Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

The University of Texas of the Permian Basin Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who love a small campus, with small classes, where they can talk to their professor one on one without having to make an appointment two weeks in advance.

    Bang for the buck

    The majority of students here will get refunds because the cost of this college is low and the financial aid covers the cost of almost everything.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always so much to do. They have a variety of student clubs and activities. Student Life Student Senate, and Program Board make it easier for you to have fun like throwing Toga Parties, Raves, and Costume Parties.

    Am learning a lot

    The Professors have office hours and are widely and readily available. They will help you out with any problems you may have in their class. The University also has a Math and Science Center, and a STEM, and Mentor program. These programs hire tutors to help you in any subject you may have trouble in.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    working

    Tips for prospective students

    save money

    Bang for the buck

    manage money

    Will learn a lot

    ingineering

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    looking for a smalll school with good sports and great ratios of teacher to students. you get the same attention you had in highschool.

    Tips for prospective students

    get all you financial stuff taken care of as soon as you can. this will make it less stressful for you and easier for you to focus on classes and your social life.

    Bang for the buck

    it is getting pretty hectic to pay for the school. but for many others it id rrweally easy. they get their money back on many occasions because cost is so low to attend here.

    Am enjoying being here

    i enjoy being here very much it is a great environment. plenty of clubs and sports and intramurals to get involved in. this past year the school started geek life on campus with one fraternity and two sororities.

    Am learning a lot

    i am learning what i have expected to learn thus far. but there is a lot of writing and math centers that can help you out when you need it. many different things that go on throughout the day and night to help ypu out with your subjects.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never felt unsafe at UTPB. They also have these emergency boxes scattered throughout the entire campus and all you have to do is press a button an alarm goes off.

    Greek Life

    I wasn't involved in this but I had friends who were and they really enjoyed it.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of clubs on campus and I'm fairly positive you can find one that is interesting to you. If you like videogames, comic books, manga, or anime they have a club for you. If you are religious, they have a club for you. If you aren't religious, they have a club for you. If you like to volunteer, they have a club for you. UTPB, as previously stated, is very diverse. The school always have activities going on so you will always have something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who can't afford to go to college should attend here. UTPB also has a great business school!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Fall Semester the swim team gets in their swim gear (very small swim gear) and run through the entire campus. I was in the Library and they ran through and it was pretty hilarious.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is so cheap! It's almost unbelievable! This school gives you the chance to get out of school debt free.

    What to do for fun

    I went to a lot of the school events and by doing that I got to meet a lot of locals and people around the country.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and it's fairly priced.

    Dorm Life

    I lived at the dorms for one year and I had a blast! I lived with three other gals and I am still really good friends with two of them to this day. It's a great experience and the apartment type dorms UTPB offers are pretty legit. It's also easy on the gas because you can walk to school.

    Academic Rigor

    It varies depending on person and major.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have three tips fir prospective students: 1) Put your studies first! 2) Get involved, this university has a lot of clubs. 3)Have Fun!

    In three sentences

    This University is a great choice for any upcoming undergrad/graduate student. UTPB is cost-friendly, diverse in many ways, and has excellent Professors. I will add, this school isn't just interested in academics it also offers the college experience which is something, I feel, is not as important but holds importance.

  • 01/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who wish to learn and get their studies moving forward to a brighter future.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is alot of financial help out there so don't forget to look for it so that you can be one step closer to getting a degree.

    Am enjoying being here

    UTPB is a friendly learning environment. The professors are very helpful and unlike some universities, the professor have the opportunity of learning the names of their students.

    Am learning a lot

    I was looking for a school that concentrated in learning and UTPB turned out to be the school for me. The change from high school to college was great!

  • 04/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a great starter school, as well as a great school for: Locals, Transfers, Swimmers, Baseball Players, Tennis players, soccer players, people who love to be involved, etc...

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into Financial Aid, Learn good study habits, visit!!!, ask around about instructors and figure out your degree plan!

    Bang for the buck

    Decent price compared to many universities. Just depends on the instructors for your classes. Getting scholarships helps a ton!

    Am enjoying being here

    I am actually a native of Odessa and I have felt that being able to go to a university in my hometown was more relaxing! However, I recommend living on campus or in an apartment near campus instead of driving 30 minutes to get to classes! Plus it's much easier to be involved when living on/near campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned quite a bit, but sometimes feel as if I have been in the wrong classes. Many classes I have taken have had instructors that don't necessarily follow their office hours and seem to not care of their students opinions when asked for help or a question. Definitely ask around about teachers before signing up for their class! Even though I did this, I still had horrible luck 75% of the time.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the four year accreditation for less, and the junior college size classes away from home.

