Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Texas State Technical College Waco Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Automotive program is great. Decent amount of Hands on work. There is more lecture time than lab time, but that's expected. Once you learn the theory and repair, you apply what you have learned to the lab projects.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    TSTC is great for any type of student. I've been here for three semesters and live on dorm. Best thing on campus is that you dont pay for water. fifty minute showers are amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a college to get you started this is the best and the easiest on your wallet.You can get all of your basics out of the way and TSTC can get you a job easier with there job fairs.

    Bang for the buck

    TSTC will get you prepared within close to two years for any field you can think of. You have a range of classes to online or in person, the choice is yours.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's a lot of characters here. You'll meet every type of click of groups here. You have your grease monkeys, punks, goths, and cyber geeks like me.

    Am learning a lot

    The computer science field is amazing. You have teachers that are there to help you. The director is Rodney and hes a nice guy and loves his hair cuts. TSTC is a good quick field if you want to start a job somewhere you love quick.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I have been a member of Alpha Eta Rho International Aviation Fraternity and the TSTC Flight Team sine I started here. Both organizations have helped mold me into a competent and confident aviator. TSTC Flight Team made it to Nationals this year, and we plan to compete in Ohio this May!

    What to do for fun

    One of the biggest complaints is that There is nothing to do in Waco. That is simply not true. Among some of the more well known attractions (Dr. Pepper Museum, mammoth site, Baylor games) there are some less popular attractions: Cameron Park, Brazos river, Lake Waco. TSTC constantly updates it's Facebook page informing students of campus wide attractions. Oh, and TSTC students get free tickets to all Baylor home games for every sponsor sporting event! Last year Student Activities paid for students to attend a Rangers game with club seating.

    In three sentences

    Get in, get educated, get out. TSTC is a small, hands on environment dedicated to preparing students for what they can expect on the job. All of the instructors are experienced in their fields and know what the students need to know.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    there are many students here that will leave tstc without a large sum of debt and i am one of them.

    What to do for fun

    there are so many different organizations such as skillsusa.

    Food and Dining

    the meal plan is a life saver.

    Dorm Life

    not in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    if you do not cut corners and study, there will not be a difficult class.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused and manage your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    tstc has practical instructors and even though, i'm miles from home, i still feel comfortable. i'd rate my overall college experience so far as a 8 out of 10.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    paintball is just down the road for when u need to get out and have some fun

    Dorm Life

    it's alright. just wish there where more things to do around campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to use all the resources available to you. there is nothing you can't do, to achieve your goals

    In three sentences

    it's a great hands on type college that teaches you to learn by doing. other colleges have u only read about the things you might do in the future but this way gives you the experience needed.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The TSTC Waco Police Department is here to provide a safe environment for the TSTC community.

    Greek Life

    Alpha Pi Chapter of the Alpha Eta Rho Fraternity Phi Theta Kappa �¢���� Alpha Omega Chapter

    Clubs and Activities

    SkillsUSA Student Ambassador Association and more Concerts, tournaments, movie nights and more

    Great for these types of students

    All types especially technical based.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a TSTC Waco Airport! How many campuses have you been to that have their own airport? The new building is very pretty as well.

    Bang for the buck

    TSTC is a great institute. They truly challenge your mind and bring you great opportunities for the future.

    What to do for fun

    They have free movie night, free tickets to all in town college sports(basketball, football), college day fair, and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    Tornado Alley is great! Plus there are many restaurants within a 2 or 3 mile radius.

    Dorm Life

    Several dorms to choose from. Don't live on campus myself.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute for registration. Sometimes this can be very time consuming and can cause you to not attend on time.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are well trained. All staff are very polite and helpful. The classes are not overcrowded.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety could not be any better. Campus police officers continuously patrol the campus and are very quick to respond if problems occur.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities. I am a member of the BET/MIT club and hold the position of club treasurer. There are always events that are held at the Student Recreation Center.

    Great for these types of students

    TSTC is perfect for every student, from Air traffic controllers to lasers to culinary artists.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This college campus was previously an Air Force base and has a fully functioning air port.

    Bang for the buck

    You get your money's worth with all of the hands on training that you receive.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go to the recreation center and hang out to play ping-pong and pool.

