Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

The College of Saint Scholastica Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The College of St. Scholastica is great for any and all types of students. No matter what your major, or your interests, the college and it's faculty are always willing to go the extra mile for you and help you find your place, or help you get into your program, or help you with whatever you need help with. St. Scholastica welcomes all types of students and enjoys having all sorts of different people in the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    A couple tips for perspective students...I would say that no matter what meal plan you get, you use at least one meal a day in Storm's Den (one of the cafeterias). Another tip is to pick classes that you think you'll enjoy and will also fulfill your general requirements. Also remember that college is supposed to be fun, so try and take a couple fun courses or make a study group for a harder course and make it fun.

    Bang for the buck

    If by 'bang for the buck' you mean the money I'm paying is worth what I'm gettng back? The answer to that would be completely. The teachers make the courses interesting and worth your money and time. You're always learning something and enjoing what you're learning. Our rooms are easily worth what we pay for room and board, each room comes with at least one window and a sink, along with two huge closets. They also provide desks for all students in their rooms along with a common room on each floor of the doors that have sofas and desks as well. The money we paid for for meal plans can be used all over the schol and not just in the cafeterias. We can use our money in one or both of the cafeterias, or at our little coffee shop, or even at the vending machines located all over the school. The money I paid for my first year at St. Scholastica is definitely worth what I'm getting back in knowledge and food, and etc.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here. This school is basically my home away from home. It may seem like a big school when you see pictures of it, but it's really not. The teachers know me and other students by name, and walking down the hall you'll almost always see someone who you know. The food is really good-even though it is cafeteria food-and the staff and faculty are always friendly and very polite and nice. Also, no matter what time it is and even what holiday isclose there is always something to do-that doesn't involve school if you don't want it to. Duluth and Scholastica are really pretty at any time of the year, and I definitely love being here. I don't think any other college would be able to make me feel at home like Scholastica does.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are challenging and stimulate thinking, but they are interesting as well. My classes right now all keep my interest and intrigue me. They also require me to put in a little effort outside of class, but it's worth it and it doesn't take too long. The College of St. Scholastica has a lot of different classes and all the classes are taught by teachers who want their students to succeed and who enjoy teaching the subjects that they do (which makes it easier for the student to learn).

  • 01/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The hardworking, very involved, and genuine students. Students who are involved with more than just academics... give sports a try, or join one of the many clubs. Theyre fun and you meet people. Hardworking, I say this with sincerity, if youre going to pay for optimum education, then be serious about it. Don't party hard just because you're finally in college, really focus... finals sneak up on ya faster than you think. Genuine... just be yourself. We are all very low-key, laid back, welcoming people. We accept you for who you are. If you love CSS, we love you back even more. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely look over your financial situation thoroughly, make sure you want to commit to this high of a payment to be at CSS. Without a doubt, I say it is worth it. But its still very important to consider options and apply for scholarships.

    Bang for the buck

    Sure its expensive, but I feel the education we are receiving is definitely worth it. Theres a sense of safety, security and pride when you go to CSS. You know you are paying for a brighter and more successful future being there... its not like you're simply paying the school.. you are paying to be a CSS Saint.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the professors, the benedictine value system, and the entire atmosphere. Everyone holds the door open for one another. We all genuinely care for each other. The teachers are very involved and the students are just amazing... best place to learn and make life long friends.

    Am learning a lot

    I find the lectures intellectually stimulating. I am learning a lot this semester, along with the last one. I felt the professors were very understanding and they often went above and beyond to help everyone undertand the material to the best of their ability. The homework is a way to reinforce what you learned in class, it never comes across as busy work, I actually find my time in class very enjoyable.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing people who love to learn and make a difference in the community they live in. CSS is an amazing nursing, pre-med, OT, PT school. Also we have a strong history, English, and language programs, education, CIS, and HIMM.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved right away is some club or activity. Go to the writing center they can really help you out with anything involving writing. Get to know your professors you will be surprised on how willing they are to help you succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    You are able to explore your passions and take on big projects. As much work as you put into your experience is what you will get out of it. CSS provides so many opportunities, all you have to do is be willing to try them.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the students here. My advice, get involved in campus, get to know your fellow students. Being involved in some aspect of campus allows you to really make the school your home. The campus is beautiful and close to many parks, hiking trails and the beach.

    Am learning a lot

    I have created my own major at CSS. That is the beauty of the school, they have the resources to help you achieve your passions and they let you customize your academic plan so that you can achieve all your goals. The classes are challenging, and interesting and the professors push you out of your comfort zone, making you grow as a person.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I was told at orientation that this college is very protective of their students and care very much about campus safety. Not only does the campus provide vehicles to take students to places after a certain time if they feel uncomfortable walking in the dark for a long distance. Our college also provides land line phones all over campus on lamp posts so that a student could call campus security for any concerns or for a ride to their house. The College of Saint Scholastica also provides links on the online website for sexual harassment and violence concerns which helps students to feel safe and comfortable in their environment.

    Great for these types of students

    The College of Saint Scholastica is honestly great for any time of student. We offer classes for undergraduate students, graduate students, and even nighttime classes for single moms or anyone who works full time and doesn't have time to go to normal college. We also offer summer classes (which I am taking) which help current students to take more classes and perhaps graduate early. This college emphasizes on taking classes that don't pertain to your major in hopes of finding out what you really love and to pursue your passion in college. The College of Saint Scholastica is great for students have a love of learning, have and want respect, are hospitable, stewardship, and want to belong to a community who will accept them: these are our five Benedictine Values! This college is also great for any student who wants to discover who they are and what they want to do with their lives all while connecting with new people who share the same values and ideals as themselves!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I, myself, am not a Catholic but my college is. Because of this interesting tradition, at events for the student body, a prayer is always said before events begin. This is nice to me and my friends that aren't religious because we are getting a well-rounded view of college and this also provides safety and comfort to me when I get home-sick and miss my family. This college also has a Benedictine Center where nuns and retired elders live. This is interesting to me because in my health-related major, I am able to practice occupational therapy on the citizens of the center and connect with the nuns who work at this college and even teach some classes.

