Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Tabor College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Tabor is the place for students who want to have their lives changed and mind's blown. If you are willing to come and be changed, you will be. The power and presence of God is so evident on campus and Tabor is a wonderful place to get real about your relationship with God, friendships, the present, and definitely the future. Although Hillsboro is a small town, it can be a great place for city folk to have a more rural experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think it is really important to visit the campus. By spending a day seeing what you have heard about, you can really know for sure whether Tabor is where you want to attend. Ask any questions you may have. The admissions staff is incredibly friendly and are more than willing to clarify anything for you. Make sure you are well informed so that you can feel more confident about your decisions.

    Bang for the buck

    Because Tabor is a small private college, it is quite a bit more pricey than some colleges or universities. Finances have been a struggle for me, but I don't believe that I could pay enough money for the opportunities I have at Tabor and those I will have in the future. Because I believe Tabor is above and beyond the majority of schools, I am willing to do whatever it takes to overcome the financial hurdle and remain where I am.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love being at Tabor. Everywhere I go on campus I feel like I am where I am supposed to be. The professors genuinely care about the students, it seems that all students are friendly, and the food is really great as well! The relationships I have build so far at Tabor sharpen me, encourage me, and grow me more than any others I have been in throughout my life. The opportunities offered by Tabor are absolutely enjoyable while giving me a chance to stretch myself and be involved in Ministry.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so very much at Tabor and the best part is that it is all so very applicable. The things I learn in communication classes teach me how to interact better with those who cross my path and the things I learn in Bible class strengthen my relationship with God and teach me how to better study His word. It seems that no matter what class I am in I am interested and have a better understanding of how these topics are at work in my own life. However, Tabor is also teaching me a great deal about non-academic things. For instance, for the first time in my life I am truly seeing community at work. It is amazing to be a functional part of the Body of Christ in an environment like Tabor. Although I learn so much in my classes, it is the time spend with friends or time dedicated to extra-curricular activities that are truly educating me about real-life issues.

  • 05/21/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tabor seems to be a great school. I know Tabor and I both will benefit in great things with me attending.

    Will enjoy being here

    When I visited Tabor College everyone treated me like family. I'm sure I will have the time of my life at Tabor.

    Will learn a lot

    Tabor would be a very different environment for me being that I am a city person. I plan to adapt to this new surrounding and learn a lot that I never knew.

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Reading is one thing and visiting is another. You can read and read and read about a college but to get a real feel for whether it is a college that would fit you, you should visit. The atmosphere and size and look of a campus can mean a lot when making a decision on a college. So if you're deciding between a few colleges definately visit them and then decide which one seems right for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Tabor is a little bit pricier than most colleges. Being a private Christian college its prices are a little higher. But because its a Christian college not only am i learning about the subjects Im taking but I'm also learning how to better my walk with Christ and learning from strong Philosophy and Theological professors. And if that is something that is important to you than i would say that even though its pricier it is still worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying Tabor College very much. I have made many friends here and many that will carry on from Tabor. I like the small town and small college. You get to know more people at a small college i think. And even though the town is small and there are less attractions, you get to be more creative and find fun and cheap ways to have a good time. Overall its a fun place to go to college.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot at Tabor College, but while I am learning in the class I'm also learning about life outside of college and how to be a better person when i leave Tabor. College definitely is a time to mature and grow in your thinking as well as responsibility. And while you can learn that at any college I think that Tabor, being a small school, the professors are more invested in there students. So they not only pass on what you need to know for the class they also pass on there life lessons and lessons learned from mistakes. With the small class sizes its easier for them to be invested not only in your education but your life as well and you form bonds with your professors spanning more than teacher student relations but also more mentor roles. And while it is a decidedly Christian college I am also learning to be a better christian and a better person overall.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes on scholarship, students who like to be involved in on-campus activities

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and get to know everyone!