    Will enjoy being here

    open spaces, places to eat near campus, fully furnished dorms.

    Will learn a lot

    the student to teacher ratio is supposed to be about the same as a high school class

  • 09/13/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who prefer one on one with teachers (if they're ever there). Just make sure you pick your online teachers wisely, many of them are very bad at helping their students online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved in as much possible so you get the actual college experience. Talk to the financial aid office and most importantly your advisor! You don't want to be stuck taking classes you don't need.

    Bang for the buck

    It was an overall OK school. I feel that the smaller amount I paid is just how OK the education was I received.

    Did enjoy being here

    Apart from extracurricular activities that you have to force yourself to be involved in, there's not much to do here. There will be random events that the student board has but very little people go to the events.

    Did learn a lot

    For some reason the teachers I had, were rarely there! It was more of me teaching myself a lot but I somehow survived the time I was there.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    UTPB is great for any student. If you’re a really active student and you thrive on sports, you can find more than enough activities to keep yourself busy. If you are curious and have a passion for learning, the courses at the university will supply you with more knowledge than you can handle! If you are a student who often struggles with learning, you have many options for seeking and obtaining the help you need. Lastly, if you are a social butterfly there are many different people for you to meet and share exciting times with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the opportunities offered by the professors and the university. I have seen many people struggle with their courses because they never sought help from their professors or from any of the tutors. You really don’t want to retake any courses. Doing so lengthens the time it takes for you to graduate and you have to pay twice for a course just to get the credit you need. I would also advice you to learn the material as you go. Don’t wait until the night before an exam to study because you won’t do well. In addition, most of the professors administer cumulative finals. If you study the material as you go you will know it better and studying for the final won’t be as daunting a task.

    Bang for the buck

    While everyone dreads tuition, the benefits are well worth the cost. The professors put a considerable amount of work into figuring out how to present course material in an understandable manner. The professors are also more than willing to help students with anything they are struggling with. If the professors are unable to clarify the material, you can always visit one of the ‘tutoring’ centers on campus. The university also provides supplemental instructors for many of the courses that are offered. (Supplemental instructors are students who help other students with different courses.) This is just a short list of the many programs offered by the university to ensure the success of students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met so many amazing people at this university. The diversity in the backgrounds and experiences of these people has been enlightening. I have learned many life lessons from both students and professors. I have also found it invigorating to meet people who have a passion for what they are learning. There are also many free and exciting events held by different organizations and clubs. For example, there are movie nights, ice skating nights, bowling nights, video game contests, guest speakers, webinars, and so much more!!! It actually takes effort to have nothing to do on a week night!

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned more than I ever thought possible. Granted, it took several years and a considerable amount of hard work but it was worth it. The first thing I learned was what it really means to learn. Learning isn’t simply retaining some facts long enough to pass an exam. Instead, learning occurs when you understand why and how things happen/work. Once the professors were able to get that lesson through to me, studying became much easier and I began to figure out what subjects truly interest me. I can’t wait to see what other interesting subjects I’ll learn about!

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The proffesors are, for the most part, really good!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the work and do not get behind.

    In three sentences

    Pretty good. They could improve their technology, especially for the teaching program. Does well on most things. Could use less expenses put on tuition that I do not use.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small school, big on security there is at least two security guards on duty all the time. The local police also spend a good amount of time patrolling so you can sleep soundly at night!

    Greek Life

    Only two fraternities so is not the best choice if thats what your looking for.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school is definitely lacking in clubs, but good news is you can always start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Good for athletes, seems alot of students are here for some sort of sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing out of the ordinary.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a cheap, new school that's expected to grow so if you get in early you can enjoy all the perks of smaller schools with the benefits of larger ones.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the fun events take place on campus, plenty of sports facilities and lots of friendly people. Shouldn't have a hard time finding anything to do.

    Food and Dining

    The cooks are awesome and friendly and will make pretty much whatever you want, food taste great another plus for this school.

