Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Susquehanna University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SU is known for their Business and Creative Writing programs, but I've heard wonderful things about their other programs as well. Anyone looking for a small, close-knit school would feel very at-home here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch your Flex money. Most new students run out of it three weeks before the end of the semester, if not sooner. Ask the cashier on your way out of Benny's or Clyde's so you can keep tabs on it. Be prepared to work hard, but have fun at the same time. The Student Activities Committee plans several bus trips to NYC and Washington, D.C. for a small bus fee throughout the year, and hosts free concerts and comedians as well (Spring 2009 consisted of comedian Josh Blue, and two concerts, Ryan Star and David Cook, and Fabolous)

    Bang for the buck

    As with most schools, the education you pay for is the education you get. However, when it comes to extracurricular activities and meals, there are some areas I think could use some clarification. Not all meals are entirely covered in your meal plan. The Evert Dining Room in Deg is considered a meal, but in Clyde's or Benny's Bistro, some of your meal may be taken out of your Flex money (the additional money you get for meals, which is around $200 depending on your meal plan).

    Am enjoying being here

    The people and surroundings that make up the Susquehanna University campus are what make it such a great place. The school size is approximately 2,000 students. With such a small school, students get to know each other well. There's always something going on, whether at Charlie's Coffeehouse in the Degenstein Campus Center, in the dorm, at the on-campus club Trax, or on Market Street in Selinsgrove which is approximately a half-mile away.

    Am learning a lot

    The faculty at SU is wonderful. Everyone wants you to succeed. If going to class and taking notes aren't enough, professors are more than willing to take time out of their schedules to sit down with you to discuss the material until you truly understand (that is, so long as you actually show up for class!). Professors won't give you the answers flat-out, but will work with you until you understand on your own. The student-to-faculty ratio is about 13-1, so professors really get to know you. Though it may not seem like it at times, professors do have your best interests at heart and you do learn a lot.

  • 08/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Susquehanna is great for those who wish to succeed and with for all those around them to succeed. If science and music are your two greatest interests, there is no better place than Susquehanna. If business and accounting are what you're after, then the Sigmund Weis School of Business will do an excellent job preparing you for whatever future you intend. Although I am not personally familiar with any of the other departments, Susquehanna is great for anyone who wishes to succeed after high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to attend Susquehanna, please do not be discouraged by the price tag. As I mentioned before, the Financial Aid Office is more than willing to work with you. They will help you in every way they can - trust me! Another piece of advice: before you decide that SU is for you, visit! This is above all the most important thing you should do. Make sure that the college you choose in the end has the right feel. Choosing a college is a very, very personal matter that should not be taken lightly, or else one could find him/herself at a place that he/she dreads for four years.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not going to lie - Susquehanna is quite expensive. But, Susquehanna is also generous. When the deadline had passed to submit my $400 deposit and I had not chosen Susquehanna, SU was disappointed but not discouraged. They offered me an increase in my financial aid award - an increase in $3,500 a year! That, and its convenient closeness to home, was enough to seal the ticket for me. Susquehanna is expensive, but the Financial Aid Office will work with you. The dreaded middle class will find that Susquehanna is the place for them!

    Am enjoying being here

    Susquehanna's campus is absolutely gorgeous, simply a pleasantry to the eye. The small hills rolling through the campus, accompanied by the many maple trees and friendly squirrels, create an atmosphere of complete serenity. If the campus isn't enough, literally hundreds of student activities are available for every student! If sports are your interest, spend an afternoon at the James W. Garrett Sports Complex. This massive building filled with all sorts of sports and exercise equipment, is available to all students of Susquehanna. If music is your passion, drop by Cunningham Center for Music and Art. Join the symphonic band or wind ensemble, the orchestra, the University Choir, the jazz ensemble, or any of the other music groups at SU! (see here for a full, detailed list: http://www.susqu.edu/academics/18670.asp) Perform in the beautiful Stretansky Concert Hall! No matter what you do at Susquehanna, you will find your calling.

    Am learning a lot

    My main interest in both high school and college was science, and for me, there was no better place than Susquehanna! In March of 2010, Susquehanna University opened its New Science Building (see here: http://www.susqu.edu/26110.asp) for classes. This $32 million complex was designed specifically for biology, chemistry, and earth and environmental science classes, complete with all new laboratories and a roof-top greenhouse. Susquehanna University’s New Science Building has earned silver-level LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification from the U.S. Green Building Council. In short - if you're looking for science like I was, Susquehanna is the place for you!

  • 08/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Susquehanna is ideal for students that are looking for a smaller school, and also for those who aren't completely sure what they want to do/study because the curriculum gives them a chance to explore all areas of study. If you like the idea of actually knowing people you see around campus and the idea of studying abroad than SU could be a great place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep track of your flex because it goes pretty quickly if you're not careful. You can always add more (called Crusader Cash), but that;s not always something parents are willing to do since it costs them more than they are already paying. Java City was definitely the cause of me running out of Flex so quickly, so just pay attention to how much you're spending!

    Bang for the buck

    Education these days is expensive, and the tuition price for Susquehanna is no exception. Despite the pricey cost, SU opens a lot of doors for its students. They have an extremely high graduation rate as well as rate of acceptance to graduate schools and job placement after graduation. Room and board costs cover housing and meal plan which you have an option of 21, 14, or 10 meals a week plus the extra flex cash (the less meals, the more flex).

    Am enjoying being here

    Everything about Susquehanna makes me love it there more and more everyday. The people are friendly and easy to talk to for the most part. There is such an eclectic mix of people on campus that it is easy for anyone to find somewhere they are comfortable. There are plenty of clubs and sports teams and the campus also has a very active and prominent Greek Life. About 30-35% of Susquehanna is involved in Greek Life. There is everything from social to service fraternities/sororities as well as those dedicated solely to music. There is always something going on around campus; movies, dance parties, and once each semester a concert with a popular artist (last year Flo Rida and Iyaz came in the fall and DJ Pauly D had a dance party in the spring). For such a small campus there is a lot going on and its also a very easy campus to get around so nothing is really too far to walk to!

    Am learning a lot

    Susquehanna has a brand new central curriculum that really allows students to explore and broaden their horizons. Part of the new curriculum requires that every student studies abroad for at least 2 weeks though most choose to go for a full semester. The opportunity to study abroad forces students to step out of their comfort zone and truly understand the world with more awareness for other cultures. The professors are also very willing to help their students outside of the classroom. If you can't make their office hours they try their very best to be flexible and make appointments that work for you, even if that means they have to stay on campus longer or be there earlier than they planned. They sincerely care about whether or not you are understanding the material and are friendly, approachable people that want you to take as much away from their class as possible.

  • 12/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music is really big at SU. Also Business, the sciences, and creative writing.

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing I would tell prospective students is that you will have a lot of fun at SU, if you look for it. It won't always come to you but it is worth it. It's not hard to make friends.

