Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

The College of Saint Rose Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like a variety of activites, sports, working, hanging out with frineds. All is possiable at the college and it dosent have to be on the campus there are many places to go and many things to do. There are many different major options and the college is compatable to any kind of need anyone may have. The college is great for a broad range of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college is in a great location you can get to anywhere from the campus, a pizza place, a grocery store, the mall is down the road. The college has a library and as a student you can use the UAlbany library. There is a bus system that you can use to get from place to place for free with your student id. So it makes transportation cheaper and easier, to go shopping or go to the mall.

    Bang for the buck

    For all incoming freshmen there is some kind of financial aid, which is helpful on ever level including deciding where you want to go. Staying on the campus is worth while if you live around the corner or across the country. The dorms are reasonably sized and they only get better as you get older. If you have a problem with your roomate they will do everything they can to make it better.They have several computer labs and technical centers and everyone is very helpful and friendly. The dinning hall is very good compared to others I've been to. There are lots of choices everyday, a salad bar, a pizza bar, an ice cream bar, a grill where they make what you want right in front of you, there is a sandwhich bar, and a buffet style area. They are very accomidating and the dinning hall is very spacious and a very relaxing setting to be in to eat, to study, or just to hang out with friends.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made alot of friends, not only with peers but with staff. Since it is a smaller school and the classes are small you get alot of one on one attention. If you need help the professors are very willing to give you the assistance you need.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned alot about myself and the path I want to take in the future. I think that being able to change your major with such ease is a major part of my success. There are so many different classes to choose from that it is easy to explore different topics. The teachers are wonderful and very helpful, they will always make time for you and help you with anything you need. It's also a great place to learn, there are so many reasources that are at your disposal.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Saint Rose is great for: -people who like getting involved in causes and improving the world -leaders -athletes -people who are serious about school but still like to have fun -those who want to try something different from what they might be used to at home (i.e. people from rural areas like me) -people who like living in a city environment -compassionate people -YOU!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Don't be swayed by the thought of alcohol and the parties you will hear about. EVERY single school in this country is a party school, but some hide it more than most. Saint Rose is a wet campus (so if you're 21 you can drink--with certain stipulations), and the apartments around the school are often dripping with alcohol, but that's not why you're here. You're here to learn, so put your studies first. 2. Get involved! There are a plethora of clubs to join and things to do, and if you don't like what you see, make one yourself! We're always open to new ideas, and it's been proven that if you are a part of a campus club, your grades are typically better, because you learn to balance your time. Plus, it's the surest way to beat boredom! 3. See what Albany has to offer. There are great concerts and music scenes, plays, art shows, and museums to check out, plus a lot of great restaurants and shops. 4. Make sure to watch your weight and exercise! Just because the Dining Hall food (which is decent compared to other schools) is all you can eat, doesn't mean that you should.

    Bang for the buck

    I won't lie, Saint Rose is expensive, especially so if you're an out-of-state student such as myself, and thus don't qualify for NY Tap aid. The scholarships offered to new students are true to what they claim, but still conservative. And, if you just miss the mark for work study, you'll probably want to find a job around the campus after your first semester or year (once you're acclimated to college life). Also, NEVER stop searching for scholarships, and don't be afraid to tell Financial Aid that you're in need of more money. They can typically find something to help out, but you're basically on your own to pay for it. That being said, as I noted above you get a fantastic education for what you *do* pay, so it is worth it. Note though that many who do not return for another semester/year do so because they cannot afford to pay.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus itself is spectacular. There's always something to do, and it's a very open campus. People of all backgrounds and beliefs (sexual, religious, etc.) are welcome, and there are a multitude of clubs and organziations to get involved in. Everything is a short walk or (free!) bus ride away, as the campus is really small and you can reach one end of the campus to the other in no more than 15 minutes (and then still be a short walk away from a grocery store, movie theater, etc.). The only downside is the general area. Albany is a large city, and it has its share of problems. For instance, at night it's hard to hear anything beyond drunk people milling about outside, but if you can withstand that and don't do anything stupid like go off on your own after a reasonable hour, you'll be fine. Security and the Albany Police patrol the area a lot, and at Orientation they give you their numbers so you can contact them for an escort or emergency. Saint Rose is truly the oasis people look for, and it is reflected in the beautiful landscaping and care taken by the employees.

    Am learning a lot

    My high school guidance counselor, on one of our last visits, asked why I did not apply to any reach schools--turns out Saint Rose was one of them! Saint Rose is known for its education, music, art/graphic design and communication sciences and disorders (CSD) programs, but it is making leaps in business, computer science, and communications as well. Education majors especially (such as myself) have it really tough, as you are truly a double major, and must be able to handle the work that comes along with it. Be prepared to become a full history scholar as well as an educator--many who come do not know this, and thus drop the program because they cannot handle the work. Even phys. ed. classes have a substantial amount of work attached to them, so if you're willing to put in your best effort in, this is the school for you!

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for Students who want to be a big fish in a little pond. For those who want their professors to know their names and not just be another statistic. for those who like small schools who are like families.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go the the EAC and check out all of the different posters hanging on the walls and attend something, make new friends. Also, keep your room door open & if someone walks by say hey! They are new too and looking to make friends. Find your place on campus through one of the clubs! You will have a great time at Saint Rose

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that this College is pretty expensive, which is what led me to cappex in the first place. I moved off campus, but walking distance because i dont drive & the winters are harsh. My mom pays 10,000 dollars out of pocket and i have taken on some loans. I think tuition is about 28,000 a year. I love the English department but i am not sure if i can stay all four years

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes i do enjoy being here because the campus is like a community. You will not be easily 'lost in the sauce' like in some of the surrounding schools. Also, unless you have a teacher who does not have an on campus office, it is very easy to speak with your professors one one one.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot at this college. I just completed my first semester and my program did not only include classes for my English major but also criminal justice classes, a Chinese language class, and and ethics and values class. I cannot wait until next year.

