Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Tacoma Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    for the most part campus safety is thorough; the security regularly circles the lots and buildings to ensure the safety of both the students and their property.

    Greek Life

    while at tacoma community college you have the opportunity to be nominated into the phi theta kappa two year honor society based on your academic performance and community involvement.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a variety of clubs and activities to participate in. clubs range from academic to hobbies, including music and evening table top roll playing. every quarter there are events that take place outside the main building to celebrate diversity and holidays. at these times you may see a speaker, you may hear a local band play, or you may just get to enjoy fun new foods.

    Great for these types of students

    tacoma community college is extremely diverse making it a great school for exchange or study abroad students. here they would easily find people they can communicate with and make friends to feel more comfortable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    for the most part, tacoma community college is just an average college. there are no unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    with tacoma community college being just that...a community college the prices are low and it is a good way to get prerequisites out of the way before going to a university that is much more expensive and demanding.

    What to do for fun

    there are a variety of clubs and activities to participate in. clubs range from academic to hobbies, including music and evening table top roll playing. every quarter there are events that take place outside the main building to celebrate diversity and holidays. at these times you may see a speaker, you may hear a local band play, or you may just get to enjoy fun new foods.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall is on the smaller side and on occasion there is no where to sit. the college has a subway and a deli available during limited ours of the day.

    Dorm Life

    there is no on campus living facilities. a student must either live in the surrounding areas or commute in order to attend tacoma community college.

    Academic Rigor

    most courses provided many opportunities to maintain high grades. on occasion i took courses that were challenging and stimulating, however the average class is easy to pass when work is put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    enter college prepared, knowing in advance what you want to study. line your classes up with any universities programs you plan to transfer into.

    In three sentences

    tacoma community college is diverse with many cultures and ages. the courses offered are good, however, i have experience both good and bad teachers. unfortunately though, it is difficult to accomplish anything through the office administration and desk workers aren't very willing to put in effort above what is expected.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    TCC is great for students who work full time because there is usually a variety of times classes are held. Also if you are going back to school they have a lot of certificate programs which don't seem too intimidating to complete.

    Bang for the buck

    It's nice to get your prerequisites completed at a Community College before going to a University. It really saves you money.

    What to do for fun

    Check your campus email to find out about activities going on for the week.

    Food and Dining

    I've never ate there before.

    Dorm Life

    There is not any on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    I've only had one professor that I did not enjoy. Every other class had a great atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework and use the resources that the school offers if you need help. Also remember this is your money so don't be scared to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    TCC is in a great location and has a pretty wide variety of classes and programs. The office staff isn't very helpful when you are a returning student, but if you are persistent everything should work out just fine.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Tacoma Community College is best suited to the type of student who is dedicated, level-minded, and ready to hit the ground running toward pursuing their career and dreams.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my personal favorite spots is the Asian-themed bridge in the middle of the campus that travels over a road connecting the front and the back sides of the expanse. Surrounded by natural foliage, the architecture is truly exquisite and when one travels over the bridge there is always the scent of fresh pine and greenery in the air.

    What to do for fun

    When you are looking to have a little fun to break up the time spent studying, look no farther than the many clubs or activities hosted by the college. There are groups to suit a myriad of different interests, and you can always find posters for events and opportunities plastering your nearest wall or cork board. Finally, at the college one thing we do not lack is green space. If you are looking to take a stroll, or perhaps indulge in some Ultimate Frisbee, there are spots all over campus to fulfill those needs. Careful though, you might make a few friends in the process!

    Food and Dining

    While we do not have very many places to eat on campus, the main cafeteria is excellent about serving up a variety of different cuisines each week. One popular item are the Pho noodles, a Vietnamese creation where you can add on things to round out your bowl. It creates a hearty, slightly colorful option to delight your stomach. Off campus however, there are endless options both within walking distance or in the radius of a short drive. One thing is for sure - whatever you have a hankering for, you are more than likely to find it close by.

    Dorm Life

    Being a community college, there are no actual dorms. However, this factor does not cancel out the fact that around the school is a vibrant college-centric community. Many students live nearby, and businesses all around are filled with study haunts that host these academics on a regular basis. Even on the campus itself there are so many places where one can go to learn or to relax in between their educational regime. There are always exciting things going on, and perhaps because of the size of our school, we're more invested in keeping the days fresh and lively. People routinely spend all day on campus even when they have only one, perhaps two classes, because there are many activities to pursue.

