Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

The College of Wooster Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wooster is great for students who are looking to stand out and to be well known. Students become known to the faculty, staff, other students, and the community as a whole in a short amount of time. It is a place to listen and to be heard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the school! Understanding Wooster is all about understanding the feeling of community on campus and the great involvement of Wooster students in all aspects of student life. Touring the school will give prospective students a great way to see first hand what Wooster stands for.

    Bang for the buck

    This school offers great financial aid. The financial aid office truly strives to help make the College of Wooster affordable for all students and there are a plethora of merit and need scholarships available. However, the only downside is the rising cost of tuition at Wooster. However this phenomenon not only pertains to Wooster but to the majority of small liberal arts schools that offer similar levels of high academic achievement.

    Am enjoying being here

    Wooster has hands down the best choice for me. It has a warm and welcoming environment that makes students feel important and included!

    Am learning a lot

    The faculty at Wooster really push their students to do their best. Because Wooster is a small school professors get a chance to know each of their students personally. They know each student's strengths and weaknesses and are therefore are really able to push Wooster students towards perfection.

  • 05/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Curious. Our liberal arts curriculum makes it extremely possible for students to explore disciplines that they may be interested in or want to learn more about. Students will rarely feel restrained by their major because they will have so many opportunities to learn about other subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus! It really is beautiful and there's no better way to know if you'll fit in then by visiting for yourself. And don't be afraid to ask questions to anyone on campus, either. One of our greatest attributes is our friendliness and students, faculty and staff are always more than willing to tell you about their experiences.

    Bang for the buck

    Wooster has a pretty hefty price tag; that is true. But the good news is that the College gives out an abundance of scholarships. In fact, I'd venture to say that everyone on campus is receiving some kind of financial aid package. The Financial Aid department is excellent at assisting families with this process. When I was applying for scholarships, my mom or I spoke on the phone with the department nearly every day, making sure that I could receive as much money as possible. Financial Aid recognized that I was a student who wanted to be here so they did everything they could do get me a substantial financial aid package.

    Am enjoying being here

    Any time someone asks me why I picked the College of Wooster, I always mention the instant comfort that I felt when visiting. I could really see myself as a student here and I knew that I wouldn't have any trouble fitting in. I can easily say that I have met some of the greatest people during my time here. I love being with my college friends and now, two weeks into summer break, we are already talking about coming back to school in the fall.

    Am learning a lot

    I think the most notable aspect of the curriculum is its inter-disciplinary qualities. I can think of numerous occasions in which information from one class has connected to what I am learning in another class. Wooster is not merely about giving students the facts and then testing them on names and dates. Instead, the College is dedicated to teaching students how to apply knowledge to all areas of college life.

  • 03/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to learn and conduct research: as I said before, there are so many research opportunities that you probably would not get at a larger school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to financial aid office if you need the help. If you do chose Wooster, or any other school for that matter, make sure you get involved in a variety of activities. Push yourself outside your comfort zone and experience new things.

    Bang for the buck

    The College of Wooster is pretty expensive, but the college is good about giving financial aid and scholarships to those that need it. My experience has been great and I think that I am being well prepared for graduate school, as well as my future career.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college has a great atmosphere about it. The students are very friendly and I have had no problems thus far. The professors are extremely helpful and will do whatever they can to help.

    Am learning a lot

    At the College of Wooster, you get what you put in. If you are actively engaged in class and willing to learn, then you can learn a lot. The learning does not stop in the classroom either; their are many opportunities to engage in research to further your learning experience.

  • 05/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that wish to take advantage of all of their resources. The College has so many different organizations and centers that get behind and fund student ideas to allow them to become reality.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come on a visit don't be afraid to walk around by yourself and get a real feel of the campus and the people. The tour guide will do a good job of showing that, but going out on your own will truly show the College.

    Bang for the buck

    Wooster does have a large price tag, but the admissions counselors do a great job of turning students on to scholarships. Also the financial aid office really works hard to make it affordable for students to come to Wooster.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy the people. The people here is what makes the school. Wooster has a welcoming community.

    Am learning a lot

    Learning at the College of Wooster becomes a 24 hour experience. Students often take what they have learned in class and start the very same discussion again in the dorm room and in the dinning halls

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The College of Wooster is great for students who want to go to a small college, who want to be challenged, who want to make life long friendships, who want to volunteer and be involved in the community, and want to have a great college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come to The College of Wooster and immediately feel as if you were at home, it is meant to be! This college is not for everyone, especially because it has such a small student body. Once you move in and meet your roommate and hall mates, you will feel at home, and the years will fly by, before you know it, you will be graduating.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the tuition is very high, the college offers many opportunities for grants, scholarships, and other financial help. It is one of the top rated colleges for providing financial aid to its students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made amazing friendships that will last a lifetime. Due to there only being about 2000 students on campus, you get to know almost everyone. It is great to walk to class and receive a lot of hellos and smiles. It is wonderful to know a lot of peoples names and always be able to talk to someone at anytime. Everyone is very nice and always willing to help others. There are tons of opportunities to join many different clubs, groups, and get involved in different activities. The campus is beautiful, all year long, it is small and very personable. Every student has the opportunity to grow as a student and as a person at this college.

    Am learning a lot

    The Professors at this college are amazing. All of the professors I have had know a lot about the subject they are teaching, are really interested, and still are researching on the subject. It is great to have professors that really challenge you, but will help you in very way they can. They want their students to be successful, and all seem to care a lot about their students as people, and pre professionals.

  • 05/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Most of the students at Wooster love the diversity on campus. There are many different countries and religions represented, but the great thing is how accepting everyone is of these differences. Come ready to learn!

