Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

The College of Idaho Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    We have a variety of students. Every one fits in here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of success!

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not sure what other schools cost but I do know that what I am paying for it, is definitely worth it. I also know that there are a lot of scholarships out there. You have to do the footwork people!

    Am enjoying being here

    I worried that I wouldn't be able to make new friends. No problem, everyone is so friendly. The Cafe has the BEST food and even take special orders. The campus is small enough that I don't have to walk miles between classes. There are campus police so I feel safe.

    Am learning a lot

    The College of Idaho has smaller class rooms than the larger schools in this area. I came in with a lower GPA and needed a little more help and have found it here. I am going into my second year with a truly positive and excited attitude. Who would have thought I would go to college? The professors are great and genuinely seem to care.

  • 12/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I chose The College of Idaho because it was a small college and one of the best in Idaho. I plan on going onto grad school and I know I am being prepared.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school so I was expecting it to be expensive but the college really helped me out with scholarships. The professors are excellent and are always looking out for the student's best interest.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college community is great! There is a very diverse community.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are challenging and the professors always ask thought provoking questions.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a smaller, less-hectic college. Also, students who are interested in a well-rounded liberal arts kind of education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to organize! This was the worst problem I had. Everything works out fine if you can keep on top of it. Also, if you need a quiet place to work on something, the library worked wonders for me.

    Bang for the buck

    All in all, College of Idaho definitely feels like it lives up to its price. The professors are very friendly and very good at what they do, there's lots of diversity in the things you can study, and it just has a general calm and welcoming feel to it. I'm definitely struggling to keep up with the prices, but the college offers quite a few scholarships to help.

    Am enjoying being here

    One of the main reasons I decided on the College of Idaho was because of how small and homey it felt when I toured it. Unlike a lot of bigger colleges, I could actually see myself living here; the school feels like a community, not like a huge corporate city. I've only been here for one year and I've already encountered plenty of awesome people who are very welcoming, including most all of the professors I've met.

    Am learning a lot

    I don't think I've ever been able to learn so much about so many of my favorite subjects anywhere else. College of Idaho's liberal arts style covers a huge variety of topics and how they connect to other topics. The PEAK program may seem like a hassle to some, but for those who can't limit themselves to just one subject, like me, it's perfect!

  • 09/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to learn, participate in their communities, have fun, party, study, and get somewhere in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll at the College of Idaho! You will not regret your decision. I look forward to meeting you!

    Bang for the buck

    Study hard, party hard. There's something here for everyone. Definitely worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    You will walk by someone you have never seen before, and they will say hi. Everyone is very friendly. Staff, advisors, mentors, student organizations--all are willing to do what they can to make sure you feel right at home.

    Am learning a lot

    All professors are currently pursuing their own research projects. With our small classes, the professors really get to know you and are willing to help you in any way they can.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security at this school is not even the slightest problem. The campus safety staff is overly helpful and will do anything for any student, at any time. All students are given the number to their hotline, and the staff is quick to respond whether you need to get into your room, or an escort back to the dorm.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life at the college is nothing to write home about. There are only three fraternities, and two sororities. However, everyone involved in Greek life seems to be very close to one another, and they each bring unique facets to the college environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more than enough clubs to suit anyone's needs. At the beginning of the year, there is a club fair to introduce all the clubs and offer sign-ups. They can be on or off campus activities, all of them being student led. As far as sports are concerned, the school is highly supportive of all of them. Students are encouraged to attend sporting events by being offered free shirts, food etc. All in all, there is more than enough activities to be done.

    Great for these types of students

    The College of Idaho is great for students who do not want to be at a large university, and enjoy close relationships with others. You learn to know everyone on campus, and if you would rather be a fly on the wall, then this school is not for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition comes to mind when termed with the word unusual. The Finney Fun Run is the name of the event, and it occurs the night of the first snowfall, at midnight. Male and Female students start at the opposite ends of the campus, and run through an obstacle course, while being pelted with snowballs by bystanders. Also on the agenda is a work out session involving lying on the icy terrain doing sit ups and push ups. However, when all is said and done, all the participants enjoy hot chocolate in a cozy foyer. However, the most unusual part of the event, is clothing is optional, and not encouraged.

