Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Texas State Technical College Harlingen Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/07/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    T.S.T.C. is great for just about any college student that wants to pursue a career in the short-term, mid-term, or even long-term learning fields. These academic programs consist of the medical field, agriculture, technology and communications, engineering and manufacturing, health and sciences, and transportation and aviation, and more. Here’s a website so you can browse your college education selection, and instructions are given for each criteria: http://harlingen.tstc.edu/Careers/index.aspx

    Tips for prospective students

    If you’re looking for a short-term career with T.S.T.C.'s programs just browse their online (CEU's), and even pay online by credit card, or learn online at your own pace. Most of these cool short-term careers start at the lowest fees of $79.00 dollars as you get educated online for 6 weeks straight. Or you can attend public classes with longer hours, and more semester training time. They have lots to choose from as in: medical billing, medical coding, business, law, teacher practice, and to become a veterinary assistant I, II, and III, or more to choose from with a low fee of $79.00 dollars, for the 6 weeks short-term careers online. They also have mid-term and long-term careers with semesters as low as 4 semesters, 6 semesters, or even a full 8 semesters.

    Bang for the buck

    While in T.S.T.C.’s food managerial and food certificate (CEU) program it cost me $101.00 dollars from my own pocket, and I was able to pay at the time when I held a full-time job as a sheet metal fabricator. So yes, I know that they have convenient low fees that work with any schedule for college students to apply; just click here to see where you can fit in: http://harlingen.tstc.edu/contedu/onlinecourses.aspx.

    Did enjoy being here

    Not only is T.S.T.C. a federal fafsa approved school, but they can also work with students to find funding in the corporate and community education (CEU) programs. These programs consist of T.S.T.C.’s lowest fees starting by credit card of $79 for 6 weeks of training online to become an administrative assistant, business manager, physical therapy aid, and an optical assistant. They have over 100 (CEU’s) to choose from online; check-out that website: http://www.ed2go.com/tstcrgv/online_courses.html.

    Did learn a lot

    The food managerial and food certification instructor at T.S.T.C. was always ready to guide us through the text-book materials. He would answer all of our questions or concerns, and make sure we were practicing well. Our instructor also made us take practice exercises, showed us training videos, and wrote on the chalk board about the new law requirements. Even so, I got licensed to handle food and was able to manage food guidelines for working at a restaurant, or become a small business owner.

  • 11/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great campus for hands on learners, for those who want a small teacher- student ration, and for those who believe you can get a great education for a fraction of the cost. You can also take transferable core classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    This college has a lot of hands on learning. You can finish is two years with the knowledge of a pro!

    Bang for the buck

    Practically free!

    Am enjoying being here

    The college experience is awesome!

    Am learning a lot

    Always learning!

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to go to college and take their basics without the cost of a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your time in college because it flies bye.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost here is relatively less compared to a univeristy.

    Am enjoying being here

    TSTC has a lot to offer, but I am ready to move to a bigger university.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently taking my basics here. I will be finished in May 2012, and from there I plan on transferring to a university that offers a major in business management.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is actually a good amount of clubs here. They are all diverse and very unique.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food here. Its doesn't really vary much but its good and cheap.

    Academic Rigor

    Right now I am just finishing my basics. I don't think the work is too difficult but it does require dedication.

    Tips for prospective students

    TSTC is a great place to start for anyone wanting a higher education. There is many programs offered here that only take two years. If you want to further your education even more than you could easily transfer to a university or just go across the street to the university center, where you can earn a bachelors degree. Its a great place.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Extremely cheaper than an university.

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of variety, but relatively cheap.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are adequate.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of hands-on experience.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police are all over the place ... not that anything bad has happened ... but they are there for everyones protection ....

    Greek Life

    not really a geek ...

    Clubs and Activities

    dont belong to any clubs as of yet

    Great for these types of students

    hands on learners

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i know of

    What to do for fun

    im married ... what is fun ????

    Food and Dining

    food is ok ... hot and fresh

    Academic Rigor

    classes arent super hard if you pay attention in class ... do your home work and you will be ok ... if you do have any questions the instructor is more than willing to help you out

    Tips for prospective students

    come preped for a learning experience... and do not wait till you have been out of school 20 + years like i did .... but then again better late than never.

    In three sentences

    great instructors, help full staff, students are friendly

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a very safe campus. There is security making sure that cars go speed limit and stop for student crossings.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the student center where they have pool tables, computers, tv, and game consoles to play with other students or friends.