    Bang for the buck

    It's pricey, as are the other comparable small colleges, but financial aid is readily available. Even if it still runs a higher price tag after financial aid, the quality of education and personal attention students receive makes it worth the extra money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Wooster has a great relaxed feel to the campus. You can get involved in as much or as little as you choose outside of classes, and if you're looking for it, there is plenty to do in the small town.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are challenging, but professors are always available to help. This ensured that I always kept up with the class, and therefore did quite well and learned a lot.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love learning and being challenged. Students who like the close interactions small classrooms can bring. Students who want to thrive and debate and bond and create. Also, anyone who loves, or can survive, moderately harsh winters.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you decide on Wooster: Take a student-led tour. Ask questions and talk to Financial Aid. Take a tour on your own and enjoy the beauty of the campus. Get a sense of if you would feel at home at Wooster for four years. Once you decide on Wooster: Get involved. Join clubs you know you'll love and try a new one each semester if possible. Talk to your professors outside class; build a rapport with them so when choosing your Senior Independent Study advisor comes around, you’ll know your first choice and they’ll know you. Utilize the reusable mug program when you buy your daily coffee. Listen to the school radio, Woo 91, especially when they start interviewing current seniors about their I.S. successes and mishaps. Go to the writing center if you need help with that final edit, or to the math center if, like me, you have avoided it since high school. Take archery or scuba diving or bowling or table tennis or yoga for an interesting athletic experience. If you’re applying for a campus job, e-mail the connections provided in the Student Employment Office directly instead of waiting for an interview call. Go to the Underground (the campus club) to dance or to Common Grounds (a chem-free program house) to enjoy cheap milkshakes and free video games. Have fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Wooster is a private school, so yes, tuition is steep. The Financial Aid Office is very accommodating and helpful. If you really want to go to college, they will help you find a way. The opportunities and connections to be had at Wooster are worth putting in some time with Financial Aid and in hunting down other scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    It’s true that what you give of yourself, in education and in recreation, you will receive in return. If you become involved in things that you loved in high school and if you test the waters of a new activity, you will make new friends and create great experiences. I know for myself I have made several very close friends that I will have for years to come. Wooster has over 100 clubs to choose from, intramural sports as well as collegiate teams, international opportunities, Greek life, awesome literary outlets like The Goliard, The Artful Dodge, and Year One, and a unique marching band, bag pipers and Highland dancers included. Many interesting writers, speakers, musicians, and visiting professors come to Wooster, making our campus life pretty exciting. I also love the wide range of housing options, from dorm life to program houses to major-specific suites. I definitely feel at home at Wooster and enjoy many of the opportunities the college offers.

    Am learning a lot

    This campus inspires learning, both in and out of the classroom. The small size of the classes really encourages and enables everyone to speak their mind. I was a shy student in high school, but the atmosphere here has definitely been a positive one. It's been fun making connections across disciplines as many departments tackle the same issues, but always in a fresh vein. Also, Independent Study is an intense but highly rewarding process. Your four years here help you to better define yourself and speak out. IS, for myself at least, is both the culmination of your college life at Wooster and very cathartic, as well as being an inspiration and boon to you after you graduate.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wooster is really great for students who aren't afraid of stepping out of their comfort zones.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus! Definitely take advantage of the number of student organizations and find one you like.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not going to lie, tuition is high. Nonetheless, our financial aid office is really helpful. Most students get financial aid and in general the office is very understanding and in some circumstance increase the amount of aid given.

    Am enjoying being here

    In all honesty, I couldn't imagine myself at another school. Granted, Wooster is not the right fit for everyone, but it definitely was the right decision for me. Most of my experience really comes from the groups I joined and I think a full Wooster experience comes from getting involved on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    At Wooster I feel like I am always learning something inside and outside of the classroom. Being encouraged to take courses outside of my major may have pushed me a little out of my comfort zone, but were honestly the classes that I strove my hardest to succeed in and I'm most proud of my self for taking. A lot of my learning at Wooster though has taken place outside of the classroom. Getting involved in different student organizations on campus has taught me things that you really learn only from experience.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is everywhere, even to the point of being in the way, however you are very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is a non-national greek life here and it is pretty large.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are ton of clubs and activities to get involved in on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, motivated and have a passion to learn more.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school, they all are expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties on the Weekends and the campus is pretty friendly overall.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good especially as you learn your way around Lowery, the dinning hall, however the on campus options for food are limited.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun and Wooster does an excellent job pairing up roommates. They are a little dated and you wont find the suites that you find at larger universities.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes you take here are not intended to be east, be prepared to work but also be rewarded accordingly. I rarely have any busy work and most of the homework is very stimulating and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to visit and see if it is for you, its a small school.

    In three sentences

    Wooster has incredible professors that are always available and willing to help students. The students are smart and hard working individuals that know where and what they would like to be doing in life. The campus is social enough to be fun however education is always first with the students.

  • 05/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in learning in a intimate and diverse environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely come for an overnight visit before making your decision. It's a great way to learn about the campus and community.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who enjoy all different types of activities get along great at The College of Wooster. The drama department is excellent and puts on great shows with spectacular sets. Ultimate Frisbee teams and rec soccer games go on for those not into playing for the college specifically. Frats and sororities exist, but the Greek life is a small part of the student representation and get along with each other as well as with non-Greeks. Students who enjoy hard work and play will love it here, as long as they're resourceful with what they're given.

    Tips for prospective students

    The College of Wooster seniors spend their time working on their Independent Study project, which revolves around their major. If you're planning on coming here and then transferring after your second year to avoid Junior and Senior I.S., then you should probably enroll somewhere else for your first-year. Partying is fun, but College of Wooster students take their academics extremely seriously and if you aren't ready to put a lot of effort into your classes, this school also isn't for you. Those with open-minds thrive at this college, so if you love introducing and trying new things, you'll fit in great.

    Bang for the buck

    The College of Wooster costs a lot, there is no denying it. However, if you revert back to the you get what you put in statement when it came to learning, then the same applies here. If you work hard but also let yourself enjoy life at Wooster, the money is definitely worth it. The food is excellent compared to other college food, and the college really tries to provide fun entertainment for the students so life doesn't get too monotonous on campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is definitely beautiful, and if you are okay with living in a smaller area, then you will thrive. The College of Wooster is not for people who love big cities, because there really isn't much to do around the college. If you enter the college with an open-mind, you will enjoy your time spent here.

    Am learning a lot

    The College of Wooster quickly ingrains in your head that independent minds go far. The professors encourage students to approach them for help reviewing essays or class clarification, and if you do, you'll benefit greatly. I have not yet encountered a professor that did not care for their students, so if one does not do well, it is because they did not put in quality effort. It is true, you get what you put in, and you can get a lot from The College of Wooster.