  • 05/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved in a team, group, or club around campus. Make as many friends as possible. Stay active.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the college is fairly expensive, the experience and personal touch of the school is well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    St. Rose is a school that is heavily involved in the community and encourages students to get involved around campus or around Albany. The small campus makes everything personal and makes it easier to become a part of something, rather than keeping to yourself in your room.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are challenging and, for the most part, the professors care about the subject matter and get to know the students because of the small class sizes.

  • 11/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who likes to get involved on campus. This school is great for those who like to do things and adventure both on campus and off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus- its that simple. It took my three times on campus to realize Saint Rose was right for me, but now that I am here I love it.

    Bang for the buck

    The scholarships are great and if you made an attempt in high school chances are you'll get one. This school was way cheaper than any of the others I was looking at (12 mostly in Boston) and because of this I can say that I am getting a great bang for my buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE my school and am having a great time here. Being from MA I did not know if I would like being far away but it is great. I love that there is always something to do, always someone to hangout with, and I never find myself doing the same thing over and over again.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like my teachers all have a different approach to teaching yet they all work. I feel I am not only learning in major classes but in my electives as well.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Saint Rose is a really good college for students of basically any major, yet focuses mainly on music majors and education majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved in as many activities and clubs as you can. You will meet so many more people and the experience will be well worth it. You learn leadership and are given the chance to do things you never will have pictured yourself doing if you take the time to become involved.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is pretty high to go to St. Rose. At times it is difficult to figure out why we pay so much to go there. The food is decent considering it is a college. We pay the activities fee so participate in as many of the events offered on campus as you want to considering you are already paying for it. The level of academics is pretty decent considering what you pay, the professors are really good and the housing is decent, and with the new addition of Centennial Hall opening in 2012, there are more places available to live.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is so friendly and helpful. We have the chance to meet many new people from different campus wide events. Nearly every other week there is a campus wide event put on by a different club. The Student Association has many ways for every student to be involved so we spend a good majority of our time participating in many different types of events. The faculty enjoys being involved with us so they show up at many of the events as well. Also nearly all the sporting events are free to the students so we are able to go and support our fellow classmates.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are extremely helpful. Every class that I have the professors are willing to help me whenever I need it. Many times I have struggled with trying to process the information, yet my professors are willing to go over the information again before the tests and quizzes to make sure we know the information. They also set up ways that we have to apply the information to real life instances. I feel well prepared for the circumstances I may have to face in my future.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The College of Saint Rose can meet the needs of almost any type of college student. There is no defined type of person. I believe this college is for anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important tip, in my opinion, is actually wanting to go to college. If your heart isn't truly set on going to college than you need to think about what you want to do in life. College is a lot of money and takes up a lot of time. If you aren't truly in it than you might waste your time and a lot of your money. College is not like high school. You need to work and focus a lot harder. You need very good time management. You also need to figure out main priorities as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Being that Saint Rose is a private Catholic school it is on the expensive side. I feel that you are certainly getting your moneys worth when you go here. College is something you definitely have to want and have to fight for. Although going to Saint Rose is extremely expensive I am working hard and fighting to stay at this school because I like this school a lot. At this point in time price doesn't matter to me as much, I just would like to complete my education. I am willing to pay this much because I feel that Saint Rose can provide me with the education I need to head out into the workforce.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being away at college. I think its an extremely great experience and I don't regret my decision at all. I'm extremely glad with my decision. Saint Rose is far enough away where I feel freedom from my parents, but close enough where if I ever needed to go home I could. I admit that Albany's unpredictable weather changes is something to adapt to, but I don't mind at all. The atmosphere around Saint Rose is friendly and very community based. People are really nice and polite and always looking out for other people.

    Am learning a lot

    I gave the College of Saint Rose a four star rating because I feel that I am learning a lot of material from being here. Saint Rose is a small, very community oriented school. They focus on the students needs and are focused on getting to know their students. The students arent looked at as numbers, but as actually people. I've only completed my first semester, but I absolutely love the College of Saint Rose. Most of the professors I had first semester were extremely nice and always willing to provide help when needed. They were always available whenever I needed help and they took time out of their day to make sure I fully understood the topics we were learning. They were also very easy to talk to and showed a love of teaching. They expressed learning in their own individual ways which never made it dull or boring.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is taken very seriously at Saint Rose. Being that a couple buildings are off campus, the college has a safe corridor program, which gives you streets to walk home along. Campus safety also encourages students walking alone to have one of the security officers escort them wherever they may be going. While in a safe part of Albany, not every stranger on the street is part of Saint Rose.

    Clubs and Activities

    As stated above, Saint Rose has tons of clubs and activities. One of which I'm involved in is the school newspaper.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with passion for what they do. Saint Rose is a school for those that have big dreams and want to work hard to make them happen. Also great if you love extracurriculars, Saint Rose has an extensive choice of clubs and activities to get involved in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rose Rock! The college of Saint Rose's Activities office makes sure there is always plenty to do, and one of these traditions is Rose Rock, where many bands, locally and that travel come to hold a concert on the campus quad. During Rose Rock there's a lot of good food and music, and t-shirts you can buy. The bands often set up tables when they aren't playing too, so you can meet and greet.

    Bang for the buck

    For the expenses, its well managed. The college maintains its grounds and so on fairly well, and they even just built a new school of business building across from the main campus.