    Food and Dining

    Really good food, convinient prices.

    Academic Rigor

    They are strict when it comes to attendance so be sure to go to all your classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask your professors for help. That's what they are there for, to help you pass your classes and succeed.

    In three sentences

    Attending TSTC has made a positive impact on me. The faculty members are amazing and go the extra mile to help out their students. It's a fun college environment where everyone gets involved in the activities.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The academic core is a great start.

    In three sentences

    TSTC is a good college and it also offers technical degrees including the academic core. The core has opened my mind to may things. You can not only earn your associates in the core, but you can also transfer to a university.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I would go out with my friends to eat out. Other times we would play football and socialize with others.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great cafeteria with some healthy snack always willing to go the extra mile to see that our food is top quality.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some instructors are more difficult than other, but they are willing to help you. Though the instructors still vigorous than the study making sure you know the material. they will test your wits at time with critical thinking question

    Tips for prospective students

    Sometimes you thing you have a long time to do assignments, but the time runs out fast. Make sure you know your program before you choose it, because even though they would be able to help, sometimes it's to later to change sometimes. Make sure that you know where your class are before the first day of class. You would be able to go to the class and see where is it and make appropriate time to get to your class.

    In three sentences

    Love the instructors on campus; they are willing to help us if me really need it. The campus is lovey, open to life which is filled with energy. An amazing area to learn and study with friends.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Classes are just right. Teachers are cool. Student life is awesome.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police everywhere!

    What to do for fun

    The campus always has something going on in front of the cafe.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at school but everybody is always saying great things about the food.

    Dorm Life

    One star because I live at home and not at school.

    Tips for prospective students

    A great place to start off in and not as pricey like a university.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. Everybody is nice and helpful. Teachers are always there is help.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Texas State Technical College-Harlingen has been by far the best college for me, it helped me get back in track no matter how many years i had lost. As a single mother i felt like TSTC had my back and helped me out in everyway possible. There careers are focused on it and you dont waste time taking classes you might not ever see again.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the gym. join the clubs. mainly go for a walk around the place.

    Food and Dining

    the food is ok. i think they could serve better food. always serving the same food over and over again.

    Dorm Life

    it's the best! awesome people living here getting along well. never any problems with the roommates here nor the neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    it's ok. it's not bad of a place for your academic future. it helps you a lot being here.

    Tips for prospective students

    TSTC is the best in my opinion.

    In three sentences

    This college has benifited me in many ways. it's nice to go here and better communcation with one another. people should come to this college.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No need to worry if you're ever in danger. There's literally more than 10 police officers circling the campus, checking to see if you're stopping for students to walk across campus when needing too.

    Greek Life

    I believe we don't have any of those on campus. Clubs are kept to a minimum. Not much.

    Clubs and Activities

    Glee Club, Flag football, Drill Team, Christian Club, LGBT, ect.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're here to learn and pass everything as soon as possible, TSTC is the way to go.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing's really unusual around here. Everything's pretty sane.

    What to do for fun

    Guys Night Out, Girls Night Out, Karaoke Night, Movie Night, Gaming Night ect.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great. Although I think we all are trying to avoid greasy fattening food. Healthy is a better option.

    Dorm Life

    Not really sure how the dorms are like. I live 15 minutes away from home. Although I've heard they're small, very strict on visiting hours. But overall great for the rating price for each semester.

    Academic Rigor

    Only challenge would have to be any math class! Math is a tricky difficult class for me. Although it all really depends where your weakness stands. Some are fantastic in math, some are not, some have to study harder, some don't. We all have different strong and low points.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting involved in clubs, activities is great! Just try not to get TOO involved that you forget about your classes. Skipping class is not fun. Just do what you need to do the first time, and it'll all pay off at the end.

    In three sentences

    Very nice, cheap community college to start off for a year. Great start to get your basics out of the way instead of going to another university that offer the same thing. Kind of disappointing that it's just a 'Technical' College.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its a pretty low income collage and the have a lot of events for student throw out the year.

    What to do for fun

    We have a game room with pool and TVs for video games. We have a nice gym with weights and trilled mills.

    Food and Dining

    I love there salad bar and its a pretty big cafe but i don't like how you don't get any free refills on soda.