    Academic Rigor

    Forget about any pop culture references about community colleges being a playground for those between high school and adult life, or as a mere stepping stone to a four-year university. Classes here will make you keep pace with any university student, but all the more to your benefit, in certain ways you will surpass them. At a smaller institution you will be subject to closer teacher to student interaction, as well as a tight knit community of faculty and other students who all share your values and dreams. Tacoma Community College is a place where hard work is valued and encouraged, and their classes reflect that. We strive for excellence here.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the most important things that I would suggest to incoming students is quite simply - take it seriously. Be on the ball with deadlines, be proactive with coming to class every day, seeing your counselor each new quarter for academic advising, use the resources at your fingertips. The faculty here want to help you, and we have some of the most impressive professors here who are dedicated and open about their work. If you open yourself up to the possibilities, you will surely succeed.

    In three sentences

    Tacoma Community College is truly a jewel among community institutions, defying any and all negative stereotypes. It is diverse in both opportunities as well as in the students who attend. When I attend class here, I can feel myself inching ever closer to my goals, and the college itself provides me with tangible support in reaching those aspirations.

  • 11/17/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone and Everyone

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely tour the campus. It's big and can get a bit confusing. Apply and get yourself started at TCC!

    Bang for the buck

    For a Community College, Tuition is moderately priced and with a few grants and scholarships under the belt, it'll be a piece of cake.

    Will enjoy being here

    I've heard the people are so nice and friendly. When I visited the campus, they really were warm and welcoming. :) Especially transitioning to college life from high school, I can use all the help I can get.

    Will learn a lot

    The wide range of programs makes it a great choice for virtually everyone! Apply!!

  • 06/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People serious about their education, but who want to cut some of the costs on their way to a four year or a certificate. TCC is in no way inferior to a University. So students who feel prepared and dedicated would be excellent. If you don't feel so prepared, TCC also offers wonderful opportunities to get you there. There is no type of student TCC is ideal for, just work hard. Anyone can be successful if they put in the time and energy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Want to learn something, if you're here because you want to be told you're an A student and be given an A in every class you take... Go somewhere else. TCC offers a serious education so be willing to put in the work.

    Bang for the buck

    TCC is, as the name states, a Community College, which pretty much means it costs MUCH less than University's. This does not mean that the professors are of a cheaper quality. In fact, I am shocked when I hear of some of their credentials (Cornell, Oxford, etc). All of them have years of experience, and most of them have taught at Universities, and/or worked in the field they're teaching. TCC offers free tutoring in Writing, Math, Business, Language and many other subjects, as well as hosts free work shops.

    Am enjoying being here

    TCC's campus is beautiful, and extremely well maintained. Student Life hosts a number of events all through-out the year for free for students. Including celebrity guest speakers (this year we had actress/poet Amber Tamblyn), comedians, musicians, and events like the annual Pow Wow, as well as the Laua. TCC has an extremely diverse yet connected atmosphere that is really difficult to describe, but wonderful to be a part of.

    Am learning a lot

    In the past 2 years I have grown more than words can say at this school. The professors are top notch and know how to make the course work interesting and relevant.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Tacoma Community College is great for international students and first generation college students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definately get involved in student life and the several clubs and activities available on campus. Students of all ages, races, gender, ethnicity and religious affiliation attend this school.

    Bang for the buck

    Courses are challenging and engaging.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus activities and events are very diverse and always fun and interesting.

    Am learning a lot

    After attending this school I am more than prepared for my undergraduate and graduate studies.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    a wide variety of clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    tcc has an amazing asian garden. it is really beautiful and peaceful. many students hang out or eat lunch there in the summer time.

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs, basketball and baseball games, take an art class, go to the free movie nights or frights nights. art hall is interesting too.

    Food and Dining

    great cafeteria with good prices. 4

    Tips for prospective students

    be on time to your classes. do not procrastinate. go to the writing and reading lab and get help if you need it, the tutors are great. check your grades on angel! do your work.

    In three sentences

    tacoma community college has brought me nothing but happiness and hope. every teacher i've had has been engaging and professional, helping me understand and do great work. i would recommend tacoma community college to anyone, young and old!

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    not in any

    Great for these types of students

    great for adults going back to school

    What to do for fun

    on campus there are plenty of ways to entertain your self.