    Bang for the buck

    The College of Saint Scholastica is a private, four year college which was scary at first to me because I didn't get many scholarships. But, after completing one year of my undergraduate college career, I have found that in the long run, a degree from this college in my desired job field will pay for itself. I have already made many connections which will be beneficial for my future: this has helped me to take advantage of every opportunity I have here at college and not to worry about all of the loans I have to pay back in the future.

    What to do for fun

    Because The College of Saint Scholastica is in Duluth, I have found that there are many things to do within the proximity of the campus. When I need groceries and necessities, I can walk down to the store in less than 10 minutes. If I get bored on the weekends, my friends and I can take the bus (FREE!) to Canal Park or to Miller Hill Mall to shop or get some coffee. Many things in the area are free and fun to do which is nice when college takes a lot of effort and lack of sleep!

    Food and Dining

    Everyone says that college food is horrible, but I have to disagree. Although some dinners weren't what I would have necessarily been craving or would have had at home, it was edible and did fill me up. I was told going into college that there are many options for food and that is how the freshman 15 happens. I am here to say that is true. Although The College of Saint Scholastica has a gym, I didn't use it and to add to that, I had dessert with every meal because it was offered. The food was good and there were healthy options, vegetarian options, and even dairy-free options, but I chose the fries and cake instead. The food here is varied and cooked well, but I have learned that it is all a matter of choosing what I won't regret eating later.

    Dorm Life

    I was nervous at first to live on my own and to be responsible for my actions, but living in the dorms helped me to connect with like-minded people who shared the same concerns. The only complaint I have about living in the dorms is that my roommate was nothing like me and we didn't get along. Besides that minor negative, I learned a lot about myself, my habits, and how I manage my time. I also believe that putting effort into meeting people in the dorms and connecting with my Residential Adviser has helped me to meet even more people. I also believe that becoming friends with those people, along with having a safe and comfortable place to go, helped me to make friends and therefore talk about my goals, worries, and homework concerns.

    Academic Rigor

    The College of Saint Scholastica offers many levels of courses for students to take. I can say from experience that these classes test your abilities, patience, and procrastination. In college, you have a choice to go to class, do your homework, and study for tests. From this college, I have learned that those aren't really options, but a test. If you do study and do your homework, you will succeed as long as you want to get a degree and learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    During my first year of college, I was told to try everything once, discover what I like to do, and to meet everyone I can. I took this tips to heart and have met many, many good friends and now know what I want to do for the rest of my life because I took risks during college and let down my guard. So, my tips to prospective college students would be to not get so wrapped up in what you want to major in, but instead, focus on what you love to do. If you figure this out, then I assure you that your major will fall into place. My motto is that if you are paying for education, don't waste it on partying, or taking classes in a major that isn't something that you want to do for the rest of your life. I am majoring in Occupational Therapy; even though I have to go to grad school for two years, I know it will be worth it because that is what I am passionate about.

    In three sentences

    The College of Saint Scholastica has not only helped me to feel confident about my future, but this school has helped me appreciate education, helped me to discover who I am, and helped me see that it is possible to do what I love. After attending one year at this college, I have found a new appreciation for education and have found that if I work hard enough, I can really achieve my dreams and goals. I know I can complete a degree on time here which has helped me to not focus on how many years of schooling I have left, but has helped me to take in the college lifestyle and to take every opportunity I have!

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe. there is constant security on campus. the student body as a whole i feel is above average in terms of morals and safety that there has never been an issue with safety that i have known of.

    Greek Life

    i don't know what greek life is?

    Clubs and Activities

    there's always student senates and clubs for students to participate in. there are also constant daily activities for students to keep busy with. also football, basketball, and volleyball sports and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for shy and quiet people who need to build self-confidence and slowly creep out of their shells.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    everyone is always very friendly, both the employees and the students have high standards and morals that are reflected in their conduct. the college has a happy and peaceful atmosphere that is always enjoyable. it's a home away from home.

    Bang for the buck

    it is more expensive than the average college, but worth it.

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on at the college. from student seminars, to community service/volunteering as well as guest speakers/entertainers. the college is a very family oriented college that takes good care of their students. example, the sisters and faculty always have some food event available for students and the student body is very much a big family.

    Academic Rigor

    it's a learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to have a general idea of what interests you to help the advisors pick the best classes for you. it's an expensive college, so choose your major wisely. don't be afraid to ask questions, faculty and staff are very willing to help.

    In three sentences

    this college is small so it has a great teacher to student ratio. teachers as well as the college mission is to challenge students, but instill a love of learning. i believe wants to see students succeed.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many activities and events held on campus for students to participate in along with a huge exercise facility and rock climbing wall. duluth is a very big city and has many events that any one can attend.

    Food and Dining

    the hours of service for our food places are not always the best, but for most peoples schedules it works out perfect. there is a required meal plan which typically all freshman students never use all of, but it is possible to use all of it.

    Dorm Life

    i live in a suite and absolutely love it. the only regret would be that we did not have a lounge first semester which cut into the amount of interactions between people on our floor.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors are very nice and there most the time is no problem with having to take the exam at a different time or having to turn in a project late.

