Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Sussex County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SCCC is great for students who don't want to leave home, have a limited amount of money to spend on schooling, are undecided, want to transfer to a four year institution, want to save money, want a great learning environment, and who wants to start here and go anywhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sussex is a great place to start. If you are not sure about what kind of college you want to attend, don't waste your money going someplace expensive and then decide that it's nowhere near what you want. Go to a local community college like this and get all of your general education credits taken care of- you'd be surprised that they TRANSFER! Yes, you read that right. The credits from sussex will transfer to most schools as long as you have a certain grade, so you could enter a university as a junior and only have paid a fraction of the price for the first two years of schooling. And dont let the community college stereotype fool you- most of my peers take their classes very seriously, the professors are extremely well qualified, and the courses are very challenging.

    Bang for the buck

    Being that SCCC is a community college, it is very affordable and they are always offering some kind of scholarships. I pay about 2200 for a semester's worth of classes, including lab fees, activities fees, and everything else except books. It is also close to where i live, so even though i have to commute, the money i save not having to pay for a housing and meal plan is far greater than the amount that i spend in transportation fees. Also, there are so many free activities, it is definitely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it at this college! There are so many student activities to participate in. There are tons of clubs, and if there isn't one that you like, all you have to do is create enough interest in it, get an on staff advisor, like a professor, and then submit it to the Student Government Association for approval for funding. There are Honor societies and math clubs, art clubs and christian youth ministries, the variety is crazy! Also, the Student government association plans events practically daily. There was a Starlit Ball, which was so amazing and so much fun! It was like a college prom... but so much better! There is also an end of semester barbecue where students are given a free lunch of hot dogs, hamburgers, etc. There are also many seminars, guest speakers like Rachel from the MTV show the real world, a health and wellness fair with raffles and free massages, ice cream socials, sports games, student produced plays in the beautiful new performing arts center, st. patty's day refreshment, mardi gras parties, big red chair photos ( i have mine on my keyring!), bake sales, free concerts, and who knows what else they will plan next semester. I went on a school chartered trip into NYC to visit the metropolitan museum of art for only 15$! When it's nice out, we can eat lunch outside and play soccer in the fields, or walk around the campus which was an old monastery and still has some of the beautiful stained glass windows and architecture to show it. There are six buildings on campus, and plenty of room to roam around. There is a gym and a workout room, and a graphic arts lab, and several areas around campus just for students to hang out- like the game room, the galleria, and pretty much every place there was room for a couch. There is campus-wide wireless, which is good for when i have a report to do last minute. Also, there are many computers available, and printers, and a very well equipped library that also has a beautiful view out of its windows. it even has private study rooms. There are two lakes surrounded by landscaping, and a 9/11 memorial on the main lawn. The center courtyard has beautiful cherry trees and red maples, and the art gallery always has student artwork displayed. The cafeteria has huge windows so you can bask in the warm glow of the sun while it's freezing outside, and look out at the city since the building is on a hill. The food is great, too! A little expensive for a college kid to buy every day, but still tasty. There are also a bunch of restaurants not even a two miles away, so in just a two minute drive, you have more choices than you'd ever need. I love it at this school. The atmosphere is amazing and the activities make it even better.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are knowledgeable and very dedicated to their students' success. They each have their own story to tell, and some of them are far from what you'd expect. My sculpture professor had been a professor at a university in New Zealand, and Malaysia! He had also traveled around the world and had a countless bank of inspiration to bestow on us. Some professors are mediocre, but nonetheless still extremely informative. The online classes are great; they are a good way to squeeze a few extra credits out of my semester since i can do the work in my spare time on top of my normal course load. I was at first skeptical, but it took only a few classes to change my mind. I have done an incredible amount of artistic and academic growth already- in just one semester!

  • 07/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This school is definitely a great place to start! The classes are farely small so you receieve more individual attention from the teacher which is a huge help! The price is very low compared most universities. The professors will go out of there way to help out a student. The campus is very nice and clean, and very easy to get around.

  • 12/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for basically anyone, especially for those who are not ready to study far away from home, for those who like a smaller tight-knit environment with a more personal classroom experience, for those who want to save money, and for those who like to stay active in the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to save money, this is a great place to do so and get a quality education. Stay focused on your career goals and aim for the best grades possible. You will be more prepared if you are planning on transferring later on. Participating in student activities, events, and clubs enriches the experience while also being fun.

