Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

The College of New Rochelle Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adults re-entering college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unorthodox campus with traditional teaching

    Bang for the buck

    Yes affordable classes and helpful advisors

    What to do for fun

    In NY there's always something to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look forward to meeting new friends from all backgrounds and levels

    In three sentences

    The College of New Rochelle is a unique and refreshing college offering adults entering/re-entering school an alternative learning experience.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adults 21 or older

    Bang for the buck

    You get lots of credits and expereince so you're getting your money's worth

    What to do for fun

    A work study opportunity has brought lots of excitement to my college experience.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to dine in this area.

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically this school is a challenge and I love a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a working adult this school is perfect for you with great evening and day hours as well as 6 credit courses.

    In three sentences

    I love my college. It has given me the opportunity to complete my 4 year degree in 3 years with their 6 credit classes. It also has convienent hours and locations.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    THE EDUCATIONS PROGRAMS IS INTENSIVE, BUT ALSO A LOT OF FUN

    Tips for prospective students

    JUST KNOW WHAT YOU WANT TO DO BEFORE ATTENDING THIS SCHOOL, VISIT THE SCHOOL BEFORE YOU MAKE YOUR FINAL DECISION, LOOK AT THE COST AND REVIEWS OF THIS SCHOOLS

    Bang for the buck

    THE SCHOOL IS VERY EXPENSIVE FOR VERY LITTLE REASONS

    Am enjoying being here

    I ENJOY BEING AT THE COLLEGE SOMETIMES, THEIR NEEDS TO BE MORE STUDENT ACTIVITIES AND CAMPUS INVOLVEMENT.

    Am learning a lot

    i AM LEARNING A SUBSTANTIAL AMOUNT OF KNOWLEDGE FOR MY EDUCATIONAL FIELD, AS FOR MATHEMATICS, IT NEEDS A LITTLE MORE IMPROVEMENT AND EXPANSION

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Teachers,social workers, human services, Liberal Arts

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research on your school

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's...so so. The security is decent but some of the security rules are annoying.

    Greek Life

    Non existent, which is probably for the best.w

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus, and you can always make a new club by going to the student development and filling out a few forms. Some of the clubs consist of: Black-Ice step team, CNR Drama, LAWS (Latin-American Womens Society), Spectrum (Diversity club/GSA), Yearbook Staff, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    It's very diverse and you're likely to make friends with anyone. If you like small schools then this is the place to be.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot of stuff, like a free computer, free laundry, and the teachers are ALWAYs there for you. It's a small school so everyone knows you and are willing to help you if you need it.

    What to do for fun

    sporting events on campus, monthly events held by the RA's, raffles and bingo, in New Rochelle there is this place called New Roc that has laser tag, bowling, golf, and the movies. You are just a bus or train ride away from New York City, so you can do literally whatever you want.

    Food and Dining

    The caf is slowly getting better. They are extending their times and getting better food. If you ever have a complaint, seriously, tell them and they will fix it. They are always looking to improve the experience for students, they just need to know. (this goes along with anything on campus, if you voice a complaint, you WILL be heard)

    Dorm Life

    In my opinion, Ursula is the better hall (unless you are a senior living in Angela). In Ursula, there is a lounge AND kitchen (with a stove) on every floor (In Brescia it's just a small kitchen with a microwave-no stove). There are more showers with better water pressure in Ursula, and along with this is the honor's wing for honor students that includes a quiet reading room and a tech room with a separate, private printer. The RA's are kind and considerate. There are always events, but they are not always well advertised so feel free to ask around.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is tough, don't let one or two classes your freshman year fool you. You are most definitely getting an education for your money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become acquainted with student services and be open-minded to all the very diverse people you meet.

    In three sentences

    It's great, a bit expensive, but generally the Financial aid people will work with you. People say there's nothing to do, it's lies. There's lots of activities if you just ask, and you're just outside NYC.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    not appicable

    Great for these types of students

    women

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing really becuase its close to everything such as public ransportation.

    What to do for fun

    games and outting programs are available

    Tips for prospective students

    choose it

    In three sentences

    Great programs and faculty great studying environment grat diverse population

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The College of New Rochelle is BIG on safety. There is always security staff available which makes me feel very secured. Security has taken there time out for the students plenty of times. My friend had lost her car keys and the staff got together to help her find the keys which were later found by a security officer

    Clubs and Activities

    The College of New Rochelle has many clubs and activities. From fashion to art to church. The College of New Rochelle has clubs for all types of students and their hobbies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The College of New Rochelle is so beautiful around the holiday season. Every year the school decorate this gigantic tree in the middle of school and every building throughout the school, and I mean every building. The College of New Rochelle is a private catholic school so they put a huge stable with baby Jesus next to the tree. The College of New Rochelle is known for its castle building with classes are held in there at times, to me it can spooky at times. Overall, the school and location is beautiful and kept well cleaned all the time.