    Food and Dining

    The Tornado Alley Cafe has the best food ever on a college campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm but I have delivered pizza there and they are very clean and have nice size rooms. I live in on-campus family housing and the houses are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors work very hard to keep classes interesting and are all very knowledgeable in all subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a subject that you really love and captures all of your interest.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of one to ten, I rate my school a ten! I love the hands on training and personal attention given by all of my instructors. This has been the best decision I have ever made!

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are visible and available.

    Greek Life

    Not affiliated

    Clubs and Activities

    Not affiliated with any at this point.

    Great for these types of students

    This school us great for people who are going into a certain technical trade. From auto mechanics, there are web design and computer technician.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    First year student. I am unaware of any traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    The school I am attending also offers job placement assistance. That's an added bonus with the way the job market is.

    What to do for fun

    Watch movies and sports.

    Food and Dining

    I prepare my own food at home. More economical.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Currently A's and B's

    Tips for prospective students

    First research what you want to or plan to study. Research the schools you have in mind. Be aware of what they can offer, what is beneficial to your needs. Don't be afraid to change what you're studying. Don't allow the stress of school convince you to quit school. Most important, study. Set time aside for studying.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are great! The school's administration is spectacular. The atmosphere at school is comfortable and inviting.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lots of aggression flying around some days.

    Greek Life

    none that i know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    basic and depends on the group to make it fun. the state likes to poke their noses in to our clubs affairs though.

    Great for these types of students

    technical

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    i feel i am breaking even, we will see when i graduate how successful i am at job placement.

    What to do for fun

    rec center

    Food and Dining

    good most of the time.

    Dorm Life

    expensive and annoying.

    Academic Rigor

    depends on the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    have financial assistance and pick something you will love, not something that seems cool.

    In three sentences

    its alright sometimes, the funding sucks, and a lot of the faculty has forgotten their mission statement and i believe that is because they have lost their drive due to the lack of funding for supplies to make it worth our ever rising tuition costs.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Serious about education but on a very tight budget.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Airplane Hanger

    What to do for fun

    Work out room and game room available when time permits.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is a little pricey but tastes good!

    Dorm Life

    I live in the dorms and although they are older buildings they are well kept and clean and quiet.

    Tips for prospective students

    While in high school participate in clubs and organizations to improve your chances for grants and scholarships.

    In three sentences

    I am very happy with the education I have received so far. That is why I am not interested in changing schools. The instructors are very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study Study Study! :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up, you won't be disappointed.

    In three sentences

    My college is paving the way to a highly successful future. The staff is supportive and always there when I need them. TSTC Waco is an amazing place to attend and I am proud to be here.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police potrolling the campus at all times. They will ticket for speeding, and it is only a 25 mph limit throughout campus. Someone always around to help, and there are offices there to help those with disabilities be safer as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that like hands on coursework will enjoy it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus actually used to be an old Army Base and Air Force Base prior to that. So for me being a Veteran I think it is pretty cool.

    Bang for the buck

    Just a good place in general. There is alot in the area and so much to see and do. Waco and the surrounding area is home to several historic locations.

    What to do for fun

    The college has alot of activies that are offered. Having a family of teens I go home and take care of them and do not get to participate.

    Food and Dining

    Tornado Alley is the school dinning area. It is ok, and has a fairly good selection. THere are alot of good places to go eat out that are not too far away from the school though.

    Dorm Life

    Sorry, I live off campus with my children.

    Academic Rigor

    The work here is rather thorough and comprehensive. I have just started, but the work load is handleable for even a mother. The teachers work hard to make your classes interesting and fun and understandable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just come and see what there is for you here at TSTC-Waco. It is really a great place to be.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful place to learn, even for an old 43 year old mother of 3, just starting out in college for the first time. All of the staff and students are friendly and are not put off by my age or look down upon me for starting so late in life. The campus and staff also do everything they can to assist me with my disabilities as I am a disabled veteran.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The buildings are clean and well organized. The staff is very friendly.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Relatively safe, they need a bit more security and security cameras although especially if your living on campus.

    Greek Life

    Nice

    Clubs and Activities

    Haven't had the time to research about clubs and activities but they should have a handful of them at this college.

    Great for these types of students

    I don't really understand this question.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have none to share with that I can think of right now.

    Bang for the buck

    School is very affordable and has a lot of different majors you can major in. Looking at the conditions my cousin is in right now after graduating from this school makes me want to do my best,graduate and succeed. You can achieve your dreams if you put your mind into it. Never stop trying!

