Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Texas A & M University-Kingsville Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 out of 23 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a college with a great reputation, good history, and appropriately-sized classes, TAMUK is definately for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to visit Kingsville before you come here, don't let the size of the town put you off. There are places around here that you probably won't get to see during your visit, but it can be a fun place. If you ever need academically or otherwise, it's easy to find the kind of help you need.

    Bang for the buck

    When I began as a freshman, tuition and such were very affordable. However, with the addition of the new dorms, it may have gone up.

    Am enjoying being here

    Kingsville is the perfect little college town. It seems small, but there are a few college hang-outs around town, plus Corpus is only an hour away. The university has recently upped its efforts to make weekends and nights more enjoyable for students, so there's always something going on. There are many clubs to join, and it's so easy to get involved and make friends.

    Am learning a lot

    Though TAMUK is primarily an engineering school (one of the top in South Texas,) its other programs are outstanding as well. Many of the professors have written books, studied abroad, or have been teaching their subjects for many years. I've yet to find a teacher who was not absolutely passionate about what they were teaching. Because the classes are usually smaller, you get the one-on-one attention you need to learn. There are also many tutoring sessions, many of the free, for extra help.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 out of 18 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 2 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I not sure yet I start Aug. 2009

    Tips for prospective students

    Yes, since this campus must be the cheapest because it is associated with the community colleges.

    Will enjoy being here

    The only downfall is that it is not much internet based. I really need more internet classes.

    Will learn a lot

    This is a small based campus. I do expect to learn since there are going to be small classes.

  • 03/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are many majors and minors to choose from at TAMUK. I am sure one looking to apply here will find whatever they are looking for.

    Tips for prospective students

    GO TO CLASS! One should never miss out on valuable information. You're paying for a higher education and you can't receive any if you don't even go to class. PAY ATTENTION! Missing something can really jeopardize your grade on the upcoming test. HAVE FUN! One never needs to become stressed out. Being stressed interferes with one's grades and one's behavior around others. There actually is quite a bit to do on and off campus, just walk around and you're sure to find something to do.

    Bang for the buck

    I rated this 4 stars because sometimes the food quality isn't the best. About 1 out of every 5 visits to the cafeteria left much to be desired. Dorms are top notch though, as well as the new upgrades we're getting on campus. The new courtyard is always packed because of how great it is.

    Am enjoying being here

    Other students are friendly and cool. There are many free events that happen on a regular basis which are always fun to go to. The Campus Activity Board really knows how to keep students entertained. Surprisingly the dorm beds are comfortable, which I did not expect my first night in the dorm as a freshman. I am on my second semester and am looking forward to the others when they come.

    Am learning a lot

    All the professors here know how to teach students very well and keep learning interesting. I have a really awesome professor for History 1302, who I chose again for enjoying his 1301 class last semester, who constantly challenges us and keeps us interested. My English 1301 teacher is also my 1302 teacher because I chose to have him again. These are only two professors out of many and I am looking forward to meeting the rest and learning all that I can from them. Practically every teacher here has written a book on their studies and have earned their doctorates, so they are definitely credible in my opinion.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security lights all over campus. Well lit and police department on campus. I personally feel safe walking around campus, even at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and organizations. Creating an organization is simple and there is one for practically every hobby or interest. There is always something to do on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    TAMUK is great for laid-back, easy going, students. There is very little drama, and most students would like it to stay that way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Throwing tortillas at football games used to be 'the' thing to do, but recently, administrators have tried to ban this tradition due to injuries caused by tortillas which had been frozen or cooked before being thrown.

    Bang for the buck

    TAMUK's tuition is much lower than other schools. The small size allows for individualized attention. In my opinion, TAMUK is a great value.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of student organizations, events on campus, and occasionally events in Kingsville, Tx. Corpus Christi is only a half hour away and offers night life, theatres, and other entertainment venues.

    Food and Dining

    There are two cafeterias on campus: the main building, and one in Turner-Bishop Hall. Other than that, several restaurants are on or near campus including Pizza Hut, Chick-fil-a, Sushiya, Young's Pizza, and El Tapatio.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus. Two new dorms have been built on campus in order to house the growing number of students enrolled here. However, the older dorms are in poor condition and in need of remodeling.

    Academic Rigor

    Just because TAMUK is a relatively small campus, does not mean that classes are relaxed. Teachers still demand high quality work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in Pharmacy or Engineering, this school really does have amazing programs. Classes are not easy, but there is plenty of help available to make sure that you succeed.

    In three sentences

    TAMUK offers an outstanding Engineering program. Small class sizes allow students to ask questions, receive help, and learn the material. The students and staff are friendly and helpful.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the university police is right across the university and always patrolling around campus

    Great for these types of students

    those who want a small safe campus

    What to do for fun

    join clubs/organisations, movies and some shopping

    Food and Dining

    they have a variety of food and dining all across campus

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are nice and if you have a roommate in mind they take that into consideration

    Academic Rigor

    most of the professors have office hours so if you have any questions they will be more than happy to answer them for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    its a small university so you will get to know more people and if you need anything its all here in town and the people are friendly and will try to help in anyway they can.

    In three sentences

    i love the small classes. the faculty is very helpful. its easy to move around campus.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in Phamacy, Nursing, Music, Engineering or Agriculture this is the place for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    apply as early as possible and keep checking on your status and once you've been accepted schedule a time to go to hoggie days! all freshman are required to go!

    Bang for the buck

    It's gotten a bit pricey since I was admitted here but it is well worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    Enjoying my time here so far! New people from different areas in Texas.

    Am learning a lot

    The school has a lot to offer students who are leaving from home for the first time. It's in a small town but the major city is only about a half hour drive away. The faculty is helpful and the admission office encourages questions.

  • 10/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable here

    Am enjoying being here

    Here at TAMUK, people are very sociable.

    Am learning a lot

    The material at this school is amazing. I am also learning at a fast rate. They offer a variety of courses,

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe. I have even seen the patrol officers go out of their way to help unlock your car because you forget to take your keys out of the ignition.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs on campus are very active and you do have to put in your part in order for these clubs to be successful.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations to sign up for and participate in your community.

    Food and Dining

    If TAMUK is the same as TAMUSA, then pack a lunch or pack some money to eat off campus; but the times that I have eaten there, the food was good.

