Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

The Evergreen State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Evergreen police are helpful and friendly, and there are emergency lights all over campus. Don't worry too much, but don't look for a perfect utopia here, either. Take reasonable safety precautions, and you should be fine.

    Greek Life

    Evergreen does not have any fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    If Evergreen doesn't have the club you are looking for, they give you the opportunity to start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who: Love to learn and aren't afraid to show it. Are looking for a nontraditional college experience. Want to live in a diverse and accepting community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Where to start? The campus includes a lot of woodland and has beach property. Greeners are known for embracing the nontraditional and the shocking.

    Bang for the buck

    Not the best deal for out-of-state students, if you're looking solely at price. Apply for school scholarships early, and get your FAFSA in on time. Evergreen opted out of the Western Undergraduate Exchange, claiming to be able to give students better financial aid independently.

    What to do for fun

    Evergreen has a wide variety of clubs and teams to choose from. The Student Activities Center also makes it easy to start a new club, all you need are four interested people. New clubs are given advice on planning and are able to request a budget. There's a lot of outdoor space and the recreational building is well-stocked. Olympia is an easy bus ride away, if you are looking for city activities.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better, could be worse. The baked goods are dangerously tasty and there are a lot of vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free options. On the other hand, the food can be disappointing, and the required freshman dining plans are not economical.

    Dorm Life

    The Residence Assistants are helpful, and the rooms are pretty decent. Then again, there are usually loud people until around 2-4 am. There is a quiet dorm option.

    Academic Rigor

    Evergreen is a place for people who want to learn. Classes are designed to help students express and support their opinions. The professors are helpful and truly interested in the topics they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying, write a cover letter that details the learning you've done outside of school, whether you keep up with the latest biotechnology news or invent your own recipes in the kitchen.

    In three sentences

    Evergreen is a school dedicated to learning, acceptance and solidarity. There is an aspect of controversy that is embraced at Evergreen, as evinced by the mascot, a geoduck clam. If you come with a positive attitude, you'll likely be very happy here.

  • 03/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Evergreen is very accepting to any person wanting to pursue their dreams. No matter what race, religion, or gender you are, no one here on campus is judgmental. This college offers many classes in the arts, teaching, and sciences, so anyone wanting to pursue their career in these fields should definitely check out Evergreen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone contemplating on attending this college is definitely recommended. The memories, friends, and education you receive is well worth it.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is totally worth your time and your money. With the diverse and cultural atmosphere and amazing courses to take, what you learn here at Evergreen will definitely last a lifetime.

    Am enjoying being here

    Not only are the classes here amazing, the atmosphere of the campus and the people are too. Everyone here is so nice and unique. Acceptance is a big deal here at Evergreen and it is really amazing to see all the differences that people have and how everyone gets along, which is a lot different than how it was in high school.

    Am learning a lot

    The Evergreen State College has a variety of fun, unique, and engaging classes. As a freshman, I have only enrolled in one course for the entire year. This class, however, has really opened my eyes to many possibilities and I have learned more in a few months than I have for many years.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are nice and stuff and we have emergency posts everywhere. Also the fire station is right down the street.

    Greek Life

    I assume this is talking about fraternities and that awful stuff. As far as I know, there isn't any of that crap going on.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch of clubs doing cool stuff, and if there isn't just make one. It's pretty easy.

    Great for these types of students

    Pretty much anyone really, it's that diverse. I don't know where it has the most strengths. I know it's big on media, computer sciences, other sciences like biology/geology/etc, art/design, literature, it goes on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the Flaming Eggplant on the third floor of the CAB.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition here is fairly reasonable, super reasonable if you're a resident. It depends on how much you put in to get out though.

    What to do for fun

    Olympia is awesome and so is the surrounding area. If you're into hiking and adventuring you're in the right place. It's also an awesome place for music. Plus Olympia isn't too far of a drive from both Seattle and Portland, both awesome places.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a lot of choice on campus and it's basically in the middle of the woods, so eating out isn't much of an option unless you have a car and some time to spare. On campus there is one company in charge of food (their contract is expiring soon.) There is also the Flaming Eggplant on campus, which is a student run restaurant. It's decent, not sure what you expect from students. I eat there anyways because I'd rather support them than Aardvark(contracted food company).

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms. I'm a transfer student, so I didn't have to. I have seen a bit of what it's like comparable I'm sure it's good, but I don't think anyone really wants to live in the dorms, unless you're into that.

