Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

The Boston Conservatory Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For those who are truly passionate with every fiber of their being about honing their craft, whether it be music, dance or theatre, this is the place to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    In your audition, be yourself and have fun! Boston Conservatory isn't just about finding talented people, although there's no doubt that they are present here in large numbers! It takes a special kind of person to be here. Someone with personality, creativity, and an open attitude will fit right in. Anyone who is willing to learn and take chances in the classroom will enjoy the environment the school has to offer. We're all about taking risks and creating beautiful art!

    Bang for the buck

    As I've mentioned, the cost of the school is well worth it for the multitude of things you will learn. If you are willing to dedicate yourself to your work and give one hundred percent, this school can help you grow as an artist in ways you have never imagined. Also, in addition to the facilities that were available before this academic year, which were perfectly adequate and met the needs of the students, the new Hemenway theatre building is outfitted with additional practice rooms, refurbished dance studios, and of course, an absolutely beautiful theatre that has been exquisitely restored, which offer above and beyond what I could have ever imagined.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment of the school is wonderful. To be around such dedicated, talented, and personable people is truly a gift. There is such a support system here, that between your teachers and peers, there is always someone there to encourage you in everything you do. I feel really blessed to be surrounded by a family of people that are so vibrant and committed in everything they attempt.

    Am learning a lot

    I never thought that I could learn so much about my craft in such a short amount of time! Anyone who thinks that they could dive straight into a performance career without a collegiate education should just spend a semester at the Boston Conservatory and see if it changes their view on things. Everything that you need to know to make you the best you can be in your field of study is offered to you here. In addition to employing an absolutely brilliant faculty, many of whom are still actively working in their chosen fields, the school frequently offers master classes with guest instructors who are renown for their art. The incredible quality of education that I receive here is completely worth the expense.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Boston at night can feel unsafe, but not with our security guards! They are very good at protecting us!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on, every day and night here!

    Great for these types of students

    Musicians, actors, singers, dancers, composers....anybody that loves music!

    Bang for the buck

    It is very costly to attend this school. It is a joke that the students who attend the conservatory are either extremely well off or are living off a ton of loans.

    What to do for fun

    Is that even a question? It's Boston!!! Not only is the Back Bay area a great place to explore with friends, but there are so many other discoveries to make at other restaurants, museums, tours, trails, and more!

    Food and Dining

    The Boston Conservatory does not have a cafeteria or dining hall. We use the ones at Northeastern University, right next door, and there are plenty of options!

    Dorm Life

    You learn to socialize with all majors. The dorms are adorable (old brownstones in Boston) and give you a feel of old Boston.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers have difficulty putting grades on the work. A lot of our exams are performances. But if you are trying, and improving, then you will do very well at the Boston Conservatory.

    Tips for prospective students

    If a musical education is what you REALLY want, then absolutely apply here. If you are not 100% committed, you won't be happy with the music-heavy schedules all day, every day.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small school. But the teachers sincerely care for their students. We are pushed to fill our utmost potential and the school is quite successful at this.

  • 10/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Boston Conservatory is a wonderful institution for students who have an interest in musical theatre, vocal performance, dance, and/or music.

    Tips for prospective students

    One needs to be sure to submit an application early and schedule an audition date as soon as possible. Dates and time slots are in high demand and do fill up quickly. If you plan to visit the school, be sure to observe some of the classes to grasp the educational setting of the college.

    Bang for the buck

    The education I am receiving is invaluable for my career as a performer. The resources and faculty at The Boston Conservatory are very experienced and are always encouraging me to reach my full potential. I could not be more grateful for the overwhelming support of the school and its assistance in making my dreams come true.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am greatly enjoying my experience at The Boston Conservatory. Because the school is small and centralizes students with a common interest in the performing arts, I have made friends that will continue to support me throughout my time at the school and in the industry. The school is located in a great area of Boston, which exposes students to the theatrical and cultural aspects of the artistic city. The faculty and staff are always willing to answer questions and are readily available to problem-solve.

    Am learning a lot

    The Boston Conservatory is a private institution that educates students in a small, nurturing environment. Students receive one-on-one attention and are given critiques that will benefit them in the entertainment industry. All of the professors and instructors know their students' names and note individual progress to encourage growth to its full potential. The college has integrity within the entertainment industry, having many alumni featured on the Broadway stage and the Hollywood screen. As one of the best performing arts colleges in the United States, The Boston Conservatory is teaching me the fundamentals of the entertainment industry and is preparing me for a successful career as a musical theatre major.