    What to do for fun

    There's a number of bars, clubs and restaurants in the area, some of which you may need to take the bus to get to. There is also Crossgates Mall. Being that its a city area, basically everything you would need or look for can be found somewhere.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is usually pretty good for the most part, but it has not so phenomenal days. I feel that, for the money each student spends, and the quality of the food most days, its good. One thing I will definitely say is that they have amazing deserts.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good. There's 2 halls, which are fairly standard, and then there are numbers of small houses that students can live in if they transfer into Saint Rose, or after their freshman year is up. Many of the houses are luxurious to walk into much less look at because most of them are very old, with dark wood and so on. The nuns used to live in them years ago.

    Academic Rigor

    I give it 5 stars, because all of the classes I have taken and have signed up for in the fall are challenging. As per usual, depending on the professor some classes may take more involvement than others, but the program I'm enrolled in is one of the top as well, so that is to be expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Perseverance and determination. Both myself and fellow students have come to see that not only the teachers expect you to show your passionate and devoted to your studies and future, but so are the offices. That said, if you ask any office a question and someone doesn't answer it to your expectations, find another employee to ask. Saint Rose has a very helpful staff and faculty.

    In three sentences

    The College of Saint Rose is a college of its motto, 'Passion knowledge and purpose'. P.K.P for short, the motto defines both the college, its students, as well as the effort put forth by both the college and its students. Saint Rose makes much possible, while at the same time constantly challenging you to improve.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always security on campus. Emails are always sent to keep students and faculty well informed about what is goin on on campus and in the neighborhood and how to keep yourself protected.

    Clubs and Activities

    In every Degree program there are clubs and activites. opportunities for you to meet fellow students who share your same passions.

    Great for these types of students

    Musicians and Teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school so in Music for example you have one on one instruction with an applied teacher for your instrument be it voice, wind instrument, guitar or piano. Then you attend Repertoire Class with other students for the same instrument and everyone has to perform in this class setting. Awesome!!!!!. This is mandatory every semester until you graduate.

    What to do for fun

    You can attend concerts, open mic nights, athletics games.

    Food and Dining

    A variety of food for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    The students I know that live on campus seem very happy and comfortable. I donot hear complaints.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with a Positive and Focused attitude and have an open mind.

    In three sentences

    Amazing School. Amazing Faculty. Amazing Academic Programs.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards will escort you anywhere you want on campus so you'll definitely feel safe.

    Greek Life

    There is none :( But you can join SUNY Albany's if you really must.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely think Saint Rose is worth the old college try.

    What to do for fun

    Oh, there's so much. Midknight Madness is a pep rally that kicks of the basketball season for men and women. It's so fun. They have performances by the step team, cheerleaders, dance team and more. They show movies regularly in Saint Joseph Hall, like Ted and The Avengers, for free. You have the ALANA Steppers, intramurals, division two soccer, basketball and more, stuntmen association, and too many other clubs and activities to name.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food is kind of good at first. But if you're served the same thing basically every day, it gets old. There's a little mini restaurant called Camelot, but it's essentially the same. And if you're willing to make the journey to Centennial Hall to get to the POD, you're not going to see much difference.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, it just depends on who you are. At Saint Rose, you get two options of freshman dorms: Brubacher and Lima Halls. Lima is right on campus. It has five floors but only the first floor is for guys. So if you like being around tons of girls, by all means choose Lima. Lima is also more chill and quiet. Not so much activity. Also, music majors tend to live there. If you like that kind of thing, choose Lima. Brubacher, on the other hand, is more social. I live in Bru and it has been interesting, to say the least. There's three floors, and it has a male and female wing. I'm not sure why, but people are just more close knit here. Actually, I may know why. People who live in Bru tend to stay inside more often than not because it's about ten minutes away from the main campus. It's actually a building that Saint Rose rents from SUNY Albany. Despite this, it is worth the walk to get there. Lima has a kitchen, but Bru has a cafe and a hang out area called the Knight's Lounge.

    Academic Rigor

    I was challenged with the work load. A lot of it was online so it helped me improve on my personal responsibility. You get no reminders on submitting assignments before a certain time, and I definitely learned from my carelessness. Each professor has a specific teaching style and once you learn how to adjust yourself to it, you'll be okay.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application in as soon as possible. Their admission is on a rolling basis but you'll definitely have more of a say where you want to dorm is you apply early. Campus tours are a must. Saint Rose is beautiful but not for everyone. Get to know some students on the college's Facebook page. They definitely helped me make an informed decision about attending Saint Rose. Everyone has a rough first semester. Don't count Saint Rose out just because you didn't do as well as you hoped the first time. Their academic support is definitely helpful as well as other resources like the counseling center, should you be having a bad day.

    In three sentences

    If you like small, individualized classes, then Saint Rose is the place for you. They have a wide variety of opportunities to get involved on campus. You're bound to make friends here that will become your family away from home.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One can feel extremely safe on campus. There are always alert security guards walking around campus and guarding the dorms. Not only do they do their job well, most of them are quite friendly. However, when walking on the outskirts of campus, one has to just be wise and never walk alone. Security is available to escort you wherever, if you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life Is Very Rare On Campus. There is no sign of any fraternities or sororities on campus. However, the lack of Greek life does not take away from the liveliness of campus and availability of activities to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. It's not always superb, but it is not bad. It has its days where the variety is great, especially when parents and other visitors come. Most do not finish the meals of their meal plan by the end of the semester. The college also offers other options such as a burger store, a convenience store for common food and goods, etc. Most kids will miss their food from home, so appreciate what you have now!

