Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Taft College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Freshmen, if your worried about the transition to College, the not knowing anyone, Taft College is perfect for you. Everyone is so nice here, new comers will feel right at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your books online or from each other. Its the best way to save money, and waste.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are fairly affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am so relaxed attending this college, it feels like its not so much like an institution here.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers do an awesome job with their lesson plans. I like how my recreation's teacher, Mrs. Herder, would also talk to us one on one.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If your an athlete, than our sport is what we do for fun and there is also a recreation area, where people can go workout, play soccer, basketball, racket ball, yoga, join outdoor sports and also there is bowling.

    Food and Dining

    Every restaurant is walking distance, so it makes it easier for student to survive without a car.

    Dorm Life

    Mostly athletes stay in the dorms, but they are all content in the living condition. They all become like family because of the small environment and makes them more comfortable around each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers that I've had at Taft college teach you beyond the lectures they don't want you to memorize but to actually learn the subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to succeed, you need to be focused and determined that you want to do be someone in life. Your mind has to be in it all the way or else it doesn't make college worthwhile, because getting good grades is one of the best feelings a student could have.

    In three sentences

    This school prepares you for a four year college. The teachers are excellent and spend extra time to teach information you didn't understand. The school becomes more like a home than an actual school, the friendly environment, all sports athletes become close and most importantly the staff provide lots of supports towards the students.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've been going to Taft for about a year and a half, and I haven't felt unsafe or scared once yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was in the Lit Club for a year. We put out the annual literary journal here at TC, A Sharp Piece of Awesome. It was a lot of work but it was fun work! ...............Other than Lit Club I haven't really been involved in anything else, mostly because I live out of town. Sports seem to be a really big deal here, though.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone wanting to save money on their college education. Anyone who wants to go to college but doesn't feel ready to leap into a 4 year university. TC is a great way to bridge that gap. Anyone who works or has kids-- TC offers a pretty big selection of online and night classes. We also have a great dental hygiene program, and I hear it can be pretty competitive to get in. Also, if you live in Bakersfield, it's worth it to commute out to Taft instead of going to Bakersfield College. We have much smaller class sizes and it's easier to get the classes you want.

    What to do for fun

    Taft is a very small town, and I'm not a native. I commute from Bakersfield (about 50 miles away), so maybe I'm not the best to answer this question. There is a movie theater in downtown Taft, and Black Gold coffee shop downtown also hosts some cool events from time to time. Taft is about an hour and a half from the beach, and about 45 minutes from the city of Bakersfield, which has a lot to offer.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is decent if you don't have time to go somewhere for lunch. There is an awesome sandwich shop down the street from the school, All In The Sandwich. Get the Dutch bread!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus. I commute from out of town. But I hear the dorms are nice. I always see the students from the dorms all hanging out together in their own little clique.

    Academic Rigor

    Out of the 45+ units worth of classes I've gone through, I can only think of one or two where I felt like I was wasting my time. Just like at any other school, some classes are harder than others, but if you are putting forth your best effort in a tough class, most of the teachers are willing to go out of their way to make sure you succeed in their class. The teachers I've had are pretty accommodating when it comes to making themselves available during their office hours, looking over a paper you're writing, or explaining a concept that you maybe didn't quite understand the first time. There are hardly any classes with easy teachers. They expect you to work hard. The point is to prepare you for university-level classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you start school and during your first semester, be sure to check out ALL the programs and services that TC offers. Programs like PTK (for honor students) and EOPS (for low income students) or CARE (for low income students with children) have a lot of perks, such as priority registration, access to scholarships, and help with book costs. There is also a childcare center on campus, and the school's dental hygiene program offers a 100% free teeth cleaning for students..................................... Apply for the Taft College scholarship every year. TC will consider you for the school's scholarship, but your app also qualifies you for about 10 other scholarships around the community....................... Take advantage of the awesome counselors working in the school office and see them at least once or twice a semester, especially if your goal is to transfer after graduating. They are a great resource for researching universities, enrolling you in the right classes, and double checking that you're on track (and helping you do damage control if you screw something up!). Be proactive in your education. No question is a stupid question! ........................ Finally, don't buy or rent your books from the school bookstore. You can outright buy your textbooks online cheaper than the rental prices. Get them online or buy them from other students!

    In three sentences

    Quality community college education for those of us on a budget. It's much cheaper to knock out your gen eds here first versus at a 4 year university. Small classes, small campus, and in my opinion the best community college in Kern County.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    buy your books online and don't forget to fill out your fafsa!!!

    In three sentences

    great teachers and friendly community.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Have a great soccer program.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help don't be afraid to talk to your professor, most of them are really understanding.

    In three sentences

    Is a great school. Very interested in helping the students. Very helpful on having classes available for all students.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Competitive and thorough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good Luck.

