Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

The New School Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is best suited for hard workers and for those who have very curious and creative minds. Those who are willing to expand their minds and become as diversified as they possibly can in their craft will usually do extremely well in this program

    Tips for prospective students

    When in the classroom setting always keep an open mind and be willing to try any of the new techniques and methods that the instructors will present to you. Understand that you are being taught be some of the most sought after artist in your area of interest and anything they give to you can only help you.

  • 02/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -- AP or honors students -- hard workers -- theater kids, visual artists, writers -- shy personalities discouraged -- politically active students (leftist - this is very important) -- debaters -- bookworms

    Tips for prospective students

    Across all divisions of The New School, classes are usually seminar-style and focus on collaborative work. You must be willing to talk and contribute. Classes will test your attention span! The atmosphere here is one of community, scholarship, and serious political activism. Students tend to be highly intellectual and creative; many clearly excel in their field of study, and they aren't afraid to show it. Watch out, though - these guys may be bookworms, but they are fierce about their beliefs. A debate between New Schoolers is nothing short of an academic dog fight. As for admissions, make sure to nail the essay and the interview! Take lots of AP classes. Progressive essay responses are a plus.

  • 11/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artists, hard workers, students who need a break from the routine and want to live in an exciting place, people who aren't afraid to take risks, theatre students, well-dressed kids (joking, but you will see a lot of these here!) band kids and people who appreciate jazz and classical music (as there is a jazz program here), people who are not by any means afraid to express themselves, and ultimately students who are very determined and love what they do.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must work very, very hard and be serious about attending The New School. Yes, NYC is a fun city and it will be tempting to go out instead of doing homework sometimes, but honestly, time management and awareness of priorities is a must. Not to say that you cannot have fun here, because even walking to class and seeing people and things around you can be quite entertaining. Just keep in mind that you are paying good money, and your teachers will expect a lot out of you. Also, the higher quality your work, the more chances you have for obtaining scholarships. So in the words of Tim Gunn, work hard!

    Bang for the buck

    A good thing about The New School's cost is that it remains the same for both in and out of state students, so you know that you and fellow classmates feel approximately the same about finances. The learning experience here is extremely unique, and when you pay for your tuition you are not only paying for a very solid education that will look fabulous on your resume, but you are also paying to engage yourself in the never-ending learning opportunities that the city has to offer.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although there are many late nights and several stressful moments, I feel that this school is so worth it. Being in New York City immersed in culture and surrounded by people who enjoy what they are doing just as much as you do is an experience that really cannot be matched. The Foundation program is what makes Parsons unique, for it is a very rigorous first semester and year for freshmen. But if you are passionate and driven, it will be a wonderful fit for you.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a student at the Parsons division of The New School, and my major is Fashion Design. The thing that sets me apart from my section (during the first semester you will be a part of a section that you have almost all of your classes with; you'll become quite close with these people) that may help you gauge how much a person learns here is that before Parsons I had never taken an art class before in my life. So, this being a tough art school, sometimes I feel like I'm in the back of the pack. But only since August, my teachers have helped me so much and I have improved my art skills by leaps and bounds. There are also English and Art History classes in addition to studio classes, and these help tremendously with formal analysis of artwork that the average eye never would have seen before.

  • 02/17/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Rich kids, Activists, Hipsters, Smokers, Writers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit before you decide to go there. You won't get a feel for the school if you don't. Don't feel pressure to know your major going in- Lang requires first year students to shop around a bit. I ended up taking a ton of Education studies classes with one of my favorite professors, even though I wanted to be a Literary Studies major. Also, their writing program is awesome. They're very small and intimate, and I made a ton of great friends in my writing classes. And don't be afraid to take advantage of the few opportunities Lang does offer! If you're sick, go to Health Services, they're incredibly nice. They offer free counseling and academic help if you need it, and are always willing to refer you to someone else if they can't help you with whatever it is you need. Also, just be aware that if you aren't from a relatively wealthy family, you're going to spend four years complaining about money. I starved for a good portion of my year because I wasn't on the meal plan. There are a ton of options in NYC, but most of it is ridiculous and expensive. Get a job, or have parents that are willing to foot the bill. Good luck!