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym,gaming systems and different fun activities you can play.

    Food and Dining

    Food quality is great most of the times and they offer a variety of food choices from burgers to salads.

    Dorm Life

    Rating it one star since I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Majoring in Graphics Design,

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships early while you're in high school. Apply for financial aid to get your tuition paid and refunds. Most of all study,study,study!

    In three sentences

    I like how this school is not too far away from my house about a 10 minute drive. I like the fact that there is about 15-30 students in the classrooms depending what classes you take. Last but not least I like that the school is affordable and offers help for those who need it.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Football and Basketball.

    Dorm Life

    Just something you have to deal with as a young person. Thankfully I am older therefore I do not live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the school you want to attend. Do not wait to get your education. Surround yourself with those that want to learn and succeed. Last, work hard but make time for entertainment and things your enjoy.

    In three sentences

    TSTC at Waco, Tx is an incredible opportunity. It allows the student to begin their education on their future career right off the bat which I believe keeps the student more focused. I would give TSTC Waco a 5 out of 5.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I do not live in Waco. I drive back and forth. I drive about 70 miles round trip Monday though Thursdays.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is okay. I do not have a meal plan so I have to pay for it out of pocket. I some times go to some fast food places around the school. I think the schools food isn't worth the money I pay for it.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I wouldn't say I have any challenges

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be lazy. The work the teachers give you to do isn't very hard so if you do it you will learn.

    In three sentences

    They have really great teachers. The teachers want you to succeed. The school is not to big and not to small.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what degree you want to go for

    In three sentences

    The automotive program is very good. There is a lot of hands on work. The instructors are very knowledgeable and helping.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study, relax, listen to music, explore the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Tornado Alley Cafe has really good food, with a large variety.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live in the dorms, or on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very detailed, but not hard. I thoroughly enjoy learning here!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend tstc to anyone looking for a brighter future.

    In three sentences

    This school is, by far, the best school I have ever been to. The teachers care. Enrolling here has made my life so much better!Id have to give it a 10 on a scale of 1 to 10.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a top priority here at this school. Very important to keep everyone here safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hispanic club, health physics club, chemical tech club, alpha Kappa kappa

    Great for these types of students

    People who are into anime or fitness this will be a great school for you.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go to movies and the night life here is pretty awesome.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty awesome, especially the hot line and chicken tenders.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but some of my friends do and they say they feel safe about living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very challenging at times but don't give up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students don't be afraid to ask questions about any and everything; you will be surprised at what you learn.

    In three sentences

    TSTC is one of the best technical schools to attend. The instructors are friendly and teaches very well. Every question is answered and instructors are acurate about what you learn in the classroom. It seems like you get a lot of one on one but learn as group.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask questions. If you get loan money remember one simple phrase; loan money not lottery money. Do not forget to have fun.

    In three sentences

    Tstc is great school for student wanting to start a career sooner. I love the dental assistant program. It's self paced so I was able to finish earlier.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No complaints about campus safety. I see campus police patrolling every day. Gives me a little reassurance.

    Clubs and Activities

    I really enjoy my Biomed club. It brought in many guest speakers about my field of study.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are willing to put forth the effort.

    Bang for the buck

    TSTC is a great school with a lot of hands on. I really enjoy my area of study and my instructors. It is very cost efficient compared to other schools. Only advise is to stay patient with the enrolling process. TSTC can be a little more professional (as far as making a future student feel welcome) in this process.

    What to do for fun

    I really enjoy the rec center. I am wanting to get into softball this next semester.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is a little over priced. Buying your own groceries will go farther.

    Dorm Life

    I live on campus in a duplex. I really enjoy it.

    Tips for prospective students

    TSTC is ran a little different than other colleges. Seek advisement as needed, however, if you know what you want to do speak your opinion. This is your investment and in my case the advisors were not always right.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy the hands on technology. The instructors really care about their students. I actually look forward to going to class.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has its own police department. I feel very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Ambassodor Club A.S.S.E. Club Sudent Leadership Club

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for someone who wants more 'real life' training.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A student can watch fellow students take off and land airplanes.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that since this is a technical college, the hands-on learning is invaluable!

    What to do for fun

    T.S.T.C. has a student recreation center that has many different passtime activities. A student can expect to find a workout area and pool tables and also an assortment of clubs to fill in free time.