  • 07/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wooster is definitely a diverse campus. I think that any type of student can attend and fit right in. There are many different types of people that all live and get along in the same environment. Although Wooster is definitely not for you if you are looking to party a lot and not spend very much time studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know people and don't be afraid to get involved on campus. The earlier you do so, the easier the transition to college will be.

    Bang for the buck

    While tuition is so high, Wooster definitely makes it affordable for any student that wants to attend. I can honestly say that I am receiving an exceptional education for the cost of attendance.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love being at Wooster. I must admit that at first I wasn't sure that I made the right decision and often thought that I would be more successful at another school. After spending a year on campus and learning so much, I can't imagine going to school anywhere else. I love the comfort that I feel on campus and in the classroom. It is always nice to see familiar faces as well, instead of just being one in a million.

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely learning a lot in this challenging academic atmosphere. All of the professors take the time to learn each one of their students personally and are always willing to help. You can also tell that all of these professors are very passionate about their area of study and truly want their students to succeed. I can say that everyday I am being challenged and pushed to learn more than before. While the work load can sometimes be frustrating, I know I am going to be better off in the long run.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is definitely friction between the college and the townies. People have been attacked on campus in isolated incidents. I have not had a problem, however.

    Greek Life

    Greeks take themselves way too seriously on campus. All frats and sororities are local, not national, so they all have an an undertone of take me seriously, which is annoying to be around.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can probably find like minded people on campus and that will make free time much more enjoyable. Being a small campus, the clubs are usually small though.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students that don' t have to worry about cost and can stomach the aforementioned campus culture. If you can handle both of those hurdles, it will be a good fit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You get a tootsie roll when you turn in your senior thesis, and you walk through the arch before freshman year, and after you graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    0 stars actually, they just made me give a minimum of one. The education is good, but blatantly not worth it. Tuition has skyrocketed and shows no sign of slowing down. The money is used to fund the fancier and higher maintenance demands of an increasingly economically exclusive (by which I mean wealthy) student body. They also pay for increased amenities, services, and facilities because the administration feels like they have to keep up with other schools in the area, instead on being independent minds and defining theemselves. The real kicker is that none of these purchases actually further the education of the students, they are just to make students more comfortable.

    What to do for fun

    Wooster is a nice little town (26,000 people I think). While it doesn't have lot of the excitement of a big city there are a feew things to do. Mostly you just kind of figure out something to do with your friends though.

    Food and Dining

    The dining halls are fine. Three meal plan options give you some choice. You get a combination of meal swipes and flex dollars.

    Dorm Life

    I've been in a room next to people who party all the time for the second year in a row now, and I'm not the only one. The rooms themselves are pretty basic. Res life is kind of a pain to deal with, but not really a major inconvenience in the end.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are good. Small classes encourage active participation, and close relationships with professors are common and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come here. The strong and frequent tuition hikes alone make it not worth it, and the aforementioned campus culture makes it a lot worse. Everybody has a friend who had to transfer out for financial reasons, and al ot of others are taking on enormous debt. They (tuition hikes) also make the school very economically exclusive, and foster a very high maintenance culture and environment. Payscale recently ranked wooster #778 out of bout 1200 schools in its best value category (#1 being the best). Ultimately, good students will succeed wherever they go, and there are plenty of better options.

    In three sentences

    There is a lot of pretentiousness and elitism on campus, especially among the administration. They have really been turning wooster into a country club school. That culture on campus is definitely noticeable and unfortunately prominant.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security isnâ??t a huge issue on campus. The security guards you see when if you visit are pretty much just for show. There is some tension between the town and the college, but itâ??s not awful.

    Greek Life

    The greeks on campus aren't national. It's kind of funny to watch how seriously they take themselves in light of that. Depending on who you talk to you'll either think that greeks here are not abnormal at all or that they're complete jerks, just like everyone else I suppose.

    Clubs and Activities

    Iâ??ve had a lot of fun with school clubs. In my experience nobody takes the clubs too seriously, but they are structured enough to mean something. Itâ??s a good balance.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that donâ??t have to worry about how much college costs. If you can afford to run down purely academic curiosities and are confident in your ability to find a job with a liberal arts degree after graduation (or go to grad school) then you should be ok.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year people try to fill in the arch with snow, but it never works. Oh, and the marching band has bag pipes, which is actually really cool. They have highland dancer(s) (there was only one last year) perform during halftime at football games.

    Bang for the buck

    Ultimately I would say that a Wooster education is a bad purchase. The price is simply too high to justify the education it buys, even with the best financial aid. Plus the tuition increases are only getting worse, it really is out of control unfortunately.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a whole lot to do in the town of Wooster itself, so most people just end up resorting to drinking or smoking weed.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is fine. Thereâ??s always plenty to eat, and if you use your meal swipes (you get a set number per semester depending on your meal plan) well then you shouldnâ??t have a problem.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are good. Thereâ??s more than enough space, but honestly I donâ??t spend much time in my room anyway. The worst part is when you actually try to get some sleep on the weekend (or Wednesday nightâ?¦itâ??s a thing here) because odds are that somebody will be partying.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic quality is pretty good. A lot of the econ professors have this major inferiority complex (about being an econ professor, I assume), which means theyâ??re constantly trying to prove that theyâ??re smarter and better than their students. That gets old fast.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a lot of different people if you get the chance to visit, it will give you a better sense of the kind of people that are there. Also, donâ??t apply to all liberal arts colleges. Schools like Wooster are ludicrously expensive and only getting worse. Prices maybe semi-affordable at first, but I promise they wonâ??t stay that way.

    In three sentences

    Culturally there is definitely a strong sense of rich kid entitlement. The administration thinks along the same lines and plays into it, so that just accelerates the situation. It gets to be frustrating when itâ??s all around you.

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    creative, enthusiastic, athletic, social,

    Tips for prospective students

    bring warm clothes! be willing to try new activities! you'll make some great new friends. Club sports like ultimate frisbee are a blast!

    Bang for the buck

    wooster is a great school you learn a lot, but it is expensive. there are a lot of opportunities to go abroad or get an internship.