    Bang for the buck

    It's ridiculously expensive, especially since they are in New York City. The tuition isn't too bad but the dorms are probably some of the most expensive in the entire country. They also don't have much of a library, it's small and pretty useless. No one goes there. They do, however, have an inter-library loan system with NYU and Cooper Union. After Freshman year most students get apartments, and those that can afford them in Manhattan are lucky. Most wind up in Brooklyn, with a long commute to look forward to.

    Did enjoy being here

    I didn't enjoy going to Eugene Lang College. It might have been because I was not a typical student, or perhaps it was because I just didn't have enough money to make in New York City, but I was miserable most of the time. First semester I lived with all Parsons students who looked down on me for being poor. I had a hard time adjusting to the school and making friends within the community. Speaking of which, there is none. They don't have a real campus, which can be nice if you love the city and would rather be spending all your time on 5th avenue instead of on a quad, but I felt alone and isolated most of the time. That said, if you're an extremely outgoing person (with a good fashion sense, that never hurts) and know how to really put yourself out there, you can probably find a great group of friends. Just avoid the nasty, judgmental girls smoking in the courtyard. This is just for girls, but the ratio of girls to guys at The New School is ridiculous. And most of the guys who do go there are gay, which is awesome, but tiring if you're looking for a boyfriend. Most girls go elsewhere to find love or hookups. Straight guys, though, are surrounded by beautiful girls, so that's good for them I guess...*sigh*

    Did learn a lot

    Most of the teachers teachers are dedicated and passionate, but my peers seem to prefer spending the majority of class on their Blackberrys and generally ignoring everything said in class. The New School generally gives much more attention to Parsons, the design school, and that really shows when dealing with the administration. Honestly, coming to Eugene Lang College is more about learning from New York City itself than learning in the classroom. No one takes it too seriously- and if you do, it's incredibly easy.

  • 11/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to be an unknown in a giant lecture hall, passing a class simply by being able to ace tests, then the New School is not for you. If you want to get to know your professor and classmates really well, and care more about what you're gaining from the class in general, then it is absolutely perfect. The New School has many schools underneath its title. From Parson's for the artsy students, to Mannes to Jazz for the music kids, and Lang for the liberal arts, The New School has something for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be asked your opinion when you come here, because it truly matters. The professors want to hear it, because that is what the classes are based on. You shouldn't be afraid to make a stance on anything here. They're open to it all.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, yes, but 1) you're in New York City and 2) you gain so much knowledge and experience at this school through its unique way of teaching.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is really great here, and you can easily be yourself.

    Am learning a lot

    At the New School learning isn't about regurgitating information you learn through lectures, it's about perspectives and discussion. You gain a lot more through the seminar classes than one-sides of the story you would get from other colleges and universities.

  • 11/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    *dedicated, hard workers *artistic/creative *open-minded *willing to spend $$$ *opinionated/talkative- a lot of teachers grade on in class participation *ambitious- crazy ideas impress :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Again, add extra money into your budget when planning for Parsons. New York City can be expensive, so watch your spending closely. It's very easy to get caught up in eating out, shopping, and spending money on entertainment if you aren't careful. Get a frequent shopper card at Utrecht or Blick art supply stores, you'll be there quite often. Sketch often, just practice. Don't be afraid of critiques, they can be intimidating but extremely helpful. Same goes with peers. Everyone is at different artistic levels, and it can get intimidating. Just focus on your own personal growth and just take every opportunity to learn as much as possible. Oh, and don't skip class--get a really good alarm clock and a good coffee pot, you'll need it the first year.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school, but the teachers are the very best and SO worth it. If you're attending Parsons, don't go by the quoted cost on your financial information page. Add at least a thousand in your budget, as you will spend a range on art supplies and building materials.

    Am enjoying being here

    The education at Parsons is amazing. You learn so much so quickly, and the culture of New York is fantastic. If you are in a division other than Parsons, there are plenty of opportunities to meet friends and enjoy the city. During the first year of Parsons, I have found that you are so busy doing your homework that it is very hard to have time for socializing, although I hear this changes through your time at Parsons. Personally I miss having time for myself and money to spare.