    Dorm Life

    The housing is not your average looking dorm. When I first visited the campus, I was fascinated to see that the dorms look like older houses renovated. You can tell there is much history behind these houses. The two major freshman houses are very different. Bru hall is very large but very old. It is like a mansion that needs much fixing. A downfall is that is not a close to campus as most students will like. Lima hall on the other hand is near the campus green and much more recent in structure and technology. However, there are fewer students and way more girls than boys that live there(one floor of boys to four floor of girls). The good thing is that dorms are kept clean and in good condition!

    Academic Rigor

    Classroom settings are ideal for having a average to good relationship with your professor. Most classrooms have about 20 to 30 people in average. The professors I have had so far seem to enjoy their topics, which means that students have to work harder to pay attention and be on top of their work. One should expect to have a good work ethic, because the majority of the classes seem to not be easy to pass. There will be all-nighters, struggles, and lots of tutoring.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Blue Safety Light Boxes really keep you safe. Security guards also walk around campus and hold entrance to the freshman dorms at all times

    Greek Life

    No Greek life here :( UAlbany does have the Greek life whihc is present in downtown Albany. Just hit up a frat house basically any night of the week to see what goes on.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many on-campus activities and clubs: student association, many sports teams, Girls Next Door singing group, faith based group, yoga, church services, honor societies, school store

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for new relationships, those looking to get involved, those looking for small class sizes and personalized attention from most teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They toilet paper a huge tree on campus on Halloween. Any residents who are written up that night for drunken shenanigans have to pick up all the toilet paper the next morning. Ouch. There is also a really cool thin over by the Massry Building. You stand in the center of this circle, and speak. Go check it out.

    Bang for the buck

    Too expensive!! Everyone should be able to go to school for practically free in my opinion, just pay the teachers salaries and basic building upkeep. Don't get me wrong, I did get aid from the school, but i still have many loans out in my name.

    What to do for fun

    Movies, party downtown, walk through the park, Lark Fest, museums, capital buildings, coffee houses, mall, community involvement, school sponsored events, Times Union Center, Alive at 5

    Food and Dining

    Some of the food is great, some needs work. This is usually the case everywhere. Keep some healthy and not so healthy food in your room. Never know what will you will be craving or when you will get hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a bit strict with drinking, that's why I got an off-campus apartment. They are also cheaper. I am also not into girls running around the dorms yelling and carrying on. I also enjoy not having to walk five minutes in the snow just to get some breakfast.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the Business program here at the College. Most of my classes have been moderate in difficulty. Some exceptions were statistics, economics, and college algebra which I found to be more difficult. This really depends on what teachers you get and how hard you are willing to work. One class I really enjoyed was accounting.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know much about any colleges, look around. This school is great for those looking to meet new lifelong friends and for those looking to become involved in the school and the greater community. Stick to a dorm the first year; it sucks a little but you will want to meet all the people you can. Then look for an apartment with people who you met the first year. They are a lot cheaper than living on campus and paying for a meal plan. The added freedom is great too.

    In three sentences

    Great school with small class sizes and high community as well as school involvement. Most teachers here are great but there are always a few that slip through the cracks. Albany is a great environment for attending school as well as engaging in social activities.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to the movie theatre that is right down the road.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than most schools which is a plus.

    Dorm Life

    Live at home so I have no idea.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is fairly easy and no one should feel its impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take every class serious.

    In three sentences

    This school is the prefect size for anyone. The programs are very good. Everyone makes you feel comfortable.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year on hyalloweeen at 12am. everyone runs out of their dorms and teepess the large tree in the cente rof campus.

    What to do for fun

    albany is in the capital region so it is somewhat of a busines town that closes early for city living but there are plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. if you like the party/club scene that is kind of difficult to find out here.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the commuter lounge is very good but of course it is expensive as well.

    Academic Rigor

    graduate school is of course very taxing but the pofessors make themselves very available to you and are there to help with any problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    when you go on the interview just be yourself. the faculty is really trying to get a fit for who you are and how you will acclimate to the campus. they want genuine answers not textbook quotes that have been memorized.

    In three sentences

    the intimate campus setting is very inviting and you do not get the feeling that you are lost on campus. the professors make themselves available and really have a vested interest in your education. this is a great school and i am proud to be a graduate student here.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    on campus there are many activities that go on that you can participate in and even if you're not involved there is plenty to do in the city.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is like every other college they have bad days and good days. there are always a variety of options but whether or not the food is healthy or good is all based on your opinion.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is very interactive and people are more open as a freshman but as you move into houses for your dorm people tend to stick to their own groups and it gets harder to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    since i have been here i believe that the academics have become harder and more challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    the classes are small but are geared towards making sure everyone succeeds with various resources such as tutoring, study sessions, and teacher to student relationships.

    In three sentences

    it is a small liberal education school. the teacher and staff spend time to get to know you and help you succeed. the school environment is very friendly and welcoming.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    blue lights everwhere

    Clubs and Activities

    there are lots of clubs, but finding time for them is difficult. studies come first. i was in the dance club, loved it but could not make it at the times they met.

    Great for these types of students

    great if you have parents paying, or if you are in a field where you are confident you will make the money to pay back your education. if you like a small campus and smaller classes with great professors this is the school.

    Bang for the buck

    i am paying my own way so i think it is very exspensive but they have such a good ruputation that i wanted to get my degree from a school live this. i will be in debt till the day i die, but want that degree from saint rose.

    What to do for fun

    there are tons of things in albany to do, museums, theaters, clubs, malls and the shcool has activities all the time.

    Food and Dining

    food is not too bad but again very exspensive.

    Dorm Life

    too exspensive and too small

    Academic Rigor

    it is very challenging. leave plenty of time to study and don't miss classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    living off campus is much cheaper, however apartments are dumpy.

    In three sentences

    class sizes are comfortable, professors are interesting and most are entertaining, great location

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    friendly, outgoing, community service oriented.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    teepee the tree every year at midnight on halloween.