    Bang for the buck

    I've never thought I was paying to much for SU. With the quality of education and the amount of events and free stuff that is given on campus, It's definitely with it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at SU. The campus is small but not to small. It's nice to see familiar faces as well as new ones. The food is great and there is always something to do on campus, weather it be Trax, which is a lot of fun if you like to dance, Charlies, where you can watch movies and play board games, or Cunningham, where there's always a concert.

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely learning a lot. All of my professors are great teachers and are willing to help you if you are lost. They know a lot about the topics they are teaching and since I am music education they have all completed the same rigorous course schedule I have. The professors are also down to earth and are willing to help with any problem that you might be having.

  • 11/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Doesn't like crowds/crowded classes, like lecture halls with 200 students. Wants to learn in every class

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this is the atmosphere you're looking for. It's a small campus. Don't be afraid about making friends, you will.

    Bang for the buck

    SU is a flat rate college. you'll pay the same no matter what classes you want, how many classes you want, and what meal plan you have. Given that the professors are great, food is good, dorms are nice, and grounds are beautiful, it's well worth it. When first looking at the price, it's scary, but theyll give you money, probably lots. I dont know anyone without some form of aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    I couldn't be more relaxed if I tried! Small campus with nice students, and friendly faculty. No crowded classes, teachers who wanna help, good food; you can't not love it! You'll find friends anywhere you go here. Plus there's a mall right down the road.

    Am learning a lot

    When in high school, I excelled in science and mathematics, and lack in my reading comprehension and writing skills. I came to SU under a Music Ed. major, and am learning more than I thought possible, but what was very impressive was my grades in my English class. I started with B's and started getting A's! I'm amazed at how well they teach, in almost every class.

  • 12/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Strong music, science, creative writing and business programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, take a tour and especially take the opportunity to sit in on classes or do an overnight stay. It will help you to decide if you like the small campus feel. Also, ask around among other current students when you visit and see what each one has to say. The more people you talk to when you get here the more little tips and hints you'll learn because everyone has something different to say.

    Bang for the buck

    There's no doubt that Susquehanna is expensive. Chances are high that you will get some form of aid though. High school and outside sources help too. Although it is expensive, you get a lot of added bonuses like trips or concerts (that are a lot cheaper/free than if you would go somewhere else to see them). It is worth the money for the added perks in addition to the good food, good housing, a gorgeous campus and a great education. Some of the university's online websites and things for students can be a bit confusing until you get used to them.

    Am enjoying being here

    Susquehanna is a great place for me. I love that it is small, the campus is small but so are the classes. The campus is well maintained and the food is good, and even has some selection which is nice. While the school is small, it's not so small that you know everyone but yet you don't feel like you are in a city.

    Am learning a lot

    I can say that even after just one semester here, my level of knowledge has increased dramatically. The professors are all knowledgeable, helpful and willing to find additional ways to assist you in any questions or problems you may have. Since the classes are small, for some that makes it easier to learn and it definatly makes it easier to get to know the faculty/staff on a more personal level.

  • 03/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anybody that goes to school here is going to get a great education but SU is particularly good for music and business students. Susquehanna is also great for the squirrel lover because there has to be a million of them here.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT BUY THE LINEN SETS THEY OFFER YOU! THEY AREN'T WORTH THE MONEY!

    Bang for the buck

    When most people see the tuition price for SU their jaws drop but once you find out everything you get for your money it seems a lot better. The campus is insanely beautiful. The selection of food that you can eat is just great. You get a very personal education because it is a smaller school so the student:teacher ratio is really small. I haven't had a bad dorm experience yet and I'm a junior this year. One problem is that we are getting bigger classes every year and the university is a little behind with having housing and dining facilities for everyone. It's just getting a little cramped.

    Am enjoying being here

    I could not imagine myself going to school anywhere else but here. The people are awesome, the classes are great, I'm a person not just student number 7378327, the food is great, and the campus is beautiful. Susquehanna is also very community based in that it feels like your second home.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot from the classes I'm taking here. The classes here are relatively small, no more than 30 people to a class, so you get to be on a personal level with your professors which comes in handy when you need help with the material or just have plain old problems and someone who you can talk to. You just get a much more personalized education here than you would at larger schools.

  • 05/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The meal plan and FLEX dollars do have me a bit confused, but once again (it's like I'm a broken record or something) I'm hoping for the best.

    Will enjoy being here

    Again, I'm hoping to. I've heard raving reviews about the Creative Writing department and upon visiting for Accepted Students Day I had a great first encounter with a potential club I'm looking forward to joining.

    Will learn a lot

    At least I'm really hoping to. All of the programs sound so promising and the majority of the professors I've spoken with nice. I've heard so little complaints it's enough to actually make a girl suspicious.

  • 05/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Academically focused, active in giving back to campus and community, religious, close-knit community, leadership, study abroad, service, communications, business, music, education, whole student, professional, achieve, lead, serve

    Tips for prospective students

    Do visit. It may seem scary to apply to a small school like SU that does not have a big reputation. There are lots of opportunities to be involved on campus. You will never run out of things to do. Beware: College is stressful. Take time to enjoy what SU has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    Susquehanna is expensive compared to most state-schools. However, there are many opportunities for scholarships and other types of financial aid. Also, there are also job opportunities through the Federal Work Study program. There is also a new study abroad requirement called the Global Opportunities Program.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many ways to get involved on campus. We have lots of clubs, like SU Belly Dancers, Intervarsity (Religious), and greek organizations. We are also have a center for religious life, the center for civic engagement, and the center for diversity and social justice. There is also our student-run coffeehouse named Charlie's and our so called nightclub called Trax. We are also a NCAA Division III school. You definitely will have the opportunity to build a tight-knit group of friends. SU is small so you get to know people well.

    Am learning a lot

    Susquehanna is an academic-type school. The typical student takes 16 credits or more. All of the professors have office hours and are willing to discuss concerns outside of class. I can honestly say that learning also takes place outside of the classroom as I experience a personal sense of growth. The newer central curriculum education has a liberal-arts basis so there is a great cross-section in my literature and education classes. The greatest issue is to combine everything you want to pursue both inside and outside the classroom in four short years.

  • 07/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Writing-oriented students, arts students, often self described Dorky students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the special events offered. SU has a few summer programs, check them out. That's how I found the school in the first place, was the Writer's camp. They offer day long learning camps too. Visit on open house days, but also try to visit on a non-open house day. Go twice. Open houses are great for information, but not for getting a real feel of campus. We're all on our best behavior.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not cheap. SU is a private school, with all the good and bad that comes along with it. Classes are rarely cancelled, and you don't always get holidays off. But they offer really good Aid and everyone is so nice. It was worth the extra cost for me.