    Dorm Life

    It's kinda loud sometimes, but remember kids are kids.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a pretty good academic school.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can only get a two year degree here so don't plan to stay too long.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy this collage. All the teachers are very helpful, and the students are all very nice. Its a good basics collage.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There isn't much to do at this school besides a few clubs that aren't very interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is kind of expensive compared to other schools that are much better.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is generally unhealthy and expensive. There are no salad or fruit bars and some workers there are very rude.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus personally, but a friend who does live on campus says it is really bleak and boring Wouldn't recommend anyone staying there unless absolutely necessary.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are relatively easy just as long as you do your homework and read. There is alot of tutoring on campus which is very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to school early to find parking that's relatively close to your classes. Buy books early as well so you won't be without them which would be very inconvenient. Activate your TechOne Card soon to be able to use on campus for stuff that you will need.

    In three sentences

    This college is a two-year public institution serving the Rio Grande Valley. It is an affordable school with great programs such as CNA and Surgical Tech courses. The entire campus is not very large which makes it easy to get from point A to point B in a small amount of time and classes have an average of about 35 students.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security in golf carts, and in cars but i feel the presence is there but not sure how it would react to an incident.

    Clubs and Activities

    I myself am not personally in any, because of work, but there is a great variety of activities available.

    Great for these types of students

    If you need one on one attention,or tutoring this would be a good school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are cheap and because of the small classes, you get the attention you need.

    What to do for fun

    I play video games, watch television, and spend time with my girlfriend and our cat.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is okay, the food is not the best, but for college students it will due.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load is nothing a full time student or part time student like myself can not handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have plenty of time before you come to register.

    In three sentences

    The school is small, great location, and very friendly.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a police academy on campus, so there are many cops in training on campus. There are also regular policemen doing their regular patrols. I would rate safety 5 stars.

    Greek Life

    There aren't many Greeks that I'm aware of here; however, you can definitely make a Greek Club if you desire.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different types of clubs and organizations. They are very diverse from religious based clubs to gamer clubs. If you have 5 or more people that are willing to bring it together, it can be created.

    Great for these types of students

    Whether you want to get just a certificate, or an Associates Degree, you can do that here at Texas State Technical College. I personally like it because it's a trimester college, this means that my program goes through not only the spring and fall, but the summers as well. I will be graduated faster then if I were to go to a school with only two semesters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I know that the campus is on an old military site, so sometimes (especially in the building I'm primarily in) there are unusual noises or lights turning on. It might just be the old wiring, but gives us something to talk about.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are not as expensive as at the Universities, so that cuts down on your wallet stress. As far as the bookstore, there are many new and used books. I personally like the used books to get the old notes from one of the nerds on campus.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there isn't too much to do for fun. There are multiple clubs/organizations and extracurricular things to look for. Also, there is seasonal things that we do for our clubs for the public that we can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best, as in most technical schools. I rather go get something from a local fast food restaurant or pack my own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I have my own apartment off campus, so I don't have anything to say about the dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There is more of a hands on feel in the classroom. Most all of my professors do not teach from the book, but rather an informal presentation of information that is easily understood.

    Tips for prospective students

    The hardest part of attending college is actually enrolling and making sure all of the paperwork correctly filled out. Once all the ducks are in a row, it's all about getting to classes and making sure you get the right help if you don't understand the material. Also, deadlines are important.

    In three sentences

    All of my classes are small enough to get hands-on training for the job site. The professors and professionals are willing to help and get you information that is needed. Overall, I believe this is a perfect choice for a college for any of my friends and family members..

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There clubs are very diverse and interesting you have clubs that range from gaming and computer maintenance to anime and digital media clubs. if you name a club we probably have it.

    Bang for the buck

    you definitly get your monies worth for your education at this facility

    What to do for fun

    Well most of the time im spending it with my wife and son but i do go out with my friends and hang out.

    Food and Dining

    they have a really great menu that is very affordable! all around great staff thats very helpful and nice.

    Dorm Life

    Well the dorm life was ok but i wasnt a big fan of the room sizes or the condition of these dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academics of this school are very diffcult but its worth it because it teaches you everything you need to know for your chosen profession.

    Tips for prospective students

    Well the only tips i have to offer is to never be late invest in ramen soups and get ready for college life!

    In three sentences

    Well this school is really a great school and very affordable. they offer a great education for experienced teachers. they even help you get a job after you graduate

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour campus security.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are dedicated and interested in expanding your knowledge then this campus is right for you.

