Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Sul Ross State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great those who are becoming college freshmen. Students who want a great beginning with GPA. Those students that are very involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Average of 15 students per class or lower.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a small community, you know what is in here, going on, and there is a lot of activities going on in Sul Ross.

    Am learning a lot

    Small class size makes easy to learn, plus Instructors are very flexible to students!

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those wishing to focus on school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year they repaint the Sul Ross logo on the mountain side. Paint gets everywhere.

    What to do for fun

    The Lobo. Lots of clubs and sports to join

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early

    In three sentences

    Small classes make it easier for one-on-one learning. Cheaper costs than most other universities. Great professors, its easy to follow the lecture

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fletcher hall where students gather to see the ghost of Beverly who had died in the late 1970's or 80's by either suicide or someone moved her body to look like an accident not sure how it happened but students get interested to know the truth about Beverly.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the mall to hang out with friends when you want to sit outside. Also go to the University Center to play games such as pool, ping pong, and xbox 360

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to Sul Ross State University to earn a degree you applied for and come have fun with new students.

    In three sentences

    1. Fun for all students who are interested in welding or building things with own hands. 2. Library has the resources you need when it for hard work when your struggling. 3. SSS or Student Support Services are there to provide if you need financial aid or to help with homework.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students who prefer the rodeo life such as cowboys and cowgirls and those who wish to focus on school.

    What to do for fun

    The things to do for fun at Sul Ross are playing volleyball in the sand pits, go swimming, go for hikes around the mountains, attend the school rodeos, go horseback riding in the arena and walk around the lovely town. Sul Ross is located in Alpine which has a small population but the community is very close so they always have fun events for the students to attend. For fun, students can also go to the bars with friends, attend the movies, play in the game rooms or go to the other small towns that surround Alpine.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice is to attend the University with a positive attitude and focus on the academics.

    In three sentences

    When it comes to the majors Sul Ross has a lot to offer and has an amazing Animal Science Program that I am currently in. Academics aren't the strongest there but the school offers a lot of help to the students such as one on one with the teachers and tutors. The athletics at the school could be improved by adding more programs and the food needs to be served fresh.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sul Ross arms the campus with armed police officers that circle around the school to keep up with safety for the students and staff. Alpine Texas also provides a strong police force, sorry for you speed demons, that stays contact with our campus police.

    Greek Life

    Sul Ross does not have a strong Greek life. There are no sorority or fraternity housing but you can join one as a club. You can find which one suits you best by your major or minor.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sul Ross is rich in a variety of clubs and activities a student can join. Activities and clubs can be found to intrigue future world leaders to dorm room gamers.

    Great for these types of students

    Sul Ross is great for the artistic student. Much of Alpine is filled with art galleries and showing from world know artists that come for the beautiful environment. This university provides strong criminal justice and educational programs as well as rodeo programs. Sul Ross is perfect for students that love nature and hiking and those students that are struggling to find their way in the world of greater education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sul Ross provides the community with museum of Big Bend located on campus. The older dorm room hall known as Fletcher Hall is said to house a ghost named Beverly who died in the late 1970's or 80's by either suicide or a professor trying to cover his tracks of a murder. The show A Haunting filmed in Fletcher hall this past summer(2012) and the show on Fletcher hall's ghost Beverly should be airing this November.