    In three sentences

    the college of saint scholastica has a lot to offer to those wanting to atttend. there are always event happening around the community and on campus. i would suggest it for those who like the outdoors.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel very safe on campus, even though my home off campus was broken into only days after i moved there.

    Clubs and Activities

    student senate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i am a member of a group called the hub, where all the off-campus students hang out in between classes. i created a facebook page for this group.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is very expensive, but i am very glad i made the decision to attend st scholastica.

    What to do for fun

    i volunteer with my friends in student senate. i also am publishing a campus magazine.

    Food and Dining

    food on campus is not the greatest, but i get out to dinner with friends often.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life was great. i made a lot of friends. living off campus has been even better.

    Academic Rigor

    i can easily keep up with my class schedule, and have time for other activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved in social groups, you will meet many friends, with your same desires.

    In three sentences

    i am glad i went to college. i have developed an independence and am now living off campus with a group of girls i had not met before living with them.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus, very safe for students. But like on any campus, don't leave your room or car unlocked.

    Greek Life

    Not much

    Bang for the buck

    Without scholarships this school is difficult to pay for. But Scholastica has a great reputation in the Duluth area, so finding a job right out of school is relatively easy.

    What to do for fun

    There is an athletic facility open for every students, there is a weight room, basketball courts, volleyball, and rock-climbing wall. There are tons of clubs and intramural sports to play and be apart of. But if your not into that, there is always drinking and partying.

    Food and Dining

    There are two ways to get food on campus, Storm's Den and Greenview dining. Storm's Den is fast food and delicious, however expensive. The Greenview (GDR) is a buffet, cheaper than Storm's, but the quality of food is pretty low on average.

    Dorm Life

    Somer's is where freshman live and it is very fun. Weekends can get really exciting. However with so many students in such a small area, laundry and showers are difficult to get. There is also a choice to live on campus your whole four years, many students do this.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on you major and class schedule the difficulty will change. For nursing and pre-med majors the difficulty is no harder than any other school, but because the teachers are so flexible the difficulty level decreases.

    Tips for prospective students

    Because the school is pretty small, groups of friends are established and rarely broken up. Find some good friends early in your time here.

    In three sentences

    Saint Scholastica is a small, friendly college. The teachers are relaxed and very flexible. The campus is small and easily walk-able.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's small and I really have never heard of any crime happening other than some vandalism and a few things stolen (as you would have on any campus to some degree). This is speaking from an RA's perspective.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything-and if there isn't, make your own! I have a friend who this last year has created a skydiving club after a big event we as the RA's put on for the campus, AND a paintball club is in the making!

    Great for these types of students

    All who are willing to respect a few stricter rules set by the nuns. These involve co-ed visitation curfews and quiet hours.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Last year all of us as a campus went SKYDIVING-put on by RA's, Student Senate, and Resident Hall Association. The plan is to do it again next year and the year following, etc.!

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school-it's private, so it's what you'd expect. But I absolutely love my experience at CSS. They have just remodeled the science building and added on a huge expansion, they are very generous with their students with events, prizes, etc. Aside from all that, the education I have received so far has been phenomenal.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of opportunities are provided on campus by Resident Hall Association and other organizations on campus. Like I said earlier, the school does a great job of investing the money they receive from tuition and donations into the experiences for students. We had many big events that involved giveaways as big as Las Vegas trips, ipads, etc. Events were always fun with big blow-up bouncers, trivia night, monthly movie nights with movies that hadn't yet been released on DVD, etc. Lots of things to do on campus!

    Food and Dining

    Greenview food is good most of the time-however not usually good for you. Storm's den food is normally really good (especially the freshly made wraps and burrito Mondays), but it is really expensive.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are definitely that-freshman dorms. They aren't anything fantastic, but they were the biggest of any of the colleges that I toured. I lived in the old apartment buildings for my Sophomore year and they were so-so. The newest apartment buildings for upper classmen, however, are really nice although walls are paper thin. The school provides lots of fun events for students living on campus such as a casino night in which 3 trips to Las Vegas were given away along with many other prizes! The school does a great job of spending money they receive through tuition to better the experience of the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although having brains in the first place is a very important thing, Saint Scholastica is a fantastic school at helping you along even if you aren't a genius. All of the teachers I have had so far are willing to help you in their office hours or scheduled meetings, class sizes are small so you can ask questions if you want. It's a really great learning environment for all types of learners and all levels.

    In three sentences

    I love the small, inclusive environment that Saint Scholastica offers! I have loved all of my classes so far and teachers are fantastic and so helpful to help you succeed. I have already learned so much about my classes, time management and studying (things I didn't learn in high school), being a good friend, and caring about those around you.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent as far as I noticed during my first year of attendance. RA's and campus security are constantly roaming the campus and are available through incident report. Telephone stations for security summoning are located throughout the roads allowing for secure transport to a destination on campus if needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    For anyone who tirelessly engages in extra curricular activities this campus will have plenty of organizations to participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    Though a private school and seemingly overly expensive, the degrees handed out will enable you to make some big bucks. Most students receive financial aid which lowers the cost to about the same price as a state university such as UMD. Never let tuition be too large of a factor in deciding whether or not to attend a school. Wise actions such as low interest rate loans, applying for scholarships as both a senior and high school and as a college student, and having a job getting roughly 15+ hours a week will keep debt to a minimal. If you decide to have the smallest meal plan the college has to offer it would be smart to cook meals from scratch that can be easily saved for left overs. Discuss penny-pinching techniques with friends and be sure to follow their advice because every penny counts!