    Bang for the buck

    All my tuition and books where paid for by financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Extra curricular activities can be found at student life.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is above normal standards and is very reasonably priced.

    Tips for prospective students

    First tip is go to the Advisement Center and find a tutor to help with academics. Second meet a counselor to help cope and deal with academic stress. Be proactive and meet a mentor as well as knowing where the computer labs are to do work online after hours.

    In three sentences

    Texas State Technical College has given me a opportunity to learn in a relaxed environment. I have my educational learning needs available through advisement, counseling, tutoring, and mentors. Professors that don't tell you to read a book, they teach and educate so you understand what needs to learned to be a success here.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    young students or non traditional parents

    What to do for fun

    There isn't alot to do in Harlingen

    Food and Dining

    eh, it is fast junk food. No really healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Anywhere outside the valley the courses are going to be much harder. I made sure to take all my math classes before I transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you work hard you will get the things you need to suceed.

    In three sentences

    It is a decent school. I am having some issues with transferring my courses. Just make sure your courses are transferable if you go out of the valley.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has security patrolling regularly.

    Clubs and Activities

    1Up club Dance club anime club paranormal research club

    Great for these types of students

    Want Small class with Hands on Learning experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Love that TSTC offers a gym for students to owrk out to stay healthy for free!

    What to do for fun

    lots of different clubs to join, events going on, and orginizations!

    Food and Dining

    i can accually say they have an amazing cafeteria menu!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a bit small.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for finacial aid. Make sure all information is completed and correct before you register for classes.

    In three sentences

    TSTC has a beautiful campus and great clubs and orginizations to join. A great staff. Has a great Get in Get out motto.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police officers surveilling the area.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and activities to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Broke.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not believe there is any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    Great and affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    Great affordable food.

    Dorm Life

    I am not staying at the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They stress a lot on grades. One is to finish by the deadline.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place to start your career.

    In three sentences

    TSTC is a great campus and helps one educate themselves in their career choice. It has wonderful instructors. It is a great place to start a career.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't alot going in Harlingen.

    Food and Dining

    Typical greasey South Texas fare.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't the hardest place, but keeps you on your toes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Jump in feet first, and just go for it!

    In three sentences

    It is a good starting out college. get all your prereqs done here, then move to a bigger college. It is cheaper than four year colleges for the basics

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very friendly students/staff...and overall great security.

    What to do for fun

    what isn't there to do at TSTC...explore and you'll always find something enjoyable to do on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to college to learn and obtain skills needed for the real world...don't let personal life interfere with school/studies.

    In three sentences

    Texas State Technical College in my opinion is environmental friendly and has an overall good vibe. TSTC is without a doubt a great college, and I am ecstatic to start my classes this upcoming fall.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The pool room is always a great place to kick back and hangout. There is also a nice gym, which provided hours of entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is not the best. You have maybe two options, plus a salad bar for lunch. There is no buffet, or side restaurants. Not to mention, the prices are high, given the fact that most people attending TSTC have very little money to spend.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was not what most students expect. The dorms are quite dull. There is no wifi available for students, which does make things harder. The dorms are not aesthetically pleasing to the eye. It's boring, and kinda feels like you're living at your old high school building...

    Academic Rigor

    This is not a tough school, but you go with the mindset that it is easy as pie. The classes are not hard, unless you make them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to succeed in school, not just at this particular college, actually work hard. You will find yourself lost and confused if you don't put in the time needed for studies. Nothing comes easy, but don't let that scare you away. The teachers, tutors, and even the president of the college put themselves out there, available to any students needs.

    In three sentences

    TSTC has proven to be a really nice school. The focus is to help everyone, the young and the old, the poor and the rich, to succeed in life, and to better themselves. The teachers are down to earth, and actually put more of their spare time into hanging around campus.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The dollar movies are less than five minutes away. The theater with the latest movies is less than 10 minutes from campus. Bowling at Creasey's Bowling Alley is about 5 minutes away. Enjoy a walk in the many parks Harlingen city has to offer. One park that is right down the road from campus offers an indoor swimming pool as well as a pond to relax outside. Several gyms are around the campus and right next door to the campus is a small walk through museum and gift shop.