    What to do for fun

    The College of New Rochelle has many organizations and clubs you can join for fun, such as fashion clubs to the church choir. The College of New Rochelle has many activities and themes throughout each month for students. For example, the Strawberry Festival if a major event at the school. The College of New Rochelle is walking distance from The New Ro movie theater and bowling alley area that has tons of restaurants to go to for outings.

    Food and Dining

    Personally, I love their salad bar! The cafeteria has a variety of foods to pick from. It has food stations where you make your own dishes and eat what you want. The cafeteria staff is so helpful and polite in assisting you with anything from food to other school information you might need as a student at The College of New Rochelle.

    Dorm Life

    I can't rate because I don't live on campus, but I heard from friends they love. The rooms are small but I think that's the same for other dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The best academic studies and professors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for hard work and late night studies in the nursing program. If you are committed and determined to become a nurse you shouldn't have any problems in succeeding at this school. The tuition is very expensive so I advise students to do pre-req classes at a community college for cheaper expenses.

    In three sentences

    The College of New Rochelle has the best nursing program and professors that's there to assist you on your journey. The College of New Rochelle is affiliated with some of the best facilities for clinical rotations. If you looking for an adequate and sufficient education in nursing, The College of New Rochelle is the best choice.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Students and prospective students should note that the school does not currently support Greek Life on its campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who are determined to set their focus on their education and only that. The school does not offer many opportunities for parties and that type of function.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Government Association and Student Development work diligently in offering numerous activities and trips for students to attend. They'll arrange events in which there are trips to New York City, restaurants, school functions, and other interesting things.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining experience at the college is just above appalling. Although the administration has done much to change the experience and feel of the Food Services and its staff, the college's food and dining experience still falls short. There aren't many options for people to peruse in terms of attempting to remain healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life at The College of New Rochelle is average. There's nothing outstanding about it in that there aren't that many exciting programs executed to fit the schedules of a majority of the students. In addition, since the college is generally a woman's college, female students tend to have slightly more problems with one another. However, conflict resolution exists within the residence halls to diminish the issue of social conflict. In addition, the Resident Assistants are working hard to make sure their residents enjoy their time during the academic year.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program and other science-related majors have very rigorous curriculum. The environment at this school is ultimate conducive to those who are determined to set their focus primarily on their education. As mentioned previously, this college is not a party college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should know how to be responsible, diligent, outspoken, and become a leader when attending this college. You'll be offered many opportunities that some other colleges wouldn't be able to offer you in the area but only if you are willing to seek them out. It's a walking distance from the New Roc City and the train station which can lead you to Grand Central Terminal. Prospective students should note that while the school's environment screams studiousness, they should be aware that there are other colleges within the area to grab opportunities of partying.

    In three sentences

    The school looks beautiful from it's campuses, it's traditional architectures, and modern facilities. In addition, the school offers wonderful financial aid for the first year of enrollment. However, the college, like others, has numerous downfalls.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    not much

    Tips for prospective students

    don't go?

    In three sentences

    It was an uncomfortable environment. i didn't enjoy the living restrictions. I was not compatible with alot of the teaching styles of the professors.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is fairly safe. Security patrol the campus

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has a few clubs but not too many students who go here participate in them.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who like to be pushed and challenged.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has a castle which is very beautiful inside and out.

    Bang for the buck

    CNR teaches you how the real world works. Once you realize this, you will highly appreciate this school.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is beautiful. Studying anywhere on campus with friends is very fun. The school is located near New Rock City so there is a lot to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is tolerable. The prices are a little high which is why I usually bring food from home.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter but I here that the dorm life is not great.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very challenging. A lot of time must be spent studying to succeed here.

    Tips for prospective students

    They do not spoon feed you here. If you need help you must find it on your own. Professors are there to help and point you in the right direction, but they will not do it all for you.

    In three sentences

    CNR is a place that challenges those who wish to be challenged. The professors are excellent, and encourage students to pursue graduate and doctorate degrees. CNR is their to make you succeed.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Yes, financial aid is available for all students! It will not be put to waste.

    What to do for fun

    Students of all interests are able to participate in clubs, form clubs, and participate in the many campus events!

    Food and Dining

    Various choices of food are available. A salad bar, deli, grill, and entrees are offered to students.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are well kept and clean. Any maintenance issues are resolved quickly and your RA is available to service your needs or concerns.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on you major you will have array of classes of increasing difficulty. If Nursing is your focus, you will be challenged by a strong course load, but never without the help of faculty or peers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be quick to judge a school based on statistics. Take an afternoon to visit our campus, you will be welcomed by fellow students and your specific questions will be answered. Let your finances take 2nd priority when analyzing whether this is the school for you, let quality be 1st! Check us out: www.cnr.edu

    In three sentences

    The College of New Rochelle is a small school of great opportunity and student-centerness. Classes are small, yet the attention and help you receive from the CNR community is immense. If wisdom through a college education is your goal, than look no further, it is here!

