Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Temple College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students, dental hygiene students, and students willing to sacrifice the typical college experience for a while to save money will find Temple College to be a wise choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    The staff at Temple College isn't particularly helpful, friendly, or efficient, so make sure you do things early and cover all your bases when it comes to papers, classes, and payments.

    Bang for the buck

    Temple College is very affordable for those that reside in the district of Temple which pays taxes for Temple College. If you don't, tuition is about double of that for the Temple College taxpayers, and generally higher that most community colleges in the state. For out-of-state students, it is even more.

    Am enjoying being here

    There isn't much going on at Temple College when it comes to extracurricular activities or student organizations. There are a few student organizations, however. One positive is that the Arnold Student Center has a very comfortable and spacious seating area where friends can meet and enjoy eachother's company.

    Am learning a lot

    The curriculum and difficulty level varies from teacher to teacher. Most classes don't require much work to get a good grade. Therefore, you aren't required to learn much, only to show up to class and do what's required.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    many different school activities to attend.

    Food and Dining

    food in cafeteria tastes great, but there is not many options.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    use all of the student assistance services available to the school

    In three sentences

    this school is great. most of the teachers i have had were great. also there are many opportunities for students who need help to get assistance. i would recommend this school to anyone looking to attend a 2-year college.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very environment with my security staff wondering around the campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities. We are big sports fans, as well. Temple college updates all students with emails through the TC web mail. They notify students of major and upcoming events!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are academically advanced, but who do not have enough money (or are trying to save enough money,) to attend a four year university should go hear! many students transfer to major universitys such as Texas State, Texas A&M, The University of Texas, and Texas Tech. I am planning on tansfering to the University of Texas to recieve my masters in nursing (which many studentd do after getting an ADRN.)

    Bang for the buck

    I love Temple College! It is such a friendly community with diversity. The professors are great and work with their students well. It is not easy, but it is not too hard. Any naturally hard worker will do just fine!

    What to do for fun

    The funnest things to do are going to the movies or the mall *for most people, that is.) My idea of fun, is volunteering at the hospital to gain person experience for my degree! Like I mentioned before, there is a lot to do here. It is never a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    There are a bunch of wonderful local restaurants around the area! Temple is a pretty big city and the food here is awesome!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm so I do not know. However, I have heard that they have great campus apartments!

    Academic Rigor

    Getting into the community college is easy, but depending on what you major in, the courses can be hard and demanding. I am working on my nursing degree and love it! However, it takes a lot of studying and hard work. Academic integrity is maintained through all campuses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early in the school year, because many people of all ages attend this college. Also, don't be afraid to attend a community college at first. It is saving myself and my parents a lot of money and is still very helpful toward my nursing degree.

    In three sentences

    At first, I was a little insecure about going to a community college, but what I have discovered is that it's one of the best decisions I've ever made. It is a medium-sized, comfy community college with many fun and active people. They also transfer any credits to major colleges in Texas for people looking to receive a Bachelor's degree (which I will be doing after receiving my Associates Degree in RN.)

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you want a secure campus TC always has the campus police walking around being sure no one is up to no good.

    Great for these types of students

    Temple is great for people who are looking to go back to school. Almost all of my classmates are parents working for a living and taking care of their kids, Temple allows a lot of class listings, so you can take the classes that fit your schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    Temple has really low tuition and book fees, so its great for students looking to save money for their first two years.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is right down the street.

    Food and Dining

    The ASU has a great cafeteria and if you feel like going out to eat the mall is just down the road.

    Dorm Life

    While temple doesn't have dorms it has several student friendly apartments near campus with very affordable prices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a trip to the campus and talk with the advisers. They really have a great way of helping you decide what classes you should take to achieve your goals and can often offer other good colleges to apply for if you choose to go elsewhere.

    In three sentences

    Temple College is a nice and friendly campus. All of the classes have great instructors and are easy to find. The regestration office makes everything simple and easy to understand for new students.

  • 05/22/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with an open mind willing to learn new things.

    Bang for the buck

    I have not received the cost of my classes yet.

    Will enjoy being here

    When I walked in the staff was helpful and I received everything I needed to apply right away.

    Will learn a lot

    I plan to take classes this summer.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome

    Clubs and Activities

    Lulac

    Bang for the buck

    awesome

    What to do for fun

    Mant differennt events to choose from

    Food and Dining

    Great !

    Dorm Life

    Great !

    Academic Rigor

    Great !

