Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Sullivan University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The classes itself is worth the money but the dorms is controversial.

    What to do for fun

    Louisville is a lively city that offers bunches to do including parks, downtown, and malls. In the dorms there is the movie room and the dungeon where a game room and a mini sports room is.

    Food and Dining

    The a la Carte cafe in the campus is excellent with a hot bar, salad bar, refrigerated boxed lunches, bakery case, and prepackaged food! On the other side, the dorm cafeteria is a disappointment in comparison but on occasion the food is not bad.

    Dorm Life

    In my opinion, the quality of your dorm life depends on your roommate. If you have one that you do not get along with it is not enjoyable in the least bit and vice versa if you have a roommate that you get along with perfectly. The dorms come with a gym, movie room, and other peps that are nice to have but the best is the free laundry room that comes in handy if you are a culinary student constantly doing laundry.

    Academic Rigor

    Because of the course study being shorter than normal the classes are more fast paced. Some classes can be challenging while others are fairly easy but it depends on your strong points.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look closely into this school and make sure that this is for certain the school for you. Like others, it is difficult to change colleges so choose the best for you.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan University is an exceptional school if one is looking into getting their culinary degree in a short amount of time. The classes are flexible, instructors are helpful, and tuition is do-able. All-in-all, this school is worth looking into!

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The University has a police force on campus and urges students to enroll in the Dean alert.

    Greek Life

    No idea.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot of clubs that are offered

    Great for these types of students

    working adults, high school grads.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of as of right now.

    Bang for the buck

    You get an outstanding education for the price you pay.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join and also many trips to take.

    Food and Dining

    The ala cart cafe is perfect for college students, great food at a great price.

    Dorm Life

    I travel everyday so I cannot make a comment on dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Perfect fit for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't delay, if you have visited the campus and are thinking about attending then just do it.

    In three sentences

    Excellent University for the working adult.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    adults

    Academic Rigor

    varies

    Tips for prospective students

    research information

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For students who need a smaller classroom eviroment. It's more hands on. Professors are more accessible.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are several programs and activities offered for entertainment and student involvement at the school.

    Food and Dining

    this school offers a culinary and baking & pastry program, and the cafeteria personnel who cook the food were trained in the school's program. there is also plenty of room in the cafeteria for seating.

    Dorm Life

    i am not living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the program starts you as if you have no knowledge in your chosen field, and then helps you become distinguished, teaching you all of the things you would need to know to become the best you can in your field.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to possibly pay out of pocket, even if you take out loans and get grants/scholarships. while this institution is costly, the education you'll receive is well worth it in the end.

    In three sentences

    i believe that sullivan university is a university that will be able to offer me the education and training that i need to pursue my goals. in my experience thus far (although i have not yet begun my tutelage), the staff have been knowledgeable, friendly, and spoke with me as if i were an individual, and not just another student number. i would definitely recommend sullivan university to anyone wanting to pursue one or more of the programs they offer.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A+++++

    Great for these types of students

    Non-resident; Louisville is a GREAT city to live, work and play. There is so much to offer. Also, student housing is a huge plus. Their dorms/amenities are off the charts.

    Bang for the buck

    Hmm......who really wants to pay the high cost of tuition. I find that you don't really get what you pay for. But again, it's on par for other local universities.

    What to do for fun

    Go out with friends. Take a breather and get away from studies at least once a week.

    Dorm Life

    Discriminatory - Doesn't have living space for students over 21.

    Academic Rigor

    I have taken both classroom classes as well as online. I find both to be very competitive. But I would have to say that the online classes have more expectations attached to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are getting what you are paying for. GET IT IN WRITING! Just because the employee TELLS you something, doesn't mean it's true..GET IT IN WRITING.

    In three sentences

    Some Instructors act like they are informed and care about your education. The admissions department is sorely lacking. The curriculum is on par with other Universities.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining are good if you like elegant things. It is no McDonalds. It is more fancy(at least the hot line).

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is ok. We have an all you can eat cafeteria. We have a fitness center and yoga room. We have twin and full size beds. It is a beautiful place.

    Academic Rigor

    My previous quarter classes were rigorous because it was a lot of work. It was not necessarily hard, it is just a lot of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for perspective students is score high on your ACT to your best ability to bypass certain classes.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan University is a great school. It is a private school, but it is worth it. You can graduate there with a bachelors degree in certain majors in 3 years instead of four. They have small classes and you are able to talk one on one with professors.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Six flags is located here. On campus there is a video theater and gaming rooms. There are zoos, museums, and parks.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants around the school, cheap and close. School has a good meal plan. Dining hall is diverse.

    Dorm Life

    Pharmacy School dorms are newly built and furnished. Students can have privacy of their own room and bathroom. There are extra student rooms for studying.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is a three year program instead of year. Courses are fast paced. It has an execptional library and up-to-date technology to aid students in academic execelence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and be patient. Follow up after acceptance. Be sure to fill out all neccessary forms by the date required.

    In three sentences

    The city is large and fast paced with lots of traffic. Pharmacy School is conviently located right off Waterson PKWY. Student body is diverse and very professional.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is cooked by the students

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in the dorms

    In three sentences

    the are a good school for culinary and much more.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are multiple safety personal constantly observing the area making sure students safety are main priority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Flag football, basketball, soccer, Volleyball, Tai Chi, Yoga and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Excellent for all types of students, full time workers, head of family.

    Bang for the buck

    Price is little high but you are paying for the services you want to get.

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the many student activities that are available.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent, clean, well maintained, healthy and professional.