    Bang for the buck

    By no standards is attendance to College of Idaho cheap. It's highly expensive for the average income family, and may be a challenge to afford even with loans. However, the statistics involving success after graduation is remarkable. You definitely are getting the education you pay for, but some costs such as food and residence may be a little excessive.

    What to do for fun

    Being such a small campus, activities seem limited. On the contrary, there is much to do on campus, as well as off. The school has a homemade disc golf course, swimming pool, volleyball courts, and a game room. Within the game room are foosball tables, ping pong, pool, and arcade games. The school also supports local businesses by renting out their services, such as once a month bowling nights, with school sponsored transportation. It's always a good time, and best of all, it's free for students.

    Food and Dining

    Food at schools can be a make or break factor for some people. The cafeteria at the College of Idaho boasts a healthy and organic menu. There are a variety of options such as a grill, comfort food, Chinese food, and pizzeria. Within the options, are other options. For example, at the grill you may order anything from a Cheeseburger to a quesadilla. They are more than happy to cater to your needs. The food itself is tasty, but as the year drags on, alternatives may be necessary.

    Dorm Life

    With required dorm residence for three years, one must only hope that the experience be worth it. The dorms are clean, respectable, and roomy. For those easily home-sick, there is no worry to be had. From the minute you walk into the dorms and meet your roommate and hall mates, you are a family. The support system is incredible, and there are always helping hands with homework. The dorms also hold events to help you with study habits, safety, and other necessary subjects to help you succeed in years to come.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at the College of Idaho are not to be taken lightly. With the development of our PEAK program, students are not only encouraged, but mildly forced to distribute their majors and minors. By obtaining such a diverse education, students will be well-rounded and gain the full benefits of a liberal arts education. As a current student, taking such a variety of courses is helping me figure out what I want to do later in life. This pertains to class difficulty because you may be required to take some classes that are new, and difficult. Most professors also take attendance daily, and deduct grade points should you not be present. It's a very high school-like system, but it shows that the professors care.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are no better tips I can give, then to study and keep up on homework. It sounds overly typical, but the grades do not come easy, and much is expected of you. Given your new responsibilities, you must put aside your distractions and work your hardest to what you are attempting to achieve.

    In three sentences

    There is not a better school out there for developing close relationships with students. The education is top of the line, given the small class sizes with professors that truly care about the students and the materials. The College of Idaho is perfect for anyone who wants to live in a personalized community full of friends and support.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Just make sure that you know what you're getting into, if you want a big college, this is definitely not the place for you. However, if you're looking for somewhere that you will be appreciated for being you, come check it out =)

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the best of your high school career, it goes by quick so take advantage of it.

    Bang for the buck

    While trying to choose a college, I didn't really focus on the money aspect of it, figuring I'd look at that later. College of Idaho is a private school, which automatically makes it a little more spendy than other colleges. However, they also have great scholarship and financial aid options. For example, every year so long as I hold a 2.5 or higher GPA I will get $7,000 for my schooling.

    Will enjoy being here

    CofI is a very small school with a low student to faculty ratio, meaning you're going to get the attention that you need to excel in what you do. This was one of the main reasons that I chose this school, plus throughout my admission process I was talking to one of the admissions counselors which really made it clear that I was wanted there.

    Will learn a lot

    The PEAK program at CofI is really a great opportunity, it lets you really broaden your horizons and specialize in things that you may have never had the chance to otherwise. Having at least one major and three minors may seem overwhelming, but think about how great that will be once you're out of college.

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For the education, it seems pretty reasonable.