    Tips for prospective students

    Never quit !

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed Temple College. I have learned so much! I will never forget it.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out and go dancing

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help don't be afraid to ask the staff is there to help.

    In three sentences

    Has a good Criminal Justice Department. Everyone that workson campus are very nice. The staff try and help you with any problem you have.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Temple College is great for students who want to create a good college experience

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Temple College's art department is a great place to hang out. After art shows the gallery is open for people to see. I believe it should look more inspirational around this department being an art section.

    Bang for the buck

    It's much cheaper to start at Temple College.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to to for fun. Plenty of students love to get together and work out at the gym, play basketball, lounge on the patios, or leave campus. I love to visit the art department.

    Food and Dining

    Once upon a time, Temple College provided a schlotzsky's menu. I don't know what happened, but it was way better than nothing at all.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in Temple College Dorms, but I heard that they are pretty expensive and strict.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many great teachers at Temple College. Some people look for easy professors, but ours are challenging. The learning process is much better when the mind is challenged. The work is not always* overboard, but for the most part it consist of good information and knowledgeable techniques.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise that every student use the resources that are offered. These opportunities are offered to help better your academic success.

    In three sentences

    Temple College is a surprisingly great college. There are many professors and students who love to network. Every resource at Temple College contributes to great experiences in your college journey!

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus parking is a little dark at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several but I don't belong to any so I cant say.

    Great for these types of students

    It's good for anyone but if you are an older student with a family or a job or even a young person with the same they offer lots of evening classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Right now they are undergoing a lot of renovations and construction so the parking is kind of a mess.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty expensive for students living out of district and the district is really small. Basically you have to live in Temple to get the lower tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Temple has a mall and a movie theater. There are lots of parks in town and soon to be a bowling and fun center. There are several gyms and LOTS of places to eat out. The lake isn't to far if you like water.

    Food and Dining

    The only eating area is a student snack bar in the activities building. There is no cafeteria. What is offered is good but you will save lots of $$ if you just bring a lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm. I know they are apartment style. When I took a look they seemed very nice and quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes have just the right amount of challenge to them. It's not just a review of High School but it's not impossible to keep up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan to take some night/evening classes. There are a lot of those available.

    In three sentences

    Temple College is the right start for any student wanting to get their feet on the ground in college. It has all the basic classes needed for transfer to 4 year colleges if that is your plan. It offers many complete technical degrees also.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    temple college is a good school the teachers and staff are very nice. this school is very close to home and convenient. the prices are reasonable.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The college charges by the credit hour, so it is very inexpensive for people that can only got to school part-time or only want to take one class at a time online.

    Food and Dining

    Their is a food court in the Arnold Student Union Building with really good food. There are even sofas in the building so students can eat food more comfortably if the want.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are located near the PE buildings and the golf course, so it's really easy to get a workout without going out of your way. The gym is free to all temple college students, so you don't even have to pay.

    Academic Rigor

    Temple College has regular core classes that are of normal difficulty and more advanced classes like organic chemistry and upper level physics. The classes are challenging enough for anybody who wants to better themselves by furthering their education.

    In three sentences

    It's an excellent school that has many transferable classes with very flexible scheduling. It offers night classes, summer classes, and it offers several of its classes online, so people can continue their education at their pace and in their schedule. It also has several certificate programs, so people can begin start a career sooner.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've never ate at my school

    Dorm Life

    I drive back and forth to school from home.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip is to not panic the first couple of weeks of school. Yes, it can be very difficult and frustrating dealing with other classmates and arrogant people but just have patience and it will all work out in the end.

    In three sentences

    Temple College makes it easy for us students to find our way to our classes, meaning they give us maps and once you find what one building is you are certain to find which way you are going. We just made improvements in the parking lots and it looks very nice and it make it easier to get to your classes, as long as your their about 20 minutes before class starts. The staff are outstanding, and they look at you for who you are and not what you look like and that is greatly appreciated.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are very visible

    Greek Life

    I am not sure about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and activities it just depends on what you want to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Temple College campus is set up for students with and without disabilities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the traditions is on Mondays the Baptist Student Ministry furnishes a free meal to any and all students. Another tradition on campus is the Spring Fling. There is a dunking booth, food booths, a rock climbing wall, you can have someone put in jail, a mobile blood donation bank, and there are so many other booths that are set up for the student to enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth every penny. I think Temple College is a great two year college. I would not change my experiences here for anything in the world.

