Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Sullivan County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/24/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you like to be away from alot. Sullivan is in the boondocks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with someone with a car because everything is like 7miles away. Wendy's, Burger King, Mcdonals, Pizza Hut are like a mile away in Liberty. The lake is in walking distance and is great to sit and enjoy. The gas station has good sandwiches for like 5 bucks also in walking distance. If you are going to go home for the weekend, the best time to buy bus tickets os on friday.

  • 07/29/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I'm from the city so i would have to agree that it would be in your best interest to find a friend with a car for transportation.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other schools tuition your getting a great deal.

    Will enjoy being here

    They have a great campus.

  • 12/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    when i visited this school it seemed to me that everyone there enjoyed to be there. the visit really made me excited to attend the school.

    Will learn a lot

    i plan to major in culinary and the culinary program here is fantastic. it got high praise from my guidance counselor and when i visited it seem to hold up to its praise.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security has gotten more serious over the years. They have deputies on duty every night. Is safe but to strict.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are descent they have events every week.

    Great for these types of students

    No most of the students are from the city so nobody stays out door.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isnt much around campus that i know of.

    What to do for fun

    To keep my self active i play basketball when the gym is open. Also i can do home work with out any distractions. And i can go to the studio and work on projects.

    Food and Dining

    The food selection is horrible. Its the same thing every single day. I wish they switch up the menu more make it more healthy. I wish the cafe would stay open longer.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms arent like most universities but they are livable. Keeping the bathrooms clean are the biggest problems in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    They should stay focus and shouldn't relax during free time, study hard.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who enjoy a small environment where their professor will know them by name..... and more!!! Also small classes so you get to know all the students as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Aim for an A on every test. If you're an A student aim for 100. It's not that hard to do well if you are a good student and make sure to study, and do whatever else you have to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Any cost is too much for me to rate it a five. Supposedly it is easy to get financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    Great place to be. Teachers really care about you.

    Am learning a lot

    Good Learning.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't mind not having anything to do. No public transportation and most things are a car ride away.

    Bang for the buck

    An okay price for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    You may go to the gym to play basketball or a sport. There is nothing open until late on campus. It is necessary to have a car to enjoy yourself on this campus.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells at SCCC is slightly disgusting. Nausea, diarrhea, and heartburn are what most students say the food does to them. There are healthy options, but they are few and far between.

    Dorm Life

    The rules in the dorms are too strict. There are no visitors after 12am, and no weekend visitors for the last two months of school. You may not have your friends and family over to visit without signing them in and having them leave their ID with security. No parties, no loud music.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes seem to be a waste of time, many credits don't transfer to other schools. Some professors are also jerks, but I think this happens at all schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must know that academics are your focus. At such a small school, it is easy to get distracted and lose sight of your goals.

    In three sentences

    A small school that is too strict on student activities. The communications and graphic arts programs are wonderful. All else pales in comparison.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a car or you will be very bored

    In three sentences

    Challenging courses with friendly teachers eager to teach in encouraging classrooms.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Price again is fair - and can plan classes fairly close together to save gas

    What to do for fun

    Personally I'm not a typical student I have kids, therefore my fun is a bit different than most. There are bars around and Middletown has decent shopping about 20-30 minutes away

    Food and Dining

    Great options and as healthy as you can get with dorms around

    Dorm Life

    No comment - Don't dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Not so bad - again small classes so teachers get to know students and come to understand personal issues to an extent - possible extra credit etc

    Tips for prospective students

    Get applications and financial aid done early. Lines are horrid the first few days.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan is smaller classes; more attention is provided for each student. The price seems fair. The food is fabulous.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play sport, watch movies and enjoy the weather.

    Food and Dining

    definitely not the best dining ever.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm are not comfortable at all because they lack internet connection and bathroom are often dirty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prsopective student should focus on working hard and achieving a good grade. Just because I said is a good school doesn't mean you don't have to work hard.