    Dorm Life

    NA, living with family

    Academic Rigor

    Small classes, accomplished instructors, friendly and very helpful staff, great location and very respectful environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just like any schools students are expected to show up to class and do the work. Schedule appointment with an adviser to discuss all of your concerns such as financial aid, class schedule that fits your life style. Always make sure to take not take more than 3 classes otherwise with work you will be overwhelmed with amount of school work you will only fall behind.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan University is an excellent institution for students with busy life style. Small size classes students can interact better with teachers. Classes are offered days, nights and online.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are very strict about fighting and etc

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    they have some activities and maybe one or two clubs

    Great for these types of students

    its great for the type of students who really didn't get the chance to have fun back home

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    find a job that's around the way of where you attend school and where you stay at

    What to do for fun

    i hang out with friends and attend parties on the regular sometimes

    Food and Dining

    the food is okay when you first get here then you get tired of eating the same thing over and over again

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is okay they don't allow you to do much.. you have to be quiet at a certain time which i think is very unfair because we are grown and we know how to conduct ourselves

    Academic Rigor

    Try not to get on academic probation, i repeat do not let your grades or grade point average drop

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pick a field for you and nobody else if you attend this college

    In three sentences

    Sullivan is a very private college and they also have small classes so that you can get one on one help

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security personnel on duty 24/7

    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated, career-oriented quick learners

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a lot of wellness fairs and student appreciation events with various activities. There is also a labyrinth behind the school if you want to take a relaxing walk between classes.

    Bang for the buck

    At first, you may think they're pretty pricey, but in reality, the fast-paced degree programs get you into the workforce quicker and allow you to pay off student loans fast. Also, if you apply yourself and take advantage of all the opportunities, you'll get your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    Though Sullivan doesn't offer many extra-curriculars, Louisville has just about anything you would want to do: parks, dining, bowling, ice skating, fitness centers, night clubs, shopping malls, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, have your finances in order (check with the financial planning office), and know what classes you need. Try to take more challenging classes that could contribute to a higher degree in case you decide to continue your education.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan is a very career-based university with a hands-on, fast-paced learning environment. The campus is small, diverse, and in a decent neighborhood of Louisville. Internships are a must - Sullivan will set you up with an internship at some of the most prestigious or well-known companies in Louisville.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sullivan isn't a big University but it does have a couple campus security guards. Better safe than sorry right.

    Greek Life

    Sullivan has a greek life for students that have good grade. So keep your grades up if you want to joi.

    Clubs and Activities

    Culinary club!! :) Culinary student get to be apart of the Incredible Food Show, which is a very important and exciting event. Famous chefs come and everyone has loads of fun. It's a wonderful experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I wouldn't say this tradition is unusual but every year Sullivan University has the incredible food show at the Rupp Arena. I heard it's fun, but I never actually been. I'm thinking about going next year. If your in culinary you can actually interact with the guest chef's that attend.

    Bang for the buck

    Sullivan is a little more pricier than regular University's but it's worth the extra costs.

    What to do for fun

    Sullivan allows their students to take fun trips and Sullivan provides the transportation. Sullivan has after school activities from Zumba to mini parties.

    Food and Dining

    Sullivan does not have a Cafeteria, but they do have a student lounge. The student lounge has a multiple vending machines. The machines vary from coffee to chips. Sometime the Culinary Club cooks food and sales it to the rest of the school and guest for a cheap price.

    Dorm Life

    Sullivan actually has Student Housing Apartments. The Apartments are beautiful, neat, and cheap compared to dorms. There's a Kroger on the next street from the Apartments for students who don't have vehicles like myself. You get a chance to meet wonderful new people, and it's just a wonderful experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Sullivan has creative paths to resolve problems. Students at Sullivan gain knowledge and skills to achieve at high levels, they also gain ways of thinking and doing that prepare them for the real word, work and citizenship.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep a positive attitude, and you'll make it through. Of course it's going to be a challenge, but what's life without a challenge? Don't be afraid to ask for help, that's why the professor's and chefs are there, to help you. If you believe in yourself as much as the staff, you should have it in the bag.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan University is more of a Culinary school, but it offers other great programs. The staff cares about each student, and if you need ANYTHING, they'll help you. I suggest anyone who wants to join a wonderful culinary school to go to Sullivan University.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I believe the quality of the classes at Sullivan is worth the tuition rate especially since the classes are faster than the typical semesters at Community colleges. However, be prepared to pay a lot more than surrounding schools at Sullivan as the tuition is very high.

    What to do for fun

    There are several restaurants and shopping around the Sullivan University Lexington campus for students to enjoy. Sullivan (Lexington) is minutes from the mall as well as the downtown area.

    Food and Dining

    I have no experience with the Food and Dining at Sullivan University since I am an E-learning student. There are several restaurants around the Sullivan University Lexington campus though for students to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience in Dorm life at Sullivan as I am an online E-learning student.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Sullivan are challenging but not overly difficult. I believe the amount of challenges of the classes are great in order to teach the students without overwhelming them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should expect to pay more at Sullivan than at other surrounding schools. The tuition is considerably more at this private school. The quality of the classes are worth the price but you should be prepared to pay.

    In three sentences

    I find Sullivan to be a very informative, professional, and rewarding school. I have been able to use the education gained from classes at Sullivan in my real life management job. Sullivan also offers online classes that are great and offer flexibility for busy adults.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You must have a key card to enter the dorms and security is friendly and very protective.

    Greek Life

    Only PBL (Phi Beta Lambda)

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs for everyone. You can even start your own club with a teacher as a sponser.

    Great for these types of students

    Culinary students will enjoy except there is no kitchen in your dorm room and the only cooking instrument you may have is a microwave.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the popular places to hang out is in the basement Live-and-Play area.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive for what you get, and the Financial aid office could use some work.

    What to do for fun

    Travel the amazing town of Louisville. Also the dorm offers programs such as martial arts, yoga, many clubs, zumba, and so much more!

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food unless one has an allergy to it. Quite expensive though for the plan. Staff is not so friendly.

    Dorm Life

    Expensive to live, maitence is quick to work but there has been problems such as mold in an entire hallway, fights, and if one has a food allergy then you might as well forget eating because they won't work around it. Yet the security is amazing and the advisors are friendly!

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent Teachers!

    Tips for prospective students

    Have quite a bit of scholarships ready and don't think it's an easy experience! It is well worth it though.