    Am enjoying being here

    SU is the perfect size for me. We're small enough that you'll hear of people, even if you don't ever get to meet them, but big enough that you can avoid the people you don't like- most of the time anyway. I highly recommend going Greek, I pledged Zeta Tau Alpha and am loving it! Also, think about doing the shows and don't ever miss a band playing at Trax. EVER.

    Am learning a lot

    I joined SU for the writing program. I wanted to write fiction originally, although during my first year, I've realized how much I love nonfiction. When I applied, I decided on a theater minor but am now double majoring. I've always been an actress but ended up doing lots of behind the scenes work over the past year. I never thought I'd enjoy my classes so much.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    creative writing majors

    Bang for the buck

    Susquehanna was a little expensive for me, but I got more financial aid from them than anywhere else I applied.

    Will enjoy being here

    I was worried about applying to a school eight hours from home, but the faculty are so supportive and have been great about getting me the accommodations I need. The campus is beautiful and has a pleasant atmosphere.

    Will learn a lot

    I was very pleased with the programs they have to offer. I am excited about the required international experience as well.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    clubs of all varieties, and a great way to make friends.

    Great for these types of students

    creative students, and those who can take initiative to seek help. the professors and professional staff at su are happy to help any student that seeks aid.

    Bang for the buck

    i'm getting great work experience, and the financial aid office gave me a great package. no complaints.

    What to do for fun

    club sports and musical ensembles are popular, but the weekend is where the fun begins.

    Food and Dining

    the salad bar is not the best. you might have to get used to potatos because they're served at every meal.

    Tips for prospective students

    it's not the cheapest school, but the financial aid office is very open to offering help when it's needed.

    In three sentences

    it's home to great clubs and activities. the professors are very approachable and well-versed in their subjects. the campus community is small, but welcoming.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there have been assauts on students in the past, but in there have been no assaults lately and i have never not felt safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    there are lots of fraternities and sororities on campus, but many of them defy the stereotypical activities of greek life. you also don't need to be part of them to have lots of fun on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are hundreds of clubs and activities on campus, ranging from the english club to the paranormal club.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want a small campus with small, personal classes will have a great time here. you will develop good relationships with your professors and with your classmates.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    during freshmen orientation, there is an enormous game of simon says that the entire freshmen class participates in. there is also a great foam party that takes place at trax, the club on campus, every year

    Bang for the buck

    you will have an amazing time here at su. the people are great and kind and you will always have a fun time.

    What to do for fun

    on campus, there are lots of clubs, activities and parties always going on. there are also sororities and fraternities on campus, but you do not need to belong to one to have fun. the school also sponsors lots of cheap, fun trips to different places, like new york or a haunted house, during different times of the year.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is very good, but it does get repetitive at times. if you get tired of the campus food, almost all of the restaurants in selinsgrove offer great discounts to su students.

    Dorm Life

    while the dorms get significantly better as you become an upperclassman, be prepared for lots of noisiness, drugs, alcohol, and stupidity (particularly by boys) in the freshmen dorms. however, after that, you have a wide range of choices, ranging from suites to actual houses and apartments on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    while i always feel academically challenged, i've never had to much trouble with a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    bring rain boots. it rains a lot on campus, and when it rains, it rains hard. also don't be afraid to ask your professors for help if you need it. there are lots of resources available

    In three sentences

    has amazing professors and small classes that are always there for you. has a beautiful campus and amazing people who live there. has several wonderful academic programs, including the amazing creative writing program.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus I feel is pretty safe, we have cops in the area at all times, the only problem I have is that the only thing our Public Safety officers do is give us tickets for parking violations.

    Greek Life

    I love Greek Life!!! It's very small, four frats and four sororities but each one has something to offer and is involved with the campus community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's so many sports teams and even if not recruited you still have a chance at being able to be on a team. There's also a few club sports like Rugby and Crew team for men and women.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't need to party every night but like to have a good time, students who don't mind being in a farm area with beautiful scenery, students who like small classes, students who just want to graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive school, I'd say it's not worth how much it costs, but the school does give out a lot of scholarships!

    What to do for fun

    There's always a lot going on on campus. The weekend party life is so much fun but usually there's only party's on fridays and saturdays. The town of selinsgrove is in a rural area but the town has a grocery store, a new delicious pizza place, a small cafe, and a cupcake place!

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, since it's such a small school there's not much to choose from. During the week there's a really yummy burrito place and a place with sandwichs and salads. On the weekends the cafeteria is always an option but my favorite is the food place called benny's where you can get anything from wraps and burgers to pizza and make your own salads.

    Dorm Life

    There's not much going on in the dorms but it's easy to make friends in the freshman dorms and when you get older the dorms get nicer. After freshman year most students live in suites or apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent! Most teachers are very helpful and the classes are small. I would suggest knowing your intended major before arrival though so you can get to know your department.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Susquehanna if you like being somewhere small, the town is really rural but the scenary around it is beautiful especially at sunset. The student life outside school is really fun but it's easier for the outgoing. The classes are awesome because they tend to be small and the teachers are really helpful, and walking to places on campus doesn't take very long. The only thing that I would say it bad is that the school doesn't allow many students to live off campus.

    In three sentences

    Susquehanna is a school in a rural area and the experience is what you make of it. The Graphic Design, Business and Creative Writing majors are what the school is known for and those programs are really great. It's a small school but you get to know everyone quickly and your way around and in the end I love being somewhere where I see my friends all over campus all the time and I can be more than just a number.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is incredibly active and really inviting.

    What to do for fun

    People say there is nothing to do around SU but there is actually a lot! We go bowling, hiking, take trips to Bounceplex, visit Lewisburg, make slip and slides, play frisbee, hang out in Charlie's or go see performances.

    Food and Dining

    Ellie's and Clyde's are great!

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Reed which was great because it was quiet enough to get my work done but I could go hang out in the common room which not all dorms have. I later lived in a West Village suite which was amazing!

    Academic Rigor

    It is what you make of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a lot of questions, before, during and after your time at SU! Be prepared to go abroad.

    In three sentences

    This school is incredibly open and welcoming. If you have any interest in anything, it is easy to find someone with the same interest. Because it is so small, you can get as much or as little attention from professors and others as needed.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety cruises around all the time but they can be rude. We now have cameras around campus and several call boxes. I feel pretty safe at night, but like with anywhere else, I would not test my limits by walking alone in the dark.

    Greek Life

    We have an active Greek Life but it does not have an overbearing presence.

    Clubs and Activities

    Being active is popular on our campus. The majority of students either play a varsity or intramural sport, workout, or bike. We also have groups like the International Students group and Belly Dancing as well as a swing dance group.

    Great for these types of students

    Easy-going, upper-middle-upperclass types who are friendly and active. We have a pretty athletic campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Around Christmastime we have a tradition called Reading of The Night Before Christmas where our president will come to the campus center in his red pajamas and all of the students will gather around and listen to him while he reads to us and tells jokes. There are cookies and hot chocolate and everyone wears their PJ's. For Thanksgiving, we also have a tradition where students come for dinner that is served by the faculty. All of the staples are there- turkey, stuffing, pie, etc. It's actually really good!

