Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Taylor University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Taylor is great for people who know how to work hard and concentrate on school work while still having fun and making friends. The Christian environment is also really great, so if you like a place where people openly talk about their beliefs and are willing to discuss them then this place is for you. It's a really supportive campus where you can grow in your faith, knowledge, and as a person.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you get the chance to visit the campus try to visit each of the dorms, or at least talk to someone from each. Each dorm has a different personality and if you can get into the right dorm from the start Taylor's great. Also get in touch with professors from your intended major. They are more than willing to get you the extra information you might want. Also it helps you get connected in the department early which will make things easier for you if you do attend Taylor.

    Bang for the buck

    Taylor is pretty expensive, but, hey, it's a private school, so that's what you should be expecting. To make Taylor worth the money you have to try hard and put yourself out there. Do as best you can in your classes and get involved. Once you have made friends and are doing things you love Taylor is worth what you pay for it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Taylor has been great for me. Despite its location in the middle-of-no-where, there is still a lot for students to do. Taylor tries hard to provide a lot of different activities for students and they usually do a good job. Also the people at Taylor tend to like to do a lot of random things and not-so-random things for fun. It's not unusual to have someone run down the hall asking if anyone wants to go play ultimate Frisbee or volleyball. There are also a lot of traditions at Taylor that can be tons of fun. Some of them are a little odd but it's all a great part of the Taylor experience. Also the dorms are great. They each have their own personalities and activities. Once you find your fit it's a lot of fun.

    Am learning a lot

    Taylor is a great place to learn. Taylor makes sure you have knowledge in a broad spectrum of subjects while still focusing on your own major. Professors are great. Most of them are very willing to help you outside of class and help you do well. I have even been invited over to various professors' houses for fun or for discussions. They all want to see you do your best. I feel like the professors really care about each of their students and their subjects. Also most professors try to vary the class room so that people with different learning styles can do well. An example of this is my music theory classes. We have three classes a week in the classroom listening to examples and learning the written theory. Two days a week we have class in the piano lab where we get to do the theory. It helps us have a complete understanding of the topic. A lot of classes are like this.

  • 11/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Taylor is an excellent school for Christian students looking to push themselves academically and spiritually. No matter your walk of life, there is something for everyone at Taylor. It's not a bunch of rich 'perfect' Christian people. They are people like you who make mistakes and are trying to have the best college experience they can!

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the best tips to pick up on quickly is to talk to students when you visit. Find out about daily life at the school. What is the typical life of living in ---- Hall? What types of clubs and organizations can I get involved with? Are classes hard? What's your favorite thing about Taylor? What's your least favorite thing about Taylor? Don't be afraid to ask questions! People will gladly open up to you about living at Taylor. My second tip is this: don't be afraid to talk to professors about a major you are interested in. Be sure to get as much information as you can about the major before you decide on it! Acknowledge there will be parts about every major that you will like and you will dislike.

    Bang for the buck

    A discouraging aspect about Taylor is how expensive it is. However, I feel my time here has been worth every penny. I truly love the community I live in as well as my major classes. If I had to go back to senior year of high school, I would pick Taylor every single time.

    Am enjoying being here

    Though Taylor is an institution that pushes for academic excellence, there is also a strong emphasis on community. I have made many solid friendships with both men and women on campus. It is so encouraging to live among people who hold the same standards, beliefs and morals as myself. They have kept me accountable and encouraged exponential growth in my faith. My relationships here at Taylor are truly the deepest human relationships I have ever had.

    Am learning a lot

    If you're looking for an easy school where you won't be pushed academically by your professors or lag about in your spiritual life, then pick another school! Taylor has challenged me in so many ways, both mentally and spiritually. This is coming from a student who had all A's in high school and didn't study a day in her life! It's been such a blessing to have professors who genuinely care about how I am doing and push me to do my best. The concept of integrating faith and learning into our education is a concept that is held in high regard here at Taylor. Students learn to master their studies while learning how to apply their faith to their field. I have really enjoyed learning about how my Christian faith will impact my career and my relationships in the future.

  • 07/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 3 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The academics are rigorous, so it won't be worth the cost if you aren't willing to work. If you are a Christian, the emphasis on God is refreshing!

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend you visit and get a feel for each of the dorms. Each dorm has its own personality, and finding the best fit for you will give you the best possible experience during the school year.

    Bang for the buck

    Taylor is a very good school, but it is also a very expensive school. It has rigorous academics, so don't apply if you're not willing to work hard! For being out in the middle of the cornfields, there are a surprising number of opportunities for various areas of study. Some examples include a partnership with a film school in LA, the chance to broadcast on the school radio station, student teaching in local schools, and working on software that will be used by missionaries on the field.

    Am enjoying being here

    Taylor is all about community. Whichever dorm you choose to live in, that becomes your family. Your floor or wing, especially, will be the people you are close to and who you will do crazy things with! Taylor has a lot of weird traditions that go on during the year, which isn't too surprising since the nearest cities are half an hour's drive away. The atmosphere at Taylor is very friendly and welcoming. It's home away from home.

    Am learning a lot

    With most of the teachers, you can tell that they actually care about their students and want us to learn and succeed. The classes are usually pretty small, anywhere from 30 to 5 students. There's always a few lackluster professors anywhere you go, but Taylor seems to have a high concentration of professors who know what they're talking about and love their jobs. I have yet to run across a prof who cares more about his research than his students.

  • 06/04/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any and all, however, you better be there for the education. It's too expensive to be there for the parties and to kicked out when your grades slip.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as you possibly can. You'll need them.

    Bang for the buck

    Besides being a top notch school, Taylor offers a bazillion different study abroad programs, and they aren't too expensive. I'm going on their Freshman Irish Studies Program for an entire semester and it only costs an additional $500! That includes food, room and board, and travel. What a deal. I highly recommend Taylor.

    Will enjoy being here

    The community at this smaller university welcomed me as soon as I stepped on campus. I had the label prospective, but it wasn't derogitory. On the contrary, it seemed to be an honor. These kids were super excited to show off their school and how awesome it was. There were also tons of traditions that are unique to Taylor, and I'm still hearing about some. It was cool to see these guys making the most of every day.

    Will learn a lot

    I'm going into Business and Music. I spoke with several profs in both departments and was quite impressed. These folks knew their stuff and really had a desire to teach. The music program blew my mind and the business department has many top marks from different business competitions. I'm really excited for that.

  • 08/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    As Taylor focuses strongly upon academic excellence, Taylor is a great place for students who are willing to study and focus upon their school work. Furthermore, Taylor is great for students who are able to balance both academics and a social life. Taylor encourages students to form solid relationships with others, making it a very outgoing and social university. Therefore, Taylor is great to students who desire to interact with others on a frequent basis. As Taylor is a Christian university, it is a great place for students to be challenged concerning their spirituality and their beliefs. Taylor is great for any students who seek to form a stronger relationship with Christ as well as be able to discuss matters about their faith and ask questions about topics such as life matters or Christianity. At Taylor students can find a healthy balance between alone time and their interactions with others. Taylor serves as a healthy environment which encourages its students to expand themselves mentally, emotionally, spiritually, and socially. Overall, Taylor is an excellent place for students who wish to grow immensely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus at least once if not several times. Spend a day at Taylor just exploring the academic buildings, eating in the dining commons, and meeting with some professors. If you have a good idea of what you may potentially enjoy majoring in, it is extremely helpful to meet with a few of professors within your areas of interest. Furthermore, spend a night in one of the dorms. Each dorm has a different personality; yet, each one is fun and welcoming in different ways. Spending a night in the dorm provides you with great insight into what campus life is really like. You are able to see different dorm set ups and what a typical night in the dorm consists of. If you choose to visit Taylor numerous times—which I highly recommend you do—try to stay in a different dorm each time. This way you can get a good feel of how different dorms on campus can cater to each individual’s personalities and likes. If you are seriously considering Taylor, also strive to get a reasonable score on your ACT/ SAT. Taylor takes these test scores very seriously and rewards students who achieve high merits both in high school and on these standardized tests. Even if this means that you must take these tests numerous times, getting even a few points higher can make all the different in the amount of your financial aid package. Taylor loves to provide money to high school students who have worked diligently to achieve good grades and high scores on the ACT or SAT. Take choosing a college seriously—if you choose wisely being a college student is very rewarding.

