Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Sweet Briar College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 out of 19 people found this review useful. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    One who: -likes small classes -wants to be known by her name instead of a number -wants to be challenged in a supportive environment

    Tips for prospective students

    When I was looking at colleges, Sweet Briar was at the bottom of my list until I took a tour. The campus is gorgeous and the people were so friendly and helpful. If you are considering SBC definitely come visit before you make your final college decision and don't be afraid to ask questions. Their are facebook groups for upcoming and prospective students so feel free to join and ask current students anything.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it's a private school it is expensive, but it's completely worth it. The school and this site : ) offer lots of scholarships to help out students. The teacher-student ratio is low so you get much more attention than you would at a public school. We just got a new gym which is really nice. There are lots of new indoor facilities to play sports, hold events, or offer fitness classes like Zumba. We also just got wireless internet connection all over campus, but if you don't have a laptop there are lots of Mac and Dell computers you can use all over campus. All guest artist concerts, productions, and lectures are completely free to students.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many clubs on campus that host events every month. If you want to get off campus, Lynchburg and Charlottesville aren't too far of a drive and they have lots of great restaurants and places to shop. There are lots of traditions to bond you to your sister class and let you get to know all sorts of people around campus

    Academic Rigor

    The level of difficulty in the courses vary just like they would anywhere. Most of the professors give you a syllabus for the semester and expect you to stay on top of the deadlines. If you struggle in a class there is this place called the ARC where tutors who are majoring in the subject can help you out with homework, papers, etc.

  • 10/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great if you love horses, history, ghosts, English, opportunities to go across the world, internships, one on one help and support, and if you genuinely love nature!

    Tips for prospective students

    Dear Prospective, Sweet Briar college is a well respected liberal arts college, and the people here are amazing; but when you get here don't expect everything to go smoothly. The professors will gladly help you if you feel like you're getting behind, but you need to be prepared for college. That means you need to be capable of handling stress and balancing your social life with that of your academic life. College is college is college.

    Bang for the buck

    So I think Sweet Briar is awesome, but the cost isn't as exciting. The tuition for Sweet Briar is around forty thousand per year. Not so great. However, Sweet Briar does offer many scholarships to help you with the tuition. As for BANG, I'd have to say Sweet Briar is amazing with tons of things to do, but sometimes can be a little pricey and, I believe at least, that you should be able to control yourself if you plan on coming here, because you could end up spending more than you actually have.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really love it here at Sweet Briar. The people are nice, the campus is breath taking, and the classes are amazing! I've been meeting people from all over the world, and I get so many opportunities to go to other countries! It's amazing!

    Am learning a lot

    This is my first semester in college and I am currently taking 13 credit hours. I'm learning so much! I'm really enjoying my classes and they go in depth! I'm enrolled in elemetary Greek and can already write sentences in Greek. I'm also enrolled in an English class, Honors Eugenics class, which is really interesting, a hiking course, Archeology class, learning about civilizations rising to power and why they fall, and a philosophy class that is seriously mind blowing! I've learned so much since I got here!!

  • 08/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 14 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to have success, those who want to be known by their professors and feel welcomed, those who can enjoy the bond between sisters, and those who really want to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't by afraid to ask anything you are curious about. Sweet Briar is always accepting of diversity and new personalities and ideas.

    Bang for the buck

    With our new gym and apartments, Sweet Briar is really growing. While the food isn't always worth our money, there are great computers, gym equipment, and free laundry that is worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    The traditions are awesome, the community is nice and beautiful, and there is always something going on. There are a lot of clubs and social events.

    Am learning a lot

    The courses are very interesting and the professors will help you with anything you need to make sure you understand the material.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sweet Briar has so many traditions. It surprised me a bit when I first got here, but now I see it as part of campus life.

    Food and Dining

    Well, they're trying.

    Dorm Life

    Beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard and you will achieve great things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard. It's not easy, but it's manageable.

    In three sentences

    Sweet Briar is a wonderful school where the academics are challenging, the friends are forever, and the professors know your name. You aren't a number here. Everything is personal.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is always willing to come out and help take you to class if you're injured, and help in any situation that may arise during the academic year.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a wide array of clubs on campus ranging from the model u.n to the harry potter club. there's a club for everyone on campus!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are tap clubs on campus rather than frats and sororities. they all correspond to different areas of campus like the theater department or dancers or the academic ones on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food isn't really home cooking but then again cafeteria food never is!! but the staff behind the counter are always friendly and interact with the students every now and then.

    Dorm Life

    the initial moving in process is a little hard. but once you get to know the hall mates and roommates it really makes the sbc better and you make friends that last a life time.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics at sweet briar are no joke. many believe that because this is a women's college, we major in crafting and sandwich making, but this institution prepares us to take on the world and show that we can do as much as any person.

    In three sentences

    sweet briar is a pretty campus that has amazing faculty and staff who are more than willing to help and listen. the small classes are perfect and offer the best teacher-student ratio.

