesome. Easy to commute to. easy to get around and get to the area.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Suffolk University Police Department is always making sure that students are safe. When signing into any building they are there to keep the peace and assure student safety. Even if you need to be escorted somewhere because you feel unsafe from one part of campus to another, they are always willing to help.

    Great for these types of students

    Suffolk is an ideal place for an individual looking to make connections. Students here come from all over the world so it is a great place to learn about different cultures.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally believe every dollar that goes into this institution is very much worth it. We receive location, a great library, good class sizes, teachers that know their subjects, and many other perks to being a Ram. However, it is important to keep in mind that Suffolk is a private school therefore, it is a little more costly than state schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are a vast amount of clubs one can join and many sports teams to try out for. If an individual isn't interested in that then there are many things to do in Boston. Everywhere from sightseeing to museums are located only a t-ride away.

    Food and Dining

    We have a couple options to where we can eat. The food isn't bad if you aren't picky. Overall, I think the food is better than many other institutions.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is absolutely amazing. The location is right in the heart of Boston making it a once in a life-time experience. Depending on the dorm building, you get your own bathroom and a suite-like living situation. Rooms are not insanely small but good size and extremely comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Class sizes are small so teachers are able to have a real one-on-one relationship with their students. The workload is constant but very doable. Teachers are constantly trying to keep students active in the classroom while learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the city, this is the perfect school to apply to. Living in the dorms the first year really helps you make friends and get involved. There is a large number of clubs and extracurricular activities to keep one occupied. Students from all over the world apply here making the student body tremendously diverse. Classroom sizes are small and teachers are always willing to help. If that isn't enough, the night life around Boston is always welcoming and exciting, perfect for weekend fun.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk University is a great institution that really pushes every student willing to learn. The location is amazing and the campus is easy to master. Overall, I believe it is worth the money invested for a great education.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has no problems very clean and safe great for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    For all your sites, everything

    What to do for fun

    What do for fun? Join a club, look around town at all the sites. You'll find your favorite hang out spot and meet new friends.

    Food and Dining

    I looked around on Google Maps there's so many places to eat. Eat on campus or somewhere far the possibilities are endless.

    Dorm Life

    You can live on or off campus. Choosing from a many of places to live in Boston.

    Academic Rigor

    Your bound to find your major here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Highly look more into this college those who like it also.

    In three sentences

    When I first looked at the college on Cappex I knew it was perfect. The campus is the city, looking at the pictures there's art everywhere. Looking at the university videos I like how small the classes are.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its in the middle of the city, so they have cars going around sometimes.

    Greek Life

    Blah.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres not much school spirit.

    Great for these types of students

    Law students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You have to walk a lot to get from one building to the other, crossing streets and waiting for lights make you late for class.

    Bang for the buck

    Really expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Have to join organizations or clubs. Greek life is nice too, they don't have outside housing though.

    Food and Dining

    There is someone there that will make for you pretty much any type of sandwich or pasta. Not big amounts of healthy foods. Somewhat good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice, right in the middle of Downtown. Missing cafeterias and lounging areas.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes normally require 8 hours of work a week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus, if not you wont have a social life whatsoever. If you speak spanish, you can take classes in your language in the Madrid campus.

    In three sentences

    Not having a campus becomes annoying. Everyone has money so people are very cocky. Some of the teachers are lame.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Suffolk has their own Suffolk police. Every dorm building has security at the front entrance and all guests must always be signed in.

    Greek Life

    I havent heard much on greek life or events that they hold.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I havent heard of any.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on whether its seeing a movie, playing football in the commons or going on a Duck tour through the city. On a nice day taking a walk down the legendary Newbury street is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food could be a lot better. Cafe 73 does have some good sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are in an AMAZING location steps away from the Boston common.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are thinking about Suffolk should take a campus tour. The location is what sold me on the school.

    In three sentences

    Suffok University has an amazing location right in the heart of downtown Boston. The commons are right outside Suffolk's door. Suffolk's location enables students to have an abundance of opportunities to a variety of different businesses.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Boston's fairly safe, our campus is Boston.

    Greek Life

    What is that? ;)

    Clubs and Activities

    Not too many, but if you want some you can find it.

    Great for these types of students

    Energetic, love the city life, don't need a sorority to feel like they belong.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the Boston Commons is awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    They keep raising our tuition...

    What to do for fun

    The city is your playground. Have fun

    Food and Dining

    We serve StarBucks Coffee!

    Dorm Life

    I don't know, I've been commuting. The dorms are fairly nice though.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your teacher, some are very very easy, some are hard to understand, some are okay, some are very very hard. they all want to help you get ahead though, just don't get on their bad side.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for the weather to change very quickly in the blink of the eye. The city might make you feel overwhelmed if you do not like large crowds of people. You don't need to buy books, you can use them in the library.