    Will learn a lot

    I really like The College of Idaho's new Peak Program because it allows you to study in different areas and makes you more marketable for the future. However, the new program still gives you room to explore different classes for 1/3 of your credits.

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the professors. Have lunch with them. If they know that you care, they will be much nicer to you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this school so much. I live on campus so there are so many activities going on all the time.

  • 12/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A lot of people here are driven and are real go-getters. But there is a shocking amount of diversity and acceptance for such a small community. All are welcomed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get the A meal plan unless you're an athlete!

    Bang for the buck

    Great education, great community, great cafe. Expensive, but the college is helpful when it comes to financial aide

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus community is fantastic.

    Am learning a lot

    Amazing student to teacher ratio, so small classroom sizes. Professors really make themselves available and go the extra-mile.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    greek life is small not big

    Clubs and Activities

    So many

    Great for these types of students

    Driven, smart, like to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Finny fun run ask when you go to visit!

    What to do for fun

    They have an amazing outdoor program and a bus that runs up to the sky resort in the winter. They hold a lot of events on campus too!

    Food and Dining

    Best food ever!

    Dorm Life

    They love getting all students involed.

    Academic Rigor

    1 major and 3 minors smart driven students will succeed

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved early! If you are even thinking of applying contact the admissions department they are super helpful

    In three sentences

    I really love the history department they actual want to get to know you!

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have three frats and three sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Academically driven who thrive in small communities.

    What to do for fun

    There are free movie nights every monday night, and a bowling night once a month. There are also many activities put on campus, such as comedians and food festivals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you will thrive in a small campus community.

    In three sentences

    If you want a close-knit academic community, I definitely recommend this school. The professors are willing to work with you one-on-one and are extremely nice and understanding, and the students are more welcoming than I have ever experienced. It will make the four years you spend here fly by.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are open mic nights, concerts, athletic games and plenty of other fun activities available on campus. Idaho has tons of great spots to go fishing or boating and Caldwell itself has a bowling alley and is home to Idaho's best rodeo and fair.

    Food and Dining

    A catering company called Bon Appetit provides the food in the dining hall and the meals are to die for. The company uses organic ingredients and provides vegan/vegetarian options. There is also an all-hours cafe open across campus where you can purchase sandwiches and coffee.

    Dorm Life

    There are many halls to choose from and the school offers rooms in the single, double and (rarely) triple choices. There are over 50 different clubs and organizations and 7 fraternities/sororities.

    Academic Rigor

    The liberal arts curriculum is expansive and ensures a well-rounded student. There are over 92,000 combinations of one major and three minors available (the minimum requirement is to take those three minors) and over 80% of the students that apply for medical school are accepted. The student to faculty ratio is amazing and the relationships built between students and teachers are hard to beat.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus as soon as possible, and don't be discouraged by the sparseness of Caldwell. If you plan on attending, buy a bike to get around town.

    In three sentences

    This university is an established liberal arts school with a beautiful campus. There is a great sense of community in Caldwell and is the perfect home for a student looking for that small-town feel. There are plenty of volunteer opportunities and fun activities for students.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety faculty is great. They are always there right when you need them and are great company.

    Greek Life

    Everyone involved in Greek life are quite close with not only others in Greek life, but with most everyone on campus. The stereotype of fraternities and sororities is surely not true on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    It's very easy to find a group you're interested in, as well as create one if there is none.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a lot of diversity at The College of Idaho, and all is accepted and encouraged.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the traditions held on campus is during the first snowfall of the winter at midnight, the boys gather in one building, and the girls in another across campus and run naked to the others' building while bystanders throw snowballs at them. Not everyone is naked, but it's still a good time.

    Bang for the buck

    Though the tuition and fees add up quickly, the education you get surely makes up for it with the rigorous courses.