    In three sentences

    Excellent teachers, they can help you pass a class with no hassle. The Financial Aid office doesn't seem to know what they are doing, could use A LOT of work. I would recommend this college for anyone financially secure.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    Non existent. There are NO social fraternities (i.e. Hellenic council, Pan Hellenic Council, IFC).

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs at the Lexington campus but they are not the same as the Louisville campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are on the move, have jobs, or students who enjoy a challenge.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    There are various clubs and organizations who offer activities for students. The University also has Student Activities to offer programs at school and with students living in the housing apartments. Lexington also offers a rich city life with plenty of fun.

    Food and Dining

    At Sullivan University (Main Campus), there is a food and dining area, but at the Sullivan University (Lexington Campus) there is no food and dining area.

    Dorm Life

    Sullivan University is not a traditional 4-year school, nor does it offer tradtional lodging. The University has contracted with local apartment owners to rent an apartment which you share with 2-4 other students.

    Academic Rigor

    Sullivan University offers an accelerated educational track for its students. The University is a 12-week quarter-based system with current professionals in your field, teaching your class and giving you real world experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please understand what you wish to major in because this is a For Profit, Private University. If you can, apply for external scholarships and grants. Also, as a first time student, you are eligible for other scholarships not available to continuing students, so attend orientation and New Student Scholarship Day.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed my time at Sullivan University, especially compared to other public and private Universities I have attended in the past. With small class sizes and a seemingly minute teacher-to-student ratio I have enjoyed personalized attention. My overall experience has been a very positive, quick-paced educational pilgrimage.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety officers are always around to ensure a safe campus experience!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are way to many clubs to state here so I'll mention the one I am in, the student activites commitee, we plan and host a majority of the events on and off campus our most recent huge success was the Haunted House done at Gardiner Point fall 2011, we r doing it again this october only bigger and better!

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students! There is even a quiet hall for the more studious and quiet seeking students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the end of every quarter during finals week the cafeteria in the dorms has themed dinners which are always fun and have great turn outs!

    Bang for the buck

    In short it is worth your time and money to have the experiences you will have here at Sullivan, I would definitely come back here again later in life!

    What to do for fun

    There is a pool out back. Plus a movie room to have fun and watch movies on the big screen with your friends. They also have a live and play area downstairs which has 4 tv's and a work out room right beside it! There is also plenty of activities provided by the resident advisors to reassure you never have a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    The food is provided by fellow culinary students so it's obviously very good! They do well balancing nutrition and flavor to give you a good meal every day!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms seem rough at first, but price wise and all they offer you could not ask for a better deal. Especially when most dorms have community bathrooms and showers and here at Sullivan you have your own bathroom, shower and all!

    Academic Rigor

    This school has an excellent academic outlook! The teachers and staff are always prepared to lend a helping hand when needed!

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming to this school have an open mind and heart. Being true to yourself and being passionate about what you do will get you very far in this school! You are here on the next step of your life don't waste it, live it to the fullest and do everything you can to further your career!

    In three sentences

    This school is an amazing experience to have under your belt of life! They really care about your success as a student and a person. This school will help me get ahead in life and if I could give them points out of ten, ten being the highest, they would get a 20!!!!!

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for full-time professionals or those who want to get a degree in less time.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the best deals in town because of the stream-lined approach to learning that eliminates general electives and keeps your education focused on what you are here for. You are definitely getting what you pay for, and not being cheated.

    What to do for fun

    Sullivan is located less than half a mile from the Highlands, which is home to eclectic eateries and shopping, cafes and bars.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is top notch. With Winston's located on-campus, along with the catering company supplying food for school events and the bakery across the street, you will never go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Sullivan University is the best school for working professionals, or for students that want a straight-lined path to getting a degree. There are student activities and organizations to participate in, but there are few on-campus dorms and the campus social life is minimal.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are committed to challenging students but still want them to succeed and pass the class. Hard work usually pays off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you are unsure of what career path or degree you would like to work towards, come and talk to the admissions officers at Sullivan University. They are not just here to walk you through the application process, but they are eager to advice you on the best program for your current interests and career goals.

    In three sentences

    From the time you speak to your admissions officer, you will know that they are truly here to guide you through your experience at Sullivan University. Even the students are eager to talk to new and prospective students about what is happening at Sullivan and why it is such a great opportunity waiting to be acted upon. If you want a school that is small and very student-oriented, Sullivan University is for you.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cameras all around big buff guys watching out for you, and we're like a little family so your never lost.

    Clubs and Activities

    all clubs to join if you can as soon as you can.

    Great for these types of students

    A floor for the no noise level students, a co ed if you want to live with another sex, and there is lots of room.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sharing never really hurts.

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah you mostly get what you have paid for and a little more one on one time with your teachers and small class sizes.

    What to do for fun

    Swim and hang out with friends and sometimes study games.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't had the chances to eat there but what I can tell, they are all eating good!

    Dorm Life

    I love my roommates and I haven't even met them yet, I love the family like room and the size is preferably what you have paid for.

    Academic Rigor

    What I've seen so far so good!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for Mike if you want the best energized tour of campus. Look at Faces you might see them again.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan is the best I've seen and heard about yet. Sullivan offers me the home away from home scene I was looking for. Sullivan has a pool and living quarters to die for.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is the movie and game rooms. You can watch movies, throw parties. There is a pool, ping-pong and air hockey tables.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. There are many different selections depending on every one's different food preferences.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are very comfortable, and contain laundry room, cafeteria, game room, movie room, gym, and a convenient store with anything you may need.

    Academic Rigor

    The work can get stressful at times, but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you go to class, and show that you are willing to participate, the teachers are very understanding with any problems you may have.

    In three sentences

    You start your education with classes that are program specific. The teachers really do care about the education. They prepare you for work in the real world, and even help you find a job.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For students like myself, who has been taking online classes and would like to take classes as well on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sullivan is located within a few miles of down town Lexington. It is easy to get to and has many areas of interests within a few miles from campus

    Bang for the buck

    I had a wonderful experience my first time there. I believe that everyone in the academics department was very knowledgeable as well as willing to listen to what my needs are and how to help me make the right choices for my career

    What to do for fun

    I like to help others. Camp, hike do anything that has to do with crafts, swimming and just sitting out in the yard watching nature.