    Bang for the buck

    Painfully overpriced!!! For the most part the teachers and classes are good, the food is OK, the dorms are decent, and the people are nice. But almost $50,000/yr?! Come on.

    What to do for fun

    If you want a party you have to walk off campus to find one. Most upperclassmen/sports teams that host parties live within a mile. You can also hang out in residence halls with friends, listen to music/watch free movies at Charlie's Coffee shop, attend a campus theatrical production, or play sports on Smith Lawn or on the football field.

    Food and Dining

    The food is OK. It's pretty hard to avoid additives like oil and other fats. If you like philly cheesesteaks, burgers, hot dogs, and grilled cheese, you will be in heaven. If you are a salad, coffee, veggie, or yogurt lover...you will not. The Meal Deal program also is not the best. You have a set price that a meal needs to fall into and anything over that comes out of Flex or pocket--and a lot goes over.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year dorms are great. You get to live with friends and crazy strangers and each dorm is known for something different: Smith- wild, Reed- chill, Hass- crazy, Aikens- nerdy. Choose wisely.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor varies based on teacher and class load. Finals are unanimously difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into the professor before taking a class from him or her. You do not want to walk in on the first day of class and hear, I don't give A's.

    In three sentences

    Susquehanna University is a quaint and welcoming place for undergraduate education. The small campus is a beautiful and ideal home. It's an active community where students can learn, play frisbee, grab coffee, and hang out.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel unsafe at this campus. On the weekends if I am walking around I always pass a security guard or two and I know that they are their for my safety. I have never felt scared walking back to my dorm from the library alone at 3am in the monring.

    Greek Life

    Joining Greek Life may be the best decision in your college experience! You will not only find your closest friends but you will also work with the other Greek organizations to earn money for specific philanthropies.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do at the school for fun. When the school isn't hosting its weekend activities, students can watch sports events, do activities on the river, go to the movies, go to the races, or even enjoy a nice walk around town.

    Food and Dining

    Susquehanna offers a variety of dining options. Whether you are looking for a quick meal to grab for the go or a nice place to sit and relax with your friends, Susquehanna has it all.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Susquehanna is great. They allow you to choose what type of environment you want to be living in. They also make sure you become comfortable around those you are living close to by hosting many fun activites.

    Academic Rigor

    As a biology major, the school is sure to test your academic abilities. It is up to the student to determine how well their grades turn out. The teachers are always there for help, the student just needs to learn to reach out for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Susquehanna may look pricey at first but the school is wonderful when it comes to helping with financial aid. The school is part of a small community, which in just a few days, you'll be calling home.

    In three sentences

    Susquehanna University is a fantastic school! It has a great variety of teachers who are always willing to help students. It is also allows the students to grow through its broad range of cross-cultural options.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Operating 24 hours a day, seven days a week, SU's Public Safety staff works to maintain a safe campus atmosphere for everyone. However, this is a pretty safe campus due to its size and location.

    Greek Life

    SU has a rich tradition of Greek life with a community that is more than 100 years old. Currently, there are 11 social frats and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    We offer more than 100 student organizations serving a wide range of interests. - Nationally recognized community and service learning programs - More than 25,000 community service hours contributed by students annually - Student-run radio station, newspaper and literary publications - Student, faculty and professional choral, orchestral and theatrical performances - Public lectures and performances featuring national and international artists and authorities - Active campus ministry programs serving many faiths

    Great for these types of students

    If think you'll like a more intimate and personalized experience, in a beautiful setting in a river town in Central PA, this is a place to consider.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The annual Thanksgiving dinner is one of the unique traditions that we have at Susquehanna. An annual tradition since 1981, the faculty serves the student body at a formal dinner, acknowledging that we help make the school what it is. Another nice tradition is the welcome incoming students receive at the Opening Convocation. It helps you to realize that you will travel full circle in your 4 years at Susquehanna.

    Bang for the buck

    With a student-to-faculty ratio of 13 to 1, more than 100 student organizations, more than 60 facilities, 94 percent of the students receiving institutional grants to offset financial need and/or scholarship recognition, and loads of job opportunities, it offers a lot of bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Check out Trax for dance parties, live bands and special events like Caribbean Night, Mardi Gras and Salsa Night. With a state-of-the-art sound system, free food and drink, and a great light show it can be a lot of fun. You can also catch a movie at Charlie's Coffeehouse, a casual, intimate atmosphere, and a great place to study with friends! Susquehanna's Outdoor Recreation Center rents equipment for camping, backpacking, canoeing, kayaking, cross-country skiing, and lots of other fun activities!

    Food and Dining

    The school offers everything from relaxed, restaurant-style dining to rapid retail convenience. They do a pretty good job for a small school.

    Dorm Life

    About 80 percent of us live on campus in a variety of housing. The professional and well-trained residence life staff does a great job of making dorm life a success for all. The First Year Program is great, and provides support for incoming freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    Susquehanna offers a challenging Honors Program and emphasizes experience-based learning, including internships, study-abroad semesters and award-winning community service programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small classes and a student-faculty ratio of about 13 to 1 offer students personal attention and challenging opportunities. Student participation and team learning are encouraged, as is faculty-student research that exposes students to current, practical applications in their field of study.

    In three sentences

    Susquehanna is a great learning community that values diversity and encourages intellectual collaboration among faculty and students. It is welcoming of individuals of all backgrounds and beliefs. It offers one of the most beautiful campuses I've ever seen!

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on this campus because I know our Public Safety team is great. They respond to every call reported quickly. On campus we have about 1 incident per year, however, it usually involves someone that is not an SU student. I don't feel afraid to walk alone at night or really go anywhere alone.

    Greek Life

    About 25% of our students are a part of Greek life. It's a large number for such a small campus but it's definitely worth getting into. We have a no hazing policy on campus that's firmly instituted, so you shouldn't feel afraid of giving Greek life a chance! I personally am heavily involved in my sorority and hold many leadership roles. It is a great way to meet people and gain leadership positions.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over 100 student run organizations that keep growing. There is probably a club or intramural sport for any interest out there. It's also great because if you don't see something you like you can start your own club as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for something quaint and close knit. Usually country people would be more attracted to this school than someone looking for a city feel. Also if you love personal attention from faculty this is great for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have some fun traditions like playing our rival school, Juniata College, for an actual goal post that they stole from us in 1952. We battle it out each year in football to see who will get the goal post back and it's became such a fun game! We also have a joke about the numerous squirrels running around on campus, they're so much fun!

    Bang for the buck

    SU's price tag is a little high, but you do get a lot out of the experience. Paying a lot for the teaching staff alone is worth it, not to mention all of the amazing opportunities that SU provides you with such as concerts, activities and many free things. The staff also works hard to prepare you for your next step whether that's grad school or a job. You wont' graduate afraid of what the future might be.