    In three sentences

    So far, Suny Sullivan is the best community school.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They just re-did the cafeteria. It now looks like a Panera Bread restaurant, it's calm and nice to go and enjoy a meal between classes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but from what I've heard they are enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes vary, but they supply you with the knowledge you need to know for your future.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful faculty, that truly embellish themselves in their work to entice you in the subject and make it enjoyable. However, the student involvement destroys the hard work from these teachers. I would highly recommend attending, but be sure they you are willing to strive above a more or less lacking drive.

  • 06/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are two cops and a few security guards that patrol the campus day and night, 24/7. They are very friendly and easy to talk to in case something happens or their assistance is needed. I always feel safe on campus knowing that those people are there. Even if they weren't, I feel like the population on campus is rather calm anyway.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs I probably can't even list them all. There is a math club to tutor students, racquetball club, psych club, religious clubs, and artistic clubs, just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for people who want to return to college, change majors, don't have a particular direction, want to pursue a career, and people who are intimidated by large colleges. So pretty, much, it's perfect for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isn't really anything unusual about this school.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great college to get your foot in the door and find out exactly what you want to do. It is the perfect stepping stone from high school to a larger college or university. And because it is in my county, I still stay connected with some of my high school friends. I commute so I save money there, but even if one wanted to live on campus, it is still pretty cheap and you get the same education you would get anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    There is a gym and racquetball court that are frequently used for recreational fun as well as clubs and teams. Racquetball is really fun and it is an easy way to meet new people. You can go to the gym whenever you like and work out. You can also go for walks and jogs around the school property, which is also rather large. There are a lot of clubs and groups that gather frequently and that's a great way to have fun and meet people. The school also has many events that occur on the main field, in the lobby, and other locations that bring a lot of students together. Not even ten minutes away, there are a few fast food chains to eat at, a couple shops and stores, and a drive-in movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a little expensive, but the atmosphere of the cafeteria is really nice. It is recently remodeled and looks fabulous. The quality of the food is really good as well, they have so many options from fast food to healthy food and you can get as much as you want.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in the dorms or res. halls, I commute. However, I have heard about the dorms and they students say that they are a little plain, but they get the job done. They don't need to be extremely fancy and huge because the students spend most of their time on campus anyway.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't too challenging, but I am only taking Liberal Arts classes and obviously that isn't going to be as difficult as a specific major. However, the material is very useful and easy to study, which in turn will help to obtain good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    You don't need to know what you want to do right away! There are so many options and so many people that will help you discover your path. Also, don't buy textbooks before your first day of class because you don't always need them! If you ever have any trouble with anything, speak up and ask someone! Everyone in the college is more than willing to help you with whatever issue you have.

    In three sentences

    This college is very diverse, which enables students to find their own path and become more confident in who they are or who they want to be. Also, the class sizes are not terribly large, which benefits the students by giving them more opportunities to excel with help from the professors. Lastly, the professors are extremely willing to go one-on-one with students to help he or she to truly understand the material, and they are easily reached as well.

  • 06/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    becareful of the friends you take

    Will learn a lot

    about the school very soon when i go for a visit

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is completely safe. Not once have i felt I was not safe.

    Greek Life

    I'm not familiar with the Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are very engaging and exciting to go to.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who want a new beginning. And who also enjoy the scenery of nature.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a writing center and time to time they give out bake goods in order to engage the student.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is affordable and convenient.

    What to do for fun

    There is a ton of things to do. There's the Psychology Club, the Gardening Club, and many more things to do. The campus also has a student union which is like a lounge where you can play the piano and just relax.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and the prices are very reasonable. Also, the dining is neat and clean.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuting student. However, I wish I stayed in the dorms. I have heard nothing but good things about them. For instance their safe and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are excellent. They help you if you ask and are easy to learn from.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say to just stay focused. They are many distractions but just keep your head where it needs to be. Also, its a good idea to get involved it not only looks good on resumes but you learn new people.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Sullivan a 10. Its the perfect for school if your looking for diversity and a new environment. Its also a good school if you don't want a big campus.