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely well lit at night and I have never felt threatened.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am involved in FCA and Creation Care Club; however, there are a variety of clubs on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Who are looking to integrate their faith and education. If you want somewhere to grow spiritually and educationally this is a great place!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year the campus brings in someone to help deal with diversity problems among our campus to help bring us closer together.

    Bang for the buck

    Tabor college is on the higher side for tuition but the experience you have while you are here is well worth it!

    What to do for fun

    There are always a variety of clubs throwing events and games! Tabor College is known for the athletic teams, so there are always many games to watch. Though the town is small, Tabor has a big heart and there is always something for you to do.

    Food and Dining

    Something great about our cafeteria is if there is something you want that they do not offer, you can leave it on a comment card and they will get it for you! We have rough days in our caf but what college dining doesn't? Overall the food isn't that bad!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great here at Tabor College. Everyone is considerate and kind. I have become very close to all the people on my floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Tabor College is a Liberal Arts school so they expect more from you academically. It is very challenging at times but professors are always willing to help you make it out on top. I am planning to go to physical therapy school and 93% of their pre-health students get into school!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get plugged in! There is nothing better than being involved and engaged with what is going on on campus. There are many organizations and clubs to choose one and i am sure there is one for you!

    In three sentences

    So far I love Tabor College, it is a great place to meet solid friends. They offer excellent academic courses. Professors are not only involved in your personal work in class but also your spiritual life.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have a few different hang out spots and the best coffee shop!

    Food and Dining

    Our head chef treats us so well! We are provided with so many options!

    Dorm Life

    It is so nice to live with people who are the same age and even with the same major.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are very knowledge able and they all know who you are. This makes it easier to get help in your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask questions! Know exactly what you want and make sure you find out everything you want to know and even some things that you don't want to know.

    In three sentences

    Tabor College has truly helped me change my life. The teachers here are simply the best. The small community feel is everything I could have asked for.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley in town but that is about it. You usually have to go to the next time to do anything like go to the movies or go out to eat. The college is in a small town so typically there is nothing to do here.

    Food and Dining

    The food is usually alright. It just depends on the day and what you are feeling like eating. The cafe is pretty nice and a good place to eat and socialize

    Dorm Life

    You have your days when there is not anything going on and you also have those days when people are just running are just in and out the whole time going to different rooms the whole time. Everyone is chilled and laid back and there is usually nothing bad happening. I would prefer to live in the dorms rather than living off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but the professors do what they can to help you understand the material. They will setup study groups before each test and make sure you get a review for it. The tutors are free to the student so there is always help you can get.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't try to do everything at one time. Ease into things make sure you have time for them with homework and practice if you are in sports. There is always something going so its not boring.

    In three sentences

    The faculty is really helpful in a sense of making sure you succeed. From the president of the school all the way to the teacher and coaches. Everyone is really nice and friendly.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is completely safe. I've never heard of anyone being harmed what so ever on campus. Like I said before, everyone knows everyone, so if someone does happen to see someone being harmed, they're going to help out,

    Clubs and Activities

    Tabor College has football, baseball, softball, soccer, cross country, track, tennis, swimming, and more. They have a bunch of clubs you can join to become closer to the community too.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like to know everyone that surrounds you and become close to everyone you come in contact with, Tabor College is great for you. You don't have to be a Christian to attend nor have any religion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tabor College is a Christian school, so they have church twice a week. Also, there are certain days when boys are only allowed in girl's dorms and vice versa.

    Bang for the buck

    They do have on-campus jobs that will help pay the bills. You can be a cafeteria worker, tutor, librarian, or teacher's aid.

    What to do for fun

    Tabor College has many activities to do. They have a weight room, cardiovascular fitness room, basketball, volleyball, and tennis courts, football field, baseball and softball fields, track, have a pond to go fishing in, theater room, and many more activities I didn't get to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Tabor College is really nice. It's like a free buffet. You go in, slide your I.D. card and go down the lines and pick whatever you want and whatever amount. Don't forget, you get to go to the cafeteria as many times throughout the day. They have big long tables throughout the cafeteria, so you can have a herd of friends sit with you too.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Tabor College are descent size. At least they're big enough to roll around in. It's nice to be able to have friends come into your dorm to hang out and watch movies and all; so you feel like your at home still.

