Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Texas Wesleyan University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those that work hard and are willing to work harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack up and always do your best. Try to meet as many new friends as you can (this will help you in class) and do as many extra-curricular activities as possible.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, Theatre, Business, Education, Minority Students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply on line, it was free for me! Work hard in school and you can get in!

    Bang for the buck

    For being a private school it is CHEAP! The tuition is 16 grand a year which is good for the type of school. The university gives out lots of scholarships and they are not hard to come by. Most people are eligible for at lest three thousand a year.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its small so you will see the same people every day, meet people! Enjoy your self and you will succeed.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small so that is very benifical, the faculty are nice and treat you like family. You will learn a ton if you apply your self.

  • 06/11/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The ones who are very committed to their classes in high school as well as in college.

    Tips for prospective students

    To be very exited and enthusiastic!

  • 01/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like Baseball they have a good program. I like working with the Coaching staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off your first year.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    least vehicle break ins of most school in texas.

    Great for these types of students

    that wants straight forward answers on everything. no run around. if a department does not know an answer then they will call someone who does. the school doesn't make you run around. all the departments know each other.

    Bang for the buck

    the school costs a lot of money out of pocket

    What to do for fun

    i sing for fun.

    Food and Dining

    dora a all you can eat for 6.50

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    you have very personal relationships with your s

    Tips for prospective students

    ask as many stupid and not stupid questions as you can.

    In three sentences

    it has a good line up of teachers in the music department. it is very small town feel. administration is very straight forward and in one building. financial aid is low. so it has it quarks but it ok.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feel safe.

    Greek Life

    No experience with Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose.

    Great for these types of students

    All.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Like to watch volleyball and baseball.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm getting a good education.

    What to do for fun

    Sand volleyball.

    Food and Dining

    Good. Eat on campus some.

    Dorm Life

    Commute to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know you classmates. Form study groups. Talk to you counselors and professors.

    In three sentences

    Its a smaller university. Professors are interested in helping you succeed. Campus is laid out well.

  • 07/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I live on the historic campus and really don't enjoy living there. The law school is great other than being in the middle of down town fort worth.

    Am learning a lot

    The Law School part of this University is amazing. Geat professors that have had experience in their field

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the grill has good food not so sure about dora's

    Dorm Life

    i don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are really hard so make sure you read the material ahead of time and be prepaired. while some classes are hard others are easy and if you take one hard class a semester make sure you take two easy classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to not miss class and always be on time. turn the work in on time and if you can't then talk to the professor. the professor are really cool they will help you whenever you need it.

    In three sentences

    amazing teachers, they really care for the students, and they don't want you to fail. everyone around campus is really friendly you can usually smile at someone and they will smile back.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Sometimes we get snacks and drinks leftover from various functions, which helps during evening classes

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus because the college is about 5 minutes from house.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like any college, TWU treats you like an adult and expects you to treat your classes/profs with respect, but they are open-minded and always listen to their students' concerns and suggestions.

    Tips for prospective students

    You'll enjoy the small campus community because it's not over-crowded and everyone seems very close.

    In three sentences

    The close-knit community of my small college makes for a personal educational experience. The small number of students makes each class more fun. The professors are able to connect on a more personal level and I enjoy seeing how they truly care about the students' education.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has it's own security as well as gated dorms!

    Greek Life

    I'm not sure about this yet. It's offered, however I don't start school here till next week.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you are looking to do or club you want to join is available for you at TWU.

    Great for these types of students

    This school offers things for every type of student!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not aware of any as of yet

    Bang for the buck

    I love softball and Coach Gower is giving me the chance to transfer and play softball with their program. I am so excited to get started. Also TWU offers a terrific Physical Therapy program that I am super excited to begin!

    What to do for fun

    I will be studying and playing softball. All the fun I need. However the campus offers lots of activities!

    Food and Dining

    I haven't gotten to eat here yet, but I hear that it's GREAT!

    Dorm Life

    I am so excited for my apartment style dorm!

    Academic Rigor

    Great studies done at this college!

    Tips for prospective students

    Start getting grants and loans early!

    In three sentences

    Great Physical Therapy program. GREAT softball coach & Program. Beautiful Campus.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on alert and are always monitoring things around the school. You can almost always see one or two in the parking lot keeping an eye out for any potential thieves. They also are quite friendly if you ever find yourself talking with them.

    Great for these types of students

    For those who consider themselves geeks or nerds there is a club that you will enjoy. They spend their time talking about animes, comics, and videos on the web.