    Food and Dining

    didn't eat there

    Dorm Life

    didn't live in dorms

    Academic Rigor

    i have always been able to keep close attention to every one of my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to an advisor. they will be able to help you make sure you get through the program you want in the best possible way.

    In three sentences

    this school has great instructors. also the option to go online, hybrid or in class makes this a great school for any one. especially parents going back to school!

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are ton of clubs for you to join, check out your email for more information on them.

    Great for these types of students

    all type of students especially because it is cheap.

    Bang for the buck

    in the student store, you can buy microsoft office for cheap

    What to do for fun

    there are activities every week so be sure to check your email for more information.

    Food and Dining

    it is pretty good, be sure to try it.

    Dorm Life

    i don't think they have dorm since it is a community college afterall :)

    Tips for prospective students

    parking is very crowded so it is better to arrive early or take the bus if it is more convenience. and be sure to register for classes early because it will run out very quickly. they have a lot of free money for scholarships so you can even go for free.

    In three sentences

    it is very diverse community college. teachers are nice and students are very open and outgoing. be sure to use the help in marc

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security can often be seen circling the school.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society for community colleges offered at Tacoma Community College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tacoma Community College has a variety of clubs geared toward social networks, hobbies, and academics.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for students who have been out of school for a long time, transfer students, and students with income limitations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really aren't any unusual traditions at Tacoma Community College.

    Bang for the buck

    Because the school is a community college the price is manageable and financial aid covers most, if not all of the costs.

    What to do for fun

    Seasonal events take place in the center of campus with diverse foods, music, and social interaction.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is usually very full. The selections are okay including a Subway, yet limited.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging but most of the staff are willing to work with the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Begin you education with a basic understanding of where you want you education to take you; such as career goals and major possibilities.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school for students who have been out of school for a while. They have many opportunities to excel. However getting started can be difficult with the office staff.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never been harassed or had car problems! And I use to take night classes too.

    Greek Life

    There is some greek affiliation or club.

    Clubs and Activities

    I really wouldn't know.

    Great for these types of students

    People trying to save money by getting their associates here instead of a university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No idea.

    Bang for the buck

    To expensive, but, what can you do?

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria looks like it offers really unhealthy food. Boo on you TCC!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework and don't skip class.

    In three sentences

    Class Options are limited. Website is confusing to maneuver. Other than that, the school is fine.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities (countless emails about events)

    What to do for fun

    It's Tacoma; what isn't there to do?!

    Food and Dining

    Haven't eaten at TCC.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to do something, just go do it and don't second guess yourself. This is a time to go out and try new things and explore all the options that there are.

    In three sentences

    Tacoma Community College (TCC) is an excellent alternative to a 4 year college; especially if you are a student who wants to go to college but cannot decide on where or what to do. It is cheap, but you get a large handful of free resources at your disposal for the dollars you spend on tuition. It is a great place to start college with great teachers.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always events going on through the student life center. There is also a lot of open space, so in the spring quarter Frisbee, soccer, etc can be played.

    Food and Dining

    Very open cafeteria. Plenty of room to eat, hang out,etc. There is a piano for students to play music on while they are between classes. The food is really good too!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors challenge you to be the best student you can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have everything you need in order to sign up for classes. The process can get a little confusing, but making sure you have all you need really helps.

    In three sentences

    This is a very clean, friendly campus. The staff is there to help you and are always willing to do just that. The best college I have attended.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    MANY MANY clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Science and medical Major students this is the place for you!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a pretty pricey community college.

    What to do for fun

    There are very fun art classes, but if you want something for free there are many clubs that provide activities for the weekends and even weekday nights.

    Food and Dining

    The caferteria is okay, it would be nice if it was on a more healthier side.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms for this college because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    On an academic level, this college has the best of everything in every subject!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are new, plan your schedules ahead because there are over 8,000 students in the college and classes get filled very quickly!

    In three sentences

    This is a very high educated college. The teachers are amazing here, and the exceed very highly in their teachings. They challenge students and also care for their students on a personal level. I would recommend this community college to anyone.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Returning students.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty cheap.

    What to do for fun

    They do have a lot of activities.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat there.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes were challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find someone that has already figured out how to navigate the system.

    In three sentences

    Not to clear on how the enrollment process worked. Administration not very helpful. Love my teachers.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of car breakins. Stay away from the bus station.

    Greek Life

    Non existent

    Great for these types of students

    People who are not used to working in school or starting over.