    Academic Rigor

    Tabor College has a great academic facility. There is a building for everyone subject and the teaching is one-on-one; so it's great for learning the topics better and faster.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your wanting a huge school to attend, Tabor College is not it. Tabor College is small to medium size. Everyone knows everyone basically. So if your worried about your reputation, Tabor might not be a good school to attend.

    In three sentences

    Tabor College is a great Christian school. It's beautiful, everyone is friendly, and the admissions office helps a lot. Also, the classrooms are one-on-one teaching.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Tabor has many activities for students from movie nights to mingling events.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus, but there is a fully furnished dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but I do know there are some pretty nice townhouses that you can live in.

    Academic Rigor

    everyone seems to be willing to help everyone else when you need it. This includes students, staff, and teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    Do a lot of checking on the different types of scholarships offered. Sit down with your advisor and try to set up your plan for the years you are attending.

    In three sentences

    Tabor college is a small college that has been able to meet my needs. I like the small classroom sizes and the fact that the teachers can learn my name and who I am. Overall is has been a great experience.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Tabor College is in a very small Christian community and is filled with good welcoming people.

    Clubs and Activities

    The have a mentoring program to work with children. They have a great music department that provides many opportunities. They have many random small clubs and organizations.

    What to do for fun

    Many organizations, groups, and activities are filled at Tabor College. Tabor College has many fun events that they host. Tabor College has many theme houses that put on events as well. The community is small but has many places to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than any other cafeteria you will go to. Many times you get real Mennonite German food. Sometimes they have cultural foods. The Cafe also has continuous service.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is able to develop a small, strong, and personal relationship with everyone they live with.

    Academic Rigor

    Tabor College does have rules and restrictions, but at a christian school that should be expected. All the rules are great because it keeps the campus more safe, more fun, and no problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Tabor! You will enjoy your classes, professors, and peers. Get involved in the campus life and activities, organizations, and programs.

    In three sentences

    Tabor College, in one year, has transformed me into a stronger, wiser, smarter, and better person. Tabor College truly cares about their students and wants them to be ready for anything after they graduate. Tabor College is friendly and filled with opportunities to get involved and enjoy your experience.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Honestly, the only fun thing to do is to go to Wal Mart. There is nothing in the small town of Hillsboro.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be too afraid to be yourself, although you are in a new environment, keep to the person you know you are instead of who you are not.

    In three sentences

    I feel that Tabor College is an 8 on scale of 1-10. I say an 8 because not one school is perfect, but every school could improve. I feel that Tabor is not perfect, but can improve every day.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Only clubs are bible study.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are committed to god and want to spend all there time studying.

    Bang for the buck

    The people here are great.

    What to do for fun

    In my opinion I don't think there is a lot to do here unless you would like to spend all your time giving to god .

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure your are committed to the lord and be ready to spend a lot of time studying.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Tabor College on a scale from 1 to 10, a 5.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small town school with student safety a priority.

    Greek Life

    I do not think they have Greek Life on the main campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unable to answer though I do think there are many clubs and opportunities at the main campus.

    Great for these types of students

    unable to answer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not live on campus and am a non-traditional student.

    Bang for the buck

    Fantastic! You are paying for a high quality education.

    What to do for fun

    I am an online student.

    Food and Dining

    Unable to answer

    Dorm Life

    Sorry. I don't live in a dorm. I am an online returning student.

    Academic Rigor

    Online classes are intense and fast paced!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for small classes and instructors that are interested in you and want you to do your very best and are prepared to help you achieve your goals.

    In three sentences

    Student and Christ centered college committed to the achievement of their students in both the working world and within the love of Christ.