    Academic Rigor

    Similar to what I said above, your education here is highly dependent on your dedication. In general there are easy and more difficult classes, but if you're looking to just stroll through so you can a degree in the end you're going to have a bad time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're coming to this school I would suggest you have a general, if not good idea of what you want to get out of this school. Similar to going to any school, if you don't have an idea of your end goal it will mostly be a waste of time. The difference between this school and most, is that you have a wide range of really great resources to use and people that want to help you.

    In three sentences

    People are nice here. It rains a lot. School is as easy or as challenging as you want it to be.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    open minded ethical peaceful loving leaders people that want to make positive changes in the world. people that want to be judged by their character, and not by a number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit as many schools as possible, even the ones you think you might not like. Make sure You are literally IN LOVE with the school before commiting to it. Don't be scared to take risks; you might find out a great talent or find a great friend! See who lives on your floor; they might be really nice! Also just for safety precautions, that way you know who lives in your building and who doesn't. dont be afraid to change, when you are at any age in your life, an opinion might drastically shift into something more positive. dont let anyone push you around or pressure you into anything that you dont like; if they do, then they are not a good friend and you probably dont want them as a friend.

    Bang for the buck

    Due to the economy, the prices of education have risen, but, evergreen is worth way more than they make you pay for. The food could be better, but the education and environment definitely makes up for it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have never met more open people in my life! These people accept me for who I am ! The atmosphere of olympia is completely relaxed and comfortable

    Am learning a lot

    One of the most eye-opening experiences of my life. I've learned about different types of people, and the importance of community. In my first class during fall quarter, my teacher gave us a book to read, showed us a film she made in relation to the book, and then we visited the actual place that it was based on. With evergreen, you learn through actions and words. I've learned that people often misuse both to gain power.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never even heard of a bike having been stolen. There are emergency stations all around campus where you can easily press a button and be directly linked to the campus police. We have our own Evergreen police instead of waiting for the Olympia police to get on campus in an emergency. This helps to have police that understand the campus life. They even ride around on a Segway occasionally. There are still problems on campus every now and then, and unfortunately the main problem of safety I've heard about is rape. There have been cases of all genders and variations there-upon having been raped, last year there were about 5 cases brought up to the administration. All were date-rape, no random attacks or people getting jumped. Every college unfortunately seems to have problems with this but at least Evergreen has a good approach to the healing process of the victims. The rapist gets expelled and brought to trial, the survivor is allowed to move to a different room, usually in a different part of campus if they feel unsafe in their current residence, and is provided with counseling if they wish.

    Greek Life

    None, and every Greener takes that as a blessing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something happening on campus! Go to the activities fair and I promise you will mind at least one thing you will love! We have everything from singing to nerf-gun battles to learning how to ride a unicycle.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for artists, free spirits, independent people, lovers of the outdoors or the odd.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bonfires in woods and on the beach, hangouts in the tree houses, and climbing the clock tower.

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth the money. However keep in mind that unless you are transgender, homosexual, or broke it will be nearly impossible for you to get an Evergreen scholarship. There are only a handful of merit or talent based scholarships and everyone at Evergreen who isn't one of the three things above will be applying for the same Scholarship. Enjoy the odds of getting money!

    What to do for fun

    If you like the outdoors you will love Evergreen. We have our own private beach, and some spectacular woods for hiking in. There are also a handful of treehouses in the woods that you can ask any upper freshman to show you where they are or you can just wonder around the woods to find it. There is always something going on in the dorms and several group activities such as zombie tag or ultimate Frisbee.

    Food and Dining

    On campus food is terrible. You will end up paying $400 a month minimum for your meal plan (which is required if you are a freshman) and you won't even get enough meals to feed yourself 2 meals a day for the quarter. If you ate 3 meals a day on the Evergreen meal plan you would run out by week 6 (out of 11). Now when I buy my own groceries and cook my own food I spend about $100-130 per month on groceries (and that is 3 healthy and hardy meals a day and snacks). The only good thing about on campus dining is the friends, the atmosphere, and the sexy burrito man.

