Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

The University of the Arts Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Art, Music, and Theatre lovers. People who like cities. Anyone who is outgoing and up for a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of the price tag, apply and go for financial aid. It is a great school to attend. The programs are amazing and challenging.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition may be a bit steep but you learn so many things that you can't learn anywhere else.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love University of the Arts. The teachers are incredibly helpful. I feel that U Arts is like a big extended family for me. It is also in Philadelphia which means that there is always something to do.

    Am learning a lot

    My major is photography and in high school that was the only art class that I took with the exception of crafts. At University of the Arts I am learning all different forms of art that I wouldn't be able to learn anywhere else.

  • 11/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Uarts is great for any artist! Dancers, Musical Theater, Theater, Musicians, Vocal Performers, Illustrators, Animators, Painters, Sculptors, Photography, Graphic Design, Writers, to name a few. Anyone who wants to learn about their art in a creative environment with other students truly invested in their art form.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice would be to really be dedicated to whatever you choose. There are those few students who show no care at all towards their education which they are paying money for. Uarts is such a great learning opportunity that should not be wasted. Also talk with your financial aid councilor if you need financial help. Mine helped me with getting through first semester, and they are all really helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the price may be steep, there are other art school with a much higher tuition. I'd say that that it is deffinately worth it to come here for the amount of tuition. The school's programs, the spacious dorms, the meal plan, and location of the school make it a great investment.

    Am enjoying being here

    My experience here is like nothing I could have imagined. Being a dancer here is such a great privilege. All the teachers here are so helpful and resourceful. They are currently working in their field of art and this makes them a good tool for students. There is such a mix of students from all over America and the globe. The city is a great place for art students to live and be creative. Philadelphia offers a lot of opportunities for Uarts students to show their work.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a dance major here and I am learning an exponential amount of information. For starters, we not only learn about dance but with the new curriculum this year, we are expanding our learning to contemporary artists in other media and exploring with other mediums ourselves. As for the dance academics it is very informative and helpful. I am learning so much about my body, ballet, jazz, improv, and the dance community. They also offer dance related electives such as Student Composition with allows student to choreograph. The guest speakers we have had are really engaging including the renowned choreographer/ director Jeffery Page! Uarts has a lot to offer for those willing to learn. They offer a BFA program which includes other liberal arts classes like writing or Certificates program which is only 2 years and focuses intensely on your chosen major.

  • 05/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone who wants to work in fine arts painting, illustration, graphic design, photography, film, radio, communications, dancing ( ballet, modern, tap, jazz, african, ect), musicians, composers, crafts majors, art history majors, art education majors, theater and acting majors. just about every art form is covered, but our fashion design is most likely lacking..

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for a lot of homework depending on your major... if your a CAD or a Music Student expect a lot of homework, if your a dancer expect a lot of practice sessions.

    Bang for the buck

    its still cheaper than going to MICA or PRATT... and the facilites are good. we have a full cintiq lab for animators!

    Am enjoying being here

    its an easy atmosphere to work in, its usually easy to get along well with your classmates! i transferred in from another school and didnt know anyone, but it was easy to make friends in my major and other majors too! and your free to take classes that arent your major, for example if you draw you can take a yoga or karate class!

    Am learning a lot

    Im an animation Student! an all of my teacher have experience working in the field! so most of your teachers know what they are talking about! but remember there will always be ne you disagree with but dont let it get you down!

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UArts has an alert system if anything is ever wrong. Dorms and buildings are guarded round the clock by campus security. They have a shuttle to take kids who live far away from campus home from school at night. UArts protects it's students to the best of their ability.

    Greek Life

    There is one fraternity that is apart of the theater school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of ensembles, groups and unions that a UArts Student can join.

    Great for these types of students

    UArts is best for out-going and risk taking people. Parties aren't always accessible, so they best way to have a good time is to meet people. It's also perfect for people who want something completely different than a typical high school experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mamma Mia's and Paolo's Pizzaria are key UArts Students locations. Fox and Hound on Tuesday nights is also a hot spot for UArts kids to be.

    What to do for fun

    You live in center city Philadelphia. What isn't there to do for fun? You live in the heart of the city and it's very exciting.

    Food and Dining

    The dining halls make surprisingly good food. It has a wide range of choices because the university knowns that we have a lot of vegans and vegetarians within the art school.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome. They are a great way to make new friends and really feel like a big UArts community. School spirit is at its finest in this area.

