Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Surry Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Surry Community is great for students who are not sure what degree they are going for and for those who have decided, but do not wish to being in a 4-year school.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I have for any students coming to Surry Community is to search a few other places for your books. You can find exactly what you need at other bookstores and even on eBay occasionally.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and fees are a fair price for the courses being received. While the books are not the best price they are far cheaper than you would find at a 4-year college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since I live near the college I love that I don't have to drive far to get there. The campus is fairly easy to navigate and the classes are easy to locate. The campus is perfect for those who want to be in a small class and have one-on-one time with the instructor without the fear of falling behind.

    Am learning a lot

    My chosen degree is Criminal Justice Technology and I have to say that my instructor is one of the best that I have ever had. She makes the classes interesting and entertaining while making sure we are able to retain the information needed.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NA to me

    Greek Life

    NA to me

    Clubs and Activities

    NA to me

    Great for these types of students

    Adult, non-traditional students who wish to transfer to four-year undergraduate programs. SCC partners with many of our leading four-year institutions in North Carolina and credits are easily transferable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NA to me

    Bang for the buck

    I am a non-traditional adult learner enrolled in online/distance education programs. However, the online/distance education programs should not be taken lightly. These are college level classes with excellent, experienced instructors. My classes thus far have served me well, and I look forward to completing degree programs in both business administration and accounting.

    What to do for fun

    NA to me

    Food and Dining

    NA to me

    Dorm Life

    this is a two-year community college that does not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The business administration and accounting curriculums are rigorous, even the online classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find your advisor early and stay in contact throughout your enrollment. You will benefit from their advice and guidance. Advisors are assigned in each field of study.

    In three sentences

    Surry Community College has wonderful business administration and accounting departments and excellent instructors in their faculty. They offer online classes for both degree programs. The distance education instructors are dedicated professionals who are devoted to student success.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SCC is a very safe campus and located in a safe town. SCC is located in a very small town called Dobson, NC. Not much goes on around their so you really don't have anything to worry about. And the campus security is constantly driving around the campus.

    Greek Life

    Surry has no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Activity at SCC include Volleyball, Softball, Baseball, golf, and even Corn hole. SCC also has many clubs that other major universities have.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a Science or math major SCC is the perfect school for you! SCC is known mostly for their science and math department. All the teachers are very well educated in their area and do a great job of teaching the material. Most of the students that come out of SCC go on to be engineers, math teachers, physicists, nurses, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual goes on at SCC. Pretty basic.

    Bang for the buck

    Although tuition keeps rising everywhere, for the degree, classes, etc it's a great school! I definitely got all my moneys worth and more!

    What to do for fun

    SCC isn't what you would call a college town. There are no clubs, bars, big restaurants, or anything like that. The most excitement you might have is at a volleyball game or baseball game.

    Food and Dining

    The Knights Grill is amazing! They can make anything you want! The prices can be a little on the higher side but the food is great! The have chicken tenders, fries, BBQ, corn dogs, mac and cheese, and much much more!

    Dorm Life

    SCC has no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    SCC teachers are very passionate about teaching but, they are hard! They are always more than willing to help with anything you need. I have heard horror stories about how strict some of the teachers are but, when you leave that class (or if you leave) you know stuff. Many of the transfer students at SCC who go off to universities say that their professors approach them and tell them that students who come from SCC are often more organized, show better form with problems, and say that all around they are better prepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Get to school early. Parking is horrible at SCC and if you don't give yourself enough time to find a parking spot then you will be late. 2. Sign up for classes ASAP! As with all schools right now budget cuts lead to class cuts. If you don't sign up the second you get the chance more than likely you're not going to get the classes you need. 3. If you get Financial Aid, you're good to go. SCC gives plenty Financial Aid and often times you receive a refund check.

    In three sentences

    SCC is an excellent school! All the teachers are very passionate about teaching, very tough, and encourage you to visit them with questions about the course. The campus is beautiful.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a small gym, tennis courts and plenty of opportunities to be in a club.

    Food and Dining

    They have very good food, you have the choice of healthy, or comforting food.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    It's very challenging but then again, if you need any help, it's there for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, apply, apply!!!!

    In three sentences

    All of the staff is very friendly and takes the time to answer any of my questions. The campus is well laid out, so you don't get to lost. The college isn't to big so you feel welcome and at home.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and I have never saw a wreck, fight or anything of that matter occur. They have police officers on duty across the campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club here for every major, so no matter what you're there to study you will be able to join a very exciting and involved club.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who do not want to leave home quite yet or don't have the money to. It's perfect for those who want a great education for a lot less money.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is very inexpensive compared to all of the four year colleges and even to most other community colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Surry Community has many after school activities to do for fun such as; Clubs, Sports, Intramural Sports and social gatherings

    Food and Dining

    I have visited many colleges when I was trying to make my decision and out of all the meals I've ate, Surry Community has to have the best food and they have plenty of places to sit inside and outside.

    Dorm Life

    There are actually not dorms offered at Surry Community College but that gives you the opportunity to live at home or you are able to rent apartments or small houses for cheap right down the road from the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The level of academic Rigor was very difficult when I first started classes because I didn't know where to get help or how to. It was a very big transition from High School but I've been doing better in college than I ever was in High School.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the biggest transitions from High School to college is the amount of homework and the difficulty of the test. Make sure that you start studying from day one and do not stop til the last day of the semester.

    In three sentences

    Surry Community College is the perfect institute to further my education. All of the staff is very willing to help stay after or come before class and help so that you understand everything perfectly. This college is a 10 out of 10 on my scale and i would rather go here than anywhere else!

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I walked around the campus and talked to friends outside at the picknick areas that are around the campus. I also were to the library and worked on the computers in there to finish up some work for class.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Surry Community is the best that you will find on a community college campus. The atmosphere is open and free to have a snack and study for a test.

    Dorm Life

    I didnt have a dorm life, I communited between there and home. I liked with my parents through all two years I attended Surry Community.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay focused and study!! If you do that you will succeed in college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk you your teachers and advisior every step of the way. Focus on working hard and get in the books.

    In three sentences

    Surry Community College is a great school. The staff will help you in any way that they can. It is a great learning atmosphere and I have enjoyed starting my college career there.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ALL!

    What to do for fun

    Al kinds of eca that you would want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Asked what ever you need to know and they will help you.

    In three sentences

    The teachers here are GREAT! The campus has everything I need, bookstore and library. Everyone is very helpful and friendly

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security makes sure that everyone is safe at all times. There is also cameras at every parking lot and building.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of various clubs and activities to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Very worth the money you invest here.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous sports you can do at Surry. There is a really big gym with lots of workout and weight rooms. There is also a tennis court, track and baseball field.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Surry is spectacular! Great deals and great meals :)

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available so I gave this one star.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the courses are tough but the teachers at Surry make learning fun and easy. If you are looking for a challenge this college is also a great choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college to choose, even if you are wanting to go to a four-year college. You can always go to a community college first and transfer later. Surry Community College has an awesome transfer program. It will save bunches of money!

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful college! The teachers are great at what they do and they really take the time to help students be successful. The campus is also very neat.