    What to do for fun

    The best way to enjoy Susquehanna is to get involved in an activity or club. The resources around the campus are pretty limited but if you have the right group of friends you can find anything to do. We have over 100 student run organizations and if you don't find something fit for you then you can create your own.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing! You can pick from any of the 4 locations on campus to eat. We have our main dining hall which is a buffet that's open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Clyde's Cafe which is a restaurant that has a Mexican menu, Elle's which is like SU's version of Panera Bread, and Benny's Bistro that offers a variety of foods like pizza, fast foods, salads, sandwiches and plays host to the on capus grocery store.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are well maintained on campus and they offer a great way to get to know others as an incoming freshman or transfer student. Some of the halls are either co-ed by every other door and some are separated by floors. The rooms are very spacious and you have great facilities. Once you become an upperclassmen then you're offered the option of on-campus townhouses or apartments that are fully furnished and cost the same as regular room and board. You have the option to get rid of your meal plan as well since you can sustain yourself on the appliances in your house.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but not so that you can't complete them. Professors are always there to help you out and there is a lot of academic resources such as student tutors, professors who offer tutoring or private lessons, and many other programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    SU is a very small school in a small town. If you're looking for a big city with a lot of night life then you may want to consider other options. However, if you're looking for a quaint town with a close knit community then SU is perfect for you!

    In three sentences

    SU is an amazing school that challenges students to grow into amazing adults with bright futures. The faculty and staff are very welcoming and warm and will do anything to help you. The students also make up a very uniquely close community that supports one another.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on campus is pretty good. They have security on duty at all times. I never felt unsafe while attending SU.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life even though it does not take up a huge portion of the student body, is very prevalent on campus. There is about 5 sororities and 5 frats. They are super friendly and associate with other clubs or sports on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a pretty big selection of clubs on campus. Most meet once a week and do special events through out the year. There is pretty much a club for anyone.

    Great for these types of students

    SU is for someone wanting a small, community-feeling school. You have to put effort into doing things on campus to feel as if you fit in. Sports are also pretty big at SU, most students will go watch each others games so someone who is into sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a bunch of traditions carried on from year to year at SU. Thanksgiving dinner is big, where professors and the president of the campus serve the students dinner. There also is a big christmas candle lite ceremony every year.

    Bang for the buck

    Susquehanna is very expensive and tuition has been on the rise. Most students can get scholarships but even with that it is not a cheap school! The academics are very good though.

    What to do for fun

    Since the school is in the middle of Pa, there is not a whole lot to do. A lot of students go out to parties on the weekend, go watch sport teams play, etc. There are definitely a good amount of things to do, one just needs to seek it out.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not terrible but there is not much variety. The past year or so they have been trying to improve it and plan on adding more places to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The campus is trying to make all students live on campus. There are a variety of types of dorms, from partying buildings to quite buildings. If stuck in the wrong type of building, it is not too hard to make friends and spend time in other buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great at SU. The courses can be challenging but not too difficult if you put in time and effort to study. The professors are all extremely helpful and will (if reached out too) go out of their way for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out if a small school is for you! Since the student body is about 2,400 everyone for the most part knows each other. It is located in a smaller town so make sure you want a tight knit student body!

    In three sentences

    Susquehanna is a very nice small private school in the middle of Pa. Since the student body is small, everyone kind of knows each other and it can get somewhat suffocating. The professors are great, super helpful, and do care about the students a lot.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never questioned my safety at Susquehanna.

    Greek Life

    I personally am not involved in Greek Life, but have several friends who are and enjoy it very much. Those who do participate in Greek Life are often involved in community service projects or Susquehanna activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any club or activity than one can imagine can be made into a reality at Susquehanna.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want the opportunity to experience every aspect of the college spectrum, meet new people, and challenge themselves academically.

    Bang for the buck

    Though Susquehanna has a rather pricey tuition, a majority of students receive some form of financial aid from SU. I personally would not be able to attend were it not for the generous scholarships and grants of the school.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and activities on campus all the time, from Trax, the student night club, to SAC activities of fall frenzy, movies on the lawn, and other things. One thing that actually drew me to Susquehanna was the existence of the SU Belly Dance Circle, which has been a unique and wonderful experience.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places to eat on campus, and they are unique enough to prevent dining from being boring.

    Dorm Life

    Because of the varied location and size of dorms, a student can have the experience they want to have.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of classes varies greatly based upon the type of class and the students dedication to his or her studies. I have felt challenged at Susquehanna, but not overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any college is what you make of it. If you are willing to put the effort in, you will reap the benefits. If you are lazy, you will not get as much out of your experience as you could.

    In three sentences

    Susquehanna offers as much opportunity as any student could ask for. At Susquehanna, students are provided with a well-rounded education and exposed to many new experiences. Susquehanna also affords students the unique opportunity to design one's own major and area of study.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'd say that safety is good in its own right. The surrounding area is a small town, so you don't have any of the crime or safety issues that would be present in an urban area. Crime and safety on the campus itself is never a big issue, either.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is fairly popular here, but not expected by any means, and is a lot of fun if that's something you're interested in. The school holds a fairly unique view, however, that hazing is really unnecessary because breaking someone down in the name of brother/sisterhood does not empower them in brotherhood. That being said, the hazing policy is a little strict, but it serves a very good purpose.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few limitations, of course, but overall SU has excellent activities for a school of its size. It is sooooo easy to start a club on campus as well. Popular clubs here focus on service and volunteering, but there are clubs for almost anything.

    Great for these types of students

    A lot of my friends that go to SU major in Business, Creative Writing, Bio, or Musical/Vocal Performance. However, I'm a Psych major, and I recommend it for just about everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    President Lemons is notorious for remembering the names of nearly anyone he meets, and he is very approachable and caring. You can even see him unloading vehicles with everyone else on Freshman Move-In Day! He is truly valued at SU.

    Bang for the buck

    If you utilize what has been offered to you, your experience will be one of greatness. There is a small staff-to-student ratio (about 13:1), and all of the staff are very helpful. Stopping by during office hours can give you a little boost if you're confused, and there is tutoring available all over the place, a Writing Center, a program to help with math, a Counseling Center for any needs, and the health center is a thing of wonder. The school's sponsored events definitely add to the value as well.

    What to do for fun

    SU is the perfect size, because there is a good amount of activity, but not so much that you're a face in the crowd. There is Greek life, of course, as well as volunteer fraternities. if you're into that kind of thing. There are clubs ranging from activist (Hearts for Homeless or WomenSpeak) to Interest (Anime Club or Bellydance Circle) and everything in between. There are some pretty cool intramural sports as well. It's also important to note that it is easy to start your own club, and you're bound to find other people with your interests. SU is also really great with providing entertainment: there are two concerts (with names like Cobra Starship and DJ Pauly D) each year, sporting events, theatre, art shows, lectures, musical performance, and anything in between. Also, Bucknell University is close by, and if you have a friend with a car it's easy to go to their events as well. For a small school in a small town, it's a pretty sweet deal!

