Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

The University of Texas at Tyler Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/11/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 out of 21 people found this review useful. 1 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UT Tyler is a great school for Enginnering and Education, but a big one for Nursing students. After doing research myself and talking to advisors at UT Tyler, UT Tyler is second in the nation for the highest percentage passing rate in the nursing exam tests. As a nursing major student myself, I feel more confident in myself knowing that if in the past years 99% of students have become nurses, I can get through it too!... especially with the great professors I hear students brag about so much!

    Will enjoy being here

    Tyler, Texas may be a small town, but that's why it is great attending a university such as the University of Texas at Tyler. I may have only visited the university 4 maybe 5 times, but I am really excited to transfer this fall because I have already made a lot of friends. One gets to know people very well due to the fact that about only 5,000 students attend. We are a big family!

    Will learn a lot

    The University of Texas at Tyler is not only known for being a branch off of the University of Texas at Austin, but because of its professors. The University of Texas at Tyler has some of the greatest professors that have received their degrees from different parts of world, therefore gives us, the students, a major advantage against non-UT Tyler students! Another advantage that we UT Tyler students have is that the teacher:student ratio is 1:20; this making it easier for the students to concentrate in class and build a strong relationship with the professors.

  • 12/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 2 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are groups, clubs, and activities that interest all students in all areas whether academic, religious, personal, or whatever else you are looking for.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're considering attending UT Tyler, talk to a counselor, attend orientation, and sign up early for classes. When you arrive explore the campus and find your classes so you won't be lost the first day. Also look for any on campus activities that you can attend so you can meet new people. Oh and most importantly, have fun!

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere at UT Tyler is good and I've made a lot of friends so far. Living on campus has its advantages in that I'm within walking distance from all my classes and I can meet new people.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at UT Tyler are great and they do their best to work with the students on a personal basis. They break the material down so that it is easier for the students to understand and SI sessions help a lot as well.

  • 12/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 3 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing Majors

    Bang for the buck

    As the school itself says, it is like a private school education with the price of a public school.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus itself is beautiful, especially in the late summer months and early fall. The campus housing is close to wherever you need to go, and is quite convenient. Personally, I enjoy the classes, and campus itself. The staff members around the school are friendly and helpful as well, creating a more enjoyable environment.

    Am learning a lot

    I have only taken a semester of school at the University of Texas at Tyler, and the classes are all basics, but despite that, I have learned a lot since I started in the Fall. The classes are small enough to where the teachers can learn about the students and work with them if they need assistance. The smaller class size also allows for class discussion.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I believe UT Tyler has something to offer for everyone, but if you need to narrow it down, here is how I would do it: #1: Students who care about knowing a lot of people and having close friendships - Because of the size of the campus, students who have decided on their majors will take classes and attend events with many of the same students. They will form lasting friendships and have a great support group as they juggle homework assignments and study for exams. #2: Students who want their professors to teach them; not just lecture them. I've had both kinds of professors; the ones who lecture, but never lift a finger to help you, and the ones who teach, and will even walk around the room to make sure each individual person has heard what they needed to personally in order to understand what was being taught. If you want to be close to your professors and to have the kind of relationship with them where no question is dumb, and your learning experience is worth their time, then UT Tyler is the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go to UT Tyler expecting the worst as I did. It will take you too long to come around and enjoy the many things UT Tyler has to offer. Instead, step onto the campus with an open mind. Be ready to make changes, meet new people, and experience the unexpected. It will change your view, and it will change your life.

    Bang for the buck

    The main reason I chose UT Tyler was because it was affordable. What I did not know before I attended was that affordable does not equal unsatisfactory. I have been more than satisfied with many of the features that UT Tyler is strong in. I believe the level of education and the comfort of the campus is well worth every dime spent on tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    One great thing about UT Tyler is its beautiful campus. All of the buildings are centered around several small lakes with walkways that weave in and out, and there is nothing like walking to class in the morning and looking out over the shimmering water and seeing a turtle basking in the sun. During the fall, the treas are beautiful, and there is the smell of pine in the air everywhere you go. I've found myself many times taking a stroll between classes or on my lunch break just for the view and to breathe in the fresh air after being cooped up in classrooms for a few hours. The environment seems to absorb all of the stress and tension of the week right out of your bones and give you the feeling of waking up fresh and excited for what the day has in store.

    Am learning a lot

    When I decided to attend UT Tyler, I thought I was doing it because it was close to home, inexpensive, and my only college option. What I discovered during my freshman year was something completely different. One of the biggest lessons I walked away with at the end of this year was this: Size and prestige in a university does not determine the level of education you will receive, and it does not determine the amount of knowledge you will walk away with. Yes, good professors are important in the learning process, and yes, it is good for your pride to say you study at a popular university, but what will really determine your education in the end is your ability to believe in yourself, to make your goals and dreams possible, and to do what it takes to be the best you can be. At UT Tyler, I had a great support group. My professors all knew me by name and were not only willing, but more than eager to help with any problems I had and wanted more than anything for me to understand everything that they told me. Homework assignments were only designed to help us learn the material and to prepare us for major exams, and they were not meant to give us busy work or make college difficult and time-consuming. I knew all of my fellow students within my major and related majors because of the size of the school, and we had regular study sessions, helped each other with homework, and encouraged each other when it was time for exams. Overall, I am very happy that I decided to stay in my hometown and attend UT Tyler. Being there has taught me more than what can be learned in a textbook. It has been a life changing experience.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At UT Tyler, there are plenty of things to do for fun if you're bored or if you just want to get out of your room. When I used to live in the dorms, I would go down to the Media Room to watch a movie, play ping pong with some friends, or even play board games. In the town, there are also some fun things to do like go bowling or even go to the mall, hang out at Chipotle, and sometimes I shop too much at places like Marshall's, Shoe Carnival, Walmart, Ross, etc. The list goes on from this point! Great town and school.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is okay but they are good. The only thing that I don't quite like about it is that they tend to have the same choices every week and they'll change it up a little but whenever it was dinner time, i was always in there because they'll serve ribs or fried chicken or sometimes Mexican or Chinese food which are all my favs so they hit it home for me.

    Dorm Life

    DORM LIFE!! The dorms here are really nice compared to most schools. They have double-occupancy dorms and triple-occupancy dorms. With the double ( which is what I stayed in) is you and another person ion one room with two beds on different sides on the room. You both share a sink, toilet, and shower and you have your own closet. With the triple, you have your own room where you can close your door if you would like and you share a sink, toilet, and shower with two other people. Either one is a great choice or you could choose to live in the apartments on/off campus; University Pines, Varsity Place, or Patriot Village. But I suggest to live in

    Academic Rigor

    This is by far the best part. The professors are always on point and they know exactly what they are doing. They are always available with anything that you may need help with and they are literally always there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here, there are plenty opportunities for you to study abroad and even get into some honors classes for all those extremely smart people. They also have a website that hires UT Tyler kids only so it helps you find a job in your field and most people look at the website because they know that only the best are coming from UT Tyler. The main two majors that I hear are GREAT here is the Accounting Program and the Nursing program as #1. There are hundreds of kids here for the nursing program because they know that they will get the best out of the best here at UT Tyler. I am an Accounting student and UT Tyler has not disappointed me yet.

