Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Texarkana College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police are always patrolling the area. no crime to speak of.

    Greek Life

    none that i know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    the college is improving in this area.

    Great for these types of students

    those just starting out. young or old.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the school's mascot is a bulldog.

    Bang for the buck

    you have to go to class of course, but you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    bowling alley just down the road, 'college bowl.'

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria food here is among the better of most schools.

    Academic Rigor

    great teachers/professors. most of them really care about your success.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out specific programs. this is a great college to start out at and get your basics because it is cheaper than a lot of other colleges out there.

    In three sentences

    texarkana college has a great programs and is currently expanding. there are small class sizes to focus on more individualized attention. it is a relatively small campus and easy to get around on.

  • 10/06/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm not sure what bang for the buck is.

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes I will enjoy being here because I will be learning about things that interest me.

    Will learn a lot

    I hope to learn a lot about my major that I am pursuing.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food is extremely good!

    Academic Rigor

    it offers very useful class and courses.

    In three sentences

    texarkana college is a well put together school. in the idea that must technological related items are up to date. while the staff is quite helpful it's an all around good school.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The Earth Club always has activities going on.

    Great for these types of students

    First starters and people that aren't rich.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The wetlands is a location where there are turtles and plants growing.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not too expensive, I think the books are more expensive than the courses.

    What to do for fun

    Go bowling. Hang out with buddies that share your enthusiasm of fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your eyes on the prize. Avoid parties.

    In three sentences

    Have really good instructors. It is a growing good college for people with not a lot of money. I recommend this college to first time students.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are multiple security guards and campus police that patrol the grounds of Texarkana Community College night and day. Not only do they serve and protect the students, they also care and build a personal relationship with many of the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Having the pleasure to participate in the Phi Theta Kappa organization is something I am very proud to say; not only has this opportunity been rewarding in a personal aspect, but also academically, for I am now eligible to receive a substantial amount of financial assistance that is specific to Phi Theta Kappa. A group of inspiring teachers have dedicated countless hours into the education of their students and to progress the campus itself; this has launched our Sigma chapter into a high level of esteem. There are many other clubs and activities that you may be able to be a part of; there are gaming clubs, clubs specific to departments-biology, math, art, and many other activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is an excellent choice for those that wish climb out of the paycheck-to-paycheck lifestyle, which I have lived by for the past twenty years, and obtain a chance to enjoy life. Not only is this school enthusiastic about preparing its students to enter world, but also does this at a very affordable cost.

    Bang for the buck

    Texarkana Community College offers students an outstanding education at a very affordable cost. There are many scholarships that are readily accessible to students and prospective students. I myself received a scholarship that paid my entire tuition for two years; with this, and financial aid, I have been able to attend this college for two years.

    What to do for fun

    Spring Fling is a chance for students to gather and have time just to relax, while listening to the college radio station and enjoying a lunch that is paid for by this institution. During my second semester, the Spring 2011 semester, the college had a Flashback to the Sixties fest that shared with the students the cultural thrills and trends of the sixties. Most of the departments helped out in someway; for instance, the art department painted dozens of abstract, psychedelic influenced paintings and painted an old fashioned hippy Volkswagen. There were also lectures that dealt with the political realm at the time--the Vietnam war, Civil Rights, which included Martin Luther Kings' I have a dream speech.

    Food and Dining

    The Truman Arnold Center is the college's student center; inside the student center is a great-room that is used for presentations and speeches, the college bookstore, a game-room, and a cafeteria with student chefs that are majoring in the culinary arts. These students prepare quick, simple snacks, and amazing meals that range from Spanish, Italian and Asian dishes that are sure to taste good and fill you up.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but I know several people that do, and they seem completely satisfied with their decision to live in the dorms. One of my friends has his tuition and housing paid for as long as he maintains at least twelve credit hours, and he loves living in the dorms. He has told me that dorm life feels as if you are a part of a separate community with people that are as unique as they are bright. I realize that a secondhand account of dorm life is no substitute for first hand experience, but I hope this helps those of you that are interested in living in the dorms at Texarkana College.

    Academic Rigor

    Education is something that these professors do not slack on. They are firm and adamant in the fact that they want you to succeed and meet your goals. With that said, the teachers are understanding of certain circumstances and will show lenience when necessary. For instance, while planning to transfer to a four year institution, my teachers gave me leave to take a eight hour round-trip down to the college of my choosing, so I may enroll, register and pick my classes. Also, I have met many mothers and fathers who were trying to balance school, a job, and a family; the teachers showed immense support while sticking to the motto of hard work and dedication.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should not hesitate to pursue their goals and should remain persistent. Also, get involved in as many extracurricular activities, and if possible, the Honor Society or Phi Theta Kappa.