    Academic Rigor

    You get to be thrown into a bunch of classes in your major of choice. The liberal arts classes are easy, you just have to show up and turn in your work on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind and a great attitude. Prepare to learn how little you actually know and to be inspired by everyone from the drum majors to the photography majors.

    In three sentences

    UArts allows every student to explore who they truly want to be once they receive their diploma. The School of Music has exposed me to so many different styles that inspire me everyday. It sincerely is an art school and gives you the freedom to become and artist in any field you choose.

  • 10/29/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    You definitely have to like living in an urban environment if you attend UArts. It's in the middle of Philly without a typical college campus.

    Will learn a lot

    I attended the Summer Institute at UArts and loved it. I can only imagine that the BFA Musical Theatre will just as great. I know that the school has a top-ranked reputation.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security in all buildings however i would not suggest walking alone at night in the city. I know of students have gotten mugged right in front of your building. Just be careful.

    What to do for fun

    Philadelphia is a city of fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that any student can go to as long as you have an id card. The food is actually pretty good and differs everyday.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know what dorm life is like on campus. I am married and commute to school on days i have classes.

    Academic Rigor

    I find that the courseload is difficult but it can be managed just by managing your time properly and always keeping a calendar.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your time in school and work as hard as you can. Be prepared to learn from some of the best professors.

    In three sentences

    I am so happy that i am attending the University of the Arts. I love the photography program and the professors are wonderful. It is a fantastic school for all ages.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because the campus is in Center City, there is always a chance of crime, but the school does all they can to prevent it. There are guards at the door of every building, where you have to show your idea before you can enter. All guests must be signed in and if you ask, a guard will accompany you from one school building to another once it is dark.

    Greek Life

    There is currently no Greek Life at the University.

    Clubs and Activities

    Along with the more common clubs (LGBT, Writing, things like that), there are also ones like the Fencing Team. There is currently not an abundance of clubs, but you could start your own if there are none you want to join.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive here, but more than likely you will get some sort of financial aid from the school. I feel as though the price is worth it, because you are making so many connections in your field and have so many opportunities that many other students at different universities do not.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a very big party scene, so if that is what you're looking for UArts may not be the school for you. But because you are in the center of Philly, there are plenty of venues, museums, parks, historic landmarks and store for you to explore.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall Terra is far from spectacular, but the food is edible. They have a variety of foods, including vegetarian and vegan options. There are also two other smaller dining areas in other building the offer quick service food such as pizza and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are only guaranteed for incoming freshmen; once you become an upperclassman you either have to find an apartment, which is what most people do, or enter the housing lottery. The dorms are generally pretty nice. In Spruce, in our two person room, we have our own bathroom, three closets, our bedroom and a small kitchenette. The rooms also come with a mini fridge and a microwave which is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have to work once you are here. Dance majors normally go from 8AM until 6PM every night of the week. Other majors are not so tough, but there is a fair amount of work. Most of the professors want to see you become successful and will work you hard to make it happen.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security on campus is really tight so you better have your id or you screwed lol.

    Greek Life

    there are a few but they just started so its to soon to say anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    you have allot of clubs and organizations to choose from depending on your major. During Orientation is when you'll get to meet all of the club presidents and ask questions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the end of every year the dance majors have a farewell bash to say goodbye to the seniors who are graduating and at the beginning we have one to welcome new students so they can get to know the department and the dancers its allot of fun.

    What to do for fun

    the school is located in center city which is downtown Philly so there is so many things to do and history to see and so you always have a story to tell.

    Food and Dining

    We have three dining halls and really convent hours so you can miss one meal time and still not miss a meal and the Food is really Good.

    Dorm Life

    The campus is beautiful and the student are very diverse so you are bound to have a very well rounded experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The University of the Arts Has teachers Who Have A Lot of knowledge about the Field that there in and because of this you know that your getting a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, there is so much to do so you'll never get board.

    In three sentences

    I love My school! and I love Philly.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Musicians with an intense hunger to explore and expand musical horizons as well as improve greatly as a musician. Any prospective artist looking to share their expressions with the rest of the world. The artist with a vision or idea with the potential to have an impact on the majority of the world.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the city of Philadelphia. Perform and showcase your art in the real world. See shows, concerts, ensembles and performances from other majors.