    In three sentences

    The professors of Suffolk University are one of the greatest assets to the school. They will teach you how to be ready for the real world. The campus has a great location.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All buildings have security on staff and Suffolk Police patrol the area constantly. To enter all dorms, students have to swipe their IDs and any student or other person who does not live in that specific dorm must be signed it with security (which includes security scanning in a photo ID and holding the ID until the person is checked out) and all residents must stay with their guests during their stays. I have always felt safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do and some way to get involved no matter what your interests are! (and if there isn't a group that does what you are looking for, its easy to work with the Student Leadership and Involvement office to create a new group!)

    Great for these types of students

    Suffolk is great for students who are looking for more than just academics - if you like student like, Suffolk is for you!

    What to do for fun

    Suffolk is located downtown - the perfect area for fun! There is always something be put on by the various clubs on campus. Freshmen get to go on a harbor cruise and go to a concert/dance at the House of Blues as a part of welcome week. For Boston sports fans, clubs are always offering discounted tickets to Bruins, Celtics, and Red Sox games! Plus, there is a lot to do in Boston. Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market are only a five minute walk from the school. Boston also has the New England Aquarium and Museum of Science, both of which host free college nights!

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo has worked to add creative options to the menu (like pasta bars and stir fries). The cafe in Donahue offers sushi and Chinese food and the cafe in 73 Tremont has the BEST salad options and awesome sandwiches - they aren't your regular options and you can do make your own too!

    Dorm Life

    Suffolk has traditional dorms, suites and apartments, which are available to students for their first two years. They are clean and comfortable. Maintenance is quick to respond if you need anything. The RAs work hard to foster relationships among students on their floors.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and they help you to develop as a student and a person. All the business courses prepare you for what you will see in the work place.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and you will fall in love (since Boston is the campus!)

    In three sentences

    Suffolk University is the perfect place for anyone looking to be immersed directly into the Boston community. The school community couldn't be better! The professors care about your success and there is always an event going on where you can meet fellow students!

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Suffolk is covered by Suffolk University police as well as Boston Police which is very safe. You can travel the streets around campus with ease and without worry.

    Greek Life

    There is a lot of greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs and if there isn't one you want you can always make it.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for every student. There is a great communication scene in Boston and every professor has a job in there field outside of being a suffolk professor so they definitely have experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Suffolk has no football team, but you will hear many students talking about the undefeated Rams football team. It is a campus inside joke.

    Bang for the buck

    Suffolk is an expensive college but is well worth the money. There are also many ways to lower the payment of tuition. Many students receive scholarships by tutoring other students and get grants from around the university. The internship opportunities are amazing as well. There is a high chance in getting an internship in the field of your choosing while in school and after graduation

    What to do for fun

    The question should be what is there not to do. Boston is a historic city and there are many tours and activities to do around the city. From duck boats to movies there is always something to do around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food at suffolk is great there are also many restaurants and diners around that accept the ram car for payment.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Suffolk are out of this world. They are located in the heart of downtown Boston and over look the Boston Commons. The rooms are spacious and are amazing

    Academic Rigor

    Suffolk is a great school with numerous academic fields, and great opportunities. The classes are both challenging and keep you involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would consider commuting if you live in the area. It is a quick way to save nearly $15,000.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk University is a small university in the heart of Boston. Unlike many other universities suffolk is not a closed campus, the city of Boston is Suffolk's campus. Suffolk is filled with opportunities waiting for students to take advantage of them.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go out to eat, walk to the commons, and etc. Suffolk is pretty much close to everything and there is a station or bus you can use to get anywhere you want to.

    Food and Dining

    The salads and sandwiches they make are the best. They also sell snacks that are pretty good. If you don't like the food in the cafeterias there also is variety places you can eat near-by.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived on campus, but I hear they are really nice. People seem to enjoy it because its more convenient for them as oppose to commuting everyday. Also, they get to spend time with friends and etc.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is do-able if you stay on top of everything and not slack off. If you manage your time well you should be able to pass every course and will good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best and work hard, but try to enjoy yourself at the same time. This is where you will spend the best years of your life. Travel and join as many clubs as you can.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk has a great atmosphere and a lot of diversity on campus. The professors are really helpful and enjoyable. Most importantly classes are interesting and you learn a lot from them.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty safe but you gotta watch out the beacon hill area sometimes. I have heard stories but haven't encountered one yet, and not looking forward to any.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can make your own club, if you gave at least 6 people I guess.

    What to do for fun

    Hang around the city, go for walks near the Barbour and lots of clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of local food places.

    Dorm Life

    Expensive but it's in the heart of boston,

    Academic Rigor

    Again! It's what the student wants to learn, if you are not interested, you will never learn. Education is not limited to four walls.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study well! Enjoy the beautiful city and life!

    In three sentences

    College is what you make out of it. There are plenty of way to get involved, yet there won't be people constantly behind you to get the most out of it. If you want something, work for it.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even being downtown it is very safe. The Suffolk U police do a great job at making sure everyone stays safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and activities and if you are really passionate about something it is really easy to start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    People who love history but, are looking towards the future. People who love city life and being in the Hub of the Universe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the upper floors of the 73 Tremont, Miller Res Hall, and Fenton buildings there are amazing views of Boston's downtown, Back Bay, Cambridge, and Beacon hill.