    What to do for fun

    In a mile radius the campus is located near woodland trails, UMD, and a small shopping center. As most incoming freshman will not own cars, these are most likely to be among the most common destinations throughout the year. Buses pick students up from campus and can deliver them to the mall area, or to downtown Duluth where many tourists and couples reside for relaxing evenings.

    Food and Dining

    The campus hosts two large sources of food, one being the greenview dining center which is a cafeteria style food service. One swipe of your school i.d and you have permission to eat until you burst. Each day the menu varies and has reasonably wide selection of foods for being located on a small campus. The second main food source is known as Storm's den, named after the St. Bernard mascot. The food service within is much like a store in the way that items are selected and brought to a cash register where either your dining dollars or cash is accepted in exchange for food.

    Dorm Life

    I was placed in overflow housing with 7 other students which turned out to be a blast. Besides having to share two bathrooms with nearly 18 others the experience was positive. Within seconds I was able to meet up with several friends, or walk a minute or so to the regular dorms. Having viewed the regular dorms I can say that they were larger than most dorms located on other campuses. Most nights had something going on in someone's room so finding something to carry away the night was not difficult. Cable, and wifi are available throughout the dorms allowing for mobility of movie nights from in the dorm to out in a lounge. Entertainment value is easy to come by, yet does not spoil the ability to stay academically afloat making the dorms at CSS a good decision as an incoming freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at CSS can be very challenging depending on what professor is teaching the course, and how often you study. Ask other students, especially those who have been on campus for a few years, about professors and consider consulting ratemyprofessors.com Any class can easily become a nightmare if you fall behind on studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Throughout the year I heard of a few horror stories from other freshman pertaining to their experiences at Saint Scholastica as well as the University of Minnesota Duluth. Almost every case has to do with newly met peers from the dorms or the lounges. Because the freshman population is very small there is a guaranteed chance of encountering the same people on a weekly bases. The best way to deal with unfavorable relationships, in my opinion, is to join clubs, groups and other organizations on campus to meet students with similar interests. These organizations will bring you into a pool of people from freshman to seniors as well. Straying away from social matters I will now bring up a point that may save you a great amount of cash: be conservative on how you buy books! Most students will buy the brand new versions of the textbook required for class costing them an average of over $100. Be smarter than them and look for either an older edition or an international edition. Why these? They have the same content, or slightly altered content to what is in the latest version. The international edition is not for sale in bookstores and must be purchased online because it is technically not legal for sale within the united states; therefore, do so at your own risk (which is hardly even worth calling a risk) If you're planning on majoring in any health science related field (nursing, PT, Exercise Phys) I suggest that you fulfill classes that will help you with entrance into a medical school. This keeps your options open and hardly increases scheduling difficulties. Last, but not least, take summer classes! These classes are about a third of the fall and spring credit costs and can help you take any extra classes you might want (ex. pre-reqs for med school).

    In three sentences

    The college of Saint Scholastica has provided me a small community setting hosting roughly 4,000 students in total, allowing for incoming freshman to have an easier time with meeting other students. With a 14 to 1 ratio between students and professors the class sizes tended to be small and provided good learning experiences and easy communication with professors. My freshman experience was also enlightened by joining clubs and organizations which helped to find like-minded people to interact with, allowing me to conclusively state that I have thoroughly enjoyed my time as a freshman at CSS!

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are all types of clubs that are available to join.

    What to do for fun

    There are buses that you can use to go into town.

    Food and Dining

    I think that Storms' Den has better food than the Greenview.

    Dorm Life

    If you keep your door open, it is awesome. The dorm wing activities keep things lively.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes get tough. Some are easier. It just depends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly. Keep your dorm's door open.

    In three sentences

    There are a lot of good musical events. It is a good place for religious freedom even though it does have its own church, you are not required to go. The things that the dorm wings do with each other are great fun.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated distance students will do well here. I've had classes with students from Texas and Germany. There is a lot of online diversity.

    Bang for the buck

    Look at your schema and ask other students or e-mail the instructor about buying books early, and second hand if possible. Consider a kindle so you can take them all everywhere.

    What to do for fun

    This campus is near the short of lake superior, in one of the loveliest spots in the United States. Hiking and biking trails are nearby, but be careful. Recently a bear was spotted on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I can't really speak to this, although during orientation the food did seem good.

    Dorm Life

    I can't speak to this, although the dorms look lovely.

    Academic Rigor

    As a graduate student in the doctor of nursing practice program, I am impressed by the breadth of subjects included in the program. Assgnments are generally clearly explained, but caution: there is little consistancy from class to class or instructor to instructor as to where due dates are - and even for a single class they may not all be in the same place. When an instructer recommends additional reading: do it!

    Tips for prospective students

    As a distance student, make sure that your word processing programs are current. Remember it's your responsibilty to ask questions and make sure you understand what the instructors need. Visit the 100 year old college's 186 acre forested campus for orientation and inspiration if you can, it is truly lovely.

    In three sentences

    As a distance student at The College of St. Scholastica in Duluth, I appreciate the abundance of online resources accessible 24 hours a day. The library will help me find articles, the instructors are quick to reply to e-mails and the discussion boards allow participation in class activities any time.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels very safe, there are school security 24/7 walking and driving around.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about the Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs such as the outdoors club, rock climbing club, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are up to a challenge and want to get a degree and not just waste mom and dads money or if you are like me your own money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a very old building and very neat to just walk around, it has an amazing history to the building.