    Dorm Life

    Phenomenal dorms, like living in a little apartment. The dorms are half the reason i went to this school to begin with!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes dont fill up too quick, and with the number of students in classes being small teachers can better work with you as an individual.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a smaller university with a local atmosphere this is definitely worth checking out, and its only growing so hopefully it will improve soon!

    In three sentences

    A relatively small school, with an open atmosphere. Growing in numbers, improvements being made. Could have better facilities.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Officers constantly patrol the campus. I've never heard of any assault occurring on the property. Be careful though, they will give you a ticket for the most minor road infractions.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the serious student who wants to learn more. Don't come here if you want to party.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want a cheap degree and still want the college experience, this is the place to go.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game room with several different machines to play on. Two theaters are a few minutes drive from the campus. The pool is open to students for free.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but then again I'm a picky eater.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are spacious and come at a low cost considering how nice they are. There are occasional parties but nothing ever during the week or at stressful times.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is not a pushover, teachers are not going to pass you just because you've got a nice smile. However, this isn't an ivy-league either, an hour of studying a night is plenty for me. There's not much competition between the students; most are eager to form study groups.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn the layout of the Mesa building and you'll be fine. Every department wants active students so let your professors know you're willing to help them out. Go to class every day even if you missed the reading!

    In three sentences

    This is a cozy campus with little pedestrian traffic. Expect a quiet and relaxing experience if you attend this school. The weather is hot but the professors are always eager to help.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At any given moment every student has access to security pole. These poles have a panic button, if pushed a campus police officer will be there within 30 seconds or less to assist or protect the student in need.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs at UTPB that anyone can join. So many that we have to have a day dedicated for students to join and browse the multitude of clubs that the university h to offer. And if we don't have one that interests you, no problem, all you need is a professor to sponsor you and a group of people and you can start your own club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students love to play sand volleyball on our sand volleyball pit. It's a great place for students to hang put and just blow off steam from the stress of tests and papers, and just a place to get away from it all.

    Bang for the buck

    With the combined cost of living and tuition, mixed in with the financial aid and scholarship opportunities, the cost of getting a great education is more affordable than ever. Great meal plans are included into tuition that will help keep your stomach and your wallet full during the school year. You won't have to constantly worry about how you're going to pay for tuition because it is already affordable.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Council and many other student groups throw parties with free food and fun games, multiple times a month that are a blast to attend. There are also many place around the city that people have named their hangout places to study and just be with friends. There is never a dull moment when you have many places to play ping pong, or pool, and even a pool that you have access to when the weather is right.

    Food and Dining

    The Chartwells grill in the Student Activity Center has some of the best and cheapest foods that you will find. My personal favorite is their quesadillas, but they also have a wide variety of food that you can choose from. They even take orders from students and make certain foods on request, which makes it a perfect place to go when you have an appetite for a specific food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are one of the reasons that I came to UTPB. In all of the places that I have visited UTPB had the absolute nicest dorms. It is like living in your own apartment, and is the best place to go live and call your new home away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are exceptionally easy. This isn't because the curriculum is easy, which it isn't, but because the professors will go out of their way in order to make sure that you get the topic at hand built into memory. Having professors who care makes the learning process 100% better.

    Tips for prospective students

    UTPB is a school where, if you love small classrooms, meeting new people, and havin fun while learning, then this is the place for you. Find people who share similar interests and goals in mind as you do, and don't be afraid to come to teachers for help, of you do that then you will set yourself up for a successful college career.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are everywhere on campus and there are emergency phones with lights that a police officer with respond to immediately. The severe weather warning sirens are on campus as well.

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities and one fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs, some sororities & fraternities, and many intramural sports.

    Great for these types of students

    UTPB is great for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UTPB is known for a ghost - Matilda. She lives in the 6th stairwell in the Student Union.

    Bang for the buck

    The university is affordable, but it's worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    There are volleyball courts, sports facility (pool, weight room, basketball court, racquetball courts, etc...), the Student Activity Center, tennis courts. These are probably just a few of the things on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food service is delicious and affordable. There are tons of choices, and I like the variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very fun to live in, and I enjoy having a kitchen and my own room!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough, but because there is a smaller class size, the professors are always there to help you with anything you need. There is also a tutoring center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait for a long time to sign up for classes. Look for every option for paying for college although this university isn't very expensive.