    Bang for the buck

    Decent price, easy to get credits to transfer.

    Academic Rigor

    A few select professors expect a lot, most expect high school level work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking is horrible. Get there early or ride the bus. Get into CASA or MECA as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    A decent school to get restarted in academia. Difficult scheduling can knock plans off since the school is over populated for the available sections.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security will walk you to your car when it is dark out if you want them to.

    Clubs and Activities

    TONS of clubs to choose from, and you can start your own by contacting student life.

    Great for these types of students

    Working pt/ft. Mom/dad. Returning student/changing career.

    What to do for fun

    Library, gym, tutoring center, student life center, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Good food in the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    No on-campus living.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's Tacoma if you try you can find something near by, heck Seattle and Portland aren't that far away

    Food and Dining

    snacks are okay but i haven't eaten the cafeteria food yet

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I have only taken a few classes so far but i haven't found them to be to difficult but im sure that will change when i take harder classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid early, sign up for classes early and have a back up plan in case your classes are full.

    In three sentences

    I have found TCC professors to be very understanding and helpful. Class availability can be a little inconvenient but its not to bad. Over all I am enjoying going back to school after 10 years

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel unsafe on campus, but cars are repeatedly being broken into in the parking lot

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities that are constantly going on around campus if you're willing to get involved

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is a growing campus with lots of construction going on -

    Bang for the buck

    I'm able to get my first two years plus of my long term program for less then half of a university

    What to do for fun

    There's a great fitness center and lots of clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    the food is awful, I ordered a sandwich and the cheese had mold on it.

    Academic Rigor

    Because this is a community college, I feel the classes have been dumbed down for the running start students so they can keep up. It's frustrating because it prolongs your program but makes it nice if you fall behind a little.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your program and know if you want to transfer or not. You'll get frustrated if you decide down the line that you want to transfer and you have to start over.

    In three sentences

    This school has very knowledgeable advisors that are there to help you and encourage you along the way. They have the ability to customize your program for you and to help you transfer with the least amount of hangups. The campus is small and beautiful providing an intimate experience to help you along your way.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is located in Tacoma and in the parking lot there have been break ins and if a student is taking night classes there aren't many people around.

    Great for these types of students

    TCC is great for first year students or returning students who have been out of school for a while.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The science building is a newer building as was built to be as green and enviornmentally friendly as possible!

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are a cheaper way to get the first two years done!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs a person can join as well as sports teams that could be tried out for!

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at the cafeteria however, the student store sells cheap snacks that are easy to grab on the go.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, just a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    The parking lot fills up quickly in the morning, get there early!

    In three sentences

    TCC is an average community college in my opinion. There are great opportunities and some downfalls to the place. Overall it's a school a person should consider.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    For online and hybrid classes, make sure to check every day for new assignments, post requirements, etc. to stay on top of things!

    In three sentences

    This has been a convenient way for me to start my college education.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They offer so many different types of clubs and you are always welcome to create your own!

    Food and Dining

    Great food. Pretty cheap for college kids.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college so we do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and staff push students hard and help them along the way to succeed in whatever they want to accomplish.

    In three sentences

    Tacoma Community College is a great place to study. They have many resources to help you reach your goal in education or occupation. The teachers are very helpful and well educated.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has supreme campus safty. The school respones to all student disturbances on campus. Also the school campus is strict on tresspassers

    Clubs and Activities

    It has chapionship Mens basjetball team, along with bassbal, and soft ball. Also has a published wrting club. Along with strong international clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for student who are unsure of what major to take. Great for student who havent been in school for years at a time. Also great for students who need help with career development.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students have a tridition of going to the Tacoma community college v.s peirce community college rival athletic events. It has great community awearness and influence throught the city. The school has great commitment to students and staff.

    Bang for the buck

    Tacoma community college is a great place for students who are not sure or need more prepration for high college universities. Also a good place to develope diversity and networking. along with great althletic clubs..

    What to do for fun

    Students can join music clubs, writing club, and student government clubs. Also students have acsecess to exercise facility.

    Food and Dining

    Tacoma community college has great dinning and study ares for students. Also along with coffee stands, and prep cook foods, and hot served food.

