Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

The University of Montana-Western Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/25/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that LOVE horses and want to make a life around them!

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the whole picture!

    Bang for the buck

    Doesn't seem to cost to much!

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes mam!

    Will learn a lot

    I just know I can learn so much from this school! being a horse lover, that plans on owning horses, horse business, instructing and more this school just seems like a great fit. Not to mention they seem to have a great rodeo team!

  • 12/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    its a great school where you know almost everyone and can focus on one thing at a time instead of 4 different classes each week.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask professors for help, that's what they are there for. don't close yourself off be brave and make new friends.

    Bang for the buck

    its cheaper then some of the other colleges and helps you learn things at a slight faster pase. But also helps your grades

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a small university and a small town, iv made some great friends and the Professors are great.

    Am learning a lot

    Attending the University of Montana Western has been the best choice iv made. Using the Block system Experience One, has helped me to focus on one class at a time, so i can do the best that i can do.

  • 12/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It helps to be outgoing and talkative. With Experience One, you will be in groups and your teacher will act as a facilitator instead of a dictator.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of LACE. They will help you study for tests, read your papers, and give you tips for your classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It is cheaper than the two main colleges in Montana.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a beautiful campus in a beautiful setting.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are wonderful, and really make you think deeper than normal.

  • 01/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that love class discussions, like small towns, and love horses! The Rodeo and Equestrian teams are both really competitive and a lot of fun. What's great about the Equestrian team is that you don't even have to have your own horse in Dillon. There's also a lot of places to go fishing and hunting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to jump head first into classes! Because the classes only last 18 days you have to be prepared to work hard, but for the most part, the classes don't take over your life or anything like that. Get involved! Dillon can be a little boring if you have nothing to do. There's a bunch of clubs, and a YMCA in town that you can be a member of.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though I am an out-of-state student, I got WUE, and going to UMW is cheaper than going to a school here in Washington! I am learning so much and having a great time at this school, so it's definitely worth the money (which isn't much, especially for Montana residents!).

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here at Western! Dillon is a great small town, and if you don't need anything like clothes, then Dillon has almost everything you need. Starbucks, Safeway and Subway!! It's a cute town, and everyone in town seems really nice. The campus is nice, even though it's pretty small, but that's really nice when it's COLD outside and you have to walk to class. The dorms are pretty standard, nothing amazing, but nothing horrible either. There are a lot of different clubs you can get involved in, and we have a great Equestrian team, and a great Rodeo team. I'm on the equestrian team, and I'm having SO much fun! I'm learning a lot, competing successfully and making great friends.

    Am learning a lot

    This college is great for learning! UMW operates on a block scheduling that they call Experience One. In X1 you go to class 3 hours a day, 5 days a week for 18 days, and then you get a four day break and move onto your next class. It's awesome because you get to completely focus on one subject, and not have to worry about other classes to study for. This also means you only have to study for one final at a time! The professors in general are really willing to help, and they're always available during their office hours. The classes are also really small, my biggest class so far has been about 20 people, and my smallest was 9 people. The small class size allows you to get to know the professor and also allows a lot of time for questions and group discussions.

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who like I said lives revolve around their horses and that isn't going to change!:)

    Tips for prospective students

    Dillon is a great school! They have a lot of opportunities especially if your life revolves around the horses you grew up with and raised like mine does! Just make sure you do your homework! Look at everything! Make visits and really make sure this is the right college for you as with any college you look at! It helps in smaller communities and schools to be more out going and friendly as well!:)

    Bang for the buck

    What's great about Dillon is even if you're an out of state student it still isn't very expensive, especially if you can apply for WUE scholarships and such, and the block scheduling is designed to help you learn as much as possible while getting good grades at the same time!

    Will enjoy being here

    I grew up in a small town so I have never like big cities! Dillon is small but bigger than my home town which is perfect for me! It's the perfect size to make lots of new friends and not be overwhelmed as a freshman with too many people.

    Will learn a lot

    Absolutely! The block scheduling makes it so you only have to focus on one class at a time, which is great for when you get to the class, or classes, you struggle in!:)

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always a security guard in one of the dorms and there is safety phones everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs for almost everything and for putting on activities for all types of people.

    Great for these types of students

    cowboys, people wanting to live in a small town. people that concentrate on one thing better than many hence the block system.future teachers, this school is the best teaching school in montana.

    Bang for the buck

    yes!! it is extremely affordable,

    What to do for fun

    the metlen is a hotel/bar that everyone attends every weekend and wednesday there is swing dancing, and pool tables, but everyone just goes to dance.

    Food and Dining

    the food usually sucks, like most cafeterias the difference here is that the cooks know and recognize you.

    Dorm Life

    there are many activities that the dorm has around a week. also if you are fortunate enough you can get a suite that is two rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    you have a class for only 18 days don't ever miss a day and always study hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you live your first year on campus it is the easiest way to meet people.