    What to do for fun

    There are social events going on constantly for all interests. They have bowling nights held, dances, and much more. There are a lot of clubs and groups on campus to join.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Appetit serves our two cafes and do an excellent job. There is a new special everyday and many options to choose from. There is also a wide selection of food choices for those who choose to eat Vegan or Vegetarian, and are very willing to accommodate for any medical needs.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kept quite clean and most everyone is respectful. Our dorm was left unlocked 99 percent of the time and absolutely nothing was stolen or messed with.

    Academic Rigor

    The College of Idaho now requires that each incoming student take on at least one major, and three minors, all in different areas. This proves to be a heavy work load, but is really paying off.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not ready to take your education or college seriously, The College of Idaho is not for you. The college curriculum is quite rigorous, yet very rewarding. So be prepared to work hard.

    In three sentences

    I love The College of Idaho, and am learning a great deal there. All of the professors really encourage all of the students, even ones that aren't theirs, and take real interest in them. The only disappointing area is the cost, but in the end, my education will more than make up for it.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is such a big part of C of I, they literally help you whenever, for whatever! They make sure at orientation and check-in to let you save their number in your cell phone for whatever!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is always fun although I did not RUSH, many of the people i befriended at the college were in sororities or fraternities. The activities during greek week are fun, and are open to all during RUSH week.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different types of clubs and activities for everyone t C of I, if there isn't something that you are into the student body committee are more than happy to help you start your own club and are always open to suggestions on activities for the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Toga, would definitely be one of the unusual traditions that C of I was known for. There is a statue of Dr. Boone and every year the Kappa Sigma fraternity pick a day to put a toga on the Boone statue which is then followed by a party held at the frat house.

    Bang for the buck

    The College of Idaho is a private institution but is worth every penny you invest. Don't look at it as wasting your money more so look at it as you are investing in your future because in reality that is really what you are doing.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are plenty of things to do in college, from simply walking around to playing a game of volleyball, or soccer out in the front of your dorm hall. Parties and campus activities are always fun too.

    Food and Dining

    Food, the Caf is a great place to gain your freshman 15. Although the food is delicious, keep in mind you will be eating there for three semesters so make sure you switch it up and try everything that is served in the caf including the watermelon pizza, and the day that no meats are served.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life, is amazing you meet people from different parts of not only the United States but also from other countries. As fun as dorm life can be keep in mind that a majority of the time you will not be able to get any work done in your room especially if your roommate is someone who is easily side tracked. You are better off doing your homework in the library or somewhere else on campus that is quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    Your professors will be harsh and might even hurt your feelings at one point but know that all that they tell you is because they want you to do better, and are looking out for your better structure. Professors will not accept late work if you have a due date make sure you have your work completed by the due date. You aren't in high school any more where back then slacking off a bit was tolerated now you have to be on point and realize that you have due dates and your professors expect certain things from you.

    Tips for prospective students

    As much as being a freshman can side-track you keep in mind why you are there. Don't forget how much you struggled to get to the school you wanted to be at. Being a freshman will strike you as the time where you can party, and just enjoy your first year but also be aware that your freshman year is also the time you need to see how well you will be balancing class, work (if you are a working student), social life, and also campus activities.

    In three sentences

    A well rounded, overall small campus. Genuine community easy going environment. Helpful professors; advisers, and counselors.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are an abundance of opportunities to participate in clubs on and off campus, and chances to volunteer in the surrounding tight-knit community are always present. C of I is in an excellent location to offer a blend of outdoor activities, such as river-sports, camping, hiking, mountain biking, and winter-sports with bigger city associated activities (Boise, Idaho's capital, is a 30 minute drive away) such as attending movie theatres, music venues, plays, college and semi-pro athletic events, and a healthy night-life.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Appetite is a great catering program that offers nutritious, not to mention delicious, meals with an emphasis on regional goods.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are comfortable, even if sometimes cramped, communities that foster healthy and long-lasting friendships. Most have full kitchens that are in good shape, and although heating and air conditioning varies in quality from dorm to dorm, each dorm has well-functioning units overall.