    Bang for the buck

    As a community college, it will definitely save you a lot of money in the long run. I decided to start here to save money while taking all my prerequisites for the Nursing program. Like I stated previously, I find the classes to be at a comfortable size and pace. The cheaper price does not take away from the quality of education you receive! It's a smart idea to take as many classes as you can in a community college that you know will transfer over. If you stay determined and get the best grades you can, you will have a much better chance at transferring to the school of your choice.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the atmosphere of a smaller school! Classes have a more personal feel with the ability to contact the teacher at any time. Students most often are very friendly. There are also many events that are happening throughout the semester run by the Student Government Association. All of the officers are also very friendly. Although I'm not a member, I have stopped by the SGA office and asked if they needed help for an event that was planned for that day, and they were more than happy to let me help. I am also a member of the Biology Club. Again, I am not an officer, but have been helping run bake sales, events/field trips, and have represented Biology Club for open club meetings that the SGA holds. These open club meetings are open to everyone in a club and are a great way to stay active in what's happening in the school. I really recommend joining a club or attending a field trip you are interested in! I went to the King Tut Exhibition and the Bodies Exhibit this semester and they were both great experiences that I'm glad to have. Being active in the school makes the college experience a lot more enjoyable in my opinion.

    Am learning a lot

    I have taken four semesters with a science-heavy schedule. Because of the smaller classes, the teachers are better able to know each student individually. This helps make the experience for me more comfortable knowing I can reach out to my teachers any time they are free. They make themselves as easy to contact as possible. All of my teachers have office hours as well as email and phone numbers to contact them for any reason, whether it be to ask a question, get extra help, etc. You can tell they enjoy their jobs and have all been friendly and happy to help. I also find the pace at which most teachers go is efficient but not too overbearing. As long as you stay focused and determined, you should do just fine.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    not worth the tuition.

    What to do for fun

    they always have lots of trips and such planned, which is nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    be careful of the math teachers, most of them are engineers and if you have a hard time in math they dont do a very good job of teaching.

    In three sentences

    although the campus is small, and easily accessible i don't find anything else easy. most of the teachers don't really know how to teach, especially the math teachers. i find them to be rude also.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    many diverse and different clubs to join for just about anything on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    all types!

    Bang for the buck

    definitely get your moneys worth in education.

    What to do for fun

    sccc offers many sport, clubs and academic clubs to get involved in. ask any student and they will assure you that getting involved is the best way to get through you college life at sccc.

    Food and Dining

    for a community college that doesn't have to serve the students seven days a week, the food is great. you never have to leave campus to get something better.

    Academic Rigor

    professors challenge you with your courses, but at the same time will give you the material and tools to get you through the course. professors are always there to help you, and if they can not accommodate a specific time for you they will always refer you to a tutor on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely a college you want to go to if you are considering any community college in the area. do not be misguided by the country's top community college surveys, this is definitely the school you want to start out in

    In three sentences

    sussex county is an amazing college who cares about you. the professors, counselors and staff will do anything in their power to help you achieve your goals. helping you move on to bigger and better things is what they are all about.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many activities offered and many show performances. the majority of them are free to students. something to definitely take advantage of.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the cafeteria is good, but a little on the pricey side.

    Dorm Life

    there is no available dorm life since it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    ever professor is different, but in the end the grading system is fair along with how the professors handle their grading processes.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved with the offered activities to fully enjoy your time at the college.

    In three sentences

    sussex county community college is a great school to get started at, especially if you have no idea of what you are interested in doing after college. i absolutely love the small class size and the teacher-student relationship that can be easily obtained. best part is it is an easy way to get the first two years of school paid for.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards on shift from open to close of the college. There is one who stays by the pedestrian crossing to ensure safety, two who drive around the campus to ensure there is no dangerous activity, and one who frequently walks around campus to make sure everything is OK.

    Greek Life

    There are two different clubs to get into the Greek Life atmosphere. There is one called, Phi Theta Kappa, which is for students with high academics, and Phi Beta, for active students who are interested in psychology. They're very interesting to be a part of because they go to different conferences across the states, and it's an easy way to meet people that you may share common interests with.