    Food and Dining

    Many restaurants are less than 5 minutes from college campus. Wide variety of options are very close by as well as grocery shopping areas and gasoline shops.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes will feel like a breeze. Other classes will keep you on edge and stressed. The dental and nursing programs there are very tough!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to financial aid before deadline. Take a tour of the campus and meet with a counselor. Ask other students what their experience there has been like. Look at the bulletin boards for books or other activities on the college campus. Don't hold back from checking this college out. It is affordable and will get you on track to a great career!

    In three sentences

    Friendly instructors ready to help you succeed. Affordable tuition and help available for those with low income. Wide variety of programs to chose from and great opportunities to grow as an individual.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety of this campus is at its best. They from time to time do presentations in which they explain to us to feel free to contact them when and if any form of threat in which you or any other student might become in jeopardy. They really do emphasize on the safety guidelines to keep everyone safe.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities in which you may become involved in. Since this campus is a community college, there are always events going on and everyone is always very friendly. They have a gym, many clubs, activities, and fundraisers going on for the holidays.

    Food and Dining

    I dont eat their either

    Dorm Life

    I dont stay at the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise that students should not be afraid to approach any instructor or teacher that is on campus. They are there to help you in any way possible.

    In three sentences

    I would rate the Texas State Technical Community College in Harlingen at a ten plus!! This school consists of caring instructors and I like that they really make you feel very comfortable and are always willing to help you with any questions or concerns that the students may have. I am currently taking the dental hygiene coarse and I am completely satisfied with the knowledge and skills being provided. Thumbs up for this campus!! :)

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a few athletic groups that are available to join. There are also a few clubs students may join. Many of the activities are posted on the student calendar for students to become part of.

    Food and Dining

    There is always a variety of food that can be purchased. There are healthy choices as well. All the prices are reasonable.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs involve the full focus but i don't believe that there are very difficulities unless you are not dedicated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that this campus has a more down home and hands on feel.

    In three sentences

    This campus has a variety of people who are friendly. The staff from this campus is friendly and always helpful. The entire staff on this campus is always helpful and continues to be supportive.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, plenty of security and police officers on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Gym for exercising is available.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The cafeteria is a popular hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    Buy used books from other students as the end of semester approaches to save money.

    What to do for fun

    I study. Lol

    Food and Dining

    Great food, just don't pile-up alot of veggies on your salad. It will cost you $$.

    Dorm Life

    no applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what your major is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on alert on your admissions process, financial aid and the 1101 course. Ask questions and continue to ask questions. Things function very slow and will not get done, unless you are pressuring lazy employees/staff.

    In three sentences

    I rate this college admission process, slow as hell and very unhelpful staff. Will not notify perspective students in advance, if any problems arise with financial aid, admissions process. Students must take/pay for an 1101 course, to orient the student with college success. After taking an orientation to college all day presentation.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They don't have much to offer but they do have a pool room and a game center. If you're not much of a pool person or a gamer they have different clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    They have a variety of food and sometimes the food can be really cheap. The food they serve is good, they also have a store where you can buy snacks if you don't really want a mean. The cafeteria is like a medium sized one they also have a place where you can sit down outside if you don't want to sit down inside.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I can't really tell you much about it.

    Academic Rigor

    They aren't really strict on a lot of things but when it comes to attendance you really have to make sure you go to class. The classes aren't hard at all, all you have to do is pay attention and do your work and you'll pass. It's a hand on learning type of school.

    In three sentences

    Texas State Technical College might be small but its a great school and has a lot to offer students. It helps students a lot on academics, like they have a tutoring center for students that may need help in certain classes. The professors there are very nice and helpful.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i like to play racket ball

    Tips for prospective students

    Try talking to new people

    In three sentences

    There's nothing complicated about this school.Everything is easy to understand and if you don't understand there's a lot of people who can help you around. You feel welcome here.

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Texas State Technical College Harlingen

  • 07/29/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its all right

    Greek Life

    None!

    Clubs and Activities

    None~!

    Great for these types of students

    if interested in simulators and technology or gaming design.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    octoberfest, and stay in shape running marathons.

    Bang for the buck

    I get help from financial aid on the in burst it helps me get money for my books and gas to go to class for several months.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the gym just to stay in shape.

    Food and Dining

    i usually ate noon plates.

    Dorm Life

    never slept in college a semester

    Academic Rigor

    average

    Tips for prospective students

    its a bridge to go for your bachelors diploma.

    In three sentences

    Its a good School. It has good mentors that will explain the problems to give solution. Its highly advanced in computer software and simulations for aerospace and astronautics.