    In three sentences

    UT Tyler to me is a very home-feeling school where I can go pretty much anywhere in the school and the people/staff/faculty here are so nice and helpful with whatever you may need help with. Their goal is to never let you down and to provide you with unlimited resources.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate.

    Bang for the buck

    Great Price!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it!

    Am learning a lot

    Classes can be challenging. But not too difficult.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The University of Texas at Tyler has a variety of activities open to them: clubs of every variety, open sports teams, academic societies, and volunteer groups to join. UT Tyler tries very hard to offer many options of things to do for their students, all of them worthwhile.

    Food and Dining

    The only genuine place to eat on campus that is not a brand-name dinning center is the MET. The MET is decent, however the best aspect of dinning on campus is the vendors: Starbucks, Subway, and Chik-Fil-A are the best things available to students.

    Dorm Life

    The University of Texas at Tyler, because of it's location, is quiet and sized about like what one would expect from a private school. With this size, campus activities are vital for dorm life. You will find adequately sized rooms, friendly people, and assorted things going on to keep you busy.

    Academic Rigor

    Every member of the University of Texas at Tyler staff is a dedicated member of a family. All workers, from the professorial level to the technician staff for the IT crews, all work hard and hold students to high standard. However, unlike some schools with do this to weed out students, the staff here do it because they believe in their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus at the University of Texas at Tyler is located in the beautiful woods of East Texas, a real adjustment to make over being in a bigger city. Be ready to adjust to wonderful scenery, but also to a smaller and more private atmosphere

    In three sentences

    The University of Texas at Tyler is a university with the size of a private campus, but the education level of a full-sized school. The quality of education here exceeds the cost of attendance, which is already fair.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus. There is campus police that patrol the campus regularly and the campus police station is right next door to the school campus.

    Greek Life

    I know there is greek life at UT, because they were at the club rush to, but I don't know much about them. I was not in a sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Each semester there is a club rush kind of thing. Where all the clubs have a table and recruit new members. There are a lot of clubs and actives to join and it's easy to start one to. The gym offers activities like zumba and mountain biking.

    Great for these types of students

    Smith County is a dry county, and the city of Tyler is a small quiet city. It's a city for college students and retired people. It's perfect for students who are serious about their studies. Tyler doesn't offer much distraction and it's a two and a half hour drive to any place that will.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Harvy lake on campus is beautiful. It gets really low in the summer but in the winter, it fills up and is really pretty to look at. Heads up, the ducks love to be fed. You will see cross country run around the campus wearing dippers. Don't worry it only happens once.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as dorms go, U Pines is the cheapest dorm. And i suggest one of the cheaper meal plans. One that has the fewest visits to the met and a lot of dining dollars. Eat breakfast in the dorm, lunch on campus, and make dinner if you can. You can also do work study.

    What to do for fun

    All the dorms have recreational hang outs and there is on on campus to. There are swimming pools, pool tables, as well as a gym to run or work out in. There is the Broadway Square Mall to hang at and other things to do in the city. It's a lot of fun being at UT Tyler.

    Food and Dining

    The met, the cafeteria, is okay but not that great to have every day. Food there was good just not what I would like every day. I found my self eating at the Chick-fil-A, Subway, and Grilled Works that are upstairs a lot. All of which are good.

    Dorm Life

    There are three on campus housing complexes. One of them is directly on campus right next to the cafeteria, their dorms do not have kitchens. The other two dorm complexes had kitchens in them. Just make sure you share a dorm with friends and work out cleaning schedules.

    Academic Rigor

    I was taking general ed classes so in my opinion they were not very difficult. If you do have trouble, the best thing to do is ask the professor. Go into their office and ask them to help you. They know the material best. After all, they are teaching it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not sit back and slack off. The professors are nice, do not take advantage of them. Do your work and turn it in on time. Professors are happy to help if you don't understand.

    In three sentences

    I loved it! Small, good size campus with a small student to teacher ratio and professors that are willing to help. It was a wonderful experience.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On-line security was good - I did not receive unwanted email!

    Clubs and Activities

    I was invited to several clubs but did not choose to participate due to distance.

    Great for these types of students

    On-line with busy life!

    Bang for the buck

    UT Tyler makes scholarships available through a variety of mechanisms which made completing my MSN possible.

    Academic Rigor

    I worked hard at my classes and maintained a 4.0. It was up to me to contact the professor as I needed clarification and insight. The assignments were structured so that I could think for myself to make them unique for my needs but still meet the criteria of the CON.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anything you can do at the local community college that transfers in will be beneficial. Choose a topic you feel strongly about and plan to alter assignments each semester around that topic specific to that class. Your papers will be unique but strengthen with each class.

    In three sentences

    Graduate College of Nursing On-line was everything I needed to complete my MSN: Administration and Educator Certificate. Direct access to professors was a benefit that I did not know in my previous on-line BSN courses with another college.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards and police phones all over campus ensuring that everyone on campus is always and always feels safe!

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities and three fraternities that are extremely involved in all campus and sporting events

    Bang for the buck

    There are tons of places in Tyler that offer up to 20% off discounts for going to UT Tyler so keep an eye out for those places!

    What to do for fun

    Go to sporting events and get involved in other activities/organizations and from there there will be even more fun!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria, the met, can always be better, but Chick-fil-a and Subway are always wonderful, despite the long lines!

    Dorm Life

    You meet a lot of people at the dorms and on-campus apartments. There are so many events and activities that the dorm resident assistants organize so many events for people to meet each other! Be involved!

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors at UT Tyler are some of the best, they really try hard to be there for their students and make sure they know the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved in everything! Go to sporting events and other events held by student organizations, you never know who you're going to meet!

    In three sentences

    UT Tyler is an extremely beautiful campus. Staff and faculty are always there to help any students in need. All of the sports teams are so close and support each other and have the support from the student body as a whole.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The University always has lots to do to keep students busy. Every week there are activities that can be joined if you want to do something. Never a minute to be bored if you just check out the activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food on the Campus is good but I only wish we had more options. On the positive side there has been phenomenal growth in this area on campus.

    Dorm Life

    IDK since I don't live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Study, study, study! Nursing students don't have a life. We will reap the rewards of our efforts later though and we know it!

    Tips for prospective students

    I am in the Nursing Program and all I can say is to any prospective nursing majors--be prepared to study your tail off! Pay attention and take detailed notes. Get to know your instructors.

    In three sentences

    Uttyler is an excellent school. Your instructors will go the extra mile to help you so don't be shy get to know them. Finally, have fun while you're here!

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Watch any sports home games!

    Food and Dining

    Very good on campus food!

    Dorm Life

    Very cozy

    In three sentences

    Wonderful teachers and advisers. Great college experience. Clean and awesome class rooms.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had a problem.

    Greek Life

    Not involved. don't know.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not involved in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious. Not needing a great college community to survive.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes.

    What to do for fun

    Cowan Center is great but still too expensive. Students shoudl get a discount.

    Food and Dining

    The coffee shop I go to is good.