    Clubs and Activities

    Free and fun, is what comes to mind when I think of the clubs and activities. There are over ten clubs that can really get the students involved on campus. They're easy to join, and every club member is very accepting of anyone who is interested in being a part of it.

    Great for these types of students

    Free games and hangout time with your friends on breaks? Who wouldn't want to take advantage of that?

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a game room by the cafeteria where people hang out. There's a choice of ping pong or a TV with game consoles to play with your friends, all for free!

    Bang for the buck

    You get your money's worth at Sussex. There are many resources that help you succeed in any course and they're very easy to access and learn.

    What to do for fun

    Engage in the campus activities provided throughout the weeks. There are plays, dances, and much more to look forward to at an inexpensive cost.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. There's a menu to chose different grilled items from. Burgers, chicken sandwiches, salads, and much more. There are combo options, which means you get a whole meal for just six bucks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but there are events at the college every week. The events are free, fun, and worth attending.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics of the school are not very difficult. The more you apply yourself to learning to information, you will find that there is more success in trying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved at the Campus through sports, committees, and clubs. Even though Sussex is a commuter school, it still has the college campus atmosphere. The more you get involved, the better you will like being a student here.

    In three sentences

    It's the incredibly caring professors and staff that make Sussex County Community College as great as it is. There is free tutoring available to help any students on whichever subject they need focus in. The professors really go out of their way to help any students in need by offering to meet with them at their convenience.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very safe and friendly

    Greek Life

    There really isn't any

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of options for all sorts of interests/people

    Great for these types of students

    -Those who are looking for individual attention -Great/helpful Staff -Lots to do

    Bang for the buck

    I can't recommend this school highly enough. If you're looking for individual attention and people who will help you find your way, this is the place.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of activities and groups to join. You will never be bored. Plus, they have countless concerts and shows to see.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fairly priced and good.

    Dorm Life

    You don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending the classes, the course work may be intensive, but it prepares you for future schools. The social work classes there are amazing. They really challenge you to think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore classes, and find what really speaks to you. Don't just settle for what you think you want to do, explore your options.

    In three sentences

    I have never encountered such a loving, caring, and passionate staff. They really want you to succeed. This is a great place to find your passion at an affordable rate.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Save some money by taking general courses here first.

    Food and Dining

    Limited.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers don't push me here like they did at other colleges I attended. I got good grades on the papers and homework that were subjective. In the end as long as I made an effort I did fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is not the most challenging, it is more like easing into the college experience. You will learn from the classes, but if you want deeper learning you need to do it yourself. It depends what your looking for from your college.

    In three sentences

    It is just what you would expect from a community college. It is a good way to get a feel of the college experience. It can also be a good way to save money by taking classes there instead of a larger more expensive school.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join any of the clubs that SCCC has to offer to its students. There are also many activities which go on during every week at the college for all students to get involved with.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enter school with an open mind to truly absorb everything that is going on in a college so small.

    In three sentences

    Sussex County Community College is a small campus where the staff and students are kind and helpful to those around them. Classes are not over populated with students so therefore every student receives the education they deserve. This college campus also contains most clubs and organizations which other larger schools also contain.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security along with Newton Police work to keep Sussex safe. SCCC also uses The Rave Alert System. This is a service used for sending timely information to students, faculty, staff, and other members of the campus community. The system can distribute an alert to the entire campus community in the case of an emergency or a closure due to inclement weather.

    Greek Life

    Lambda Epsilon Chi â?? LEX Phi Theta Kappa- PTK Psi Beta

    Clubs and Activities

    Student clubs and organizations are a major part of campus life at SCCC... American Red Cross Club of SCCC Anime Club Authorâ??s Inc. Biology Club Broadcasting Club Business Club Campus Crusade for Christ Catholic Campus Ministry Club Criminal Justice Club Design Squad Education Club Fine Arts Student League Hospitality Club Lambda Epsilon Chi â?? LEX Multicultural and World Language Club Performing Arts Club Phi Theta Kappa Progressive Student Union Psi Beta Psychology Club Public Relations Club Rainbows in The Dark aka Gay, Straight Alliance Rotaract Club Strength Without Violence Campus Alliance Student Government Association Sussex Collegiate Signing Club U.M.A.D.D.