    Food and Dining

    There are many local restaurants near by as well as a students lounge where food can be purchased.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living on campus however I have heard that the dorms and facilities attached are awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics department was a wondeful help in finding what fits my educational needs. The programs are easy to follow and the staff are there for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact the school, set up a time to visit and speak with the advisers there. They are very helpful. The have programs in culinary, paralegal classes and much much more.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan University in Lexington KY offers a wonderful human resource program. The staff there are very friendly and helpful. The college has just the right professor/student ratio for my type of learning.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    well worth it

    What to do for fun

    Go to class!

    Food and Dining

    great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your financial planner well.

    In three sentences

    It is a caring Univeristy. It is a fine Facility. I feel accepted here!

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Culinary Students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bakery across the street is very good.

    Bang for the buck

    Not worth it. For that much you can go to a much better school.

    What to do for fun

    Volunteer for all the cooking activities that you can.

    Food and Dining

    Eat in class, if your a cooking student. If not the food for regular students is not very good.

    Dorm Life

    A lot of repairs needed to be done they were new dorms and covered in mold and breaking down

    Academic Rigor

    easy. boring. pointless. only classes worth while were the cooking ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    Finish out if your already there. Transferring is next to impossible.

    In three sentences

    Not a bad school, however not worth the money. Only way to get your transcripts, if you don't finish, is to pay off the total amount. Interesting cooking classes a lot of other pointless classes.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food on school campus are satisfied.

    Dorm Life

    Not living in school dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Professional Pharmacy Technician

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    must have a car, but downtown is pretty great

    Food and Dining

    great vegetarian options

    Tips for prospective students

    ALWAYS GO TO PLUS FRIDAYS!

    In three sentences

    Sullivan University is one of the best, fast paced colleges out there. with their quick start programs, there isnt wasted time in classes that dont cater to your major. also, their in house living is quite nice.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is paramount.

    Great for these types of students

    Those that like computers, culinary arts, nursing programs, IT academy, Center for Hospitality studies, Chefs...you name it.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said, expensive, but the money is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Movie Theaters, The Mall, Kentucky Horse park, Buster's, and the downtown area is historic and pretty cool. Oh yeah the Wildcats of course!

    Food and Dining

    Lexington is filled with places to get good meals.

    Dorm Life

    Live on my own, but the dorms seem decent.

    Academic Rigor

    Will find out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead. It's expensive but worth it.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan University to me is one of the best places to expand your education. They work with you to ensure you get the classes you need and the experience to further chances at a better life.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sullivan University Public Safety is dedicated to maintaining a safe and secure learning environment while providing excellent service to the campus community. Our officers respond to a variety of emergency situations, document violations of school policy and law, and they enforce parking regulations. Public Safety Staff are available to escort you to your vehicle, jump start your car or unlock it as requested, and individual safety as needed.

    Greek Life

    I'm not sure we have this but yes, Greek houses are often a place for big-time partying on campuses that have at least moderately sized systems. That's where a lot of the drinking takes place, where bands play, and where pre- and post-game parties happen. However, most Greek organizations also contribute to college life in other ways. They host academic speakers, provide educational and counseling services, engage in an enormous amount of community service, raise money for local and national causes, and enroll many campus leaders and athletes as members.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many Activities you can do in these schools. They have things such as baseball games, cruises, and many fundraisers. Its good to get into as much as you can but don't overwhelm yourself. Your resume will be beautiful the more you do.

    Great for these types of students

    I'm not for sure what this is actually asking but what I think is great for students that go here is to get out every once in a while and have fun so that your not overwhelmed with school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual traditions we have at the campus I would have to say would be going into each room when no teachers are there and writing an inspirational quote for the day. we also like moving the skeletons over the desks to look like there doing work. Locations Taco Bell! (for lunch of course).

    Bang for the buck

    I have attended Spencerian College for about a year now, I am currently running for student ambassador. I want students to have a stress free great college to go to. something they will have a passion for and have fun while doing it.

    What to do for fun

    There is many things you can do inside and outside the dorms. Inside we host many different events dealing with crafts, movies, balloon fights, best dorm rooms, dorm door decorations. And if you have any ideas they will try and do it. Outside the dorms is the water front and the malls are not to far, down town Louisville and Bardstown road.

    Food and Dining

    Sullivan has a Cafe on the main floor, they have many options for food and snacks. everything is made by the students living or going to school here. Its a great spot to study and hang out with friends while enjoying some good food cooked by our wonderful staff.

    Dorm Life

    I myself live in the dorms and have for about a year now. The dorms are beautiful and maintenance is kept up all year round. They always try to have fun events going such as movies, crafts, pool parties, water balloon fights and much more. They also try to enforce some rules for safety, learning, and study abilities. The rooms are pretty big and each room has a bathroom to itself. They are a great place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor can be defined as the set of standards set for students and the expectations for students and staff. This school has high standards and expectations, the reason for this to ensure students succeed in and out of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you join Sullivan or Spencerian College my best advice for you would have to be, Study, study, study. Note cards are your very best friend. Get phone numbers of classmates so if you miss a day you don't miss a lot of information, or if you just have questions don't be afraid to ask.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan University owns Spencerian College which is where I attend at a LMR student. This school is well organized and a good place to get your education. They have many programs and they help you through school and even finding a job after you graduate.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good.

    Dorm Life

    Do not stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I love my academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus, stay top of classwork and homework

    In three sentences

    It is a good school. I like the teachers there. I also like the tutoring center.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is awesome here.

    Greek Life

    No greek life :(

    Clubs and Activities

    Christian fellowship

    Bang for the buck

    Sullivan is a academic school. Its all about it's business. Sullivan expects a student to come and learn then graduate! and that really motivates me.

    What to do for fun

    Swimming, play air hockey, attend programs.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't so great. Sullivan University's food is great, but the dormitory food is awful. Tip: eat at the school, not the dorm!