    Dorm Life

    The on campus housing at Evergreen includes the freshman dorms, apartments, and the modular housing. If you are coming in as a freshman I highly recommend living in the freshman dorms, not because they are at all good just because it is a sure fire way to make friends. There are 4 dorms: A, B, C, and D dorm and depending on which one you are assigned to will change the kind of person you will be for your college career. I'll start with A dorm. A is the largest, it is 10 stories tall with a pool table and laundry room on the bottom floor. THE MAJORITY OF PEOPLE WHO DROP OUT OF EVERGREEN LIVE IN A. A is the party dorm, there is always something crazy going on and the cops usually brake it up. B dorm is for the odd ones who like blasting old 80's power ballads from a hellokitty boombox while wearing nothing but boxers and a aviator hat. C is a home for the artistic and musical types, and it is not uncommon for people to have impromptu music jams out of their windows with other members of C dorm on the other side of the building. D is the designated Quite Dorm and yet for the life of me, all the most exciting parties/hangouts I ever went to were in D. Almost everyone from D got along and kept in contact with each other. You are unfortunately not allowed to choose which dorm you live in but some how it always works itself out. Also, if you choose to live in the suites, keep in mind 2 out of the 6 are about 6'x10', 3 are about 8'x8' and 1 is 12'x12'. I was in the 12'x12', I don't know how I got it but I guess signing up on the first day makes a difference.

    Academic Rigor

    As I said before, Evergreen is a lot more difficult than people tend to assume. During my freshman year by the end of the first quarter about 15% of the freshman student body had either dropped out or been kicked out, by the end of winter quarter an additional 5% followed. If you think you can skip class, miss out of projects, or not participate in seminar and still get full credit you will have a rude awakening. However the programs are fascinating and the faculty is unbeatable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep in mind that there is a lot of required reading and since the faculty analyze your understanding of the readings in seminar as opposed to simple pop quizzes, you can't fake your way through the reading assignments. Take full advantage of the interdisciplinary aspect of Evergreen and take a program that includes something you you love and something else that you wish you knew more about. Class participation is a must or you wont receive full credit.

    In three sentences

    The Evergreen State College provides the perfect learning experience for anyone who loves the interdisciplinary learning process, hands-on learning, and self driven studies. It is however a lot of work, if you choose to go here because you think the lack of grades will make college a cake walk you will be sorely mistaken. Evergreen is great for its personal atmosphere and hands on learning style, it's a lot of hard work but it's well worth it in the end. 9.5/10

  • 11/13/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Very green! Super cute, and great if you're looking into most any environmental field.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is mostly safe. Evergreen has a history of not responding to or respecting rape victims.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a wide selection of clubs, sports, and activities for anyone who's interested.

    Great for these types of students

    Progressives, radicals, entrepreneurs, study abroad students, students interested in experimental education, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    For a state liberal arts college, Evergreen is one of the cheapest.

    What to do for fun

    90% of the land that Evergreen owns is undeveloped. Rich forest and trails allow access to the beach and a pleasant experience for outdoors people.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining experience is controlled by the Aramark corporation. The food itself is horribly overpriced and of low quality, not resembling at all the qualities that Evergreen purports.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not necessarily affordable compared to living off campus. The value you receive on campus comes in the form of the feeling of 'community' and meeting people. The campus has an exclusionary feeling, in relation to Olympia, so you find yourself around other dorm people often.

    Academic Rigor

    Evergreen is a double-edged sword. It's one of the only places where you have complete freedom to pursue the education YOU want, in whatever way you want. On the other side, there's also the freedom to slack. The choice is up to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to navigate the bureaucracy of Evergreen. If you want a certain curriculum, for example, you can get it. Evergreen's options for independent study goes unmatched. Do your research and take every opportunity.

    In three sentences

    The Evergreen State College is a fair choice for students pursuing liberal arts and teaching degrees. Some people may desire more structure or amenities through their college of choice, but for those looking for a progressive, fluid environment, Evergreen could be the choice for you.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Real police officers on campus 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    Unique, reflective, self-motivated, environmentally conscious, culturally aware.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual? The cool thing is Evergreen celebrates the unusual. There is no such thing as normal... ;-)

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition rates are reasonable in comparison with other universities. Top level education at excellent rates.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of cultural activities! There are also unique and fun student groups for just about any interest. Olympia is also an artsy, ecclectic town full of excellent restaurants and cultural activities.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food options at decent prices. Lots of organic, local, and vegan choices.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but rewarding. You will read a lot, critically analyze and discuss material, and explore many different angles on subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus and make an appointment with an advisor to discuss your needs. If you are someone who enjoys professor feedback and is more of a collaborative learner, this may be the institution for you!

    In three sentences

    I love attending The Evergreen State College because of the top quality education, student-supportive learning environment, and tailoring of educational experience based on my individual needs. Professors get to know you and celebrate your growth each quarter with an in-depth evaluation. The campus is also environmentally friendly, green and beautiful!

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college is very club-friendly and there are a large number of diverse clubs to join on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Self directed learners looking for a new and deeper understanding of what they would like to study and people who enjoy hands-on learning.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a state college, tuition is low but they education rises above and beyond what I would expect at the popular universities in the area.