    Dorm Life

    Cannot speak to this - do not live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to take as many classes as you can for the amount it costs per semester. Live near campus - commuting is a pain.

    In three sentences

    They provide a quality education at a reasonable price. The curriculum is rigorous and challenging. The professors are really nice and caring.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are plenty of emergency booths and a police cop on campus 24/7. Also cops drive through the campus 24/7 so there's always a police officer near by or across the street off the campus.

    Greek Life

    There aren't many but the girls seem really close and they have great activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for almost anyone who wants to get involved. They're a great way to meet new people just like you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an activity open to all students who attend the college known as Humans vs Aliens. students divide into two groups (aliens or humans) and they live their normal school lives while at the same time caring a Nerf gun to defend themselves from the opposing team that are hunting them.

    What to do for fun

    In Tyler on campus you can go to club help activities, play sports for fun at the recreational center or even go fishing at the lake. Also the hills on campus consists of students longboarding and others enjoying the outdoors and eating out. Outside the University campus there are places to go such as a variety of restaurants,a bowling alley, putt putt, mall, and movie theaters.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria serves some of the same things daily and can get tiring but they also have a section where they serve different food. If the cafeteria becomes dull the school offers different restaurants such as Chick-Fil-A, Subway, Grill Works, and Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    The Drom Life is the best way to meet new people and there are plenty of activities to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't difficult if you manage your time wisely and go to study sessions.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking of coming to Tyler be sure to speak to an advisor to sign up for the right classes. During orientation ask plenty of questions so that you fully understand what life is like on campus.;

    In three sentences

    It's a small comforting school with a calm, peaceful, relaxing environment that helps you enjoy and study outdoors. The professors and employees are caring and easy to talk to. Also, it has plenty of activities to do when you get involved with school organizations.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there is enough locations to have a bite to eat and not leave the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    know who your advisor is. where your classes are located at. make friends and study groups. Talk to your teachers.

    In three sentences

    one of the best instutition with very friendly and helpful stuff. well equiped classrooms. the location map are very helpful.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always some fun event going on at UTT! You have choices from SGA pool parties, to midnight pancake breakfasts, and even toga parties. There is also an incredible gym and aquatic facility on-campus, and several different options that are only a few miles away from the school.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining choices, while very good, are somewhat limited on-campus. There is a mess hall that serves a variety of courses, as well as Chick-fil-A, Subway, and Grille. All of the locations have great food, there just aren't many choices when it comes to dining.

    Dorm Life

    The university does a wonderful job of making freshmen feel at home in the dorms. There are lots of fun and engaging mixers hosted at the dorms that help students connect with one another. Also, there are tons of fantastic amenities like gaming centers and pools for students to enjoy on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but not overwhelming. As long as you attend class everyday and give it your all, nothing is insurmountable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you attend orientation in order to learn about a lot of unique opportunities offered at the school, as well as different on-campus job offers. Also, take time to learn about the different clubs and organizations on campus; get involved! And, of course, always go to class!

    In three sentences

    UT Tyler is an incredible university that has a myriad of exciting opportunities for students, both academically and socially. There are a plethora of different courses offered that meet the needs of any student, and professors are very attentive to individual needs. Overall, the school has a wonderful and supportive environment full of fun and remarkable learning opportunities.

  • 08/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to start a new beginning should definitely come to UT Tyler. It is great for people who are nice and looking to make new friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a freshman looking into this school, definitely come take a campus tour. You will see that everything is clean, nice, and the people are friendly. Also register for classes as soon as you can and find out where they are so you won't get lost on the first day.

    Bang for the buck

    UT Tyler is a university school with a junior college price. It is EXTREMELY cheap for a 4-year university. Honestly, this is one of the main reasons why I chose UT Tyler. I got accepted into a couple of private schools, but the price was just too high. UT Tyler is perfect!

    Am enjoying being here

    On a scale of 1 to 10, I'd have to rate UT Tyler as an 11. I absolutely LOVE this school, campus, professors, and students. Being here makes me happy and like I belong. Everyone is so friendly and makes you feel like you've been there for years.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a sophomore at UT Tyler and I have learned so much already. Even though I am still in some of my basic classes, which can be boring at times, I am enjoying each and every one of them. UT Tyler has small classes so you can get a personal experience with your professor, which is a great thing to have.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Local students

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UT Tyler is a great school for athletes. Although it is D III. The sports here are awesome! The soccer team just finished top 8 this past season, finishing 7th in the nation. Each sport does really well. Its also a good place that enjoy the naturalness of the earth. There a two ponds and lots of trees on campus that the students can appreciate. The University is also very friendly from all the students to the Professors high in the command chain.

    Tips for prospective students

    Best tips I can think of would be to simply come try it out. If your coming to be an athlete here, then I would highly suggest you come fit because the work the athletes put into the sport is WAY more than I had ever before. All the work is worth it though.

    Bang for the buck

    UT Tyler really is not that expensive for the education that it offers. Its an awesome University to graduate from, and I can guarantee that you will enjoy your time here, which should make it worth it that much more. The school atmosphere is based on the leaders whom have good morals and make the campus that much more pleasant.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. I am apart of the UT Tyler men soccer team. We are all really close so I enjoy my free time with them or with any other of the friends I easily make at the school itself. The food area is a good place to just hang out with other students, play some pool, ping pong, or video games. The whole campus has a great environment. The school is not too big where you find yourself not knowing anyone. Its small enough to where you can recognize and talk to most people in passing.

    Am learning a lot

    The University of Texas at Tyler is a great place to learn in any field of study you decide to take upon. I have learned so much about Business this past semester. The professors are there for you and available almost at anytime through email, which they tend to respond to within a few hrs. Each class teaches you something that is essential and easy to learn thanks to the professors. You will see that the classes tend to connect in some ways and give you a better understanding of your field of study.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    walk around outside, meet up with friends in the uc, the normal things you find at other schools.

    Food and Dining

    good selection of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    i did not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    there is a lot of studying involved, but the teachers and other students are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to read your syllabus, do your homework and read the chapter for your classes.

    In three sentences

    i am a student in the college of nursing. the teachers are very helpful. i am glad that i chose to go to ut tyler.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It seems that the lighting at night is pretty sparse and when you have a night class, you want to try to park as close as possible; however, you WILL have a distance to walk more than likely. It was nice to know that after 5pm, you are allowed to park in the faculty parking. That was always a help.

    Greek Life

    Be sure to ask about any extra work that may be needed to be initiated into something! This was something I wish I had done--assuming there was just the fee to pay and the induction. This is not always the case, plus there are also some groups that require yearly dues to be paid. Look at all of it!

    Bang for the buck

    Go to the financial aid office and ask them to review your case even after the financial awards have gone through! Sometimes something may have slipped through the cracks. Yes, I do think that you get what you pay for here. I have made many friends and also have a list of those to use as references (professors, teachers, etc.). Get your money's worth and do the same!

    What to do for fun

    For fun?! I have learned to make study groups fun. My core group gets together at least once a week and we will either go out to eat or meet up at one of our houses. We have learned to mix pleasure with work and it also helps to strengthen our bond as friends.