    Bang for the buck

    Taylor is certainly a fairly expensive school. However, for the high quality of the courses, the outstanding professors, the student life, the various activities offered on and off campus, the money invested into Taylor is certainly worth the price. I believe that the price of Taylor motivates students to invest more into their Taylor experience. For example, because Taylor costs quite a lot, I strive to study more in order to learn and achieve good grades as well as become involved in as many activities as possible. If a student is able to experience the academic, spiritual, and social life that Taylor has to offer, the price tag of Taylor becomes a minimal concern.

    Am enjoying being here

    Taylor is a great match for my interests and needs. I enjoy being a student at Taylor for numerous reasons. Firstly, the campus life at Taylor is exceptional. Students are very friendly as well as willing to help others if there is a need. On numerous occasions, other students have helped me with assignments or helped me get involved in more campus activities. Furthermore, living on a specific wing of a dorm has permitted me to personally get to know about 30 other girls. Being able to identify with this specific group of girls and call my dorm wing my home has been very beneficial part of enjoying my time at Taylor. Secondly, Taylor offers numerous ways to get involved within the community and on the Taylor campus. Having the opportunity to be involved in activities such as intramural sports, community volunteer work, and campus chapel has fueled my enjoyment of being at Taylor. Although Taylor is located within a rural setting, ways to become involved and have a great time are always present at Taylor. And best of it all—most of these fun activities cost very little if anything at all! Thirdly, holding a campus job at Taylor has really added to my enjoyment of being a Taylor student. My job not only provides me a steady income, but it also allows me to build friendships with fellow students along with adult faculty members. My job gives me a pleasant break from being a busy college student and helps me to feel productive. Taylor is a wonderful place to discover your niche. It caters to all students’ needs and once you find a great group of friends and activities you love, I can guarantee you will grow to enjoy it just like I have.

    Am learning a lot

    Expanding one’s learning is one of Taylor’s prime goals; therefore, Taylor is an excellent place for students to learn. Students are able to learn through various ways. Learning occurs in the classroom as professors are geared towards enhancing their students’ understanding of a wide range of topics. As Taylor is a liberal arts school, students not only engage in courses that touch upon their major of study, but students also take a wide range of general education courses. These general education courses have proven to be very useful during my Taylor experience as I am able to sharpen my understanding of areas such as Math, and Science that are not typically utilized within my major of choice. Furthermore, the professors are outstanding. Not only do they strive to cover the material needed for the course in the best way possible, but they also make it a priority to incorporate Christian values within the classroom. Therefore, not only am I learning more academically, but my spiritual life is growing within the classroom as well. For example, the professors of many of my classes have begun class sessions with a word of prayer. A simple prayer communicates that the professors believe that even though one of their students’ primary goals is to learn academically, that growing spiritually is also in the professor’s best interest for their students. Furthermore, the class sizes typically range from 5-30 students which enables the students and professor to interact on a more personal basis. Numerous times I have been invited to my professor’s homes for a meal or just to talk. The professors’ offices are oftentimes open for students to walk in, which allows students to have personal one-on-one conversations with their instructors. I am certainly learning a lot at Taylor—not only academically but also spiritually.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Thoughtful, motivated, positive, internationally-minded

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, talk to the professors, consider what you're looking for! Taylor is awesome for people who are serious about learning, but want to develop their spiritual life, too.

    Bang for the buck

    Taylor is expensive, for sure, but you get what you pay for! Every staff member on all levels is professional, the education is first rate, the development is ongoing...

    Did enjoy being here

    Loved it. Would go back in a heartbeat.

    Did learn a lot

    Taylor is great for helping you learn about yourself, expanding your worldview, and delving deep into your chosen major area. It is at once a deeply academic and deeply personal school and community.

  • 11/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who love the dynamic community-oriented school and those who Love the LORD!!

    Will enjoy being here

    Helpful students all around campus!

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a various amount of clubs such as the Black Student Union, Latino Student Union, Asian Awareness club and others. This allows students of other cultures and backgrounds to meet together and share common values with one another.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well one of the most interesting traditions we have here has gotten us on Sports Center and ESPN the past two years. It is called Silent Night. We dress up in costumes, pajamas and Christmas clothes for a basketball game. We are dead silent till the tenth point and we go crazy, it is insane!

    What to do for fun

    We usually make late night run's for food, go to Ivanhoe's Icecream shop, play sports in the KSAC, spontaenous worship nights and just do whatever we want to do.

    Food and Dining

    The DC mixes food up pretty well, I actually work there. We try and bring a variety of foods with our Mexican line, pasta lines, burger and salad bars, the Deli and Chef's corner where different things are made.

    Dorm Life

    There is always things to do in the residence halls, floor worship, late night runs to love's or taco bell, movie nights, etc. But everybody knows each other and there are close relationships built on the wings or floors you live on.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are amazing and very personal with you. It is not just about your grades but your walk with God. They will push you and lead you to be the person you are supposed to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd advise you to get plugged in right away, but be able to say no to things. You do not want to overcommit yourself to things either.

    In three sentences

    Taylor is an awesome place where you will be pushed academically, physically, emotionally and spiritually. The off and on-campus programs will allow you to have a heart for the things God loves. This is a very extraordinary place.

  • 08/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Taylor is great for so many types of students. If you want to be surrounded by a Christian community and have tons of fun adventures and meet lots of people...Taylor is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit Taylor. Get the chance to experience 24 at Taylor. You will stay in a dorm, get a tour, meet professors, and attend college classes. You experience everything at first hand instead of coming to Taylor blind. Once you visit Taylor and experience the community and the people, it's a pretty hard school to forget about.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at Taylor is pretty high, but the Financial Aid department is there to help you. The staff at Taylor is great at making sure that you can attend the university and find ways to pay for it. They offer scholarships, grants, loans, and work study. The university does a lot to help you pay for the education that you want.

    Am enjoying being here

    Taylor is surely known for its community. Sure, we are surrounded by cornfields in a small town, but when you're on campus you wouldn't even know it. The people is what makes Taylor. The friendships that you gain while you are on campus and in your dorms are ones that will last forever. The dorms are all great. They each have their own personality and are all known for something different. The traditions are Taylor are awesome too! By going to campus events you really feel like you are apart of something.

    Am learning a lot

    Taylor is a school that pushes you when it comes to academics. The professors are great people and are willing to answer all the questions you can come up with and work with you if you don't understand something. You can also learn a lot from a professor outside of the classroom. They are willing to meet with students throughout the week. You will get a great education if you attend Taylor because the school is devoted to making sure that you learn what you need to to get the job/career that you want.

  • 09/10/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Taylor is pretty pricy, but given the schloarships they offer, both based on need and merit, it is definitely worth it for the education you'll be receiving.

    Will enjoy being here

    Beautiful campus and awesome location to focus on Campus activities rather than your own.

    Will learn a lot

    Taylor University has a very acedemic fell when visiting.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    taylor is über safe. i've never heard of any weird type of activity.

    What to do for fun

    there are usually lots of activities to do on campus. game nights, cooking with friends, sporting events... you can choose how busy you want to be. :)

    Food and Dining

    everybody jokes about the dining commons food, but it's actually pretty good and has a wide variety of choices.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is good. the students are nice... however if you're a loner it might not be thebest for you.

    Academic Rigor

    taylor is the right pace. not too rigorous but exciting and preparing!

    Tips for prospective students

    dress warm for winter and pack big boots! january gets cold with blowing winds. fall and spring rain is craaaazy.