    Dorm Life

    I have no information about the dorm life. I live in my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, TAMUK is up there with the great ones. As said before, A&M is known for their Engineering program and I have been blessed to attend their sister campus in San Antonio. My major is Bilingual Education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for the prospective student is to talk to someone that has already been there. Make a trip and visit the campus.

    In three sentences

    While conducting my research, I know that this school is what is hyped up to be. I have plenty of successful family members that have graduated from this school and more to attend.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    during the week there are many activities in the residential lobby. also to keep fit going to the rek center.

    Food and Dining

    the food is alright. i would like more variety.

    Dorm Life

    i get along with my roommate as well as neighboring residents. i would like for more facilities such as: washing rooms and kitchens.

    Academic Rigor

    as long as you study it won't seem that hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    time management, goal oriented, and persistent.

    In three sentences

    texas a & m university-kingsville excels in conforming its students to the college environment. as well as direct teacher communication. all in all, it's a great college to attend.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's lots of on campus emergency stations and security is always driving around campus.

    Greek Life

    There's a presence of Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of great activities that keep the students mingling and building good relationships.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who wanna major in engineering it is top notch.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual in a bad way.

    Bang for the buck

    You'll get a good education for the price and I pay out of state tuition, so that's saying something.

    What to do for fun

    On campus activities are fun. Everyone goes and has a blast. Off campus there's beaches, fishing, hiking, anything outdoors you wanna do, plus there's a movie theater. There's even more thirty minutes away in Corpus Christi.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus consists of a Starbucks, Chic fill-a, Subway, Pizza Hut, and a Sushi Bar. All of which are way over priced for the small portion sizes. Don't expect to buy food on campus everyday or all of your money will go to that.

    Dorm Life

    Where ever you go dorm life sucks.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are of the highest quality but don't rub it in your face with impossible tests. The grading is fair and your academic goals are achievable if one merely tries.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fall and winter is beautiful and rarely gets cold. Make sure you have a car to get to neighboring areas because Kingsville is a small town with not a lot to do. Learn to cook.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school with lots of opportunity to learn and be involved. The class room size is just right and all the teachers are available to help. They are all exceptional teachers and leaders in their field of discipline.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always driving around and there rarely is any incidents on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is a variety of fraternities and sororities to choose from. They are constantly providing events and looking for new students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is two clubs which are fun to visit on thursdays which is college night. Fridays get good as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is interested in learning without any distractions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the football games, every time the Javelinas score, the fans will throw tortillas towards the field. Not sure how this tradition came to be but it is repeated every year.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is actually relatively cheap compared to other schools. Its academics are great and the school is growing every year.

    What to do for fun

    The university is constantly working on providing a variety of campus events for all the students. Every semester there is several carnivals and events which allow the students to be more active and social. Kingsville is a small town but it has its perks.

    Food and Dining

    They just opened a new dining hall which is actually very nice and provides quality food. They have a variety of food to choose from along with great service.

    Dorm Life

    They have great dorms and activities to go along with them every once in a while. It allows the students to meet new people and become more active.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part, teachers provide a basic foundation of every subject and allow the students to challenge themselves in learning the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focusing on your school work is very easy in this university due to the small amount of distractions. Choose a degree you enjoy since they are all well rounded and excellent.

    In three sentences

    The school itself provides a friendly environment along with a great history of athletics. It includes a variety of great degrees to choose from and challenges you to reach your goals. Overall, it is a much greater university than what some people may think.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always patrolling and walk through the dorms on a regular basis.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always activities and study nights that have free food and encourage students to study with each other.

    Great for these types of students

    A lot of students commute to this university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The recreation center is unusual in itself. A lot offered in one building including an indoor track!

    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest school in Texas with a Track and Field Program!

    What to do for fun

    Running around the track is great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask as many question you can think of before deciding if this college is a good fit for you.

    In three sentences

    Texas A&M University-Kingsville is a growing university. It has a great future ahead and look forward to seeing what it all will have to offer. The Faculty in the Kinesiology Department are very helpful and knowledgable.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can always attend the flings the school hosts or other organizations offer.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is lousy. Your better off cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is exceptional in the new dorms but in the old dorms life sucks.

    Academic Rigor

    Teacher's will work you to the bone but they will help as much as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make use of the gym and cafeteria since you are paying for it in tuition. Try to attend as many flings that the school hosts if not you will bore yourself.

    In three sentences

    Texas A&M University-Kingsville is an astounding school for engineer's. It has a fun and studious environment. The university is always doing things to help students situate themselves.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Talk to advisors and such about the 6 year Medical student program in association with Baylor College of Medicine. It could be exactly what you future med students are in need of!

    What to do for fun

    On campus, tennis, swimming, a recreation center, bowling and club gatherings make up the majority of the fun. Off campus and around the area, there is a movie theatre, a park,and Corpus Christi, the closest city near us (about 40 mins depending of which route you take). In Corpus, there is a mall with plenty of stores (Pac Sun, A&F, Macy's, etc.), the beach, plenty of restaurants, fishing, putt-putt golf, and a lot more.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there is a Starbucks, Sushic, Subway, Pizza Hut, Chic-fil-a, and the cafeteria. In Kingsville, there are plenty of good Mexican restaurants, a few Chinese, the typical fast food joints (McDonalds, Taco Bell, Whataburger, etc.), Chili's, and other delicious privately owned places such as the Blue Ribbon Deli, Young's Pizza, and Big House Burgers. Most of these places are located within a 7 mile radius, and all of moderately priced for the quality! (Don't forget to ask about college student discounts!)

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't live on campus, but my friends who do don't generally say anything good or bad. There are some things that need improvement in the old dorms, but the new dorms should be up to par with excellence.

    Academic Rigor

    As any other university, classes vary. Whether they are considered difficult or easy is subjective. What you get out of a class is truly what of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    The town of Kingsville itself isn't so exciting, however, friends make it so much better! Most of the students I've became friends with are from around this area, or are Texans themselves. Become friends with students in your major classes- more than likely they'll be in other classes with you, and this can be a big benefit especially around the time when studying for finals is crucial!

    In three sentences

    Texas A & M University-Kingsville is a small and friendly campus. There are many perks to attending this small university, such as small class size which enhances teacher to student relations, a campus that doesn't take thirty minutes to cross, and a general homey feel. With majors ranging from Performing Arts to Engineering, you're sure to find your place.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UPD is everywhere and they almost know everything.

    Greek Life

    Theta Phi Alpha- sorority is a blast!!!! Ladies should rush TPA!!!!