    What to do for fun

    Take a bike into town, visit the FABULOUS gym, take a walk across the college beach (oh yeah, we have a beach too), join one of the many clubs on campus, and explore the heavily-wooded campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has lots of options for people of all tastes and diets. The selection of hot food seemed to be a lot more exciting than most cafeterias I've visited.

    Dorm Life

    Average dorm life from what I've experienced (though I haven't experienced a lot of it)

    Academic Rigor

    Evergreen pushes you beyond memory and into application. Even though there are no grades, that does not mean that a lot will not be asked of you in completing your coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready to be a self-directed learner because it is an invaluable skill that will help you excel in classes regardless of your major. Oh, and bring a bike.

    In three sentences

    Evergreen pushes students beyond just learning to know and into learning to understand and apply their knowledge. Because it is a state college, Evergreen State is a great value for your money. If location is what you're looking for, Evergreen's campus is located in beautiful Western Washington and has often been mistaken for a national forest.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 5 people found this review useful. 10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self-sufficient.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have their own scholarships, research them & apply to them or you will get zip. They will try to make up the difference with high interest loans & if you are an out of state student it will be nigh impossible to swing unless you have major bucks.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Eco-Enthusiasts, Outdoorsy People, Gamers, Explorers, Hipsters, and just people willing to have a great time at Evergreen

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you love this school and you are willing to commit to it.

    Bang for the buck

    Make sure to take advantage of the activities that Evergreen offers you and learn to appreciate the little things. There are so many things you can do on or off campus it's your pick.

    Will enjoy being here

    There are so many activities you can participate while you are at Evergreen. This is the college campus that has that extra touch of feeling like your at home.

    Will learn a lot

    The classes are so diverse and you will learn so many things in such a short amount of time. The ability to actually go in depth is the aspect I love most about Evergreen.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, students who are willing to be open to ideas and opinions.

    What to do for fun

    There's a beach on campus and the school is in the middle of Olympia where there is a mall with a bunch of restaurants and a movie theater. The bus systems work great and you can get around town really easily.

    Food and Dining

    There is a vegetarian restaurant, pizza, mexican food, and a cafeteria that has a great selection.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but some of my friends do and they seem to enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers I have had want to push you and test you because they know you are better than you think you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that, if you know what you want to do for a career, you look closely at the classes you want to take. You could sign up for a class that you thought would be a certain way and it turns out differently.

    In three sentences

    Overall, I've really enjoyed Evergreen. Most of the people that work there are very helpful and really want you to get the most out of your experience. The teachers have a similar outlook.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go downtown, go to the beach, go to the woods. Lather, rinse, repeat.

    Food and Dining

    It's AROMARK a horrible horrible corporation and the food is so bad and the people who work there are rude and everything is way overpriced. Avoid at all costs- you will not get nourished. Invest in a mini-fridge.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is stoned or tripping or drunk. Seriously. It is pretty clique-y so bumping into the same groups all the time gets old. You will suffer through everyone's horrible music tastes and their choice to dispose of pretty much anything out their windows. The RA's are generally really cool though and the whole disciplinary system is a joke. Everyone's DGAF.

    Academic Rigor

    Really depends on the program you take. If you take some yoga-weaving-storytelling class, don't count on flexing any mental muscles. But the maths and sciences are notoriously rigorous, and the humanities are fantastic if you choose to keep up with the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't register for anything you aren't ok with exclusively studying for a full quarter, or more. Utilize the awesome academic advising services. Participate in Day of Absence, Day of Presence. If you are motivated and have a direction, you'll do great but if you are clueless and slack off you're doomed.

    In three sentences

    Weird alternate reality in the woods. Freaks, dissidents, artists, druggies all converge here. It's reputation precedes it.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Out-of-state tuition is high, in-state is very reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, bike riding. Olymoia is small city nearby- but very cool,

    Food and Dining

    The food is healthy and much of it is grown on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are decent sized,

    Academic Rigor

    There are no grades, just self-evaluations, evaluations by the professors and of the professors. But you need to participate fully to get full credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a beautiful campus in the middle of a forest. All Freshman live on campus for a year. The politics and culture are very progressive.

    In three sentences

    It's a small public school with a very different learning approach. You only take one class a quarter, but it is taught by several professors from several different angles. Classes are small.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our amazing police services team is always around so there is never a chance to feel as if safety is threatened. Also, the Police Services building is open 24/7 in case of an emergency. And to top it off, if you're hungry, stop by and pick up a PB&J sandwich and some snacks. They are always available and always free at Police Services!