    What to do for fun

    free movies, poetry night, open mic, fashion show, comedians, and many clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the school and take advantages of events and programs such as the overnight visit and accepted students day.

    In three sentences

    the classroom sizes are very small. students and faculty are very helpful and welcoming. the campus is beautiful and is always improving.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    we took a tour of the cafeteria. there are many food choices and it was clean, plenty of room for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    again, i do not attend as of yet but, it seems there are many activities to get involved in. this school is in the heart of albany, i'm sure there is plenty to do.

    Academic Rigor

    i do not go to the school as of yet. i will be applying in october 2012. i know they have a 3/3 program which is a co-program with albany law school. i'm sure its a tough rigorious program, but i think i'm going to give it a try.

    Tips for prospective students

    go for a visit and speak to an admissions counselor. the campus has a nice feel to it. everyone knows everyone and they make you feel welcome. seems to be a good place to get an education.

    In three sentences

    this college has small class sizes which is what i'm looking for. the buildings are updated and clean. there are many programs to choose from, something for everyone!

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You are in the Capital of New York, there is plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    Horrible.

    Dorm Life

    Too expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active to meet friends.

    In three sentences

    Hard for transfer students because you spend an extra semester.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There isn;t any, the one thing that it's lacking.

    Clubs and Activities

    The ALANA Steppers and Spectrum

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    TPing the big tree on Halloween has been fun, Rose Rock before it was held inside was great.

    What to do for fun

    Basketball Games and the ALANA Steppers have always been all time favorites.

    Food and Dining

    Dining Hall food I don't trust it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are alright 302 Western has been the off campus cool house to live in, Alumni Hall for the A/C on those hot days.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Private schools are expensive period. Yet, Saint Rose strikes a nice balance. Overall a good education.

    What to do for fun

    Albany rocks! It's really an up and coming city with a lot to do. As the center of NYS politics, the city has a lot for those interest in government. Also a new bustling arts scene.

    Food and Dining

    Meh, it's alright.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are plentiful and nice. I liked my single.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the school you're involved in, the rigor can change.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check your ability to afford a private four-year college. It is tough to make it through! Saint Rose has a great humanities, and Education programs.

    In three sentences

    Saint Rose is a great place to come for a small and inclusive college environment.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ALANA STEPPERS!!!!

    Food and Dining

    It's not your mother's cooking, but it will make you appreciate homecooked meals so much more.

    Dorm Life

    Live in Lima as a freshman, not Bru. The housing process is terrible.

    Academic Rigor

    Great education!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you like the surrounding area and go to every on campus event possible.

    In three sentences

    I love the College of Saint Rose! I'll admit, at first, it wasnt my favorite place to be, but now I see how much I have grown there. They have the best education and community like nowhere else!

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Its in the city of Albany there is plenty to do.

    Dorm Life

    too expensive but nice that it is all apartment style in houses

    Academic Rigor

    My program requires a minimum of a B in any course for it to count and if I obtain an F I am dropped from the program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not live on campus, it is extremely expensive. Look around for an apartment.

    In three sentences

    Great education as they update their programs to keep with current research. Helpful in having students be successful not only in school but in their career. Great location!

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel VERY safe at Saint Rose! Even in a city, campus is kept safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    All it takes is some participation, and you can surely find something that suits you.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is...expensive. I know, I know, so is every other college, but yes- this one for sure.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are safe and comfy.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college is so great about safety. They have people on patrol 24/7 and the college security is always ready to take a call and help someone even if its just to accompany them in a walk across campus. It really makes the college feel like a safe haven.

    Bang for the buck

    Since The College of Saint Rose is a private school, it is quite expensive but you wont be wasting your money. The college uses their money to buy new resources for their students and accommodate important needs. They also use their money to make the school better for their students, giving them a nice learning environment and nice living situations.

    What to do for fun

    It's Albany! There is always so much to do. The malls are less than ten minutes away. Movie theaters as well. Clubs, especially if you're of age then there is more clubs and bars you can attend, right in walking distance! The college has a very nice fitness center, if you love working out and there is usually always some event going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is much better here than at most places you see. They give you quite a variety to choose from during each meal. The only thing is that there are time constraints so when you get those It's two a.m., I need a snack days its good to stock up on snacks for your room.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are actually quite nice! I enjoyed where I was placed my first semester there. Like other colleges there are basic buildings with dorm rooms but also, Saint Rose has rented/bought houses along the premises that they have created into dorms. It really makes you feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not easy. Some of them you may have to dedicate your semester to. Although other classes you may find fairly easy, I think it just depends on your own perspective. The classes are here to challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a comfortable environment with classes that will push you to do your best, you have found it. Join all and any classes you find appealing because you will not regret them. Try new clubs or even join some, this way you get to meet many new people and learn new things as well. Always ask your teachers for help. The professors are there to make YOU successful; they want to help.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely fell in love with The College of Saint Rose. It's like a small community of people who are kind as well as devoted to their studies. The school is a wonderful place to be, I recommend applying!

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    everything is in Albany....

    Food and Dining

    There is a Starbucks restaurant on campus

    Academic Rigor

    There is no easy A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work Harder!

    In three sentences

    Many doctorate level professors. The college offers small class sizes. Great technology on-campus.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college of saint rose offers many club opportunities and many sports. Yes its in the city of Albany but even then there's so much to do within the campus. They offer yoga classes and they have an indoor gym where people can workout.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips would be consider this college it is a very friendly atmosphere as well as having exceptional classes. The campus is beautiful and I am sure many will like it, the people are very friendly and open.