    In three sentences

    UTPB is a very open, friendly campus that I don't get lost in. The professors and administrators are informative and helpful. There is a small class to teacher ratio and that allows me to get the help I need when I need it.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are now putting up cameras for our safety. They also have alerts that they test but send you a text telling you it is a monthly warning, also have campus police driving around and telephones for emergencies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to choose from and the clubs are what hold the events. They are always fun and they always have something for you, from free food to free prizes or things you can make for yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't like to be at home bored, they have the activities later on in the night that way you can still take care of what you have to. If you are a people person, everyone learns to know everyone and gets along great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Falcon nights they have little parties Friday nights with different activities to do.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of activities on campus, for different holidays or just for fun, food parties or games. They give out big prizes from big screen tvs, wiis, ipads, kindels extc. They also have little competitions at sport events and give shirts or bags out. They always have something or something every Friday to do. They have a lot of events you can attend inside or out, and have things for free.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a mini Starbucks for those who need their coffee. Their food they have meal plans or you can just buy it their breakfast, lunch, diner, which all comes with a dessert and a drink. The staff is kind and outgoing as well. you can either have what they have on the menu or ask for something to be made if they have it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great the dorms they have on campus have everything you need. All you have to worry about is your academics. They also have little competitions or little get together for everyone, to keep you entertained and social.

    Academic Rigor

    As any course if you fall behind you can have difficulty getting back up to date but if you have been trying and have communication with your instructors they will help you. This may seem like common sense stuff but you have to study for your test and if you can make study sessions. Anything to help you understand and do well try and stay on top, of turning in anything that's due.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can't find a building there are faculty that are willing to help. The school isn't that big or hard to find your way. When you come you are assigned to a advisor. they are very helpful and can always see if your on the right track, and to help you register for your classes. its simpler on yourself if you stay active in class, the more you pay attention or ask for help from the teacher the more they are willing to help you understand. Stay on top of your readings and you'll be fine.

    In three sentences

    The Permian Basin is a university that you can still have one on one with the instructors, all instructors are there to help the student succeed and because it is a small enough class with maybe 30 people. They are able to help you understand, most of the instructors go off of what you learned/ understand and go on from where they left off not always on calendar. Faculty is also as well wanting to help in anyway they can, or they will help you and send you to the right place, therefore i rate them with 4 stars.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a 24/7 Campus Police station in the main building. There are panic buttons that can be activated any where on campus. The Campus Police also patrol the campus and surrounding area 24/7. The Campus Police are also very friendly and kind.

    Greek Life

    There is a fraternity on campus. Their name escapes me but I have attended a few of their events, such as their Bachelor Auctions.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are intramural sports that have competitions and games almost every night. The clubs include a Gay-Straight Alliance, Gaming, Invisible Children, Tom's, and most religions. There is always more room for clubs and they can be started by anyone who has support from a faculty member. The student activity center also has a board that brings in activities for the students to participate, like last semester I got to rock climb and bungee jump!

    Great for these types of students

    The university started out as a business school, so if that is your interest this is the school for you. Science majors are now on high demand for the university as well as music majors. The class sizes usually range from 10-30. If there are more it is usually a largely required course.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the second floor there is a student union that used to be the Student Activity Center, it is still functional but mostly its just a ghost area.

    Bang for the buck

    UTPB's tuition is light compared to the size of the campus and the campus offers many services for students.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs on campus for that offer activities. There are clubs for religions, gaming, alternative lifestyles, and political stand points. Across the street from the campus a gaming cafe just opened up and is offering games on all consoles. There is also a mall and two movie theater nearby (about a block away from campus).

    Tips for prospective students

    The school really hasn't built up on any sports besides basketball, volleyball, and swimming. Now that we have all these new facilities the university is in need of a larger student body! Especially those interested in the new fields they just expanded on (music, science). Everything is near by and within walking distance besides the Wagner-Noel building that they offer shuttle services to.

    In three sentences

    UTPB is growing rapidly, it is accepting more and more students and has made many changes to the campus in the past two years. They have doubled the amount of dorms and have a brand new Student Activity Center that includes games rooms, a cafeteria and Starbucks, as well as a work out center and day care center. They also have a brand new science building that finished completion last year. It can support almost any science major. They also have a new building for music majors, Wagner-Noel, that also serves as a venue for world wide performers. I am proud to be a student here with all the new innovations they are making to the school.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Don't attend any of the functions.

    Food and Dining

    Very good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but from what I've seen of the dorms they are very high quality.