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are places for entertainment, like bowling alleys and movie theaters that is just 5 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria offers a variety of foods from different cuisines. Also, lots of restaurants are close by, and there is a Starbucks on campus.

    Dorm Life

    It is very fun, especially once you get to know your roommate. Small campus and few residents, so a colse-knit community can be established.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what classes you take. Some of the science courses are challenging while others are not. Same goes for the art courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not hesitate to ask questions, everyone is very friendly.

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff are amongst the most friendly and welcoming. Professors go above and beyond to help their students. The College President's main goal is to have a student-centered education and community.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs on campus that I know of, like the Black Ice Step Team and the Student Nurses Association (SNA) but they could really use more of a wide variety, especially to attract commuters.

    Bang for the buck

    CNR is really expensive for no reason at all. And for nursing students, they don't allow you to take pre-requisites as summer courses at another school (i.e. a community college) and the costs for taking courses there is ridiculous. So, do as much as you can during the school year because there's really no getting ahead unless you have the extra $800.

    Food and Dining

    The food has gotten a bit healthier, but can be less expensive for what it's actually worth.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was great when I lived there, but there's not much to do unless you have lots of friends in your dorm. I did so for me it was a great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing school is tough, especially nursing 1, so be prepared. Find and make friends with people who passed so you know what to expect. Plus, the professors are always willing to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the course catalog so you are absolutely sure what courses you want to take. Make sure your essay is solid and apply for as many scholarships as possible. CNR is expensive!

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Friendly and safe security officers.

    Greek Life

    There is none, the Brooklyn Campus is too small to accommodate greek life as of yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    The staff are trying their best to start clubs and activities for the Brooklyn Campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners and Continuing students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None as of yet.

    Bang for the buck

    The brooklyn campus has a lot of potential.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the library and its resources.

    Food and Dining

    The Brooklyn Campus is too small for Food and Dining but there are great restaurants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    The Brooklyn Campus is too small for Dorm Life.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors ensure that students develop great writing skills for future careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and Time Management.

    In three sentences

    The Brooklyn Campus has a great location. The staff is very hardworking.The library has good resources.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No safety issues so far in my college career besides endless fire drills.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs but there are also alot of restrictions related to Catholic tradition

    Great for these types of students

    Great for nursing students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive

    What to do for fun

    Unlike other large universities, CNR does not have a lot of events. But there is a bonus, no distractions most of the time, you can count on that. And when you want a break and have fun, it's a short commute to nyc.

    Food and Dining

    CNR is trying to improve the quality of food service. Starbucks is new to the campus. All residents must buy the meal plan. The cafe is working to make the food selections healthier. But its not very delicious. The grill is the place where must people go for their meals.

    Dorm Life

    There is nothing much going on besides drama in the dorms. It's all girls so what really are you expecting.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, your course load is very different. Nursing program is very strict and any nursing student can tell you the story of stressful professors. Psychology and social work are the second choices are nursing students who are reconsider the path that they had chosen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before attending CNR, students should know that you financial aid package will get smaller and smaller as the year goes by. And also consider which one you want more, the real college experience or little to no distractions at CNR.

    In three sentences

    College of New Rochelle is a very small private college in a town where there is not much to do. The college is old so there's not much new buildings with things that is out of date (which is not bad that you get to learn things the old fashion way). CNR is for all religions faith but it does emphasize its Catholic tradition.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our security is very serious about the safetey of the students here, and are available 24/7. We do have room checks a few times during the year and fire drills.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a diverse range of clubs. We have student government, Cheerleading, Softball, Volleyball, Tennis, Swimming, Basketball and more. We have a club for Pyschology majors (PYSCHE), LAWS (Latin American Womens Association), a Productions Club, Campus Ministry, Gospel Choir, Black ice (Step Team), CNR Drama (famous for its productions), Spectrum ( Club to go over LGBT issues, Disease Awareness, Global issues)

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like private places to study would love our campus. There are all sorts of spots in the library, dorms, and buildings t just sit, read, and or type. Students who like to be in a group usually go to lounges.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are two smoker benches people end to hand out at whether they are smoking or not. ( I don't) And when the weather gets nice a lot of students tend to study out on the lawn. We also have Midnight breakfasts during Finals week.