    What to do for fun

    Cowgirls club and the movies are about the most exciting places other than Walmart.

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good!

    Dorm Life

    Newest buildings were nice but the older dorms were very cold and couldnt monitor temp.

    Academic Rigor

    Tutoring hours were very easy to get to.

    Tips for prospective students

    If youre from the valley you seem to have things a lot easier. If not youre an outsider for awhile.

    In three sentences

    The teachers were understanding. They helped me when I needed help. The school itself was a great learning enviorment.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe. Most pathways are well-lit at night, and there are emergency posts with phones and emergency buttons. I always walk with a friend when it's late, but that's a good idea anywhere.

    Greek Life

    We have it. I don't know too much because I'm not in one myself. However, I have friends who are in frats and sororities. They really enjoy them, and there are tons of activities like Greek Games to look forward to.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is stuff to do if you're willing to look for it. I'm in the Society for Women Engineers and the American Society for Civil Engineers. We do community service and have events, but we also have dinners and get-togethers. It can be a fun way to meet new people. You can find what you want whether it's a club for video gamers or intramural sports.

    Bang for the buck

    The Engineering Program is ABET accredited, and here I can receive an engineering education at a price that I can deal with. Depending on the dorms you choose, meal plans, etc., the overall cost varies from students to student. However, it's less than 15 thousand a year. Not bad for what you're getting.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do in the town, itself; however, there are events on campus like concerts, carnivals, and mixers. For example, 30 Seconds to Mars came to play here, and there are usually a lot of Country singers that come to the area. Dancing at The Ranch or Cowgirls can be fun. There's also Corpus only about 35 minutes away with the beach and various clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't all that many places here, but there are a few ones worth mentioning. El Tapatio (Taps) is great for mexican food that is good but not all that expensive. I like the chicken fajita taco, but my friend always goes for the nachos. Merlot's is pretty good; they have fried pickles. Big house is pretty good, just a little pricey sometimes for what you're getting.

    Dorm Life

    There are many options to choose from now that they opened a brand new honors dorm (with a few floors available to those not in honors). I really liked my room in Mesquite Village. Not many dorms here have community showers. A lot of the newer dorms (Mesquite and University Village) have suite-style dorms. No big noise complaints either.

    Academic Rigor

    I can only truly speak for the engineering pathway. However, classes here can be just as tough as any other university. My physics II class here was not any easier than my physics I class in College Station. Tough classes like calculus will be just as tough, but I've found that the professors here are more understanding. They are willing to work with you when you don't understand. You will always find a blow-off class or two, and there are some profs that are easier than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    You get what you put in here. You could slack off and probably still do relatively well, but if you work hard, you can really accomplish a lot at this school. The faculty and staff are ready and willing to help you achieve your goals. Do you wanna start a new club or organize an interesting event? You can really stand out if you want to.

    In three sentences

    A&M- Kingsville is great for someone looking for a more personalized college learning experience. The professors are friendly, and the campus is inviting. If small is what you want and private universities are too expensive, A&M-Kingsville can really satisfy your needs.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to sleep after a long week of school.

    Food and Dining

    Good restaurants are available in the student union.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is somewhat of a challenging University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you enjoy hot weather.

    In three sentences

    It's a great University with great programs that help student pay for tuition and get tutored. Friendly staff and students.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't really dinned on the campus because the only place I've been to on the campus to eat is Chick-fil-A.

    Dorm Life

    My friend Jacob had a dorm, honors dorm to be exact, and they were very nice. He had a cozy little room and shared his dorm with 4 other guys who he became good friends with.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my friends that currently attend Texas A&M Kingsville are intelligent and say that the profressors are hard on you. However, they are the way they are because in the end there's a lesson to be learned.

    Tips for prospective students

    Invest in some type of transportation so that you may get around campus easier. Such as a skateboard, bike or even roller blades.

    In three sentences

    Texas A&M University is a friendly orientated campus. It's not a big campus but because it's not it feels comfortable. Everyone on campus is nice and willing to help me with all my questions.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    TAMUK PD and Kingsville PD take pride in their campus and do everything possible to keep the community safe. Recently during a little tornado scare, they were everywhere! It was so awesome to see them looking out for us. It's a very safe area.

    Bang for the buck

    My parents are happy! Need I say more....

    What to do for fun

    Kingsville is a small town but everyone finds their niche within the university and the local community.

    Food and Dining

    Good food... NICE food court..

    Dorm Life

    I am not currently living in the dorms but those friends that do live in the dorms are quite happy.

    Academic Rigor

    My particular major requires some serious studying. The rigor is all there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused... work hard and have a little fun in between.

    In three sentences

    I love it here! Everyone is friendly. The professors and the TAMUK staff are very willing to help and geninuely care about their students. The campus is the perfect size... but we're growing because TAMUK is amazing!

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every month the campus offers various events ranging from fall festival to spring fling etc. This helps in creating interaction and meeting new people and obtaining information about organizations around campus.

    Food and Dining

    This campus offers a variety of food and dinning creating healthy choices to students to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life on campus has the best safety creating indiviuals help enjoy living away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Classwork is challenging and encourages individuality each question is always answered to help students understand each subject to the best possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Recommendation would encourage all individuals seeking an education at this university to join and take advantages of every opportunity to gain full college experience. .

    In three sentences

    They offer diverse degree opportunities. This campus has an excellent student body system in encouraging others to join activities. This campus has a friendly environment that encourages success.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun there are a couple of club hangs that a lot of people go too especially on Thursday nights, also known as college night. Other than that Kingsville is a small town and there is not much to do. You have to make fun on your own.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is awful and there are several that agree. The food is supposed to be home-like food but it is not. The dining room seems empty due to the food. There are times were the food is actually food but most of the time it is not. Sad fact is the price is about 1200 for a meal plan which is also over priced for food you cannot stand to eat three times a day seven days a week.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is ridiculous. The prices are too high. paying 3300 for a dorm is just a little too much and that is for the nicest one. Also the fact the the cheapest is about 1800 and honestly should be a lot less for what your living in. The room is not even up to date to be at that price. That is more than taking a full schedule of classes which does not seem right.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic Rigor varies throughout the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students, you want a professor who is going to give you a challenge, especially if you want to learn something. Do not take the easy way out just to get the grade, that will only hurt you if your taking the course for your career path.