    Dorm Life

    Tacoma community college does not have dorms. However the school is surrounded by food stores, and living apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics are high and heavey. course loads have havey reading and homework givien. Also great tutoring centers to help students with their studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should on top of stduies from different course loads. Also awear of deadlines for applications, finacial aid enrollments. As well as the commute travel a student has to make.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1-10 Tacoma community college is a 9 on my judgement scale. the school has good acedemics and teaching staff. Also along with career develepment oppurtunities.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe at TCC

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who dont know what they want to major in yet or who wants to get their associates degree for cheapter than transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the same quality classes as Universities for a great price!

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the student life center and check out whats going on around campus! I vonunteered for a haunted house this halloween and got to dress up and scare the guests! There was food, games, dancing and a costume contest as well!

    Food and Dining

    They have a nice lunch room full of good foods and the student store has good cheap food!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms! There are nice appartments across the street though.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses give a good amount of homework and essays! I have only been at TCC for half of one quarter so I havent experianced the more difficult classes yet but I have heard they give quite the homework load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont expect this college to be easy just because it is a community college, TCC is one of the top community colleges in the US. Come to class prepared and ready to learn!

    In three sentences

    I really like Tacoma Community College, The teachers are helpful and supportive. They all want the students to be as successful as they know we are. The students are all kind and inviting, we are all there for the same reason, to further our education.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top Notch

    Greek Life

    ??? Haven't looked into it

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Young students who want to get their pre-requisites out of the way cheaper before transferring to a major University. Working Class Students looking for professional development, older folks looking for a degree, or career change... pretty much anyone looking to attend a reputable college at an affordable price and wants to feel like they belong.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Childcare on campus for those students with kids.

    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonable!!!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of family activities for students with families, and a plethora of sports, entertainment, clubs and activities to suit any student at any age.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is nice and has quality food at reasonable prices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on schedule and don't give up!!

    In three sentences

    Tacoma Community College is an excellent school full of diversity, culture, and student activity. The classes and schedules are realistic and doable. The faculty and staff are of the up-most quality and truly care about the success of their students.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. Even though no one should ever leave valuables open in plain sight in their vehicle, there are always campus security officers walking or driving around the parking lots to check on cars.

    Clubs and Activities

    All of the clubs and activities that I have seen on campus or in my school email, are extremely active with the students and faculty and trying to help others become engaged with what their club is about.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student fresh out of high school looking for an inexpensive education that you can earn a type of degree at, Tacoma Community College is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tacoma Community College has different holiday events that I never knew schools had for students and their families.

    Bang for the buck

    Tacoma Community College is an amazing school and has taught me an extreme amount not just in the classroom, but about society. The classrooms are very diverse, but everyone is there for a good education. At TCC, you can choose your own classes as well as get free tutoring when it is offered.

    What to do for fun

    There are always special events such as holiday family fun, guest speakers, and mock crime scenes. There are also sports that are played throughout the year and games that anyone can come and out support.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class regularly if you are in a classroom and always stay on top of your work. It is important that you keep you gpa up and mind engaged since you are starting your path towards your career.

    In three sentences

    Tacoma Community College is a great place for an easy transition from high school to college. The faculty and students are all extremely helpful. It is the most inexpensive way to go if you are worried about tuition costs.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety here is very good. They have security that patrols the area so that nothing is left vulnerable in the parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has many different types of clubs that students can join for many different types of interests as well as personality types.

    Great for these types of students

    It really appeals to a wide variety of student types. They have many different programs for different types of students as well. Their art programs occupy the entire back half of the campus and there is even a rock garden located in that area for some of the course subjects of some of the classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be a little more expensive for a community college and the standards are higher, however the quality of teaching you receive there is good and it does provide with a lot of benefit both social, educational and life for students.

    What to do for fun

    The school has various clubs as well as different activities they hose such as dances or visits from artists and actors as well as fun events.

    Food and Dining

    They have an average cafeteria with comfortable seating available and tables for dining and studying. They also have a piano and stage area for music students or for casual use.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms as this is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't quite know what you want to do for a career, speak to an adviser and they will help you figure out which classes to take to help you find a certain direction you'd like to go in by asking what you want to do in life. Also, take advantage of the different sources of help and different opportunities the school offers students.

    In three sentences

    The standards are higher so the teaching there is quality for those interested in a real career. The advisors there really try to help students create an academic plan that helps them get the degree they need for their career. They provide many opportunities and outlets to seek help with the things you have trouble on.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have not started classes yet but the staff is very helpful and will guide you through the college process. They have many programs of study and the students seem very proactive. I become more excited to attend every day.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs to get involved with and so many activities going on including hula workouts and talent shows.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten there yet.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't attended courses yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go online and follow the admission steps before walking up in person. It will make the admission as well as the registration process so much smoother.