    Food and Dining

    Outside of the university itself, the wonderful city of Philadelphia provides many options for dining and exploring unique and diverse cultures.

    Dorm Life

    Have not yet lived it, therefor, I have no idea.

    Academic Rigor

    UArts provides academic and intense performance standards to challenge the student and put them into real world situations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and audition early. Expect a challenge as well as a unique learning and performing environment.

    In three sentences

    The University of the Arts is a wonderful institution for those reaching a higher education in the performing and visual arts, etc. As a top choice school, UArts has a very happening jazz department and is full of high-caliber musicians to challenge any musician. The surrounding areas of UArts also provide a very rich and unique learning environment for any artist looking to express their art.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards at every building and always looking out for your safety.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a lot of clubs unfortunately, but a lot of volunteer activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for hardworking students.

    What to do for fun

    Dorm's usually have movie nights and other activities for students to get together and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Not so good right now, but they are trying to improve and once the new dining hall is finished it might be much better.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which dorm building you get, living in the dorms could be either good or bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Constantly pushing students and long classes with plenty of homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't over think about your major, take different classes then you would usually take and you might end up changing majors.

    In three sentences

    Very Informative about different art techniques and styles. Constantly pushing students to improve their art and learn about modern artists. Teachers are excellent and professional.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    EVERYTHING. There is always something going on in this school or in the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Professionalism is everything. Be prepared for it all.

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing school for students that have the passion for the arts.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security at every building. You need to show ID to get in, and all guests need to sign in and out. I feel very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Individuals who need somewhere to express themselves. Also dedicated students.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money in my opinion. I know it is a bit more expensive than other schools, but I really do think it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    We are right in Philly! There is tons to do for fun. There is Rittenhouse, a few clubs that have college nights, comedy clubs, and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall isn't that good. But the grab and goes are good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are amazing. It is like having my own apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic classes are good. But it also depends on the teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared to ask for help if you need it. The University has so many ways to keep you on track.

    In three sentences

    I love it here. I think the programs, across the board are fantastic, and the teachers are amazing. It is such an amazing school.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is very serious about their job! They check ID in every building and they are very nice people.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is plenty to do around the city, but the student activities committee makes sure that every student is at least involved in one club or at least introduced to all activities that go on year round

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a little expensive but if you workd hard they will make sure that you will be rewarded

    Food and Dining

    We just built a new dinning facility and I must say it is Excellent!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are awesome. You meet people from all over the country and world.

    Academic Rigor

    You should always want and need to study. People think that going to school in the Performance Arts is easy. It's not easy, everyday you will be taught something new and interesting! It is up to you to want to go even further to become an excellent musician.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school for becoming a better person and Musician.

    In three sentences

    This school is a school of business. Every faculty member wants you to succeed and grow in music. When you step in there as a student you leave each class everyday a better musician.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Street smarts is also a part of the education you receive at the University of the Arts (out side of a classroom). although there is security.

    Greek Life

    South street has Greek celebrations.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are Rock climbing clubs, dodgeball clubs, rights clubs, academic clubs, council clubs, women clubs, entrepreneur clubs, and many more. the best part is that if a student takes the initiative they can organize there own club club.

    Great for these types of students

    Artist! Creators! Designers!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are nice spots everywhere because The University of the Arts is downtown Philadelphia. My advise would be, Seek and ye shell find going out an exploring is how everyone find there individual locations to share with others.

    Bang for the buck

    The University of the Arts is an expensive school. Take advantage of any an every scholarship opportunity as you possibly can. Don't let money come between your dreams. Think creatively interms of your Art and finance!

    What to do for fun

    Skate, Park, River (x2), arcade, bar, clubs, jazz clubs, shop.. a lot, go out to eat, nature trails, sight seeing, the famous South street and The Gallery, museums, and Uarts shows.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but could be more available to the students. Very new meal plans system (2011).

    Dorm Life

    In love with the apartment style dorming, and my experiences have been nothing sort of amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    I am very much satisfied with my education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of everything you can fit in to a healthy schedule. Do what you love and seek out opportunities.