    In three sentences

    taylor university is a great college. between the great community and the knowledgable and accessible teachers, you'll feel right at home.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    our most well-known tradition is called silent night. it takes place during a basketball game and all the students pile into the gym wearing pajamas or decorative christmas outfits. the entire gym is silent for until our team makes their 10th point. then the whole gym erupts in noise!! it is so much fun and everyone participates. after the game there is a big party in the dining commons that has cookies and punch and lots of food and fun and games.

    What to do for fun

    we hang out with friends in each others dorms and make our own fun when we do not want/have the money to spend. if we actually have money to spend then we go out to muncie, which is about 20 minutes away, or marion which is about 20 minutes away also. both offer great restaurants, shopping, movie options, and more.

    Food and Dining

    the dining commons has a variety of food. anything you have a craving for it is almost guaranteed to be found in the dining commons. not only is there a variety but the variety is actually good food that tastes like homemade food.

    Dorm Life

    people on your wing or even in the same quad in the apartments are intentional and loving. you will always be able to find a good friend just steps away, yet you will also be able to have your own private time to regroup. the sense of community is intentional.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are top notch at taylor. they will push you to become a more critical thinker, a better problem solver, and a more well-rounded person.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to taylor if you want to find best friends that will stay with you for life and intentionally help you grow spiritually.

    In three sentences

    taylor is one of the best colleges to go to in order to grow spiritually. it is where you will meet friends who truly care and are intentional about relationships. the professors actually take an interest in you, know who you are, and go out of their way to help you succeed.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is little that goes on on campus, but also there is a campus safety building located right on campus-in the middle of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are quite a few activities that you can participate in on campus. sports, music, acting...the list goes on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    taylor has many great traditions, such as silent night. everyone dresses in their night clothes and goes to the first basketball game to support their team, but there is no cheering for the first five (or was it ten?) points and then the gym explodes in cheers. it is a great night! it has been on espn before too. there is the hoedown that is at the beginning of the year. dressing up in county clothes and…well you can guess the rest, dancing the hoedown….turning your partner round and round. lol also they have a “christmas ball” kind of event, everyone dress real nice goes to eat in the dinning commons where there is music and chocolate fountain, etc. and then you ride over to the auditorium in a limo for a christmas concert. there are other traditions that are by dorm or groups.

    What to do for fun

    well there is nothing really off campus nearby, save for the ice-cream shop, but on campus there are sport games, a place to play pool with friends, theater, and much more. there is always something to do on campus; you just have to find it.

    Food and Dining

    as for the food in the dinning commons, it is not too bad at all. they have a salad bar, a sandwich bar and the main lines. they are not the best food in the world…it’s a cafeteria not your mothers (of fathers or who-ever’s) good old home cooking, but they are still good. one thing i really like about taylor is that if you have a food allergy (like i do) they can help tailor meals for you. they even have a dietitian you can talk with to help make a meal plan. the cooks make your food and have it all ready for you when you come down. also, taylor has a quick bar in the middle of campus you can run into between classes and get a meal—food is great! and in that same building you have the famous jumping bean!! they make some really good coffee and cold drinks next to starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is not that bad, but it is also not the best. i lived in bergwall (the best dorm to be in on campus), so i had it better than the others on campus. my dorm was located right across for the gym and connected to the dinning commons. our room was a good size with its own bathroom. two to three people a room, so not too bad, but when you start getting three it starts getting crowded in there. berg has air-conditioning as well, this is the only dorm that does. all the other dorms you have to bring your own fan and from experience, it can get real hot in those dorms. but on the down side to these dorms is that they are old, each dorm has its own issues, like our bathroom leaked some and another room on our floor had a leak all year in their room. when you walked in there would always be water right there, i believe that mold would have started to grow. they are not that quick to fix things either. but also, not just the material aspects of the dorm, the people are great. there was always people there waiting to help you with any problem, but sometimes it could get a little suffocating, but great environment all together.

    Academic Rigor

    taylor is strict on it's academics, but they do offer some leeway. they have high standards and hold high expectations for their students, not only while attending their school, but also for your future success.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police station on campus like most but there have not been any crimes reported in the last half decade on campus when I searched up on Taylor's history (2012). Overall, this is a place where I guys and girls alike are not afraid to walk across campus at night without fear for their safety (the logic of doing so would be questionable in itself anyway).

    Greek Life

    There technically are not set sororities or fraternities on campus but there is a special bond that grows between those in their select Dorm Wings. At meals, the unspoken seating is with one's Wing, surrounded by their Dorm but mingling is always encouraged (except with tables filled with surly/uncouth Freshman still in High school sophomoric mode).

    Clubs and Activities

    There are intramurals, study-related clubs, student created clubs and society sponsored programs that keep unity a primary focus while either exercising the mind/body in the process. Hopefully most colleges are the same in that anyone regardless of gender can join in these clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who love to be social but want a solid education leading to a stable well-paid job and almost perfect for quiet people who want to merge into social life and shake off the inhibitions created by high school life (like myself).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This used to be an all girls college back in Taylor's earlier years, so it caters to the 45% male ( <- exaggeration) population occasionally a tad more than girls. For the guys, there are initiations (not technically hazing because you can get out of it easily, which there may be some for girls also) that give a little prestige knowing that you're carrying on a legacy. For girls there are uh...(I'm a guy so this is harder to find out), well girls AND guys there are these school sanctioned Pick-a-Dates where a floor picks an event for its occupants to entertain a guest of their choice. A guy and ask out a girl (or vise-versa) and the asker pays for the entire date (almost always the guy pays either way) and they go with a group of such couples from the initiating person's floor. There are also the ever present knowledge that many of those who get married when/before graduating from Taylor find their spouse from a Pick-a-Date. In this knowledge some Freshman (like myself) have inhibitions for these excursions but for anyone thinking of attending, there are dozens of Pick-a-Dates to go on, which makes that statement basically true but in a less absolute way. There are many more things too but it's best to learn first hand, or at least by visiting.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a constantly rising 72% chance (over 90% for business majors like myself) that you will be employed after graduation from Taylor in any major that you choose. This is a Christian University that has passionate, caring and friendly students, faculties, other employees, frequent visiting alumni and surrounding community that is probably only found here (this is my opinion out of 6 colleges visited).

    What to do for fun

    There are ALWAYS activities going on, since this college, classes are not at a set time but the general time for everyone to gather for school sanctioned events, clubs, dorm run events, floor events, wing retreats, or excursions into town start roughly around 5pm when dinner starts.

    Food and Dining

    Meals are divided into several groups: Homestyle cooking, Burgers/Fries, Self-serving Sandwiches, Fresh Fruits/Salads, Pizza, Italian foods, Steamed Pasta, baked foods, cereals, dozens of different drinks and a line that serves food from certain parts of the world, which differs from Asian, European, Latin American to the occasional African dishes.

    Dorm Life

    For each floor in any given dorm, there are at least 3 wings. Most dorms set up fraternities/sororities with their select wing but there are several lucky floors who have over 100 occupants but are the most interactive with each other. Activities are facilitated by Personal Advisers (PAs) and since this is a Christian school, there are also Discipleship Advisers (DAs), though there is no requirement for you to become a Christian.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course there are exceptions in each school but overall, the academics are sound here at Taylor; in that the teachers give you the sources of their understanding and encourage you to decide whether it is true for you or not. Reading will be something that may take up other homework time but if you plan to have a social life at all, you definitely will not be able to read all the books, unless you sacrifice sleep.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a Christian college and they tend to lean toward accepting those students that are at least interested in this faith. Admission counselors actually read your essays several times and question you about your motives for coming to Taylor (don't put hoopla in those essays). Set up a reading schedule before you get in college, and if you get your books early, READ THEM!!