    Bang for the buck

    Sul Ross is definitely one of the cheapest schools you can find that provides exceptional student life and academics. With all the scholarships provided by Sul Ross and academic opportunities this University is well worth your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Sul Ross leadership organizations are constantly sponsoring various events for all students to attend. Including bingo nights, famous comedians, plays, and dorm room floor get together. Sul Ross also provides each dorm room floor with a media room and there is a room next to the cafeteria providing pool tables, video games, and ping pong as well as the rec center and the museum of Big Bend located on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Like many college campuses Sul Ross provides buffet styled meals. They do however hire their own cooks instead of having chain restaurants providing meals. they have four daily options as well as a salad and sandwich bar. The four options include a fast food line where you can watch hamburgers, hot dogs, nachos, and fries be made just for you. The second option is a homemade line where you can feel like you are back at home with your moms famous cooking. And the other two is a pizza line as well as homemade soups and breads. The quality of the food unfortunately depends on the chef, sometimes its very mediocre but others like on the holidays is exceptional.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are newly remodeled and absolutely beautiful. At Sul Ross State you and your roomate will get your own bedrooms(very nice sized at that) share a large bathroom and recieve your own sinks and medicen cabnets. You also share a living room and small kitchen area with a fridge, microwave, and counter space with your roommate. I feel like it more of an apartment living then dorm room living. The dorm staff is always available for you and does check on you every once in a while to help you out with anything for a tilted ceiling fan to installing new light bulbs. Oh and one of my favorite things is that the laundry room is never to far from your dorm and does not require quarters just bring your own detergents.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Sul Ross challenge you without knocking you down. Of course each class and professor is different for the next, so your classroom work and difficulty will depend on the course and level of that course you are taking. One thing that is constant here at Sul Ross is that each professor loves their job and want you to succeed as far as you can. Sul Ross gives you every opportunity to make great grades and pass, you just have to be smart enough to take all of the chances given.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sul Ross is definitely a place where you should never be afraid to challenge yourself. This university really works to give you only the best opportunities and the whole staff is behind every student wanting us to succeed. get to know your library and computer labs these are some amazing free tools that will be such a waste to you if you don't remember to use them. Wear comfortable shoes: the walk from one class to another or from dorm to classroom is not long but does require walking up and down hills and stairs due to the mountainous area.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross State University is where students find themselves academically and socially. The small class sizes allow students to engage with their professors as well as their peers unlike many larger schools. The beauty of the Big Bend region surrounding the school is truly awe inspiring, this small town is a real breath of fresh air.

  • 11/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Because it's in a rural area, students who are accustomed to being removed from a city will likely feel more comfortable. Also, those who prefer to be in a smaller class setting will enjoy attending here.

    Bang for the buck

    Price-wise, you can't beat it. The tuition and fees are lower than almost any school in the state. They have better residential living than most DI schools and all for a lower price.

    Did enjoy being here

    Sul Ross is a special place and the community of Alpine value the connection between them and the University. There is always something going on and the community will take care of their students.

    Academic Rigor

    Small class sizes made it easier to learn material and have quality discussions with professors and classmates.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn how to use a computer.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are very reasonably priced.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have enjoyed being a student, the professors are great.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot. A very good University.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    do your work

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions

    In three sentences

    The staff is extremely helpful in finding the right class to fit your needs. The environment in which students are surrounded with is so supportive. The best experience ever!!!!!

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. It's located in the middle of a small town in West Texas.

    Greek Life

    There is no distraction of Greek Life!

    Clubs and Activities

    Theater and the Freshman Leadership program are great activities to become involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the country loving type, farmers, or ranchers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wrapping the wolf with red. Climbing the Sul Ross hill to sign the desk that's hidden at the top.

    Bang for the buck

    Great Mexican food at the local eateries!

    What to do for fun

    Watch a movie outside, play a game of sand volleyball, visit the McDonald's Observatorium, as well as take a trip to Marfa to visit the Marfa Lights. Take a trip to Balmorea and dip into the fresh spring fed pool, or hike up the davis mountains. Travel even further away and camp at the Big Bend National forest!

    Food and Dining

    Food is all you can eat, whatever you want to eat. Always options for those who are trying to eat healthy, as well as those who enjoy the traditional slice of pizza or corn dog.

    Dorm Life

    Incredible! Dorms built in 2006 and fairly new. The main thing to do in Alpine is hang out with friends and enjoy the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty provides a challenging curriculum. They are also available to help students one-on-one during office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is perfect if you are persuing a degree in Horticulture, Agriculture, or anything to do with the ranch.

    In three sentences

    The school is small and has a friendly staff. The student life flourishes. The teachers are focused on providing a quality education to their students.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus = quick response time. There are always campus police on duty. In my experience they tend to go above and beyond to help you. Also don't speed around town, you will get a ticket for going 1 mile over the speed limit!

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    You wont have a hard time getting into any club. Every club welcomes all students with open arms.

    Great for these types of students

    Like the peace and quiet, like nature, like culture, and like being around friendly folk.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    That's all part of the fun of going to the campus and becoming a Lobo. I can't give away our little traditions!

    Bang for the buck

    Low faculty to student ratio and also the most affordable state school in Texas. It's hard to beat that!