    Bang for the buck

    To sum it up: Evergreen is the most reasonably priced institution out of all of the colleges in Washington state. Can't beat that, can we?

    What to do for fun

    If you're not at the Community Recreation Center enjoying the rock wall, gym space, dance halls, or swimming pool, perhaps you are at the Housing Community Center partaking in a dance party organized by the student government, or maybe you are taking the 10 minute hike down to Evergreen's very own beach to take a canoe out on the beautiful Puget Sound. Maybe you are in Photoloand, enjoying student art and taking your own photos, or maybe you are outside playing soccer or tennis. Perhaps you are even seeing a play put on by the wonderful group of actors Evergreen trains. The list could go on, but overall, there is always something to do. Not only is the campus lively and entertaining, but Olympia in general is a great town, overflowing with character.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining on campus is impeccable! With over six different locations available to eat from, there was never a chance to feel bored with the selection. Also, Evergreen does an amazing job at providing food gathered from local business. This college is a huge supporter of Go Green! so there is always a huge selection of healthy and organic food that still tastes amazing. All the food is hand-made by the wonderful and hardworking kitchen staff, so you never have to fear eating something that's been sitting in a box for two weeks. Also, if you're a coffee drinker, the three coffee spots on campus provide a delicious array of caffeinated drinks that are perfect for that before-class-beverage.

    Dorm Life

    While the school is located in the middle of the forests of the beautiful Pacific Northwest, the dorms are practically luxury. My freshman year I shared a room with one other girl and our dorm was bigger than my room at home. With beautiful vaulted windows, the rooms all have wonderful natural lighting, which is definitely a plus on those beautiful sunshiny days. Our room also had a walk-in closet that we used as a pantry, and my roommate and I even had our own bathroom: complete with a toilet, sink, vanity, and shower. That's right: no walking down the hall in plastic slippers to try to find an open shower in a room with twenty other students. We actually had our own personal bathroom! That being said, the dorms are wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    At Evergreen, your academic success is entirely what you make it. Because you actually design your own degree here, as opposed to selecting a predetermined major, it is up to you decide what classes you take, and how those classes will influence your areas of interest. That being said, Evergreen is definitely for students who are extremely hardworking, self-motivated, and able to independently create their entire degree amidst a workload ranging from a schedule of 4 to 20 credits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to take advantage of the amazing opportunities the school presents you. Not every college offers you the chance to intern with a top film company in New York City your freshman year. This is truly a school that supports you to branch out into the real world and get a head start on your career interests, so go for it! College is a journey in itself, and at Evergreen, that journey can lead you anywhere and everywhere.

    In three sentences

    The Evergreen State College is an incredibly diverse and non-traditional liberal arts institution. It is truly an amazing college to attend for those students who are hoping to do more than just sit in a classroom to earn their degree; Evergreen is wonderfully supportive of those who wish to actually get out in the real world and learn in a hands-on environment. For example, this is only my second year here and I have already had the amazing and life-changing privilege of spending a quarter interning in New York City, and this spring I am signed up to study abroad in Greece and Italy for the quarter.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Independent, self-motivated, non-traditional.

    What to do for fun

    The buses are free with your student ID; explore Olympia, Lacey, and Tumwater!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professors, you can sail your way to an easy degree or trudge your way through heaps of hard work. The sciences at Evergreen are serious business.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research! Make sure this is the type of education you are looking for, as it is not your average university. You don't want to waste your time and money if you're looking for something more traditional.

    In three sentences

    Evergreen is a unique educational experience. Each student is responsible for their own education in a meaningful way; you can't get by just taking notes and passing tests here. Come here if you want your perspective on life challenged and ultimately changed.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I've learned here that not value and price do not always coalesce. The education, people, concerts, activities....none of it is about money. Even housing is pretty good. A lot of private schools can't even compare to what Evergreen offers.

    What to do for fun

    Go outdoors! Ya we live in a forest but taking advantage of it is very very important.Get out. Go on walks, hikes, bike whatever. Go downtown, the music scene is unlike anywhere else. Co-op houses open up with music concert things ranging from a whole bunch of different moods. Take a train to Seattle or Portland, a trip away always makes life more beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    The Greenery is really awful but after this year, the contract we have with the food provider is expiring so hopefully we get better food!!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are strange, who would want to live above, next to and below hundreds of other people cramped up like sardines?! Getting over the initial claustrophobia, having a good roommate and forming bonds with the people you live with make up for the crampedness!