    Am enjoying being here

    THe campus is gorgeous in the summer, spring and fall! it is a little rough in the winter for us southerners, but there is such an inviting atmosphere here that it makes those ok.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are so wonderful here and always willing to help !

  • 09/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have always wanted a challenge in their studies, but have struggled to find things that interest them in High School (sometimes to the detriment of their grades). The College of Wooster looks for kids who will fit into the community before all else. This is not a Numbers Only kind of College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit. It's that simple. The thing that I like most about this campus day-to-day is the environment and the general feeling of community. Spend some time on campus, talk to students and see if you fit in. It can be tough for some to travel to Wooster, but I suspect a number of you will find it well worth the trip.

    Bang for the buck

    The College of Wooster has a beautiful campus, excellent facilities, wonderful teachers, and a small, personal class structure. The necessary downside of this high quality is high cost. The College of Wooster's Tuition and Fees cost pushes $40,000 and the overall cost with room and board is almost $50,000. Realistically, this will not be the amount many families actually pay. The financial aid office is generally very flexible and willing to deal with any number of family circumstances and financial problems. That said, sometimes aid will be given to students based on not who they are as students, but what they can give to the college in statistics or sports performance.

    Am enjoying being here

    This college is a great place to spend four years. The community is lively, warm, and close-knit. But the surrounding community can be found a little lacking by those from larger metro areas. That said, Wooster goes out of its way to bring in activities and cultural events for students to participate in. The local town may not have a huge diversity of restaurants, but it is a particularly beautiful part of Ohio. Personally, I have only now spent time going off of campus to explore the surrounding areas and I have been pleasantly surprised with what I've found. It is hard to find a reason to leave the College sometimes, as the community and campus environment is so lively and busy. It is painfully easy to over-schedule yourself with all of the opportunities that you are presented with here on campus. Overall, if students find themselves liking Wooster when they visit, they will find themselves loving every moment they spend here as a student.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my friends from high school, and indeed, all of the people I've talked to on the subject agree that The College of Wooster has by far the most challenging and interesting course load of any school they are aware of. The combination of small classes, high standards, and personal attention from professors means that students at Wooster are challenged, on a day-to-day basis, to push themselves academically. The true jewel in Wooster's academic crown is the Independent Study capstone project. Students replace a class both semester Senior year with this project that is completely self-directed. Under the mentorship and watchful eye of a Professor chosen as their adviser, students can really delve into a topic that interests them. The things that students can do in this time period is truly amazing. If challenge is what you want, Wooster is the place for you.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We don't have any national sororities or fraternities, but we do have ones specific to our school.

    Great for these types of students

    Curious, independent, excited, passionate, dedicated, well-rounded, open-minded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Trying to fill the arch in the center of campus full of snow so as to postpone classes. Bagpipers.

    What to do for fun

    Personally, I enjoy hanging out in the student center, sitting in the amazingly comfortable chairs, sometimes around a the fire. The Old Main Cafe is also a great place to hang out. There is also a bowling alley on campus, sledding down a nearby hill when there is snow, going downtown or to the north end, and the movies.

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining halls, though one is only open for lunch, serving vegetarian and vegan food. The dining hall constantly rotates, and there is a grill and a sandwich station similar to Subway. There is a diner beneath the main floor of what is essentially the student center, which serves great food that can be purchased with Flex Dollars which come as part of the meal plan. They can also be used in the small on-campus grocery store and the Old Main Cafe, located in the main academic building. Overall, the dining plan offers a great deal of flexibility and the food is on average very good.

    Dorm Life

    Currently there has been a bit of a challenge fitting everyone. Besides this, almost all of the dorms are very nice. Communal bathrooms are the norm, but not always the case. My experience has been filled with floor bonding and gatherings, as well as a fantastic atmosphere and bond with everyone in the dorm, beyond my own hall.

    Academic Rigor

    It is my impression that the system of only allowing students to take four classes each semester works very well because the classes are very demanding, with intensive reading and essay writing in almost every class. The lower number of classes makes it possible to manage the work for all of the classes and to really engage with and learn the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you're getting yourself into: make sure that you are interested in doing the senior research project. Be open to the challenge - don't let it intimidate you because the professors are more than willing to help and counsel you in order to help you be successful.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus with glorious oak trees and breathtaking architecture. Dedicated professors with a dedication to their students and a passion for the subjects they teach and continue to research. Interested students who care deeply about their studies, working towards their goals while continuing to be active in various college groups and activities.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    With a brand new gym, and so many free activities, it is definitely worth the price.

    Food and Dining

    There is so much great food places on campus and so much variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are locate just a 2 minute walk from all the building where classes are held.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes will make you work, but the professors are kind and willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    You absolutely must visit this campus!

    In three sentences

    The College of Wooster is a school that is dedicated to educating it's students. The campus is beautiful and the students are some of the friendliest around! There is never a dull moment here since there is so many activities happening on campus daily and the city is just a short walk away.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Things to do for fun include going to the gym , touring down town Wooster and joining organizations which will present you with opportunities to travel off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Campus dinning is fantastic, a variety of choices are offered such as Pop's , Mom's One Stop Truck Stop, The C store etc.

    Dorm Life

    I believe that your living situation all depends on how you approach the different standards of living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very challenging and help you improve your overall skills with a variety of resources to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always conduct research and be passionate about the things you do.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this college a 5 out of 5 stars in academics. I would rate this college a 3 out of 5 stars on campus community. Overall this is a great college to attend.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have special alarm systems set up all over the campus and if anything goes wrong all of the lights will flash to alert the students. Police patrol the campus often and there are walkways for all of the students to cross the street. It is a very safe community.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have so many clubs and activities, just as any other college. But there is also a range of interesting clubs (interesting to me) such as the bagpipers! Students can start their own clubs as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a tight community, teachers that get to know you and help you with your needs, and academic challenge with aid every step of the way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A fun tradition that a senior told me about was that every winter whenever there is a heavy snow all of the students will get together and try and fill their famous arch all the way to the top, and if they can do it then school will be canceled the next day! I don't think they've done it in a while, but they all have fun doing it, and one year the cops even showed up... to give them hot chocolate! It is a tradition supported by everyone!