  • 06/25/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers. This applies to everyone: if you get in, don't blow it off. This isn't a state university, or community college. This is serious stuff. You're paying about $40,000 a year and you'll have access to some amazing resources. If you don't take advantage of it, you're a fool. If you're lazy and apathetic, people will know. This is a small community. Seriously, just don't waste your time if you're lazy. I'm not trying to make you feel bad, I'm trying to save you tens of thousands of dollars and an entire year of your life! IT'S PERFECTLY FINE if you can't handle it. Just don't come here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a composition major, get your butt in gear and start composing NOW. Write LOTS of pieces. Write lots of small chamber pieces; don't worry about orchestral pieces unless you can get legit recordings of them (MIDI doesn't cut it). The faculty would probably prefer a string quartet or a woodwind quintet in your portfolio to an orchestral piece. And write for different instruments; don't just write all piano music. Experiment with different harmonic styles. Listen to lots of styles of music. Lots of freshman composition majors don't know enough about modern music, so I'll tell you right now to check out pieces by composers like: Penderecki, Prokofiev, Stravinsky, Ligeti, Cage, Lutoslawski, Reich, Schoenberg, Berg, Takemitsu, Saariaho, Adams, Shostakovich, and Golijov. Seriously, listen to pieces by EVERY SINGLE ONE of those composers. Don't just focus on the stuff you like; yes, I know Shostakovich is way more accessible than Lutoslawski, but you need to know both of them inside and out, even if you hate it. (If you're having trouble getting into modern music, just watch any Stanley Kubrick film like The Shining or 2000: A Space Odyssey, or watch the movie Shutter Island. Pay attention to the music and how it fits into the film. You'll be sold, trust me.) If you can talk about all of those composers, you're set. By the way, Osvaldo Golijov used to be loosely associated with BoCo. Golijov is a GENIUS so check him out. Also Jan Swafford (one of the faculty members) writes a lot of articles for Slate Magazine. Read everything Jan has written. They're pretty awesome articles. You can write TONAL music but it still needs to be unique and modern; if you're writing exactly like Beethoven and Rachmaninoff, you're not going to get past sophomore promotionals. Beethoven and Rachmaninoff already wrote things in their style and they were better than you ever will be in that style. Try to find your own voice. As a caveat, you're not going to find your own voice, even by the time you graduate. But you should still try. The faculty will be more impressed by original, interesting stuff in your portfolio than stuff you think is really good but clearly imitates a 19th century idiom. In my interview, I was myself and I was confident. I didn't lie to them about any aspect of my musical life. I told them what I liked and what I didn't like, and I told them what I knew and what I didn't know. The best thing you can do during your interview is just be yourself. Seriously. It's a lot easier than you think it is! :) --- If you're a musical theater major, just don't stress if you don't get in. It's hard, really. The acceptance rate for the musical theater department rivals the admissions rates for Harvard and Yale. In a sense, BoCo is almost like the Yale of musical theater! If you don't get in, it doesn't mean you weren't cut out for musical theater. It just means you didn't get in. Don't overanalyze it. If you DO get in, you better be prepared to work really really hard. A lot of schools are focused on your voice, or on dance, or on acting. BoCo focuses on EVERYTHING. You are going to dance your butt off. You're going to be tired and stressed but you're going to love it.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, not going to lie. And they only give out merit scholarships; they're not really need-based. You better move off-campus after your freshman year and get an apartment; that might be the only way you'll be able to afford this place because room+board through the conservatory is expensive. Admittedly a lot of people who attend BoCo are rich. I don't know if any music degree is worth a tuition of almost $40,000/year (which is one reason I'm transferring out), but if you can afford it, I'd go for it.

    Did enjoy being here

    It's great. The composition department is awesome. Boston itself is REALLY awesome. I didn't have a ton of friends at BoCo but I made friends with so many people throughout Boston. Note that the reason I'm transferring out is purely personal. It has nothing to do with the quality of the institution.

    Did learn a lot

    I was a composition major at the Boston Conservatory for a year, and transferred out for personal reasons. The biggest benefit at BoCo for composition majors is the performance opportunities. Not even at Eastman or Juilliard or Mannes will you get as many opportunities to get your works played by students. There were literally over 20 recitals for composition majors the year I attended BoCo, and all the recitals had a pretty good attendance. Also, you'll get your pieces recorded. Pretty much everything you write, there is an opportunity to get played. TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THAT!! Some people go through their freshman year only getting two pieces played and written. What a waste. The teachers here are also mostly top-notch. The two best classes I took were Instrumentation with Dalit Warshaw, and the Composition Seminar.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who know that they want to peruse musical theater, music performance, or dance for the rest of their lives. If you can't see yourself doing anything else and you love it that much, then this school is for you.

    Bang for the buck

    As a theater student, I enjoy watching musicals and plays in Boston, and the theaters are always having student rush tickets with are usually $10-$15 instead of the regular $70 price.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, many people like to walk around Boston and get out of the BoCo bubble. Boston is a great city to explore and enjoy. Also, for fun, students like to go to a practice room and play and sing songs which is typical of musical theater students to do. There are also many shows and performances happening around Boston all the time, and it's great to take time to see them.

