Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Texas Lutheran University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/30/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students are welcomed! TLU is known for their science most of all. Overall it is an awesome Institution and I recommend it 110%!

    Tips for prospective students

    TLU is a Liberal Arts institution which makes it different from all other schools. You don't just gain insight on what your are planning to carry a profession in, but you learn a little about everything! My tip to prospective students out there is to take advantage of the opporunity that you have been given. There are many teens out there that wish they could go to college but for some reason or another they can't. Do your work, thats what your there for. To learn and grow as a person. You can party when your outta college. Another thing show up to class. Its not that hard to get outta bed and walk for like not even a full minute and already be at your classroom! Its a small campus! How much luckier could you be! It beats walking a mile! Haha. What else....ohh respect the workers there. They are by for the nicest people and I've seen them get treated like there nothing. One, no one deserves to be treated that way and two, especially not them! There the ones who make your breakfast, lunch, dinner, fix the things that break in our dorm rooms, and keep the campus in great condition. Other than that, enjoy yourself! Join an organization, and give yourself the chance to meet some of the people who just might end up being your life long friends!

    Bang for the buck

    Not sure what bang for the buck means? But I'm thinking that it has to do with money? Not sure, but I'm just gonna go with that. TLU is pretty expensive, but its worth every penny! They offer scholarships which help out alot! Thats what's keeping me there so far. But thats why we have generous websites like Fastweb and Cappex to help us explore our options to make our college education possible! :)

    Did enjoy being here

    At TLU your feel like a family. It's a very small private school where you pretty much know everyone. You might not know names but you know a familiar face when you see it! From day one you make friends from your FE class (freshman experience). There are many clubs and organizations that you can look into. There is something for everyone! It is an institution made up of diverse students and teachers. Your options are endless there!

    Did learn a lot

    I sure am! I was accepted to TLU in December of 2008 and started attending August of 2008 and have been there since. Providing small classes that consist of around 20 to 25 students really does make a difference. At TLU you matter unlike other institutions where your just another kid in the class. All the teachers know your name and always are encouraging you to ask questions and very helpful when you are unsure about things. TLU offers free tutoring Sunday-Thursday for all math courses, physics, etc. They even have a writing tutor! The higher level classes have an SI which has already taken the class and offers study sessions for homeworks and upcoing tests. From a personal experience, a few classmates as well as I had trouble in our economics class which didn't not have a tutor or an SI, so the teacher himself set a once a week study session with the 4 of us! It truly made a difference! Overall TLU has taught me so much. I still have much to learn and I wouldn't choose any other insitution to be at while I progress in my learning experience!

  • 03/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend TLU for any student who actually cares about learning and want to be an active part of their education. If you want to go to college to sit through lectures unnoticed and come out with a degree, this is not the school for you. Education at TLU is an interactive process, and passion is required. TLU is a great place for anyone looking for a small, home-town environment with lots of personal attention. TLU is for anyone who wants to be treated as more than just a number and a statistic.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can, definitely try to visit the campus. It is one thing to see pictures and read about what's here, but to get a good feel for TLU, visiting the campus is the only way to do it. Also, don't be afraid to talk to people, especially your Admissions Representative. When I was applying, I kept in close contact with him and he actually knew who I was by face and name. They want you to bug them with questions! The staff truly wants to help you with what you need, so don't be afraid to ask. Stay in close contact, and you will be very memorable, which is always a good thing.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private school, TLU is expensive. However, I truly feel that the cost is worth it 110%. The experience I have had here is above and beyond what I dreamed as my perfect college experience. There is so much to learn beyond the classroom; it is a holistic education that you can't get many other places.

    Am enjoying being here

    From move in, day one, everyone has been very friendly and welcoming. The TLU campus is a comfortable place that truly feels like a family. Because TLU is a small school, I have gotten to know both fellow students and professors very well. Everyone is approachable for questions about anything, and the living environment is very relaxing and comfortable.

    Am learning a lot

    The liberal arts dimension here has not only taught me a lot of useful information for my career in psychology, but also has been an affirmation of my beliefs. I am learning about myself and what I stand for and am passionate about in my life. TLU not only provides a great, well rounded education, it provided unique opportunities for each student's individual growth. One aspect of my education here that I love is the small classes. Each professor genuinely cares about the performance and well being of each individual student, and will even go out of their way to help you. I love going to my professors outside of class and engaging them in conversation about various topics in their discipline. Part of what makes TLU so special is the professors' passion for their discipline and their students. I have never encountered professors who genuinely care about their students the way they do here.

  • 10/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    My parents were worried about my attending TLU in the beginning because none of my friends from high school attend here and they thought I'd struggle fitting in. I made friends right away and am very comfortable here. There is a wide variety of students attending TLU so I've never felt out of place.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus to see for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    Thank GOD for financial aid!!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is awesome and so is the town of Seguin.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small and there's a lot of one-on-one with the professors.

  • 01/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are serious about your education and want to get the most out of your college experience than TLU is the University for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Call the TLU Admissions office, take a tour of the campus...don't delay because you will fall in love with TLU!

    Bang for the buck

    Top notch school and where else can you get the one on one attention that is available at TLU. Scholarships are amazing and the staff is so helpful in assisting you with obtaining the most possible scholarships available for you.