    Tips for prospective students

    Sullivan is a small school, its better to attend a small school because there is smaller classes. Which means more help!

    In three sentences

    Sullivan University is a great college. It has made me mature in so many ways, in which my family has noticed. I am glad I picked Sullivan as my choice of attendance.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    serious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    close to farmington.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay in school.

    In three sentences

    its great! you learn alot. i know ill be ready when i graduate.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great

    Academic Rigor

    Ok classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Read all paperwork, regarding financial aid & loans.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan University is a good school. There are many helpful staff member that have helped me throughout my Bachelors and Masters programs. The online classes are the best for non traditional students

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 32 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several activities after school and between classes! The free ice cream socials are my favorite!

    Academic Rigor

    I've really learned a lot while going here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be outgoing and cheerful! It's what gets you out there!

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing! The teachers really care about you and they never give up. They provide a fun learning environment!

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    study study study

    In three sentences

    Every Employee and Professor are willing to help no matter what one on one help whenever you need it opptional fridays are great when you need to catch up or need help understanding something.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its a great tuttion rate well worth your money.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and events to attend. I am joining the 5 k race coming up.

    Food and Dining

    Only vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in a dorm but i have heard its very nice and clean,

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourge you to speak with someone as sson as you know you would like to enroll, learn about all the degrees offered and classes. take advantage of the tutoring and fridays.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan university is a very well rounded university. I love all my teachers for allowing students to be tutored beyond their classroom time. Many courses are available to fit with your homelife. In return allowing you to work and pursue your degree.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hung out with other students in the cafe and outside of school. At the start of every quarter the school provides different activities for the new and current students like free ice cream.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for a tough but very fun time in the kitchen. You will learn a lot of new techniques that most people do not know. Finals may be tough and stressful but you will learn so much from these times.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan has been such a great experience thus far. I recently graduated with my Associate's in Culinary Arts and it was so much fun. I will never forget this experience and all of the great chefs that helped me during my time here.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Sullivan has various clubs and organizations, throughout the quarter there are various activities you can participate in. These events are organized by students and faculty to meet the needs of everyone.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, Sullivan host a talent show every quarter for students to display their talents and interests. The city of Louisville, has many attractions and events you may participate in, if you wish.

    Food and Dining

    The food here at Sullivan is delicious. It is prepared by our culinary arts instructors and culinary arts students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here at Sullivan is beautiful. The rooms are nice and spacious, depending on how you decorate them. Resources are unlimited, they are always finding new ways to improve the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Sullivan's main focus is success for all students, whether its academically, mentally, or emotionally. Sullivan wants to prepare you for the future. They want to ensure that you are successful in the business world and your social life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students prepare now so that college life is easy fro you. Practice working hard and giving your all because once you are in college it is expected from you. Push yourself to new and higher goals weekly or monthly, however you feel you should, and don't wait until the last minute to get important things done.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 61

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am about to start attending Sullivan University. They have been the best school to work with financially and try so hard to make you feel at home. It is a hands on school that I can't wait to get into.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with my friends on the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    Really good food and different varities

    Dorm Life

    Don't stay at the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, Stay focus, ask for help

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very helpful. I like the school. I like the small classes.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around and makes sure that everyone is safe in and outside of the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many actives are offered to students outside of the usual school schedule.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual traditions would be how close everyone is to each other. It is like a little school family.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the most education required without taking all the fluff classes of a traditional university.

    What to do for fun

    I actually go to the tutoring center during the spare time I have and get help and I also look for activities the campus will be having come up.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary students prepare the food for the cafe and allow other students to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is close to campus and the rooms are with comfy settings.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are there for help and want to make sure you get all you need out of the class period.

    Tips for prospective students

    Admissions officers love to work closely with and make sure you know everything you need to after you get done speaking. They also love to answer any questions you have regarding your schooling process.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan seems like a great school people are friendly and love to help as long as you ask. The class sizes are small so the professor knows you by name. Also there is never a person who is rude and does not want to offer help to you.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't heard of any issues, but the parking lot is hard to maneuver through if it's full. And it's always full. Parking here is atrocious.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    meh. mostly the clubs have little enthusiasm and little participation from the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    18-20 yr olds love the culinary program. They also have the patience for putting up with all of Sullivan's issues. As an adult learner going back to school after 20 years, I don't feel I'm getting my money's worth at all, due to all the hassle they have put me through

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not any that I know of. I do know that they do not have any comfortable place for students to lounge. It would be nice for those days when I have both day and night classes, to go someplace comfortable and watch tv or nap, but there's no place on campus, trust me I've looked everywhere.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few clubs on campus, but no sororities or fraternities. As a private college where most adult students commute you wouldn't expect a Greek life anyway. Sullivan is not a party school.

    Food and Dining

    For a culinary school you'd think the food would be better quality. I got a piece of fried chicken yesterday that was bloody inside. The pizza is almost always burnt and the chefs make some pretty weird combinations sometimes. It's also really pricey.

    Dorm Life

    I commute but from what I hear from the other students the dorms are ok. I used to go there to work out in their gym but I have never seen a room. They are in a renovated Holiday Inn, so expect a hotel type of room. They have a pretty lobby, a cafeteria, a store for little necessities, a gym (the equipment there is sub-par though IMO), the laundry facilities are decent, and a small game room. They may have more that I don't know about.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are challenging, I hope you don't plan on working and going to school because they will take up all your time with coursework. I get mostly A's but it's not without sacrifice. This quarter alone I had 36 papers to write, most of them 5-7 pages each. The quarters are 10 weeks long, then one week of final exams, so 11 weeks total.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to fight for your degree because in addition to all the coursework you have, you constantly have to be going down to Financial Aid or Enrollment to work out some made up issue they have. Also, they don't offer every class every quarter, so make sure you plan with an advisor so you don't get down to your last quarter and they don't have the classes you need. Luckily I did some planning, but I still got down to my last quarter and ended up having to take two of my classes at night because they weren't offered during the day. It seems this school does everything they can so you DON'T graduate on time, so they can keep you there for the $$

    In three sentences

    There is always something stressful at Sullivan, whether you have to fight with Enrollment Services, Financial Aid, or Registration, they are constantly coming up with new issues. Be prepared to write a LOT of papers. Instructors are mostly pretty good, there's a couple who act like they really hate being there.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good

    Clubs and Activities

    great but i don't use it

    Great for these types of students

    Cullinary students

    Bang for the buck

    espensive but you get your money's worth

    What to do for fun

    movies, dancing, sport

    Food and Dining

    great food, Sullivan is a cullinary school.