    Food and Dining

    I typically never eat on campus, but they do have a small variety of fast food areas to choose from--I love the Chick-fil-a area because it is very student friendly and inviting, yet off to the side so if you need to go there to study that's an option.

    Dorm Life

    Luckily, I was not a dorm student this time around...

    Academic Rigor

    On the academic side of things, I have learned to always put my class schedule at the forefront of each notebook and follow it rigorously. I have also learned to make the teachers know my name--if you stand out to them and have a problem and need to send them an email, they can put a face to a name. Always keep good communication with the prof and things should go well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Build a core group around you that you know have your back when you need it--and you have theirs when they need you. Pop in and just say hi or bring a snack to the faculty that you know you will need to utilize often--they get to know you and will give you their very best even on a bad day.

    In three sentences

    I have very much enjoyed the last year (more so than previous year) at UT--meeting great friends that will stick, learning from professors that care, building a collection for the future as far as my career. Although, at times, I feel that some of the profs/faculty are there for just the dollar, overall, I have found a core group that have helped to pull me through! I am grateful for this experience!

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus PD is also Tyler PD, so they CAN follow you off campus. They're directly behind the biggest building on campus and can be anywhere in a matter of seconds. Nice guys.

    Greek Life

    Pretty limited, three sororities and three frats, I think.

    Great for these types of students

    Bicyclists, skateboarders, longboarders, etc. will feel RIGHT at home. So many wheels and boards here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Frat boys WILL, at some point, parade across campus in their underwear/diapers. They might even come out of the lake to wish you good luck on your finals. Odd fellows, but also pretty chill.

    What to do for fun

    Grab a spot by the lake and enjoy the shade.

    Food and Dining

    The Met cafeteria is undergoing a major rebranding this summer. Plus the Chick-fil-A and Subway on campus don't hurt.

    Dorm Life

    Living away from home for the first time can be really nerve-wracking. There is quite a mix of students who live on campus, though, so you're bound to fit in somewhere, and don't be afraid of the RAs. They don't bite.

    Academic Rigor

    You'll need to study, but there will be time to breathe.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring rainboots! I haven't had any professors who were not willing to work with me and help me through a difficult subject or essay - plus the writing center and math lab are very useful tutoring areas.

    In three sentences

    UT Tyler has a beautiful campus that is easy to navigate and great for taking a break to enjoy good weather. Students and staff are generally very friendly and willing to help out any way they can. Perfect campus for commuter students, as the existing majority of students here are commuters themselves.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 58

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The University is located in a community that values service and fellowship more than any city I have ever seen. The the school population is just right for a student who wishes to be competitive, but capable of standing out and getting attention form professors. This is a beautiful school, and a beautiful city.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join all kinds of intramural sports or actual athletic programs. Also available are there are allike kinds of clubs to jion from inttelectual ones to socially oriented ones.

    Food and Dining

    Great choices when it comes to meals because you can choose from a vast list of restaurants, bars and fast food joints.

    Dorm Life

    Tranquil and safe !

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging ! Great staff including nationally acknowledged professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be positive and open minded !

    In three sentences

    A peaceful student oriented enviroment. Average size campus and student body. A new experience to college life.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have many different clubs and activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time to explore your options and find out what you want to major in. If you spend too much time changing, you could run out of funding.

    In three sentences

    The University of Texas at Tyler is a really good school. They have a good psychology program. They also seem to really care about their students.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is patrolled regularly.

    Greek Life

    Unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities to do around the campus. If not you can always start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Active, dedicated students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gym, Starbucks and class.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Athletic center offers lots of activities. Pool, dining, zumba classes, yoga, tennis courts, biking lanes. Lots of fun stuff.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of on campus amenities.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown

    Academic Rigor

    Very competitive nursing program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start looking at the program requirements well in advance.

    In three sentences

    I think the school is very well laid out. The staff are knowledgeable. The nursing program is competitive but great.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although the police is always campus and the student may see them, most students do not realize how important their presence is. I was personally evacuated from the Biology building as there had been a gas leak. The police were there within seconds helping with the evacuation and making sure everybody was safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    UTT offers a great variety of different clubs and activies. Whether you want to be involved in fighting against cancer or simply enjoy ultimate frisbee there is a place here for you. There are also many activities around campus usually from little to no cost to the student. These include some lectures at the Cowan Center or movie nights sponsored by CAB.

    Great for these types of students

    UTT is perfect for those students that are looking for a top notch education and do not have thousands of dollars to be spending around. Who says that a good education has to cost a fortune? UTT offers great degrees (especially in chemistry and nursing) at an affordable cost. It also isn't an extremely large university, which guarantees a closer relationship with your professors. At a bigger university the student may find himself sitting in a 200 person class in which the professors does not (and does not want to) know his students. Here at UTT you will be able to personally visit with your professors without feeling awkward whatsoever.

    Bang for the buck

    UTT is not an expensive university, either in terms of tuition or simply a quick coffee at Starbucks. In the University Center you will find different food and dining options. There are also a wide variety of vending machines (for snacks and drinks) all over campus as well as various Starbucks stations. Nevertheless, the best bang for the buck is not limited to just satisfying the munchies. Some classes require you buy specific items (i.e. lab notebooks, goggles, etc.). While buying at your local store these items would be quite expensive, there are organizations all over campus (i.e. the ACS) that will sell the exact same items at an incredibly cheaper prize!

    What to do for fun

    UTT has a long list of student organizations that satisfy every need within the student population. From looking for a fraternity, model UN, or simply playing chess there is a guarantee you will find an organization you enjoy. Some of them are national chapters and allow for not only a university membership, but a nationally recognized one as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining services at UTT are quite admirable. For a university that is not huge in size (as compared to UT Austin), UTT enjoys a wide variety of food options from a quick salad or snack to full meals for the hungry patriots.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, but out of all my friends that do I have never heard a single complaint.

    Academic Rigor

    Although a smaller name university than Rice, UTT still requires the student to be fully prepared and focused in his or her studies. Just like any other university, UTT will place a very high value on education, and if the student does not enjoy putting time into his or her education, they will not be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know where your classes are before your first day and HOW to get there, you do not want to end up running from class to class! Get involved, get involved, get involved! There is no better way to succeed in your career. Through different activities you will meet a grand variety of people, and make life lasting friendships.

    In three sentences

    I feel right at home at UTT; all of the teachers make me feel extremely welcome. The student atmosphere radiates a positive environment. Here no student is ever left behind.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good, but watch out for your own selves because you never know whom you may come across. Avoid jogging private at nights, especially girls

    Great for these types of students

    great for those who love to go to school in quite environment

    What to do for fun

    jogging

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria. Good appealing loby

    Dorm Life

    Never been to one of those

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your degree program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Affordable school but fees likely to increase every semester

    In three sentences

    Good school in small city Not the greatest school but affordable. Fees increase every semester.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Feed the ducks, join a club, or just relax by the lake.

    Food and Dining

    They have a variety of places that you can get some food from.

    Dorm Life

    FUN!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are very challenging but encouraging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early and get to class early because parking tends to be a little outrageous but I prefer to think of it as my personal trainer.