    In three sentences

    I think this school has a very creative environment with. The education here For Graphic Design is amazingly satisfying. Still need some development interms of meal plan, student payment services, and their registar.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Uarts offers so many clubs!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The outfest is located near Spruce residence hall. It's a festival that celebrates homosexuality.

    What to do for fun

    Philadelphia is an exciting city! Theres always fun stuff to do. Parties, museums, ballets, stage plays, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plans are very expensive at Uarts! The food does not match the price.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very big! They resemble big studio apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Although this is an Arts school academics are taken very seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take your education seriously. For an example, if you are a dance major and you like to dance then uarts isn't the place for you. Love what you do!

    In three sentences

    I love Uarts. The teachers are very nurturing and the care about your future.You are guaranteed to have a promising future after receiving such a great education from Uarts!

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends, drink, go to clubs and bars.

    Food and Dining

    Dining service is available and almost always open for students to use.

    Academic Rigor

    Great core classes and the Elective/ Liberal arts are easy going and actually interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try anything you like at UArts. Its one of the only schools with such a wide array of options for an artist to choose from.

    In three sentences

    A worthwhile University to help create a better artist. It is a great place to perfect a specific art in which you want to expand upon. Exceptional institution for bettering ones passion.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is located in what must be the safest part of Philadelphia, so it's not too bad. And there's security in every building that are available if you need them.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent. But there is Alpha Psi Omega, a theatre honor society, for any theatre major wanting to have a little taste of semi-greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's not a whole lot of activities, and usually most students don't go out for them because they don't have time.

    Great for these types of students

    Art kids. You need to be able to hang around art kids and get along with art kids because that's all you'll be seeing for the next four years. There's also a very large and strong gay community, especially in the performing arts, so if you're not for that this is not the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every major has their own set of traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    The educational value is good, but the commodities like dining and dorms are way overpriced.

    What to do for fun

    This school is all about people and their artistic crafts so there's not a whole lot of time for fun. Usually we just hang out and around Philadelphia when we have free time. This includes shopping down Walnut and South Street and going to the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

    Food and Dining

    The University of the Arts just added a new dining hall 2 years ago. But it's not too good. The selection is terrible and the food usually just sits out there and you're required to eat the 19-meal-a-week meal plan when you're living in the dorms. And the price is super expensive for that. In one word: no.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice. Most are set up like mini-apartments. But they're super expensive and you're required to enroll in the largest meal plan which adds onto the price. It's also only really available to freshman. Plus, some facilities need to be improved.

    Academic Rigor

    The school will challenge you in new ways in the area that you major in. Just because it's an art school does not mean there's less work. In fact, I believe there's more. The teachers really expect your best all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be completely in love with what you are doing, because that's what you're committing yourself to for the next four years.

    In three sentences

    The University of the Arts is a fantastic school that is all about art. They try to make a community of artists by allowing and requiring students to take classes outside their attended field. It's location also highlights it's opportunities for various different kinds of art forms.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is a lot and its hard to manage but dreams aren't easy

    What to do for fun

    Your in Center City Philadelphia. Theres so much to do around town you never get bored really.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work your tail off. The experience is totally worth it though.

    In three sentences

    University of the Arts is a dream come true. I'm getting to do what I love in a caring yet challenging setting. I highly recommend it for any artist.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't mind being exposed to only art all of the time.

    What to do for fun

    UArts is located on the nicest strip of Broad Street with thousands of things to do around the are, like shopping, eating, and lots of recreational things.

    In three sentences

    UArts seems to have a nice artistic community. I love their location right in the middle of the Avenue of the Arts.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be nervous! Everyone is super nice and accepting. Everyone fits in and support is never hard to find!

    In three sentences

    This school has a great faculty. It's easy for everyone to network and enjoy going to school. Integration into the school is simple and fun!

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are several guards at entrances to every Uarts building, including the dorms. They can even escort you between school buildings if it's late and you're uneasy about walking by yourself.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot to do being right in the middle of a great city like Philadelphia.There's a bunch of really pretty parks, a ton of places to shop, eat, see shows. There are always things going on, even a few farmers markets which is really awesome.

    Food and Dining

    The most disgusting, greasy excuse for food, really. Very limited options for people with dietary restrictions. There is often things like hair or flies found in the food. They also don't label the food very often. If you have the choice, don't waste your money on a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm I live in is awful. There are stains everywhere and the rooms are so small, you barely have enough room to walk between the beds. The maintenance people take FOREVER even for emergencies. Also, the windows are screwed shut!