    Bang for the buck

    CNR is pricy for tuition, plus room and board. And I don't really want to be taking loans out, but its alright. They give ou pretty good financial aid packages. Compared to some other schools, I'd rather a small classroom than a huge one where the professor doesn't know who I am. I don't like the heating in the Ursala building over the winter, at least in my area, I was freezing.

    What to do for fun

    There are various activities that the campus hosts. We're famous for our Strawberry Festival that happens in May of every year. We have trips, movie ticket give aways, competitive bingo nights, and more. I honestly wish we had more activites because we are a small campus.

    Food and Dining

    College od New Rochelle (CNR) actually hired a new company for 2011 2012, called CulinArt. The staff is very friendly and custom to the students. We have a sandwich station, a grill section, fresh pizza, entrees for meat lovers and vegans, a salad bar, cereal station (and waffles), soda fountain, coffee table and a snack rack with chips, nutritional snacks, granola bars and more. Some food may or may not fit your stomach, and make sure to alert the cooks of any allergies beforehand. Although, the CulinArt manager is very open to suggestions and ideas for what YOU want in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be very quiet and very lively. Around finals, everyone has their face in a book, but before breaks and the beginging of semesters music is everywhere. There is mainly women on campus so people walking around in pajamas, is common. The halls are clean, kept, and where everyone hangs out. Lounges are the popular spots for movies and shows. Our Residence Advisors also plan events for their wings. There are bigger rooms in some buildings, and smaller ones in another. Remember that!

    Academic Rigor

    This school will push you. Some courses of course are higher than others but it is college. There are requirements for degrees, but they have a great range of electives. There are TWO schools in CNR, The School for Arts and Sciences (SAS), and School of Nursing (SON). SAS is all female, SON is co ed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to visit the campus before choosing a school. Once I came to a tour I fell for the scenery and castle like buildings. Teachers are very understanding and will work with you as will faculty and staff.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small and cozy. The students are very diverse. They offer good work-study.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College of New Rochelle has different campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in a college that is centered around you than the College of New Rochelle is for you.

    In three sentences

    The foundation of this school is great. It is student centered and opened minded to the excel of each student. Professors are extremely versed.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe without feeling overburdened by campus officers' presence.

    What to do for fun

    Going to NYC is about 30-40 away on either Amtrack or MetroNorth. Driving isn't bad either.

    Food and Dining

    No complaints.

    Dorm Life

    I will be living in my own apartment off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    For my major it is demanded that I perform well. I say this because in order to get the bet career or be top choice during interview processes, you would have to excel, believe in your abilities and be confident.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus in order to experience the college and the neighborhood. Get involved with resources and talk to the different departments to get acclimated to the college.

    In three sentences

    The college is very organized, yet doesn't feel restricted. I feel comfortable and trust the staff. The college has a vast array of resources for every student and circumstance.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is in a secure neighborhood where there are all types of family around. The security goes around campus every hour and they have security cameras at the end of every streets to help watch out for danger.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a basketball team, swimming team, volleyball team as well as many others. They also have clubs like the theater club and choir. You have many options to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for catholic students because it allows them to still be able to practice their religion even if they dorm.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a castle as an office and they hold an annual Christmas gathering for incoming freshman's. It is a private catholic college so they have a church and it holds mass every Sunday.

    What to do for fun

    There is a gym if you are interested in working out. They also have a pool and basketball court. If this doesn't interest you they are but a few stops away from the big apple. You can go right down with your friends and go to the theater or just window shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is always clean and the food seems to be fresh. If you don't want food from the cafeteria there is a Starbucks on campus as well as a super market right down the block.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life seem to be quite but still fun. For those get a chance to experience it you should and for those who don't it looks like you will be missing out a lot. The dorm is quite enough to study and lively enough to enjoy yourself with friends. They seem clean and well taken care of. The heat I have heard is great because it goes to each and every room.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise it looks like it will push you till you are showing your full strength and your perseverance. You will be know your teachers and they will know you as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Campus life seems to be great and they all seem to know each other. The college is small allowing all student to know the faculty, teachers and each other better.

    In three sentences

    The college is located on a friendly, familiar, and secure location. It is clean and the food looks to be fresh. The faculty are all friendly and will answer any question you ask.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The camp is safe the security personal makes sure everyone has I'd on at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some of everything.

    Great for these types of students

    All are welcome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's NYC.. What more to say.

    Bang for the buck

    A conscientious shopper shops around.

    What to do for fun

    It's NYC..Google the fun you want be specific.

    Food and Dining

    Most campuses are locate in some very historical neighborhoods. No problem finding something for every palate

    Academic Rigor

    Not to stiff, but they expect a lot .

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to learn and you will excel at this college everything is at your finger tips.

    In three sentences

    The College of New Rochelle is a riveting. The school is easy to access with multiple campus located in NYC area. The professor are well educated.