    In three sentences

    The College of Saint Rose is ambitious in what they stand for, they teach great morals. The college is beautiful its campus is natural and friendly. They offer many opportunities for one to succeed in anything they want.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although it is a small, open campus nothing bad ever goes on around there and if something was to happen they have security and call towers posted around the campus to alert if anything bad to go on day or not. There are also escort services and other things available to students for safety as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    ALANA Is Leadership is a great club for people just starting out at school and those who are interested in diversity and being a leader. There are also teams, Student Association, step teams, and enough for everybody.

    What to do for fun

    Theres alot that goes on on campus that you and your friends can be a part of. There are two malls just a bus ride away plus theres several movie theatres and even a laser tag place that you can go to. You have a bunch of options.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is fantastic and the others locations to eat are great too. With cooks, wrap stations, and a grill station theres alot to choose from for your three meals.

    Dorm Life

    Living with a roommate(s) can be a pain sometime but its a fun time too you're close to everyone so you get to meet and make alot of friends in such a short time.

    Academic Rigor

    As a Biology major I can easily say that the classes are pretty tough but for the most part fun. I've only taken a few general elective courses but they as well were challenging and fun to be a part of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on top of yourself with your work and time management. There's so much going on on the campus that sometimes you can just lose yourself in it all.

    In three sentences

    The college is a great place. It's small so you get to meet and know everyone. Classes are tough but that just means the teacher's are really good.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Rich ones.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Best location is the green and starbucks.

    Bang for the buck

    Love the school hate the price tag. I will be paying for the rest of my life.

    What to do for fun

    Washington Park always has something going on. The malls are good. Lots of restaurants. Movie theater is right across the street from college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have to pay your own way pick a different school. If someone else is paying it is a great school.

    In three sentences

    I love the teachers here at Saint Rose. The classes are challanging and usally pretty interesting. The tuition is outrageous and they don't give a hole lot of aide.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    JOIN CLUBS. This is a way for everyone to network, and also have FUN. Clubs range from BASIC ( Brothers and Sisters in Christ) to ALANA Step Team (Under the Alana-Spectrum Leadership) to even Karate Club. And if there's not a club you're interested in on our very long club roster... You can create any club that you like!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year during the spring Saint Rose has Rose Rock. This is where local bands and groups from school and as well from around the area gather on the green to enjoy music all day long. This event is what everyone looks forward to--even if you're not interested in rock music.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Association each month prepares different events for underclassmen to attend. Whether it be to see broadway plays in Manhattan New York, or to go Roller skating at the local Rink. There is a little bit for everyone to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    Saint Rose Offers you everything when it comes to food. In the main dinning room you have a choice to choose from the live action station (where they prepare specific specials of the day) Deli (can make any sandwich or wrap you like!), hot prepared meals the grill (burgers!), and the pizza station (all different kinds of pizza). And in the second dinning area (Camelot and Starbucks) you can receive wraps, salads, drinks, any grilled food that you could possibly think of.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is extremely FUN. Underclassmen have two choices of dorms to live in (Lima or Bru). Upperclassman has the choice to live in Suites (Centennial or Alumni) or upperclassman houses. Seniors have the choice of living in Senior Apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic intensity can be no walk in the park. But not to worry, teachers fully prepare you to handle class material and also offer extra help. With the help of the Academic Support Center, faculty pairs you with students who can break down, and help you to understand class material even more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Saint Rose has a little bit of everything to offer. From Degrees in Music Industry to Pre-Med Degrees you can find comfort in knowing there is something here for you. What is special about saint Rose are the class sizes. They are small to help you interact, learn, and connect better with your professors other than at large universities.

    In three sentences

    The College of Saint Rose is a home away from home for me. With loving and helpful faculty and staff, they encourage and help you to become the best professional you can be. Saint Rose, teaches you to persevere for your goals, and prepares us as young adults to enter the real world.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have the blue-light system and Security is always around if you need them.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities. Tons of clubs though

    Clubs and Activities

    They have everything!!

    Great for these types of students

    *Want to try new things and meet new people *All types of personalities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    *Rose Rock *Rock N' Bowl *The Quad

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah. It's not as expensive as other private schools.

    What to do for fun

    Take part in the activities that the school offers

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat!

    Dorm Life

    Pretty nice. Simple rooms. If something ever goes wrong the RAs are cool and know what to do

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers seem to want to challenge you, which is their job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit the school and try to go to all the events: open house, overnight visit, accepted student day, etc. All the events are for your benefit.

    In three sentences

    This school made me feel right at home. I was given a warm welcome from people who didn't even know me. Everyone seems to really care about you

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Saint Rose creates young professionals, strong leadership abilities, and responsible students. The teachers here are in the field, and this allows for a better hands on experience. Learning from someone with lots of background and foundation allows for a better learning environment.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety can be improved. The people in that specific area of Albany aren't the best. Security is always on call and seek to keep students out of danger, and they're always doing a good job.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs but some that come to mind are: -Student Events Board: This club constantly creates and organizes events for the school and the activities that were mentioned earlier for students to enjoy. -Golden Notes: They're a great singing group that performs throughout events that go on around campus. -ALANA Steppers: They're a step team that looks to increase diversity and also performs around campus. -Social Work: These students are interested in Social Work and use this club to gain experience and fund raise for different causes. -LGBTQ: This club raises awareness on Lesbian, Gay, Bi, Transgender, Queer issues. -BASIC: Brothers and sisters in Christ. -G4G: Girls for God is an all girls club that discuss issues of women and being religious. They go around campus making it a better place.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for somebody who is still unsure about what they want to major because they have an exploratory major as an option. It is technically undecided but it helps put the student into a wide variety of classes to help the choose a major. It is great for somebody who enjoys attending a small school, this school is smaller than most and faces are definitely familiar. It is also great for somebody who likes to explore their creative abilities whether it is art, music, film, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has a yearly Reach out Saint Rose day, which is a day for all students (if they want) to volunteer at many different locations around Albany to do community service. Since the music program at Saint Rose is a big thing they have open mic's every month and concerts occasionally as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, Saint Rose is a great school. They're pretty big on giving back to the community, so they constantly have community service opportunities. They're really big on diversity as well, they'll have ceremonies and events that appreciate diversity. They like to hear the voice of students, not many colleges are big on that. To earn a great experience here you have to be involved.