    In three sentences

    In my opinion I would like to give the rating over a 80 out of 100. The reason being would be because some professors do their job correctly and some do not. So I think you have to choose your professor wisely based on friends or a website with ratings.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Texas A&M Univerity Kingsville offers students many dining options from a state of the art cafeteria to national restaurants to offer students a great place to eat and ine with friends.

    Dorm Life

    Texas A&M Kingsville has rapidly expanded construction of new dormitories to offer the students of this University with all the resources needed to have the fun and entertainment of a college student while also providing students with a quiet place to study and complete school assignments.

    Academic Rigor

    Texas A&M University Kingsville offers many of todays top marketable degrees offered by some of the most respected and qualified professors in the state. The quality of the education delivered to students is to par with other top ranked schools from around the country and is geared toward preparing all students with a quality education.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This university offers it all plus some. This is a great choice for any major.

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff make applying, attending, and any other service you need a breeze. They helped with all and any questions I had and stayed on top of their paper work, which i cannot say for the last college I attended. I cannot wait to earn my degree from this wonderful university!

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of movies, fairs, carnivals, games, after school get togethers, and organizations....

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose classes wisely. Ask students and counselors for suggestions when needed. Attend class every day! :)

    In three sentences

    Very diverse and interesting atmosphere. A lot of great degree programs and teachers. Plenty of after school programs to stay involved.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tortillas! My first football game here that is all you will see but is super fun and a great experience.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't waste my money as fast as if i were going to a much bigger city. So I could go 2 to 3 weeks without spending. It is a bit pricey staying in the dorms but it is worth it. You meet so many people and friends that will help you when you need it.

    What to do for fun

    Yes kingsville is fairly small but on campus there are so many things that are going on or clubs you could join. Being with friends and having a movie night is great and isnt a money waster either.

    Food and Dining

    Bishop/Turner dining is great I actually love the food here. You can eat there in the cafeteria (all you can eat) or take it to go if you have homework or just don't feel like eating there. Its great food everyday.

    Dorm Life

    I live in bishop hall which is right across lynch. People use to always tell me to watch out for the parties and loud music all night. Total lie, it is great i actually love where my room is and my neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    First time students may think that because of the size of the campus the professors are more laid back. Don't be fooled. tamuk has a great academic program it is challenging so don't miss class!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to someone that has been here whether it be a relative or visiting the campus to talk to someone. Help is fantastic here, don't let the size put you down.

    In three sentences

    A lot of help academically with every subject which makes homework, quizzes or homework so much easier to do. People are nice and friendly. Community service and organizations to join isn't hard to find here.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have University Police Department that are always on call. In addition. have red post looking objects around campus in case of emergency you dial a number or push the red button to get a hold of the police.

    Greek Life

    I am not in Greek life, but they are a major factor in being involved. They do welcome week as where they welcome the freshmen and they perform shows and dance. Well established.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am involved in the Javelina Sapphire Dance Team and the Campus Activities and Board. We have over 30 organizations, so get active and make new friends and explore the campus and its attributes. From personal experience, an organization I joined helped me meet more people and build friendships that I cherish today.

    Great for these types of students

    In general, this school is great for any student who is determined, has goals, well managed, and just capable of comprehending the main subjects of school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite places is the Student Recreation Center. I like to workout and it provides many activities to do within the building.

    What to do for fun

    Around Kingsville, there is a movie theater, so you could watch a movie. Grab a bite to eat. Hang out with friends. But most importantly, has some involvement in any type of Texas A & M University-Kingsville organization.

    Food and Dining

    The Javelina Dining has increased their food products and providing more students with variety. After a while it gets tiring always eating from the Cafeteria, but in the Student Union Building we have little restaurants such as, Subway, Chick-Fil-A, Sushic, Starbucks, and Pizza Hut.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life my freshman year is one to look back at on. I now reside at apartments because it is cheaper and I wanted to face reality and get prepared. The dorms have nice features depending on the one you prefer. They range from all males, all females, and co-ed. Some have community restrooms and others you share with your suite mates.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is based on a one-to-one function and the teachers are here to help you and make the best of your knowledge. Also allow you to use creativeness, think outside the box, and become engaging in learning experiences.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, before coming to college get your head on straight and be fully prepared. Do not let your first year scare you because you will explore and make new friends. Another major factor, is having time management for assignments and what I tell myself is school then have free time.

    In three sentences

    Texas A & M University-Kingsville is efficient and helpful college with a lot of features to attract visitors. It is not big , but currently expanding our statistics and becoming well-known in South Texas. We host many campus activities to keep students involved and become accustomed to the campus life.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great and safe environment. Very very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres many activiries and clubs to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for any type of student. This university is greatly diverse and manages to have a little bit of everything

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For football each time we score people throw tortillas.

    What to do for fun

    Football and volleyball games plus school activities make it fun here

    Food and Dining

    The food here is good. We have a Sub-Way ,Chick-fila, pizza hut, Starbucks and a sushi place here on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. At first it maybe a little wierd but you get use to it and you start loving it.

    In three sentences

    TAMUK is a great University to attend. It has many things to offer and they help you with everything that you need , when you need it. It has a great environment, its just an awesome school.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to as many events as you can. There's a major event in both the fall and spring semesters, and there are plenty of other events all over campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good - not exactly what you'd get at home, but there are plenty of options, and there are several restaurants not too far from campus if you need more variety.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which dorm you live in, the dorm life can be anywhere from extremely boring to having a social event every night. Choose according to your temperament, since you'll want to live in a place that will fulfill both your social and academic needs.

    Academic Rigor

    My freshman classes weren't terribly difficult, but you are held to a higher standard here than you would have been in high school, and I have no doubt that as I begin taking higher-level courses that I will be held to an ever higher standard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus first. If you ask your tour guide to take you by the building you are most interested in, you have a high chance of running into one of the professors that works there, enabling you to see what kind of community you're getting into.

    In three sentences

    It's a larger campus than you might expect, and there are several new buildings while the older ones have received updates. The student body is diverse, and there are many organizations to join. The teachers are helpful, and willing to accommodate individual students' needs.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing much Rec center, bowling, and swimming.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school where you can develop and gain great knowledge.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A&M-Kingsville is prizes itself for being a safe campus. The roads and sidewalks are always well-lit at night for those who love to take a nightly jog or study throughout the night in the library; The university police, whose department is located just across the street from the campus, are always making routine 24 hr. patrols to ensure the student body's safety; There are also emergency poles (the are bright fire-engine red with a blue emergency light situated at the top) scattered across campus which act as an instant call for help if its button (located in the middle of the pole's hollowed center) is pushed. The university police are the ones who answer the call. As of now, no emergency or accident has been caused by the campus's lack of safety since safety for its staff, faculty, and students are one of its top concerns .