    Am enjoying being here

    Texas Lutheran University is an amazing school! From day one I have felt a part of the family at TLU. They have a warm and welcoming spirit from the staff as well as fellow students. I love that I live on campus and I am able to work on campus as well. TLU is an amazing school and I absolutely LOVE being here!

    Am learning a lot

    Texas Lutheran University provides one on one education between students and teachers. The professors are amazing and are available pretty much anytime you need them! I personally learn better with small classes that TLU offers and I am motivated when I don't feel that I am just another number. Everyone is somebody at TLU!

  • 11/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    TLU is great for all types of students. Whether your shy, outgoing, top 10 percent or just an average student, TLU is great for everyone. This college offers resources for everyone. There are certain days where you can check out the clubs and organizations and if you're a student that likes to go to tutoring, TLU offers all kinds of tutoring. It's a perfect school for anyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to any future college student to do your homework on time! Overall, TLU is a great school so there is not much to warn you about. One thing I can stress is, if you have a problem with anything talk to your professor or advisor. Every freshman is assigned an advisor that will help you out with anything throughout your time at TLU. Take advantage of that.

    Bang for the buck

    While TLU is more expensive than most schools, it offers various scholarships based on school standing and financial need. Do not let the price tag fool you because this school does what it can to help you pay for it and the price is worth the education and experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    TLU is such a great school. It offers many clubs and activities that will fit the needs of anyone. The students and professors are extremely friendly which helped make my transition from high school to college easier. Also, every freshman is given a peer mentor that is a currently enrolled student as well. These peer mentors are awesome because they plan activities for you so that you can get to know more people and how things at TLU work.

    Am learning a lot

    I entered TLU with 15 hours and was put into a senior level economics class. I have learned a lot through all of my class but even more importantly at TLU you will learn to work with your classmates and professors. If you do not understand something the professors at TLU are always around to help. I have learned a lot about myself through the freshman experience class and theology class that everyone is required to take. TLU will teach you what you need to go to move onto a graduate school but also it will teach you how to look at life in new ways.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops are on patrol 24/7

    Greek Life

    There are some local and nationwide sororities and fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Different types of social clubs to fit everyone needs, its a big fair in the beginning of the year for students to look and see what TLU have to offer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some people say that the campus is haunted, but thats just to scare the incoming freshmen.

    Bang for the buck

    So far everything has been great, at any function we receive free shirts.

    What to do for fun

    You can go and visit all the other retail stores, participate in the activities on campus or go to the water park in Seguin.

    Food and Dining

    I love that we have Lucky's here on campus they have food whenever they dining hall is closed or when you want to pick up a quick snack in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were okay for the incoming class of 2011-2012 but the new freshmen will be getting the brand new dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are a little tougher than most, but its so many FREE tutorial sessions, for nearly every subject at different hours of the day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask other students where things are located at. Remember coming here you can be a bulldog buddy for a lot of different stores.

    In three sentences

    TLU is a wonderful college to attend because of the small class sizes, and the friendliness of the campus. First moving onto campus your peer mentor and Ra's made your first weeks easy as possible. Finishing off my second semester I have came to love TLU and I am glad that I made this school my choice.

  • 02/21/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Through my research it seems that TLU is great on working with the cost of attending. The academics seem one on one, and for me these two things mean the most. I am going to graduate from a small high school, and I am looking forward to attending a small college as well. TLU seems home-y and if I were to get accepted here, I'd be honored! I'd be the crazy fan with the bumper sticker all over my car!! :)

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy attending this school because of the atmosphere and the size of the campus

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone! The school tries to cater to everyone and does a spectacular job. If you cannot find something that suits you then just ask around. Someone will point you in the right direction. If you are the type of person who wants to be lost in the crowd, TLU is not such a good choice. In a small school, there is no crowd to get lost in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the admission's office in order to get everything you need! they will help with scholarships and all other normal jitters and worries concerning college. Remember that TLU is a Liberal Arts School, this means you will partake in classes of all disciplines and not just that of your major. Bring your thinking cap!

    Bang for the buck

    TLU may cost a lot because it is a private school, but financial aid is always willing to help and you can get jobs on and around campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    The weekends are dead but that is a very good thing. I am busy everyday and the weekends i get to relax and catch up on homework or chores and such. Seguin is also 30 minutes from San Marcos, 40 Minutes from San Antonio and an Hour from Austin. This keeps you focused during the week and allows for you to do whatever you want on the weekend.

    Am learning a lot

    I have loved just about every class I have been in. If i have not enjoyed the class it was because I needed the class and did not want to take it. Every single teacher I have had has such a passion for their subject and are willing to work with you as long as you put forth the effort. I love that teachers care about you.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have many dining options there, don't think I'll have a problem.

    Academic Rigor

    I personally haven't experienced it yet but I've heard good things from people i know who have gone.

    In three sentences

    I've already visited the campus and i like how open and clean the grounds are, a perfect environment for me being a farm-bred girl. I like the musical opportunities there as well (I've heard many great things from my director). I'm relatively sure I'll like it even though it's going to be financially difficult.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are always cops on campus for safety reasons. there is also a information and security bubble with someone their 24/7 in case of questions or emergencies. all dorms are always locked and can only be accessed with the particular key students have, and the speed limit is slow around campus because of pedestrians.