    In three sentences

    When I first came to the University, I was surprised that the descriptions of it being in the middle of a cornfield were spot-on. Being in such a remote location though, drives community together and a chance to get to know more of the 2,500 people than one would if it were the same size college in a big city like New York or Illinois. This is a college that keeps its students in an area where they have to face their challenges, both academic and social, and not run away from them.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a top priority at TU. The campus security is very visible around campus, however there are rarely busy. Taylor has an abnormally low crime-rate. People are very trusting and respectful of others and their property.

    Greek Life

    While Taylor does not have a Greek Life, they pride themselves on providing many other student activities to take the place of Greek Life. Dude Week, Nostalgia, Night, and Melon and Gourd are several of these such events.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous committees, clubs, organizations, and activities for students to become involved with. From student government roles to ethnic diversity clubs and equestrian lovers, you are certain to find something that will fit your personality and at the same time provide a quality leadership position.

    Great for these types of students

    Almost any student will fit-in at Taylor. The university prides itself on being accepting of every type of person. Students who will thrive at Taylor University are those who are out-going, have a passion for their faith, are student leaders, and maintain high academic standards.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Taylor traditions are countless and vary from dorm to dorm. Several campus wide events that occur every year are a lip-singing and choreographed dance competition called Air Band. And the nationally ranked basketball tradition Silent Night was featured on ESPN for the past 3 years as the best college basketball tradition. You won't want to miss this event!

    Bang for the buck

    Taylor is very expensive when it comes to small, private, Christian schools in Indiana. However, Taylor provides a much higher quality education than many of it's competitors.

    What to do for fun

    Because Upland, IN is practically in the middle of now-where, Taylor students get very creative in coming up with fun activities to balance the academic rigor. Many wing activities include pick-a-dates and dorm traditions. Frisbee Golf is a huge deal in Morris Hall!

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Commons have made great strides and have improved greatly from years past. The food still isn't gourmet, but it is normally creative and tolerable. If the main food line does not seem appealing, they also have pizza, cheese burgers and fries, and deli sandwiches at every meal.

    Dorm Life

    Taylor's residence life is superb. The floors/wings create a tight-knit, family-like community. Many times floors and wings eat meals together and sit with each other during chapel services.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classed require a planned schedule for you to complete your homework in a timely manner.

    Tips for prospective students

    Taylor's academic programs are rigorous so be sure not to overcommit yourself when entering Taylor your freshman year. It is easier said than done.

    In three sentences

    Since its founding in 1846, Taylor University has been an outstanding institution for learning and growing. It is unlike any other college experience I have had. Taylor University isn't someplace you can describe, it must be experienced.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel scared as we have a designated campus safety that is constantly roaming campus watching to make sure everything is going safely.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities and almost all people get involved. Be prepared to at least get approached to join something to supplement your college career.

    Great for these types of students

    Any types of students. Great for all people regardless of background or interests

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Prayer chapel at night Galleria Euler on all floors is great to study

    Bang for the buck

    A bit expensive but what do you expect for a private small school. You do get a great education but unsurprisingly it is a but expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Visit Ball State, Indiana Wesleyan Go on pick a dates Attend campus events Go to walmart....

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Commons here is good with a wonderful variety. They switch things up often and always have the never-can-fail huge arrangements of cereal.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is a fantastic experience and one I experienced for two years. Have fun getting to know great guys and girls and the school admissions process does a great job of matching up roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a difficult school and is no walk in the park. Be ready to work hard regardless of your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved Enjoy yourself! GO on wing retreats Have fun with pick a dates!

    In three sentences

    This is a college that creates an incredible community. The students all know each other and is what separates this school from other small schools. It has small class sizes, incredible teachers and great facilities but the students and interaction is what makes this college great.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    annoying sometimes with parking but very nice men.

    Greek Life

    non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    not too many.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    so many i can't write them all down here. one would be that when a girl gets engaged, she hides this news until all of the girls on the wing come together in a circle and pass a candle around the circle singing, going to the chapel and then the person who is engaged blows it out and and everyone screams. then the engaged girl tells the story of how she was engaged and it is a time of fellowship and encouragement for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    make up your own fun with your friends. cornfields all around.

    Food and Dining

    the dining commons is trying really hard to improve constantly and you can tell that when you do a survey, they are really trying to listen. the only reason i do not give it a 5 star is the money. everyone that lives in the dorms must pay 3 meals 7 days a week.

    Dorm Life

    depending on the dorm that you live in, it can be a great experience or a terrible one. for the most part, there is no drinking which is great but it stinks if you have friends of the opposite sex because there is no place to hang out.

    Academic Rigor

    i think that anyone that wishes to get a good education will get one at taylor university

    Tips for prospective students

    be active and search for experiences. do not hide in your room

    In three sentences

    i believe that it is a great school that gives many opportunities to grow academically and spiritually. unfortunately i believe that it is not worth the financial setback that taylor would bring students, unless you are already extremely rich. the financial aid is a joke.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food selection isn't the best. There aren't very many options but usually there is something that is at least edible.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm has it's own unique characteristics. Where you decide to live will play a major role in determining the group of people you become close with.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging, but not exceptionally hard.

    In three sentences

    Taylor University has a very unique campus. The atmosphere is extremely friendly !

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never heard of a safety problem on campus. The campus is in the middle of the corn fields of Indiana how much safer can you get? But there is still campus police always on campus just incase.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities on campus that everyone can find something they enjoy and maybe even something new that they never knew how to do before.

    Great for these types of students

    Taylor is a good match for any student that wants a good education and wants experience before they graduate from college. If you want to be educated well before you get into the work force Taylor is definitely a good place to be. Elementary education is definitely one of the more common majors at Taylor, but there are also a lot of pre-med students and a very good new science building that will be open Fall 2012.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so many crazy traditions at Taylor I couldn't even name them all, but that is what makes it so much fun to be there. Especially your first year when you are learning all of the abbreviations everyone uses and the different absolutely insane traditions, it's great!

    Bang for the buck

    Taylor is quite pricey and that is something we all have to worry about going into college, but I think they prepare students very well to get a job after school. There are many opportunities even before you graduate to work on different projects with your professors and things of that nature.

    What to do for fun

    Many of the students really enjoy going to Ivanhoe's which is an ice cream shop within walking distance of campus. It is a great place to hang out and just have fun with friends. Taylor's campus is also just 45min from Fort Wayne and and hour from Indianapolis--two great places to go on weekends. There are also many activities like sports games and crazy made up events that are fun to do with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining commons is of course cafeteria food so it isn't the best food ever, but i think it is decent. They are also very accommodating for students with food allergies.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorm has been a great experience. The people on each wing or floor become very close because they eat together and do many different activities together. Who you live with is your family away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Taylor provides great academics! They challenge their students and provide helpful tools for getting a job once you are graduated. They hold many conferences and have a lot of guest speakers and opportunities for every major in order to inform their students what they will be up against when they get out of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go on a campus tour. It's great to be able to see the campus before you move in and to be able to see some of the dorms so you can choose which one you want to live in. Ask about the dorm stereotypes so you know which one you will fit in best. Get a windbreaker, a pair of rainboots, and a good winter coat! it's windy in Upland and it's not fun walking across campus if you aren't dressed properly. Oh, and forget an umbrella it's too windy--get a raincoat!

    In three sentences

    I believe Taylor University is a great place to go for students who are serious about succeeding. It is an expensive education, but it is a good education. This university does a great job at preparing their students for the jobs they will eventually be working.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since our campus is so small, campus safety is almost always right there when you need it.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many to list! We have academic clubs/teams, athletic clubs, ethnic clubs, activist clubs, leadership clubs, etc. There is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Taylor is a perfect fit for anyone who is looking for not only a great education but also the opportunity to grow mentally, emotionally, and spiritually as an individual. Also, anyone looking for a great community within a college would love Taylor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so many; to list a few: Airband (a dance competition), Nostalgia Night (a throwback singing competition), Welcome Weekend Hoedown, Envision Film Festival, Melon and Gourd (a week-long competitive game of tag for the males), Silent Night (basketball game tradition Friday before finals where we do absolutely no cheering until the 10th point, broadcasted on ESPN)... And many, many more.