    Dorm Life

    I don't use this .

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is that i alwasy expected from a private school.

    Tips for prospective students

    The more you study the better the results will be. Don't wait for the classes to complete without efforts. Always work hard to obtaing the best grades.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan University is the best college in Louisville, KY. I have been enrolled since 2010 for the ASIT program and everything in the school has help me to achieve my goals. I definetly encourage others to apply for a career that is learned in this school.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The non-traditional adult student that may need online courses or night/weekend classes as well as the traditional student.

    Tips for prospective students

    It will require a little leg work on your part but stick with it....it will be worth it in the end! Fill out your Student Aid as early as possible and apply for as many scholarships as you can.

    In three sentences

    I would give them a 9 out of 10 for the admissions process.They have bent over backwards to help get me started.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This college is slightly expensive but the title on your diploma is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    This is located in the city of louisville we have the louisville zoo, chruchill downs, muhamad ali center. We also have the louisville slugger mesum, river bats AA baseball team, and the brand new YUM center. Needless to say there is plenty to do in the city of louisvillle.

    Food and Dining

    This is a culinary arts school at heart and they have great food all avaible for purchase through your meal plan. On campus there is a bakery with tons of pastries and breads that are iopen to the public and to students. they also have a 3.5 out of 4 star resturant on campus which brings in alot of people and not to mention is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very nice and take students suggestions and make compromises with them all of the time. They are off campus and have a great cafeteria with amazing leaders. They are very reasonable with their rules and allow students to express themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has top chefs and great facilities for attending students. Every day the students get a classroom lesson and a lab lesson to get a written and a hands on experience every day.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great university to attend especially if you are thinking about joining the Culinary Arts program. The website is good but the tour of the campus is much more revealing.

    In three sentences

    A strong University that is preparing it's students to become pioneers in the industry. Sullivan University's culinary program is in the top of the nation an has top of the line facilities. As a student at this university you will leave school everyday satisfied and fulfilled.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Mock Trial

    What to do for fun

    Study and work and ride my motorcycle

    Food and Dining

    We don't have a cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep this school in mind

    In three sentences

    Best college education

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun you can rent a movie room and watch movies or play games. there a quite a few activities that are hung around the building for those who are interested

    Food and Dining

    there is always breakfast lunch and dinner. there is also the option of making deli or something from the grill.

    Dorm Life

    It is pretty social. it is a small place so you kind of meet everyone and know everyone. it is safe and has a gym, free laundry, pool area, and wreck room to hang out in.

    Academic Rigor

    The school means business. Don't expect to not show up without a type of punishment. Grading scale is that of a high school

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with a mind set to work in a lab for 2 hours. It's a professional place for students.

    In three sentences

    Very hands on. Great dorm atmosphere. Slow paced for a better learning experience.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel like the campus security is something you can depend upon. They go through the rows of lockers every night to make sure that your lock is secure. And when it's not, if your VERY expensive knife kit is in there (able to be stolen) they are kind enough to hold it in the office for you. And should there ever be a need to have them talk to someone about their peculiar behaviour, they are right on the job.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, in culinary, your buck definitely bangs. One has to shel out more, or scrounge for more scholarships, in the culinary department, but when you look at all the food you make, i personally find it worth it. You also have to think about the people that are teaching you. These are people who have been in the industry for years now. You can consider them masters amongst their trades.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't games in the student lounge unfortunately, but there are definitely events. The school hosts events for all the various holidays. And i know this isn't really what to do for fun, but i love the fact that i have one teacher that would always teach the class outside when it was beautiful and sunny.

    Food and Dining

    I'm a culinary major, so of course I'm gonna say i love the food and dining! And the food we make isn't just for us, ya know? If you get to the door when we're setting the table, anyone is welcome to join us. There is also a student lounge downstairs where there are plenty of tables and vending machines. But really... who wants vending machine food when you can smell the fillet de sole coming from upstairs?

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't know about the dorm life. I have my own apartment off campus. But i do know that they have an efficient shuttle system in place for getting to and from the housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic challenge at this school is definitely to par. I recommend taking only the electives you know you will be interested in though. Doesn't matter if the class is easy or difficult. If you do have the attention span for the material, its not sinking in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sullivan has it's own scholarship test that one can take during your enrollment. I personally got $1,500 scholarship out of that easy little test. Never let any scholarship escape your grasp.

    In three sentences

    The staff at Sullivan University are always very kind. The financial planning office has always helped me to make my scholarships and loans make sense for the up coming quarters. I don't think it would have made sense for me to go anywhere else.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I know Sullivan University is one of the safest campus there is

    Greek Life

    I have never experienced but that is the one thing that I regret that I can not do because I am going to college online

    Clubs and Activities

    I would join as many clubs and activities that a student can to experience the college life.

    Great for these types of students

    Online school is the best way to obtain a degree when your life is filled with many things like work, personal and the everyday things of life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have none to offer

    Bang for the buck

    Sullivan University is one of the greatest colleges that I have ever been to and I love everything about the college and the things that Sullivan University has to offer me.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my family online classes are harder then campus so I'm always studying and trying to maintain my G.P.A.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus

    Dorm Life

    I go to school online so I do not have to deal with the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Sullivan is the best school and right now I have a 3.9 but I am determined to graduate with a 4.0

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advise that I can give prospective students is know what type of college they are looking for It they want a college that cares, and the professor are helpful and want to see them succeed then they should go to Sullivan. This is the best college that I have ever been to.