    What to do for fun

    There are many little restaurants all around the city as well as sports fields and a golf course right outside the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food was wonderful and comes with a plan when you go to there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm that I looked at was a sophomore dorm, and it seemed pretty typical. But the options are nice, everything is in a close vicinity to the classrooms, and they are a decent size to start out in college.

    Academic Rigor

    They have so many programs that vary from studying abroad to their senior projects. Every student has to have a project of their own that is viewed highly by employers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to take the time to visit the campus and sit in on a class. It definitely helps you get a feel for it, just like any other college.

    In three sentences

    The college of Wooster is a beautiful small campus. The student teacher ratio is amazing for students looking for high support from teachers. And the majors for biology and psychology that I sat in on where very interesting.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's not much to worry about. However, African American students have to worry about racial tension.

    Greek Life

    There is no Divine 9

    Clubs and Activities

    plethora, if you can't find something you like, you can make your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional style

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Filling Kauke arch with snow every year to cancel classes is one of our lengthy traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    It's selectiveness makes the price plausible

    What to do for fun

    Socialize

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat buffet style with great staff.

    Dorm Life

    Better than most colleges I've encountered, but these dorms are not like condos.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor is manageable, but never ending.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your research on the social climate. African American students usually have a hard time adjusting.

    In three sentences

    This school is vigorous but manageable. It provides you the opportunity to make the most out of your situation. Collaborative independence is greatly encouraged.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security takes themselves too seriously, but you probably won't get busted unless you do something pretty extreme. There have been some incidences in the past with townies attacking students thought. The relationship between the town and the college is tense.

    Greek Life

    Greeks on campus have the tendency to take themselves a little seriously. There are no national frats or sororities, so they are all local and have kind of an inferiority complex.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs on campus are good because the people in them are usually pretty dedicated and happy to have others who are interested. A small school does mean small clubs though.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that don't have to worry about the cost. If you don't have to worry about how it is getting paid for, then I would say the education is worth it, but if you do, maybe you should look at some more affordable schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You get a tootsie roll your senior year when you turn in your thesis. Also, the seniors always march through a big arch we have on campus every year. Sometimes if there's a lot of snow in the winter, people try to fill it up, but it never works.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say low value. The education is good, but the truth is smart kids are going to be able to learn at a wide range of schools. The tuition and fees costs are getting ridiculous, and only increasing. Every year people transfer out because of money.

    What to do for fun

    Wooster is a pretty small town, but there are a few cool places to hang out. Mostly for fun people just get together with their friends and figure out something to do. Odds are that it will involve drinking, there�s a lot of that.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall is nice. The food is perfectly fine and the staff are good people mostly.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms themselves are pretty basic. It can be hard to sleep sometimes when somebody on your hall is partying at the same time. Not everyone here is a serious student, so you run into that. Res life is weird, but they are nice people individually.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty good. The professors are bright, and that's obviously good. Honestly if you just take notes, study, and do your homework you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to a few different kinds of schools, i.e. state school, liberal arts school, private research university (obviously depending on your interests) and look at the different financial aid letters. These will matter almost as much as the actual acceptance letter. And don�t be fooled by initial tuition prices, tuition and fees here have increased dramatically over the past few years, and it will likely continue.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere on campus is very stuffy, as in aristocratic or even pretentious. It�s rare to hear people talking about �real world� or blue-collar type of issues. That being said, the education itself is a good one provided by intelligent professors.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 120 clubs on campus that anyone can participate in, regardless of their major.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are willing to step out of their comfort zone. The faculty will support taking courses outside of your major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A well-known tradition is filling the arch on campus with snow, during the Winter.

    Bang for the buck

    It looks a little pricy--50k a year was an eye-popper for me-- but there are so many scholarships and grants that this number will drop dramatically. Especially with the top-notch classes and teachers, you'll definitely get the bang for your buck here.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious, and the campus is also very vegetarian friendly. It also has a wide range of food plans, to give each student a range that can meet their needs.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small, allowing for more one-on-one work with the teachers. They will also make sure that you are on the top of your game so you can do your best to excel.

    In three sentences

    The College of Wooster is absolutely amazing. The campus is beautiful and the classes are top notch. Most of all, the faculty are always there to help, which is something that a lot of schools lack in this day and age.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a lot of tension between the town and the college. A few times there have been attacks against students. Also on weekends the number of intoxicated people roaming around can cause some problems if you're out late.

    Greek Life

    All the fraternities and sororities are local, so there are no national chapters. Most of them stick together a lot, but I have some friends in a sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are a lot of fun. Don't overextend yourself and join too many freshman year though like I did!

    Great for these types of students

    Honestly it's great for students that are used to an affluent lifestyle. Students that like small classes (like me) have other options. Given how much Wooster has been turning into a country club style school, I would say first of all you have to be willing to pay for that way of living.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You get a tootsie roll after you turn in your senior thesis. Also, freshman walk through an arch on the humanities building before they start classes, and then seniors do it.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely a low value. It's a good education and all, but the soaring tuition and fees make it not worth it. They spend a lot of money on things that are really unnecessary and probably just playing into the demands of high maintenance portions of the student body. A lot of the things the administration decides to spend money on are glitzy and attract high maintenance students, but don't ultimately improve the quality of education, so the cost goes up, but the end product doesn't.

    What to do for fun

    Wooster is a small town, so there isn't a whole lot to do in town, but you can find something if you spend a little time looking. Most people just end up drinking a lot, but my friends and I usually find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is pretty good. It's not much to brag about, but it gets the job done and I�¢����m a pretty low maintenance gal!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. As long as you keep your space clean it'Â?s a good place to live. My least favorite though thing is dealing with people on my hall constantly partying and making loud noise doing other things.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are good. I've learned a lot more than I think I would through standard coursework with my professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the schools that you are interested in if you can. I made the mistake of not visiting Wooster and I was disappointed in the campus culture when I spent some time here. Try to spend as much time as you can with students, and just have conversations about random things. That�¢����s how you�¢����ll really get the feel of a place.