    What to do for fun

    There is usually something going on or something being planned. There is a gaming area for those who love to play video games and movies are sometimes planned to be shown at the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. Get a food plan and you can eat for free in the cafeteria or you can buy the food you want from Dora's

    Dorm Life

    Don't live on campus, but those who do don't have any complaints and seem to enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but that just proves how good they are. The work isn't something that is impossible to do and the teachers will help you if don't understand something, you just have to ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to ask questions if you have them. Don't be afraid to ask other students if there is something about the school you need help with. Going to the library is useful

    In three sentences

    The teachers pay attention to the students. They want to help the students only need to ask. The work, while not easy, can be done if the student puts in the effort

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Basically Everything from Joining great Fraternities School Volleyball, Lawn and table Tennis, soccer and Basketball teams Interesting student time on campus

    Food and Dining

    AVERAGE!!

    Dorm Life

    FUN!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Learning here is Fun, it is also very challenging and it Instills academic disposition in students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, Follow up your application, Stay on campus at least for your freshman year, Prepare your mind and body to study, Good Luck!!!!

    In three sentences

    1. With her fourteen student per faculty ratio, Texas Wesleyan university offers a smaller and better student environment, where students and professors can interact easily and academically to foster great relationships for student excellence. 2. School premises is Safe and Serene, ambient and Peaceful 3. Well experienced Lecturers with adequate and up to date technology for the best classroom experience.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    way to expensive for what you get!!

    What to do for fun

    go to games but no one really goes...

    Tips for prospective students

    take all classes serously!!

    In three sentences

    i rate txwes a 6 out of 10

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Texas Wesleyan has somewhat of an event each day for students. Students will be out in the mall (the courtyard in front of the library) playing swords, playing frisbee, or any other activity.

    Food and Dining

    We have a small store inside our campus called the grill, and along side of the grill is Java City, which is a coffee-smoothie type of place. We also have Dora's near our dorm which serves a wide variety of good food.

    Dorm Life

    Texas Wesleyan has the best RA's in the nation. Our dorms are fun, comfortable, and safe. They're are one of the best quality dorms, and we have amazing food at Dora's.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a broad selection of undergraduate, and graduate programs at Texas Wesleyan. You'll find what you're looking for.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Attend Texas Wesleyan Events. They're fun. 2. Look for scholarships. They'll be really helpful. 3. Get involve with our amazing athletics programs.

    In three sentences

    Texas Wesleyan is a school beyond words. Their small selection of students provides comfort, help, and fun for everybody. Texas Wesleyan has an amazing team that will help freshman along their first year in college.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great security

    Greek Life

    I have no idea.

    Great for these types of students

    Student-athletes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not very sure.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive School but it pays off in the end.

    What to do for fun

    Watch baseball games or other sporting events

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply Early

    In three sentences

    Nice School. Very good City. Nice Staff.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They where around when they wanted to be.

    Greek Life

    Many sororities and fraternities but not really seen at school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not alot offered.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great if your not into school spirit and sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that is worth taking about.

    Bang for the buck

    You can get the bang for you buck at the dollars store around the corner becuase nothing is cheap at Texas Wesleyan.

    What to do for fun

    Play basketball and hang with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria was eatable. However I prefer the Sub's food.

    Dorm Life

    Hated it while I live there from 08-10.The rooms are small and nasty. Along with all the appliances in the room.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a top tier school and a wonderful business school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for hard work.

    In three sentences

    Not at all what I expected. Be prepared nothing is easy. Keep up with you course catalog because they will put you in whatever class even though it does not apply to you.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always going around campus and taking care of everyone!

    What to do for fun

    Read books!

    Food and Dining

    Somewhat good!

    Dorm Life

    Couldn't say since I have my own place.

    Academic Rigor

    Love this place!

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend orientation and be involved!

    In three sentences

    From a scale of 1-10, I can really say I would give Texas Wesleyan a 10. I am a transfer student and I love being here! They make you feel welcome and give you the proper tools to do what you need to do. All the staff members KNOW what you need.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is placed in the south side of Fort Worth. The campus itself is safe, but not always for your car. There is security always on duty around the campus and a police station located a few blocks away. But overall, you don't have much to worry about. Just be cautious of your surroundings.

    Greek Life

    The campus contains a handful of Greek organization. You are able to join one of there organizations with a much lower cost than a bigger university; due to the fact that the campus does not contain a reek row, so you don't have to pay as much.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking to major in law or sciences, this school has really great programs for them.