    What to do for fun

    There are different activities on campus. There are a lot different activities from student government organizations, LULAC, political party organizations, to academic organizations

    Food and Dining

    They really could use a menu over haul. And the prices are way to high.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm so I can not answer this question.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on the instructor you get. So far it has been smooth sailing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious about your studies, do NOT wait until the last minute to do your work and turn it in. If you need help ask as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Most of the teachers are helpful if they see that you are trying. It feels like a family environment to me.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Not a member of any of the clubs on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that this school offers a great education for the price.

    What to do for fun

    I work 50 hours a week and go to college. My fun is in the classes themselves.

    Food and Dining

    No rating on this one because I don't eat there.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't rate this one as I don't stay in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Subject matter is par for the course. I am taking 3 classes. Two of them are computer courses and the third is an online course. My computer instructors are very approachable and have a real interest in the students. They want you to learn something instead of just trying to make the classes as dull as possible. My internet class is Environmental Science. This class is only reading the text and then answering questions online. The class is okay as long as you can differentiate between the liberal politics and the science presented in the text.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early! Make sure that you register as soon as possible. There is not nearly enough staff to take care of the student influx as the deadline nears.

    In three sentences

    TC is in a great location and accessible from several points. Its a good school for taking core credits as they transfer to several universities. The instructors that I've dealt with have an honest care for the education of their students.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security really takes care of their school and so does the staff. They can be friendly when they need to be, and strict when they have to be, and it's nice to know you're in a safe environment no matter what.

    Greek Life

    It's a nice down to earth place, and very relaxing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs dealing with sports, christian meet ups, food and get together, and much more. I have never gotten the opportunity to go to any of these, but definitely would in the future since I've heard their interesting and fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Whether you are the top of your class or the very last, or whether an A and B or C and D, Temple can help any student excel since their mission is helping the generations of the future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The real place I see students line up is the ATM right by the cafeteria when financial aid finally comes in. I would know since I'm there too.

    Bang for the buck

    I know Temple College has helped me have a fresh start compared to what other colleges have tried to offer me. I've went through many surgeries and medical treatments along with a divorce over my two years at Temple College, and the teachers along with the administration always dealt so kindly and patiently toward me during these hard times in my life. Now, with all that behind and a bright future ahead, I am more confident than ever, and I owe all my thanks to the great teachers with their words of wisdom and experience as well as their friendship.

    What to do for fun

    Besides sports, there is always lots of fun extra stuff to do when not in school.

    Food and Dining

    They have a good assortment of foods, whether fried, grilled, or fresh. They also have foods for people with all kinds of diets and special needs.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life isn't all that bad for a community college, a lot quieter and more peaceful than a 4-year school.

    Academic Rigor

    Not only do these teacher love to teach the subjects they have a degree in, but they make it fun, interesting, and entertaining for the entire classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Temple College is cheaper and you get more teacher interaction, so I recommend it for a good start. Also, make sure and take advantage of the after classroom hours to meet with your instructors if you have any questions or if you are having a hard time understanding something. All of the instructors I have ever had made it a point to try and get students to come to them for help, and that help is greatly needed and appreciated, so take advantage of it.

    In three sentences

    Temple College is a great start for students no matter how great or poor they did in high school. Not only is this community college cheaper for a student's first two years than an 4-year college, but it allows smaller classrooms so more instructor interaction with students. I have been greatly pleased with all of my instructors over the past two years, and would highly recommend Temple College to anyone that wants a fresh start at college.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are right next to the book room, have poles around the campus with a help button. cops are respectful

    Great for these types of students

    education - Mrs. cox and Mr.Bradley are awesome great personalities tons of experience and lots of great stories and advice!!

    Food and Dining

    The caf. is right next to the book room! vending machines in almost every building by door awesome for a quick soda for the walk.

    Dorm Life

    Great apartments little expensive but when you add in there's already Internet and cable and it includes lights and water. It is a very fair price!!

    Tips for prospective students

    When needing to see administration or the advising center go super early!! they get busy. Look for books on craigslist, and ebay first saves some money.

    In three sentences

    Amazing teachers, great open campus, advising is a bit slow but when it comes down to it the ladies are awesome.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Temple is very centrally located to many fun and exciting things. Austin, San Antonio, and Fort Worth are all with in 2 hours of Temple... It's like big city living with a small country feel!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask anyone on campus.... We will help!

    In three sentences

    The campus is very user friendly! The staff ARE AWESOME! All of my professors have been extremely professional and helpful. Love the school.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid and housing situation squared away first.