    Bang for the buck

    You do get a lot going here but it does cost a pretty penny to attend.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do. My favorite is the rock climbing or running out on the trails through the woods on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, it is healthy but not so healthy that you don't want to eat it.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home I do not live in the dorms. I did tour them and they look great and would be fun to stay there if I did not have a house already in town.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard and the teachers expect a lot out of you, there is not much time for play.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just try getting in and see what you have to pay before you just say its way too expenstive

    In three sentences

    It is a great school but it is a little expensive. I heard a lot of good about it except that people have some big loans to pay off when they get out of here. I enjoy it a lot, the classes are a lot more challenging that lake superior college the one that I transferred from.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always patrolling campus, and they will pick you up if you feel unsafe!

    Greek Life

    We don't have Greek Life!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus and a lot of sports as well.

    Great for these types of students

    There are a lot of small-town kids here, but in my opinion a lot more city folk. I myself grew up near downtown Minneapolis and I don't feel at all like this school is too small. People that are willing to work hard and grow will do well here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The foyer of our main building Tower is a special place for me. Historically, that was the only building on campus and it was an all girls school, so the girls lived there. When boys would come to court them they had to wait in this foyer that still stands today and they would sit in these wooden chairs and swing their feet. Today, there are scuff marks on the chairs where the heels of the boy's shoe would hit the chair as they waited for the girls to come downstairs. I think this is adorable and it's one of the things that sold me on CSS. There's a rich history here, and we're proud of where we've been.

    Bang for the buck

    While the ticket price for CSS is $40,000 a year, they have great scholarships available based on Merit, and they give grants and aid. Any outside scholarships can be stacked onto the ones you earn by the school. This isn't true for all colleges, so it's a good thing if you choose CSS because you can add outside scholarships to your financial aid. They do have some athletic scholarships, but I'm not an athlete that receives them so I don't know much about that.

    What to do for fun

    Duluth is a super fun city to live in as a college student when things on campus slow down. Every weekend there's a bunch of things going on on campus for students to do. There are dances, concerts, game nights, outdoor movies, movies that play in lecture halls, glow in the dark frisbee, smore's on science lawn, Bingo!, and as with any campus, intoxication. If you choose to leave campus there's always UMD down the hill to visit, they have events that CSS students often attend as well. Landmarks that are fun to check out include Canal Park, Enger Tower, the Aquarium, the Depot, Miller Hill Mall, and Downtown Duluth. The Transit System is great, which makes getting to these cool places easy and it's free for students!

    Food and Dining

    Our grab-and-go food (Storm's) and our Coffee Shop (Beakers) is really delicious and there's a variety of things to choose from. We always have fresh sushi and really good espresso. The dining hall is sometimes hit-or-miss but for the most part the main line is something you'd want to eat. There are gluten free and vegetarian options at every meal and they also account for lactose intolerance.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are spacious and well climate-controlled. WE HAVE SINKS! The RA's are really cool and every floor has a lounge with big comfy couches. We also have on each floor academic residents that assist us with school work during their office hours if we need it. Living on campus is great!

    Academic Rigor

    The programs are small, so doing well in your classes is a must. However, the professors want students to do well and make themselves available to us as a tool and resource.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, Apply, Apply! Apply to St. Scholastica, attend a tour and try to stay overnight! The longer you are on campus the more you'll fall in love with the history behind this 100 year old school. We still have nuns on campus reminding us of where we began and they continue to build new facilities to attend to the growing population of students attending classes.

    In three sentences

    CSS is a small close knit community made up of people from a variety of places across the nation and internationally. It's a great place to be on any given night, there's always events on campus and Duluth is the most beautiful city. The dorms are spacious and the food is delicious, every professor wants each student to succeed and always makes themselves available in addition to all of the supplemental learning already put in place by the college.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a lot of security guards and to get into any building you need to swipe your student ID. There is also a code to get into your dorm bathrooms.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or frats.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities on campus and there are huge club fairs for everyone and St. Scholastica and they are very friendly and love to see freshman join. There are activities every Friday or Saturday night. For example ice skating and movie nights.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people that like to be involved in there school and that love small classroom environments. This school also goes out of its way during welcome weekend to help all the freshman feel welcome and helps everyone meet people. So this school would be great for people that are shy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of traditions at St. Scholastica like the tree lighting and and the freshman inauguration. They also have annual dances like the homecoming dance, the Halloween dance and the winter ball. There are a lot of catholic statues and sites that they have on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is well worth your money! You get a great class room experience and you will graduate with your bachelors degree in four years. Which is very rare at most schools. This school has a lot of benefits for your money.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of fun things to do on and off campus. There is canal park, downtown, skiing and shopping off campus. On campus there is a gym, scenic trials, intramural sports, concerts, and activities that the RA's put on for the students living in the dorms. Everything on campus is free. The gym has a rock wall and sport equipment for students use.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. I think it is really good for school food. You can not go into the dining area's like GDR and the Den with the expectations of a home cooking. The variety of food is good too.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of homework and the teachers expect a lot out of you. But due to the small class sizes you get to know your professors which makes asking for help easy. The teachers are always there for help and if you need more assistance then there is a free tutoring center for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be worried about anything at this school they make you feel right at home. You will succeed at this school if you keep up with all your homework and study for all your test. And if you need help with any homework there is always free help for you.

    In three sentences

    This school is a very great school. I love how this school gets involved with the students. The environment and everything about this school is amazing!!!

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Conservative students or adventurous students. They say a lot, Be bold, be Benedictine!

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Duluth is only a bus-ride away. Many things to do there.

    Food and Dining

    Food you don't have to make yourself is always good!

    Academic Rigor

    They really emphasize going to every class and treating school as your full-time job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated by private schools. Your religious affiliation truly doesn't matter, and they work really hard to bring your costs down with scholarships, grants, and low-interest loans.