    Bang for the buck

    An education and college experience is all up to the student; you get what you put in. At Taylor all the tools are there to provide each student with the best four years of life, but the student has to be willing to utilize them.

    Food and Dining

    Everyone eats in the Dining Commons except for the seniors. The Dining Commons has great variety, but just like any other cafeteria setting, it can get old after awhile. Seniors have the choice to eat in The Grille which is a fantastic place. Grille transfers are also available for athletes, special needs, and schedule conflicts. We also have the Jumping Bean-the campus coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing! We don't have any sororities or fraternities, but each floor has just enough tradition to feel like one without being overpowering. There are no freshmen dorms so no matter where you live, you'll be living with freshmen through seniors; this is a fantastic way to get to know people from all over campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There are is some variation from professor to professor, but overall, the faculty pushes the students past their potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Taylor offers so many different activities to get involved in that it tends to be overwhelming at first; pick a few that really click with you instead of trying to do everything. If you spread yourself too thin, you won't have time to be a student and friend and have a little fun.

    In three sentences

    Taylor University has become my home. Everyone from professors, staff, and faculty to hall directors, residential assistants, and roommates has my best interests at heart. I am not only gaining a superb education, but I am experiencing community and life to the fullest.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plays, movies, sporting events, and local establishments provide plenty of food. However, the town of Upland is relatively small and does not offer a whole lot outside of the university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study hard, work hard, and continually push yourself to improve.

    In three sentences

    The go-to place for prospective writers. I learned more on the craft of writing in my short time here than I had my entire life. Taylor University places a profound value on quality learning.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are circa 2,000 students attending Taylor University. The campus and town are isolated enough that the sense of safety is already evident. Campus police are readily available during the day and patrol the school during the night. People leave their laptops and valuables laying around campus all the time, it is extremely rare for things to get stolen at Taylor.

    Greek Life

    Inexistent at Taylor.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a follower of Christ and enjoy a life of community, the peacefulness of the country side, recreational activities that are uplifting and do not involve drugs or alcohol, enjoy attending chapel (which is optional at Taylor), enjoy challenging your faith by thinking and listening to the beliefs of others, if you like to travel and would like to study abroad in Ireland, Italy, Ecuador, or be involved in mission trips around the world, then Taylor is for you. If you like partying, the noise and happening of the city, diversity in cultures, religions, ethnicities and people, don't come to Taylor.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot going on within Taylor. There are, for example, wing pick-a-dates, which are basically mass dates where a dorm wing picks dates and they go out bowling or eating, etc. There are themed open houses where a dorm floor will decorate and create activities in their floor for others to come enjoy for free! There are shows, plays, zumba lessons, star-tipping nights, polar-pop runs, baking nights... Students get creative with their entertainment given the isolated situation of the school.

    Food and Dining

    As mentioned before, Upland Indiana is a pretty small, isolated town. There are very few options outside of Campus for dining. You have to drive from 5-20 minutes to find a variety of fast-food chains, or another 30-45 minutes to reach Muncie, where you can find Indian and Thai food restaurants. Indianapolis is a 2 hour drive away from Taylor, you can find better restaurants there.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms, floors and wings (suites too if you are a girl living in English Hall). I found dorm life really entertaining and united, you are never alone and the general atmosphere at Taylor provides you with friends that want to be there. Its obviously not perfect and disagreements will come from time to time, but the sense of belonging and the evident companionship are definitely aspects that make Taylor dorms really fun places to live in. It is comforting to know that you will have a solid base of friends you can always return to. As far as comfort and aesthetics go, they are not exactly the most beautiful places (not that they're ugly either), and the rooms in most of the dorms are not very big, but if space and comfiness are things you are concerned about, you should apply to Bergwall Hall, it has the structure of a hotel, it is right next to the gym, it's co-ed, and it is connected to the Dinning Commons.

    Academic Rigor

    You are expected to put 2 hours of effort per class per day. Most of your freshman and sophomore years will be flooded with general education courses, which vary in difficulty according to the professor, but are never extremely time consuming nor draining. Professors are generally rational with their time spans for assignments and assignments are thought through and useful. You can do fine with an hour a day per class. Taylor is not very difficult overall, I find, it really depends on how much effort you want to put.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're considering coming to Taylor, be mindful of location; Upland Indiana is not exactly where much is happening. If you like open spaces and calm, beautiful, relaxing landscapes, then Taylor is the place to be. Also, being a Christian School, remember that Taylor has a policy of no drinking, drug using, smoking, etc. In the end you will make your own decisions, and if you're looking for those things you'll probably find them, but if you're coming to this university you are expected to commit and behave accordingly. Tips? Expect a friendly atmosphere where people will be intentional about being intentional with their relationships and with Christ, expect a small campus with plenty of green and a mixture of relatively old and surprisingly modern new buildings. Overall, bring a positive attitude, there is much to benefit from regarding relationships, the students and staff at Taylor definitely have something worthwhile.

    In three sentences

    Taylor University is small and isolated. The close community life is the reason why many choose to attend Taylor; it is united and spiritually uplifting, saturated with activities ranging from themed open houses to talks on world politics. The never ending events make up for the campus' isolation.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus has a secure and protected atmosphere.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life, per se; the closest we have to a frat is the third floor of Samuel Morris Hall, playfully called the Brotherhood (BroHo).

    Great for these types of students

    Students from small schools (or home school) will feel most at home here. Students from enormous public schools may feel like big fish in a suddenly small pool (our student body is only 2,000 strong), but many find it peaceful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wengatz Boxer Run (it's exactly what it sounds like), Silent Night (check it out here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=csjydRx750k), Airband/MyGen/Nostalgia Night/Mosaic Night (campus-wide talent shows, basically).

    Bang for the buck

    The quickest way to improve TU drastically? Take down costs. Unfortunately, that's not going to happen anytime soon. It's worth every penny, but we could do with paying a few less.

    What to do for fun

    We're pretty isolated; without a car, you'll spend most weekends on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Could be worse, and for creative minds it's a daily exercise in outsmarting the food you're given so you can make the food you want.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends on being placed in the right hall, and Taylor is very good at doing that.

    Academic Rigor

    Strong academics; for those of you who breezed through high school, don't anticipate every class to be one in which you know more about the subject matter than the teacher. Those exist, too, but so do classes that demand you work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dorm stereotypes are inane; don't buy into them and you'll open up a range of incredible friendships you never expected.

    In three sentences

    Extraordinary community, many solid classes (with a few horrible, horrible, horrible Gen-Eds which can be easily avoided), and exceptionally talented people.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Really anyone should be able to succeed here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Silent night, a bball game where no one cheers until the 10th point, then it goes nuts. Oh yeah wear some ridiculous. Airband, a lip syncing dance concert. Sammy v. Wengazt Boxer run. So many more per floor, some more secret than others.

    What to do for fun

    Traditions, there's lots of these. Floor events, tons of fun. The people, you will grow because of them. Pickadates, mass floor-wide dates. Sports, you should already know this. Tons of concerts, both by students and popular artists. And so much more.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested, let them know it. Keep in contact, stay in a dorm overnight. Your hosts for the night will be great. There's much to do around here, even though it sometimes seems there isn't. But stay in contact.

    In three sentences

    We have made #1 Midwest regional college 6 years running. With a liberal arts education given by a top notch college there are many possibilities in life. This place will give you what you need to learn, grow, but the best part is the people and community.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    While Taylor University is a relatively expensive college, it does provide quite a bit of financial aide and its benefits are certainly worth the investment.