  • 02/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    study hard types of students, students that need individualized attention, students that want to participate in class.

    Bang for the buck

    Since we are a small, private liberal arts college, we don't provide a lot of funding. I myself am having some trouble. But I love this school, my department and the friends that I have made in the past two years and so I am willing to fight to stay here.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something to do here. Whether you leave to hang out with men in one of the nearby colleges or stay here and enjoy one of the events from the CEO or another club on campus, you're never left alone. Our college is big on the sisterhood that we create as an all women's college and we try to foster a very encouraging and friendly environment. You could go somewhere with SWEBOP or go to a Late Night Vixen event or if you're a Thursday person, head to the boathouse.

    Am learning a lot

    This is the school to come to if you want to learn. There hasn't been a single class where I haven't learned one new thing. The classes are small, the professors know your name and if you ever have trouble or a question, they can help you. If you're looking for a college that has a lot of parties and hope to get lost among the masses of students, it isn't here. But if you're ready to learn, come here.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food here is okay, its not the best at all.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here could be a lot better, its not like most colleges. But you learn to deal with it here. You have to live on campus and in dorms during the four years. The dorms are a pretty good size rooms. There is a kitchen in every dorm, which helps out when you want to make something fast. You share a bathroom with your whole hall.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are excellent here! The classes are a small size, which allows you to interact with the class and your professor. It also makes it better for the learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really know what you want to major in and look into the major at Sweet Briar and make sure that is what you want to do. I have changed my major twice already. Make sure you are really going to enjoy it and it will be a great fit for you

    In three sentences

    Sweet Briar is an excellent college to get the education you want for what you want to do. The professors are so good on helping you out and getting to know you very well. Sweet Briar overall really cares about their students academic

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Sweet Briar is great for women who want to get ahead, be heard, and are willing to work hard for their dream. It is not always enough to just go to a great school, you also have to put forth the effort and make your time in college stand out on paper.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking of joining the Sweet Briar family, I would say go for it. The cost is high, but the financial aid advisers are more than willing to help you out. When you do get here, be sure to jump right in with your schoolwork, getting involved on campus, and use Sweet Briar to the fullest of its capabilities.

    Bang for the buck

    At this college, everyone can become a leader in what they are most passionate about. Getting involved is easy and doing so looks wonderful on your resume. The caliber of professors here is top notch, many are published and distinguished members in their field of work. The professors are always available to help, even when it is not their office hours and they love to help their students.

    Am enjoying being here

    Sweet Briar quickly becomes a second family while you are away from home. The amount of students is relatively small, but even still, you will not know everyone and there are always opportunities to meet new people. The traditions at this college are very strong and provide more of an outlet for you to get to know more people and it instills a sense of pride in your school.

    Am learning a lot

    Sweet Briar College is a liberal studies college where you can get experience across the board. You can design your own major if the college does not offer what you want and a team of departmental advisers will help formulate a plan to meet your goal. Since it is a liberal arts college, you will take classes outside of your major so that you have a full understanding of various fields.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The best school i have found by far for small, hands on learning. they focus on the goals and aspirations of women and give them the best possible chance for succeeding in graduate school or the career world.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Independent women who will do great things

    Bang for the buck

    A bit expensive but worth every penny

    Food and Dining

    great food compared to some schools

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Great classes, small, the professors do care about your grades. if you need help they are there for you

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus and make sure it feels like home

    In three sentences

    I did a year at Hollins, in Roanoke, Va, I did not like Hollins at all. Sweet Briar is the school for you and I know YOU wont regret it. best of luck getting in.

  • 05/24/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I believe this school is great for women that want to accomplish something during their college career. Sweet Briar has a beautiful campus and dedicated teacher that are there to help you further you learning. It's just a great school made just specifically for women.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Interested in learning and personal contact with professors. Interested in quiet. One can either be involved and the star of everything, or be anonymous in a scenic area. Not for the city folk.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends early, don't party too hard, and try different things while you can. But don't lose track of your schooling. Freshman year is the shell-shock, be prepared to take care of yourself. You make it what you want to.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but so is every college. There are decent scholarships though, and the teachers pay very close attention to you, and know you by name. You can get one on one with all your professors; its well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    For the most part, I do. It is a beautiful campus with very caring people. Nonetheless, it is a bit small and the dining staff is a bit annoying. Once people think something of you, that's it, and many people are nosy, but if you can make a few good friends, its peaceful and very open.

    Academic Rigor

    While my first year was a bit repetitive to the courses in senior year, however, much more thorough and enlightening. I learned so much in my mathematics class, and finally understood physics concepts that I only passed in highschool. I have gotten many ideas for inventions and have applied advanced concepts I never could before to real life. I have now taken higher level courses and have gotten to do so much. I love machine design and my small classes.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the most secure campus ever. there have never been any security issues.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have far too many traditions to list. they are an integral part of the sweet briar experience.