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs and organizations of choose from if attending A&M-Kingsville, many of which attend Hoggie Days to inform incoming students as well as provide awareness to their goals or causes. The university's C.A.B. (Campus Activities Board) provides tons of entertainment for the student body throughout the year in forms of little events such as Build-a-Bear & Share to big events that take up part of the campus like Rock-it On Campus. This student run and university supported board is always looking for new members interested in keeping A&M-Kingsville exciting.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are an outgoing person who thrives off contribution, extroversion, and knowledge then A&M-Kingsville is perfect for you. In order to have great experiences in a small-town college such as this, you will need to join organizations and become active in the university community. Yes, laying down in the dorm while not doing anything is a pretty big temptation that we often succumb to but not doing it will provide you, any student for that matter, with memories created and shared with the people that you will meet when contributing to A&M-Kingsville's success.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During every touchdown made by our football team, the mighty Javelinas, there is a tradition that I find worth mentioning. Tortillas. Yes, every time our team makes a touchdown, the college students throw tortillas onto the field and the crowd below. There are various stories as to how this tradition originated but the one that I commonly hear is that of the diabetic football player. A long time ago (which is how these stories often begin) there was a linebacker whose mom loved him very much. Every time after a routine practice his mother would be sitting up in the stands watching her son and after the practice finished, she would give him a tortilla that she made especially for him. A tradition that she had had with her son since he was very young. You see, the boy was diabetic and every practice severely drained him of energy. It was the night of the big game for the university since it was the game against the rival university of Abilene. The team was exerting 100 percent, including her son. It was Abilene's turn when all of a sudden there was a fumble and panic ran down the teams face since the game was tied. Out of the commotion caused by the attempted retrieval of the ball out came a mountain of a player, our player/her son. He picked up the ball and ran 50 yards to make the winning touchdown. The crowd went wild! The mom knew better than to cheer, her son was beginning to lose his balance and with the sound of the crowd continuing to roar, he collapsed. Of course, the mother could not run down the field to his aide so she did what she thought would be the next best choice and began to fling the tortillas like a Frisbee onto the field. He regained his vigor afterwards and since then, it has become a tradition to fling a tortilla after a touchdown.

    Bang for the buck

    A&M Kingsville is perfect for the money conscious student who does not wish to pay an arm and a leg to attain a great education. The classes are affordable: taking 15 hours last semester did not break 4,500 (this included a course attached to a lab). Also, the books needed for classes can easily be found online or on flyers posted across campus from students who already took the course and are trying to earn a few extra dollars, extra dollars that never reach retail value so it's always a bargain.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, most students go to the beach (considering that the weather hardly goes below 85 degrees and since Kingsville is located in the coastal bend area of South Texas) or travel to nearby cities such as Corpus Christi, which is just a 35 min. drive, to go shopping; eat at certain restaurants not found in the town, or to go to beach. Fun is never that far away.

    Food and Dining

    There is a new cafeteria called the RFoC (Real Food on Campus) which offers a buffet style environment with food that varies in theme from day to day (Monday may be Mexican while Tuesday may be Italian inspired foods). Also, for those who would to succumb to their fast-food craving, there are various chains of fast-food places located on the campus such as Chick-fil-A; Subway; Pizza Hut. There is also Starbucks and sushi place located on the campus as well. Out on the town, there are various locally owned Mexican-food restaurants and pizza places are the located just on the outskirts of the university if the students wishes to explore Kingsville, TX.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are located on campus and are at walking distance from the academic buildings (if one would have to explain how far the walking distance is, I would compare it walking half a city block). Also, the dorms (or residence halls) vary in price allowing the student options as to how much they would like to spend for the cost of living on the university. The layouts differ and everyone attending orientation will be able to see the different styles. As for noise problems there are only the average amount of complaints but there are then corrected by the Residence Advisers which is a paid position by the university for students whose duties include routine checks of the dorms and the corrections of complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes one would take varies in difficulty depending on one's major and one's self-discipline. If the student is able to prioritize then they will have a successful academic career in not only this university but on all others as well. Aside from having professors that are accessible during their office hours, the university also provides tutoring programs (most of which are located in the library) that allow the student struggling with a certain subject to overcome and eventually master it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If planning to attend this college, and you are to come in as an incoming freshman or a transfer student, you must attend the university's one-day or two-day orientation called Hoggie Days (since our mascot is a Javelina: A collared peccary locally found in the area and resembles a hog due to its snout and ferocity). If you can, take all of the necessary papers to make your class registration a smooth process. Take your SAT and/or ACT scores as well as an official transcript from your high-school and also a positive attitude since there will be hundreds of other prospective students attending the orientation waiting to be another Texas A&M University-Kingsville Javelina!

    In three sentences

    A&M Kingsville, in my opinion, is one of the best schools located in the South Texas area not only due to its amazing staff and faculty but also on account of the inviting atmosphere provided by the student body. Like most other colleges, we have traditions that date back to the very beginnings of this university's existence and since the student population is below 10,000 almost everybody participates to join in the celebration. There is a wide variety of majors provided by A&M-Kingsville whose array ranges from Liberal Arts to the S.T.E.M. (Science, Technology, Engineering & Math) disciplines.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have police pro trolling the campus all day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs you can get into.

    Great for these types of students

    It's really for and type of person.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great school in cost, not to much to worry about.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the recreation center. They proved you with equipment and every week they have a lot of games going on, you can never get bored.

    Food and Dining

    They always have different options every day.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on the dorm you live in. University village is really nice but will cost a lot.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are easy to reach just e mail them and they will get back to you with in a few hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school to look in to.

    In three sentences

    Over all kingsville is a really great school. In my classes the teachers have time to talk to you about work. You can easily contact your professor.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities that students can participate such as clubs and intermediate sports.

    Food and Dining

    If you do not exercise, be prepared to gain some weight, because the dinning serve nothing but fried foods. Most students are fat.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you apply for as many scholarships that way you wont have any trouble paying out of pocket.