    In three sentences

    I love attending Sullivan University, the professors are excellent and they are friendly, encouraging, and motivates you to want to achieve your degree.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can do a lot of stuff at Sullivan. You have a swimming pool in your dorm building and you have an ice skating rink by your school. There's a movie room and an arcade room. There's just a lot to do there.

    Food and Dining

    Food is amazing and so is the dining

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful and everyone is very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the classes are wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love small classes,sharing rooms and being in a co-ed dorm Sullivan is a great school to go to.

    In three sentences

    I think Sullivan University is amazing and such an a beautiful school. I love everything there.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is ever present.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of activities, cookouts and more.

    Great for these types of students

    I am a non-traditional student (41 years young) and recommend any adult wanting a real-life education to come here.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school but you definitely get a good education.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities for students. I like the geeky computer stuff.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food served and prepared by our culinary students.

    Dorm Life

    I am not a part of the dorm life on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the IT program and have been very impressed with the professors and their ability to answer real life questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn - you get what you put into the program.

    In three sentences

    Very professional atmosphere with motivated professors which make learning exciting.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    real safe cameras on ever floor

    Greek Life

    don't have one

    Clubs and Activities

    all students

    Great for these types of students

    this is great for all students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    its next to the KFC mansion

    Bang for the buck

    this school is great for students that are willing to take that extra step in life to further their education to the next level. this school has small class for the students can ask more questions and are able to get more time with their teachers after class or even during class. which I think is a very good thing with students now and days for they can keep up with their grades. As well as having Wednesdays as a professional day.

    What to do for fun

    there is a lot to do for fun, you can go swimming , there's a movie room, your not ot far from town, and the people there are cool and friendly.

    Food and Dining

    I love how they have the food set up , they have all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm is amazing, I think the students will really fill like home.

    Academic Rigor

    I think its very good

    Tips for prospective students

    to prepare yourself for some good one-on-one action.

    In three sentences

    i think Sullivan is a great school for kids who don't want a big campus and what small class. With lots of one-on-one teaching. I think it is a wonderful school

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    51 of 61

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The people at Sullivan are very welcoming and friendly. The campus is very nice and is very pretty. The class sizes are nice, not to small and not to big.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe we have our own public safety department, and the dorms has a security guard posted all hours of the night.

    Greek Life

    There aren't any frats or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities offered on campus and at the residence hall. We have many intramural sports campaigns and stuff.

    What to do for fun

    Being located in Louisville there is a lot to do for fun and you are never bored. The city offers lots of free things to do so you don't have to spend your money to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the dorms is iffy, but at main campus the food is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently a Resident Adviser at the Residence hall here and I love it. This job is very rewarding and the residence hall is a great place to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is academically great, you need to work hard and try your best to do well here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with your head held high and ready to learn. If you come in expecting to fly through and not be prepared to work then it won't help.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan University is a great school in pursuing your desired career choice. They have many degrees available, and are always willing to help. Culinary Arts was my degree choice, and i love it here I can't wait to see what the future holds.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am a night student. Parking lot is very lighted and has security on site.

    Greek Life

    I am not Greek. Just being humorous because I am not sure what that means.

    Clubs and Activities

    Again, I will say very much to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Self sufficient, high achievers and those who are willing to put in the work should apply here. There is great opportunity to be great here. Also, it is good for parents who work full time jobs and busy lifestyles. They are flexible.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Haven't seen anything unusual enough to speak about. Perhaps I am unusual myself, so it seems normal.

    Bang for the buck

    If you can afford it, you will get your monies worth. Sullivan is not cheap. If you are low income get as much financial aid as possible. This school is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a week that goes by that I don't receive an email about some event going for fun with the school. If I listed them all the page would be too long. It goes above and beyond.

    Food and Dining

    This goes without saying, hello it's Sullivan University. The one I am attending's biggest program is the Culinary Department. Every lunch, every dinner is specially prepared by the students themselves. You have many choices to choose from and always a salad bar. I have never eaten so well.

    Dorm Life

    No ranking. I live at home

    Academic Rigor

    Most of your classes this is very high. Not only are you reading the subject, writing on it, but you are practicing it as well. Just as with any school, who your teacher is can make a world of difference. So far I have learned and retained a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Sullivan staff are very friendly and eager to get you in. Once you are in, however, you are on your own. My advice is to ask fellow students and utilized your academic advisor. Don't try to get at this all on your own.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan University is great and convenient for people with kids and work to contend with as well. The weeks are short but learning is strong if you apply yourself. The classes are smaller so you get more one on one with teacher.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Exploring the city

    Tips for prospective students

    Furthering you education is a great first step to success.

    In three sentences

    Sullivan has a great learning environment. Small class sizes so you get what you need out of your classes. You get great classroom interaction.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    55 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    always fresh.

    Dorm Life

    there dorms are wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    they have excellent academics

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the campus

    In three sentences

    I have been to Sullivan university I think its an excellent school! the classes aren't enormous the teachers know who you are. everyone is very friendly and welcoming.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of school clubs to choose from and many activities in the dorms from what I know of.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten at the dorms and the food is prepared in front of you by some of the culinary students and is positively to die for. The school lounges are perfect for catching up with friends and enjoying your meals between classes.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live in the dorms for this school, but I have seen them and they are wonderful. Very home-y and community oriented.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are easy going if you are willing to put the effort into the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like smaller universities, this is one is perfect. Hands-on training is all the time and it is super engaging.

    In three sentences

    I am in love with my program here and the atmosphere as well. The faculty and staff are superb and always willing to help with anything. The small class sizes allow me to gain more experience and hands-on training with my professors.

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a campus security guard on the grounds which makes me feel safe in the environment.

    Greek Life

    This is not applicable to my review.

    Clubs and Activities

    None that I am affiliated with.