    What to do for fun

    Lots of small and personal student organizations around campus. The area is also beautiful! You can go to the big bend national park, go star gazing at Fort Davis, or go check out the Marfa lights in Marfa. Also there are always little festivals going on around the different towns.

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat. Some people complain, but i'm rarely disappointed with the dinning services.

    Dorm Life

    I get a private room, my roommate gets a private room, and we share a bathroom and living area for the same cost as most other college dorm rooms that make you live in the same room together - yes please! If your not on the third floor there are a couple of thuds now and again, but by no means severe. Note that this is a country town and 90% of the people wear cowboy boots.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging, but as I tell most people, it really really really makes your life a whole lot easier if you go to class EVERYDAY and do ALL of your homework. If you blow off your professors your grade will reflect that, if you show up and have a good attitude your grade will reflect that! The classes are also much more personal than most schools. I had a class just this last semester with just five other students!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not underestimate the school. It gets a bad rap because it's small and in the middle of nowhere in west Texas, but that's part of its charm. It really is a beautiful area and its sad to see prospective students continually disappointed because there is nothing to do around town. There are no night-clubs but it is what you make of it. Marfa and Alpine always have festivals going on, and if you're really bored drive out to Marfa or Fort Davis and star gaze. I love the laid back nature of the school and I especially love the peace and quiet. There are a lot of organizations on campus that prospective students can get involved with and there is a great volunteer fire department for potential career firefighters. As an average person like myself it has been a great experience being able to get involved in many organizations that I probably wouldn't have been able to get involved with had I gone to a larger school.

    In three sentences

    It is great because it is a very small school and it is nice and quiet around town. Everybody is very friendly and easy to get along with. The largest class I ever had was about 50 students, and my professor still knew my name.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    being such a small campus, you get the feeling of safety and you're never left completely alone. there's always someone down the hall waiting to jump into action (our ras), and campus police patrol (we have law enforcement academy students and teachers all over the place luckily) that aren't oppressive but friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    there's an anime club, music club, biology and astronomy, and the black student association which hosts many of our activities, along with other clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    teachers and law enforcement students are greatly welcome here. the campus and town itself are also largely focused on natural resource management and the animal sciences. it's also good for those students who enjoy small towns, great landscapes, open air, and a tight knit campus and community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a tradition i had the good fortune to participate in for the first time this year was the spirit walk up the bar-sr-bar mountain to sign the notebook and desk left at the top which students have been signing for many years, leaving their mark to be recorded and later saved.

    Bang for the buck

    sul ross is well known for having low tuition and fees. alpine itself is expanding its shops and places to buy commercial goods. it's a good place to go for a student fresh on their own. you can get your doctorate for relatively low costs concerning the bigger universities such as tech or ut.

    What to do for fun

    sul ross at alpine is nature based. we have trails to walk, hills and mountains to climb and hike, and the big bend right around the corner to visit. there are local joints that host special events for students and rangra night which gives free movie viewings to students on the first monday of every month. sul ross itself hosts its own special events such as open mic nights, bingo, game night, talent shows, comedians and many other activities.

    Food and Dining

    i'm of the opinion that if i can't cook it, i certainly don't want to eat it 3 times a day. we are forced to buy a meal-plan if you stay on campus in the dorms. the dining also doesn't typically seem to really care about the students it is serving. they also don't let us leave the cafeteria which limits dining because of scheduling or work.

    Dorm Life

    ah, dorm life. i could do without it, to be honest. though our ras do try hard to get us involved. we don't typically have to deal with obnoxious dorm mates or disturbances. idea boards and fun topics are regularly posted in the halls to promote the sharing of opinions. we have a laundry mat on each floor along with a union room and study room complete with tvs, chairs, long tables and white boards.

    Academic Rigor

    i've seen some students that don't necessarily promote hope for the future of our country's intellectual and professional sector. however, i've also had to double-look when faced with a student who comes up with such intelligent and thought-out questions i automatically had respect for them. teachers in the freshmen courses typically just want kids to get by. the upper levels however strongly advocate academics and quality in work and thought.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. always ask questions if you're unsure about something, anything. 2. always plan ahead and take care of business. don't wait till the last minute. 3. make sure you apply for scholarships and financial aid as soon as possible. don't let any option pass you by! 4. cooperation is key; talk to your teachers, the financial aid department, career services and your fellow students! 5. if things get stressful and you're not sure what your next step will be, take a walk and take a breath, go talk to your ra or the counselors provided. they want to help you; it's not just their job but what they chose to do!