    What to do for fun

    Taylor is located in a very small town. This does not mean there is no entertainment, but that students through the years have been forced to be creative about finding recreational activities. From pick-a-date events to on-campus parties and competitions, Taylor's students have no shortage of fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining commons provides a wide variety of food. Students may mix and match meals, selecting from international foods, pasta, a Mexican bar, salads, a deli bar, and more.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life varies depending on the residence hall. With intentions of drawing student closer together, dorms sponsor events such as wing retreats, brother/sister floor dates, floor dinners, and dorm open houses. Floormates generally get along well, with rules designed to help students respect each other while enjoying each others' company and living as responsible, independent adults.

    Academic Rigor

    Taylor's programs are rigorous and include quite a lot of general education, but the professors are eager for students to succeed and willing to put in time and attention to help. Because of Taylor's focus on holistic education, students are exposed to a wide range of academic studies and are expected to put in the effort to learn the material. The major programs force students to work hard to learn the material but well prepare students for their chosen careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your prospective major and minor department faculty. They can answer your questions and explain requirements, as well as helping come up with creative solutions to make your college experience personally suited to you. Be ready to step out of your personal comfort zone. Besides focusing on interpersonal relationships on campus, Taylor is deeply committed to reaching out to the community and the world.

    In three sentences

    Taylor is an incredible college where professors and faculty care personally about their students, and excellence is a goal in every endeavor. With a focus on intentional community and relationships, students are encouraged to get to know each other and support each other as well as succeeding in the classroom. Each major has a wide variety of training in and out of the classroom, ranging from lectures to practicums to study abroad opportunities.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel like if I am coming from the library late at night, nothing will happen to me.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Silent Night- the greatest experience ever!

    Bang for the buck

    Over $30,000, but a great educational experience.

    Food and Dining

    Better than most schools.

    Dorm Life

    A great community feel.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class and how you feel about the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the welcoming community, friendly people will help you with school work.

    In three sentences

    Taylor has a welcoming atmosphere. The professors and students will help you with problems in and outside the classroom. A great Christian environment.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students at Taylor usually find things to do on campus as the campus is pretty much in the middle of nowhere. Drinking and smoking is against the rules at the school. Students go to school events like sport games, musical events, and/or open housing which is visiting girl dorms on Friday and guy dorms on Saturday.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Taylor's cafeteria is okay. The variety of food there gets old after a while. There are some chain restaurants like McDonald's, Pizza Hut, Starbucks, and Subway within a 15 minute driving distance.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay, you live in close vicinity with others who have different levels of maturity. Sometimes you need to go to the library to study when people get to loud. I recommend bringing ear plugs with you if you hope to get some sleep at night.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers challenge the students to do the best they can do so that they can be ready for the work world. Most teachers are thoughtful in what they teach the students. Most classes that are taken at here will make you feel like you learned something new and make you feel smarter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Taylor is a school that is focused on community, which means that there are a lot of events that go on at the campus. Chapel is not mandatory but i recommend attending them. The people are usually nice and warm towards others.

    In three sentences

    Taylor is a wonderful Christian University that strives for the students to grow Spiritually and Academically. The school challenges the student in a way that will help the student prepare in the future. The school is on the smaller side with just over 2,500 students.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, but still have great patrol on campus. 24/7 police team that is actually part of the town police department.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, but absolutely worth the cost. Professors make time to know students well, advisers know you personally, and I truly feel ready for graduate or medical school.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, travel to Indy, movies, Pick-a-Dates (wing will ask someone of opposite gender to go on a floor event; super fun!), and campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    It is college food at a small university. The food quality is much better, with a health food corner, pasta line, sandwich line, pizza and mexican, great salad lines, and fresh made meals. However, 3 stars because only one location to eat until senior year, where an additional small grille in the union is available. Also, only one meal plan until senior year. But not expensive.

    Dorm Life

    The people you live with are for the majority encouraging, mature, fun, and all-around great people. Made some of the closest friends I have ever had since living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous! However, they have great resources to help students who may need extra help. Additionally, due to how the professors individually pour into students, I often have felt the classes be less of a challenge solely because of their investment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend a night to get to know the students. Taylor is in the country, so be prepared to make your own fun.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love the academics, which constantly are striving to be the highest quality. The professors and students make an effort to know you personally. Through my experience at Taylor, I feel poured into, encouraged to grow, and feel competitive for graduate schools.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a campus police on campus who patrols around and is available for help when necessary.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities from student council, involvement in the community with children or church to sports clubs. There is anything and everything, equestrian team, track...

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for those who are comfortable being out in a cornfield with not too much around, but want to be involved in a wonderful community of people who truly care for each other.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have silent night which is where we all dress up crazy and pack the gym and are silent until the tenth point is scored for our team. We then erupt into cheers for the whole rest of the game. At the end we all join arms and sing silent night and then head over to the dining commons for dessert and games.

    Bang for the buck

    There is an ice skating rink, bowling and roller skating that is always fun. Juju berry frozen yogurt and other food places. There is more if you're willing to experiment.

    What to do for fun

    There is always a polar pop run to the local gas station or Ivanhoes (home of 100 different sundae and shake flavors). There is also walmart, ihop, steak n shake not too far away. Living in a cornfield makes you creative with games and activities. But there is never a short run of ideas.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one major dining commons with a small grill place for those who can't make it to lunch. I like our dining commons, but sometimes the food can be scarce depending on the day. You become very creative with your food creations.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in an all girl dorm with a suite style set up. It allows me to be out with other girls and do homework with them. We also have open house times on fridays, saturdays and sundays that allow the guys dorm to be open, the girls dorm to be open and on sundays both.

    Academic Rigor

    It is rigorous, but it depends on your field of study how much you spend on academics. They push you to reach your potential, but there are times that it is not so busy either. There is a nice balance between it all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to work hard as Taylor is a liberal arts college known for its academics, but also known for it's support system through the community of friends, teachers and Upland residents.

    In three sentences

    Taylor is a school that motivates you to work hard and strives to help you become competent in your field of study through classes, international experiences and a Christian outlook.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is EXTREMELY safe. Partially because nothing dangerous is in Upland.

    Bang for the buck

    Taylor is a private university, so the price is pretty high. However, if Taylor is where you're meant to be God will provide the finances. Also, if you look at who you want to be in forty years, Taylor is a much higher quality institution.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is good but can get repetitive. Ivanhoes is down the street, however, and is absolutely amazing.

    Dorm Life

    Alcohol is prohibited except for weddings. The all girl dorms and all male dorms have visiting hours, and the lounges are always available for either sex so it's not as segregated as some claim it to be.

    Academic Rigor

    Taylor expects students to succeed and the professors are very engaged. There's help for those who want/need it. And there's always a challenge for those go-getters.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. People who end up there often know the minute they step foot on campus. Also, walk around. Go inside the buildings and the resident dorms. Oh, and don't forget Ivanhoes!

    In three sentences

    Taylor has the distinctive and intentional Christian atmosphere you won't find elsewhere. This combined with the prestigous academics and various opportunities really make Taylor the place to be!

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities at Taylor.

    Great for these types of students

    Type-A, competitive students will probably have the least amount of struggle at Taylor, but it can be extremely helpful to the more relaxed and easygoing type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Taylor has many, many unusual traditions, and its culture is primarily based on these. Some are heart-warming, some are wacky, and some are downright ridiculous. It can be entertaining and annoying at the same time.

    Bang for the buck

    Taylor can provide a phenomenal experience for those who know what they're getting into, but those who can't live by the rules will always find something to complain about. While some may consider the rules limiting, they are actually pretty relaxed when compared to many other private Christian colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There are many, many campus-wide activities with which a person can be involved at TU, and these are often very fun. There are few entertainment options in the area, although a drive to Marion or Muncie normally does the trick. With a little personal initiative, social groups often find fun activities during the week and on weekends.

    Food and Dining

    There are few options on or off campus. On campus there are two main places to eat: The DC and The Grille, and while they do have some variety (and they're getting better all the time), it can get a little tiring. There are very few options in Upland, although within a 10-20 minute drive there are more and better choices.