    In three sentences

    Temple college is a community college located in Temple,TX. It's small and convenient and the location is not to far from austin,TX. I will begin classes on the 22nd of January.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an emergency alarm in every corner.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is not expensive, but you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Many people are friendly. Does not have game rooms like universities have, but there is after school activities to sign up for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many programs offered to help understand college.

    In three sentences

    A great community college to attend. Offers many programs to help do well in college. The college is expanding.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Start early and take advantage of all the new student orientation classes; they are very helpfull

    In three sentences

    This is the best college I have attended so far. Everyone is very friendly and helpful.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous

    Great for these types of students

    Any.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Several satelite locations.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value!

    What to do for fun

    There are sports, clubs, etc.

    Food and Dining

    No dining hall but there is a cafeteria with some food.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms but there are college apartments. The apartments are cheap and fully furnished.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but not impossible. There are a few professors that are simply amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the student center for all your questions. The advisors are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    A smaller, more hands on college. The staff and professors are extremely helpful. Temple College is also affordable.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten on campus before, therefore, I will give it a 3.

    Dorm Life

    I give it a 3, I do not live on campus. So I will say it could be 50/50.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is wonderful to start off your education. Not only is it great for Freshman, but very inexpensive.

    In three sentences

    I like Temple College. The school faculty is very nice and informative. The school offers various academic programs.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus goes above and beyond. We have actual cops that make sure nothing happens. They really work hard to make sure that their students are safe 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for all types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Your money will not be wasted. The education you paid for is what you get plus some. The instructors here are amazing.

    What to do for fun

    There is many places near the campus. Plus, they are always doing fun activities on campus. There is always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    They do have some great food here! Lot's to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, but they do have great choices to choose from for students living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard toward your goals. Nothing is impossible as long as you believe.

    In three sentences

    Temple College has changed my life. They showed me that no matter what, I can do it as long as I stay focused and do what I need to do. They really care about their students.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. However, the area around it is a little different story.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always clubs and activities at the campus, however I never participated in them so I wouldn't know how fun or good they were.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who want credit hours.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Temple doesn't have classes on Friday, which is awesome. Probably one of the best features about the college itself.

    Bang for the buck

    Temple College is a great place for taking classes considering the cost is very low. Teachers are helpful and I thought that they did a good job. The most you'll pay for tuition at this point is about 5,500 dollars a year.

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't a whole lot in Temple in terms of fun. I guess the best option would be to travel to Waco about thirty minutes away and live it up at their clubs/bars. Austin isn't far either. Another good option would be Belton. They have a small university and a couple good bars to go to.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food and dining affiliated with Temple College.

    Dorm Life

    Temple College has no dorms. The nearest thing to dorms they have are the University Courtyards which are right across the street from the college itself. If you aren't an athlete living at the apartments, dorm life is probably not that great, however it does its job and is good for living in temporarily. Also, the apartment managers are very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Temple college was easier than my high school. It's not very challenging and is easy. The only hard parts are the amount of work they give you (which isn't even that bad) and the teacher you have. I'd have to say the hardest subject at Temple College has to be English. In general, the teachers who teach English at Temple aren't the friendliest and are very tough on students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking to have a college social life, this is not the place. If you want to get some credits, save money, and get more one on one time with teachers than you're looking at the right place. As for advice on school - do your assignments and actively check the temple college websites.

    In three sentences

    I went here for athletics, however, Temple College is a great temporary school for anyone looking to get some credit hours at a cheap price. It's great for one on one tutoring and help with the faculty. However, it's not very hard academically, and it just isn't like a university; with the student life being rather boring.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not eat there.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm because living at home was cheaper.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics and teachers are great here.

    In three sentences

    Temple College is a great starter for college students as freshman. It also saves a lot of money because the classes are much cheaper than a public university.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus trains central texas police officers so has PD around all the time. Besides, Temple is a safe town.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs were doing things all the time around campus. College has a newsletter posted everywhere to try and get students involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Even more bang for your buck if you qualify for in district tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Visit surrounding area of Temple. Head an hour away to Austin. Belton lake within 15 min drive.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be difficult but all of the professors work hard to help each student succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do before you getthere. Don't waste money and time figuring it out. Actually do your work, college isn't for making friends it's for bettering your future.

    In three sentences

    Very professional. Competitive with other schools for jobs. Classes needed for degrees actually relate to work that you will be doing after you graduate.