Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Technical College of the Lowcountry Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    TCL campus is located on the same street as the Beaufort County Law Enforcement Office.

    Greek Life

    TCL does not offer an abundance of fraternities/sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    TCL does not offer an abundance of clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    TCL is a great choice for students who have jobs, families, or are returning to continue education after an extensive break.

    Bang for the buck

    TCL is highly affordable and is set up to where most students' tuition costs would be covered by grants.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the student lounge, interact with other students, or join an organization.

    Food and Dining

    TCL is a two year technical college. It does not offer food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    TCL is a two year technical college. It does not offer dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but the faculty ensures that the material is taught and understood thoroughly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, register for classes on time, and keep up with any financial aid you may need.

    In three sentences

    TCL is a wonderful technical college. It offers an abundance of general majors, and most of the core classes anyone would need to pursue any other major not offered at the institution. TCL makes it easy for anyone to further their education.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Having that underground tunnel walk path to go from on side of the street to the other is very convenient for faculty and students since the Beaufort campus is located on such a busy road.

    Greek Life

    I'm not to educated on the Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not involved in any clubs or activities so i don't know much about them.

    Great for these types of students

    I believe that this school has a great nursing program for those types of students because of the many individuals that i know that have graduated from this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is on thing at the Beaufort, SC campus that i thought was very unusual yet clever. It's the underground tunnel that's used as a walk path for students and faculty to get across the street rather than actually crossing the street, since different areas of the campus is across the street from the other. Very neat.

    Bang for the buck

    I have previously attended Savannah Technical College in Savannah, Ga and I've received my CNA certificate, PCT diploma and my Cosmetology License through that school. But what makes Technical College of the Low-country stand out is that the staff there is so welcoming and eager to help, whether it be with directions, homework or just assistance on a computer. This institute ROCKS!

    What to do for fun

    There are a few things that are actually fun about this school like the different organizations, introductory activities for new students and much much more. Check the schools website for more info.

    Food and Dining

    I usually eat from the vending machines, which can be a little pricey, but hey which aren't.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life at this particular school does not exist since there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor...let's see. It takes a lot of dedication and seriousness to become the best student you can be. This can easily mean a definite decrease in the social world, decreased sleep, increased studying, increased stress, etc. But as student you should have a plan so that you can balance out all the adjustments that's needed and expected of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    All prospective students should definitely attend New Student Orientation, its very helpful. They should also ask a financial aid representative about didn't scholarships and tuition assistance programs.

    In three sentences

    This institution is really helpful when it comes to financial resources. It took me a while to complete my financial aid because i was selected for financial aid verification, but the financial aid staff did a great job assisting and were very patient. I love this school.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THERE IS AN OFFICER ALWAYS ON DUTY AT ALL CAMPUSES. I HAVE NEVER FELT WORRIED ABOUT BEING ON CAMPUS AT NIGHT

    Greek Life

    PHI THETA KAPPA HONORS SOCIETY

    Clubs and Activities

    PHI THETA KAPPA ROTORACT PILAU AND MORE

    Great for these types of students

    FRESH OUT OF HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS IN A HEALTH RELATED FIELD STUDENTS THAT WANT TO GET CORE CURRICULUM OUT OF THE WAY

    Bang for the buck

    THESE CLASSES ARE A FRACTION OF WHAT A LARGE UNIVERSITY CHARGES. I FEEL YOU GET THE SAME EDUCATION, FOR DISCOUNT PRICES! WHY PAY 3X'S THE PRICE IF YOU DON'T HAVE TO?

    What to do for fun

    PLENTY OF ON CAMPUS ORGANIZATIONS TO GET INVOLVED IN

    Food and Dining

    THE BEAUFORT CAMPUS HAS A DINING HALL, AND THEIR ARE PLANS FOR ADDING ONE AT THE NEW RIVER CAMPUS

    Academic Rigor

    I HAVE TO STUDY AT LEAST 25 HOURS A WEEK FOR CLASSES. SOME, SUCH AS ANATOMY, I HAVE TO STUDY ABOUT 40 HOURS A WEEK.