    Great for these types of students

    SCCC is great for high school graduates, those holding a GED certificate, and other persons 18 years of age or older. Anyone an a budget, STARS scholarship winners, or those unsure of educational/career path should consider SCCC.

    Bang for the buck

    SCCC is an affordable option for 1st time student and returning students.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much more to SCCC than just great classes. College clubs, athletics, theater performances, fine arts programs, lectures, day trips and service learning all add to the total college experience. There is never a shortage of things to do here. They offer a number of academic and social programs, leadership opportunities, clubs and activities to connect you with students with common interests, enhance your education and make sure youâ??ll have fun. â??College Hourâ?? at SCCC is every Thursday from 10:50 am â?? 12:05 pm. This is a block of time reserved primarily for student enrichment activities; such as concerts, speakers, picnics, lectures, cultural celebrations and other fun events planned during College Hour each week. Thousands of students participate in activities sponsored by student clubs, our athletic teams, the Student Government Association and the Office of Student Activities. When transferring to a four-year college, the activities you take part in are just as important as your grades. The key to a successful college career at SCCC is to get involved and take advantage of all that SCCC offers.

    Food and Dining

    Sussex county Community College has a small dining hall that offers meals and snacks to students at reasonable prices.

    Dorm Life

    This Community college offers no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Sussex County Community College offers a wide range of programs and services to support successful learning. From earning credits while still in high school, to Telecourses; SCCC offers you so many dynamic ways to further your education. Sussex offers there Library as an outstanding resource on campus and your first stop for research. Library services are available on-site and online to students, the college community, and the larger community. They also Offer the Learning Center, an instructional support to all students. It is the place to go for tutoring, computers, tips on technology and information on how to connect with college and community support systems.

    Tips for prospective students

    This beautiful campus is 167 acres of rolling hills, lush forests and tranquil ponds, so you can get lost easy, its very helpful to take a tour to get a feel for the campus.

    In three sentences

    Sussex County Community College is a welcoming and friendly place where you, as a student, are the priority. Here, learning takes place in well-equipped classrooms, around a naturally beautiful campus is nestled amidst 167 acres of rolling hills, lush forests and tranquil ponds. A personal education where you can really get to know your professors and classmates. SCCC is a jewel in the heart of Sussex County.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security staff is wonderful. Always present and aware.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of Phi Theta Kappa. The group makes me feel welcome.

    Great for these types of students

    I have seen all walks of life on this campus, so I feel this is the place for everyone and anyone.

    Bang for the buck

    I never feel like I have not gotten my money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    I really cannot comment on this as I am an evening student and work full time during the day. I have seen, however, a few soccer games here and there while waiting for class to start. It looks like fun!

    Food and Dining

    My son also attends SCCC and loves the chicken fingers.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this location

    Academic Rigor

    Curriculum is spelled out on the syllabus. Professors are eager to help when needed. Advisers are good at what they do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask questions. That way, you will grow. Never assume.

    In three sentences

    A pleasant place to learn. Everyone is always friendly and willing to lend a hand. I am proud to say that I attend SCCC.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is loaded with security at all times

    Greek Life

    Since it is a commuter school they do not have a Greek row.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college offers basketball, soccer, baseball and softball as sports. Some clubs are student government, newspaper and magic the gathering the card game.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any student! Everyone can go anywhere from going to Sussex for two years

    Bang for the buck

    For only around three-thousand a semester, the education you receive is great! Professors are awesome and willing to help you along the way

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun on this campus. On campus there is a pond where a good majority of the students go fishing or just to read. A game room is also available in the cafeteria with game consoles, ping pong and billiards.

    Food and Dining

    The food that they offer is great! The price and quality are great and the dining area is a great place to relax and enjoy a meal.

    Dorm Life

    The only thing with Sussex County Community College is that it is a commuter college and does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are extremely helpful and make you feel comfortable in the classroom. They don't make you feel like an outcast in the classroom and incorporate you and do not push you away from the class. Compared to the other university I have attended before this school which cost five times the amount a semester, the quality of information you receive from Sussex County Community College is up to par.

