Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

The University of Virginia's College at Wise Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are phones around campus, the parking lots are lit, and there is at least one campus police officer doing rounds at all times.

    Greek Life

    we are a strictly no hazing school. there are three sororities: phi sigma sigma, theta phi alpha, and alpha sigma tau. there are four fraternities: alpha sigma phi, kappa sigma, pi lambda phi, and pi kappa phi. they are all nationally recognized chapters. if there is a fraternity or sorority that you would like added to this list, all you have to do is ask! the greek judicial board on campus in collaboration with the greek life faculty will all be happy to assist in any way!!

    Great for these types of students

    any!

    Bang for the buck

    the mountain scenery of this school is amazing!! the summers are hot! the winters are full of snow! the falls and springs are full of changing colors and warmth with crisp cools! also, the southern twang that the locals have are pretty adorable. ;)

    What to do for fun

    because of the quaintness of the town it's in, there isn't much to do besides some small shopping areas, a 12-screens movie theater, a 20-lane bowling alley, and a 21+ year old club. within an hour and a half drive, however, there are the tri-cities with 18+ clubs, malls, amazing food, and just about anything you could want!

    Food and Dining

    the food in the cafeteria is mostly pretty good but is occasionally questionable (as is all school cafeteria food) but there are 3 separate restaurants on campus, a sub shop, a fast food place (hamburgers, chicken sandwiches, salads, chicken strips etc.), and a cafe style shop (excellent pizzas, salads, blt, club sandwiches, coffee, etc). there is also an actual cafe in the library, with hot, iced, and frozen coffees, lattes, cappuccinos, hot chocolates, teas, etc. and they also have paninis, blts, parfaits, muffins, snack cakes and that sort of thing!

    Dorm Life

    i didn't live in a dorm so i do not have much to offer in this section. many of my friends, however, moved as little as 15 minutes away from home just to live in the dorms. everyone who lives in the dorms and campus housing absolutely love it!

    Academic Rigor

    the science and english departments are top notch! that doesn't mean that the others are bad, by noooo means. the spanish section of the language department is excellent but the other languages lack a little but if you want to take it they will find a way for it to happen! the math and teaching departments are very hands-on and fun! the nursing department is one of the best in the area! if you don't see a major or minor that you like, you can literally make your own! (with guidance and approval anyways)

    Tips for prospective students

    enjoy the moment! but not too much! you don't want to procrastinate too much or to fall behind in classes! schoolwork does come first!! get involved! there are so many things to do here! the sororities and fraternities involve people who will love you for you and don't want you to conform in any way! the sports here are fantastic, too! (to play and watch!) they have the professional teams for those who are seriously interested in being on the competitive teams but there are also intermurals for random students (and professors) to form teams and meet new people by competing in just about any sport you can imagine from football to soccer to water polo to ultimate frisbee!

    In three sentences

    inclusiveness is very important to this college. there are opportunities, organizations, and clubs for literally any interest and if they don't already have one, anyone can start one. also, students are very important to the professors employed here; they will go out of their ways, beyond their calls of duty, to make sure a student is understanding, attending class, and enjoying themselves.

  • 01/24/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit and check out the campus!

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Have good friends. Join a club.

    Tips for prospective students

    watch where you park. The last thing you need on top of your other expenses is lots of parking tickets at $25 a pop! Be diligent in keeping up with your transcript and classes needed/taken for you degree.

    In three sentences

    UVA Wise is a small, quiet campus in a small country town. Tuition is affordable compared to other liberal arts universities. Arts department has grown tremendously in the last 5 years. If you don't want the hassle of a large town, this is the place to be.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student activity fees which is included with tuition helps to cover the cost of outdoor recreation events such as skydiving, rock climbing, hiking, and whitewater rafting trips. The Convocation center has concerts and other programs thought the year.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining hall and two addition places on campus to get meals. The library also has a coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    I have no personal knowledge about dorm life as I was a computer student who drive 50 miles each way to school ( 100 miles round trip).

    Academic Rigor

    Depending upon your field of study, you can expect to spend at least 1-3 hours studying or doing homework per day. The expectations to succeed are entirely up to you. this is no longer high school and most classes do not have multiple choice generic tests. You are expected to ask questions if you do not understand something and if you get behind or need help tutoring is offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is best to have an idea of what your area of interest is before you start taking classes. Try to take your general education classes first to free up your schedule for your degree requirements. If you find a teacher in your field of study that you like their teaching style, try to take as many of their classes as you need.

    In three sentences

    The college offers a variety of degree choices at a reasonable rate compared to other colleges. The class sizes allow for a more one-on-one relationship with your professors and the people are very friendly. The overall atmosphere of the campus is very welcoming and peaceful.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Southwest Virginia is a beautiful area for hiking and other outdoor activities. The area gets a lot of snow in the wintertime, making the whole campus sledding grounds. Otherwise, it's a small town.