    Academic Rigor

    You truly get out what you put in. There is the opportunity to slack in classes (just like in life) but it really doesn't do any good for yourself and nobody will care because you're only messing up your own life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the Facebook page they create before you apply for rooms and add everyone that looks interesting as a potential roommate. Start convos and get to know people and choose someone you connect with! The worst thing is leaving it to chance, you could end up with a psycho.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    take a walk through the forest, go to the beach, borrow one of the boats

    Food and Dining

    if you like vegetable stur-fry that is. also next year it will be different

    Dorm Life

    the students who come here seem to be a very nice bunch, and there are many activitys to choose from

    Academic Rigor

    it really depends on what program you choose

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a very different school, visit it, read through classes and then decide.

    In three sentences

    I find that the community is very open and welcoming. The programs here are fascinating and quite unique. There are many opportunitys offered here.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never felt unsafe nor heard of any dangerous happenings on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to count, and if you can't find it you can create one.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a progressive style approach to learning. Students who value the benefits of collaborative learning and innovative teaching.

    What to do for fun

    Countless clubs and groups to get involved in. 1,000 acres of forest accompanied by ocean shoreline and countless activities available for pretty much anything you can imagine.

    Food and Dining

    The Flaming Eggplant Cafe is a must in dining experiences. It is student-run uses organic locally grown food with seasonal inspired dishes with several vegetarian and vegan options.

    Dorm Life

    Personally never lived on campus but the location alone is full of possibilities. I've never heard a foul word about life in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This is really up to you. You receive the amount of credit you earn. Put in half the effort earn half the credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded and allow yourself to fully embrace in all this school has to offer.

    In three sentences

    You can't summarize this college in just three sentences. This school is unlike any traditional style college; to quote it's website: its new and different, dynamic and relevant. The best things about this school; there are no grades, all classes are interdisciplinary, its student-centered, and the sense of unity and collaboration is unmistakable.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fairly safe. Many of the ruckus if off-campus, like a bear entering the parking lot or spotted in the woods.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Great for these types of students

    want to be educated in humanities, not necessarily practical endeavors (at the moment at least). Students who want to learn about all kinds of 'alternatives'. If you're a more traditional collegiate student (bookwork, separate classes or non-interdisciplinary learning, vibrant sports life, typical college social party scene, vibrant school spirit, etc) then Evergreen is a place you may not enjoy

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an interesting challenge course in the forest, right off of the smaller track field.

    Bang for the buck

    As a state school, its VERY worth the price tag. But if your going to pay the out-of-state price tag but really want in, you better be ready to have a job and find out ways to pay for the almost-in-state-private-school price tag.

    What to do for fun

    Evergreen has a lot of clubs and activities to join. If you're outdoorsy, get involved with the T.O.P. Program that host trips for very VERY cheap. If you're into media, get involved with the media center. Or you can just hang out in the beautiful forest (If the weather permits) and find some of the treehouses past Greeners have built. If you're interested in doing some volunteer work in the local community (high recommended as part of the overall Evergreen experience) check out the CCBLA. Note that these are only on-campus, not about the city of Olympia. Its no Seattle type-of-city but Olympia has a lot to offer in its own way.

    Food and Dining

    Some days are good, most are not. The Greenery has A LOT to work on.

    Dorm Life

    It's great for getting to know your peers, the kind of community the campus has as well as getting to know Olympia better. As a freshman it's definitely recommended just because it's your first year and living off-campus can make you miss out on a lot of foundation-building that can make you feel secure for the rest of your time at Evergreen.

    Academic Rigor

    I wouldn't necessarily say the quantity is what is rigorous (sometimes it really is), but the quality. Many of the classes aren't math and science so likely (it is mostly a liberal arts college), they wont require tests or grades thus it is up to YOU to keep yourself involved, interested, and informed on the lesson themes, ideas and examples. As a member of a learning community, you are expected to keep up with your peers. Not interested/impassioned about what you're learning? Take another program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. Spend a day. Do your research. The school has a lot to offer what you want to be honest (to the best of their abilities), you just have to look for it.

    In three sentences

    This beautiful campus located in one of the many inlets of the Puget Sound, the Evergreen State College's secluded location in the corner of the United States cultivates alternative thinking and awareness. Evergreen's unique learning style attracts individuals from all different kinds of backgrounds; your bound to meet someone you never thought you could calmly approach. One of the strongest points of Evergreen is its emphasis on a learning community; you are given the chance to immerse yourself in your education alongside others who may have a different background but are at the same level as you thus deepening your learning.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It feels safe. There are blue boxes everywhere and the police are very friendly

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs if you have time!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are self driven and love the woods.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One really cool place is the Longhouse which was built to represent the natives of this place. Lots of beautiful things happen inside its walls

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a Washington res, this is an incredible deal

    What to do for fun

    the woods are amazing. I think that part of every student's reason for coming is the beauty of the trees

    Food and Dining

    I mostly eat in the marketplace or the flaming eggplant. The flaming eggplant is awesome because it only uses organic and local foods

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    You never really know until you learn which teachers are hard and which are not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on Campus. Like the rain. You'll get out of a program, what you put in.