    In three sentences

    sul ross is an open and friendly campus that emphasizes the student-teacher relationship, maintaining the degree plan and ensuring that the student is accomplishing their goal. sully staff are friendly and helpful, rather than distant and unknown. there is a community feel here, where faculty and students come together to enjoy education.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    alpine is by far the safest city i have ever lived in. it is rumored that there are 5 law enforcement officers for each citizen in town because of the number of border patrol, state troopers, municipal officers, etc. in our area!

    Great for these types of students

    natural scientists, hikers, outdoorsmen/women, rodeo participants, adventurers, independent spirits

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we are built into a mountain called hancock hill where miles of trails go out like spider webs. see how many treasures you can find in secluded places...and look out for wildlife!

    Bang for the buck

    srsu is one of the most affordable universities in texas and it cannot be beat for the attention every student gets and the setting of the campus.

    What to do for fun

    as i mentioned before, alpine is best for people who love nature and want to learn more about desert life. we have access to one of the best national parks in the country as well as many equally beautiful state parks and natural areas. there are a number of live music and art events in alpine and neighboring marfa, so expect something a little different every time you venture out!

    Food and Dining

    unfortunately i have only heard (and thought) rather negative things about the food service here, mostly because the menus and seating areas are so limited. only one company manages the food and the selection gets pretty repetitive. however, it is run buffet-style so i guess you could try something different every day.

    Dorm Life

    all of my information on the dorms at srsu is obtained from word of mouth since i'm an off-campus grad student, but i can say that the buildings are fairly new (10 or so years old maybe) and much nicer than most dorms at big state schools.

    Academic Rigor

    i can really only speak for the graduate program of the business department, but what i hear from undergrads of all disciplines is that professors expect a lot of them and there don't seem to be very many pushovers. the geology, biology, and animal science departments are notoriously difficult but are known to prepare students for excellent jobs after graduation. for any students considering the business path, i can say that we have a wonderful faculty with much experience under their belts. our curriculum follows economics, marketing, finance, accounting, and management--all of which the professors have obtained professional and academic achievements. as with any major, some courses are more difficult than others but the good news is that forming teams and study groups is so easy here--everyone gets close very quickly!

    Tips for prospective students

    students who plan to attend srsu should plan for a big change if they hail from a large city; but the unique challenges and blessings of small town living make students bond together and enriches the whole experience of being here. so prepare to be without high-end shopping, vast entertainment options, and crowded streets. the second tip for prospective students is to be prepared for a lot of attention from professors. it is not uncommon for them to take the socratic approach, so come to class ready with answers and questions. a final tip for students coming to srsu is to be ready for wildly changing weather--it's quite unpredictable here in the chihuahuan desert! bring some outfits for all types of conditions and be ready to explore the beauty of far west texas.

    In three sentences

    after attending a large state school for my bachelor's degree, i can honestly say that going to a smaller university beats big schools on every level. the best benefit is that sul ross offers a low student-teacher ratio, which means the professors get to know their students well and students have access to instructors almost all the time. another wonderful perk about coming to srsu is that the campus is situated in a small town, which is perfect for outdoor buffs and those who want to get away and study with little distractions.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of extracurricular activities to do.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is a small town college

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining room was nice, but I have not had a chance to eat there. But, they have many dining options for you.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately I have not had a chance to see the dorms. But I have friends who share that they are comfortable, and a safe environment.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor I met, to get a little more insight in my department, was very helpful. She told me what to expect, broke down what credits I need, and even helped me set up my fall semester schedule. I look forward to coming to her for help, and to share with her my college experience. They really care about you. They are really serious about helping you succeed, in whatever you want to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending, good for you. You will be welcomed and accepted by every one on campus. They are all so friendly and helpful. I am excited about this school. The campus does look overwhelming, because you are used to your much smaller high school. But, it does have homey features, and is very inviting. I feel safe on campus, and you will too.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful, open, large. The atmosphere is loving, uplifting, and welcoming. I look forward to attending, because I love the town and love the school.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Finding three desks that are hidden up on the mountain behind our campus.

    What to do for fun

    The greatest thing to do here for fun is to hang out with your friends and go dancing.