    Great for these types of students

    None.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though it is a little pricey, you are definitely getting what you pay for. You will have the recognition of being a Sullivan graduate, which holds prestige with many future employers, there are several opportunities to get assistance (and not just a hand out) with your financial needs such as scholarships, grants and student loans. It has been the best decision of my life to attend Sullivan University.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many fun sports, activities, debates, teams....if you're interested in a certain thing, more than likely, Sullivan has it!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a great place to meet other students with the same (and different) goals as yours. The food is great, has an awesome selection. As part of the Culinary Arts program, the student is awarded a food voucher card for the cafeteria area. NICE perk!!

    Dorm Life

    I live with my parents off campus. I have been to several friends' dorm areas and they are nice and safe places to live! There are apartments available around the school area(s) and are monitored regularly.

    Academic Rigor

    It is time consuming and sometimes stressful but they are definitely preparing the students for an awesome future in their careers! I enjoy the hands on training in the classroom and friendship with the other students. If you do your work when you are required and not procrastinate, you will definitely succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be prepared and on time! Make sure you have your financial aid information worked out, a decisive career choice so that you don't waste yours or the professors' time and be focused!

    In three sentences

    This has been an amazing school to attend with all of the diversity, classes and different scholarship opportunities! The financial aid staff are very knowledgeable and will assist you in any way they can to help you pay for school. I am looking forward to the next school year and meeting many more of the awesome chefs and professors that Sullivan has to offer!

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always security around so you always feel safe. Sullivan is more of a laid back school where you don't really see much bad happening. If something does happen, public safety comes to the rescue.

    Greek Life

    There is only one or two Greek sorority/fraternity here. Other than that, there's no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sullivan has a lot of activities, including Glee Club, Veteran's Association, and the newest one, Film Club. These clubs sponsor different activities and are good to connect with other students.

    Great for these types of students

    This place is great for students who like hands-on learning and flexibility in their schedules. Classes can be taken during the day, on weekends, and online. Students get a lot of experience and are using their knowledge in the kitchens every single day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the beginning of every quarter, there' always an ice cream social that gets put on at main campus and the residence hall. It's great because even if you aren't living in the dorms, you still get really good ice cream.

    Bang for the buck

    Sullivan is very expensive and there always seems to be a bill that needs to be paid. However, it's a great learning experience and you get to work with a lot of exotic foods and spices. Adding in the benefits of the dorm, it pays off eventually.

    What to do for fun

    Hall Council and the resident advisors always have something planned for students, whether it be game night, football, or movie nights. There are also fitness classes, like tai chi and zumba. Also, you're not too far from Bardstown where you can find everything from restaurants to parks to stores.

    Food and Dining

    For a culinary school, the food at the residence hall isn't the best, but the food on main campus is usually amazing. You definitely won't starve here. There's always food, especially from the baking and pastry students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm, or residence hall, is great with the amount of space each student is given and the fact you get your own shower is amazing. The laundry facilities are free and so is the gym and pool area. It's basically everything you need to live comfortably in college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics aren't the most important part here; it's getting the hands-on experience you need to be successful elsewhere. You're not going to leave here and think, What am I going to do with this degree? If you come here, you will learn the skills you need for your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    To lower tuition costs, see if you can live somewhere besides the dorms. Always attend Plus Fridays to practice your culinary skills. Have fun and take chances with everything you do.

    In three sentences

    The best part about Sullivan University as a culinary student is the chefs. They know what they're doing and are willing to help students as much as they can. That being said, the administration here leaves a lot to be desired and the tuition is outrageously high.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel 100% safe attending this college. Secuirty guards are walking around the entire time and the parking lot is small and lit up.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for hands on learners!!

    Bang for the buck

    I am in my first quarter and so far this school is worth every penny. I have learned a lot in the little time I have been here already. It is worth the money to pay someone who will work with you until you fully understand a subject or what you are doing.

    What to do for fun

    I love going to sporting events, spending time with my animals, and hanging out with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    No restaurants, just vending machines. Sometimes teachers will make stuff and sell in the breakrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The material isn't too hard but you get a lot of work. This school is quartly based so they cram a lot of information in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to do before attending. The school tuition is high so going to study something your unsure of is not recommended.

    In three sentences

    Very personal one on one basis school. The teachers care that you learn the material. Very organized teachers and excellent equipment.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking makes it a lot safer. Don't have to go between buildings.

    Greek Life

    There is a business club.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all sorts. Depends on your major.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like a small campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing

    Bang for the buck

    It cost a lot to attend here. It is a private school

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do in Lexington.

    Food and Dining

    Lexington campus don't have dining.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easy, others not so much. Challenge your self in the classes. You will get more out of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up, don't wait til the last minute. It may seem easy the first couple weeks, but it gets harder. If you need help, ask.

    In three sentences

    Good starter school. Instructors are there to help. All faculty are there to see you succeed.

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All student and staff are required to wear student ID's from a lanyard while on campus. Also security always has the parking lots and walk areas clear of snow and ice.

    Greek Life

    no clue?not sure about this. Know nothing of this.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm Vice President of PHI BETA LAMDA. We do accept new enrollments. Also sighn ups are once a year.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for traditional and non-traditional students. This University is focused on studies rather than sports and will work with you to help your job search. Any and all students can be a success here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    After every quarter my friends and I go out to eat to celebrate. We have two elevators for those who are disabled. Personally I just don't care for steps.

    Bang for the buck

    I always apply myself to my studies and thus have a 4.0. I am on the deans list. Also I am Vice President of (PBL) Future Business Leaders of America.

    What to do for fun

    I read often. I also take my children to various activities.Spend time with friends when I have the time.

    Food and Dining

    The lounge has several options to choose from including healthy foods. They also have many restraunts in the area. The also have free food in the lounge or school frequently.

    Dorm Life

    not in dorm. But friends that are say it is safe and nice. They also have a bus to transfer to student to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The study load is not to bad. Just pace yourself and be willing to apply yourself. They offer a tutoring center on Fridays.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn and ask help if needed because they will help you. They are committed to their students. The staff is also incredibly friendly.

    In three sentences

    I find it to be a great school with many experienced teachers in the my field of study. They are great at explaining things and working with students who need extra help. They are encouraging and upfront about the business field and what to expect.