    Food and Dining

    The options for dining are limited, and over-priced. Healthy options are scarce. However, the biggest concern regarding food and dining on campus at UVA Wise is for students with special dietary needs. Technically accommodations can be made for these student, but this is not clearly stated.

    Dorm Life

    The lack of wireless internet in the dorms is a major problem, as many classes involve a large amount of online work. Ethernet cords are incredibly inconvenient, especially considering most of the study areas do not have Ethernet ports. Many of the building are in desperate need of renovations in areas as well.

    Academic Rigor

    This really needs to be judged on a class to class basis. I have taken classes here that were easier than anything I ever took in high school, but I have also taken classes that challenged me in ways that I had never before been challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    -If you aren't from this area, learn a little bit about it. There's more to it than you think. -

    In three sentences

    UVA Wise is a small school located in the Appalachian mountains of Southwest Virginia. The area is beautiful, but some might find small town life dull. Because of it's size the professors are able to form relationships with their students and truly interested in their success.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go fishing, hiking, and other outdoor activities around campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and never let yourself get bored.

    In three sentences

    They have great teachers. There is always something to do on campus. There are plenty of places to do outdoor activities.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, sports (intramurrals), and activities that the college plans for the students who wish to participate.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. I do wish we had more variety, but with the town not being that big it is quite easy to go to one of the resturaunts/ fast food places.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in a dorm myself and this year coming will be my first experience of living in the dorms. I do have friends who live on campus and they love it.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program is highly sought after at The University of Virginia's College at Wise. It can be a little difficult to get into, but it is a great program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not panick none of the professors are out to get you.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good college to attend if you do not want the hussle and bussle of the city. It is located in a little and relatively quite town.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have been to the campus a couple of times and they are never hurting for security/policemen. It is incredibly comforting to know that they have so many just because you never know...and it is amazing to feel so safe.

    Greek Life

    They do have fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    From what I can read online, it seems there is plenty to do around UVA-Wise. They aren't lacking in the clubs and activities departments. You just have to take advantage of them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Now this, I don't know yet. I haven't actually been attending there just yet. I just got accepted here and am transferring from a community college.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that the degree you get from this college is absolutely worth it. You work hard to get it, but you end up feeling so accomplished and that speaks volumes.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do around UVA-Wise for fun. They have all kinds of different ball games and they also have some get-togethers.

    Food and Dining

    UVA-Wise not only has a cafeteria for students and faculty to purchase and eat food, but they also have other dining options as well. Overall, they have plenty of options.

    Dorm Life

    I have heard very positive things about the dorm life, but haven't personally lived there and won't due to the fact that I will be commuting.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I have heard about Wise, they really make you work hard, but in the end it is more than worth it. I feel if you really work for something, you will only appreciate it that much more.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any question simply ask. The employees are there to help you and actually want to help you.

    In three sentences

    So far, I would give UVA-Wise an excellent rating. The staff has been incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. They let you know that they are there if you need anything.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    One who needs to focus or discover yourself.

    What to do for fun

    I love cultural activities and hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food needs some work.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice plus near youer classes. Some classes are even in some dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Its very though specially science department we read a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and yourself and the people are very friendly since its a small school

    In three sentences

    Very personal environment. It has small class size. The teacher make tones of efforts to try to help students.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always available, even on weekends. There are various places where you can call the police to pick you up if you are afraid of someone following you, unlikely, or if get locked out of your car. Everyone is so friendly and willing to help. I feel very safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from! You will not be bored with your options!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classes and one-on-one attention. People who are ok with not going off campus all the time. Students who like the country side. Students who want to save money while getting a great education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    McCrayray Lawn is one of the open spaces on campus where all kinds of things go on. I have heard of weddings happening here, witnessed an igloo being built, and watched a movie on a large screen. It isn't uncommon to see students playing football or Frisbee on warm afternoons. It is also said that the campus is haunted by ghosts from when the campus was a farming plantation. Pretty cool in actuality.