    Academic Rigor

    I would have to say that UTPB holds its faculty to a very high standard and therefore the academic standards are high as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    UTPB is great environment for first time students, as well as for those who are looking to further their education. The campus is very nice and the layout of the campus flows very well.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed attending the UTPB, the staff and faculty are very pleasant and well informed. The convenience of having a university locally to attend in order to further my education is great. I look forward to completing my degree here.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Police are great, and there are also buttons to press around campus in case of emergency and the police will show up.

    Greek Life

    There are 2 sororities and one fraternity. I am not involved in either, but they are very active around campus and in getting events together.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs for athletes to students with a certain major to those who like video game or barbequeing.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus size is great for students from small schools, or those who think college may be intimidating.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual location would be our model of Stone Henge. It looks amazing at night and during the Winter and Summer Solstices.

    Bang for the buck

    For the cost of attendance, UTPB is a great deal. The students are friendly and so are the professors. Everyone helps out and if you need tutoring it is easy to find.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in on campus activities or join a club. Also their are malls both in Odessa and Midland. Two movies theaters near campus are also a plus.

    Food and Dining

    The food at our Student Activities Center is good, but you can get tired of it. There are good restaurants right outside of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are apartment style and very nice. It is nice to have your own room when you have to study for an exam.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but doable. Also tutoring is available everywhere you turn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for housing early. Apply to the university early. Also make sure to fill out scholarship applications.

    In three sentences

    UTPB is a great college for students that come form large or small schools, but especially small schools. Everyone is friendly, and the courses are challenging but possible to make a good grade in. For someone who doesn't want to be intimidated by a huge campus, UTPB would be a good choice.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is fairly safe; from personal experience nothing ever happens here. Environmental Healthy & Safety does safety equipment inspections every month; making sure that the equipment are working properly and nothing is expired.

    Greek Life

    There are only one sorority and fraternity on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs (probably 50+ for the size of the university)

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who seek a more intimate and one - on - one learning style. Where one is actually classified as individual instead of a number - with professors who do actually want their students to succeed, most are understanding and very professional. The location of the university is quiet desolated - small town vibe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unfortunately there isn't any that I am aware of, sorry.

    Bang for the buck

    The rate of tuition at UTPB is extremely cheap and quiet worth it; the school offers free tuition for students whom family income is under $60,00 dollars. The facilities here are fairly new and some of the professors are big-shots; graduating from prestigious schools, who once taught at ivy leagues like Duke, Cornell, Berkeley and even Harvard. Another factor that separates these amazingly inspirational professor from other universities is that - these professors are successful and only choose to teach here because their passion for teaching. For students who complains that classes are difficult and are doing poorly is due to the fact that they are not grasping the opportunities offered at the school, they are not making an effort. The school provides free tutoring services on all subjects, so there isn't really any excuse for anyone to fail here at UTPB.

    What to do for fun

    There's isn't much to do except for the basics: movies, mall, ice skating, bowling, small local restaurants and some major chain restaurant.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plan is a rip off but the housing includes a kitchen and stove so its better to cook one's own food. Sometimes Chart-wells (the schools meal provider) have decent food - especially on holidays. The school also allows students to trade in their meals for Starbucks coffee instead.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are fairly new; new dorms are being built for the Fall of 2013. The cost of the dorms are fairly cheap - their suite like dorms, so there quite worth it. Students don't often party much around here but when they do its usually at someones private home - off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Basic courses are often fairly easy - whereas the intermediate and upper level course will be often prove to be challenging but the professors and SI's (Teacher Assistant/ Supplementary Instructors) truly care and are willing to work with the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tuition here is fairly cheap. They have an amazing Pre-Med and Engineering program.

    In three sentences

    Although not a top ranking college in the nation, UTPB is embedded with amazing, caring and inspirational professors. Here at UTPB the professors sincerely care about the well being of the student, the classes are small; students are able to have one - on - one interaction with the professor. The school offers vast majorities and all in which have amazing big shot professors who once taught at prestigious schools such as: Cornell, Duke, and Berkeley etc.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very simple walk and ride elevator or take the stairs.

    Clubs and Activities

    The activites are always going on falcon fridays and such with free game nights that sometimes offer scholarships. The student government is very active always doing something.