    Food and Dining

    The Boston Conservatory is in partnership with Northeastern University with the food and dining. We get to use any of their cafeterias and their Outtakes as if it were our own. The nearest cafeteria is only a 3-5 minute walk from campus and the food is better than most colleges. Northeastern cafeteria food was voted top 5 in the country

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at this school is not like any other. Because this school is so small, you do get to meet everyone who lives in your dorm building and each dorm has occasional dorm events. Anyone can attend any of the events that they do as well. Each of the five dorm buildings have their own residential assistant who is always in reach when needed. The building are older building that were refurnished and remodeled to accommodate many students. It is recommended, also, to move out after freshman year. Living in the dorms was a wonderful experience for me and definitely something everyone enjoys.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is a conservatory and the education focuses on the arts. In many ways, the academics are what you would learn in those classes such as Voice & Speech where you learn IPA and have to complete written assignments as well. History of Musical Theater is a class were you wright essays at least every other week. Liberal Arts is the one class that is completely academic based and it is a mixture of history, language arts, and social studies. This class is just as rigorous as any other regular college class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would be to keep working hard. The training is vigorous in the right areas. If possible, keep in contact with friends outside of school as well, and stay humble throughout the year. There are lots of big personalities and people with bigger egos. Don't let them get to you. The school chose you for a reason and everyone is just as good as the other. Keep focus on why you go to the Boston Conservatory.

    In three sentences

    This school is the best thing that happened to me. The training is top notch and just what I need. I am in a supportive environment and I feel comfortable with my progress as an actor, singer, and dancer.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excelent! Security everywhere.

    Greek Life

    There is one fraternity, but no frat house.

    Clubs and Activities

    No clubs or activities, only ensemble that pertain to your major.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, artistic, and driven students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The reflecting pool at the christian science center is amazing! Our campus is only one building so theres not much to do there.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is crazy expencive, but you do get one of the best art educations in the world.

    What to do for fun

    Explor boston!

    Food and Dining

    We don't have our own cafiteria so we use North Eastern Universty's. The food is good though.

    Dorm Life

    It's great! Everyone has a fun time in the dorms and meet lots of new people.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are extremely difficult! Especially music history.

    Tips for prospective students

    Practice hard! Learn as much as you can about your frield! Be a unique artists!

    In three sentences

    The Boston Conservatory is an amazing place to get to know artists from all over the world. You will become a much better peformer then you even knew you could be, and make lots of friends. The staff is world renound and the classes are verry fun an interesting.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe, all building are by key access and have security guards patrolling 24/7.

    Greek Life

    1 sorority and 1 fraternity neither have their own house.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Dorms have several activities, and Our school offers special preview tickets to upcoming films and random outings to sporting events etc.

    Great for these types of students

    really driven individuals who love their passion more than life itself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We call the cafeteria the CAF and no one goes to The Fens..especially at night, unless you want to get attacked.

    Bang for the buck

    The Dance program has amazing faculty that really care for each student. Small classes and lots of personal attention and corrections. The school is really expensive, but gives phenomenal training for a professional career. It gets tricky if you grew up below the poverty line like me.

    What to do for fun

    Haha. Honestly, unless you are 21 there isn't much to do in Boston for fun, and not a lot of spare time at this school. There are nice parks to go hang out at, several movie theaters and shopping districts.

    Food and Dining

    You Dine at the Northeastern Cafeteria. They have three different Cafs. A regular one including a vegan section, a stir fry and an international. The international is a pretty far walk, but nice if you have awhile.

    Dorm Life

    Overall not bad. I shared a room with three other girls, luckily we had our own private bathroom. Old restored brownstone buildings, really neat. Had a few mice, but was resolved later that year.

    Academic Rigor

    Not very academically challenging overall. As long as you are focused and read half of what you are supposed to nothing really to worry about, it is a Conservatory program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a secure amount of financial Aid for all four years. Be prepared to work really hard everyday all day.

    In three sentences

    Really Amazing Program Overall. Great new director of Dance really turning things around. Would like more choices of classes.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Prudential Center and Newbury Street is within 10 minutes walk. A little shopping is always done. MIT is about 30 minutes walk away, so is Boston Common Park.

    Food and Dining

    We access Northeastern University's dining halls. They have 3 dining halls, 5-15 minutes walk away. They are big, hygienic, and they include a big diversity of food. From sushi to pasta, rice to fresh-baked cookies.

    Dorm Life

    Most of us share a room with 3 other students. Some rooms have bathrooms within them, and there's no need to share the bathroom with a lot of people. The dorms right next to the campus, which is very convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    Class grade affected if more than 3 absence is recorded.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a very friendly school. With three departments of Music, Dance and Theater, prepare to meet a lot of different yet interesting people.

    In three sentences

    A small school filled with talented people everywhere. The diversified population and talents of students allowed me to see and learn much broader. Everyone in the school supports each other with friendly and positive attitude, and it is located in Boston, one of the best cities in the world.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    So much to do for fun! There is so much culture and history around this particular area of Boston! You walk down the street and people are playing music or selling art. The mall is right down the road and shopping on Newbury Street is always fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Be assertive: Stay on top of everything from deadlines to the end. -Make sure you really really want this because investing as much time and money as you do into this won't end up being worth it if you aren't passionate about what you are doing.

    In three sentences

    The Boston Conservatory is an amazing school if you are planning on being a performer or teacher and are passionate about the arts. It takes hard work and dedication the risk is worth the reward!

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    BoCo is an amazing place! Filled with such inspiring talent and beautiful facilities. It's simply the best place to train for a profession in Musical Theater.