    Greek Life

    greek life here at tlu is well respected and many people participate in these greek organizations. there are both sororities and fraternities that have different philanthropies, interests, and people!

    Clubs and Activities

    there are greek sororities and fraternities on campus, different bible studies and prayer groups, tutoring and study groups, and many different clubs and organizations depending on where students interests lie.

    Great for these types of students

    students that want to be in small classes, that want to attend the free tutoring here at tlu, and that want to further their education even though the path will be rigorous.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    tlu's mascot is the bulldog and an alumni actually has a bulldog that is brought around campus and to sporting events dressed up with lots of tlu spirit. locations on campus that are not well known but make a difference are many of the computer labs hidden away in tschoepe hall for example, and an exquisite art gallery right in the art building!

    Bang for the buck

    for the amount people pay to attend tlu you absolutely get every penny's worth. small classes help students learn more and become more active in classes compared to sitting in a lecture hall with 100 other people. a diverse liberal arts education helps student become well rounded and leave tlu with a jump start on their career and life.

    What to do for fun

    some of the best fun at tlu is right on campus with events and different organizations. every year a magician comes, recently the group ladysmith blackmambazo performed, and comedians are known to perform here at tlu. greek life is also widely known and many students become part of a sorority or fraternity for some of the best college memories. the town of seguin also has a movie theatre, bowling alley, and it is only 15-20 minutes away from new branfules known for swimming in the comal river, schliterbahn, and shopping. it is about 25-30 minutes away from san marcos where the d1 school texas state is located, and also the tanger outlet stores in san marcos are a well known place to explore.

    Food and Dining

    dining at tlu comes with a variety of foods always including a vegetarian alternate. hein dining hall is run by the sodexo food company, known for their fast service and delectable food choices. while these meals are tasty, they are also healthy and the nutrition facts for everything is always posted as you enter the dining hall. the other alternate here at tlu for dining is in the alumni student center (asc) called lucky's kennel. delicious foods here include chicken strips, pizza, tossed salads, starbuck's freshly brewed coffees, and so much more. both choices here at tlu will leave you full, satisfied, and healthy.

    Dorm Life

    dorms at tlu are spacious, clean, well built, and very inviting. for the 2012 fall semester a new dorm for freshman will be opened up also. the dorms here at tlu are located near most classrooms, and all are steps away from the hein dining hall.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on ones major here at tlu the academic rigor can variate. the science and business departments here at tlu are known to be very rigorous but are full of opportunities including internships, studying abroad, and small classes with one on one attention from the professor. all majors here at tlu will be rigorous, and during a liberal arts education students will be immersed in different cultures, traditions, and religions.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to apply early and to put a lot of thought into your admissions essay. also, check out the tlu website because it is very navigable and full of a tremendous amount of helpful information for prospective students. finally, take a tour of the tlu campus and see first handedly how beautiful and inviting this campus is to all students.

    In three sentences

    texas lutheran university is a phenomenal liberal arts university striving for small classes and diverse curriculum. each students best interest is in mind and tlu continues to challenge students daily. after graduating from tlu you should have become a well rounded individual and student while furthering ones education to follow their dreams.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    if you need an escort to walk you to your dorm call the bubble and you will be escorted to your car or dorm. Campus police are always around if needed. Never any violence that occurs on campus.

    Greek Life

    Xi Tau for life!! greek life is the best part about this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    greek life and athletics are very popular among the student body but there are plenty of other organizations about everything.

    Great for these types of students

    Brains, religious people, mature people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the ASC is the center of all socialization.

    Bang for the buck

    you pay a lot but don't see where it goes to.

    What to do for fun

    party, sporting events, clubbing in San Antonio.

    Food and Dining

    Could be a lot better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice they are currently building a whole new building for freshmen students. Just obey all rules.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that college is hard and that you need to put school as your number one priority. The classes here are much harder but if you stick through it the outcome will pay off. It's kind of like a large high school the people act the same they're just getting a college degree.

    In three sentences

    Texas Lutheran University is a very diverse University, you will discover many cultures and ethnic groups if you attend here. It is a very small school so don't expect to be blown away with a huge campus with mobs of people. It is very quiet and beautiful and I have had the best two years of my life here.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Too much security if you ask me.

    Great for these types of students

    Bookworms and clever people.

    What to do for fun

    Stay out of trouble. Fun is for people that have graduated from a college or university.

    Academic Rigor

    Keep up with your work or you will fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be challenged. The instructors at this university push you to your limits.

    In three sentences

    The small classes help you focus better on the material. The professors genuinely care about you and help you if you ask. It may cost more, but you get your bang for your buck.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Several campus police officers are on campus 24/7. They kindly give their service anyways possible.

    Greek Life

    Host most of the activities and parties. They learn their history and take pride in their group.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sororities and fraternities. Clubs within your major are always available. Dance, cheer leading, and any athletic group. activities are specific. Anyone can attend any activity. There are no limitations.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town students. Hardworking students. Outgoing Students. there are very many personalities that attend this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    After every win or victory, the victory bell is rung. For every touchdown that the TLU football team makes in a home game it takes off 10% from items in the store. Commuter socials are once every month. Free Food is involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Small school with a big heart. This school is in a little city so everyone knows everyone. It makes it easier to meet people and make friends.