    In three sentences

    This school allows students to expand into their field, with great help from faculty and administration. There are many professors that care, as long as the student is willing to work hard to reach fullest potential. The campus is also great.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fall festival, movie nights

    Food and Dining

    The campus has a cafeteria with a variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time wisely, communicate often with your professors, and check your blackboard often for updates and announcements from the campus and professors.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school, small campus with student centered classes. A lot of parking space.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe with patrol on duty 24/7.as well as emergency phones available all over campus. And as well secured dorms with cameras going into the dorm. As well as your own card to go inside your dorm.

    What to do for fun

    You could join sports team for fun or swim for fun at the pool.and interact in student activities.you may also attend football games on Saturdays.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great especially the pizza and French fries.they have a lot of variety of foods that you could eat as well as a subaway inside the school.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great you get to interact with other people.As well as make new friends.also as they are trying to make dorms more better and comfortable they are building new dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always show up to class and do your work if you want to pass your classes don't get lazy just because you are on your own.

    In three sentences

    Tamuk is a place where everything is great its a small campus and you get to interact with a lot of people with helpful teachers. As well you getting meet new people and make new friends.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    on safety they do take 5 stars they have there own police station ant the University is always safe at all times they have cameras all over the place plus they always have routine every month where they check all the rooms

    Greek Life

    As a freshman i joined a Fraternity and it is cool they have Greek week Week / Games and it is fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is more that 100 official clubs plus the groups that are not clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor, wildlife lovers, student that don't want distractions,cowboys/girls

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well there is allot of traditions in the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is decent ,but it is high for what they are providing you with.

    What to do for fun

    I joined a Fraternity and also got involve in the Student Government Association. Besides that there is alto of univ clubs because the town doesn't have anything to do just Walmart and HEB. oh The KING Ranch is blocks away

    Food and Dining

    Price is high. the food is nothing but fry foods and sandwich, salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are small ,but good. The community restrooms are not clean oh and people take a dump in the showers or even have sex. this is bad

    Academic Rigor

    You have to make sure you have everything in a back up folder because papers ALWAYS get lost.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a cool university isolated from the town. It is great for studying because there is nothing to do in that town.

    In three sentences

    This university needs foundation. The professors i have had don't care about teaching thy just give you the assignment and your expected to be ready for the Test .They don't have lectures the professors just take attendance and leave.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the cops are always patrolling and most of the campus is lighted at night

    Greek Life

    no clue, but have heard the majority of it is either just partying or a bunch of hassle so i have not even considered it

    Clubs and Activities

    depends on what you are into

    Great for these types of students

    lazy students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we still actually have a bonfire for homecoming

    Bang for the buck

    its cheap which is why the quality isnt exactly all that well

    What to do for fun

    Get out of town and go fishing

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food honestly makes me sick

    Dorm Life

    the comunal dorms are filthy and loud, the suite style dorms are a bit cleaner but also loud and the walls are paper thin

    Academic Rigor

    most teachers do not care

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class and at least half of the proffessors will pass you just for showing up

    In three sentences

    Most of the proffessors do not care about you and are difficult to understand because of their thick accents. The professors that do care grade too harshly for the most part. Only attend this school if you want a fairly decent gpa with minimal effort

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is Collegiate FFA, that is an awesome program to get into of your an AG student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual traditions here at TAMUK are pretty interesting. There is a school bell at the top of the main building and at night there are statue shadows shining above the bell. Everyone tends to call it the hanging man as that is what it looks like. There is also a roof too spot people go to to watch the stars or relax and enjoy the scenery on too one of the dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    I have met so many amazing and friendly people here. I have even met my boyfriend here who is an amazing guy. People are are very outgoing, social, friendly, and there is people from all over the US!

    What to do for fun

    There is always activities going on campus. The activities are a must go to, they always keep you entertained. There is social events, games, fundraisers, and even rodeo team practices. It is amazing to watch and enjoy them all!

    Food and Dining

    The food that is served at TAMUK is good! It is just like having a buffet at Golden Corral or some sort. You've got a variety to choose from including vegetarian food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here at TAMUK is pretty good and nice. I have never felt threatened or like I was in danger. It's quiet, not loud whatsoever and they are everything you need.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor here is really good. The staff is amazing and they teach you a lot ahead of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students, keep your heads up at all times. Stress comes your way and you have to ignore it or take it out on something useful. College isn't easy but it is not hard unless you make it hard.

    In three sentences

    Texas A&M Kingsville is an amazing college. It has great teaching staff and a good amount of disciplined students. I have learned so much in just my first semester and I look forward to so much more.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is Always Patrolled by UPD.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life that grows every semester!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 20+ clubs for a small town University

    Great for these types of students

    Engineering Majors Agriculture Majors Communication Disorder Majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Baffin Bay located 20mins away is a great fishing spot! Most students who have never fished pick up the sport because its so close and fun.

    Bang for the buck

    This University has the cheapest tuition in all of Texas, and is one of the top schools for Agriculture and Engineering in the U.S.

    What to do for fun

    Fishing (beach and bay are only 20mins away) Bowling Co-ed sports Greek life Clubs Rodeos Live Plays written and directed by students Golf Movies on campus

    Food and Dining

    Campus has a huge cafeteria, and other small venues.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived on campus, but they have two new dorms and are in process of building a third. They are extremely nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm an engineering student. I love the hands on approach. Even though it may be difficult, the teachers make it possible to achieve your learning goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask questions in class, because there is no such thing as a dumb question. Always be sure to balance study time with play time. Use all the learning resources the university provides.

    In three sentences

    Great engineering program. Small classes helps students get help they need. Hands on approach in classes makes learning fun and easy.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    39 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheap tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Kingsville is not a very exciting town, but there is always Hoggie football games!

    Food and Dining

    Great food all over campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have stayed in the dorms for summer camp, and it really depends on which one you stay in. If possible, stay in University Village, those are my favorite dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I took were not too hard, but I had some great professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pretty much anyone can get in.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes. Close to home. Great Ag program.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of recreational things to occupy someone. From football games to bowling, it is all a lot of fun. There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great and with places like Subway and Starbucks on campus, you'll have it made.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are all really nice. Everyone who attends the campus treats you like family. The dorms have a nice set up.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great. You really get that student teacher teaching and its just fabulous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get new tennis shoes or a bike if you don't have a car. You will need to walk around.