    Food and Dining

    For me personally, the caf is a hit or miss kind of deal. You might hit the jackpot and they serve your favorite food, or you might just end up grabbing something. However, the food is not terrible by any means, and the salad bar is phenomenal. There are other places to eat: Clyde's in the athletic complex does Mexican, and Benny's in Deg does sandwiches and grill. The Periodic Table has notoriously great paninis, and there is a Java City on campus also.

    Dorm Life

    I feel like the dorm life is better here because everyone is so up front about it. The rooms are bigger than the ones in many other college, so if you've visited other places before SU, it should come as a pleasant surprise. There are four freshman dorms, each with their own personality. Smith is the party dorm, Aikens is good for science students, Reed is fairly laid back, and Hassinger is a small, very close-knit dorm near the library. There is a very good chance that you will get into the building of your choice.

    Academic Rigor

    It's fairly hard to explain exactly why I have given this school four stars, because it's not easy to compare SU with other schools. There are some really cool classes here, but some of them require more work than others. You will find that in any college. Biology is a notoriously rigorous major here, but you'll find that it prepares you really well for your career or graduate school, so it's worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are still deciding on schools and have only looked at SU based on academics, I urge you to take a tour of the campus and schedule an interview. The campus is absolutely gorgeous, and the atmosphere is very pleasant. When I personally visited, I was very nervous about the interview, but anyone who is conducting your interview is not there to grill you, or ask you silly abstract questions. They want to see if you are a good fit for them, and, especially, them for you. It was by far the most pleasant interview I had in the college process. On the way out, grab some food at Benny's in the lower level of Deg!

    In three sentences

    If Susquehanna University fits your criteria when looking for schools, it is close to guaranteed that you will find it to be wonderful. Don't let the sticker shock get to you- they give good financial aid here. If you're serious about your college experience, Susquehanna University is worth checking out.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Susquehanna is known for its business, music, and creative writing programs. As a creative writing major, I feel that SU has some of the best faculty there is. They are always open to listen to your views and opinions before giving their own insight

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good. A lot of people like to go to Benny's since it tends to have more options. The cafeteria's food isn't bad but it gets a bit repetitive. There's also a Starbucks- like place called Java City which is pretty popular.

    Dorm Life

    Not as bad as I expected. The rooms aren't too small and the dorm rules (such as quiet hours) are pretty reasonable. The only major drawback is that microwaves aren't allowed in the rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously a big change from high school, but your professors are always willing to help. As long as you try to succeed, you will.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind, but remember that Selinsgrove is a small town, not a huge city.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a student, I feel very safe on campus all the time. It is very well lit up at night, and it has public safety officers roaming around at all hours. As long as you are smart about walking around at nightttime, there is nothing to worry about.

    Greek Life

    SU is not huge on Greek life, but about 30% of the student body is apart of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs to get involved in no matter what you are interested in. Also, the student activites committee is constantly coming up with different activities for the weekends and on some weeknights. If interested in athletics, SU competes in the NCCA division three level, so that is an option for getting involved as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Susquehanna is great for a lot of different students, whether they are quiet and reserved or adventurous and outgoing. It offers a great business program, music program, education program, and communications program. If you are interested in any of those, SU is a great place to look. However, if you are interested in another field of study, they have many other great programs as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Thursday before Thanksgiving, the professors serve a big Thanksgiving dinner for the students. Also, there is a Candlelight Service in December, which is a really beautiful service with many great hymns.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is a very expensive school, I think it is pretty much worth the price you pay. Also, the financial aid is very willing to work with families and generous with scholarships in order to make it easier to pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There is always a lot of things to do on campus. There is a night club on campus and a coffeehouse in which both offer activities throughout the week. The Susquehanna River is only a mile away, so there are kayaking and other fun waterfront options. There is a mall only about five minutes away, as well as a movie theater. In the fall, there is the Bloomsburg Fair, which is only about a forty minute drive from campus. If you take the initiative to have fun, you will find fun ways to spend your free time.

    Food and Dining

    There are technically five places on campus to get food. There is a cafeteria with a variety of options, a bistro with many made-to-order sandwich and wrap options as well as snack items, a coffee place, a Mexican food place, and a place that offers paninis and sandwiches. Between the five places, there is always a place to go. Also, there are many eateries off campus that are in walking distance if you want to grab a bite when the dining places aren't open. In addition, there are several restaraunts and places to get food that are only about a five minute drive away.

    Dorm Life

    After seeing many different dorms on my college visits, I think Susquehanna has decent-sized dorms. The closets are very spacious, which is probably more a plus for girls. The resident assistants are very helpful and although communal bathrooms are not ideal, the dorms are really not that bad. Also, each residence hall offers different settings (the amount of noise, number of students, location, etc.), so as a student you are able to choose which residence hall would be most suitable for you.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of your academics really depends on your major. However, no matter what you are studying, Susquehanna has a lot of great professors that will give you a great education with some difficulty along the way. It is college, after all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that it is a small school and you will get to know many people very quickly because you will see the same faces around all the time. Be open-minded because there are so many clubs and organizations offering events all the time.

    In three sentences

    It is a small school in central Pennsylvania located in a rural setting. Because of its small size, it has a lot of opportunities for the students and each student is not just a number. It is an absolutely beautiful campus and a wonderful place to get an education.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our Campus Safety is great! Our Public Safety workers truly care about the well being of the students here. You'll often find them patrolling around your dorm just making sure that you're alright! Say hi to them, because they work really hard to keep you safe!

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is very evident here on campus. Many people are involved in Greek Life. There is a Greek Organization for pretty much everyone who comes here. It allows for many service opportunities, and is a great way to meet friends you'll keep for a lifetime!

    Clubs and Activities

    Susquehanna has a menagerie of fun activities and clubs to join in. There are plenty of sports teams to get involved in. From Political party clubs to Swing Dance Club, and Supernatural Club there's a club and activity for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is friendly, outgoing, service oriented, and fun would love the Susquehanna University experience! Even if you're a little shy, or you don't think service is that important, coming here will open your eyes to a new community different from the one that you come from. It's a wonderful new experience for any student!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Around Thanksgiving time there is a grand Thanksgiving dinner hosted by all the professors and our awesome University President Jay Lemons. Here you'll get to see your friends and your professors outside of the academic scene. It's a great way to spend that last day or so before going home for Thanksgiving. President Lemons also reads The Night Before Christmas in his pajamas and his big arm chair. So many students come and share this fun time along with hot chocolate and cookies. It's a great way to spend a night of a break from finals.

    Bang for the buck

    Susquehanna is a little pricey, though it is a very fine academic institution.