    What to do for fun

    There is tons of activities

    Food and Dining

    Decent. There is a wide variety so eat what you like. There is also a fast food line. It serves subway type sandwiches, Mexican food, breakfast, and other varieties.

    Dorm Life

    From what was seen, they are decent. I commuted all four years. Sorry.

    Academic Rigor

    Outstanding. Involves participation in future career activities. Helps with experience in career and references.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to your advisers and take their advice. They have been there and done that. Go to all the events. Most of the time there is free food and t-shirts. What college kid does not like that? Speak up. Do not be shy. Everyone there is friendly and will welcome you with open arms.

    In three sentences

    Texas Lutheran has a high academic standing. The women's track and field team has won the conference championship three times back to back to back. Texas Lutheran has a very diverse population of students.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always police officers on campus 24/7 and all the dorms can only be accessed if you have a student card ID. As well the dorms have specific times for visitors to leave and when quiet hours are established.

    Greek Life

    There are a good variety of Greek organizations that span from social to academic. Many of the social ones are not national, so dues are not as expensive as larger schools do. Being a member of Kappa Kappa Psi, which is a national Band Service Fraternity and I have enjoyed the people and the meaning behind joining the organization. We help the ensembles on campus with instrument moves, setup, organization, and much more. We also get a hand from the Tau Beta Sigma Band Service Sorority that as well plays a big part in the music department.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am part of a few campus organizations such as Service Through Music (STM), Kappa Kappa Psi Band Service Fraternity, the TLU Wind Ensemble, the TLU Jazz Band, and the Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society. So far, being a part of all of these organizations have meant a lot to me and have helped me grow in different ways. Many of my friends are involved in other clubs such as Philosophy club, Men's/Women's Prayer Breakfast, Starlight Discussions (outdoor political/worldwide news discussion meetings), Soccer, and many other organizations on campus. There are also great ways to ease up by going to the Fitness Center, playing racquetball, tennis, and swimming during the hot months. Just because it is a small school, does not mean there is less to do.

    Great for these types of students

    People that like to have a tight-knit relationship with their community will definitely fit in. TLU is all about spending time with others and communicating with a variety of students. Honestly, it is a family that just grows on you. A big reason why I chose this school was because they have done so much for me, they gave me all the financial need I just about need, they have spoiled me with countless gifts and acknowledgments, and every student I have met there has made me love TLU so much more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Honestly, not that many unusual or freaky traditions, but still very fun things go on all the time around campus that can keep you busy.

    Bang for the buck

    I can't exactly say what Bang for the Buck means. It all depends if you are paying for it through scholarships or loans, and if you stick to the fact that college is an investment that will inevitably pay itself off. So, as long as you love the school, and love what you're studying, money shouldn't be an issue.

    What to do for fun

    Seguin's pretty small, but the San Marcos Shopping outlets and San Marcos/New Braunfels are only 15-20 minutes away, plus Austin and San Antonio are somewhat of a good drive away, so planning a day out in Austin or SA is always an option, both cities have a variety of things to experience.

    Food and Dining

    The food is generally well there. I usually enjoy the meals although some people are a little mixed in their feelings. I give it 4 stars because while I do enjoy it, there are some times that I am not satisfied. However mostly I enjoy the food of the main dining hall. Also, Lucky's, the fast food spot on campus has just been renovated and looks very nice.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at TLU are all great to me. I have enjoyed every aspect of being close to all of the residents in the dorms I've stayed at. It all allows for great community and bonding, but they are in more expensive than you would think. There are many off campus apartments nearby that are of good choice if that is more desirable when you are eligible.

    Academic Rigor

    All the classes are small. The Largest class I've ever had was 24 students and the smallest class that I recall was about 6-13 students. Thankfully the teachers are always available to assist as long as you ask and let them know. Although they are small classes, there are still college level work and discussion required. I definitely enjoy that open discussion about the material is encouraged throughout the classes in order to spark more thought. You are required to go to class though, so unfortunately, unlike most large schools, skipping out usually means a drop in the overall letter grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say, keep your grades up now while you're still in High School, and apply, apply, apply for scholarships. Also, don't let TLU's higher tuition put you back, they still offer a lot of grants and scholarships for those who have high grades in High school. Definitely investigate everything there is to know about the colleges you are applying to, because your dream college may not be as perfect as you thought (happened to me twice). Plus, talk to the Admissions Adviser about any questions you have about the school you want to attend, they have most of the answers that you need.

    In three sentences

    It is one of those schools that will allow you to connect with everyone and everything possible. Everyone who I have met here has been so friendly to me, both staff and students. It is really a place to go if you are interested in a tight-knit community.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Loads of clubs for all people from Religious groups to sports groups. There is always an open invitation for new ideas.

    Great for these types of students

    Students from small towns used to a close community.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun in town, but its location is next to a bunch of fun places like San Antonio and San Marcos.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good, but does tend to serve chicken a lot.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is exceptional, but they had also just put in a new set of dorms that are open to freshmen next year.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically based, it is a school fitted for those serious about academic pursuits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure the small school is an ideal lifestyle for you.