    In three sentences

    Texas A & M Kingsville is an amazing campus. It's had that warn welcome feel to it. It is definitely the school to go to.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Kingsville isn't really a party town but the school does have functions in the dorms as well as on campus that are fun to attend like the annual Fall Carnival and Spring Fling done every Fall and Spring semester by the local organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The food could use some improvement as the university serves the same food everyday just on different days. While the campus staff are trying to fix this problem the food remains a little tasteless and bland at times. I know the campus and cafeteria staff are mainly concerned about the students with diabetes and other illnesses, but as far as variety there really isn't any unless you go to the local mexican resturant down the street from the campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms accomidate your style of living and have learning community centers that match your major. However the internet in the dorms could you a little improvement as the Wi-Fi constantly goes out so I would suggest living in an apartment if you are constantly on the computer. But the dorms do provide TV, a fitness room and other means of entertainment.

    Academic Rigor

    The teaching assistants and professors try their best to accomidate you and to provide a learning experience that best suits your needs. They are very reasonable and try to cover the material at a natural rate making sure that you understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good university for the student that likes small class sizes. If you wish to have that one on one connection with your professor this is the university for you. For the past two years I've been attending school here, my classes have been less than 100 students and fewer, so professors have more time to explain to you.

    In three sentences

    Texas A & M University-Kingsville is a university for the student that perfers the rural country living versus the city life. Kingsville is a small town close to the city of Corpus Christi Texas, which is about 45 minutes away so if you are looking for the nightlife Kingsville isn't the place to be but it is a quite and small university.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I feel that I have gotten the best education and the money spent on it has been well worth it. I am currently a senior and honestly feel like I have gotten my moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    Extra Curricular activities are always fun such as sports, but in Kingsville there are other things to do such as going to the movies. Kingsville is also only about 35 minutes away from Corpus. There are many things to do there such as going to the mall, the beach, or the Texas State Aquarium.

    Food and Dining

    TAMUK has various choices when it comes to dining. From cafeterias to restaurants such as Pizza Hut, Chick Fil A, Subway and Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    Although I have not lived in the dorms myself, I have many friends who live in various dorms so I have had the chance to visit them. From what I have seen and heard, the dorms provide for a pleasant living space. They are very clean and inviting.

    Academic Rigor

    Attending TAMUK is a great choice because you will be sure to receive education from professors who truly care. It can be difficult at times, but the professors are always willing to help if you are willing to ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to get involved. Entering college can be a scary thing. It is a new environment and many times you are entering it alone. But getting involved in activities is a great way to make friends, and soon it'll feel like home.

    In three sentences

    TAMUK is a great college of choice for students of all kinds. Whether you are a small town kid or one used to the city, TAMUK has something for everyone. From extra curricular activities to off-campus activities, it is certain that students will stay busy and have fun.

  • 06/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can workout, join a club, or just chill with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    Even picky eaters, like myself, can enjoy the food here.

    Dorm Life

    I have a lot of fun chilling with the others in my dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't had any really tough classes, but I just started.

    In three sentences

    So far, classes are small and people are nice. I tend to have a good amount of free time for homework. I still get to hang out with my friends and family, so that's cool.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play my Xbox and stay in my room. I don't associate with a lot of students.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Tamuk is different, but after six weeks you will get use to it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Texas A&M Kingsville are expensive. I currently spend more money living in a dorm than my classes cost.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small and easy if you dedicate your time to your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would check into Kingsville and visit the Campus before I make my decision

    In three sentences

    I think Kingsville can be a good University for students that are focused and don't get discourage easily with their surroundings. It is a small town with very limited resources compared to major cities.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Socials, parties, clubs, organizations, volunteer work (Bigger Event)

    Food and Dining

    Great food at the cafeteria and at the SUB.

    Dorm Life

    Mesquite and University Village are amazing and close to new. A great place to live for a good price.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the educators have their PhD.'s

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is close to the beach if you're looking for a good time. The iTech services are helpful when it comes to computer problems. The Academic Success Center is a great place for study groups to gather and help each other out.

    In three sentences

    This school is great for engineering and art majors. The campus is beautiful and lively with green grass everywhere. The students and faculty are very welcoming especially to new students.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus feel fairly safe due to the emergency posts around the campus. Also with the police and security that stroll around the campus.

    What to do for fun

    If you are in an organization or sorority/fraternity, they help keep you busy with weekly meetings and recommended volunteer opportunities. There is also other groups that hold fairs, get together, etc that can help keep a student busy in spare time.

    Food and Dining

    Food selection is limited depending on where you go. There is a campus dining hall that provides a main entry, side, and salad bar. It also contains a sandwich bar and a hotdog/burger station. Hours vary depending on the dining hall you go to. There is other options on campus as well such as Subway, Chik-fil-a, Pizza Hut and Sushic.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselves hold plenty of gatherings to try to bring the alumni together and often include prizes and food. It is rare that there are faults in the room, such as low battery on smoke detectors, paint or chips in the wall/room, etc. The rooms themselves are pretty spacious, if organized properly, but have plenty of room.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes themselves are hard depending on the professor. Some professors give more lecture than homework, and others provide more class work/ homework than lecture.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip would be to keep on top of your financial aid, as the staff themselves do not keep on top of it unless pressured to do so. Also stay on top of homework assignments and attendance as some professors do take into account attendance.

    In three sentences

    TAMUK is a reserved campus where everybody has the opportunity to know everybody. The alumni, professors, and staff are very friendly and are willing to help out if need be. The campus itself is very homey and it's possible to walk from one side of the campus to the other in about eight minutes.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always see the campus police patrolling the area. The school is well-lit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a few local restaurants located within walking distance from the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and fees are reasonably prices at this campus. I really have no complaints.

    What to do for fun

    If you're a jogger/runner, the campus is full of joggers/runners all times of the day. The gym is open at reasonable hours, as well as the tennis courts. If you need to get away from the small town, you can always get a group of friends to go to the beach, which is only 45 minutes away. Football season is always fun. You will meet people from different parts of the country, and even the world.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of options; however, there are little to no options for those who are vegan or gluten-free.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot speak for dorm life, because I never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The graduate CSDO program definitely asks you to push yourself to new limits. Not only do you have to plan for classes and homework, but you also have to plan for therapy sessions and report writing. As someone who came into the field with no prior experience, I can say that it takes some getting used to. Your second year in the program you will have a least 2 courses and an externship site to work on your clinical hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a graduate student in this school for the CSDO program. If you are looking for an apartment/house to rent, I recommend doing so early on once you have made your decision to attend this school. It is a small town, and housing can be difficult to find if you don't plan to stay in the dorms. However, a lot of people in my program do commute from Corpus Christi (about 40-45 minutes from Kingsville) on a daily basis.