    In three sentences

    Taft college has friendly staff that are not afraid to answer questions. Maps are located through out the campus and they are easy to read and follow. However, the parking is limited.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good! We have blue poles around campus and when you push the red button it'll call a dispatcher.

    Clubs and Activities

    ASB, Sports, and many more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our new Cougar Water Fountain. Our College has been updated!

    Bang for the buck

    Taft College has a book rental program and we have free parking, and Taft College is pretty cheap- compared to others.

    What to do for fun

    get envolved with ASB and sports.

    Food and Dining

    Taft College has a real good certified chief. Really like his clam chowder.

    Dorm Life

    50/50, I didnt get to experience that part, but from words of my friends, it was pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    teachers help you a lot, and they are nice and have a lot of good stories to tell, and some life lessons.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everything about Taft College is a great experience!

    In three sentences

    Good teachers and they care about you and help you when you need it. You get a lot of one-on-one time with the teachers. All staff employees are nice and treat you the same way as you treat them.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see that security cart roaming around!

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, working students and those who need night/online courses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ironically enough, the bookstore is off campus. Make sure you check the map, it gets a bit confusing.

    Bang for the buck

    You really get what you put into it. There is a great rental program offered and all you need is a 15 dollar ASB card to get rental books through the college.

    Food and Dining

    I have heard the food is good, but never tried it myself.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply to me, I live off campus. I actually live 45 minutes away.

    Academic Rigor

    I have some teachers who are extremely difficult and others who are very simplistic. I guess it all depends on the luck of the draw!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you speak with a counselor early. It is best to go into this knowing what you need to take to get your associates. Also, if you are wishing to transfer, make sure you are taking credits that will transfer.

    In three sentences

    Taft College is a great way to finish or start an associates degree. It is perfect for students who need night courses or online courses. There are no pesky fees on parking and such.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Smaller community equals less crime.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are only three main buildings where the class rooms are so you won't be walking a mile just to get to your next.

    Bang for the buck

    I found that because the community is smaller, there is more option for one on one time with the professors and all other staff.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think about whether or not to go to Taft College, just do it.

    In three sentences

    I found the counselor was extremely helpful in helping me decide which classes to take when it came to the catalog. The campus and community is small so it's easier to manage my brain and thoughts, and I could actually hear myself think when I walk on campus. Everybody I came in contact with was very friendly, nice, and respectful to me, and I seriously appreciate that.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Taft is a small community of teachers, staff and students are willing to help you succeed. The teachers are very hands on becasue of the smaller class sizes. Registration and finacial aid departments are very organized and can answer all questions you may have.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten the food from the cafeteria before so I really can't comment on it.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in Taft so I can't really say anything about the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It might be difficult for some to settle, but many aren't alone. Meeting new friends makes it easier to settle, which enhances an academic mind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions when you need help or just confused. Meet with a counselor often to have an idea what classes to pursue for their career or general ed.

    In three sentences

    Taft college has a very friendly environment. It is more one on one with the instructors. Overall I feel it's an amazing school academically.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a cop on duty around the campus. There are two campus security patrolling as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    ASB puts on a lot of rallies and other activities in the quad for different occasions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the dorms there is this thing called Tumble Weed Thursday Every Thursday somebody plays a prank on another....

    Bang for the buck

    I love how I get to live at home and go to college for my first two years. I'm saving a lot of money.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do in the area. Skydiving, hunting, fishing, movies, bowling, etc..

    Food and Dining

    Not the best cafeteria food.....

    Dorm Life

    I have teammates that live in the dorms. They like it for the most part but they say the campus security is too strict.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes challenging. Others are pretty basic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Eat lunch off campus. Sometimes the food is not always the greatest.

    In three sentences

    Taft College is a great JC because there are not a lot of student attending so you are able to get into the classes you want. The professors are extremely nice and they give a lot of one-on-one time. Taft is a nice little town with a great community.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Do a sport or join clubs due to its small size there is not much to do. Taft city is very small so that it doesn't provide much entertainment either.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is great, and Taft City offers other options though not many but nonetheless great tasting.

    Dorm Life

    Not much to choose from due to its small size but new ones have been built.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't let its small size full you, classes are hard. But there is no excuse for failing when the professors are willing to spend extra time with you on answering questions or doubts you might have. Also great math and english labs where one can go to seek further assistance by other students and professionals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hurry up and sign up before the class sizes become too large due to a large amount of students from Bakersfield are starting to gain interest in Taft College due to its small population.

    In three sentences

    It is a good sized campus where getting from class to class is fairly easy, yet the class sizes are small so that the professor can interact more with his/her students. Lots of parking space in the campus and around it. Friendly quite atmosphere easy to get along with staff and students.