    Food and Dining

    This schools dining area is nice and has a variety of meals. There is also a culinary building where students and staff can purchase meals.

    Dorm Life

    It's only temporary!

    Academic Rigor

    Get homework done in between classes or before leaving school. Study at least three days before an exam. Use study partners.

    Tips for prospective students

    First, know your goals for your future. A student should know where they want to be in five years. Second, talk to someone in that field, find out whats that field is all about. Third, do your research. Make sure that whatever is chosen as a career will still be in demand after graduating. Lastly, find out what the going rate of pay is for a field. A student is going to graduate college with debt and needs to be able to support themselves and their family.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Texas State Technical College! All of the staff members are very helpful and interested in helping students achieve their goals. I would definitely recommend this college to others.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Tech savy students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I spend most of my day in the JBC building because that's where the technology department is located.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a rather cheap place depending on location. Its a small city, nothing like a major metropolitan.

    What to do for fun

    I haven't really ventured out that much since I am here to learn and earn a degree. Baylor University is here along with the Dr. Pepper museum.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a degree in the technical field and want to be hired straight out of school, then TSTC is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    TSTC is one of two schools right now in the country that are offering HPC degree's. I am the second one in my family to attend TSTC. It's a very good school with alot of hands on involvement.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life here. Sorry...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Like I previously mentioned, there are 'bass' parties all throughout the night for those living on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    TSTC is one of the cheapest schools out there. Average tuition and fees for 12 credit hours is approximately $1,135.00 per semester.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is like most cafeterias. It's not great, but I've seen worse.

    Dorm Life

    If you go to this school be sure to get a waver so you don't have to live on campus. Living on campus was one of the worst experiences of my life. It seems like there is always someone having a loud party at 4 in the morning. You have officially been warned...DO NOT LIVE ON CAMPUS OR IN THE DORMS!

    Academic Rigor

    I studied Air Traffic Control while I was here. The academic rigor for our program was very high. Having said that, most other programs at this school have extremely low standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    The aviation department at this school is one of the best! If you are interested in possibly going here, be sure to check out the Air Traffic Control and Pilot Training programs!

    In three sentences

    TSTC is great if you are getting the right degree. Like most colleges there are worthless degrees and there are some really good ones. Choose wisely.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    spend time with my family, play games and study

    Food and Dining

    great

    Dorm Life

    Not living in dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    There are a lot of bumps in the road, but hang in there. Its worth it in the end

    In three sentences

    I am a returning student here at TSTC that should say alot. Im am working on my second degree.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    TSTC has it's own police force and a fire station here on campus. While common sense rules such as traveling in groups is still smart, I can say that I've never felt any sort of danger on-campus of off. Waco is a fairly friendly town, just use common sense.

    Greek Life

    While there is no fraternities or sororities here, there is a chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society. The benefits of PTK are endless and it's a great goal for any student.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most degree plans here have a club that focuses on that career choice. I highly recommend joining that club as you get to meet people who are currently working in the field.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students wanting a 2 year education in a technical field. You can transfer to a 4 year university from here but it's more geared to students wanting an associated degree and then entering the workforce. As a Veteran I must also say that this is a great school for Vets. Veterans are respected and taken care of here and there are plenty of older students who attend here as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Outside of on-campus living and cafeteria, TSTC also has an airport for it's aviation careers. They even have an air show planned for the fall this year.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education at a good price.

    What to do for fun

    Waco has a water park, zoo, several museums, mall, Baylor sporting events, and many other choices. On-campus there is a rec center that has a gym, weight room, baseball/softball fields and track for runners/walkers. I wish they were open on Saturdays though they are open until 8 PM during the week.

    Food and Dining

    Another advantage of on-campus living is that TSTC has a cafeteria to feed the residents. The food is good, although I wish they offered more healthy options. Off-campus Waco offers a great variety of places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not going to say TSTC has the greatest dorm life but the fact that dorm life is an option at a 2 year school is a great benefit. Being able to connect with other students in your field lets you start setting up a great network of friends that will benefit you for years to come. You can do this while commuting but it's so much easier when you live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the degree programs are stacked on the front end, meaning you will have more classes in your first couple of semesters. The courses are focused on real world situations though and you spend a lot of your time in labs getting hands on experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of on-campus living. You get the 4 year university experience at a 2 year technical college.

    In three sentences

    TSTC Waco is great technical college that keeps the focus on real world applications. A great education at an excellent price.