    What to do for fun

    Going to the river is a great way to pass a weekend away. Walking into Selinsgrove is also a wonderful way to spend a weekend. Whether it be taking the shuttle into the Susquehanna Valley strip, or just hanging around with your friends at Trax or on campus, there are so many fun things to do here.

    Food and Dining

    Though it isn't your mom's home cooking, Susquehanna's food and dining is a really great service. There are a variety of meal plans that can be chosen to fit your eating habits, along with many options. Vegetarian students and Vegan students do not have to worry about finding options, because there are plenty!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here is definitely at a higher level of quality than other colleges that I visited. For the most part, roommate matches are spot on, and often times those who are in the same dorm halls become close friends!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Susquehanna can be tough; it's definitely not high school any more. However, professors here will take the time to help you when you need it. Study hard and success will be imminent!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to stay on campus a lot. There are not too many opportunities to get off campus for recreational purposes. Also, get involved. Be involved in the many exciting and fun clubs on campus, you'll get to know so many people!

    In three sentences

    Susquehanna is such a great campus, filled with wonderful academic, service, and social opportunities. You can find some of the nicest, most fun people on campus, in addition to very intellectual individuals who will provide you with a very interesting experience. Overall, Susquehanna University is a spectacular campus, and college experience!

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Aramark is the food provider. Their seem to have a wonderful selection at first, but soon you find there is a rotation that gets old. The food does not digest without a bit of a fight. I would have given the food two stars, but I added an extra one for the desserts, which are usually amazing.

    Dorm Life

    The first-year dorms are pretty average, but as you advance in years the housing is quite nice.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    About 20% of our campus is Greek and most people love it. It does not overwhelm campus and you don't feel like you have to go Greek to fit in, but the opportunity is available and I've never heard of anyone having a negative experience with it. The Greek community is very active and not your movie-scene Greek life - they take their organizations very seriously. In addition to the social Greek communities, there are two professional music Greek organizations(Phi Mu Alpha, Sigma Alpha Iota) and one co-ed service fraternity (Alpha Phi Omega).

    Clubs and Activities

    SO many clubs for such a small campus.

    Great for these types of students

    involved students looking to better themselves and their communities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Christmas candle light service, President Lemon's reading of The Night before Christmas, faculty serving students Thanksgiving dinner.

    What to do for fun

    The student activities committee (which anyone can be a part of!) always has events happening on the weekends and throughout the week. There's never really a dull moment. In addition some SU traditions that students love are: spring weekend, Christmas candle light service, President Lemon's reading of The Night before Christmas, faculty serving students Thanksgiving dinner, St. Patty's weekend, sporting events, and so much more.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. don't be discouraged by the high tuition, SU's financial aid office works with every financial situation to make a Susquehanna education possible. 2. don't be discouraged by the central PA location - there is always lots to do! 3. if you are to go to Susquehanna - embrace EVERY opportunity (there are a multitude!) because you only get out what you're willing to put in.

    In three sentences

    Susquehanna's campus is unbelievably gorgeous and a perfect size. Located in central PA, SU prides itself on fostering a tight knit community of individuals of diverse interests. Because of this sort of interest diversity, it is hard to not fit in at SU - you inevitably will meet lifelong friends and mentors here.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe! Well lit and there are always Public Safety officers walking around.

    Greek Life

    If you are interested in Greek Life, there are plenty of opportunities to get involved. If you have a good GPA it is easy to get into a sorority/fraternity. However, they don't have a huge influence on social stuff-- you don't have to be in one to be someone or have fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    More than 100 clubs on campus, you can even create your own if there isn't something already for your particular hobby. There are also varsity and intramural sports, like Ultimate Frisbee and flag football.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to know all of your professors, have small classes, and meet really motivated people, this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the campus traditions, such as the Thanksgiving dinner where faculty, staff, and even the president serve turkey and traditional foods. There is also Twas the Night before Christmas reading with the president and hot cocoa and cookies! Midnight caf is during finals, and you can go from 10-12 and get food from the cafeteria at night to eat while studying. MMM!

    Bang for the buck

    With financial aid, I feel that it was worth it for me to go here.

    What to do for fun

    There is also really great social programming such as concerts, Fall Frenzy and Spring Weekend Carnival, plus parties at the on-campus nightclub (that serves free alcohol to 21 and over students!- 1 per hour). It is also really easy to get involved in meaningful extracurriculur activities, or create your own club!

    Food and Dining

    Food is better here than other campuses I've been to, but not the best. There are a lot of different places to eat on campus and Ele's (The Periodic Table) in the basement of the science building is definitely the best! It has Panera Bread style soup and salads and sandwiches. However, it is pretty expensive comparatively. Healthy food options like salads in Benny's can also go over the exchange limit (making you spend flex or cash) if you add protein, which is disappointing. Overall, there is great variety, but limited healthy and vegetarian foods. It is nice that the director of our Food Services is willing to work with students in order to take their feedback into account when making menu changes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great-- lots of space and the RAs do a great job doing programming to get everyone out and meeting each other. There are nice common areas with pool tables or ping pong or a TV in each building, as well as a kitchenette. The laundry rooms and bathrooms are decent too.

    Academic Rigor

    The Central Curriculum requirements are good for getting you to take classes outside of your comfort zone. I really like the Environmental Science program at my school. You get personalized attention from the teachers, and actually get to know them really well because the department is really small. The new science building is amazing, and Environmental Sciences has our own floor! There are also opportunities for research with the professors! Classes in general are intellectually challenging and rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the professors! They will really show you what a great school this is and how people really care about you personally here. If you visit the beautiful campus you are bound to fall in love with it!

    In three sentences

    I would definitely choose this school if I had to do it all over again. It is a beautiful campus, the teachers really care about the students, and there is a really great community feel to it. The science building is amazing for science majors, and I really love the faculty in my major. I have made lasting friendships that I treasure.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is extremely safe. There is a security called Public Safety whose job is to drive and walk around campus looking for students who need help. Public Safety provides rides to students who can't get back to their dorms, no questions asked, and has a number that is easy to call without judgement. They really care about the safety of the students here, and as long as you're safe, they don't need to know the rest. The students here, because everyone knows everyone else, are safe. Dangerous misconduct does not occur between students in general, and if it does, Public Safety and other students are close enough to each other to help.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is extremely prominent here. There are tons of fraternities and sororities on campus, and if you're interested in Greek life, you'll be able to find a cause that suits you. Since students here are so approachable, it's easy to meet and get involved with members of fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs run by students here. They include volunteering, special interest, sports, academics, and nature clubs, among countless others. There is something for everyone, and if you are interested in a club that isn't around yet, start one! It's easy to start a club here, and you can easily get support and members.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who are used to small class sizes or are looking for a smaller school SU would be perfect. Small class sizes allow each student to be successful and build personal relationships with professors. It's also great for students who are very involved in volunteer work - SU has hundreds of clubs for volunteering. Students who dream of studying abroad somewhere far away should come here. Advisors make it possible for everyone to have the college experiences they want, including where and when they study abroad.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As a small school, we have traditions and hang outs that bigger schools might not. Perhaps my favorite tradition here is Thanksgiving dinner, which is a dinner in the dining hall for all students on the day before students go home for Thanksgiving break. The dinner is served by professors, and SU's president speaks and serves as well. The experience is great and it feels like a giant family dinner. TRAX is probably the most unusual place to hang out, but it's a great way to party safely or without overuse of alcohol. It basically provides students with dance parties with a live DJ every weekend. Awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    SU is great for the academics, the professors, the class sizes (small - personalized), professional connections with alumni, internships made available, and the study abroad program. This school has so much to offer in every way, but students are truly helped throughout their college careers to become successful in the future with all resources imaginable. The study abroad program, called the GO Program, is amazing. Students are required to study abroad, so no one can be told that they can't fit it in. This is great, and allows you to go where you want to go for a chosen amount of time with funds if not full financial coverage through the school.