    In three sentences

    Evergreen has amazing programs and helpful teachers. You just have to make sure to be on top of registration or you might lose your spot. I am transferring because I was not able to make any friends.

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are friendly and helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all sort of clubs. Evergreen is a people orientated school. I am involved in a math program, so I do a lot of studying and not too much time with other activities. They have a large competitive pool that I swim at a few times a week.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a creative thinker and a hard worker and enjoy people orientated activities, this would be a great place to go to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    TESC is the home of the Goeducks! Part of Evergreen's campus has a beach front of Puget Sound.

    Bang for the buck

    The professors care and work harded than any of the colleges that I have attended in the past. They are quick to respond to email, and always willing to work with me and other students after class to insure understanding.

    What to do for fun

    There are plays, festivals, clubs, and athletics. One of the clubs has a fundraiser called the moving bake sale where they have a cart on wheels and go from person to person asking if they would like to buy cookies or brownies. It is convenient and fun when I am studying in the library to stop for a snack.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and gives options for healthy eaters as well as vegetarians.

    Academic Rigor

    Four stars. There is a lot of work and outside study to keep up with topics covered in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to work hard and exercise your communication skills.

    In three sentences

    I am extremely fortunate to be attending TESC. With the way they structure their curriculum I have been able to learn in more detail and depth than I have at other colleges I have attended. TESC does not use a GPA and uses an evaluation essay and meeting with faculty at the end of each quarter to gage progress.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police and it relatively quite.

    Greek Life

    The Evergreen State College has no Greek life to speak of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 20 clubs and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    The Evergreen State College is great for someone who doesn't learn well in a ridge environment and is really in pursuit of learning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The unusual traditions I hear is coming nude under your graduation gown and skinny dipping at the end. Also having at least one outrageous graduation outfit is normal.

    Bang for the buck

    The Evergreen State College for a local student cost a little more than attending a community college in Washington State. If you are looking to study abroad TESC has a great deal for student in that you only pay the study abroad school but you earn your credits through Evergreen.

    What to do for fun

    The Evergreen State College offers: General workout facilities, rock-climbing gym, kayaks (cause our campus has water property), organic farm, and tons of hiking. To the student 21+ there are some great quirky bars in Olympia.

    Food and Dining

    It is expensive and limited, off campus has more to offer.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a mix bag.

    Academic Rigor

    My degree is in chemistry although tests don't hold the weight at TESC they are still stressful for my class who averages 30-40%. That being said we have some of the highest scores on the ACS organic chemistry exam: 70-80% WHAT!?

    Tips for prospective students

    There is no prerequisites at The Evergreen State College so it is a good idea to sit down with a five year plan and talk with a student adviser! If you are interested in science TESC is amazing, don't let people talk you out of it. They have equipment that undergraduates wouldn't dream of touching at other schools but you can write a method and use them here.

    In three sentences

    The Evergreen State College (TESC) attracts a diverse group of people that challenges ones perspective of self and society. TESC's curriculum embraces different learning styles through seminar discussion, lectures, hands-on activities and multi-media. Being evaluated with discussion rather than assigned a number or letter is the best!

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Is it affordable?

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of awareness on campus and a ton of accountability. However, this leads to a heightened awareness of the nature of our culture of rape, so you can't ignore how bad things are on average. This is not a negative. There is a campus security force but due to the nature of a security apparatus it is hard to trust them with much.

    Greek Life

    Nope.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can make up whatever you want or you can join a club. If you like to dance, it is pretty great, we got a dance collective.

    Great for these types of students

    Self motivated individuals. The people who don't really fit at other schools. The individuals who are working towards establishing their sense of identity among equals. Those who don't like being reduced to a grade or a number.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a massive forest behind the campus and a beach front.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good value for the cost. Evergreen is very cheap for a state school.

    What to do for fun

    Dance, go to the woods or the beach, go to a show, hang out with friends, or go for a bike ride. It's a very active place for active people.

    Food and Dining

    Great student run cafe, main food service is awful.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived there, heard it was OK.