    Great for these types of students

    Laid back, open minded, with the desire to succeed and see the inner beauty of the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Falcon will be sure to pop up all over the campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Overall the school is cheap to come and has a great atmosphere. Coming into college i was 100 percent sure i didnt want to be here at UTPB and that has all around changed. I wouldnt take a full ride anywhere to leave.

    What to do for fun

    All sports activities are free to students. The pool is free and so it the gym. And many people take advantage of it and so you can join in a basketball game no problem and not feel like an outcast.

    Food and Dining

    This is probably worst part about the school. They do have cullionary school graduates, and they cook a variety of meals. It just isnt my cup of tea. Very bland but nice in a brand new facilities.

    Dorm Life

    This is being improved. We have about 7-10 new dorms being built for the upcoming year alone we are doubling in size. And the school just continues to put community money back into the school for improvements.

    Academic Rigor

    It is tough, but it should be we are an accredited college. The professors for the most part help understand their study. And then they test to make sure you know whats going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind, that this college could be your home. Do not be someone your not. Have fun, if you dont school will become non existent.

    In three sentences

    This school is great, we have great student to teacher ratios. And every professor cares. It is a homely environment that I cant wait to continue my career with.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security team is very active and involved in events around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't currently belong to any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Home schooled students and those from small schools will adapt well to campus life, in my opinion.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a good value!

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and organizations, sports events and things to do on campus. There is a hockey team in town, a minor league baseball team down the road and plenty of high school football. There are clubs, a mall, plenty of restaurants, movie and live theaters.

    Food and Dining

    There are not a great deal of options for food on campus, but there are plenty of places nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms. I am a local resident and able to live at my parents' home.

    Academic Rigor

    This is my first semester, but have found the classes to be challenging and enjoyable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider this school, especially if you live in the Permian Basin. Local residents have special opportunities to attend with financial aid and scholarships.

    In three sentences

    UTPB is an excellent school, small-town atmosphere, but plenty of jobs are available. The classes aren't too big and professors are easily accessible. I am having an excellent experience!

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    In some ways you get a lot for your money, like the dorm life. One thing that could be improved on campus is the REC center and UTPB gym. It's a bit smaller than most universities, but it's better than nothing.

    What to do for fun

    There is almost always something happening every week on campus to do for fun. There are competitions like flag football, and kickball. Going to support the UTPB falcons at home games or competitions are also pretty fun. The SAC also contains a Game Center, where you can hang out and play pool and ping-pong and play video games.

    Food and Dining

    The food from the SAC (student activities center) isn't always great, but there are a lot more options becoming available each year, which is nice. The SAC is a great place to hang out and get meals throughout the day, but if you are great at cooking your own meals, I would recommend that.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the UTPB dorms are probably one of the best things about the university. The housing is more apartment style and there aren't any community bathrooms. There is a kitchen and living room available and it is very spacious. Living in the dorms is highly recommended and is a great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are the most important part about college, so studying is highly encouraged. Stay in top of your schoolwork, and always make sure your work is your best work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to sign up for a sport if you can. A good tip is always to stay busy and get involved with something on campus. It is nice to not always be focusing on your studies and get out for a while and be involved with some kind of activity.

    In three sentences

    UTPB is a great school for people who like a smaller environment and low student-teacher ratio. Even though it is in Odessa, TX, There are always events happening on campus to keep you occupied. School can be tough, but it's always nice when your professor knows your name if you keep a close relationship with them.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The university is serious about the safety of its students.

    Greek Life

    Even though they don't have exclusive houses for their fraternities/sororities, they still create and participate in the ideal Greek life activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are numerous and diverse, you are sure to find what you want.

    Great for these types of students

    Gamers check out the school's Game Room with pool tables, ping pong tables, shuffle board, and video game rooms. The gym facilitates equipment and other things suitable for athletes and other heath-conscious enthusiasts. There are also several weight/work-out rooms available in other buildings on the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our school's Stonehenge is pretty neat and makes for a great photo location. We also have a cute little park ideal for picnics and feeding the ducks and geese at the ponds.

    What to do for fun

    I try to do as many on-campus activities that they have provided for us students.

    Food and Dining

    The home-cooked meals are great!

    Dorm Life

    Although the living environment is great, it comes at quite an expense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Scholarships, grants, loans- make sure you have everything set in order and ready.

    In three sentences

    I couldn't have studied at a better university than this one. The quality of living and education here is amazing and they really try to cater to the students. On a scale of 1-10, I'd give my university a 7.5.