    In three sentences

    The campus in both Gig Harbor and Tacoma are welcoming and personal. The staff and students here are very friendly and have made it easy to transition from my old college to this one. Appointments for advising and counseling have been very easy to attain and have helped me set up my path leading to my BA in Business.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see campus security very often and they have numbers you can call if you ever need any help. I don't feel that I could leave my stuff in an area and trust everyone at TCC not to steal it though. Overall this school is safe. I have not heard one bad thing happening yet, but I am a cautious person.

    Greek Life

    I'm not quite sure. If I had to guess it would be fantastic.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have an abundance of clubs! They have: Black Student Union, Break Dancing, Sign Language, Asian Pacific Islander, MECA/CASA, Drama and many more clubs. The great part is that they are not all held at the same time so you can go to a lot of them.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who enjoy smaller class sizes, paying less money for a good education, and if you like to meet and see new people this is the place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Often random events are offered in the cafeteria. They set up dancing events, events to meet new people, and even clubs meet there.

    Bang for the buck

    It is for sure worth it. You can get a valuable degree and a substantially smaller price than at a university. You obtain a quallity education and get to still transfer if you choose to a university.

    What to do for fun

    The best part about TCC is they offer so much. I am in multiple clubs, and I have made a couple friends in my first quarter. I break dance, play the piano, explore TCC, meet new people, and soon I will be attending even more clubs like the sign Language club.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty great, for sure a step up from my old high school. It is however, a bit pricey to me.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms at TCC.

    Academic Rigor

    My English class is a little challenging at the moment and ten percent of my grade is depending on just one text at the end of the quarter. It has been challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should plan out what classes they need to take for the upcoming quarters, and years to come. They should also be applying for any, and all scholarships that apply to them.

    In three sentences

    I am enjoying my learning experience at TCC. The teachers thus far have been very helpful. I however, dislike smelling smoke everyday while heading to my classes.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bowling, movie theater close drive to a very beautiful park.

    Food and Dining

    They have nearby grocery stores and gym and recreations

    Dorm Life

    I'm not exactly sure how the dorm life is like

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions or talk to your advisors. The website is easy to navigate.

    In three sentences

    The campus is easy to navigate and right next to the city bus which is very convenient for non-driving students. They have many options of academic classes. Enrollment application is free and acceptance is not stressful.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The registration process isn't great when you first start out so make a lot of back up schedules

    In three sentences

    The teachers genuinely care about their students. Teachers want to see you succeed. It's a nice campus

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs everything from honors to food to sword fighting... a very eclectic mix of students.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who love school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The pagoda and garden is beautiful, but most students don't even knwo its there.

    Bang for the buck

    Community College is cheaper and you learn a lot, but you don't get the fancy degree to go with it. Getting my ADN here, then going for a four year degree. Being here helped me earn the scholarships to pay for the university though.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of beautiful trials, beaches , mountains everything! Right off the Tacoma narrows between Tacoma and Gig harbor

    Food and Dining

    Pack your lunch!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, lots of apartments close by to rent.

    Academic Rigor

    The science classes compare with the local universities and the nursing program is one of the best ADN programs in the south sound.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive early, parking is tough. Pack your lunch. Take advantage of the advisers and learning resources, TCC has a lot of them.

    In three sentences

    There are some exceptional science teachers hidden here. I have enjoyed my time here. Campus is crowded.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This place is quiet and relaxed

    Greek Life

    There isn't one

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a big variety, from tea club to hip-hop dancing

    Great for these types of students

    People who are okay with safe and comfortable, this place is relaxed

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Yeah, not aware of any...we had a rock wall set up in the middle of campus a while ago and a massage therapist was giving free massages to students the week before finals

    Bang for the buck

    LOVE THE PROFESSORS...well some of them

    What to do for fun

    Get involved!

    Food and Dining

    Eh, gas station crap. There are some good places surrounding the campus though.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I've learned so much in the time I've been here, beware there are some professors that'll treat you like you're doing BA work

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, make friends and make an attachment to the school through clubs or sports, you'll have fun a place to belong to.