    Tips for prospective students

    SMALLER CLASS SIZES MEANS YOU WONT BE SO OVER WHELMED COMING FROM HIGH SCHOOL. SMALLER CLASS SIZES ALSO MEANS YOU CAN GET HELP WHEN NEEDED

    In three sentences

    HIGH QUALITY TEACHERS/ PROFESSORS, WIDE VARIETY OF CLASSES, AND GREAT STUDENT RESOURCES

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play basketball.

    Food and Dining

    none.

    Dorm Life

    none.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go attend with an open mind and goals on your carrer.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending TCL, my instructors and advisor help in every way possible. I have gained so much from my classes. My professor challenges me knowing what I'm capable of.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I don't think there is any Greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    If your more of a city person, i wouldn't recommend this school. It's small and located in a small town.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall a reasonable cost!

    What to do for fun

    Beaufort is a smaller town, but if you enjoy the water then it's perfect for you. Downtown you have the waterfront, there's usually festivals and lots of shopping and little restaurants. Also Beaufort is not far from Bluffton, SC. There's way more shopping and things to do!

    Food and Dining

    No dining.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm available at this college, since it's only a technical college.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally i felt the classes are very straight to the point and fairly easy. The teachers are willing to work with you in every way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention and make sure you don't slack or get distracted. But overall enjoy your experience.

    In three sentences

    This is great local school. The teachers and staff were very helpful and made it very easy for me to understand and learn what i needed. The cost is also very reasonable, and it's located in the heart of Beaufort which is a plus.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great safety.

    Great for these types of students

    Working professionals and self starters.

    Bang for the buck

    Great classes pricing.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of programs are offered.

    Food and Dining

    Some food is provided.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your academic strategy and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    This school is very professional and very organized with their programs offered and the instructors they provide to their students. Studying at this school is straight forward because most of the students are working professionals.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel uncomfortable on campus. I feel like I could walk anywhere by myself and not have to worry...as much!

    Greek Life

    From what I've seen and heard, the Greek Life is okay. They've been pretty quiet recently, though...

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm more of a book worm, so I wouldn't know anything about the clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a steady-paced college career. They're really helpful, and there's A TON of resources so you never feel lost or fall behind. But you have to give the effort, of course.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The view behind the Coleman Hall building is AMAZING!!!

    Bang for the buck

    If you apply early enough with Financial Aid and fill out the appropriate information, you can save a pretty penny here!

    What to do for fun

    Study, join one of the clubs/organizations the school has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    You can get anything delivered to the campus, so the food options are basically endless :D

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    My grades are great! I can't complain! All I can say is you get what you work for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a headache if you want to apply for Financial Aid. You'll need to get into the habit of checking your balances almost daily! And don't buy from the bookstore unless ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY. They are ridiculously expensive!!

    In three sentences

    TCL. IS. AMAZING.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety at the school is good. Haven't had any problems thus far

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not sure there are any

    Great for these types of students

    I think the school is great for all walks of life. There is definately a diverse group of students to adults that continue to learn

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very affordable program to complete your associates degree with a transfer block. I would recommend this for anyone who is not sure about really going away.

    What to do for fun

    Hilton Head beaches are within 20 minutes. Take up kayaking, sunning, sail boats, sea turtle watch, beach volleyball.

    Food and Dining

    There is no on campus cafetaria.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm on the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and professors teach at a face pace and still set the requirements high. Like also, it is what you put into your studies that you get out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what your main focus will be academically and start your associates degree in that field. Make sure you register as atransfer student to a school that will accept ALL of your credits.

    In three sentences

    The Technical School of the Lowcountry has definately been a great transition for me. The school has helped me prepare academically in a smaller setting. I would definately recommend the school to complete your assocaites degree.

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I wasn't involved due to the fact that I work and have a family to tend to but I always heard of great stuff they were doing for the students.

    Food and Dining

    I did not eat here.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very supportive.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great school for those just starting thier education and do not need to work full time.

    In three sentences

    It is low cost however not the most convienent for working students.