    Academic Rigor

    The college's innovative PEAK Program allows it's students to delve into heart of the liberal arts. Students who complete the program come away with a major and three minors, each in a different discipline of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in contact early with both your admission counselor at the school, and current students. Figure out what aspects are most important to you in college consideration and fully explore them at the university.

    In three sentences

    The College of Idaho offers a small community without sacrificing academic rigor, sports programs, and opportunities to participate in clubs and other activities on and off campus.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great and personable

    Greek Life

    Small

    Clubs and Activities

    Many

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, motivated individuals

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Finney Fun Run- when the first snow falls and sticks, students run across campus in their underwear.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs students can join.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe has some of the best food in Caldwell.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit the campus and take a tour.

    In three sentences

    The College of Idaho's small campus provides a sense of community you won't find at a larger university. Professors are willing to help students with their studies whenever students ask.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join and if you want to create a club, you can! You can go to the gym and watch Women's Volleyball which is always fighting for the top spot in the conference. Student Council always inform the students of what goes on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great here, no matter if it is at Simplot or McCain. The pizza is just great!

    Dorm Life

    Fun and always something interesting going on. The dorms are spacious and well kept.

    Academic Rigor

    You will do fine of you study well and do assignments. The professors here are so funny and can make a boring topic interesting and interactive for all. You will learn new and interesting things that high school just don't mention to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here to get a great variety of education and most importantly to have a good time.

    In three sentences

    From a scale from one to ten, I'll give it an eight. The students that attend here make you feel welcomed and a part of the Coyote family. Not a lot of students, about less than 2000, but it is about quality and not quantity

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am a work study for campus safety and they are some really cool people. They know there are parties and whatnot going on, all they care about is that everyone is being responsible and safe. If you're too drunk to drive home, they'll happily give you a ride.

    Greek Life

    I am not a part of Greek life, so all I know is hazing is not allowed, but there are secret initiation activities of some kind.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and it is not difficult to start a new club if they don't already have what you're looking for. Boxing club is quite popular, as run by Campus Safety officers. Also most of the athletic teams have had a great season.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to study hard and get a good education but still have plenty of fun in a small community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of unusual traditions, sometimes involving nudity. The last night before fall classes started I was convinced to play a game of Rio in the Hayman field, which is ultimate frisbee in underwear. It turned out to be actually pretty fun. There's also a tradition where people run across campus in their underwear every winter when the snow first sticks.

    Bang for the buck

    I love everything about my school, except how expensive it is. I know that I'm receiving a great education here though.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun activities going on on campus, such as the quad rave we had this fall. Also, bowling night at Caldwell Bowl is once a month and there are free movie Mondays at the Nampa Reel Theatre every week. If there's nothing going on, you can always start something. People are fairly social and it's hard to get bored here.

    Food and Dining

    The food is usually pretty good, but begins to wane throughout the year. It is best on the discovery days, when prospective students are visiting. There is always a decent selection of food though, no matter what you may be in the mood for and the desserts are absolutely delicious.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm situation depends on what building you are put in. Anderson is very laid-back, but small and older. Hayman is nice and new, but pretty chaotic as there are a lot of freshmen in this dorm. Laundry is in the cost of living on campus so no need for quarters or doing your laundry at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Many may be overwhelmed by the PEAK curriculum, with one major and three minors, but you have staff advising the entire time and there is also an academic resources center where you can receive tutoring in whatever you may be struggling in. Also the staff is usually willing to help if you have questions or need them to explain something again.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do early action if you are seriously considering the college of Idaho and the deadline has not passed. Also, keep your eye open for scholarship competitions, such as the Kathryn Albertson competition. Debt is no fun!

    In three sentences

    The College of Idaho is a small, private liberal arts college with a very tight-knit community and lots of fun.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are everywhere apparently.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't have a lot of money, but want a decent education.