    In three sentences

    Before Texarkana Community College, I had no clue as to what the future held for me. This school has helped me grow into a more competent person who is now ready to achieve his goals. The professors at this institution are committed not only to teaching, but encouraging their students to think on their own and form into their own person.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is pretty good but the lines can be long and the prices are the same as the fast food restaurant down the street.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms. I would not ever want to live in the dorms! they are rite by the hood and it is somewhat scary. In fact I as a woman would not walk around campus at night or close to the night alone. The part of town it is in in rough.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are informative and teach you what you need to learn. Some teachers want you to know the entire book from cover to cover but you just have to learn how to deal with these teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in with Texarkana College and get it done quickly. It is cheaper than most other colleges and the classes will be easier. Do a decent amount of your homework and you will make it out with a pretty good grade.

    In three sentences

    It is a good place to get started on your college venture. Not much help on the school sponsored scholarships. Classes are designed to be somewhat challenging but if you do a moderate amount of homework then you will do just fine.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to go to class early and stay ahead of the lesson plans.

    In three sentences

    Texarkana College has good class size. It is a friendly place to go to college. And is small enough to not feel overwhelmed if you do not like crowds like me.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not heard of anything bad happening. But the link has everything you want to know about whats happening at Texarkana College. (As far as safety goes.) https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/443.asp

    Greek Life

    I am not in any of these organizations yet ,so I can't give you much info on them. (But I do have some information =) !) PHI BETA LAMBDA PBL is a state national professional student organization that brings business and education together in a positive working relationship through innovative leadership and career development programs. As a local chapter of PBL, we will promote business leadership, encourage computer usage and programming, teach and study computer and business skills, and expose the student body and the community to computers through college and PBL-sponsored events. As a member, students will be able to compete in state and national competition events in the business and computer fields, Sponsors: Dr. Theresa McDonald and Sam Rivas PHI THETA KAPPA Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence. Sponsor: Mary Ellen Young https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/346.asp (Go to this link and enter these people names in and you will be able to send them a email or call them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities. I am part of SGA and I can tell you that we are getting a lot of intramural sports starting. Texarkana College has a great fitness center. Texarkana is getting bigger everyday ,so there are going to be all kinds of activities. ( I would put up links about the city ,but that would be too much.) If you had transportation that would be great if you were staying in the dorms. There is a bowling alley across the street and a mall 0.7miles. (<-- If you are staying in the dorms) There is so much to write on this ,so I will be putting up links so you can look at. Once again, it would be great if you had transportation. (<--- Whether your staying at the dorms or not.) https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/230.asp https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/143.asp https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/849.asp https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/340.asp

    Great for these types of students

    In my opinion, this college is great for every type of student. If you have medical problems, Texarkana College will work with you. If you need help with your homework, Texarkana College can help you with that also. If you have a problem with anything report to Dean of Students. https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/PDFFiles/CurrentStudents/studenthandbook.pdf (Click Ctrl (hold) then click F. Let go, then you should see a box pop up. Type STUDENTS WITH DISABILITIES and you will see the information you are seeking. https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/140.asp https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/PDFFiles/Admissions/Forms/Texarkana%20College%20Student%20Complaint%20Form.pdf

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many people call Texarkana College TC. Over the years, Texarkana has impacted many people around the world.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said, Texarkana College can give many colleges around the world a run for their money on prices. They are accredited in many things. If you don't get a good scholarship to go to a four-year college, see what will transfer from TC to the college of your choice. (So you can save some money) https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/427.asp https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/836.asp https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/697.asp (Make sure you read everything and DO NOT jump to conclusions.)