    Bang for the buck

    Texas Wesleyan is a small campus, for a little of a costly price. Even though the price may be out of some people's reach, you should tink about what kind of education you are getting here. Personal help, small classes and everything you will need to succeed in college.

    What to do for fun

    There are many campus activities to join! Even though Texas Wesleyan is a smaller campus, they always have fun activities going on. You almost always get a free shirt just for coming or win something just by staying. There are many campus organizations and Greek life organizations to join also. If you find any organizations you would like to join, you could always create your own! The possibilities are endless.

    Food and Dining

    Dora's cafeteria isn't always so bad, but not always so great either. From time to time you'll find some great dishes that mostly everyone enjoys, but other than that, it's tolerable. At the sub, food is prepared for you, but you'll have to wait for a while since not many people work there.

    Dorm Life

    Stella Hall is one of the oldest of the dorm buildings, if you want cheap, come to Stella. Elizabeth hall is a but better and more quiet. You actually get to have a room to yourself, and they're pretty big for one person. The west village are the apartment buildings, they only bad thing is that you have to walk farther to school than all the other dorm buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    There are people here to push you into achieving more with whatever you decide you would like to pursue.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to make new friends here, everyone is willing to help out. Take time to study for your classes, and manage your overall free time well. Have fun while you're here!

    In three sentences

    It is a fairly small school, which is great for the learning environment. You also receive excellent person help from professors. Texas Wesleyan has overall been a great college experience preparing me for the years to come.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards driving around making sure nothing goes wrong.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot to do at the beginning of school and lots of activities through out the year.

    Great for these types of students

    I have seen a lot athletes come to the school and also I see a lot of international students come to the school to get their education.

    Bang for the buck

    I think everyone who is given the chance to come to Texas Wesleyan, should really take the chance to see all the activities the campus has and talk to current students and experience the college life at Texas Wesleyan. They are also good at giving out scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    For fun students can join in sports, attend the school activities and socialize with new people in the lobby.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is not all too good but you have the option to go eat in the sub which is really good.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is one of the best choice I made, because you get to make new friends and you hear more about the student activities.

    Academic Rigor

    In class, it easy for the professor to help students individually and easier for a student to understand the lecture.

    Tips for prospective students

    If coming to Texas Wesleyan, I think everyone should participate in all of the campus activities.

    In three sentences

    Texas Wesleyan is small and the athletics program is amazing. Choosing to come to Texas Wesleyan has been the best choice for me, because it is easy for me to find my classes and I am to have one on one time with my professors. I everyone who has a chance should come visit Texas Wesleyan and experience how the small college environment.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's many activities you can get involve in and be part of the Wesleyan Ram Family. The Accounting society is a great example to be part of and not having to be an accounting major to be part of this society.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off because this is not high school anymore. Be prepare daily. Attend every class. Complete all work and take good notes. Be attentive. If you have questions just ask them. There's never a no at this institution.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school in a small environment. Your able to communicate with your professors since classes are small. Professors care about your success.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its safe there are securities driving around in golf-carts

    Greek Life

    There are a couple of Fraternities and Sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural Activities

    Great for these types of students

    Small School None Party International Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The location of the school is not so great, because there has been a lot break ins into the automobiles.

    Bang for the buck

    I love this school because honestly it has great teachers, who care about you. They really take the time to teach you and get to know you.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, Intermurals, go to downtown Fort Worth its only 6 minutes away from school and downtown Dallas is 35 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not so great, but it eatable.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are in okay condition. But they just new dorm rooms not too long ago those are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a great school, great academics, great professors, and it has counselors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like individual attention from professors that is the University for you. It has a lot of majors to decide from. But if your looking for a big school this is not the right one for yourself.

    In three sentences

    Its a small private university, with great teachers. Willing to help you achieve you higher potential of education. It also has a great environment.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a good investment but not a great investment.

    What to do for fun

    The city of Fort Worth has a lot to do, but this isn't what you should be looking at here. The school is rigorous and you will likely not have time for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining in Fort Worth is pretty good, and the restaurants around town are pretty well known, although some are not that great.

    Dorm Life

    The law school does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a very rigorous school with a great reputation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. Work hard. Study as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school in general. The law school is rigorous and most likely being purchased my Texas A&M. This means that more investments will likely be pumped into the school.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Start in the fall semester.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus security located everywhere and they respond to phone calls very quick

    Greek Life

    They do have sororities and fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    All sports: baseball, basketball, softball, table tennis, golf, soccer, cheer leading, dance fraternities and sororities

    Great for these types of students

    Social, outgoing, friendly

    Bang for the buck

    The eduaction part of the school is great and I love that it is small.