    What to do for fun

    As I said before, if you live on campus the RA's have an activity every month. Certain clubs usually plan campus-wide activities that are pretty fun. If you're a party person SUNY Albany is just a bus ride away and they are constantly having pep rallies, poetry slams, and homecoming. You can join an intramural sports team or even attend Saint Rose sports games.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Saint Rose can definitely be improved. Sometimes they have some really good meals but nothing beats homemade meals in my opinion.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is really fun, it is what ultimately creates a great college experience. The RA's have monthly activities and the security guards are friendly. You feel safe in the dormitories at Saint Rose. It is the ultimate way to meet new people and make sure you're always entertained.

    Academic Rigor

    If you excelled in a certain field while in high school, many of the basic courses are probably things you've already learned. As an English major they provided a variety of English classes for me, which were very rigorous. The professors are really there to answer any questions you have though.

    Tips for prospective students

    A piece of advice I would give for prospective students is to really take advantage of every opportunity that the school offers. the faculty and tutoring programs really look out for students and their main priority is that all students are excelling and earning the help they need.

    In three sentences

    The College of Saint Rose is a school where you can feel easily at home. The student to professor ratio is perfect if you are interested in small classes and one on one attention. There is a variety of interesting opportunities from the study abroad program to the clubs on campus. The school is wonderful all around.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The 24 hour security escorts are great! This makes people feel safe wherever they're going.

    Clubs and Activities

    I enjoy going to all the little activities. They have musicals, stand up comedies, treasure hunts, magic shows, and more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition I enjoyed attending, was on halloween. The school actually allowed us to throw toilet tissue on the trees on campus. That was my first time doing that, and I can say I enjoyed it.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great school, academically and socially. You will have a lot of fun there and would not regret attending that school.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of evets, and the sports games are also fun to go to. A few of the events include, musicals, stand up comedies, and plays.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is one place that I can say I love about our school,compared to other schools. We have multiple chefs to cook our dishes, however we want them. We have many cafes where you can order or buy whatever your craving.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm is one of the greatest part about being in college. You meet a lot of people, and grow to love living on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great! There aren't many students in the classes, which helps students get more one on one time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Saint Rose is a small school, but once you get used to it, I'm sure you will enjoy it there.

    In three sentences

    The College of Saint Rose is a great college. I love the area, in Albany, which is great because it is the capital of New York. The people in the college are friendly, and so are the professors.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of things to do fro fun at the College of Saint Rose. From the Athletics to the Fashion shows to the summer activities they have, you will never be bored. The school has many people that are so welcoming and throws many events so that you won't be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright; it's not the best but it is edible. The dining could be better when it comes to the eating tools but it is a good environment. Very spacious and welcoming, the dining hall is where you can go to get good food and have good conversations.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the best! Being a dorm gives you a sense of independence and will help you grow to be an adult. Dorm life is just like having your own apartment; you have to take care of it, manage it, keep it clean and presentable but at the same time, you can have whoever you want over and do as you please because you pay for it.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is not strict at all. However, the professors play no games when it comes to the work you are obligated to do. They are nice but do not take that for granted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the best you can when you get to this school because the professors test your skills and knowledge. Saint Rose is a place where they help you to exceed. They are there to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    The school is a great place with great people. It has the best atmosphere and the area is so comforting. Saint Rose has so much to offer people.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great education school. They offer Master's Degrees as well as Bachelors.

    In three sentences

    The grounds are beautiful. I love how the campus is spread out yet everything is within walking distance of the rest. In the heart of the town, and very lively.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Decent dinning and several options.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a large campus

    In three sentences

    Small welcoming environment with a hands on approach to learning.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police department is about a block or two away and there is also campus police so while there is violence it could be much worse

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Good amount of stuff with a large variety. Lots of involvement.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students as long as you are willing to do your work. If you don't do work then there is going to be a problem. Also it is supposed to be a dry and smoke free campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Picotte hall is where the art students do a lot of their work but it is about a five minute shuttle ride from everything else on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out. Go to one of the malls. Sports. Go to the movies. Your in a city. All the normal city stuff

    Food and Dining

    Good selection. Good employees. Quality at times needs work but they also have their strong moments.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in brubacher hall which was pretty good. It gets brutally hot in the fall and spring but your in shorts and a Tshirt while your inside during winter which is nice. In the basement there is a little cafe thing so you don't need to leave the dorm if you don't want for meals. It's not open on the weekends though.

    Academic Rigor

    Good amount of work to do but it is manageable. Think I only had one class where the homework had nothing to do with the class work/was not gone over or used in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have the option of doing a pathways program. Definitely do it. It allows you to move in three days before the rest of the school so you can avoid the craziness of that but mostly you get a leg up on everyone else because you will know a good amount of people by the time school starts. I did the adventure one and I had a great time and met some good people

    In three sentences

    I am from a country town so one of the main reasons I came here was it was not a big city but wasn't country either; it has a good amount of stuff to do compared to what I am used to. It is also rather small which I like and leads to a lot of close groups of people. Overall it has pretty good academics, sports, and faculty but the food quality could use some work.