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous but not obscenely difficult. The rigor depends on you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know that you want to go here, this school is not for everyone. It is great for people who are willing to take chances as well as people who are willing to find out new things.

    In three sentences

    It is a fantastic liberal arts college. It has great options for self motivated individuals. It is a great place for finding out what you want to do in life.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I'll be honest, it's pretty bad, but that shouldn't stop you from coming.

    Dorm Life

    FANTASTIC, there are plenty of options for different types of living situations, from co-ed to single-sex, doubles, singles and triples, as well as some themed living (outdoor program and queer dorm).

    Academic Rigor

    At Evergreen you do exactly as much as you want to, there is definitely a minimum requirement but there is absolutely no maximum. The sky is always your limit, and all of the support you could possibly need will be offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider how you want to manage your future education and what amount of freedom and personal responsibility you want as you consider Evergreen.

    In three sentences

    Evergreen is a fantastic example of non-traditional education at its finest.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    This is not applicable as I live off of campus.

    Dorm Life

    This is not applicable as I live off of campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a ton of reading and the reading is very involved. You're always asked to explain your thought process and never shy away from the controversial.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work! It's not incredibly difficult work, but it can be as hard as you want it to be. You always have to keep in mind where you want to be when you graduate.

    In three sentences

    Education is what you make of it. You get out what you put in. The motto is enter to learn, depart to serve.

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love the way that they do grading, that is a strong point for them. The virtual tour of campus loos great. And the staff were very friendly helping with my questions!

  • 05/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe because I always see security guards around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Very well priced compared to other colleges near by.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of different cuisine to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Heard it was fine. I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    This a very hands-off kind of school, it is a school that allows you to choose your own path versus most non-liberal colleges that have a path already designed for you. But do keep in mind that in order to meet the requirements, you need to make sure to keep on top of the work you choose or you may find yourself struggling. If you choose to be in class, the work load can get very heavy at times but the professors are great at helping you get through it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit campus for a tour. The campus can be very confusing if you don't know where you are going.

    In three sentences

    Evergreen is a. environmentally friendly school. Evergreen accepts everyone for who they are, it is a school that you don't have to pretend to be someone your not. Evergreen is a liberal arts school that prides it's self on diversity and equality.

  • 08/14/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Thankfully nothing to crazy happens, but it think they should up there skills in making evergreen feel safe. i think its nice that campus police will walk a young women home if its dark and that police service can be reached at any time but I dont agree with them not being able to know what happens on campus until students report things.

    Greek Life

    we dont have it. we have religious clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Greeners for Christ/Jesus folk is great for people to study with other chrisitian more about who christ is in a relaxed way through scripture and not have nothing shoved in there faces. black student union is great for African American students who want to stay connected their people and a place of community and embrace oneself with others. circus club: is for EVERYONE to come out and have a great time and take a break from daily task of the day.

    What to do for fun

    It depend on what you are interested in. there are many clubs at evergreen the sky is literally the limit. they have gardening club, christian clubs, they have a circus club. they also have more serious clubs like black student union and naive alliance for naive people. Evergreen student there in different communities have many clubs to accommodate for nearly everyone. we do carnivals, we have countless activities happening daily.

    Food and Dining

    They have a wide selection on the food, however due to the times in which the main dining all is open the food is often times luke warm, but now they have microwaves which a big improvement and the staff in the hall are very attentive and care a lot about what the students think of there services.

    Dorm Life

    its nice, however there is no protection with in the dorm so a lot of things happens on campus like tagging and didn't incidents go unheard of because we dont have cameras anywhere. dorms are quality. the staff and r.a are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave the school a 2 star on its academic rigor because they are pretty laid back in there strictness, unless you are conditionally admitted then the student would need to earn all their credits. The teachers genuinely care about how you do in class and credit it wise but what really counts is showing the professor what your made of in each and every program and to make the best out of because at the end of the quarter the work that was put forth in the class, the professor will write about it and that goes to the students transcripts.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise perceptive students to stay closely connected with academic advising to make sure that they continue in the career path they are choosing to work towards. Also when ever they began to struggle dont be afraid to approach the professors because 9 out 10 times they are approachable. The sky is the limit at this school, so explore what it has to offer and find where you fit in because after a while you will feel right at home.

    In three sentences

    I think that Evergreen state College is a great school, because the teachers are very attentive to the students production in the programs. Through my past experience, I struggled with paying for the tuition expenses because I am an out of state resident and evergreen has a program called Trio and wonderful other programs to help students in need. I was looking for a small college in which I could pursue my career and Evergreen foundation is small and with help of academic counselor i have great teacher to help me a long the way.