    In three sentences

    An incredibly beautiful campus. Very friendly and welcoming people. A small, community based school.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Duluth is a great town for sight seeing, so be sure to enjoy it along with college life!

    Food and Dining

    Not fantastic food but it is edible!

    Dorm Life

    Pretty quiet dorms for the most part!

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes have heavy loads, especially when you get into a program of your choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to ask questions, as the professors are available a lot, either by phone or email if not in person! Buy a parking permit, it will reduce parking hassles! Be sure to understand all that there is available in grants and loans, if you need help, contact a counselor!

    In three sentences

    Saint Scholastica is a great school for students seeking a catholic school. It is also a private school which raises the tuition, but also the standards. Saint Scholastica is a school of excellence!

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college's campus is extremely safe. There are campus security officers on duty at all hours. Each housing building is locked so that only students who live in the building have keys coded to enter that particular building. The campus gives the students a great sense of safety and security.

    Greek Life

    The College of Saint Scholastica does not participate in Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs for students to become involved in. Almost every major has a corresponding club for students to join. There are many different clubs to join for all different types of interests.

    Bang for the buck

    The sticker price of the college may come off as a bit spendy, but you really do great a lot for your money. The living quarters are up to date and comfortable. You will be getting a high quality education while having fun with your friends.

    What to do for fun

    There are always fun activities put on by numerous clubs that are free for all students to attend. There are movies, game nights, and many other events for students to take a break from their studies.

    Food and Dining

    The college offers meal plans to all students. The food you will eat in the cafeteria is of high quality. You will be eating meals that are like those you would find on your table at home.

    Dorm Life

    Life on campus is great. Roommates are nothing to worry about. The college is great at matching you with roommates whom you will get along with well. There is always plenty of activities going on for student's living on campus to break away from their studies and go out and have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses and programs push students to reach their full potential. The course loads are that of the typical college level course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to every class. Do not be afraid to ask your professors for help when you need it. Do not be afraid or anxious, everything will work out perfectly.

    In three sentences

    The College of Saint Scholastica offers a fantastic environment for all students on campus. The programs and professors help you to reach your full potential and reach your career goals. All of the students, faculty, and staff are welcoming and care about you.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well lit, awesome security staff, student body looks out for each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    Changes alot! Go to the web site & check out what intrests you.

    Great for these types of students

    Inquisitive, studious, mature, responsible - don't expect to party hardy & reach your goals! Set your priorities. Remember WHY you're paying the big bucks to go here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't go into the Sister's private gardens unless invited!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    FREE city bus transportation with student ID!

    What to do for fun

    Shopping, site seeing, sports, community services, social networking, arts, exploring. Don't forget to study!

    Food and Dining

    Usually very good & if you go hungry, you didn't go back for seconds! A pretty good mix of the favorites with interesting new things.

    Dorm Life

    Sometimes noisy, but a good first step to meeting people! Apartments are VERY nice!

    Academic Rigor

    Tough, but stick with it & it's so worth the effort!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be inquisitive! Profs WANT you to ask questions & participate! No coddling, but TONS of help & encouragement for the asking!

    In three sentences

    CSS is a small, friendly, energetic college community. There is as much or as little as you want to do here. Getting a quality education & having a blast at the same time!

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a gym, where you can join teams and play any sports you want for fun. Lots of on campus studend clubs to be a part of!

    Tips for prospective students

    Its okay to not know what you want to study right away, there are teachers and counsellors to help in any way. Make sure you take a good look around the website and have your questions answered right away.

    In three sentences

    Great small school. wonderful community to be a part of! Very good reputation and people on campus are very friendly.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is really something for everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Scholastica has really great walking trails that lead to a awesome valley.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Duluth and the North Shore. Join clubs and participate in activities when you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just work hard, go to class, and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Awesome Professors. Small class sizes. Great Community.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Duluth is a really outdoorsy city with many beautiful hiking trails. It's really easy to take a bus off campus to explore Duluth. Duluth has so much to offer and is really an exciting city!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is alright. There are many ways to have a healthy meal, which is nice.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a kind of old. But I really like that every dorm has a sink. Also, there's a lot of closet space!

    Academic Rigor

    It can be challenging depending on your major. However, there are many ways to seek help and be successful. There is a tutor center on campus with many friendly people who are happy to help!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved. You can make a lot of friends by joining clubs and activities.

    In three sentences

    I love how homey Scholastica is. It is a small school with a great community! You can easily connect with your professors and get help.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    The dorms are generously spacious compared to other colleges and each dorm has a sink.

    In three sentences

    The best thing I have to say about St. Scholastica is it's student size. There are almost 4,000 students, so the class sizes average to about 25. I personally love small class sizes because you are able to develop a more personal relationship with your professor.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Duluth is great for mountain biking, running, and other outdoor activities. There are many intramural sports on campus and practically everyone is active.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! There are always healthy options and I love the ethnic station and personal pizzas.

    Dorm Life

    There is a great sense of community in the dorms. However, the walls are kind of thin so it can get loud at times. I find myself going to the library often to study because it is too loud in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I had had a few challenging classes, but they were also my favorite. Overall, the classes are moderately difficult by very doable.

    In three sentences

    I love Saint Scholastica. Everyone is very welcoming and there is a great sense of community on campus. I also love being in Duluth!

  • 04/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and I feel safe walking around at all hours. However, if you do not you can always call campus security and get an escort around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a plethora of clubs to get involved in on campus. These range from the usual clubs on campuses like Biochemistry club or Spanish club to the more bizarre clubs like the Beekeeping club.