    In three sentences

    University of Texas at Tyler has a BEAUTIFUL campus with many activities for all kinds of people so there is never a dull moment here. The teachers are spectacular and everyone here is willing to help you in any way they can.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten the cafeteria food so I cannot say, but I have heard that it is decent! Though they have a Subway and Chik-fila on campus and you can use your dining dollars to pay for your lunches. There is also a convenience store in the University Center that has everything from candy bars to salads.

    Dorm Life

    I have only lived in the apartments on campus, but they are really nice! They are very clean and have many things accessible to you like cable, internet, a comfortable bed, a nice decent size kitchen...It is a really good way to make good friends, as well. There are events, too, that go on that could be fun for you and your friends to enjoy.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at UT Tyler are definitely a step up from a junior college. They ask a lot from you, and expect you to know your stuff! The work is tough, but doable if you put your mind to it! The professors are nice for the most part, too.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe for the most part. There are some incidents each year, like with all schools, but since there are both a police station and fire station on campus, safety is well taken care of.

    Greek Life

    Although I am not a part of Greek Life, I know many people who are and absolutely love it. We do not have fraternity and sorority housing, but that does not stop many students from joining Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I mentioned before, there are over 80 clubs on campus as well as many activities throughout the year to get involved in. Homecoming is our biggest week in terms of activities and on-campus involvement.

    Great for these types of students

    UTT is great for all types of students. There is a little bit of everything and diversity is a huge part of our campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition and fees associated with UTT are very reasonable for everything you get. Tuition hardly rose from last year to this year and the fees cover so many activities and on-campus involvement. I would say this college is one of the best in terms of bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    I am a part of a couple clubs on campus, I have four part time jobs, and I have found a network of friends to hang out with on weekends. Tyler is a small-medium town (96,000 people) with movie theaters, shopping, some dance clubs, and lots of restaurants. It is a good place to be for weekend fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall serves GREAT breakfast. I love their bacon and eggs the most. The meal plan prices are pretty reasonable and they give you lots of choices in terms of which meal plan will fit your needs.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in the dorms my first year, but I do live in on-campus housing. I have lived in the on-campus apartments for two years and I really enjoy living close to campus. There are a lot of activities to do and the RA's for the apartments are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at UTT are hard enough to keep students learning, but easy enough to have a good pass rate. The teachers are very helpful and readily available to help with homework and classwork. I feel like I have learned quite a bit so far and plan to learn more.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school with smaller class sizes, great teachers, on-campus involvement, and great academics, UTT is the place for you. I would recommend to anyone to become involved in on-campus activities no matter what school you choose. I wanted to go to UT Austin because of its prestige, but found that I did not want to have class with 1,000 students my freshman year. I chose UTT because it is more personal and still has great degree programs and academics. Ultimately, it really does not matter where you get your undergraduate degree from if you are pursuing any higher education.

    In three sentences

    UTT is a great school if you are looking for smaller class sizes, lots of campus involvement, and great teachers. There are more than 80 student clubs available and it is easy to start your own if you do not find something you like already available. Class sizes do not get bigger than 150 (mostly for science classes) and the teachers are very helpful, knowledgeable, and capable.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Like outdoors.

    What to do for fun

    The town has places to go but the campus has groups you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Some days better than others.

    Dorm Life

    Campus apartments very close to school.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a higher level of priorities in classes than other colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend ALL classes.

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere of the campus. They offer nice services for struggling students. They have great class sizes.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At the beginning of this year there were a few incidents, like shootings and robberies, but they weren't on campus they were just around the campus. But the police department let us know immediately. The dorms are very secure, you have you use your id and a pass code to enter the rooms. Throughout the campus they have blue towers with help buttons so if you are in trouble then you press it and a cop with be there to help.

    Greek Life

    There is currently 3 fraternities and 2 sororities. The Greek life is growing each year, and they are working on adding a new sorority right now. I highly recommend going through recruitment and joining one of these because this is a great way to become involved in the school. Greek life isn't quite as big here as most universities, but its still a whole lot of fun.

    What to do for fun

    People think there isn't much to do in Tyler, but on campus there is always something going on. Some club is always hosting an event, there are sporting events, things with free food, and themed hangouts.

    Food and Dining

    In the Met, where people have there meal plans, the food is kind of a hit and miss. Sometimes it will be good and others times you just don't want to eat. They are pretty good about having a variety of foods, including things for vegetarians. They also offer a full salad bar everyday with a variety of fruits and vegetables to put on the side. We also have a chik-fil-a, subway, and grill works on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live in the dorms, and I have no complaints. I would recommend getting a three bedroom dorm, this way you and your roommates each get your own room. This becomes very convenient when one of you has a test and needs a quiet place to study. Each dorm has its own bathroom in the room, so you don't have to haul your stuff to the shower. There is also a laundry room, media room, and study room located on the first floor, and right outside is a sand volleyball and basketball court. The dorms are very clean and pretty up to date.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on what classes you are taking, some of the classes are super easy, but others like your sciences and maths are quite a bit harder. Don't let this scare you, this university has plenty of resources to help you succeed. They have labs for each subject and you can go in there and get help on what ever it is that you are struggling on. The professors are also very willing to help you better understand if you want to make an appointment with them after class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure and go to all the free events that the school puts on. This is a very easy way to meet new people and to go out and find a club that is right for you and that will make your college experience memorable.

    In three sentences

    The is a very good school if you are a little scared about going to a big university, but yet still want the college experience. The classes are not overly packed which allows for one on one with your professors.It is also very easy to get involved with the school, since there is such a wide variety of clubs and organizations.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe here and like that I can get instant messages about safety issues at any time.

    Greek Life

    I'm in a sorority and this has been my very 1st experience. Not exactly what I thought it was going to be like, because the older girls are more catty, than helpful. I wish they were more like having a big sister but they're not. Too much into themselves. It's a shame.

    Clubs and Activities

    I play volleyball for fun wish a bunch of other people and am on an intramural team.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other schools, this is a good choice. It's a little less than the bigger schools and just as nice.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of extracurricular activities there, or you can start your own.

    Food and Dining

    The food is just ok. Gets boring after awhile and I wish there were more healthier choices or t least more of a change in the menu.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is ok, but its best to pick your roommate first!! Had bad match in the beginning of yer, but luckily was able to change.

    Academic Rigor

    If you really want to do well and excel in the classroom, then this is the place! no excuse for not being able to find help, it's there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with your advisors and take all the info they can give you. don't just guess about classes, but always refer questions about classes & decisions when it comes to your major.

    In three sentences

    So far, it's been a good experience. I like the smaller school and knowing my teachers and them knowing me. I like having the freedom and feeling safe at the same time.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a large police force, but there have been SEVERAL shootings around campus. It has made me quite nervous.

    Greek Life

    I am personally not a member of the greek system, so I cannot comment.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a large greek system, but we do not have very many clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, pre-med, chemistry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the largest bell-tower on a campus in the United States. However, that's really our only claim to fame...

    Bang for the buck

    I got the Patriot scholarship, which pays a little over half of my tuition. I also got a lot of financial aid, and got money back to buy a car.