    Bang for the buck

    sweet briar is a private college and is very expensive, however attention out of class, small class sizes, and a personal feel are definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    riding is our primary entertainment. we also have a theater on campus, frequent outdoor trips, and malls in the area.

    Food and Dining

    the staff is amazing and very accommodating. many of the student requested changes are made or given another option.

    Dorm Life

    we live in palaces compared to most college dorms. most have wood floors, air conditioning, and full kitchens. the rooms are huge.

    Academic Rigor

    sweet briar is very easy to be accepted to, but very difficult to stay and the retention rate reflects that. professors will fail you for missing too many classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    present yourself as who you want to be in ten years, even if you are far from it now. it is easier for the college to help you decide if this is the right place for you.

    In three sentences

    sweet briar is one of the best decisions i have made. the college provides a personal education and dedicated professors.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    sweet briar, like every college, is really expensive. however, they're dorms are so much nicer than a lot of colleges, the campus is beautiful, the classes sound amazing, and, most importantly, they have a lot of financial aid oppurtunities. i won $20,000 a year in merit aid alone.

    Food and Dining

    i have heard that the only real problems with the food is lack of variety, but that doesn't seem like a big deal.

    Dorm Life

    money issues have kept me from seeing the campus, but i have done a lot of research on the sweet briar dorms, and they sound really nice. the dorms of other colleges i have seen don't come with half the amenities offered in a standard sbc dorm. i have also read that they have a really nice on campus apartment complex that houses 60 students.

    Academic Rigor

    i want to major in english/creative writing, and i have been doing extensive research on the department, and the classes sound both really challenging and incredibly interesting.

    In three sentences

    it has a beautiful campus, and amazing housing. the english department looks incredible, and they have a lot of study-abroad programs for those looking for that. i have had nothing but good experiences with the staff of sweet briar.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because it is an all womens college campus safety is take very seriously. There are security guards always available and always around, they are even kind enough to give you a lift from the library to your dorm at night or if it is raining. I always felt safe walking around campus by myself and never felt like I was in any danger.

    Greek Life

    Sweet Briar does not have Greek Life, however it does have Tap Clubs, which basically is the same thing with a different name. The Tap Clubs range from dancing and singing, to the funniest and the clumsiest. Most of them are very selective and while for the more traditional ones you have to audition, some of them you simply have to be able to stand out from the crowd and they pick you.

    Clubs and Activities

    As said above there are a lot of activities that go on around the year nad are usually put on by the clubs. There is a wide variety of clubs and it is easy to set up new ones for clubs that are not yet in existence.

    Great for these types of students

    Women who are confident and individualistic, who know what they want and are on a direct road to getting it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the best things about Sweet Briar is the traditions! It is really what hooked me about this school. They have dozens of traditions and rituals around the year that are fun and festive and just make the atmosphere really comfortable. From Step Singing in both the fall and Spring to Lantern Bearing and even class rivalries, they really make the classes come together as a whole.

    Bang for the buck

    This is purely a personal ranking and simply because I went to Sweet Briar having no idea what I wanted and soon realized that this was not the place to figure my life out. If you are positive of what you want and are able to work directly towards that then I am sure it would be a lot more beneficial.

    What to do for fun

    Traditional Thursday night Boathouse's. They are fun and rowdy and crazy as can be! And can really take the edge off of going to class on Friday... usually because participants rarely make it to class on Friday... but they are definitely worth exploring. There are also a ton of events that are put on by the Campus Event Organizers, they have movie nights once a month and many other holiday themed parties that are fun and frilly!

    Food and Dining

    It was average campus food. Nothing noteworthy and nothing too horrible.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the most beautiful buildings I have ever seen, and the students get to live in them!! The rooms are fairly large (compared to most other dorms) and the amount of storage space is amazing!! They really take into account that it is all girls, there are HUGE closets and you also have pretty big dressers!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are decent and the professors are very accessible so that if you are having difficulties it will not be difficult to get the help that is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware of what you want. As much as it seems like it, this is not the college to find your bearings (especially at the price). It is a college to go to with an idea of what you want and where you want to go.

    In three sentences

    It is EXTREMELY small. Like unbelievably, have lunch with your professors, and know over half of the students, small. That was the biggest problem that I had with it, and it really depends on what you want and who you want to become, because being in such close proximity with girls that are all like minded you will similarly join the cult with little difficulty.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its a great learning environment for those who are serious about learning. It's for those trend setters who prefers to live out loud than be contained in a box.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sweet Briar has Lots of traditions. One of which is our tap clubs. But in order to find out more, you have to come visit.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition for sweet briar has a hefty price but it's worth every penny. Its a really hands on school that is constantly concern its students.

    What to do for fun

    We often hang out in the lounges that can be found throughout campus. Lots of the clubs on campus throw various programs to keep us involved.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the food is okay and other times its something else. During lunch there is a sandwich line and a pizza station. If you don't feel like dining at Prothro you can go to the Bistro located in the fitness center.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman are given roommates, but during the spring semester before room selection begins, students are able to pick their roommates for the coming year. Most dorms are for two residents but there are triplets and quads. There is and RA available 24/7 who can help with any issues.