    Am learning a lot

    I hadn't taken an art class since the eighth grade before coming to Parsons. I am currently in my Foundation year, which is incredibly intense but so rewarding. In the first semester you learn basics, such as the gray scale and color wheel, proportions of the body and drawing techniques, and how to work with others. You learn through critiques how to make your artwork better than it already may be. Parsons really opens your mind to new ways of thinking and viewing the world.

  • 12/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The New School is great for students who are looking to explore a new way of learning and thinking. It is great for anyone who is eager to tap into their creative minds and to expand their innovative ideas.

    Tips for prospective students

    If anyone is planning on attending The New School, they should be ready for a new way of learning. The teaching and the curriculum at The New School is different from any other university. The professors support and encourage students to expand their minds and to think outside the box. So if you are planning to study here, be ready for a non-conventional way of learning.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being at The New School has been such a wonderful experience for me. I really enjoy being here and attending all of my classes. The environment at The New School is set up in such a way that makes students eager to learn. Coming to class does not feel like a chore, it is something you look forward to.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been attending The New School for almost a full semester now and I can honestly say that I have learned so much. Within the first few weeks of classes, I could feel my mind expanding and I could feel myself soaking up all of the knowledge that my professors had to offer. I have only been here for a short time and I already feel my mind taking on a new way of thinking and I have discovered a more liberal way of learning.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Liberal Arts Students. Absolute perfection.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study. Work hard and learn as much as possible, because if you don't take full advantage of every wonderful moment the professors offer you, then you'll fall behind and you won't get all that this school is worth.

    Bang for the buck

    Although you are certainly paying for the education that you receive, it's an expensive school, with not a lot of options in Financial Aid.

    Did enjoy being here

    The New School astonished me with all the activities it constantly held. Every day, there was something new going on dealing with photography, literature, language, etc. That was something that I really loved about the school. And the best part? Almost all of them are free with your ID card! I loved The New School in every physical, environmental and mental aspect except for the attitude most students carry on themselves. I found it very hard to make friends at the university because many of the students are very pompous or keep to themselves.

    Did learn a lot

    The New School opened my eyes to a much broader perspective on life and increased the passion for what I was studying. I learned more one semester here than I did in my entire 20 years of life. The professors all know what they're talking about and devote the time they can to your individual needs.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a very safe campus in the heart of downtown NYC.

    Clubs and Activities

    Offers great clubs and activities for international students ;professional, artistic and sport activities as well.

    Great for these types of students

    non traditional thinkers, artists, environmentally conscious, socially aware.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great school that assist with scholarships and loans, your experience is worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    Go to lectures, fashion shows, art shows that the school provides and meet fellow New Schoolers, get involved!

    Food and Dining

    There are different types of food through out campus, there are vegan and vegetarian options as well. My favorite cafe is aver the computer lab on W 13th Street, you can make your own soups and salads.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    This is not a school in which you can skip class and just check the professors notes online. New School's classes are small and very student-teacher involved. The classes require much attention and in my cases many essays or long papers to turn in. In return though you would have learned much about the subject and gotten to know your classmates and professor. At New School you are not invisible as a student which will be of great benefit through out your academic career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Talk to advisors, financial aid, and even set up meetings with faculty in schools or departments you are interested in, the more you know the better it is for you as a student as you become familiar with the way things work at New School.

    In three sentences

    New School is a wonderful school, small classes and very involved student and faculty. As students we also benefit from great lectures and organized events involving highly recognized professionals in fields from fashion design to sustainable engineering. This school is everything I expected and more, after years of going to a traditional 4 yr college coming to New School was a breath of fresh air.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Little to none.

    What to do for fun

    Go see the city.

    Food and Dining

    Campus dining is available, but most stick to groceries.

    Dorm Life

    You get what you pay for!

    Academic Rigor

    Students are very motivated and hard working.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save money to live here so that you can focus on your studies.

    In three sentences

    A group of highly-motivated students goes here. New York is a difficult place to live for most, and the hard work that people put into their daily lives is the same as that of their studies. The student population is not very intimate.

  • 02/14/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not intending on studying psychology, sociology, or any other mental health profession, then this college may not be for you. If you are, then this school is perfect for you.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Independent Creative

    Tips for prospective students

    Define your goals Focus on your abilities

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Motivated. You'll have fierce competition so be prepared to step up your game.