    What to do for fun

    I did a review similar to this at the bottom. So I'm just going to link paste what I had at the bottom. There are a lot of clubs and activities. I am part of SGA and I can tell you that we are getting a lot of intramural sports starting. Texarkana College has a great fitness center. Texarkana is getting bigger everyday ,so there are going to be all kinds of activities. ( I would put up links about the city ,but that would be too much.) If you had transportation that would be great if you were staying in the dorms. There is a bowling alley across the street and a mall 0.7miles. (<-- If you are staying in the dorms) There is so much to write on this ,so I will be putting up links so you can look at. Once again, it would be great if you had transportation. (<--- Whether your staying at the dorms or not.) https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/230.asp https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/143.asp https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/849.asp https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/340.asp

    Food and Dining

    I only scored it a 3 because I don't know a lot about the cafeteria. I have not got a meal in the cafeteria so I can't tell you how the prices are. I know now they serve Chick-Fil-A every Wednesday. There drinks and cookies are reasonable. I like their cookies a lot and many people would agree with me. I know their salads are pretty reasonable. (<-- For the amount you get.)

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in the dorms for one semester. It was very fun and I was able to meet a lot of people. There is bowling alley across the street. If you had some kind of transportation that would be great. The college is in walking distance. https://www.texarkanacollege.edu/pages/199.asp

    Academic Rigor

    Texarkana College will help you get wherever your going. Just ask the Billionaire Ross Perot. When he was giving a speech about Texarkana College, he said it helped him U.S. Naval Academy. He said something like because of TC he was ahead of everyone else. Read about his Early Life on Wikipedia. In my opinion, I would ask around and see you are the easier teachers to take. (<-- REMEMBER, you can't always go by someones opinion. Some PEOPLE DO NOT do THEIR WORK. What may be hard for one may be easy to another.) Many people may think college in general is hard, but all you have to do is handle your business and it will be manageable. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ross_Perot

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, Ask around and see you are the easier teachers to take (<-- REMEMBER, you can't always go by someones opinion. Some PEOPLE DO NOT do THEIR WORK. What may be hard for one may be easy to another.), do you work AHEAD of time (If you can), plan ahead, come to class everyday unless you have to miss, make or join a study group, meet you teachers 1on1 (before the semester starts if you can.), and DO YOUR BEST AND FORGET THE REST Tony Horton* (...if you fail and can look me and the eyes and tell me you gave me your everything -- then I will be satisfied My Counselor*) It was longer than that but I made it short) (If you do your absolute best you WILL NOT FAIL ME* =)

    In three sentences

    Texarkana College is truly a great place to start or start over. As far as pricing goes, Texarkana College can give many colleges around the world a run for thier money on prices.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is amazing

    Dorm Life

    I visit the dorms over the summer and they were nice

    Academic Rigor

    i like the academic building part

    In three sentences

    I have to been to TC I loved the campus

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many options for fun at TC just depending on what you are interested in!

    Food and Dining

    Great Cafeteria! Food is wonderful and the cappuccino is the bomb!

    Dorm Life

    I live in my own home. I do not know what dorm life is like on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The counselors set me up with my schedule and made it suit the needs of a non traditional student.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a fun college with many things going on all of the time.

    In three sentences

    The Faculty at TC is wonderful. They have assisted in making the transition back to school bearable, enjoyable even. With a smaller campus it makes it less scary to find all of your classes too!

  • 05/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At Texarkana College there is the Drama Program, Chemistry Club, and the Student Government Association which are the most active clubs on campus. There is a billards room at the Truman Arnold Center. Outside of that there is not much to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has recently been revamped. The food at first left much to be desired but now is affordable and tasty.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes will require about an hour or so of time per week per class for homework. Most teachers will grade 40% from unit quizzes, 10% from class participation, 25% from the final test grade, and 25% from a project or projects assigned. They expect a student to study fully in preparation for tests and want to make sure a student is committed to a good grade in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips to prospective students include registering online, avoiding tickets from Texarkana College patrol officers who are over vigilant, participate often in class and do extra credit work even if unneeded( the teachers love the extra effort and reward A's accordingly).

    In three sentences

    Texarkana College is affordable, practical, and is a traditional community college. They provide superb help in attaining financial aid, offer excellent advisement in course selection, and have a staff of professional tutors on campus to help you with coursework( the cost is already paid for through tuition costs). The downfalls currently is the admissions office which has rude employees, slow results, and are often uncaring of student needs.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    be careful at night time. dont go alone anywhere or be wandering in dark places.

    Great for these types of students

    who are hardworking

    What to do for fun

    cinema. retaurant,club,spring lake park events.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your assignments on time to get good grades and to stay on top of your work load! be mindful about courses that have lab hours.

    In three sentences

    low cost of tuition some good teachers need stricter tobacco free campus policies

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Texarkana College is a good place to get your basics and core curriculum out of the way, then you can transfer to another college to finish your bachelor degree.