    Tips for prospective students

    With the economical status of most families now in America, college is becoming something that most do not consider after high school. I do recommend choosing a two year institution such as Sussex County Community College, the quality of education you receive is unbelievable for the small amount you pay.

    In three sentences

    This Institution is full of great professors who are willing to help you no matter what. Professors who have prior backgrounds such as big name lawyers, FBI agents, state police officers, etc. . The education students receive from this two year institution is top notch compared to other two year colleges.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a list of all crimes that have been committed on campus over the past five years in the student handbook, and it shows the campus is very safe. Emergency phones at several visible locations on campus.

    Greek Life

    Not that kind of school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Admittedly lacking.

    Great for these types of students

    The kind that want to make themselves smarter and better people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are at least a dozen odd monuments and memorials hidden around campus. It feels like I'm in RuneScape sometimes.

    Bang for the buck

    Good luck finding a better price for a two year school of this quality.

    What to do for fun

    I study for fun.

    Food and Dining

    If it doesn't make you sick, it's alright by me. Cheapest coffee you're going to find in Newton.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent standards from what I've seen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't skip classes.

    In three sentences

    The physical layout of the campus is excellent. The education I'm receiving is on-par or superior to any four year school for sure. SCCC offers a very conductive environment for self improvement.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many ways to walk to the many different beautiful buildings on campus and somethingt that I absolutely love is the fact that there are security guards all around you! Even if you have to walk to many multiple buildings you are always around some buildings-meaning near faculty, and security guards!

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternity and sorority on campus. No one is left out! There are tons of clubs to join, but anyone is able to join if interested! Which I absolutely love! You most definitely do not feel left out at this amazing college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities! Psychology clubs, Anatomy clubs, Nursing clubs, Math clubs, and many more! These clubs allow you to make friends and also help you study! If you like sports there are softball teams, baseball teams, and even dance teams! This school really has so much to offer for being a community college!

    Great for these types of students

    Sussex is great for everyone! It allows you to be comfortable in a very beautiful and easy going college! Everyone is there to help you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think it is awesome that the cafeteria also has computers! It allows you to multitask!

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a first time college student or returning student Sussex County Community College truly is a great start! There is absolutely nothing to be nervous about, the staff is exceptional! They are all there to help you succeed in your goals!

    What to do for fun

    The college always has something to offer from plays, races, dances, clubs, volunteer work, and even blood drives! This college cares about its community and allows the students to become active in their communites, which allows them to make a difference.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is very good and you also have access to computers! It is very beneficial because while you are eating, you can even get some homework or studying done!

    Dorm Life

    Sussex County Community College does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at Sussex are great, but they all teach different! Allow yourself to learn in all different ways! Communicate with students, this helps me very much!

    Tips for prospective students

    Allow the school to motivate you! Listen to your teacher and be willing to try all different kinds of learning techniques. It truly helps! Give yourself as many possibilites as possible.

    In three sentences

    Sussex County Community College is a great way to start your college education. It allows you to become comfortable in a college environment and allows you to explore all different kinds of studies! This a great place to start your college experience!

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always readily accessible should you need to ask about parking, security issues, or if you feel uncomfortable about a situation. Very friendly staff.

    Greek Life

    Honor Societies are situated on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous clubs and activities are all listed in the Student Handbook as well as on their website! Check them out and see which one(s) are right for you!

    Great for these types of students

    SCCC is for dedicated students who are willing to work hard to accomplish their personal and professional goals. It is also great for transfer students (like myself), adult students who are returning to college after being away, and students right out of high school looking to find themselves and what they want to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I found it interesting that there is both a lower and upper campus. It is a pretty spacious campus, located on nearly one hundred and sixty-seven acres of land! There is so much that is unique about SCCC in terms of what a 2 year college looks like. Sometimes you feel as if you are actually at a university!

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny. It is relatively cheap for a 2 year college tuition, and the financial aid department is there to help! I didn't think I could afford school...and ended up receiving thousands of dollars in aid! All it takes is a little time to get your paperwork together, and they will help as much as they can. PS: Don't forget to complete your FAFSA.

    What to do for fun

    There are multiple sports teams to join, a performing arts center, and numerous clubs to participate in. The college also holds a variety of entertaining and free events for students...all YOU have to do is present your ID card!