    Great for these types of students

    Because of its origin from the Benedictine values, where bold hospitality is always expected, I think that anyone will fit in at Scholastica.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I always love hiking around in the 200+ acres of woods in the back of campus. Especially while in the valley of silence, you just feel like you are in the middle of nowhere and not in the middle of Duluth.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of options you could take for fun. You can get involved in different clubs, go watch sports games (the hockey games at Mars Arena are always a blast), or go to various activities on campus. There are often movies, plays, or concerts going on in the Mitchell Auditorium. If you want to get off campus you can just take the bus downtown or to the mall and wander around Canal Park and find stuff to do there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is usually pretty good, but this summer (2014) they are doing a complete overhaul of the food services so it should get even better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun. You are close to food, the gym, and classes. Plus, there is always something fun going on somewhere in Somers.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be challenging, especially for nursing and pre-med majors, but they will push you to discover your true potential. Plus, if you do not understand something professors are very flexible about meeting with you and getting you to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come here make sure you get involved. College is ultimately what you decide make it. There are a ton of clubs and organizations to get involved in here, and the organizations are one of the things that will truly define your college experience.

    In three sentences

    The College of Saint Scholastica is a very warm and welcoming community that is steeped in the Benedictine heritage from which it was founded. It has small class sizes and is a small campus, so you get to know your classmates and professors very well. When you come here, you truly feel like you are at home and that you belong.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus that only has one entrance. Campus security is always willing to give students rides across campus at any time of the day and night. There have never been any real threats, and if their is an emergency, the college community is warned immediately. I have never felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anyone can start of a club with approval from Student Senate. Clubs vary from volleyball club to chess club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great place for students from small towns to feel comfortable on a small campus, but also in a town that has a lot of entertaining events and beautiful scenery.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, homecoming is a big deal and there are many events that students, staff, and the community like to take part in.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on the major you seek, it may be a degree you can get at another college for much cheaper. Most of the health field majors are very well known by employers and professors are very helpful in finding work connections for students after graduation. For good students, there are many undergraduate scholarships available that make the cost of tuition much less.

    What to do for fun

    There are always intramural sports happening each month and a wide assortment of clubs to join. There are also many intellectual and entertaining events for the community held in the campus auditorium almost every week. Campus clubs often host fun events such as dances, bowling nights, and movie showings in a lecture hall every other week. There is usually never a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is fine for freshman, but doesn't supply upperclassmen with a convenient food option. Storm's Den is a nice alternative to get quick meals on the go, but is a bit over priced and has a minimum of healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are a bit old, but are decent for the age of campus. Be aware that the school tends to over accept some students, making a dorm rooms a bit cramped until transfer and drop outs occur. On campus apartments are very nice, but there is not enough room for all upperclassmen. This isn't much of a problem since most students find cheaper housing in nearby off campus houses or apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of some majors could be raised. The professors care about their students and do put tests and practical applications into place to prepare students for the working world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to apply for scholarships in order to pay for the rising cost of tuition. Stay on top of finances and learn to save your money by stretching every dollar and not being wasteful. Be unique and unafraid to express your passions in clubs and other extra curricular activities.

    In three sentences

    The College of St. Scholastica has wonderful medical programs, such as nursing and Physical Therapy. The school provides a small community where professors actually know who their students are by name. Great location in Duluth, with many opportunities to volunteer and have fun.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I wouldn't recommend this program to anyone--they need to make some serious readjustments to the program before it can be considered adequate for nursing education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They tell you that they will be able to arrange clinical placements in your home town prior to starting the program. Let me tell you that you will end up driving to the cities even if you life 3 hours away and have no where to stay. In addition, they have established no reputation except hospitals in the Duluth area so we did all of our clinical on a renal unit at a county hospital.

    Bang for the buck

    This program's website claims that they offer competitive tuition rates--$60,000 for 16 months is not competitive! In addition, you are required to teach yourself everything due to the online format, as most lectures are delivered via powerpoint. When I first applied for the program I was told that I would get to listen to/watch live lectures, however when I started the program the only thing they offered were powerpoint presentations that I had to sit and read through. The skills labs for this program are an absolute joke. The facility is located in an office building and the room is so small they can't even fit all of the necessary equipment in it.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of this program is a joke and as a result students are not prepared to pursue a career in nursing at the end of the program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not apply for this program, instead check out the University of Minnesota, University of Wisconsin Osh-Kosh (completely online program), and St Kate's for post-baccalaureate options. St Scholastica's program will not prepare you to practice as a safe nurse.

    In three sentences

    St Cloud Post Baccalaureate Nursing Program, 0 out of 10, F. This a new program and they have failed to work out the kinks or deliver effective education to nursing students. Half of the students in this program failed their final test out exam and had to go through remediation in 2011.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    CSS is pretty expensive so make sure to research financial aid options.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do in Duluth, MN and there are many restaurants, theaters, tourist spots and other places to enjoy in your free time. This campus is also very close to the UMD campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food options are good and most of the food is pretty tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at CSS is fun. The dorms are co-ed and CSS provides many places for studying or lounging when you don't want to be in your room or need more room to socialize with classmantes and friends.

    Academic Rigor

    CSS prides themselves on academics and expects their students to be successful. They offer tutors and other help for students who may be struggling in certain classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Secure financial aid ASAP as this college is a private college and therefore expensive to attend.

    In three sentences

    Nice campus. Friendly people. Great sports programs.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Small classes are great.

    What to do for fun

    Fitness classes.

    Food and Dining

    I lived off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the free fitness classes!

    In three sentences

    It's a nice calm atmosphere with driven students. There's not a lot of diversity. Friendly professors and helpful resources.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a cemetary on campus as well as a monestary with many nuns on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty pricey but they give out scholarships to everyone based on your grades in high school and your act/sat score!