    Bang for the buck

    Seems to have the bang for the buck according to other reviews.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing about food and dining on their profile page. I think it said there was a cafeteria though.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure if there are dorms here, I don't remember seeing anything about dorms on their profile page.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't got a clue, however current and past students have said it is very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research, research and more research. Though I don't currently go here. I am thinking of applying.

    In three sentences

    Smart, sophisticated, pretty

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though the outside area off campus looks a little shady, on campus an officer is always within shouting distance or view, everyone is friendly and there is no reason to hold any fear.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are endless amounts of clubs to join, and new ones are made every year. There is always something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic students, liberal students, students who are up for a challenge and self-motivated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All of the freshman the first week go on a trip to get to know each other and relax and have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, C of I is one of the more expensive schools, but their academic program and challenging yet friendly atmosphere is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs around the campus and if there isn't one that interests you, students can create their own and make it an official club.

    Food and Dining

    A large all-you-can-eat banquet area with a cosy atmosphere is perfect for students who are nervous about being away from home.

    Dorm Life

    Students are allowed the option for quieter dorms. The dorms are also well kept, light, and inviting.

    Academic Rigor

    Their PEAK Curriculum in meant to prepare students for every field in the real world and give them a balanced education and increase their career and job opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in touch with them, and always keep an upbeat positive attitude. Work hard in high school and at everything you do and don't be afraid to be a little out there.

    In three sentences

    The College of Idaho has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. They are eager to help prospective students in anyway possible and they help you feel at home. Their PEAK Curriculum is unique to C of I and helps students get on the right track to a well rounded life.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to graduate in 4 years with one major and three minors, come here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They run almost naked during the first snowfall of the year.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a good price if you get a good scholarship!

    What to do for fun

    There's a bowling alley nearby that is cheaper (or free?) for college students there.

    Food and Dining

    Best food at any college I've been to, ever. They even have gluten free and it is gourmet!

    Dorm Life

    They have some really nice new dorms, and they have few enough students that everything works out.

    Academic Rigor

    They are a good school, which is hard to find in Idaho. Trust me, I've looked.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd say visit them and let them impress you. It was really great.

    In three sentences

    I have visited more than one college, but so far this one is the most impressive. C of I went above and beyond at the college visit, so hopefully they'll do the same when a student attends.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our Campus Safety is excellent, if you are anywhere you don't feel comfortable just give them a call and they will come pick you up and take you back to your dorm. In the winter if you are having car troubles then they will come and jump your car or help with whatever you need.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over 30 clubs on campus, Boxing, Campus Ministries, LGTB, Art Club, Cabaret, Cheerleading, Coyote Forensics, German Club, History Club, Ballroom Dancing, and Leisure Club are just a few of the awesome activities that C of I offers.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want a small school, where your professors know when you're not in class and will ask you about it then this is the school for you. One of the biggest classes is the Western Civilization class that all freshman are required to take and that is, on average, 40 people and then the classes just get smaller.

    Bang for the buck

    College of Idaho has and excellent faculty and fantastic classes, I definitely think that the school is well worth it. Not only do you get a quality education but you get a family at the same time, even if you don't want it because the school is so small you would be hard pressed to not get to know a lot of people.

    What to do for fun

    We have free-movie-Mondays at the Nampa Reel Theater you just go and show your C of I I.D. and you can go to any of the movie showings. Each dorm has different activities based on what the RA's and Dorm Directors decide to do.

    Food and Dining

    We have two places to eat, McCain and the Caf (aka Simplot). Both have really good food and are at a reasonable price. McCain uses coyotecash which is where you pay per item while The Caf uses a meal to get in and then it is all you can eat. As long as you don't try to get into the caf at about 12:30 it is pretty quick to get in and out, but 12:30 is the lunch rush, just like 9:10 is the breakfast rush.