    In three sentences

    I haÃ?Â?Ã?Â?ve had a great time learning from the interactions in the small classes. Culturally it has become a pretty snobby place in the past few years thought. Theirs definitely are a lot of pretentious people on campus.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security at Wooster mainly just means being smart about what you do when you go out at night. Culturally sexual assault tends not to be taken very seriously on campus, which is very frightening to me and a lot of my friends.

    Greek Life

    The greeks are generally either very nice or super-cliquey. It really depends on who exactly you're talking about.

    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs are a lot of fun. Don't overextend yourself and join too many freshman year though like I did!

    Great for these types of students

    I think that maybe it is better to say that this school is NOT good for people that are low-maintenance. If you generally find yourself not expecting much to be given to you, then you will get very easily frustrated here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some traditions include getting a tootsie roll when you turn in your senior thesis, and trying to fill the arch at Kauke hall with snow every winter. (it never works)

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely a low value. It's a good education and all, but the soaring tuition and fees make it not worth it. They spend a lot of money on things that are really unnecessary and probably just playing into the demands of high maintenance portions of the student body.

    What to do for fun

    Wooster is a small town, so there isn't a whole lot to do off campus. You can find a few things if you look hard, but a vast majority of people just drink and party.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is pretty good. It's not much to brag about, but it gets the job done and I'm a pretty low maintenance gal!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. As long as you keep your space clean it's a good place to live. My least favorite though thing is dealing with people on my hall constantly partying and making loud noise doing other things.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are strong. The professors are smart and generally very helpful. It's not uncommon for personal relationships between students and professors to develop. This is rewarding in more than just an academic sense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the schools that you are interested in if you can. I made the mistake of not visiting Wooster and I was disappointed in the campus culture when I spent some time here. Try to spend as much time as you can with students, and just have conversations about random things. That's how you'll really get the feel of a place.

    In three sentences

    Culturally it has become a pretty snobby place in the past few years though. Theirs definitely are a lot of pretentious people on campus that have a kind of rich party boy apathy. Go to twitter and take a look at @woogoggles and you'll wee what I mean.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security at Wooster isn't that great, but thankfully if you're smart about it that won't matter. There is a social mentality that isn't necessarily permissive of sexual assault, but definitely permits a casual approach to the issue. I mean this in the sense that it's ok to joke about it and stuff. For example last year at a dance concert type event one of the fraternities enacted a sexual assault on stage with one of their members dressed as a girl.

    Greek Life

    The greeks on campus are all local chapters, so they are either just really chill and laid back or they take themselves entirely too seriously and strut around with an insufferable inferiority complex.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs on campus are pretty fun. It's always good to find people that share your interests, and clubs are a great way to do that.

    Great for these types of students

    Wooster is perfect for people that grew up in affluence. I don't mean this in a bad way, but the truth is that different people grow up in different lifestyles. A lifestyle of affluence is probably the closest to what one can expect at Wooster both culturally and in terms of what to expect in terms of amenities, services, and facilities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The move in process is always aided by fall athletes that are there for their camp week. Every year on the day that senior theses are due all the seniors get drunk and march through a big arch in the humanities building. And every year the family of each student gets a letter saying that administrators try to provide the best education at a reasonable cost, but in order to maintain the wooster lifestyle tuition and fees have to go up by some ridiculous amount.

    Bang for the buck

    Wooster has a low value, absolutely. The skyrocketing tuition jumps so much each year that even predicting the cost is tough. Everybody has a friend that had to transfer out for because they got blindsided by a massive cost increase. It's very arrogant to assume that a Wooster education is worth this cost. There are plenty of other schools just as good as Wooster with a much, much better value.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of school sponsored activities throughout the year, but for the most part people just get into groups and go find a party somewhere.

    Food and Dining

    The food plan is alright. There are two dining halls, both of which have a lot of space and are nice halls in general. There's a little campus convenience store that has coffee, tea, snacks, etc. which comes in handy. The staff is generally very nice too.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are pretty small, especially for freshmen. There was a lot of talk about making a building way off campus a dorm to deal with the high number of admitted students. It looks like it's going to happen, which is going to be a pain for whoever lives there. Res life is pretty easy to deal with though, and the RA's can help you out, so that's nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Wooster is pretty strong. The professors are (at least in my experience) very down to earth and helpful. It takes a lot of hard work to figure things out sometimes, but it sticks in your head a lot stronger because of the work you had to do to get there.

    Tips for prospective students

    If it's not too late, look at some different schools. Wooster fits only a very specific group of people. The same sentiment is true in a broader sense for liberal arts colleges. Also, if you have parents or aunts or uncles that went here talk to them about how blue collar or country club-like it was when they went there. They'll likely tell you it wasn't really that elitist. The change has come largely in the past 15-20 years, just remember that.

    In three sentences

    It was hard to tell at first, but after being here for a while I can totally see a kind of stuck up country club atmosphere on campus. Itâ??s among the administration too. There is a sense that they â??needâ?? this or that really high-end service of building or whatever.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is pretty ineffective. There have been isolated attacks on students by townies. Generally security is just there to impress your parents if you come to visit, and they take themselves very seriously. They won't bust you unless you do something really stupid though.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is either taken way too seriously, or taken very lightly, depending on who you talk to. None of the greeks are national though.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are pretty cool. It is nice to have people with similar interests around, or at least be able to find them.

    Great for these types of students

    Wooster is great for students that can financially afford to go wherever they want and my not be cut out for a few of their first choice schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition of attempting to fill an arch in the humanities building with snow in the winter, but it rarely works. It is fun if you have the time though. Although it's not a tradition it happens every year that some people are forced to transfer out after our yearly tuition spikes. Everybody has a friend that has had to, and it's sad every year.

    Bang for the buck

    Wooster is a bad buy, plain and simple. Don't be fooled by any guides or books that say otherwise. With the loads of college guides out there, every school gets put on some list at some point or another. As a student on the ground, I can tell you that Wooster is entirely too expensive, even with the best financial aid, for the product that you get in the end.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a whole lot to do in town because of how small it is. Most people just end up drinking or smoking weed or something. It can get boring, I'm not gonna lie.