    What to do for fun

    Tyler is a great town, and I've grown up here, so I am not sure what non-locals do for fun. However, we have a lot of museums, a mall, and several theaters.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is expensive, and there are not a lot of choices. I paid $10 last week, and my choices were hot dog, hamburger, chicken sandwich, meatloaf, salad.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms, but some of my friends do, and they say that it is such a small community that everyone really gets to know each other.

    Academic Rigor

    I was surprised at how exceptionally hard the academics really are. The classes are very world-view oriented. Go to the SI sessions. These are a wonderful resource that is included with your tuition. Not attending would be a waste of your money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think that this school is an easy way out. It is a VERY difficult school, academically. Make sure that you apply early, as the scholarships are first-come, first-serve.

    In three sentences

    I love UT Tyler. I decided at the last minute that I was going to stay home in Tyler and go here instead, and that was a really great idea. I am happy to say that I enjoy this school and that I do not regret my decision at all.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a high priority at UT Tyler. Campus police are constantly patrolling UT and making sure people are following the law. You can sign up to alerts from campus security through email or text and you will know about something right away! Security even sends out emails about staying away from wild animals that find their way to UT Tyler, and campus police gladly take care of them so students can stay safe and sound. Clearly, UT Tyler's campus safety is taken at a very high standard.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is meant for those who want to become friends with random strangers in an instant, and have connections with people you would never have dreamed of. Sororities like Delta Gamma show their pride as they host bake sales and have an organization fit for duty and fun, all at the same time. Fraternities for men like Sigma Alpha Epsilon who want to become brothers and mentors to younger generations to come and of the past are fantastic! There's never a moment when you won't have somebody there for you, looking at for your best interests and helping you out every step of the way. Greek life at UT Tyler is just absolutely amazing and you can't get much better from anywhere else.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different things you can do at UT Tyler. Some clubs that I know of are the tennis club, robotics club, math club and even a paintball club I believe! The activities here on campus are endless as UT Tyler has so much open ground for students to use. Frisbee golf, soccer, football, track, tennis, swimming, fishing and so much more are offered at UT Tyler! Never is there a reason to be out of shape or lonely at UT Tyler because everything imaginable is offered here! So come on down and lets get started!

    Great for these types of students

    UT Tyler is great for students who want to excel in their studies and have a good time while doing it. The atmosphere around UT Tyler is fresh and clean, never looking dull or boring. UT Tyler is great for the types of students who want to get involved in small groups and activities like intramural tennis or the robotics club. UT Tyler is a place where professors can turn into your mentors or act as a caring friend. If you are in need of a place where you can go and find help at any point during the day, UT Tyler is the place you need to be!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year before school starts in the fall, UT Tyler hosts a Patriots Preview Day that allows people to come and visit the college. We have orientation leaders who have been hand selected to ensure that new students enjoy their time their and learn a lot about UT Tyler. Whether it is about the lakes to fish in on campus or the frisbee golf across the campus of UT Tyler, those orientation leaders will give you exactly what you need. Here at UT Tyler we support our Patriots in everything we do with some talons up and an AHHH SWOOP!

    Bang for the buck

    UT Tyler may not be as well renowned like A&M or Baylor, but it can give you everything you need for much less than these other schools. In fact, UT Tyler has some of the best programs found in the state of Texas, like the Nursing program. It has very high standards for it's students and it's professors, at a very low cost compared to the higher colleges like Baylor. UT Tyler is on the fast track of becoming even bigger and broader as it is bringing in a new Pharmacy School in 2014! Come to UT Tyler and you will get a bigger bang for your buck than you ever imagined!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things you can do for fun at UT Tyler. They have a giant recreational center with a workout center, pool, racquetball courts, tennis courts and so much more. In fact, UT Tyler has it's own frisbee golf course set up all over campus, so you never not have something to do! Your friends and family can join up with you at any time of the day, never leaving you feeling alone at any time.

    Food and Dining

    The food court there is awesome. There are always themes when holidays are around and different stuff to eat everyday. It may not be home cooked meals but for a college campus the food is quite amazing. Can't get much better and honestly, it might even compare to home!

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in the dorms nor have I seriously looked over them but UT Tyler do have nice dorms. Whether you live locally or not, living in the dorms are a plus because you get to your classes and back with ease. Not only will you get to experience the new life of living alone you will also get the tranquility you need to study.

    Academic Rigor

    I am now a Sophomore at UT Tyler, and I can say that UT's academics definitely prove themselves worthy. Whether you are into online classes or in-class lectures, UT Tyler has it all. Cheating is not allowed but study groups are definitely recommended for those who plan to succeed. It is definitely a fun learning experience and the professors are willing to help you at any time of the day. Forget an assignment? Well let's just email the professor and explain what happened and I guarantee you they will help you out with your problem! Trust me, I speak from experience. Overall, UT Tyler's academics are very manageable and promising to secure a future that is fit for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely tour the campus before starting because it is a rather large campus. Get to know your surroundings because you will love every bit of it. Try out some new things that you've never done before; UT has so many amazing experiences to give you! If you were the shy kid in high school, forget that past and branch out into the world! No one knows or has to know you were that kid, and UT Tyler is a great place to start fresh and new! New students will have bright futures through UT Tyler in whatever they pursue there.

    In three sentences

    UT Tyler has a beautiful campus. It is such a bright and successful place to go to college at. Anyone that goes to UT Tyler will hands down, come out ready for the future that they have so long been waiting for!

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    To get involved and be proactive in something.

    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful campus in East Texas with a lot of qualified staff. The only thing is they are trying to go all online even in class settings they have a lot of online elements.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports and a nice student center with different games and flat screen TVs.

    Food and Dining

    Great food available on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Great atmosphere for learning.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging and fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Welcome to UT Tyler.

    In three sentences

    UT Tyler is an outstanding university. I enjoy studying there. The instructors are wonderful.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I am not sure about the food situation but it is college so you never know!

    Dorm Life

    I am going to be in the triple dorm and I really like how you have your own space and yet you still have roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not a student there yet but I am very excited and I have heard really great things about classes at UTTyler.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are numerous activities that one can partake while at this school. Clubs, athletics, Greek life and various other options are presented to the student as soon as they arrive on campus. There is always something to do while on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a full cafeteria for the student to eat every meal. But if a student is looking for a change in dinning he or she may visit the various fast food chains inside the university.

    Dorm Life

    There are several options for the college student here on campus. There are four different housing options that are presented to the student, each with a different aspect of how they will be living while in college.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers will challenge you here at this University. But the upside is that they are more than willing to help you pass and even make an A. You just have to show that you are interested in being a part of the classroom environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be open to do or learn new things. This campus is fun, alive, and very easy to become apart of. You just have to be open to take a step out and explore what all UTT offers.

    In three sentences

    This a fantastic University for the person that does not desire to be a part of a college experience in which he/she will be drowned in a sea of other college kids. It is a smaller campus that is easy to navigate and find your classes. It is also filled with teachers/students that care about their college experience.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus activity board always has fun activities and the gym provides for more entertainment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and the teachers are very helpful. Although it is small many interesting and fun activities take place on campus. It is a great school.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe campus, nothing to be afraid of here!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 200 clubs and activities to choose from. Can't find one you like? Make up your own!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things do to for fun depending on what you are intrested in. There are always lots of camous activities goin on.