    In three sentences

    Seems disorganized but most of the faculty are nice and helpful. Texarkana College offers a pretty impressive amount of courses, which is nice. The campus is sub-par, but I will not be living on campus so it really does not matter that much to me.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The crime rate on TC campus has been at a consistent rate of 0% for many years. However, remaining on campus at night is not advised, seeing as TC is located in substandard community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many musical and theatrical activities on campus. Whether you want to pass your time with a performance from the Texarkana Symphony Orchestra (led by TC's own musical faculty) or watch a performance, the TC Humanities department has got you covered.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Student Support Services is a helpful location on Texarkana College campus. The staff of tutors there work with any student in the program to assist them with such subjects as mathematics, biology, English & Writing, and much more.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition prices at Texarkana College are incredible low. Half-time students may attend classes for as low as $750 per semester, full-time students for $2000, and financial aid is available to help low-income families gain such monetary resources.

    What to do for fun

    Students may hang out, eat, engage in various activities, and even sleep at the library's lounging area. Computers are available with free on campus Wi-Fi. The Pinkerton Center is a great place to work out and have fun with friends, whether you are swimming, playing tennis, or shooting hoops.

    Food and Dining

    The TC bistro is available for food and dining on campus. Students have the choice to order inside or call-in.

    Dorm Life

    Texarkana College, at the time of this writing (07/08/10), no longer supports student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Texarkana College is average. The course-load is by no means immense, and only lazy college students would find a problem with such.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and apply for financial aid earlier. TC does not have the best administrative system, so it it ideal to get an early start on anything involving paperwork.

    In three sentences

    An amazing college with amazing faculty who cares for their students. Tuition rates are surprisingly low, which is incredible considering the level of education one may receive at TC. The Student Support Services is a great resource for struggling students who need a helping hand in getting ahead of the game.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You have a student ID, but I haven't had to show mine to anyone yet, and I am unsure if there are police on campus during normal school hours or not.

    Greek Life

    I don't know of any sororities on campus, but that's not to say there aren't any.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't too many clubs, and I have only found one I might even join so far. Texarkana is a place where the locals are not very open-minded. And while we may have new people coming in and opening other's minds, it's going to be a long while before anything drastic even happens at the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the student who loves being in a small class and being able to have one-on-one time with the professor. Also great for someone who is from the area and would like to stay local for a couple of years. Great for someone who would like to only earn a certificate in something.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not sure of any unusual traditions or locations on the campus. There are no sports teams whatsoever, so there really aren't any traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    While I wish their electives (such as art) transferred to other colleges, you won't find many other colleges cheaper in the other areas (if they even have a college). The only downfall of going to a community college is that they make you take classes that do not pertain to your degree whatsoever. For example, I am majoring in Business; however, they are making me take pre-cal in my second year, which I do not need. Other than the un-important classes, you will get a lot of bang for your buck. It's much cheaper to earn your basics at a community college rather than go to some big school and pay two to three times the amount.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't a lot of things to do for fun at the college or around town. The college has a nice swimming pool, but that's about it other than activities that they hold on the campus. On town, just about the only things to do are go to the park or the movies. There is a fun park on the Arkansas side, but it can get a little pricey if you want to do things more than once there.

    Food and Dining

    The food from the cafeteria is delicious, not to mention there's free wifi in the cafeteria and dining area. The food is also cheap!

    Dorm Life

    I don't currently live in the dorms nor plan to, but I have heard from many others that they could use some rigorous remodeling.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very focused on your academia, and you can tell that the advisors want the best professors and classes that are best suited to your schedule, taste, and degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate: the other students in Texarkana are bad about showing up at the last minute to do everything from their schedule to their parking permit. You don't want to be a part of that crowd, trust me! Make sure you have met all the requirements for your financial aid if you will be receiving it, because if you don't, your schedule will be canceled and you will have to come set it up again, which means you get stuck with professors you probably didn't want. Just get things done early and then you don't even have to worry about it later.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice, clean campus with some very helpful people. Some new students with work-study jobs aren't trained very well, so you might have to ask someone who is over them about your questions. Overall, a very nice campus that has a few minor issues that could be fixed.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going to London with the Texarkana College road scholars!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply. Be your own educational advocate, ask questions. Keep informed on what is being offered.

    In three sentences

    Same quality education as a university! Half the price of a university. Making a college education possible for anyone.