    Dorm Life

    Taylor University dorm life is very unique, which can be good or bad depending on the individual. People have spoken about it being difficult to make friends outside of their dorms or even their wings/floors. On the other hand, the tight-knit wing/floor atmosphere can create exceptionally strong and lasting friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    Taylor University has high expectations for its students. To be accepted, certain high academic standards must be met. This creates a competitive and challenging environment on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, visit as often as you feel necessary, and ask a lot of questions. Taylor University takes some getting used to and, unfortunately, where you live on campus may determine much of your experience (at least until you find your own social group). Make sure to investigate and take advantage of the financial aid opportunities before you write the college off as too expensive.

    In three sentences

    Taylor University is far from perfect, but it does have challenging academic programs and consistent student support. Though its college student life programming and involvement are different than most colleges around the country, many students find these to be engaging and supportive. Certain rules and expectations must be followed to continue attending Taylor, and some find these restricting.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Silent Night Basketball Game!

    Bang for the buck

    They offer merit based scholarships.

    Food and Dining

    So yummy!

    Dorm Life

    I attended an overnight visit and stayed in a dorm and it was amazing! Everyone in the hall was great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit!

    In three sentences

    I loved the campus! The students are amazing and welcoming. This place feels like home.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus. There have been several times when I have gone for a night run around campus or had to walk to and from the library or another building in the dark, but each time I felt completely safe. The campus police are usually visible driving around campus and are more than willing to help or lend a ride if necessary, but their presence is not overwhelming.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Silent Night is probably the most well-known Taylor tradition. It has been covered on multiple news and radio stations as well as by newspapers. Silent Night occurs during the last basketball game before Christmas break. All of the students (and I do mean literally all of the students) attend the game. Most students wear their pajamas or dress up in some sort of costume. As soon as the game starts, everyone in the Taylor audience falls silent - no cheering, no clapping, just silent - until the tenth point is scored, after which everyone erupts into cheers for the rest of the game. It is incredibly fun and is followed by cookies in the Dining Commons and a Christmas story read to the students by the president of the university.

    Bang for the buck

    Taylor, as a private Christian school, can be pretty expensive, but so far I've found it to be totally worth the money. The academics are, in general, very good and I am confident that I will graduate with the experience necessary to find a job. The professors are very intelligent and helpful both in and out of class. Beyond academics, the community at Taylor is unlike anything I've experienced before, and it is wonderful.

    What to do for fun

    Taylor University has lots of events planned throughout the year for students to participate in. There are talent shows, athletic events, comedy nights, bike races, and so much more. Taylor is located in basically the middle of nowhere, so there isn't much to do off campus, but students sometimes make an Ivanhoe's run for shakes or drive to nearby Marion, Indiana for a movie or frozen yogurt.

    Food and Dining

    There is a large variety of food in the Dining Commons. Some people do complain that the food is not as high of quality as they would like, but I rarely have trouble finding something good to eat. There is everything from a personal pasta bar to a corner grill to a health food section to a home-style food line and there is always a fruit and salad line open.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here may not be extremely high-tech or modern, but they each have a wonderful culture of their own. Personally, I live in one of the smaller dorms, so I know everyone in my dorm by name, and we often have dorm events, such as hall worship or even hall laser tag, which are a great way to get to know people and foster a sense of community.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part, classes have been quite interesting and I feel that I've learned a lot. There have been a few general education classes in which I didn't feel like I was learning much, but the classes that I've taken for my major have been very informative and have already given me experience that will be valuable in my future field.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely suggest staying overnight in one of the dorms if you come to visit. It will give you an idea of what nightlife on campus is like and will be a big help when it comes to deciding where to live on campus if you do attend Taylor.

    In three sentences

    Taylor University combines a great Christian community with stellar academics. The people are friendly and the professors are knowledgeable and approachable. It may be in the middle of nowhere in Indiana, but the relationships built at Taylor University make the isolation worth it.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Jeff Wallace is head of campus safety at Taylor and is like a dad to all the students. Extremely safe at Taylor. People leave their computers and phones out and nothing happens to them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Get involved in Chapel Band, any leadership role on campus, intramurals, a foreign club, honors, ANYTHING

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to grow in their faith through living in community, people who love having fun in a sober manner, and people who love having godly friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pick a dates, where you go on a big group date and ask someone to go with you. Silent Night is a huge basketball game in December right before finals where no one says anything until the 10th point is scored, and then everyone goes wild, Taylathon is an extremely competitive bike race that happens each year, and Airband/Nostalgia Night/My Gen are all musical shows that the students perform (intended for humor).

    What to do for fun

    Because Taylor is in a cornfield, you have to be very creative with your fun. Go to McDonald's, play frolf, baseball, go to Indianapolis, etc. The options on campus are limited, but be creative and you can do anything.

    Food and Dining

    The DC (Dining Commons) could be better, but it's not the worst. It's buffet style and you can pick anything you want to eat. Pasta, salad, burgers, sandwiches, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the best. You live on a wing, and you get very close to them. Each dorm has a different stereotype, so you have to make sure to pick one that best suits you.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Taylor are very hard, but if you are intentional about your time management, it's not that bad. Go to the writing lab and work on your papers, spend time in the library, and then you will still have time to hang out with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are visiting, don't think that the niceness that everyone is showing you is fake. People are genuinely that kind at Taylor, so don't shut it out, accept it.

    In three sentences

    Taylor University has been an awesome school for me this year. It can be easy to get sucked into the whole Christian, cookie-cutter mold, but if you are aware of it, then you won't. They take community very seriously, which can be overwhelming if you allow it to be, but it is actually very cool.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My wing (3rd South English Hall, check it out) has a tradition called Broomball. Everyone brings a date, but it's a lowkey, friendly kind of date, try not to put any meaning into it if you get asked. We all go to an ice skating rink (wearing tennis shoes) and we split into teams and try to knock balls into the goals, except we use brooms that we've decorated with duct tape. Afterwards we go to IHOP. We usually don't get back until 3 a.m. but it's so fun!

    What to do for fun

    Taylor is a five minutes' walk from Ivanhoes, a restaurant and ice cream shop that genuinely has the best sundaes and shakes(100 of each) that I've ever tasted. Taylor is also 20 minutes away from Marion, IN, a bigger city that has a walmart and meijer as well as just about any restaurant you can think of, several bowling alleys, a movie theatre, and a mall.

    Food and Dining

    The dining commons is a buffet and there's always different things to eat. The food is great, much better than what you would think at a school, but towards the end of the year it does start to get a little boring and you miss home cooked food.

    Dorm Life

    If you come to Taylor, STAY ON CAMPUS. You'll grow close to everyone you live with and you'll have so much fun. Each section of a dorm room has its own separate traditions and they're all so much fun! If you don't stay on campus, you'll be missing out.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very dependent on your major. I am a biology major, and while the work is hard, I don't have tons of papers due all the time or lots of homework assignments due every day. I have a good bit of reading to do and there are some assignments, but lots of it is in class discussion and spending time outside of class making sure you understand the material. however, my roommate is an elementary education major, and she spends lots of time doing projects and writing papers. I can't say how hard it is because I'm not good at her major(it would seem hard to me but maybe easier to her). But I can say that she loves doing it. She may have lots of work but she doesn't dread doing it, she really enjoys it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a visit! Take a 24 at Tayor visit and participate in everything. There are lots of fun things to do at Taylor, and if you really want to get a taste of it, come be a part of it just for a day. And don't be afraid to jump in and participate in all the activities planned when you visit; everyone is friendly and we love to see prospective students doing stuff with us.

    In three sentences

    Taylor will be the best four years of your life. Although academically rigorous, the community on campus is more inclusive than anywhere else. Everyone genuinely cares about everyone else and is willing to help in any way they can.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Handy Andy runs. Runs. Ivanhoes. Pick-a-dates. Movies. Hang out.

    Food and Dining

    Eh.

    Dorm Life

    Most people live in dorms all four years because of how you truly become a family with those living around you.