    Dorm Life

    I personally love living in the dorms, there are a few problems sometimes though, quiet hours are not enforced very strongly which sometimes makes it hard to study and concentrate. Bathrooms are always a big worry, our bathrooms are kept clean and in really good order considering the use that is got out of them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fast paced and have more homework that they did high school, however they are also interesting and the teachers try to help you as much as possible. As long as you stay on top of homework, especially reading and writing the first year, then college should not be to much more difficult than high school; in fact many people find that college is easier than high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I know that it is many students first time away from their parents but honestly don't start drinking an doing drugs because you want to rebel or because you think it will make you fit in, it really just makes school harder. Instead of going to parties Friday nights grab your friends and make it a movie or game night. Also don't put off your homework till the last moment it just makes getting good grades harder and it will make college more stressful than it needs to be for you.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love this school. The administrators and professors are not just helpful, but funny and really good and making you feel comfortable especially if this is your first year there. The classes are fun and engaging and studying is one of the easiest things because there is a great support network to help you.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The location of campus it in a town that has almost nothing. However, one city over is a real theatre, and movie theatre, as well as a mall. Then a few more cities over there is the capitol of Idaho, Boise. The only fun to do on campus is hangout at local hot spots.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the best. When touring the campus one would think we students are lucky to have a buffet and so many options. Living on campus though is completely different. The people that make the food can't seem to make anything old fashioned and add a bunch of unnecessary ingredients like they think they are French chefs or something.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very community centered. Most of them have not been renovated recently therefore some of the rooms are a bit too small and the bathrooms are not upgraded. However, the lounging areas and kitchens are always full of cheer and talk.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to try in order to pass a class. The classes aren't easy but they are not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn about the PEAK program before applying. It isn't for everyone and the college website doesn't do a very good job about explaining it.

    In three sentences

    The College of Idaho is extremely diverse and excepting. There is no such thing as a minority here. The programs are wonderful.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    At first the food seems really nice but it does get old quickly so be prepared.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice and the RA's and mentors are very helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes usually have quite a bit of work to them, mostly readings to do outside of class. Most classes do challenge you so you won't have to worry about being bored or not having enough things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved.

    In three sentences

    The school is the perfect size. Variety for meals is pretty nice and Bon Appetit is the nicest place to eat in Caldwell. The professors know what they're teaching and are enthusiastic about it which makes learning fun.

  • 10/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super great. I've never not felt safe on campus. They do a great job and will even come pick you up if you feel uncomfortable at a party.

    Greek Life

    Three fraternities and four sororities. All very nice people that don't cause problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    A ridiculous number of things to do on campus. If you're bored then that is by choice.

    Great for these types of students

    Focused, outgoing, loves to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Finney fun run!!! Ask someone when you get here! Also, you have to participate in midnight ultimate Frisbee at least once (clothing discouraged).

    Bang for the buck

    Very good education and by far the best you can get in Idaho, but be prepared to pay a lot. Not just for tuition, but for your books, housing, and food as well. They offer scholarships, but they don't often cover everything.

    What to do for fun

    Caldwell does't offer much but it's close proximity to other places helps a lot. Boise is only thirty minutes away so either have a car or make friends with someone that does. Once there the possibilities are endless whether your're into music, shopping, or outdoor activities, you'll find something there.

    Food and Dining

    Great food, but a very crowded cafeteria. Plan to get there before or after the rush or before or after the teams come in. Nothing worse than getting stuck behind the soccer or football players.

    Dorm Life

    I had several bad experiences in the dorms and chose to move off of campus after freshman year. However, they do have great RA's and the dorms themselves are very nice. If you hang out with the right people you'll have a great time in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but not impossible as long as you think ahead and stay on top of it. You will receive a major and three minors and they push you and expect that you can do that in four years. With your adviser's help it will be easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved early! If you wait too late you will feel left out and not have nearly as much fun. Always do your assigned readings. They only assign things that will help you.

    In three sentences

    Academically challenging and lively campus with professors who really care.