    What to do for fun

    To be honest, there's fun for everyone, though it doesn't vary much from the average college fun. A lot of students go out for the weekend to different fraternity houses, but those who don't go out for the weekend have options available at the coffee house, which hosts movie nights of new releases, karaoke nights, concerts, and board game nights. There is also a dance club on campus called TRAX that students can go to for Saturday events. They host tons of parties that people come to for a few hours to dance off some steam.

    Food and Dining

    I was really torn between 3- and 4-stars on this one. The food is not spectacular. It's inconsistent - some days it's really good, and other days it's really bad. This just goes for the dining hall, where there are a good number of options, but sometimes the staff really just misses the mark on a good meal. However, there are other options. There is a cafe that offers made-to-order burgers, sandwiches, fries, wraps, and other foods. Also, there is a cafe with Mexican food (tacos, burritos, quesadillas) and a cafe like Panera Bread that serves fresh bread sandwiches, soups, and pastries. There is also a campus coffee house that creates its own drinks (like a variation of butterbeer) Campus also added a Starbucks recently. WOOH!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life will never be the greatest thing. But SU's dorms are the best that I saw during my college search and I've been very comfortable in mine this year. The dorm rooms here are spacious in most of the residence halls, and the residence halls are kept very clean by staff who clean every day. The RAs here are also extremely helpful in any matters you may have issue with.They try to plan activities at the beginning of the year to help all of the residents get to know each other, including movie and game nights, ice cream socials, and random things like trivia or charades. The RAs also are trained to help with roommate problems, so if you're really resolutely different from a roommate, the RAs will help. No one has to be miserable here. People will look after you and have a vested interest in your well-being.

    Academic Rigor

    I would give this a 5-star rating, as the classes are challenging, but with the help of professors, nothing is impossible or too difficult. They will help with any issues you may have and genuinely want you to succeed, so it's nearly impossible to feel over-intimidated by coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking of applying here, don't be afraid to visit - specifically, schedule an overnight visit so that you can see what it would be like to live here and meet people here. Whomever you stay with will make you feel at ease and at home, introducing you to friends who will remember you if you do decide to go to school here. One thing to take into account when deciding whether or not to come here is the school's location. It is in a fairly residential area, and the street on which it sits it filled with fraternity and sorority houses (a plus if you're looking for that). If you're looking for something to do off campus though, you're limited. There is a street about a half a mile away with locally owned shops and restaurants, but beyond that there is a main strip about a mile and a half away with a mall, Walmart, shopping complex, and countless franchises. There are shuttle buses every Saturday that go to this strip, but if you're looking to be able to go somewhere whenever you want, you'll need a car (which freshmen are allowed to have).

    In three sentences

    The students and professors are welcoming and really make the campus feel like home. Even in the first few weeks, I felt completely comfortable, and the faculty all make an effort to get to know all of their students. The small class sizes make it so that everyone knows everyone else and professors have an interest in your success.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. I use to have a class that ended at 10 pm and never once did I feel unsafe walking back to my dorm.

    Greek Life

    Rush in the spring! Since it's more formal :) Greeks have their own houses right outside of campus if you become interested in living in one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join sports! Majority of the students are either in sports teams or part of Greek Life. There are things such as Cheer-leading, Hispanic Club, Black Student Union, etc. and even be a DJ for the school's radio!

    Great for these types of students

    If you're into writing, the school has one of the best writing centers. If you're into sciences, the new science building will become your second home. If you're into art, the art center next to the science building is beautiful! If you are into just enjoying the weather you can sit in the big canopy by the deg, the fountain, lay down on smith lawn and take a trip down to Susquehanna River!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Visit the thrift store on Market street and the kind cafe on Market street. If you're into tanning, there is a Tanning salon right next to Orange street and if you're into Hookah, there is a new hookah lounge on Market Street. All of these places are walking distance! Also, during Christmas the President and all the students get into Pajamas as he read a night before Christmas, the cafeteria serves breakfast at 12 am and there are carriage rides to town from campus!

    What to do for fun

    Join sports! With the school taking off the off-campus housing for the 2014-2015 year there will be almost NOTHING to do on the weekends so hopefully if would change.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but its college food so you get what get. There is Benny's which is like a burger king, Ele's located in the Science building which is like a Panera bread, then there is Clydes where it's like a taco bells, and then Degenstine Cafeteria where there is different options and your able to get 5 plates of food if that's what you want!

    Dorm Life

    Don't choose any dorm by random or roommate! Every dorm is different and the one you stay in can interfere with any study time you may want to have. Rooms are very spacious!

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is heavy and at times assignments are all due at the same time! The library is open till very late so take advantage of that and also Degenstine campus center has a computer lab open 24/7 so take advantage of that as well! Also take full advantage of the FREE tutoring offered around campus, year round.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the first semester bring you down! You are adjusting so your GPA might not be a 3.8, but if so, GREAT! Also, the school has a lack of diversity so don't be shocked when you hear a comment or two. However, remember to be open minded, reach out to your professors and the staff is always welcoming.

    In three sentences

    Suquehanna University is a family feel school school that becomes home. Study abroad opportunities are amazing but a downside might be the lack of diversity the school has.

  • 05/29/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food here is great, I have eaten there every visit I go to and each time there are different meals. There is a variety of meals and they are absolutely delish and that is coming from someone who is picky with food.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms have same sized rooms however one of the dorms has a smaller room size. Also, they have males and females separated by floor, wing, or every other room. You can request a single person room, doubles or triples.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that there is an academic rigor at this school. This is coming from someone who took all AP sophomore - senior year. I believe that it is manageable as long as you stay focused and ask for help when needed.

    In three sentences

    I am totally in love with the school, I plan on attending this fall and I can say that the campus is beautiful. They have small classes so you have better contact with the professors. Also, the students are very warming and helpful.