    In three sentences

    This campus has good teachers and good classes. It's a small school with an average of 25 students to a class. The professors are easy to get to and very understanding to sports and extracurricular activities.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are on call 24/7 and always available when you need help. You may contact them directly or go visit the Bubble in the Student Center and they will contact them for you. They are on call to help with any personal matters that may be going on or to help with any larger problems such as people messing with cars or making threats from off campus. The campus police are also closely involved with Seguin Police Department so if need be they can call them in to help with the situation. A few of the campus policemen are actually also Seguin Policemen so that helps a lot as well. Due to all of that there is very little crime on campus and when there is TLU is good about keeping everybody informed so that they can take the proper precautions to stay safe.

    Greek Life

    Although I was not involved in greek life, I had many friends who were and they all thoroughly enjoyed their experience. There is not a particularly large variety of greek life on our campus, but you have the opportunity to join different greek organizations through nearby schools such as UTSA or Texas State.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is quite a variety of clubs and activities, but since it is not a large university there is not as many as you might expect there to be at a big school. However, for the school size there is more than enough opportunities and different types of organizations to accommodate everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for more laid back students who are not into partying and drinking as much. If you are a shy or introverted person it is probably also better for you because the classes are very small and there is lots of one on one time available so it won't be as overwhelming as sitting in a lecture hall with hundreds of other people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    TLU is located in Seguin, which is not your typical college town. There are not a lot of bars or clubs for partying college students. It is more of a small rural town that has a bunch of farms and grasslands around. It is a very family oriented town with lots of family activities being held downtown every weekend.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the school looks quite expensive, it is offset by the vast variety of scholarships and grants that they offer. All you have to do is talk to the financial aid office and they will set you up with anything and everything you might need in order to get the financial help you need. I ended up not having to pay anything for all four years their. I only took out a few loans to help pay for my off campus living, but all of the tuition and everything else was paid for.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a whole lot to do on the campus itself, but there are plenty of things nearby. There is the King Ranger movie theater in town, a bowling alley, or the river that you can kayak down. New Braunfels, San Antonio, San Marcos, and Austin are all within close range so they are easy to make day trips to one of those places in order to experience what they have to offer.

    Food and Dining

    Not only do they have Hein dining hall that is a buffet style dining hall, but they also have Lucky's which is more of a fast food type of place. Inside Lucky's they also have a sandwich shop, much like subway, a mexican food place, and a starbucks/smoothie station. Overall, there is a lot of variety to fit anybody's eating habits.

    Dorm Life

    Although I did not live in the dorms, I visited many of my friends who lived their and have heard many good things about them. The dorms hold a lot of activities and things for those who live their and they also distribute various pamphlets covering issues that college students may be going through. It is an overall good experience to live there and have access to all of their resources.

    Academic Rigor

    Although the academics can be very challenging, you will learn a lot more than you ever imagined and you will come out of it a much more well rounded intelligent person than you were before. Their is also a lot of help with your academics as well. No matter what level the class is there is some type of way to get help with it on campus. They have tutors, SI's, and even the professors themselves will hold study sessions for students in need if you ask for it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get involved in campus life by joining organizations, getting involved with your department on campus, or even through intramural sports. Any of those things will help you get better adjusted to life at TLU and help you to meet more people on campus. Also, don't forget to go talk to the financial aid office because they are very helpful in making your education affordable.

    In three sentences

    Texas Lutheran University is a very welcoming and fun university to attend. The school and staff are very accommodating to all of it's students and their families. You will meet wonderful friends their and have plenty of opportunities to grow in your faith as well.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Text and Email system in place in case of emergencies.

    Greek Life

    Very Active Greek Life on Campus

    Clubs and Activities

    So Many, too many to list

    Great for these types of students

    Theology, Music, Business, Accounting, Science, Math

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The welcome back ceremony on the first day is awesome. Christmas Vespers by the TLU Choir at Christmas is amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    Factory Outlets in San Marcos Great shops in Seguin - Cato, Sheek by J Gift shops in Seguin - Blessings, Gift and Gourmet

    What to do for fun

    Movie theaters in Seguin and New Braunfels. Theme Parks in New Braunfels and San Antonio. Austin is the Live Music Capital of America and a great place to have fun on the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    Try other options besides the dining hall. On campus try Lucky's in the ASC, lots of options. Off campus, there are many choices from Mexican to Chinese to most of the known fast food restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Don't be a dorm rat, get out and do something! Strike a balance - get your studies done, but have some fun too. Get to know other students with similar interests, there are a lot of activities both on and off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Do the assigned reading before the class period, it helps understand the lectures and helps to know what to take notes about. Don't be afraid to talk to your instructors, they want to help you succeed. If you're going to miss a class tell the instructor beforehand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, but not overly involved. Get to know other students and your instructors. Try Chapel, it can help center your week when things are crazy!

    In three sentences

    Awesome University! Welcoming students, and professors who want to help you succeed.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    TLU does have sororities and fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports Mens: Football, Soccer, Golf, Basketball, Tennis,Baseball Women: Soccer, Basketball, Track and Field,Cross Country, Softball,Volleyball, Golf Band Athletic Training Program And much more

    Great for these types of students

    Small town students. Students that do well in small classes.

    Bang for the buck

    TLU is a private school and is a bit pricey ,but the financial aid that I have received from them has been so much I only have to pay for my books and personal things

    Dorm Life

    TLU just open them new freshmen dorm for its 100th year. The dorm is brand new and for incoming freshmen.