    What to do for fun

    There are always planned activities that are going on throughout the week to keep people busy. but in the city there are also many things to do such as adventure zone, a nearby mall, going to the beach, a huge bar/music scene.

    Food and Dining

    There is the cafeteria, as well as a coffee shop and another food place on campus and there are many, many restuarants throughout the city

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I don't really know much, but I hear they are pretty nice and spacious for two people.

    Academic Rigor

    So far it hasn't been too hard but you do need to spend a lot of time on out of class things and studying; time manage well to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you time manage and actually care about school before coming here.

    In three sentences

    In three sentences I can tell you that I love CSS and almost everyone here does, CSS is all about community and inclusion. CSS is also huge! and secluded on top of a hill right across from UMD.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The online courses are tough, very fast paced. But no problems so far with being able to keep up. With 2 kids at home that I homeschool, it's tough finding time to study myself, but learning how to make it work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to take online only courses, listen to your advisor's advice on how many courses to take per semester. He/she knows the rigor of each class and based on the information you give them about how much time you can devote daily to your study time, will decide how many courses you should take.

    In three sentences

    Online only courses very informative. The Blackboard option to receive and send homework assignments super easy to use. The staff members I have dealt with so far are very knowledgeable and I get all my questions answered quickly and thoroughly.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Distance Learning Adult Students Traditional Students

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very reasonable for a private college. I'm getting a great Catholic education from professors/instructors who are extremely knowledgable.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging and fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in constant communication with your advisors and professors. Purchase your books way before class starts, there is a book voucher available plenty of time prior to the first day of class. Discover the best way to plan and organize your classes and work, and do it!

    In three sentences

    The staff is very supportive. The classes are flexible. The students are awesome.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have phones posted around campus for any help. Recently, there seems to be more issues with windows getting busted in the back parking lots. This is very shameful for such a wonderful school. It is a wet campus, so drinking is usually involved but the college has taken action for each occurrence appropriately.

    What to do for fun

    There are hundreds of groups on campus. Campus Activities Board (CAB) organizes movie nights once a month in the auditorium with free popcorn and munchies. There are many sports events that even offer free bus shuttles, and there is always something going on in the union including speakers, singers, free crafts and always food.

    Food and Dining

    I worked in Food services starting in high school. They offer lots of nutritious food and have expanded their options for vegetarians, gluten free, pizza and salad stations, etc. They have a wide variety of ethnic themed foods and embrace diversity. The head of food services, Jean, is attentive to any allergies or other food requests. They are beginning to display more calories and nutritional value information above the food choices also.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms, so I cannot give an accurate rate. It did not appeal to me because I am more independent and wanted to stay focused on my studies. Living in the dorms is a great way if you are weary of transitioning from your parents and if you want friends to keep you from getting homesick, but know that you will have very little personal space and difficult to hold a job and get sleep when you are living with a hall full of college students... or so I have heard.

    Academic Rigor

    The Nursing program is difficult but not impossible. Everyone can pass if you put the time into your education. The most difficult thing is finding the time and prioritizing which information you plan to study more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved with campus activities. There are so many groups and events that you can join in on for free! Find a study group and spend time with people that are a good influence that you know will keep you on track. You are all on a journey together and it is so much easier with the support of your peers.

    In three sentences

    They strive to bring out excellence in every student with their core Benedictine values. I appreciate the intimacy of the Nursing program and the time professors invest into our education. They care about your success in the future and have prepared me very well, enhancing my confidence in my prospective career.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus as 24/7 security guards here for your safety and help all year round.

    Greek Life

    The college does not have greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for anyone and everyone on campus. And if there isn't, make one! The college loves when new students come in with new ideas and ways to get more groups of students involved.

    Bang for the buck

    The price tag may seem high, but your education is invaluable. You will come out of college with a prestigious degree and ready to start in your field of work or continue on to graduate school.

    What to do for fun

    The college is located in Duluth, MN. There are tons of fun things to do year round up here as well as the numerous events that the college puts on each month that are free to all students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty standard for the most part.

    Dorm Life

    Your peers are fantastic. Don't be afraid to jump in and get involved.

    Academic Rigor

    The college provides excellent courses that are designed to push the student to apply the material at a higher level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as possible, they will help you a great deal in the long run. Do not be afraid to create a relationship with your professors, they like that. Manage your time wisely, the days can go by fast and before you know it your first exams will be coming up. Make sure you are keeping up with your studying habits so you can feel comfortable when exams pop up.

    In three sentences

    The College of Saint Scholastica is one of the most welcoming and inviting campuses I have ever been on. The faculty and staff are magnificent as well as your fellow classmates. Although the price of tuition may look a little steep at first, the college will do everything they can to find you a way to be able to attend here.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is one entrance to the college and has cameras mentoring 24/7. Each building has key card entry except for the main building for classes.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy the intramural sports. We also have great clubs like rugby and chem club. I also enjoy playing football here at the college .

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. There is always good food at the salad bar and ethic station. The main food is good probably 3 days a week.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. There is a sink and two in wall closets. It's about the size like any other dorm room. If you are lucky you could be in the suites and get rugged floors.

    Academic Rigor

    The first year science programs are very rigor ,but it will be where you learn the meat and potatoes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Kick back and enjoy the ride You're close to UMD Choose what you want to do ,and don't go with the flow be different

    In three sentences

    In the past 6 months of attending this college I have fallen in love with the students, community, and area. This college is a great fit for science majors and for those students looking to graduate school. The college has a great feel to it and the athletics programs are amazing, it's about a quarter of the students are involved in sports.