    Academic Rigor

    Sweet Briar is academically challenging. The Professors constantly provide challenges for us to overcome and excel because they know that we are capable of whatever they throw at us. They are always willing to help us when we get stuck.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before deciding on which school you go to. When I first visited the campus, I knew this was the place I wanted to be. Don't let your self get overwhelmed. If you don't really know what you want to major in, don't sweat it. Decide what your interested in and pick your school based on your personality because at the end of the day, your the one spending four years at the college you choose.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school with amazing people. The faculty is great and are always willing to help even if your question has nothing to do with their department. It's a great place for learning and discovering who you are.

  • 06/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone who wants to learn in small classes but is willing to work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    I hope to see you there!

    Bang for the buck

    I have gotten several scholarships from the school so yes, it is a great bang for the buck.

    Will enjoy being here

    I can't wait to get there. I have been counting down until I leave home to go to Sweet Briar

    Will learn a lot

    I am looking forward to learning from such wonderful instructors.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a big deal at Sweet Briar. The honor code is huge and the staff expects you to follow it at all times. It is rare that you hear of anything bad happening at Sweet Briar. Trust goes a long way. For example, you could leave your laptop in the library overnight and it would still be there in the morning.

    Greek Life

    Although Sweet Briar doesn't have Greek Life, Tap Clubs replace sororities on campus. If you're lucky enough to be tapped into one of these clubs, you'll experience a sense of sisterhood unlike any other.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and sports you can immerse yourself in during your time at Sweet Briar. The riding program is great for seasoned riders or beginners. Varsity sports include field hockey, softball, lacrosse, soccer, and swimming.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a personalized degree, lots of face time with your professors, and a safe, nurturing environment to learn in, Sweet Briar is perfect. The class sizes are small and you never feel like just a number.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshman are paired with Juniors in the Big Sister/Little Sister program to help new students acclimate to the new college environment. The Freshman own the hitching post while the Sophomores own the rock on campus. At the beginning of the year, each class comes together to have a paint fight. The night before finals, everyone gathers at the bell tower to scream out their frustration on Scream Night. There are so many other traditions and also many, many acres of trails to hike on throughout campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Since SBC is a private liberal arts college, the price tag is rather large at first. However, the possibilities are endless regarding academics and extracurricular activities. You have many resources available at this small school that you wouldn't at a larger university. Plus, Sweet Briar is great at helping you afford the school by handing out great scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Sweet Briar is about 15 minutes outside of Lynchburg. It is a residential campus with a lot going on all the time. There is rarely nothing to do on campus. Paired with SBC's great traditions and extracurricular activities, you'll never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Sweet Briar is delicious. Depending on which meal plan you sign up for, the chefs are always there to meet whatever dietary needs you may have. There are multiple places on campus to eat as well as kitchens in the dorms available to students after hours.

    Dorm Life

    Sweet Briar has pretty spacious dorms in a safe environment. The honor code is big on campus, that way you don't need to worry about safety and theft. SBC is a residential campus, so don't worry about being left behind on the weekends!

    Academic Rigor

    Although Sweet Briar isn't an Ivy League school, the academic rigor seems to be top notch. SBC has a great Honors program that will keep you busy.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a safe, friendly environment, Sweet Briar is the college for you. You're options are basically unlimited and the school is affordable despite the original price tag.

    In three sentences

    Sweet Briar has an extremely nurturing atmosphere. It feels safe and welcoming. The faculty and staff are encouraging and there are so many options available to build your own degree.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety staff does everything they can to protect and help us, whether it is giving you a ride when it is raining or escorting an unwanted guest off of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything, and if there isn't then it is easy to start a club up.

    Great for these types of students

    Sweet Briar is not just for preppy rich girls, most girls here aren't rich at all. We have every kind of girl here, we're a spectrum of beautiful diversity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a ghost, her name is Daisy. She died at the age of 16, and her mother founded the college in honor of her. Every year all the students climb up Memorial Hill to lay daisies on her grave in honor of her and her parents.

    Bang for the buck

    As a private school it is expensive, most girls here have scholarships or have a job on campus. But girls who get involved and find their niche will remember the college forever.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities and clubs that you can join, and the campus is huge and great for exploring. Nevertheless, chances are you will either want a car or be friends with someone with a car so you can get off of campus every now and then.

    Food and Dining

    It's improved since last year. And the girls love the soft serve machine.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms tend to vary by building and class, some dorm buildings are known for their impressive singles but the quads and triples will be small. As long as you are with your friends though, or you are able to make new friends you'll enjoy yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the classes you take, if you want to have a challenging semester you can, but if you'd prefer to have a laid back semester it is easy to arrange that as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in a few things, the more you put into your experience here the more you'll get out of it.