    Bang for the buck

    Suffolk University is rather expensive but, what they try and give you is a first class experience. They help you from start to finish and even after you leave them.

    What to do for fun

    Living in the heart of downton Boston you have connections to every subway (T) line on the MBTA and even links to Amtrak to get to other cities (Such as NYC, Portland Maine, Montreal, D.C., Philadelphia, Providence, and even Chicago) for relatively cheap. The night life of Boston is world class. There are countless museums and historical places to see, not to mention dozens of secret public spaces (such as rooftop gardens and free observation decks high above the ground). Suffolk have a large array of clubs and groups that help add to the roster of actives. And in Boston there are tons of sporting events and intelligent people that will entrain you for ages.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining services are really nice at Suffolk U. The only problems can be price of food (a little expensive sometimes) and hours of the kitchens (limited later on at night, especially weekends). But, otherwise places like the 73 Cafe, Donahue Cafe, Sawyer Cafe, Miller Res Hall Cafe and partnered locations (of which there are many scattered throughout downton Boston) are great to get anything from a quick bit to eat to a full meal. 73 is my personal favorite, the food and the staff are amazing.

    Dorm Life

    I love Suffolk U's dorms. They are nice modern dorms in both new and turn of the century buildings all throughout downton Boston along the Boston Common. The residence halls locations are virtually unmatched in the city and by most other universities.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are not to hard (for me at least). But, I am always learning and the professors are very kind and eager to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Suffolk is a bit of a secret but once you find it they'll welcome you with open arms. If you want a free application they will happily wave the fee for you if you go and visit and have a relatively high acceptance rate. It is expensive but, if you can get good scholarships, loans, Finical Aid, or have the money, you should be all sett to have an amazing four years.

    In three sentences

    Suffolk is the absolute best, in an amazing location (the heart of downton Boston). Suffolk has amazing professors who really care and give go good intuitive work but never seem to drown you in it. And the activities (everything from celebrity shows to Red Sox, Bruins, and Celtics games) are always reactively cheap and fun.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's in Downtown Boston. Everything is so tight-knit. Your campus security, is the BPD. So, don't worry too much about safety.

    Greek Life

    Not much of a greek life. I was disappointed a bit too, but you soon get over it, because it offers so many things that are much cooler.

    Clubs and Activities

    HUNDREDS! and if you don't find one you like, make one. No rush. There is always something to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    All. Mostly adventurous. If you want to sit in your room all day and do nothing, cool, but your money is being severely wasted. Suffolk prides itself on all the perfect things it has. It would be wise to take advantage of that.

    Bang for the buck

    They offer a lot of financial aid, plus merit scholarships. They try to be as generous as they can be. If you're lucky, you can get the $35,000 Deans scholarship which they just give you, you don't enter anything, plus financial aid and be walking out scott free. No matter what, you will always end up getting some scholarship though.

    What to do for fun

    What not to do? Catch a game down the street. Go to the movies up the road. Go shopping right next door. Go on a date 2 minutes away from your dorm. It is downtown Boston. You will ALWAYS have something to do. And being that this is a historic place, you can always walk past the state house on your way to class, or the boston common, which is right next to your building. You will always be busy.

    Food and Dining

    YESSSS! It has good food on campus, but then again, all of Boston is your campus. You are located literally in Downtown Boston, there are so many restaurants literally propped across the street from your dorm, it is ridiculous. You will never lack in the food department. EVER!

    Dorm Life

    They have beautiful dorms. There is the one co-ed building that is 19 stories high and made entirely out of glass. From it, you can see all of Boston, and the Charles River. And don't get me started on the view at night. And Suffolk works really hard to pair you with someone that you will enjoy being around for a long time.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what you want out of it. For me, I enjoy all of the classes I am planning to take, and the classes are rigorous, but then again, this is not high school. They expect more from you, and want to make sure you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. If you want to stand out on your application, make yourself known. It is in the heart of Boston, and there is always something to do. You can catch a celtics/bruins game right up the street, or you can go to Fenway park which is a train ride away, not to mention it is in Downtown Boston, next to Boston's little Italy of North End. Just get involved, you will love it.

    In three sentences

    It has everything I need when I wanted to apply. From it's amazing law background, to it's anthropology of law teacher (really cool dude), and theology, psychology, it has every major I want. Not to mention it's study abroad program and Madrid campus.

  • 04/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Not much to do.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the commons!

    Food and Dining

    If you don't eat meat then you are limited to choices.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm! Price is a little too much and food in the dorm life is not too great but it is alright. Not good if you don't eat meat (like me).

    Academic Rigor

    Amazing academic life! They have extra help if you need it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should be more outgoing. Just know how to manage your time and your good!

    In three sentences

    I would rate Suffolk a 7. There needs to be more clubs anc activities but the learning side of Suffolk is amazing! Price is a little too much though.