    Academic Rigor

    Wins awards. All the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for community. It is amazing even if you're an introvert.

    In three sentences

    Great programs. Great community. Great life choice.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think the crime rate is in the negatives.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of options.

    Great for these types of students

    Serious students who know how to have fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is Taylor's trademark...there's Airband, My Generation, Silent Night, Nostalgia Night, Mosaic Night...among other wing traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't know that I can fairly answer this until I've been graduated for a few years. Right now, I don't think the $40,000 price tag is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately, you really have to make your own fun here...it's in cornfields, but there are options on campus.

    Food and Dining

    It's decent food, and good daily variety, but over time, there isn't much variety.

    Dorm Life

    My experience has not been too great, but I know for many it is. It seems to depend on your wing's leadership and your willingness to be involved.

    Academic Rigor

    Strong academics. Great education program.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Research the school...ask any questions you might have -Talk to current students -Stay the night at the school -Wait to make your decision till you hear from all schools and receive your financial aid package

    In three sentences

    Taylor University is a school with a Christian worldview. The academics are superb. Christ is very present here.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm pretty sure there is little and almost no crime at Taylor.

    Food and Dining

    Taylor food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone I know loves the dorms and their roommates!

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard that Taylor academics are hard.

    In three sentences

    Taylor is gorgeous and wonderful. I have many friends who have gone here and they love it! It is a small campus and a small town.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Taylor University police force does a phenomenal job keeping our campus safe. There is virtually no crime, except the occasional bike getting stolen. No major thefts or vandalisms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Silent Night is a fun tradition that Taylor has the Friday before fall finals begin. Everyone dresses up in crazy costumes and pajamas and attends the men's basketball game. We stay completely silent until the 10th point is scored and then we erupt and are on our feet cheering on our team until the end of the game. Towards the end of the game we all link arms and sing Silent Night. After the game, we all head over to the dining commons for the Habecker's Holipalooza. It's a Christmas party that President Habecker and his wife hosts for the campus. Lots of games, contests, and food, and then the Habeckers read us the Christmas story from the Bible.

    What to do for fun

    In Upland, IN there really isn't too much to do for fun, be we find ways to make our own fun. Ivanhoe's is a local ice cream shop and restaurant that is a great place to get off campus and relax. Pick-a-dates, floor/wing events, sporting events, theatre, concerts, and so many more things are available on weekends for you to take part in. Take time for something at least twice a month. You won't regret it.

    Food and Dining

    A lot of people complain about the dining experience at the DC (dining commons), but honestly it's not that bad. There is a huge variety of combinations at every meal. Don't be afraid to try new things. Also, don't rush through your meals. It's understandable if your cramming a meal in between classes, but if you have time to enjoy a meal, enjoy it. A lot of bonding with dormmates and classmates happen at meals, and you don't want to miss out on that.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a unique experience at Taylor. We integrate freshmen with upperclassmen from day one. We feel that if the freshmen are living with experienced students then they'll have better results socially and academically. Each dorm/wing has its own traditions and familial experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, classes are tough. You need to be sure to attend all classes and pay attention and take good notes. Make friends with people in your classes and study together. If you stay on top of your academics it will be a lot more fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help. Talk to professors, upperclassmen, or any other faculty member that you trust. We are here to be your friend, and to help you, and we love you already. Forming long-lasting relationships are an important factor in the Taylor experience.

    In three sentences

    Taylor University is an excellent school, being ranked number one in the Midwest by U.S. News Weekly for the past six years. The environment is friendly and extremely welcoming, there is a place for anyone and everyone here. The faculty and staff are super kind and are always willing to step in and help out in any situation that a student is facing.

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because of its rural location the campus is very safe in my opinion. Aside from the issue of theft here and there I rate it very safe!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a school that will not only academically but spiritually as well then Taylor is the school for you. With it's commitment to academic excellence and meaningful spiritual growth very few can call themselves a rival to Taylor!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Taylor university is host to a variety of great traditions as well as some strange ones. Air band is a massive dorm wing vs. dorm wing competition of dance and lip syncing that is one of the biggest highlights of the fall semester and whose crown is one of the greatest honors on campus. Nostalgia night is where everyone jumps back to the early 1900's performing old songs and dances, as well as the boat regatta where students make boats form duct tape and cardboard and attempt to cross Taylor lake. The boys from the Samuel Morris dorm also have their winter boxer run as they embark on the snowy campus clad only in their finest undergarments while avoiding snowballs from other guy dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a small private college Taylor University is going to be more expensive than most schools, but it is worth every cent. The quality of education you receive in my opinion is of the highest quality and the overall experience is like none other!

    What to do for fun

    You may think that being out in the middle of no where it would make college life pretty boring right? Wrong, despite Taylor's rural location there are plenty of ways to have fun. Aside from the excellent Dorm life they have very nice athletic facilities free to be used, a very nice campus for when you want to do things outside, and the school also does a good job of planning fun things like the air band competition and nostalgia night. All in all there is always something fun to do around Taylor!

    Food and Dining

    College food is college food, Taylor's isn't the best I've had but it definitely isn't on the lower end. I would say it beats most but could be better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Taylor is like none I have ever encountered. I visited around six colleges in my search for higher education all of which were small private christian schools. Of them all none could come close to my experience at Taylor. On both of my overnight visits to Taylor I didn't feel like some out of place high school perspective, I felt like I was actually living on the dorm. I could walk into any room and just start talking with people it was unbelievable.

    Academic Rigor

    I firmly believe that the more you pay for an education the best the education will be. Taylor has a very good educational program and has been ranked by US News as the midwest's best regional college six years running! They have a very good variety in majors and minors and also give you the flexibility to create your own major. Class sizes are also very small which allows for lots of one on one with your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give taylor a visit. I remember thinking to myself that I would never want to go to school out in the middle of no where far removed from the luxuries of suburbia. But when my parents forced me to visit I absolutely fell in love with the campus and community there!

    In three sentences

    Taylor university is a school focused on Christ and dedicated to intentional community. It is a place where education and faith merge to forge a greater understanding of the world around you, and your role in it. While along the way making relationships that will weather the many tests of time and distance.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none, your wing is almost a substitution for that

    Clubs and Activities

    Intermurals orchestra band chorus bell choir gospel choir other choirs athletics many clubs i don't even know about

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Silent night. So much fun. Everyone dresses up crazy and attends a basketball game the first weekend in December. At the beginning of the game, everyone is silent until the 10th point is scored. Then everyone breaks out into loud cheering and it is crazy. At the end of the game, everyone holds hands and sings silent night. After the game, students head over to the dining commons for cookies, games, and the Christmas story read by the President and first lady.

    What to do for fun

    Since Taylor is in Upland, there are not many places to go near Taylor, so people make their own fun. You might go on a Polar Pop run with friends to the marathon gas station. There is Ivanhoes down the road if you want to go get ice-cream or food. A lot of people find things to do with their friends or their wing. There are almost always athletic events. There are intramurals that anyone can be involved in. When it is nice out you will probably see a lot of people outside playing frisbee or frolf. Most wings will have open houses where they decorate their wing in a fun way and invite the campus to come over. There are pick-a-dates in which students basically go on fun group dates.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is cheaper than it is at a lot of schools, but it is not always the best. It is good for college food.

    Dorm Life

    People are very friendly and intentional in the dorms. People check up on you and invite you to be involved in things.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have taken so far are good and range in how much homework you get, but as with any class, the more work you put into it, the better you will do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a 24 @Taylor. I never did, but I wish I had. You get to stay in one of the dorms, and you get to really experience Taylor. All of the wings/floors on campus are unique and fun. When you visit, take the time to see all of the dorms. Have fun, all of the students here want you to enjoy your visit and experience this school. Go to a chapel--it is worth it! Taylor is a great place to be.

    In three sentences

    Taylor University is a great place to be. The community is great, and while everyone says that here, it's true. The classes and professors add to the community and to the overall great experience at Taylor.