    In three sentences

    Sweet Briar College is nestled in the low mountains of Virginia, providing a picturesque campus filled with history, nature, and space to breathe. Here girls become empowered women who are educated and strong in their convictions. It is difficult not to love the time, people, sights, and memories this college holds in story for any girl who comes here.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is extremely helpful. They are there for anything you need from something serious to it being pouring rain outside and you need a ride to the other side of campus.

    Greek Life

    Sweet Briar does not have any sororities because the campus community is small its like being in a sorority anyway!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs that you can definitely find something to get involved in. And as for activities, there is normally something going on everyday from crafting, to shuttles to local places, to kayaking trips.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so many traditions at this campus that everyone is constantly getting ready for something. There are things like Step Singing, Founder's Day, and Big Sister-Little Sister program.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many places to dinner in walking distance of the campus since its in the woods in a small town. But the Bistro on campus is nice, and the main dining hall has some nice options.

    Dorm Life

    I am day student, so I don't know much about the dorms. They seem to be pretty nice for such an old college.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge the students and expect them to be at class and working on their materials, but they are willing to work with you to make the experience easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sweet Briar can be on the expensive side, so check with your admissions counselor and ask about scholarships. They provide a lot of money and help quite a bit.

    In three sentences

    Sweet Briar College is a beautiful campus that holds together a tight knit community. The college provides many opportunities for students to succeed and receive training and experience outside the classroom. I love the professors and the classes; they are challenging me to reach newer heights without overloading me.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Hampden Sydney, tailgating, shopping in Charlottesville, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Ehh...I've had better. But it's definitely not terrible. My preferences just tend to differ from their menu.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty good- more so when you're and upperclassmen (junior/senior). I love my single!

    Academic Rigor

    It's definitely a challenge. Professors will push you to your limit but in the most positive and encouraging way possible,

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure this is the school for you. I love Sweet Briar, but it's definitely not for everyone. Many girls end up transferring due to cabin fever so to speak. It's a very small school, located in a very remote area. If you are an involved individual who actually wants to participate in the school's activities and traditions, this is the place for you! If not, it may not be your best match. Also, to minorities: As a black student, in a majority white, conservative, school, I have faced may struggles- especially my first year there. That's something to think about when asking yourself if you want to be apart of this school and their culture.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Sweet Briar is a good college. The professors are hands on, you meet life long friends, and gain useful life experiences as you continue on through the years. I think I made an okay decision to enroll here.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Our Outdoor Program is the best! We also have a wide variety of clubs, and you can also start your own if you want!

    Bang for the buck

    Great! Its expensive, but I received several merit scholarships and get soooo much personal attention from my professors here.

    What to do for fun

    We have so many different options. If you want to party, you can party. We may be all-women's, but if you want to find guys, you will find them! We have an awesome outdoor program, I do whitewater kayaking and rock climbing with them. Our Campus Events Organization puts on different events and a dance and does several movie nights a semester.

    Food and Dining

    Its just okay, some nights are better than others. They are pretty good about catering to all different sorts of dietary restrictions.

    Dorm Life

    Great, the roommate I was matched with freshman year became my best friend! Our rooms are also pretty big compared to other college's dorms and have hardwood floors and big closets!

    Academic Rigor

    We have a pretty broad range of difficulty in classes, but the professors really want to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come stay the night! It helps you get the best feel for the campus and is an amazing experience! Our admissions counselors are also fantastic, they will really get to know you and help you make your decision.

    In three sentences

    The professors really get to know you and are willing to help you in any way possible. The traditions are one of my favorite parts. The whole community is very personal.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is excellent. We have an open campus from 6AM to 6PM, but at night we do restrict access to campus via a checkpoint system. I've always felt remarkably safe and never had a problem... or at least, the one time I did, Campus Safety was on it and happy to kick the problem off campus.

    Greek Life

    We do not have Greek Life, but we do have Tap Clubs! Tap clubs are student interest-based organizations on campus that each have a rival. We have 11 clubs total--obviously number 11 is still waiting on a rival! Some of my favorite rivalries: Sweet Tones and Ear Phones (Sweet Tones can sing, Ear Phones are just plain loud!), Paint 'N' Patches and Ain'ts 'N' Asses (PnP enjoys theatre, AnA enjoys... comedic skits resembling theatre), Taps on Toes and Falls on Nose (TNT can dance, FON falls on their noses to help others).

    Clubs and Activities

    We have around fifty different clubs on campus, so there are plenty of options for every interest. Starting a club is also quite easy.

    Great for these types of students

    Intelligent, motivated young women who want to get the most out of their four years in college... and have a lot of fun along the way!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have tons of unusual traditions. I suggest checking out the college's website, but I'll give you some of my favorites to look out for: Rock and Hitching Post Fight, Step-Singing, Lantern Bearing, and Scream Night.