    Academic Rigor

    TLU has small class so it's very easy for you to stay engaged at all times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus and talk to current students you will know right away if TLU is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Great Athletic Training Program that has a no observation period. The campus is small with small class. TLU is a great school for students from small towns.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt safer here on campus. The campus police are around if you need them. I can walk across campus dead at night and not feel any safety threats whatsoever.

    Greek Life

    Greek life definitely has a presence on campus. They're known for the parties they throw and what they're involved in on campus. They're pretty friendly people.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs here for students to join. They vary from the Mexican American Student Association, Gamers Club, Math Club, Straight and Gay Alliance Club, etc. There's definitely something here for everyone. And if there isn't a club that matches your interests, you can always start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who appreciate the personal connections they make with professors, and those who appreciate a smaller campus. You definitely won't get lost in the crowd here.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is expensive, but it's honestly worth the cost. Not many schools offer the one on one attention you get from professors here. The academics push you to your limit, depending on your major, and you learn a lot from the liberal arts education they enforce here. In terms of financial aid, they offer a variety of scholarships and grants that greatly reduce the cost. Some are paying the same amount they would pay at a bigger school like Texas State and UT from the financial aid they receive here.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do in Seguin, but the cool thing is that San Antonio and Austin are 40 minutes to an hour away! New Braunfels and San Marcos are even closer, so you can go to these towns for entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The food has its days. There will be days where the food is surprisingly delicious, and there will be other days where the food is just crap. Hein needs to offer more of a variety of food so it won't get repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    You meet so many people by living in the dorms! Everyone is friendly and welcoming, and the friendships you make by living in the dorms can last a lifetime.

    Academic Rigor

    TLU really does challenge you to bring out what you're capable of. I had no idea I was capable of handling the rigorous work given at TLU, but they really help you out if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're doing well in high school! It will definitely count. SAT/ACT scores won't hurt either. You might get more financial aid if your SAT/ACT scores are high. If you're transferring in AP, IB, and Dual Credit, it will definitely help get rid of the general courses needed to graduate.

    In three sentences

    Rigorous. Friendly. Open-minded.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is really safe. Only an occasional events that are not alarming. Campus offers security escort if feel needed.

    Greek Life

    Most Greeks here are only local with one regional sorority. Greek life is small but growing and fun to take part in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many organizations to join and take part of. One just needs to find where they fit in and have interests in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who grew up in small towns. Have cars to travel to near by places.

    Bang for the buck

    As much as one pays there are not many options or opportunities. This campus is old but to do upgrades and remodels will cost even more. Need more activities that are worth attending.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with the friends you make and have movie nights. Go into the cities around to find more options. Or just study your mind out.

    Food and Dining

    There are only two places to get food. There are not many options but the choices are okay. You learn to just like it.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are old, and out dated. The newest dorm for freshmen are expensive and small. Not worth what current students are paying for.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors break down how they grade you ahead of time. They let you know if assignments change ahead of time. Most classes are broken up into projects and tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your grades in high school. Apply for scholarships as much as you can. Learn your studying style ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small which are great. The professors are more than willing to help out and offer extra help if needed. Very small campus means very small town though.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life here is unlike the greek life at any other school in the nation. It consists of so much more than t-shirts and parties, and the stereotypes for each organization are completely different than those of national organizations. Greek life is taken very seriously here and each organization holds true to a set of values and standards defined by their constitutions. Our organizations are very tight-knit and truly work to empower the their members.

    Great for these types of students

    Lutheran, Open-minded, liberal, small-town people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A Bell Run consists of stripping off your clothes, running naked from the chapel to the victory bell, ringing the bell, and running back without getting caught. People rarely do this.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on the weekends besides go to parties or leave Seguin. However, the parties are pretty cool.

    Food and Dining

    The food gets very old, very fast. Not much variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are excellent and provide a fun and welcoming environment for all who live in them.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are pretty difficult, but professors are extremely helpful and accommodating. They will do everything in their power to make sure their students are learning and becoming well-rounded and educated individuals.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was very good, they have many options.

    Dorm Life

    Centennial (the new freshman dorm) is very pretty, but the rooms are smaller. The others may not be as ascetically pleasing,but the rooms are bigger.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you research well, if you want to go to a crowded school, this school won't be for you.

    In three sentences

    This is very small and comfortable school. Everyone there is absolutely amazing, which (i hope) is going to make it an easier transition. I can't wait for the fall.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe! Cops always on duty and everyone watches out for everyone!

    Greek Life

    Pledge Sigma Delta Lambda! Best sorority on campus! Dove Love!

    What to do for fun

    Various parties going on, TLU always has something going on like twice a month!

    Food and Dining

    Hein is good! Chef Ernest is the one who won on a cooking show so you know the food is great!

    Dorm Life

    Currently got a new freshman dorm which is amazing! Dorms are nice!

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are a bit hard but the professors are always there! They push each student to strive for the best!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class! Be involved and pledge Sigma Delta Lambda!

    In three sentences

    TLU is a great small campus with small classes, friendly professors, and great students. Everybody knows everyone, no more than fifteen people in a class, and great one on one attention.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to play basketball, listen to music, and visit with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food has its ups and it has its downs, but surrounding the school are your favorite restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Meeting new people is frightening, and you ,ay think you are the only who feels this way. You are not alone, everyone is in the same as you and getting to make new friends is fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is a fun place to be. It isn't like what you see in the movies, but once you get comfortable with school academic wise everything else will fall into place.