    Food and Dining

    Not alot of fast food places to choose from but the food they cook everyday for breakfast lunch and dinner is great. Eating the food they cook instead of fast food is a great way to stay away from the freshman 15. They also have a great variety and you can always go back for seconds!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is excellent! The University has different options where you can stay but you get your moneys worth anywhere you choose to stay.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged at this University. Be prepared to do work and learn the material. If you study you will have no problem with passing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a campus visit you won't be disappointed!

    In three sentences

    The University of Texas at Tyler is an excellent school! Everything about the school is likeable. I give this school 5 stars!

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great.

    Clubs and Activities

    great rec center

    Great for these types of students

    small town kids, non party kids

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school for kids that aren't wanting to experience the party life and get caught up in the bad things in college.

    What to do for fun

    sports, working out, swim

    Food and Dining

    great.

    Dorm Life

    live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard, but compliant.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard and don't get down on yourself.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small, well ran school. I have developed alot of friendships with professors and fellow students. I have really been able to gain an education that i've always wanted to gain.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of social activities to help students get to know one another.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take ACT first. Talk with advisor for information on degree and school.

    In three sentences

    The staff and students are very friendly and helpful. The landscaping is beautiful and relaxing. The advisors made the admission process easy.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play sports, hang out with friends, go out to eat...

    Food and Dining

    Small amount of options and the food at the cafeteria isn't that good.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the people I know that lived there loved the experience.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are on top of everything and go to class there is no reason why you should not get an A or a B.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live your first year at the dorms because you will meet a lot of people and create a strong connection with the school.

    In three sentences

    It is a growing school that has a very competitive price. I believe that for the price, the quality of the education is very high. The professors are very good and most of the classes are small in size. Different from bigger schools that many times it is the grad assistant that teaches, at UT Tyler it is the official professors.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While the neighborhood is often sketchy, the campus itself is secure.

    Greek Life

    I am not a part of Greek life, but some of my friends who are a part of it love it and have made lifelong friendships there.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not an excessive amount of organizations, but enough for everyone to find their niche if they're willing to seek it out.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are content with the small town life and willing to make the effort to build friendships are going to be the happiest at Uttyler,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Uttyler does not have many traditions, being such a small and largely commuter campus. However, some of the prettiest spots are by the lake or the fountains by the art center.

    What to do for fun

    The best way to have fun is just to spend time with friends. But in order to do that, you have to stretch out and meet people.

    Food and Dining

    Have a couple of nice options like Chickfila and coffee shops. The dining hall often leaves much to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    It is small campus, but the facilities are nice. And living on campus as a freshman is one of the best was to get connected.

    Academic Rigor

    Not an overly rigorous schedule, but still challenging if you are not studious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend if you like the smaller campus life. Live in the dorm as a freshman if possible for more campus interaction. Don't be afraid to seek out new opportunities to meet people.

    In three sentences

    Uttyler is a small, beautiful college. Professors are good. Best experience found when living on campus.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love going to the gym (:

    Food and Dining

    Excellent (: we have Starbucks, Chick-Fil-A, Subway, the grill, and the Cafeteria. Great Varieties (:

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but I have friends that do and it is nice

    Academic Rigor

    UT holds there academic level to high standards, they want you to be successful

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have an 800 am class get there early because parking is a pain.

    In three sentences

    UT is a very active school. It is an open area school where you can walk and enjoy the scenery. The staff at UT is very helpful and understanding.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of campus activities, movies, pool, just hanging out with friends doing what they like to do.

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat dining, Chika Fila and Subway. Different departments cater food during the week so no one goes hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Nonexistent

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging material but it is well explained by the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get stressed out like the first day of high school. Everybody is trying to reach their goals and have fun while doing it.

    In three sentences

    It is an extraordinary learning experience. Small classes and plenty of professors willing to help the students progress and become successful in the program. It's like a family.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    49 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Tyler is a fun community!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early!

    In three sentences

    UT Tyler is a fantastic school to pursue your graduate degree. They offer complete degrees online and cater to the working professional. Staff are knowledgeable, friendly and quick to help in any way possible.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe here and there's campus police everywhere. The PD is actually across the street. I've never felt unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There's two sororities and a few more fraternities. I'm not involved but they're always doing something on and off campus from what I've seen.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for everything here.

    Great for these types of students

    Laid back, studious, active, outdoorsy

    Bang for the buck

    It's difficult to pay for school here because they don't accept many outside loans from banks here. From my personal experience it's been difficult.

    What to do for fun

    The REC center is my favorite place to do activities. There's always something going on in that building. There's also plenty of other activities going on for people to participate in around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria here is good and gets the job done. There's also chik-fil-a, subway, grilleworks and starbucks which are good too. No complaints.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but Ive heard from a few people that they're okay. The rules for the dorms are much more strict than anywhere else, but they are pretty much in the middle of campus so they're very convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm learning exactly what I need with some difficulty . But my professors are very helpful for the most part and I have no complaints as far as academics goes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The on campus living is fairly expensive compared to off-campus living. I live on campus and it's been a pricey experience so I'm looking for something off campus. Other than that everything here is great.

    In three sentences

    So far I'm really enjoying living and attending college here. Tyler isn't a huge city, but it's just the right size for me and my needs. I'm definitely glad I made the decision to attend college here!

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 51 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It used to be pretty unsafe, there was alot of break-ins and stuff like that but they beefed up the security and cleaned up alot since then. Safety is great now!

    Greek Life

    Pretty small but the groups that we do have seem pretty fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    Have various clubs but they don't really do alot of activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for more quite types. Not really great for people looking to party, or enjoy football.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Soccer team runs through the camus in speedos...

    Bang for the buck

    Food is expensive here.

    What to do for fun

    Country dance clubs, biking trails, pretty gardens, zoo, tiger wildlife reserve.

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive here and the cafeteria kinda sucks...

    Dorm Life

    have alot of fun activities but they could do a better job of keeping the place clean...

    Academic Rigor

    the classes I've has so far have been a good mix of easy and hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    A bicycle really helps people get around.

    In three sentences

    UT Tyler can be a really fun place but you have to be willing to go out and find the fun; don't just expect it to land in your lap. The classes here can be fun but the the advisors aren't very helpful. The dorm life can be super fun but try to bond with your roommates, it'll make things a whole lot easier.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus offer places where you can relax and play some video game, pool,table tennis, and air hockey. But once you have finished that there really isn't that much to do. My roommates and I would usually drive around town, find new places to eat at or go to Wal-Mart late at night.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has three main places where you can eat. Those are Chic-Fil-A, Subway, and the cafeteria. The first two are the same as any restaurant, but the cafeteria is an all you can eat buffet. They breakfast and lunch and close at eight. There is no limit to what you can eat there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice. The rooms, kitchen, and living room are all very satisfactory. The only thing that I dislike about the dorm life that it is not as social as you would have expect it. People still tend to keep to themselves and are shy.