    Bang for the buck

    The degree you get from Sweet Briar is worth every penny. First of all, we are one of the so-called Seven Sisters of the South and our college has a good name behind it. Beyond that, choosing women's-only education prepares us to take on the world. The benefits of a women's college are phenomenal, but not very well known. You gain so much out of attending a women's college (confidence, poise, articulacy, etc.) that it's a decision you won't regret. The friendships formed at SBC last a lifetime, too.

    Food and Dining

    It's college food. It's not the best food you've ever had, but it's definitely not the worst. I've been on a lot of college campuses and would have to say we have some of the best. The dining hall is very accommodating of allergies and dietary needs, however, and we do have an entire vegetarian station. Not to mention, we do have fresh made-to-order eggs every morning and made-to-order pancakes on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    Our residence halls are very nice. No cinderblock walls and bars on the windows here! We're very lucky to have nice, plain plaster walls, hardwood floors, and nice big windows with a (usually) great view. Our buildings are older with all the charms of a vintage residence hall, complete with visiting parlor (now a lounge area). Doors are usually left unlocked because of our honor code. Rooms range from singles to quads and we also have apartment living for upperclasswomen.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough. Because of our round-table discussion style of learning, you have to know your stuff, but you also get so much more out of your education. By the same token, professors care a lot about their students, so if you are struggling you can always go to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're worried about attending a women's college for any reason, don't be. It's not nearly as scary or as strange as you might think, I promise. At one point, just about every student was a skeptic. To put it simply, men are here when we want them, and not when we don't. It's as simple as that! My best advice is to consider visiting campus--that's the best way to find out what it's really like.

  • 04/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wants to be a female leader Equestrians who want to expand their experiences and get their academics Wants to be know by her name instead of a number Seeks a supportive environment that fosters succees

    Tips for prospective students

    First and foremost: Come visit. A website may be great and informative, but nothing lets you get a feel for the atmosphere and culture of a college like visiting. I would suggest coming for an open house visit and a separate visit by yourself to observe how students interact. If possible stay overnight. It's important to choose the right place for you.

    Bang for the buck

    As a private school, Sweet Briar is expensive. However, there are many merit scholarships and financial aid awards to help offset the cost. The cost is worth it. You will receive a quality education, a gorgeous campus to live on, the opportunity to ride horses year round at an amazing facility, and connections through alumnae and professionals who come on campus for conferences and recruiting.

    Am enjoying being here

    I wasn't entirely sure about going to an women's college since I went to a co-ed public high school, but I love it here. The campus is gorgeous all year round, and most everyone is friendly. The all women's aspect is actually empowering because you are surround by women who are succeeding and leading for four years. We learn to expect ourselves to be able to succeed, and I feel I will be ready to enter the rest of the world when I graduate.

    Am learning a lot

    There is a low student to professor ratio here which lets students get a lot of personal attention in classes. The academics are challenging without being overwhelming because there are people who are always ready to help you whether the professor of tutors at the Academic Resource Center. Everyone wants you to succeed at Sweet Briar.

  • 08/24/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looks like a great school

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Sweet Briar is currently my first choice. It looks like a positively amazing school, and I can tell from the reactions of alumni and current students that it is worth it. I'll definitely apply to this school next year.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    BEAUTIFUL CAMPUS

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    YOU MUST APPLY AND GO, IT WILL BE COMPLETELY WORTH IT

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many fun things and traditions to find and do at Sweet Briar. When you get to college yo have a battle to paint a post and you have dances and even funny costumes day. You can find different activities. you can take a hike around the 3000 acre campus, take a horseback ride, and even go rock climbing

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is very well done. The food is prepared and you can eat for a couple hours each meal. you meet many people and even teachers in the dining hall. There is alot of good healthy food and you get a different variety of types of food.

    Dorm Life

    In the dorms you get to meet many different people. You meet many people from all over the country and even from different countries. Because there are not alot of students at this college you get to meet many and most of the students at school.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is hard. If you know how to study and are very good at preparing and keeping up with assignments then you will do very well.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would take a look at the campus and schedule a visit to see and get a feel for the campus and the people that attend there. I would constantly keep in touch with your admission councelor if you do apply and get accepted to Sweet Briar.

    In three sentences

    I love Sweet Briar because It has a great campus and it has many proffessors who want to help you. It has a great academic program and it also has a small classroom size; It has a 8:1 student teacher ratio. I love that many of the classes are small and you can have acess to the teachers and have them help you.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    From what I have heard about Sweet Briar it is an amazing school with some of the best teachers around. I am really excited to visit there over the summer and see what it is about. Their riding program seems to be very advanced for even the most basic beginners, which is nice because not many colleges have this opportunity.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    basically focus only on giving tickets

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    very cliquish to get involved in

    Great for these types of students

    horse enthusiasts, girls with A LOT of money to blow

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    tap clubs

    Bang for the buck

    VERY EXPENSIVE and you don't get a good return on your investment

    What to do for fun

    ride horses (if you have one), watch tv in your dorm, sit around and do homework

    Food and Dining

    not very good, preferred eating soup in my room to the prepared food at Prothro

    Dorm Life

    gross dorms, not well kept, my ceiling would crack and fall on me and my roommate

    Academic Rigor

    average

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like horses this is a good place for you, otherwise don't go. If you're still considering it and don't like horses, show up unannounced to Sweet Briar because that's the only way to get a true feel. They have a tendency to try to make things seem better than they are.