    In three sentences

    small campus and small class sizes make it easy to get to know a lot of people. the block system is amazing you only have to study one class at a time for 18 days. the clubs are fun and easy to get into.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    dillon's a small and quiet town and rarely sees any crime.

    Clubs and Activities

    aside from a few school sports, you'll have to search pretty hard to find a quality club or activity around campus. with such a small student body, its hard to come up with things to do when only a small percentage would partake.

    Great for these types of students

    progressive, interested, open-minded students would love what this school has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is very cheap to attend and, in my opinion, offers an above-average education.

    What to do for fun

    having fun is basically up to you and your ability to create fun. dillon is a very small town that doesn't offer many services or activities for college-aged students, so most of the fun comes from spending time with friends and coming up with your own ways to pass the time.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good for the most part; much better than other cafeterias in montana. there isn't very much variety though, offering a limited choice when you're not interested in the main course.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life isn't bad; it stays fairly quiet and they aren't very big so most kids become good friends with those in their halls. there aren't many activities that are organized for the dorms, but the r.a.'s are pretty loose and don't enforce many rules.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are generally simple with a lot of busy work. its hard to cram a full chapter of knowledge into just one day of class, so there is less work than a regular school overall. upper-level classes can get pretty rigorous, especially in math and social science classes. business classes tend to be fairly easy-going and involves a lot more hands-on class work.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for long lectures in general classes like math or science. these can be hard to handle with the block system, but its worth the wait to take classes that involve more experiential learning.

    In three sentences

    the school uses a unique block-schedule for classes, meaning we take one class at a time over a period of four weeks for three hours a day. the campus is nice and offers a lot of opportunities, but its the professors that make it truly outstanding.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is extremely difficult to get anything done at this school. The way the classes are set up is fantastic but the way the run everything else is a pain and often causes many problems. Ricky in the Financial aid office is fantastic and about the only one who gets anything right

    What to do for fun

    Dillon is a great little town

    Tips for prospective students

    Good luck

    In three sentences

    ... The registration, financial aid, and business offices are often difficult and they way to long to get anything figured out.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't be surprised if you see Campus Security walking around even during the day; and try to brighten their day with a quick hello and a bright, cheery smile!

    Greek Life

    So far I haven't seen anyone running around in a toga, but I've only been here a few months so it may still happen. Fingers crossed it doesn't though, well unless I've got a camera with me!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs, sports, and activities here you won't be able to pick just one! For all you spook-lovers, UMW has its own Paranormal Investigation club called UMW PI!

    Great for these types of students

    UMW is a college that is especially suited towards, a small town attitude. This is a place where taking a walk at 3 a.m is most likely only going to get you in trouble with Campus Security, not get you kidnapped by some creep. It is especially suited towards students who have a hard time focusing on six or seven subjects at a time, as UMW students take only one class at a time 3 hours a day 5 days a week for 18 days! Go block scheduling!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For anyone looking for a good ghost story behind their campus, you've come to the right place at UMW! As the fourth floor of Main Hall is haunted by the ghost of a little girl hit by a car on her way to piano lessons on the fourth floor of Main Hall.

    Bang for the buck

    Personally I feel that there is no better place to attend college than UMW, as you find that every teacher will go out of their way to help you understand the course. This level of commitment is something hard to obtain in a bigger more prestigious school like Yale or Harvard.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do at UMW, the fair grounds are host to many rodeos, fairs, and concerts. The Met offers a more bar/ night club setting for those of you old enough to drink! Also our neighboring cities of Butte, Bannack, and Virginia City also offer a more metropolitan (in the case of Butte), and historical environment to visit. There is also a Hotsprings very near by that you can relax and enjoy!

    Food and Dining

    It will never be as good as a home-cooked meal, but it is definately better than a high-school cafeteria! Also PizzaHut is your friend, and always tip the delivery guy!

    Dorm Life

    Expect the unexpected; and don't be afraid to tell your roommate to turn off the light, their music, or just to generally shut up.

    Academic Rigor

    While you may think that having only one class a day is a breeze, keep in mind that you're learning an entire year's worth of information in 18 days! Though I have to admit some classes do seem to be extremely easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule a trip to Dillon, look around the campus, talk to students or faculty, examine the dorms, eat at the cafeteria, and find that elusive Post Office!

    In three sentences

    The University of Montana-Western is an exciting and memorable place to attend college. It has some of the most gorgeous scenery in western Montana. UMW is the place to go for higher education!

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its Montana. When you drive to grocery store during the winter 75% of the cars in the parking lot are left unlocked and running. Very trusting community and safe.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great variety and close-knit.

    Great for these types of students

    Hunters, Fishers, people who like to focus on one thing at a time, adventurous, hikers,

    Bang for the buck

    I am from Washington and this University is cheaper then the community colleges there!