    What to do for fun

    I play college softball but there are many activities that the RA's provide for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best, I wish they would work on that.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the west village and it is great over here, I am not to sure about the other dorms since I have lived here all four years.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and advirsors are always willing to help and are very understandable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn and do work, however there are great study groups and teachers.

    In three sentences

    Teaxas Wesleyan is a great small community school. The food is not the best, but the teachers are very helpful and welcoming. The athletics program is also very intense and hard working.

  • 04/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're are not a lot of presence of security cameras on campus, nonexistent even. Campus security patrol often on golf carts making sure everything is safe on campus. They're often called to settle disputes of loud noises.

    Greek Life

    Lambda Kappa Kappa is a local service fraternity dedicated to help their community and high school students to achieve a college education. Kappa Alpha Order is a national social fraternity. Several other sororities are on campus to like Lambda Theta Alpha, Lambda Tau Zeta, Alpha Zeta Delta.

    Great for these types of students

    Education Majors, Computer Science, Pre-Law, or Nurse Anesthesia.

    Bang for the buck

    Texas Wesleyan Endowment program provides alot of scholarships. You can continue getting more as long as your academic are high. More opportunities are available if you join more organizations on campus.

    What to do for fun

    From a student's perspective, the two most enjoyable events were ram camp and the spring carnival. Being that I've never got the chance to attend either, what I did for fun is attending other school events. Some are honestly boring like homecoming after party hosted by SGA others were very enjoyable. I recall the DiaBeatThis event which had live music, food-tasting oppurtunites, and rock climbing. You can have an option to play volley ball, tennis, basketball, pool, table pool, table tennis, and much more on campus.

    Food and Dining

    You're main two options for food and dining will be at Dora's cafeteria or the Sub (Grilled Works). The sub provides a cheaper alternative for food and they offer food you would expect at a typical fast food restaurant ( Burgers, Chicken Tenders, Variety of Drinks ). Dora's cafeteria is very similar to a buffet. You pay to get in, or if you're on a meal plan you just scan your card, and you can choose the variety of food they have there. They would have the usual fast food options ( hot dogs, pizza and nachos ) , breakfast aisle, make your own sandwich section, and your own pasta section, and some fruits. Dora caters a variety of food that changes on a daily from Meat loaf to fish tacos to chicken pot pie. They offer a breakfast food in the morning as well. The downside would be the close around 7 pm and if you're hungry after that time period you would have to go off campus to eat. People often complains the foods are fattening, which is in essence is true, but primarily this is a case of overeating since Dora is a like buffet. They're also often free food opportunites that organizations offer to attend their meetings which would the typical hot dogs and burgers.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is different depending on where you live. In an honest perspective, OC Hall is one of the cheapest option to live on campus and they're almost identically similar to Elizabeth hall, the most expensive option on campus. The only thing that is different is the bed sizes and the option to have a room mate or not. Most problems with dorms like getting locked out or noise complaints are handled by your RA (Residential Assistant). OC Hall has been recently renovated and is still be upgraded as of right now. Their kitchen and lobby had recent makeover change improving the look and feel of the place. Stella provides a smaller room size than OC hall and elizabeth however the building feels more new and sanitary compared to OC Hall. Just like OC hall, stella has their own lobby and kitchen with the exception of a computer room and a nicer game room. West Village is the newest addition and stands out as an apartment not as a dorm. West Village looks and feels much better than the other dorms. Each room is housed by 4 people and has 4 enclosed room with a living a room and two bathrooms. Comes with a fridge and electricity bill and utility bills already paid for. Cable and internet is provided throughout the campus. The only downside to West Village is the clubhouse, a place where you cook or relax at, is closed at a certain time. West Village is the only place the offers a place to park your car in electronically closed fence.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic difficulty always depend on the professor and how they teach. Some provides a plethora of extra credit opportunity and another would focus all your work online. Self-discipline is and studying is the hardest challenge new college students will face.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any undergraduate planing to attend the campus for the first time, I advise you try to live on campus. The campus is very small and it would be beneficial both academically and socially if you knew the people around. Join organizations ( Greek Life, Academic Organizations, Sports ) be active on campus!

    In three sentences

    Texas Wesleyan is a small campus but with big opportunities only if you choose to take them. All your teachers are licensed professors who are they're to help you only you accept their help.