  • 08/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is constant security patrols 24 hours a day and the security officers are always there for anything you might need, even if it is just to walk with you to your car late at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for just about everything and if you don't see the club you want you can always start your own club, it is really as easy as that.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for here

    What to do for fun

    It is located in the heart of Albany, there is stuff to do all over and the school always holds greats events like concerts and comedy shows.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and there are many options for everyone, plus there is some many great restaurants around the area if you do not want to eat at the school.

    Dorm Life

    Your always going to meet great people in and out of the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fun and challenging at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only thing I can say to any incoming Freshman or prospective students is that this is a great school to be at and everyone here can easy be the nicest bunch of people you'll ever meet.

    In three sentences

    This is an amazing school with many great people. The area is perfect for anyone who wants a little bit of city life around them. Most importantly, the teachers/faculty here are always willing to go above and beyond to help out there students in any way shape or form.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students tee-pee the campus tree on cabbage night

    What to do for fun

    Find a friends room to hang out with. Go to the mall or Washington park. But never go anywhere alone.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good but it is improving. A few years ago there were pretty much no options for vegetarians and now there are a good amount of options.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is amazing. You live with people that you like but it is quite expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but when homework is assigned it's not always checked or required to do. That should change.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you make the right friends your freshman year because those friends will influence how well you succeed.

    In three sentences

    The College of Saint Rose is a good place to learn for some but not for others. The professors there are good people but some of them don't know how to teach to a variety of students.

  • 08/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Right next to the Albany Police and St Rose has cameras everywhere! Most of the students are good, dedicated students.

    What to do for fun

    Well, sadly enough, I study, but there is plenty to do in Albany. The transportation system is pretty good too.

    Food and Dining

    Definitely needs some work. I have eaten at many colleges and they all seem to be similar. Paying 6 to 10 dollars a meal is not uncommon, and the meal plans always make you pay for more meals then what is really needed. Many of the dorms have refrigerators and full kitchens, so a large plan is not needed at all.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived on dorms, but I have stayed with others on campus. The dinning could use some work, but the rooms and bathroom are nice. There are a few dorms that are more wild then others, but that will be the same at any college. The same with the cost. Living on dorms is an excellent experience; however, it is very expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    As a mathematics major, many of my classes are extremely difficult. Basic analysis was probably the hardest and most rewarding class I have ever taken.

    Tips for prospective students

    Academics is 90% perspiration and 10% knowledge. This college will be a challenge and somewhere between the sophomore and junior year, students will drop-out or change majors. If you intend to succeed, you must give it your all. College is not suppose to be easy.

    In three sentences

    I choose Saint Rose because it is a smaller, person centered college. The teachers have the time and the ability to spent time with their students and focus on teaching. They are also developing a masters in mathematics education starting next semester.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Different clubs, and activities to choose from for every type of individuals interest!

    What to do for fun

    Located in the city of Albany and the capital of New York, their is always fun things to do when being placed in a city of such! You will never be bored!

    Food and Dining

    Like every college you will not be getting the 5 star gourmet or home cooked meal you're used to but at The College of Saint Rose it is pretty close! Different options, and choices for your everyday food desires, and cravings. Made fresh to your advantage.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are brand new, and often bigger than most college dorms. You can choose where you want to live, along with whom to the best of your personal well being.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attempt to take as many campus visits, tours, or orientations as possible. Once you get a feel of the actual school, as well as the location, people, and things The College of Saint Rose has to offer, you will love it!

    In three sentences

    The College of Saint Rose is a small school yet full of opportunities. It can be what every aspiring successful individual will want and need. I rate it a five out of five for it's professors, class size, academic rigor, dorm life, as well as fun activities for all.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is really good providing the students with new things everyday and also providing the usual food such as wraps , burgers, and fries

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are always clean and you will make new friends everyday by meeting up with people in the lounges or just by going up to each floor and staying hello to new people.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard only if you make them hard by not going to class or not taking notes other then that if you stay focused then its a great school with great classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    To be ready to study a lot for finals and test because its a huge difference from high school.

    In three sentences

    Its a really good college that provides students with tools need to understand the material in each class. The college helps students that don't know what major they want to go in to find out what they want to do. Lastly the college is in a good surrounding and has no trouble with the neighborhood.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Honestly for fun, i meet a lot of people through HEOP program which had us engaged in swimming, gym workouts, and activities our school conduct in the lounge such as karaoke night .

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is great ! It makes you feel as if your home because the college is in a neighborhood. The food is great and everything is all in one spot.

    In three sentences

    The college of saint rose is a great experience.Its a comfortable environment where i feel as if i am home.Its a comfortable size as well.

  • 06/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are always security guards walking around the campus to make sure it is safe for everyone

    Greek Life

    Greek life is pretty low on campus. However, there are many parties locally and with UAlbany students as well. The greek life is not overbearing at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many clubs and activities to list!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love being part of a community and having fun. But are extremely dedicated to the career and passion they want to follow.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    TP night is when you go out on the quad and count down 3-2-1. Then everyone throws toilet paper all over the tree. We also have Rose Rock which is a great day filled with free food and a concert.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education !

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities and clubs to join. There are also always events going on around campus for you to attend.

    Food and Dining

    There dining hall is not great. However they have smaller cafes that are great!

    Dorm Life

    So much fun!!!!!! Great living and cleanly.

    Academic Rigor

    The education and special education program is a lot of work. However you are getting a great education and learning s many things to help you in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always plan your time wisely. Time management is a tool that you will need during your time in college. Also try to make time for clubs and activities.

    In three sentences

    This school is great for students with a passion for education. The professors are incredible, knowledgeable, and passionate. The campus life and community is wonderful and full of fun activities.