    In three sentences

    Texas Lutheran University is a very sound school when it comes to Academics. The staff there are willing to help you every step of the way. I would recommend students to attend this college.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A few items stolen, but other than that, nothing really happens. Although someone did take my Xbox.... Jerks.

    Greek Life

    It's amazing. I love being in a sorority. Only 3 of the 5 sororities on campus really matter. Also, the frats are amazing. Thetas accept ANY and ALL prospects. Omegas are such chill guys, and Zetas are the frattiest frat boys alive!

    Clubs and Activities

    GO GREEK!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are these little things called Bell Runs... You start at the chapel, strip down, and run to the bell on the opposite side of campus. You ring the bell seven times, and then run for your life back to your dorm! But I'd never do one... Haha.

    What to do for fun

    There are Greek parties every weekend! There are PLENTY of fun clubs and organizations to get involved with. You can always go into New Braunfels, San Marcos, or San Antonio for some big city fun!

    Food and Dining

    It's delicious and fattening. Don't eat too much Hein!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are so much fun! They are incredibly safe, relatively clean and spacious, and I've never had any problems!

    Academic Rigor

    The courses themselves are not particularly difficult, save for those taught by a specific few teachers, but there is a lot of homework!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're going to be a freshman, don't stay in Centennial. Don't bring too much decor or obscure items - you won't need them! Don't go to this school if you won't do homework; there's lots of it.

    In three sentences

    TLU is a school with a high school-esque learning environment with wonderfully small class sizes. Greek life and organizations are so much fun on campus. For a small school, TLU guarantees a great education.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Texas Lutheran University is in a great position geographically. It is only 45 minutes away from San Antonio and 15 minutes away from New Braunfels. Each of these places have numerous activities one could do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Hein Dining Hall provides multiple plates to choose from and the master chef won Chopped Grill Masters. Lucky's is also available to those who don't want to eat at the dining hall. They also provide a multitude of options.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms provided at Texas Lutheran are as good as any from another university. The RA's are great at their jobs at making sure it is safe and fun to live there.

    Academic Rigor

    Texas Lutheran is exceptional at providing a great learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Texas Lutheran University provides opportunities for athletes to continue their passion for their sport. It would be wise to speak thoroughly with one's adviser to make sure they are not overwhelmed by time management mistakes.

    In three sentences

    Texas Lutheran University provides a unique experience that allows for students to interact with their professors one on one any time they are needed. It also provides a interactive environment with classes that are usually no larger than 30 students. These few things are what really make Texas Lutheran special.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It's the perfect school for any major and for anyone looking for a one on one basis with the teachers. The students are friendly and you meet people quite quickly. It's the best school choice all around.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always around and their number is posted in every dorm and building in case you want an escort at night. They even watch you walk across the flooded parts of campus after it rains to make sure you make it across.

    Greek Life

    We do have some sororities and fraternities, both social and academic. Freshman cannot pledge until the spring, which is a plus because it gives you a semester to get to know everyone on campus and which one would suit your personality the best.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch of clubs and organizations to join here no matter what your interests/major(s) are!

    Great for these types of students

    Those who like smaller class sizes and professors that know your name, that have reasonable office hours, and are always happy to see you should definitely come here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The chapel here is so pretty - it is the cutest little white chapel with stained glass and a cool structure inside too.

    Bang for the buck

    TLU offers almost every student some sort of financial aid, so you'll probably get something to help you out. It is expensive, but definitely worth it for the education you get here.

    What to do for fun

    Seguin is a cute little town with some adorable shops and boutiques if you like doing that. There's also an outlet mall about 15 minutes away as well as Schlitterbahn in New Braunfels (of course, not open all the time).

    Food and Dining

    The food here is really good! Our chef here won the show Chopped a few years ago and it's easy to tell why! Also, we just opened up our newly redesigned caf�©, which has food until 11pm on the weekdays if you miss dining hours at the dining hall or if you need a late night snack which is awesome, the food there is also excellent.

    Dorm Life

    Whether or not you enjoy dorm life depends on who you end up rooming with, what dorm you live in, who's living around you, and how late you like to stay up/how light of a sleeper you are. A fair amount of people stay up late talking, watching movies, or playing ping pong. However, this is not just a problem at TLU, so don't think it's different outside of TLU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit and make sure you like the smallness of it - some people prefer a big school and you have to figure out what's right for you. Also, transfer in as many hours as you can - not that you don't want to spend a lot of time here, but it really takes a lot of stress off of your beginning course loads if you can get some DC or AP or anything like those credits.

    In three sentences

    Texas Lutheran is a gorgeous small school that gives you a great education, not only in your major but in all aspects of schooling as well as giving you skills that you need no matter what your career. its small class sizes mean that the professors know your names and have discussions instead of all lectures, all the time. The people (students and faculty) are also super nice and very helpful if you ever have any questions.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being a female, I have to be extremely aware of my surroundings. I have never felt in danger at TLU, thanks to our campus security.