    Food and Dining

    The dining is actually pretty good. There is a full buffet spread for all three meals; it's pretty nice. There are two dining halls and one is vegetarian. The number of students is being permitted to rise pretty aggressively though, so the lines are LONG if you show up at the wrong time.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are basic, and res life won't do anything for you unless you annoy them about it. If you do come here, bring earplugs because there is a good chance that you get stuck near someone who parties late and has no conception of thin walls.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are mediocre. The professors are hit or miss. Also, it is true that you end up learning almost as much from other students as you do from your professors (in a different way, obviously) and the students here are intellectually hit or miss like the professors. This is mainly because to go here you have to first clear the financial hurdle, which eliminates a lot of smart students right off the bat, and so the people that get in are generally wealthy, but they may or may not be very bright.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at other schools. I can't speak for all liberal arts colleges, but I can say that there are many better options out there than Wooster. The education is flat out not worth the money, even with the financial aid, and honestly regardless of how the admissions office flatters you they are after your money, and your success is a secondary consideration.

    In three sentences

    Wooster's commitment to socio-economic diversity is honestly a bunch of crap. There are a lot of east coast old money kids here, which is fine, but it really speaks to the economic exclusivity of Wooster and the social climate. It's kind of ironic how economically exclusive it is, because it's really not academically exclusive at all which means the school is just after the money and the prestige so many people think it buys.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is not very effective, so I wouldnâ??t count on them to protect you much. There is a lot of friction between the townies and the students. This is mainly because Wooster is a very blue-collar town but the students come almost exclusively from very wealthy families, and itâ??s easy to tell. There have been isolated incidences of attacks on students, so be aware.

    Greek Life

    None of the greeks here are actually national, but a few like to think that they are, so they take themselves way to seriously and it's pretty funny to watch.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs aren't bad. I haven't been able to find one that really sparks my interest, but there are A LOT of them here, so to be fair that's really just a reflection of me.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people that are interested in pursuing a high maintenance life style for four years and can financially afford it. I don't mean to sound jaded or bash on the school, but it's just true, that's just the way it is.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditions include trying to fill the arch with snow during the winter, and seniors getting a tootsie roll when they turn in their thesis. They also include an annual letter telling you why they â??have toâ?? raise your tuition.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is extremely high and rising. Having experienced the school first hand, I can tell you that it is in no way worth it. People transfer out because of cost every year. If you're a good student, then there will be plenty of opportunity to succeed at a school that won't leave you in a debilitating hole of debt after you graduate. The truth is, once you've graduated nobody really cares where you went to college, so why kill your bank account for a name that doesn't mean anything and nobody will know anyway?

    What to do for fun

    There really isnâ??t a whole lot to do for fun in such a small town, especially for a college student. A lot of people have there own cars and can drive to some surrounding towns, but itâ??s not much better. In the end most people just end up drinking.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is pretty nice, well they both are, we have two. There is a full buffet spread for all meals. I highly recommend not making any decisions based on dining though.

    Dorm Life

    Res life is a little odd sometimes, nobody is really a big fan. They were talking a lot about putting a residence hall a long way off of campus to accommodate making some of the rooms bigger to meet the demands of apparently high-maintenance students. Also, there is a real chance that you get stuck next to people that will party at all hours of the night. I recommend bringing earplugs if you come.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are largely good, but it can be hit or miss depending on who your professor is and who else is in your class. If you get the right combination of a good professor and good students around you then you will love the class, but if you donâ??t then it is insanely frustrating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to find out as much as you can about the campus culture before you go to a school. I know that sounds like an obscure task and not important, but the truth is that good students will succeed wherever they go regardless of the schools reputation. If you view the quality of a school as more than just the amount of money that it has, then you will likely be frustrated by Wooster, and that can seriously hinder the college experience.

    In three sentences

    Wooster has a lot of students and administrators that view quality of schools as how much money they have. There is a sense that if another school costs less than Wooster then it is automatically inferior. Itâ??s just culturally very pretentious and materialistic.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security was, and I believe still is there mainly just for show. Students are relatively safe, although if you are still interested in Wooster, investigate students getting mugged by townies. And by investigate, I mean don't ask the admissions office because they will flat out lie to you.

    Greek Life

    The greeks that I knew had a major inferiority complex because they were local, not national. That made them annoying to be around, but I don't know if that has changed at all or not.

    Clubs and Activities

    I had a great experience with student organizations while I was in school. The trick is to find the right one though. Your first few tries might be a bit off and you'll get super annoyed, but things like that just build character.....and patience.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that have the family affluence to not have to worry about the rising tuition cost issue. It is even better for students from affluent families that are accustomed to a slightly more comfortable lifestyle and may not have the most immaculate high school academic record that may jeopardize your chances of getting into your first choice school. It's true from everything I've heard and seen about my alma mater that they are striving to recruit affluent students, and the admissions are really not exclusive.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We had the tradition of getting a tootsie roll when you turn in your thesis, and walking through the arch on the day that it's due. I don't know if I'm missing anything, I never really paid attention to that stuff.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the buck is definitely low, very low. This is not to say that the academics are AWEFUL (at least not usually) but even when I was around the tuition hikes were entirely too high to justify what we were getting academically. There are plenty of other schools that will offer just as good academics while not putting you in ridiculous amounts of debt, regardless of what Wooster propaganda spewing administrators will say. (They also like to shower you with statistics that prove to be very skewed after a bit of investigation).

    What to do for fun

    When I was in school there was not a lot to do in town, and even on campus things got a little boring. We managed to have fun with our friends though. From what I understand now it's pretty much the same thing, only with a lot more alcohol.

    Food and Dining

    The dining was actually not bad when I was there. The dining halls themselves are A LOT nicer now, and so is the food.

    Dorm Life

    I remember the dorms being pretty basic, and I have no idea how they've changed since I've left, so 3 stars just to play it safe.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics were good when I went there, but I understand they have gone downhill a lot since then. Academic standards have fallen because Wooster is not longer attracting the smartest students. Academic meritocracy is being replaced with a financial one.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to look at liberal arts colleges, look for one that demonstrates a commitment to accessibility, and doesn't just talk about it like Wooster does. Only very wealthy families can afford to sent their kids to Wooster, which is fine, but they are not accessible despite the admissions departments propaganda otherwise.