    What to do for fun

    Take rec classes, join a club and enjoy all that NYC has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    They need to have a system like NYU where your dining dollars could be used outside of the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take what interests you and ask your adviser for ideas so you walk away with skills you can use.

    In three sentences

    Great place. Good academics, small classes and community. You get to design your own curriculum.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Experience the city of New York!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just give The New School a try. It will change your life for the better.

    In three sentences

    My school is AWESOME! I feel my goal of attaining my BA degree is so close. I am proud of myself!

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Too much to list. There are always events happening 'on-campus', and the school is in the heart of New York City.

    In three sentences

    The Graduate Program in International Affairs (GPIA) is a rigorous and respected program. Graduates go on to work at many United Nations agencies, such as UNICEF, UN WOMEN, and UNDP, and other leading international development agencies like International Rescue Committee and Save the Children.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters, language lovers, philosophers, progressive types.

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely expensive, but there are no general requirements(depending on which program).

    What to do for fun

    The New School has endless social gatherings and events, but there are also several music venues, movie theaters etc... Its NYC!

    Food and Dining

    Several dining halls, but also located in the heart of lower Manhattan. Great cheap food is abundant.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are located in the east village, greenwich, and chelsea, which make it a very cool NYC experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Amazing classes to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    If youre looking for someone to hold your hand, this is not the school for you. Creating your own course of study is a huge part.

    In three sentences

    A very progressive liberal arts college. Great campus. Cool teachers. For students looking to think outside the box.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Progressive Thinkers and social entrepreneurs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Located in The Village in New York

    What to do for fun

    The New School is the center of New York City. There is so much to do it can be overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest The New School to prospective students that are looking for a school in New York City and are just beginning their degrees

    In three sentences

    The New School offers many interesting and inspiring classes that are engaged in the close-knit college community. There is a vibrant presence in New York and there are lots of activities to be involved with.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Please do your research and acquire as much as you can about financial assistance and cost.

    In three sentences

    It is very easy attending a commuter school to get lost in all the buzz that makes up this amazing and crowded city of New York. However, at The New School I find that the professor are very welcoming and truly make the time to get to know their students. I've enjoyed my time at The New School attending truly thought provoking discussions and lectures. My adviser has also been an influential person in narrowing down a path best suited for my ideal career goal. If there's one issue I would probably state is finance. The school is expensive to attend with limited scholarship specifically geared at Graduate ONLY students in the International affairs field.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very good although not centralized to all the dorms. Then again, it is New York City! Anything you want can be found.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun and very helpful the first year. Plenty of friendships are made and it's a helpful transition to living in the city. After that, it is up to you if you want to dorm again.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic life is very rigorous. Do not be fooled. You will be pushed outside of your academic and emotional comfort zone.

    In three sentences

    The New School is a place where you can find a great community within a big city. It is a place where your ideas are constantly challenged and your mind opened. The experiences offered are unique and one of a kind.

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The new cafeteria is very nice and the food is excelent

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small but the newer ones are nicer. The benefit of these dorms is the location.

    Academic Rigor

    This seems like a very challenging and engaging school.

  • 05/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Definitely a safe place. The security guys are cool dudes.

    Greek Life

    None. Who needs that stuff anyway?

    Clubs and Activities

    Limited. Lots of lectures, though.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, of course! In need of freedom. Anyone who doesn't fit in elsewhere will appreciate the lovely weirdoes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Murray's Bagels around the corner from the 12th street location. Duh. Their eggless salad is amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't know that I learned THAT much, but I had a great experience and it helped me find my path

    What to do for fun

    It's New York - EVERYTHING! Bowlmor, any of the East Village or West Village bars... I mean, the options are endless.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate here. There are lots of good food places in the area, though.

    Dorm Life

    I never dormed, but from what I have seen of the dorm buildings, they are beautiful and in a great location

    Academic Rigor

    It was emotionally tough at times, being that I am in the therapy field. Class work was limited and I only had one test in my 3 years here.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's good to be passionate about what you're studying off the bat, but with all the options at The New School, definitely TRY new things!

    In three sentences

    An open-minded school for people who can't deal with required classes. My program was a bit light for me, but people in college for the joy of learning will love it. Professors know you and care; it's incredible.