    Food and Dining

    I haven't been to the dining hall to eat yet (as the cafeteria was not open the day I went to the campus last)...but from the looks of things, there is a variety to choose from and different options around the area as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this college campus, but the surroundings are beautiful. The campus itself is in a prime location, central to town as well as major highways and roads. However, you are still within the countryside. Absolute perfection.

    Academic Rigor

    If you work hard and are committed to getting good grades, and put in the time and effort necessary; no class is too challenging. The professors are there to answer your questions and to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions of the people who are there to help you: the counselors, financial aid advisors, current students. Enjoy the beauty of the campus and its surroundings, let them help you focus your energy on your studies.

    In three sentences

    Gave me the opportunity of a lifetime. The caring and understanding individuals who work here helped me to create my future. I will be forever grateful to Sussex County Community College

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt uncomfortable at the college. Most people know each other here so you will deal with drama but no immediate danger.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at this college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs at SCCC like the UMADD's and the Criminal Justice club that I am involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone who really loves Sussex County and wants to stay a local for their life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a few bbq's and offer a transfer fair every semester to give students an opportunity to learn about other colleges that they may be able to obtain a bachelors degree at.

    Bang for the buck

    The professor's will bend over backwards here if you show them that you are very ambitious and ready to go out into the work force with a degree.

    What to do for fun

    There next to nothing to do for fun at this school. The school has a soccer and baseball team but that is about it.

    Food and Dining

    The food does taste good, but with the amount of other places to eat around the campus the price of the food court drives everyone away.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life and it really takes away from the college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is rather low here. If you had a decent GPA in high school , you will have no problem passing here at SCCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best bit of advise as a current student I can offer is make friends quickly, and try and borrow books from each other. The campus book store is a complete waste of time and 10 out of 10 times you can find the books cheaper online and also can sell them back for more money. As well as borrowing books don't be so quick to buy all your book because a lot of professors do not even use them.

    In three sentences

    Over all the college provides students with a chance to stay local and keep their jobs, while taking a cheaper path to an associates degree. The classes are just as good as any university would teach. The school could be a little cheaper because of the fact that they offer nothing outside the classroom.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security on patrol and I've never heard or seen anything that would make me feel unsafe.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who might not be positive of what the want to do in life. Sccc has so many different courses so you can try a few of them out and see where your interests lie.

    Bang for the buck

    Start here go anywhere

    What to do for fun

    Check the campus calendar for upcoming events hosted at the college, theres something always going on.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is fairly large and has decent food

    Dorm Life

    There is no on site dorms

    Academic Rigor

    attendance means ALOT

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard Take advantage of using the counselor's for help- thats why they are there Think outside the box

    In three sentences

    Sccc has a great atmosphere which makes it a comfortable learning environment. Everyone in the counseling department is very helpful, especially for those of us coming in for the first time and not knowing what exactly to expect. Sccc Campus is small enough to not get completely lost, but is just big enough to have everything you need.

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot of safety buttons around campus in buildings and around side walks. Campus security walks around often and there are some street lights in the parking lot to provide light. Could be improved slightly.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs and activities, something for anyone, and if there isn't a club that you would like to join, you can easily start your own.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No traditions or locations, but the school used to be a boys only catholic school that was redesigned to be a college.

    Bang for the buck

    Sussex County Community College is reportedly the most expensive community college in New Jersey, however still cheaper than going to a four year right away.

    What to do for fun

    there is time set aside every week for college hour for free activities, good way to meet a lot of new people and hang out with friends

    Food and Dining

    Prices aren't bad, fast and good amount of options, theres also options of campus

    Dorm Life

    No dorming options (at least that I am aware of)

    Academic Rigor

    the classes vary depending on the professors, but you do learn a lot. The professors will provide extra help if asked for, and are very understanding and easy to work with.

    Tips for prospective students

    -never buy books from the book store (over priced and wont need the book half the time) -listen to other students recommendations of professors-usually they are all in agreement -register for classes ASAP so you have dont have to wait longer to graduate

    In three sentences

    Sussex County is a good place to start if you do not know what you want to do right away. A majority of the professors are very good, willing to put in extra time to help students who need help however there are a few who don't want to do the same. Everyone that goes there is really nice and it's easy to make friends.