    Tips for prospective students

    To look for the fun, not to expect the fun to present itself right in front of them. To always go to the professor if you ever need help. There is always some one there to help you, your never alone.

    In three sentences

    It is affordable. The professors are always willing to help the students. It is a well rounded great university.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's is really close to absolutely no violence on campus or around the small town.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are only athletic teams and basic scholastic clubs and organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Former small town residents who just plan on getting a degree and getting out. As well as socially inactive people who'd rather keep to themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions to tell about.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is really inexpensive, and really, you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, there is nothing to do but maybe intramural sports and watching athletic teams perform.

    Food and Dining

    The food is halfway decent. However, because of lack of faculty and staff, the cafeteria was forced to use plastic dishes and silverware.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are relatively large, but socially, people keep to themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    One basically just has to show up to class in order to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to find a college with more academic as well as athletic rigor.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is more of a school for athletes. In fact, if not for the athletes, this institution wouldn't have enough students to stay open. The town it's in is really small and boring unless you're used to living in such a place.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always patrolling the campus, I think it is very safe here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs! And a very big variety of clubs!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the top of the mountain, there is a desk where every new student signs their name during orientation.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely think that Sul Ross is worth it. It's a university, and you're definitely not paying a university price. It's an affordable university/

    What to do for fun

    Behind the dorms there is a trail to hike the mountain, and there is a couple bars in town, and big bend is just an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    It's not the best food, but it get the job done. There is a very nice salad bar, and you can make paninis and wraps.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not much of a partier, but there is the lobo where people go to have fun. And the dorms are nice! You get your own room, you just share a bathroom and a living room. Favorite part about campus for sure!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't that hard, if you study, and pay attention in class you should pass no problem. The teachers don't let you slide, you have to do your work to get the grade you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Comfy shoes!!! If you live in the dorms, you walk up hill! Comfy shoes is a must!

    In three sentences

    I love it here. The class sizes are small, so if needed you can get one on one help. There is also free tutoring, and the view isn't very bad either.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sul Ross is a safe University well the only thing that one has to what out for is wild javelinas they are vicious little pigs.

    Great for these types of students

    Sul Ross is a great university for those who learn more with hands on experience.

    What to do for fun

    For fun well there isn't much to do in town but there are some things that one can do for fun on campus like going to the school gym and play soccer with friends or go to the campus swimming pool.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad but it could be better because once you eat the same thing for half a semester food starts to get boring.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not bad the rooms are good but I think that the dorm walls should have some color and not just primer.

    Academic Rigor

    In general the clases are not hard if you pay atention in class and take notes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all your classes Take good notes Study Do you homework Ask for help if you need it

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is a great university for those who learn more with hands on rather than just reading books and listening to lectures. The classes are interesting and fun. There are many campus activities that are fun for students like bingo night were you could win a wii or even a ps3.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus...in the three years attended never experience or witness any criminal incidents.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, Self-starter, social and active

    Bang for the buck

    School is very family oriented...do not worry if balancing family and books.

    What to do for fun

    Visit border town Mexico, and mid-town...plenty of shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Eaten at the campus cafe a few times...food is not bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard work, Study and assessments will pay off. I love the interaction in the class and group assignment given by some instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    School is wonderful place for learning...Great faculty. You will enjoy the collaboration between instructor and students.

    In three sentences

    Great School! Great Degree Programs! Awesome Staff! Prior military was able to complete my BS in three years.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Sul Ross because it is a great community.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross State University is a great school. The staff are very helpful and polite.

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus police, very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great art, rodeo, geology clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Geology students, great art department, rodeo students, communications and computer gaming dept.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Museum, the industrial arts dept.

    Bang for the buck

    Great students and awesome small town with friendly residents.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking in Big Bend National Park, swimming at Balmorhea State Park and Sul Ross has a great pool, and enjoying rodeos.

    Food and Dining

    Great food & very affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus but I have ssen the dorms and they are awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Sul Ross offers baseball, football, volleyball, track & field, and rodeo.

    Tips for prospective students

    Affordable, and a very friendly atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Sul Ross is a great University where I feel very comfortable. The professors are very helpful and there is no other university I would transfer to at this time. Sul Ross State offers me the classes I want and I have made the Deans list and I intend to keep making my peers proud.