    Greek Life

    There are different Greek organizations on campus, but I have not personally been involved with any. However, there is a strong sense of unity within those groups, while still being able to associate with other students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of organizations on campus. Unfortunately I have not been able to be in very many due to my work schedule, but I only ever hear great things about it!

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE!!!! There is a spot for everyone at Texas Lutheran University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have chapel every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. It is NOT required for everyone to go, but it is a fun and unique experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Totally worth every penny you'll spend. You'll get an education unlike any other and you'll make friends for a lifetime with so many people on campus. You will not just be a number at TLU.

    What to do for fun

    The river is close by, as are the outlet malls in San Marcos. Friendly sports competitions are always happening around campus. Hangouts, cookouts, and so much more. The possibilities of fun are endless at TLU.

    Food and Dining

    The chef and his staff are always thinking of new entrees to keep things interesting in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I only lived on campus one year and could only afford the cheapest dorms, but the other ones I have been in are pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    While it is tough, professors always have an open door and are willing to work with you in the most difficult circumstances.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to visit the campus at least two times before committing. While it is beautiful, everyone is nice and friendly, it's always good to be more familiar with the place you'll be for the next couple of years before you commit.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful, especially in the spring semester. The faculty and staff are always attentive and taking an interest in each individual student. The classes are rigorous, but rewarding.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is really safe, with police officers always on campus. Its kind of a quiet town so unless you go to the bad parts of town, you won't have a problem.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are focused on studies, but still have a little fun. Don't expect huge parties or lots of drinking or drugs. Its a pretty sleepy town and campus so its pretty relaxing. (except around finals!)

    What to do for fun

    It's Seguin, so there really isn't much to do for fun. There's a bar right across the street where we hang out, and after parties we go to Las Palmas, a really good mexican restaurant open all night on the weekends. If you want to do anything really fun you pretty much have to go to San Marcos or New Braunfels.

    Food and Dining

    Hein has pretty good food, but not the greatest. I always look forward to home cooked meals when I get home. The best meal is breakfast, and they always have better food when a school is visiting. Lucky's has good food, but it really isn't worth the dining dollars, especially if you like Starbucks. The Starbucks on campus has good food and you get a discount if you use dining dollars.

    Dorm Life

    I am staying in the new dorm and it is beautiful! Even though at the beginning of the semester they sound strict, the RAs aren't really strict about having people over or noise. The dorms are nice and have wifi in most rooms. They also have study rooms so you don't have to go all the way to the library for a quiet space.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't too much worse than the AP classes I took in high school, but you HAVE to do your reading, or you will fail. Also, since the classes are small, all of the teachers take attendance so you have to go to class. As long as you do your reading and go to class, you shouldn't have trouble in classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for scholarships, you're going to need them. Don't spend all your dining dollars in Lucky's, its not worth it. Wake up early to sign up for classes at 8 am or you won't get the ones you want!

    In three sentences

    This is a very homey college. Everyone is friendly and ready to help. The only downfall is it is a very small school with limited class offerings.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is as safe as can be. An emergency communication system is established.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for IB program students and students used to having easily accessible professors.

    What to do for fun

    Campus has a variety of activities during the week. It's never boring here. It is easy to make new friends. Shopping at major stores is only minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    A variety of meal options are available with late dining hours.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is Perfect for a freshman. Study rooms, free laundry machines, and free printing available. Everyone is friendly and respectful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for scholarships. If accepted to Texas A&M Or UNiversity of Texas -Austin, you get a lower tuition rate.

    In three sentences

    This university has rigorous programs. There are plenty of opportunities for internships in the USA and abroad. Administrative offices and academic personnel are easily accessible with a quick response time.

  • 04/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police alerts are sent through emails, texts, and the main portal web page, as well as serious matters posted on physical boards around campus, and staff are quick to respond to any issues.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who love to connect to others, or who like feeling involved without having to act uncomfortably.

    Bang for the buck

    Though a bit on the expensive side, the activities and education you get at TLU, along with the sense of community, really makes this a worthwhile college.

    What to do for fun

    There's both student- and faculty-led events happening almost year-round, so there's bound to be something you like. The Drama department has multiple showcases over the semesters which are free-of-charge to students, and there's a weekly Coffee House event with open mic and good community.

    Food and Dining

    Hein has some of the best food I've ever eaten in a school dining hall. There's such a variety of choices that it never feels like they're repeating menus over and over. Even the pizza is gourmet! There's also Lucky's, which sells amazing wraps and mozzarella sticks. Plus a Starbucks for those who need their caffeine intake.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the student interaction takes place outside the dorms, so there's not much to say about that. The buildings themselves are well-built and kept clean and tidy, with quick responses to any technical issues. Have fun trying to figure out wifi in some of the dorms, though; it would be best to use an Ethernet cable if your computer can attach one.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are taken seriously, but teachers are encouraging and invigorating instead of harsh and strict. There are plenty of tutors and resources for studying, with an extensive library and many places to do group work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn your way around quickly, and hang around the Student Center if you want to stay in-the-loop with current events and promotions. People have bake sales there too! Also, never be afraid to ask for help. The whole staff is friendly and either know the answers to your questions or know someone who does.

    In three sentences

    The campus is a cozy size and easy to traverse. The classes are small and personal, with excellent feedback. The instructors and faculty alike are friendly and incredibly helpful.