    What to do for fun

    Go to sporting events. Join Clubs. Hunt and fish.

    Food and Dining

    Great variety. Fresh Montana food.

    Dorm Life

    Typical dorms. Option of Co-ed or not.

    Academic Rigor

    It is what you make it. If you study and do your work you should do well. School first, have fun later.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work on time. Show up to class everyday. Do not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Great way at taking on college with the block system. The block system means you have 1 class per month (block) that you take m-f for 3hrs a day, it is a great way to get one on one time with teachers and focus on one class at a time. Its a semester based block schedule meaning you will have completed 4 classes per semester.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and secure, no worries

    Clubs and Activities

    Art club is great.

    Great for these types of students

    motivated

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am from Puerto Rico so alot is unusual for me.

    Bang for the buck

    I am so glad I was able to go to this school, excellent educuation and opportunity.

    What to do for fun

    I have kids, so fun activities revolve around them.

    Food and Dining

    I cook at home, but visit dining services sometimes, the food is truly excellent.

    Dorm Life

    I am a non-traditional student who lives in Family Housing, it is great, convenient, and affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned so much in my art classes (I am a visual arts major), the profs, have expanded my skills and love and appreciation of all the arts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with the intention to graduate, everybody at the University will help you succeed, if you do your part.

    In three sentences

    Overall it is a great school! I love the block program. The small class rooms are great.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are pursing teaching and horsemanship.

    Bang for the buck

    Very small college, with great teachers, and not really expensive.

    What to do for fun

    You can go hiking, to the rodeo, many outdoor activites.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is amazing. All of the food is extremely nice and and freshly prepared.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very nice, and all of the Dorm Life people are very helpful. The dorms are nicely put together and are in great location on the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Best place to go for for schooling. A very good school to go to with a very good setup for classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    A very inexpensive place with great schooling.

    In three sentences

    One of the best colleges I have ever been to. A very helpful staff, and nice community.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. You are able to walk around it is quite. There are plenty of parking lots. The dorms get locked at eleven at night.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus there are a few stores you can go to. We have the Bark-n-Bite which is just a store to buy food and snacks throughout the day. There is also the campus book store. The cup is located under the library, which is an amazing coffee shop. There use to be a Stageline pizza, however they moved into town a little bit. There are plenty of quite places to study do homework, or just hang out with friends.

    What to do for fun

    There are not to many fun things to do around Dillon, unless you are into the country. If you are looking for fun things to do around campus you. The groups put on activities many times during the week.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not quite home cooked food, however it is good. They have two choices of dinner every night, soup, a salad bar, a sandwich bar, and a burger bar. You just swipe your student ID card and you are able to go eat whatever you want. The best part about the dining hall, is they have a soft serve ice cream machine. Which you can go to at any point in the day!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fun. Students get together and you can make friends quickly. There are activities going on every week which are nice. For Valentine's day you are able to make cookies and decorate them. There are movie nights every Tuesday, which only cost two dollars at the theater in town.

    Academic Rigor

    Going to this school is a great idea. If you are not sure what you want your major to be, there are plenty of people willing to help you out. This is a small university, however there are enough people to help you know exactly what is going on. There are plenty of classes offered every block, it is worth looking into.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoy focusing on one class at a time, I highly suggest looking into the University of Montana-Western. You have quite a bit of homework some nights, however it is only one subject you are focusing on at a time.

    In three sentences

    The University of Montana-Western is an amazing school. If you enjoy focusing on one class at a time this is the university for you. I highly suggest looking into this university. The classes are small, you can get to know the professors and your classmates quickly.

  • 11/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awful, in the first week one of the showers broke as well as my light in my room and neither have yet been fixed. The cafeteria food doesnt taste bad because there is no taste at all and you are paying for a seven day meal plan even though it is not open Saturdays or Sundays.

    Academic Rigor

    I have yet to take a difficult class here at western.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not interested in attending high school after high school do not go to Western. The classes are small which may seem appealing until you realize everyone here knows everything about you and visa versa. The teachers range from crazy and lovable to absolute dragon ladies or men. You have to be committed to either teaching or the equestrian program to attend this school.

    In three sentences

    I hate western. The classes are not challenging and I feel it isn't as caring of an environment as advertised. My experience here was the complete opposite of what I was told before attending.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good and healthy. They use a lot of local produce to create and outstanding salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. I don't have a roommate and they are plenty of way to have fun. Also it is east access to events on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The block schedule is perfect for students who are not able to focus on more then one thing. It keeps your schedule a lot more organized.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in coming to this school know that classes are long but it is worth it. You only have to study for one class at a time.

    In three sentences

    University of Montana Western is a great school. They try and get everyone involved and try and have a good time. The education part is the best, its called experience one, you take one class for 18 days and you get four credits for it, it is the best.