    Academic Rigor

    The assignments the professors give to the students are fair and given at least once a week. The most I was ever assigned was twice a week but it only compromised of at most ten problems. Also the amount of papers that you will have to write will be moderately comparable with the topic you are given, so it is nothing too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should try to attend any campus activities to socialize with other students. These students could help benefit you throughout the semester by conducting study groups, or helping each other solve homework problems. Do not pass up this offer, this can be very beneficial to you in the future.

    In three sentences

    The University of Tyler has an excellent education, campus, and affordable tuition. The professors there are perfect for fist time students so that they won't get confused in the subject. This college is very unique in many ways.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school offers all sorts of activities. However, this isn't a party school. Which is good in my opinion.

    Food and Dining

    There is pretty much a Starbucks in ever building! & there is also a chickfila!

    Dorm Life

    I stay at University Pines. Not the best place to stay in. The only good thing is that the business building is right beside it. So I get to class in 3 minutes.

    Academic Rigor

    So far my classes here have been pretty easy! As long as I do my work I know that I'll pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    If majoring in CJ make sure your schedule is done early because there aren't many options for classes.

    In three sentences

    It's a very calm and collective school. The campus is beautiful!

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    We did not have any Food in Campus

    Dorm Life

    We did not have any Dorm in Campus

    Academic Rigor

    Normal Academic Rigor

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to take Dr Vin Yovanovich, try to take his classes somewhere else University of Houston or Prairie view before transferring to Utt Houston. Taking Dr Vin is a waste of Money and Time.

    In three sentences

    My review is for Ut Tyler Houston Center : We had two professors Dr Vin Yovanovich and Dr Wilson, first time teaching, UT TYler could not find any Professors for these classes, Dr Wilson got hired from the first day of class and Vin appeared 2 weeks after the class started. both have no experience, Dr Wilson is better because at least he was following the textbook, but teach almost nothing.Dr Vin is the worst of the worst, no textbook, no solution, he doesn't like to do problems on the board, nothing related to what he was teaching. Everyone in Vin class end up getting D or C, I really had a bad experience doing this program Ut tyler is offering In Houston Especially we had to take FE Exam before graduation. so I decided to transfer to University of Houston.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As long as Ive been there there has been no safety incidents, the police are friendly and they always keep you updated on any threats around campus through both email and texts.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is fairly small, there are three frats (Kappa Sig, Phi Kappa Phi, and Sigma Alpha Epsilon), and two sororities ( Delta Gamma and AKO)

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many diverse clubs and activities hosted by both housing facilities and on campus activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be in a calm, relaxing environment, but still go out from time to time should consider this place.

    Bang for the buck

    The school defiantly is worth what you pay, not only providing students with good classes and knowledgeable professors, but also plenty of career opportunities after they leave.

    What to do for fun

    There are many on campus activities to partake in, however a lot of students usually go off campus since many of them have houses, ( rent around the school is very cheap). Inter mural sports are also very big on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The college has a chick fil a, several starbucks, a subway, their own place called grill-works, and a cafeteria that serves a variety of foods that differs daily.

    Dorm Life

    There are three major places to live, one dorm and has two student living apartments, all three places have good study environments, and the staff is helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major and your teachers the academic rigor can vary, but all classes will make sure you know what is required to gain knowledge in the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn and be open to meeting new people and experiences.

    In three sentences

    The school is small enough for hands on learning, yet big enough for a student to have the college experience. It well ranked in several areas both academically and athletically, with many professors earning several accolades and rewards in their perspective fields. If a student is looking for a school that has a nice environment and a solid academic background, I would encourage them to apply here.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of clubs to join. Also, there's a gym on campus and they offer free classes (including water zumba during the summer).

    Food and Dining

    Never really experienced much dining on campus, but the Subway is pretty good. And the cafeteria isn't too bad.

    Dorm Life

    I live in University Pines and it's not the greatest place to live. It's not horrible, though. A bit of a walk to school but not such a shabby place to live. Although, the haunted house was so fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly challenging but entirely possible to get great grades with some hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can go to every class session, make sure you do. Don't skip out because you're lazy or hungover or too tired to wake up in the morning. Also, buy all of your textbooks and keep up with your reading. I'm not saying you have to read everything for each class but get to know your teachers and how they formulate tests and/or classwork.

    In three sentences

    UT Tyler has a great atmosphere for anyone looking to get a great education. The campus is quite peaceful at all times, very scenic, the buildings don't ever feel over crowded or suffocating. The teachers are actually very dependable and helpful, as long as you attend class regularly and keep up with your school work.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I would highly recommend this college to anyone that likes a smaller, more laid back scene. Several of my friends have transfered here from the bigger UT campuses.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events on campus. Off campus, Where's Rufus or Coaches and Cowboys are great hangouts

    Food and Dining

    Good choices on campus. Cafeteria, subway, chick fil a, grill, Starbucks, and a small convienience store

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great as long as you get roomates that bathe. The dorm apartments are across the street from campus and are gated for safety. Nice pools

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are not the hardest I've seen. Take every advantage of extra credit opportunities when they're given and show up to class. There will be several group projects throughout your classes... it's best that you learn how to work in a group early. Don't be the week group member.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus to allow you to easily get to your classes. Make sure to go to events and activities to meet friends. There is always plenty to do and you will have classes with some of those people. It's good to make connections.

    In three sentences

    The University of Texas at Tyler is a wonderful college that offers Greek life if that's what you're into, arts (theatre and music), sporting events, and a very diverse educational experience. The campus is beautiful with nice dorm facilities. UT Tyler is also located in what is becoming an up and coming city, Tyler, TX.

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. Campus police can be spotted at all times throughout the day. Anything that seems out of place is sure enough to be checked out by campus police asap. Even at night the campus feels safe when walking to your car or dorm.

    What to do for fun

    A bowling alley is found less than 5 minutes away from campus and is the perfect way to relieve stress and have fun for a while to get your mind occupies with other things than school work. The local mall is also found less than 10 minutes away from campus and is another great place to go with friends to de-stress.

    Food and Dining

    A variety of foods can be found on campus. Some restaurants on campus can even accommodate you on being fast enough to allow you a quick lunch or dinner before your next class. The prices are also reasonable enough for those that need to eat on campus at least once a day every day. The quality of the food is also great and menus vary to be able to accommodate everyone's eating options.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live on campus. I have had the privilege to visit friends that do live on campus. The dorms are spacious enough to accommodate a student and the options vary for everyone's different living options. The ambiance is also great and everyone living in the dorms seems nice and are helpful to one another. The employees that work there are also very nice and the flexibility for a friend or family to visit are great.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at UT Tyler is quite high. Teachers know that each student can accomplish more than they even know and they challenge everyone. Exams are given about every two weeks but within those two weeks a lot of information is given and by the time the course is over you realize that you learned more than you could have expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a campus tour to have an idea of where classes are so you don't get lost on the first day of classes. Don't be afraid to ask anyone questions! Everyone is super nice and they will be sure to help you in any way they can.

    In three sentences

    UT Tyler is a great campus with great teachers and staff. The ambiance is very lively and everyone is super nice when it comes to any help needed from admissions to financial aid to teachers. Friends are made easily and it is guaranteed to be a place where you learn and enjoy the time you spend there.