    In three sentences

    The campus is located in a small town where almost everything is accessible. The campus is clean and beautiful. The staff and faculty have provided a great experience.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt at ease knowing that there is a campus police station just for the university and there are emergency 911 polls where you can call someone or get help from campus police. If your scared to go to your dorms at night, campus police will escort you to your dorm and make sure your safe inside.

    Clubs and Activities

    i was very surprised at the amount of clubs and activities they have on campus, they range from robotics to marksmanship clubs. A very wide variety that anyone can be apart of...in fact, i'm already welcomed into a club called 'unity' and i was still a high school senior at the time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the football games there is a tradition to throw tortillas whenever we score a touchdown...yup 'tortillas'. And college hall is famous for being haunted and sometimes you can see a man hanging from the bell tower, spooky.

    What to do for fun

    I like to sing for fun. Music is a big part of my life and without it i wouldn't be where i am right now.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and makes you feel at home instead of at a boring old school. there are plenty of choices of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus gives you a great way to meet new people and enjoy having a social life in between classes and studying.

    Academic Rigor

    Kingsville is very driven to having the students succeed in their academic goals. They are there to make sure you get your degree in no time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have all your school documents ready as you apply and register for classes. Keep a planner to help you out with planning your classes.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus because it offers a safe and secure environment to all students. If i had to give it a rating it would be a 9 out of 10.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It has cameras so you feel safe

    Greek Life

    So speechless.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fraternity

    Great for these types of students

    For all type of students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lucio hall

    Bang for the buck

    I love it here its something that everyone will love

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of things to do for fun, fraternity, gym, going out,

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but I cook my own

    Dorm Life

    Its like living by yourself no one tells you what to do, but you do have to respect the rules 5 starts

    Academic Rigor

    They are awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you coming to this college, come in with the mentally that you going to do awesome in class.

    In three sentences

    This college its pretty amazing to be a small town. It has everything you need, you can walk to get where you want to go. Everyone is friendly even if they don't know you.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    CAB...is the Campus Activities Board. They have things that go on every month throughout the semester. It's a good way to get involved, and meet new people. They also give away free stuff, sometimes it also includes free food. ...you will need to take advantage of that too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty much what you pay for. It's better than the cafeteria food from high school. Make sure you pick the right meal plan for yourself. There's breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    My roommate and I have been able to keep a clean environment. Of course bring as much as possible. The more you make it look like your room, the more comfortable you are.

    Academic Rigor

    So far so good. College work is how I expected. Study, focus, and work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared. By prepared I mean prepared. You can walk everywhere on campus, so there's no need for a car unless you're wanting to go further than the campus. Pack an umbrella or rain gear (that's the only thing I forgot). If you can, save as much as you can for school. Make sure you map your classes out and walk to them the previous days you have available.

    In three sentences

    This school is clean, and perfect if you have no type of transportation. The professors are very welcoming along with the students. Everything here has been better than I expected.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movies, Shopping, Friends reunion.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not to tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and get your Bachelors here...

    In three sentences

    a really good program, really good student environment, I've been here for 4 years and it has been a great experience and opportunity.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out with friends

    Food and Dining

    Tasty

    Dorm Life

    The cheap ones are too small, yet habitable

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and ask for help, know your mentor

    In three sentences

    Wellcoming Friendly cozy

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is very good along with the very generous people that make the food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at the university are very nice, along with the people that maintain the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I aim my best to get myself the highest I can achieve, and get myself into medical school and become an anesthesiologist.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police do there job for the most part. But there are some major things that seems to slip through there fingers. A lot of kids here like to let things slide that shouldn't be let slide. The police here typically don't punish people like they should be. More warnings are given out for kind of serious things.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know to much about clubs and activities, which obviously means that none of them really reach out to acquire new members. Which is pretty disappointing.

    Great for these types of students

    Kingsville is great for all types of students. It is a very interesting campus with much to do. If you are quiet, there are quiet places. If you are loud and active, there are places to be loud and active.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price of tuition compared to other schools, Kingsville is great for the money you pay. The education is top notch, you are expected to do well in your classes. and the teachers demand you to work at your full potential.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do for fun in Kingsville if you are under 21. There is a very cheap and moderately nice movie theater here. On campus we have the rec center where many people go to work out or run. Other than that, you make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is way better than any high school food I've ever eaten. It's usually very fresh, most of the cafeteria workers seem to care about how your day is going, and understand that you need a good meal dealing with being away from home. Sometimes eating the same stuff day after day gets old, but the food is still good.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Lucio Hall, which is one of the more expensive dorms here at the university, and it is fantastic. I live in my own room in an apartment type dorm shared with three other guys. I share a restroom with the guy in the room next to me, but that's the only drawback. This dorm is great, and it's even better when you're paired up with people you enjoy being around.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the classes are challenging (that comes with being in college). So you must learn to study. The class sizes are generally very small, so if you don't understand something, you have all of the resources you need to learn it. The classes are demanding, but again, if you study, passing should not be difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not from around Kingsville (like I wasn't) prepare yourself for the temperature. It is usually pretty hot here. Also prepare yourself for college life, it is a lot different than high school, being away from your parents is a big deal, and you have to learn to be responsible. Start practicing time management skills.

    In three sentences

    This school is very under rated. It is a fantastic place to be, the people are great, most of the education is fantastic, the city is great. I am very glad I am here at Texas A&M University Kingsville.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for Hispanic, indians and international students

    What to do for fun

    Watch football, skate and going to the gym.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is one of the most affordable university you can find in texas with world class facilities for students.

    In three sentences

    It is one of the best university in south Texas with a considerable amount of multicultural students from Africa, india, asia, America. It is also affordable for students where they give in-state scholarship and other numerous financial aid for students. Lastly it has a convenient campus for academics and also a balanced social life for students.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends, fishing, hunting, few nightclubs

    Food and Dining

    the food at the cafeteria is not so good because they serve it cold and with no flavor

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life it is bad because of the bad installations at the university, the buildings are old and have a lot of issues.

    Tips for prospective students

    study a lot for your test and try to evade procrastination

    In three sentences

    it is a good place to study because you can learn a lot from the professors in a one and one moments because of the small amount of students that are in one classroom.