    Bang for the buck

    As one of the cheapest schools for in state students you will definitely get your money's worth. The only thing to consider is if you aren't much of a Let's roam the country side kind of person, you may not enjoy it here. Things have a slower pace than in big cities because it is a small town, but still all the fun.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theatre, bowling ally, and a few shops in town. Although, having a car is pretty much a necessity if you want to get to those places because they are at least 10 minutes away. There is a tattoo/ piercing parlor walking distance from campus. Intramurals are a big thing at the college and the Student Activities Board always has something going on. There is almost always an event do attend, so you won't be bored!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is very nice, but the food can be spotty. Ron, the chef who works Mon- Thurs at the grill, is a really cool guy who makes some delicious food when you just don't want pasta. If you decide to go here, I suggest getting to the caf before the 5:15 rush. Also, Papa Joe's, Coyote Jacks, and Mondo's subs are great alternatives if you have the desire for pizza, burgers or chicken, or subs.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Commonwealth, the newest dorm on campus for freshmen, and it is pretty snazzy! The only down fall to it is that people are less social in this dorm than they are in McCrayray. The floors are carpeted and air conditioning is provided in this dorm unlike the other freshman dorm. The upper class-man dorms aren't that bad either. They have suit style dorms and some dorms which have individual kitchens, which are great for days you just want to bake brownies or avoid the caf.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes, like precalc and chem, will bum you out, but Wise is a liberal arts school so it is required. The other classes aren't that bad, honestly. As long as you do your work and try you will do great. Plus, teachers want to help and will set up appointments to see you if you request them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that on visits to colleges, such as the 360 provided for prospects at Wise, they will try to serve you the best food they have when in reality the food is mediocre. This happens at all colleges, so don't let it fool you. Also, we are getting a six story library! It is in progress right now and will be finished in 2017, at least that is what I'm hearing.

    In three sentences

    It is a very friendly campus where you will meet people who aspire to help you reach your goals. The college is small and under renovations, which is something that may bother some students. If you like close relationships with diverse people this is definitely the school for you.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Absolutely nothing

    Food and Dining

    Commuter

    Dorm Life

    Im a commuter

    Academic Rigor

    Accounting

    In three sentences

    The professors are amazing. This small town isn't so great. Great education though.

  • 07/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety of our fellow studens is always top priority here at Uva-Wise, which is why if you ever need help from campus police you can call them at any time to get help, or gt a ride or report something you think looks suspicious. You can tell how much the school cares about the students from when we had a hoax gun man incident on campus. The incident may have been a hoax but campus police along with the police force of Virginia and Tennessee made sure hat every student was safe and that the situation was controlled.

    Greek Life

    I myself am not a member of any of the Greek organizations on campus but I have many friends who are and I have been to a few of their events and they are just wonderful. Greek life at UVa-Wise has so many interesting people and the activities hey host or the things they sell for fundraising is great. One ear they were selling ground coffee to get money to go to one of their events and I just thought that was a great idea. What better way to gt fundraising then to sell good coffee to students for a decent price.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Activity Board (SAB), Gaming club, Nerds of the new age, Collegiate music educators, LGBTA, Spirit haven. Those clubs are just a few of the vast amount of diverse clubs this campus has to offer.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are outging and not afraid to have fun when its time to have fun, This place is great for people who are not so outgoing. Th campus is small and it is nice and quiet so you can enjoy the peace and quiet. Everyone here is very friendly and and kind and are more than welcome to include people they don't even know in their fun and exciting activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year around Halloween, the Dean of Students takes the new freshman on the Ghost Walk. They walk around campus around sunset and get to hear the haunted history of our great campus, some of the stories are scary and some are sad, but afterwards you get a great appreciation for the campus and its rich history

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for and sometimes a little more. There are many great classes they offer here at Uva-Wise and you have to be vigilant to find them so you can ensure you get the best education you can here. Not only are the classes great, there are also many activities that the many clubs here host that help the students escape the mundane school life and have a little fun.

    What to do for fun

    Sometimes my friends and I go out to the Mexican restaurant not that far from campus and hang out. Sometimes we go camping or go by Pound lake for a swim. When I am by myself I like to walk around campus and enjoy the scenery. A few days out of the week I like ti work out in the fitness gym the school has or go for a run in the town of Wise, Va.

    Food and Dining

    The company that runs the food on campus is pretty great. If there is something you do not like about the food then you can submit a comment card to the manager (whose office is on campus) and they can try to change how they make the food or if you want you can submit a recipe of your own to them and they will put it on the food line for the day and will give you credit for the food if it is received well the the students and faculty who enjoy it

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms on campus is pretty ok. Some buildings don't have AC and sometimes there is construction going on but hey that's life. The RA's are very helpful and try their best to help any student they can that comes to them even if they do not live on their hallway

    Academic Rigor

    You always have to do your best to get the best grade, if you slack off it will show in your grades and soon your GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask the professors or anyone on campus for that matter for help. Try to get involved with campus activities or sports or clubs, there are a good amount to look at. Do not be afraid of changing your major, I was an art major and now I am Psychology major and I am very happy with changing my major

    In three sentences

    I am truly happy I decided to go to this school. The professors and administration is very helpful and friendly. Everyone on campus wants us to succeed and fulfill our dreams