    In three sentences

    Since I left, and even while I was in school, I noticed that Wooster was not the school that I thought it was when I applied. It has completely changed into a stereotypical wealthy liberal arts college that lost all the character and accessibility that made me interested in it in the first place. It's almost like the school started aspiring to be rich and have students from wealthy families rather than have the smartest and most hardworking students.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Security department itself is made up of great people - human, helpful and competent. I haven't seen a crackdown at a party or a raid of anyone's room that wasn't expected. They're good about telling when something is getting out of hand, versus a bunch of friends goofing around. However, when it comes to safety, I feel like the policy that Security must abide by is bad. I've seen a lot of assault cases - sexual and otherwise - handled poorly, and a lot of that comes from the rule that one is technically not allowed to fight back if they feel endangered. Not to mention that the Judicial Board is mostly Greeks, and coincidentally, the Greeks are involved in a lot of assault incidents. Also, lots of catcalling and bigotry from idiots driving down Beall Avenue. Had some incident with a blow dart last year that has since been resolved, but it was a bit terrifying having that going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Wooster is full of smart people, but they've got a knack for picking out students with a lot of potential to be great in academia. That being said, there's no air of better-than-thou or really vicious competition. Everyone who is there is there to do their best and figure out where they want to go with it. Also, Bagpipe aficionados.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bagpipes! If you come to Wooster, prepare to have the sound of bagpipes constantly in your head. And it's not half bad, really. Also, I'm pretty sure we have 3 different mascots, which is a bit odd. More academically speaking, I don't know how popular a Senior Thesis program is, but I do know ours is more rigorous than most students are used to. Our Independent Study project, or IS for short, consists of a full research paper anywhere between 80-130 pages, along with a visual presentation. It must be presented to faculty in an oral presentation, and there is a day set aside for the general public/student body to come and view everyone's IS.

    Bang for the buck

    Ugh. The college is great and all, as I've tried to make clear in the previous sections, but I don't know if /anything/ is really worth $50,000 every single year (with an tuition that's increased about $10,000 in the past 5 years). A lot of people going here can't pay full tuition, or even half or a third of tuition, and Wooster advocates having excellent Financial Aid. Freshman year, sure, the Financial Aid packet was excellent. But my tuition has gone up by $10,000 since (I'm a rising junior), and the college says they can't do anything to help. Wooster also recently got a Fiske Best Buy award and there's a lot of hype about it. Myself and many friends of mine think it's largely undeserved.

    What to do for fun

    COW puts on a lot of major events throughout the year, such as J'ouvert, a few different concerts, lectures, various themed nights at Lowry, and so on. Off-campus, there's a great college-town sort of Downtown, as well as a more commercialized uptown. Going out to eat with a bunch of friends is usually my first choice, since there are a lot of great places within walking distance in either part of town. Downtown there are many antique shops and second-hand stores, along with a few furniture/pottery/curio sort of shops, as well as tattoo and piercing parlors, and a really well stocked bookstore. Uptown, you've got your typical retail stores: WalMart, Kohls, Elder Beerman, JCPenny's, etc. Also, at the beginning of the fall there are a lot of events that take place in the more rural part of Wooster, mainly corn mazes, pumpkin patches, stuff of that nature. There's also a paintball field about 45 minutes out that I hear is pretty excellent.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has 2 different dining halls (Lowry and Kitteredge) along with a sub cart, Mom's (which is basically our own little fast food restaurant), and some legendary Hot Dog cart (I've never seen it, personally). Each option has a wide variety of foods, and there will almost always be one option that sounds good. However, on the occasion that you're not feeling any of those options, the city of Wooster is packed to the brim with pizza, chinese, fast food restaurants, and a plethora of other restaurants ranging from greasy diner to upscale steakhouse.

    Dorm Life

    Some rooms are impeccable (private bathroom, a/c, rather large, etc.), and some rooms are crappy. Try not to get a room in Bissman - students are doubled up into rooms that are meant to be singles. Some building closer to downtown - the Gault Family Learning Center, I believe? - is supposed to be renovated and made into a dorm. Most of the dorms are located conveniently close to the academic buildings, Lowry, and Security all at once, but that building is a bit far out from the rest. Also, RA's are all different, but I've never heard of one actively out to get students, or being very uptight. Also, I know it's out of our control who we're placed with aside from filling out a survey, but try not to have issues with your roommate. ResLife is a complete mess (and actually doesn't exist anymore as it's merged with a few other departments due to everyone who worked there moving to other jobs), and trust me when I say you do not want to have to deal with them. You'll have to get your parents involved if you want anything to get done.

    Academic Rigor

    Incredibly challenging but not impossible. As with any competent education program, you get out what you put in. Professors are always open to offering help, reading papers ahead of time, etc. But it is definitely a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask A LOT of questions. Don't count on the tour guides, ARCHers, or anyone that the school has hired to give you fully honest responses- try to spend a night at the school and be sure to talk to a lot of current students. Also, the amount of people in Lowry/Kittredge when you go to eat lunch? That's typical. If you do decide to go here, try to stay away from Lowry between the hours of 12-1:30pm, and 5-7pm. If you're caught in a rut and have to go, though, the food will always be worth it.

    In three sentences

    Wooster is chock-full of excellent professors in each department. Administration ( ResLife, Financial Aid, Deans, etc.) are difficult to get through to if you don't get your parents involved, and are generally less than competent. Worth going here for the education, student body, food, lectures, and literally anything besides the business aspect of the school.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Depending on the day of the week the food can be very good and can be mediocre at best.

    Dorm Life

    It is a little chaotic trying to get a dorm room in which to live in after your first year. And you have to make sure that you find a friend to live with because if you don't you may get stuck with a person you might not get along with.

    Academic Rigor

    The Upper Level classes are run a a very high level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are well organized and ready to spend your nights and days working on school work and finding time to socialize.

    In three sentences

    The College of Wooster is a very good school to attend if you want to further your education. The teacher really know what they are teaching and are very knowledgeable about the area that they specializer in. It is also a great safe campus and has a very nice night life that you can participate in if you want, but it is not to big that you feel that you have to participate.