    In three sentences

    Good if you like small atmosphere, low-key environments and horses. Otherwise, I wouldn't recommend it.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is a pain! They have no remorse for anyone and you have to park behind the dining hall (which is the only approved student parking, except Guion and the art barn) or else you will get a ticket. I received one ticket first semester then three second semester (SBC got a new head safety officer and all the rules were strictly enforced).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tap clubs are a neat thing to become a part of, but you must be tapped to become part of the tap club.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private institution, it costs a lot of money. For this coming year, the tuition went up 3.7%.

    Food and Dining

    Food can be ok. They can not add any flavoring (such as spices) to the food due to people with food allergies.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is 30 minutes away from Lynchburg, which is the closest town to really do anything in. It is like living in a bubble, SBC is often referred to as the pink bubble. You have to find something to do on weekends cause SBC rarely has anything offered.

    In three sentences

    Sweet Briar College is a close community of good students. The teachers are willing to help every student succeed and will answer their phones at anytime of night if you have questions. It is a great school for Pre-Med Students.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hahahaha. NEED TO BE INVOLVE IN CLUBS, CAMPUS Life OR APART OF AN ORGANIZATION. Everything else is far away and closes early. Thursday Nights is Boat House not really held at the boat house. It held in the den.

    Food and Dining

    fairly good. not many options ... but has been improving... slowly

    Dorm Life

    some room are very spacious and but all the closets are nice. Grammar, Reid, Dew Manson are the best Residency halls. Meta Glass is the best because it connected to dinning hall .

    Tips for prospective students

    Vist the College more than once before making your decision. Be honest when filling out your residence portion of the application.

    In three sentences

    Sweet Briar is a very beautiful open campus. The student body and is staff is nice. Professor are truly dedicated to their students.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sweet Briar Campus saftey is the best! They are nice, and really care about protecting the students! They even take you to class if its raining!

    Greek Life

    Even though we don't have Sororities, we have Tap Clubs. Which is basically the same thing! Each club has rivals, and everything!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are Clubs for everything here, you think of it, we have it!

    Great for these types of students

    Studious, and students who want to get a lot of hands on experiences!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so many traditions at Sweet Briar! From paint fights, to getting a big, and even Tap Clubs! An unusual location on campus in the Boathouse, its located on a lake, and its just a great place to relax, and even fish!

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for at this school. Its worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot to do for fun! We always have our Campus Organization Club planning something for the students to do!

    Food and Dining

    Sweet Briar does have a meal plan, so for Breakfast,Lunch, and Dinner, food is available, and it taste so good!

    Dorm Life

    Living in the Dorms, is really fun. You meet so many people, and the RA's are the best.

    Academic Rigor

    Sweet Briar is definitely a school where you have to keep up Academically. However, you are able to have a personal connection with each of your professors, which is nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the campus before making a decision.

    In three sentences

    Sweet Briar is a very well-rounded school, that has the most beautiful campus. The professors care about each of their students, and the faculty is the amazing. Sweet Briar feels like home away from home.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Horse enthusiasts, women that love learning, those not bothered by cabin fever or by everyone on campus knowing all about your business 24/7

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Boathouse is located on our lower lake. Great place to go swim or tan when the weather is nice. There's a graveyard of the founder's daughter located near the stables. It has a beautiful view of the campus. Tap clubs are like sororities and you either audition or are chosen to get into one.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive, but they give you a lot of scholarships. The academic experience is great. Social life is lacking.

    What to do for fun

    Party at Boathouse on Thursday, Go to Hampden-Sydney or UVA on the weekends, go home if you live close enough. The surrounding area is very rural and just terrible. The most fun thing you can do around here is go to Wal-Mart.

    Food and Dining

    Food is usually pretty terrible and inedible. Don't be fooled. When there are prospective weekends and other such events on campus, they prepare the food EXPONENTIALLY better to try to trick you that the food is better than it actually is on a daily basis. The dining hall hours are also pretty awful considering they are only open for a couple hours a day. If you miss dining hall hours, tough luck if you don't have a car. The closest city with decent fast food is about 30 minutes away. Also, those fast food places close around 9 pm so that's also lame. There is a bistro on campus that you can eat at 3 times a week for free, but that food gets old. It's pretty good though.