    In three sentences

    There are some awesome professors here. The campus is fine, nothing special though. It's quiet and calm, maybe not too exciting, but hey that's not a bad thing.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for just about everyone. You can also start a new club.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL!

    Food and Dining

    Go for the great salads in the cafeteria! The tacos are great too.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at TCC

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan to take HD 101 and develop a degree plan for transferring even if you don't think you will. It is easier to change your mind to transfer if you have taken classes for your degree that count for other schools. I will get my AA next week and all of my courses are transferring for classes I need at Ohio State this fall.

    In three sentences

    TCC is a great school to get your Associated degree. The classes are challenging and transfer well to four year schools. The faculty are professional and well informed on their subjects.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional, poor.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely waaaaay cheaper than a four year. Less debt FTW!

    What to do for fun

    Tacoma has plenty to do, but there's not much around the Gig Harbor campus. Just the movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    I've never ate in the cafeteria, so I can't comment. Main campus is also close to several eateries.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, so not applicable

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easy, others require a lot of effort. Study hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask for help or clarification!

    In three sentences

    It is inexpensive, has two campuses, and the class sizes are pretty small. The hardness varies from teacher to teacher, and schedule from quarter to quarter. Most people are helpful.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a nice patch of field in the middle of the campus that is perfect for frisbee or catch. The library is a great quiet place to read and relax in. The campus has a very nice landscape to view from one end to the other.

    Food and Dining

    I don't usually eat at school, but what I've had is really good. The only downside is the hours on the coffee stand.

    Dorm Life

    Because it is a community college, there isn't on-campus housing. But the campus itself is laid out really well, and all the basic amenities are there. The campus is clean and well maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very supportive of students. There are numerous resources to help students succeed, and every staff member is really helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the resources provided for you. They are totally worth looking into. The MARC is a great place to go for math help, which a lot of us need. And the Writing and Tutoring center has all types of tutors to help with just about anything. They are super knowledgeable and will help you understand the subjects.

    In three sentences

    Overall, a very good school. The staff members are great and full of passion, and the campus is well developed. There are numerous helpful resources offered to students for free that are actually good quality.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's the Tacoma Mall, Lakewood town center (which isn't too far), movie theaters; there's a little something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    TCC is located in between University Place and Tacoma. Within those areas there are some decent places. If you want really good food then downtown Tacoma definitely has a lot to offer.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't say too much about their academics because I'm starting my first year this September. From what I've heard from friends and family that have attended, I have heard that its a really good community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute to submit your FAFSA application for financial aid. Even though community college is much more affordable than university, it can still be stressful to think about cost. Submit it as soon as possible to relieve stress.

    In three sentences

    TCC's staff/faculty are very nice and helpful. I had many questions, and got them all answered. Don't be scared to go up to people and ask questions, it's all about getting out there.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always see a security guard patrolling.

    Clubs and Activities

    Way to easy to start up your own club, for a CC they already have 15+ diverse clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Kids who wants to get cheap associate degrees. Those unsure of their majors.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are CHEAP I'm paying $100 for 3 classes, the tuition is less than nearby colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, in the heart of Tacoma, with the mall and plenty of food and everything you want to do close by

    Food and Dining

    Cheap on campus but plenty of places near by

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but lots of apartments around!

    Academic Rigor

    Easy but lots of choices for what you want to do

    Tips for prospective students

    Get started while you're still in high school! Don't wait!!

    In three sentences

    Great way to start college. A Community College with lots of diverse classes. Has many opportunities for you to get involved

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study all the time!

    Academic Rigor

    It is the most helpful and organized college that will fit for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Those people who are bad in math and English should go to Tacoma Community College because they have lots of help available. Those people who want to study nursing, radiology technology or ultrasound technology should go to that college because they have the best helpful teachers and good equipment.

    In three sentences

    Tacoma Community College is a friendly college. It has many helpful resources for students to succeed like math help English and sciences help! This college goal is to help student to succeed!

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Tacoma Community College has Phi Beta Kappa which is for student who maintain a 3.0 or higher in all college level course. Great opportunity for scholarships!

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs to join, as well as so much to do. Offer discount tickets to multiple sporting events, family movie nights in the student center, sport opportunities, and as well as so many multicultural clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is great! Great cafeteria. Not enough seating though. But, all around great food and atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    There are plenty of opportunities to push yourself. Take classes that you want to take. Challenge yourself. Don't take the easy route.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take early morning classes. You may not like it, but it's a great way to get a great parking spot. You don't have to drive around for a half an hour and look for a spot. Also, make sure you use resources given to you by teachers and student, The writing center is a great way to get feedback on papers and help with how to write a paper as well.