    Dorm Life

    I'm giving dorm life three stars because of the people that live on my floor. My former roommate moved out and is SUPER catty and basically turned most of the floor (not to mention our entire class) against me for no apparent reason. The people here also like to run and scream at 2 am on a Tuesday and it's really annoying. The dorms themselves are pretty nice. There's plenty of storage space and, the rooms are a pretty decent size if you bunk your beds. There's also a kitchen in all of the dorms. Meta Glass has a kitchen on every floor. The bathrooms are also shared with your entire hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are awesome. Professors are nice and helpful. The biggest class I've had is about 28 people, but my average class size is about 8 students. The professors are great about helping you out and have your best interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please please please visit the school first. They do like to pad their info packets a bit and make things seem a little too good to be true.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My tour guide said that she has the campus safety officers' numbers and she feels comfortable calling them whenever she needs help, whether it's a ride back to campus (if stranded near campus, but too far to walk), an injury she can't walk on, or a suspicious person around campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life, however there are Tap Clubs. These are a very unique aspect to this school and those who are involved in tap clubs are very proud of their status.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 50 clubs (or so I've heard), so there's something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Women who want to stand out, be heard, be recognized for their talents, small class sizes and a great experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At Sweet Briar, they have a few unique traditions. There's the scroll game, where seniors gather around a circle and pass around a scroll a few times until finally the girl who the scroll belongs to takes it, and that's how she shares which graduate school she will be moving onto. There is a similar game called the ring game, where instead of a scroll, a ring is passed around, and the girl who takes the ring at the end of the game announces that she's been engaged to. There's step singing, where the juniors sing to the seniors on the senior steps. There's a game where the freshmen and the sophomores race to paint the other's class symbol (freshmen have their hitching post and the sophomores have their rock). I was told that typically, the sophomores let the freshmen win.

    Bang for the buck

    A Sweet Briar degree is definitely worth the money you pour into it. There are so many great opportunities you can get while in school and even after you graduate from your professors.

    What to do for fun

    There were many posters around campus for events that were going on on campus. Sweet Briar is about 1 1/2 hours away from everything in Virginia, pretty much, so it's easy to take a day trip to Roanoke or Richmond, or even DC. King's Dominion and Busch Gardens are both fairly close (I believe Busch Gardens is a little farther away, probably 2 hours, so it's still not too bad).

    Food and Dining

    The food was AMAZING. Since it's a small school, they can afford to make high-quality food. My friend's dad is the guy in charge of University of Richmond's dining hall and he even said the food was amazing.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm I toured and stayed in was beautiful. The rooms had HUGE ceilings, which I adore, since my ceilings are very low. The showers and toilets in that dorm weren't ideal, but they were tolerable. There are apartments on campus that are meant for the seniors, and they sound amazing. They're planning on adding solar panels to the roofs to make the apartments more energy-efficient. I can't comment on freshmen dorms as I haven't seen them yet!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I sat in on were very in depth and it was difficult for me to keep up. However, the classes weren't entry-level courses, so it's only natural a newcomer wouldn't get it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Sit in on a couple of classes if you can. It not only gives you a sneak peak to what college will be like; it also lets you see what classes at Sweet Briar are like. When I sat in on a few classes, there were about half the amount or even less students than any of my high school classes have. See also if you can spend a night in a dorm with a current student. If you are able to, ask as many questions you can think of! Don't hold back, and don't worry about annoying the girl you're staying with -- she understands!

    In three sentences

    Sweet Briar is a beautiful school with a great sense of community. The buildings combine historical and modern seamlessly. The class sizes are a huge selling point.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a very safe campus. And campus security tend to be helpful.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of clubs it is very easy to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want a quiet landscape and want to study. If you don't really have a bustling social life and parties are few and far between for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a paint fight between the freshmen and sophomores.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, do your best to get financial aid and work hard.

    What to do for fun

    The great outdoors and programs put on by the school. Get creative with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is bad.

    Dorm Life

    People socialize frequently in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's small but hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Walk and around campus, it's beautiful. Talk to students. Understand that Sweet Briar is in the middle of nowhere.

    In three sentences

    This school has a great biology program. It's nice and small. Professors know my name even as a freshman.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student myself, I have pay special attention to the proffessor-student interaction in my college searches. Sweet Briar seems to have the best I have seen so far

    In three sentences

    This one of the most tight knit and tradition-based schools I have found. There is a great emphasis on an individual learning- you are not a number here. The small class sizes make the learning process engaging and brings out the student's intrest.

  • 05/23/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, the whole student body lives by the Honor Code. If you leave your bike outside without securing it, it well be there when you come back for it after class. The worst trouble people get in is a parking ticket.

    Great for these types of students

    Women Leaders looking for a place to flourish. Who are want small classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are fun traditions like the tap clubs, Big sister, and singing on the stairs. There is a lake with a boat house and trails runs throughout the campus.

    Food and Dining

    It is great, they have several places to get food and they have Sweet Cash which is like a card that you and/or your parents can deposit money to use for food.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are a good size but the stairs can kill lol

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very personal and adv., but it is worth it. You can also create your own major if one isn't available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit! Ask a lot of questions.

    In three sentences

    I fell in love with Sweet Briar <3 The class sizes are small, therefore you get to know your professors :) The campus is full of trails and opportunity.