    In three sentences

    The school has a great teaching staff. The school has so many tutoring options for students to get help on writing and math. Great places to do homework, and as well as study.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Tacoma Community College is extremely convenient because of how close it is and how affordable it is. They're running start program is really helpful to save even more. 7 out of 10.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security Day and Night Parking Lot Monitoring

    Clubs and Activities

    Religion Magic Club (The Gathering) Symphonic Band

    What to do for fun

    Clubs coordinate activities for students to sign up for. To name a few would be ski trips, bowling, movie night and local baseball games.

    Food and Dining

    offers a cafeteria area that has reasonable prices for the food. It is also a place to bring a lunch from home. cafeteria is located in a convenient are of the campus. would benefit if the hours of the cafeteria were more accommodating for the daytime students.

    Dorm Life

    The school is a community college and does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor is pushing yourself beyond what is easy so that you can meet goals so that you can strive for accomplishment. The school allows students to remain engaged through the challenge. It is natural to be scared, however the teachers encourage students to move forward regardless of fear of failure. The classes can't be all rigor, all the time. There is opportunity have the time to step back, pause, reflect on learning, have some fun, gather strength,

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the libraries and computer labs for Use tutors and teachers office hours Set up times with tutors in advance to assure time with them throughout the quarter

    In three sentences

    This school provides smaller class sizes giving students the opportunity to receive one on one assistance from the teachers. The college offers duel college credits for high school and a jumpstart towards Associates Degree. There are clubs and school coordinate activities for students outside of campus life.

  • 05/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am over at the Gig Harbor campus and have never had any issues with safety whatsoever, but I have heard about a few incidents at the Tacoma Campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There seems to be a wide variety of clubs, but I have never participated in any.

    Great for these types of students

    TCC is great for students who would like to work and go to school, save money before going to a four year school, or live at home with their family for a little longer. There are many online and evening classes (plus Saturday classes) that are helpful for people with full schedules.

    Bang for the buck

    For being a community college, I feel as though the education I am getting is phenomenal. I have had no problems with professors and many of them are willing to assist you outside of class if you ask. I highly recommend the Running Start program as well which allows you to get college credit while still in high school.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs (that I have not participated in.. yet). They also have movie nights and little parties at the Gig Harbor campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten here. They do have vending machine hot chocolate that is surprisingly good though.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms since it's a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    There is not a lot of leeway to catch up on work due to only having ten weeks in each given class. But, the actual difficulty of most classes I have taken is not any different than the classes I took in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it is a community college does not mean that you can slack off. Some classes can be very demanding, especially with the quarterly schedule. Ten weeks is an awfully short period of time to get through an entire course. Therefore, you must stay on top of your work!

    In three sentences

    A great place to start your college experience. Full of awesome educational opportunities. Has something for almost everyone.

  • 05/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is usually faculty around, and in my time there I have never witnessed riff-raff on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, determined, and friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a couple secret study nooks on campus. One just needs to explore. My favorite was always an upstairs window-room in building 15.

    Bang for the buck

    Greet price for such an incredible college!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the library, join a club, see the sights of Tacoma, Washington.

    Food and Dining

    The food at TCC is decent enough. I'd call it standard cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at TCC.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes more rigorous than others, yet they are all completely doable. Generally, the five-credit classes have for rigor then classes with less credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of schoolwork. Leaving things until the last minute will only incur extra stress.

    In three sentences

    Tacoma community college is just that, a community. The professors, students, and other faculty ease worries of starting college by making the campus inviting and curriculum helpful. This is the perfect place to receive one's Associates, as it saves a ton of money while helping individuals establish themselves.

  • 06/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is public safety patrolling the campus at all times in trucks or by foot

    Clubs and Activities

    I wouldn't know because I didn't attend any but there seemed to be a few good clubs to choose from.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a whole lot to do for fun around the campus. They did just recently create this lawn by the bookstore and some students throw a frisbee there

    Food and Dining

    Very good cafeteria and food

    Academic Rigor

    It's fairly challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate. Schedule classes so that they're back to back. Don't take online courses of material you have difficulty with i.e. math or history.