    Academic Rigor

    If you're passionate and keep up with your work, the academic rigor of this school isn't very much. If you ever get behind in your work though, it's VERY difficult to catch up again and your grade suffers a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate with your teachers. It's absolutely key for success in any sort of college. The majority of the teachers are very nice and understanding if you're having trouble with something.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's the city, so you have to use common sense about where you go and how late it is. For the most part we live in a really safe area, even most times of the night, but try having at least one other person with you!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Really cool clubs like fencing, but finding the time for them will be difficult depending on your major.

    Bang for the buck

    It really depends on your department, teachers, and hard work. You can luck out out with teachers, but if you don't your work may suffer. Overall a great program if you're hardworking.

    What to do for fun

    You'll live in the city, so you can walk just about everywhere, never experiencing a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    Again, terrible food and service for a ridiculous amount of money; don't buy into it!

    Dorm Life

    Awful room-mate pairings, poor meal plan required, way to pricey. Get an apartment with some people ASAP.

    Academic Rigor

    Animation really is the hardest major at this school, be prepared to love this/your department, but suffer a serious lack of sleep.

    Tips for prospective students

    Thoroughly research teachers and their field experience, before selecting!

    In three sentences

    Although some fantastic teachers work here, the program has been altered quite a bit since my freshman year. Drawing is a necessary skill in animation and illustration, but have been removed from freshman curriculum (a poor decision).

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No shuttle anymore. The campus is basically Philly. You need to be careful, even though we are in a safer area of Philadelphia. We don't have campus police roaming around, nor do we have a true campus

    Greek Life

    Greek? Like Mythology? JK. No Greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    I can not say this any differently- If you feel like you do not fit in at high school, you will feel like you fit in at UArts. If you feel that you fit in at high school, you will not fit in at UArts. If you felt like an outcast and you want an accepting college community, come here. If not, go to a big school with a great arts program, like Tyler School of Art at Temple or somewhere similar.

    What to do for fun

    We are on Ave of the Arts. There are always shows to see, concerts to attend, and you can usually find a party on the weekend. There are lots of options if you are over 21. We don't have Frats or Sororities, and our parties are usually in random townhouses. Philly often has daytime street fairs or you can walk to Rittenhouse Square Park with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The Terra Dining Hall is a nightmare. It is hard to be healthy. There is a vegan/vegetarian section, but it is confusing and annoying. There is a salad bar but there are very few options. Breakfast is good. It is hard to be healthy, and usually they just make burgers. Students have petitioned, and there has been some improvement. Then again, the dining hall is brand new so I assume that it will improve.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very spacious. The best dorms are by far Juniper (apartment style.) Spruce has studio dorms with high ceilings and tall windows, and it feels sunny if you get a great room. Pine elevators are horrible. Everyone says that Furness is haunted. Stay in Juniper of Spruce.

    Academic Rigor

    People often underestimate art schools. However, we have ALOT of work. This school is emotionally and physically exhausting, yet very fulfilling. Some majors, such as Illustration and Musical Theater, have an immense amount of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    UArts is definitely not for everyone. There is not much variety here. It is a great school, but I often feel as if I am missing out on the college experience.

    In three sentences

    UArts is a highly artistic and inspiring community of artists in the heart of Philadelphia. We are a small school, and we are not in a typical college setting. UArts is a great fit for a true artist.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Creative types

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining the college offers isn't that great.

    In three sentences

    University of the Arts is a non-profit accredited art school that offers numerous majors. However, one of the down sides of The University of the Arts is it has inconvenient labs hours and doesn't offer 24 hour access to the University until the end of the semester. If your looking for an accredited art school in the Philadelphia area that offers majors such as film,game design, performing arts and graphic design come check out University of the Arts.

  • 10/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always parties, events, club activities, musicals, theaters, dance and music performances from the school. They are mostly free for the students. Also the school provides discounted tickets for local theaters and performances.

    Food and Dining

    I like the restaurants and servings around the school, but not recommend the dining food from school...

    Dorm Life

    The price could be quite expensive, and you are required to take the meal plan for on-campus housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a good portfolio, real easy to win scholarship.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school if you wish to major in Illustration particularly. Also, it is a good school for other majors in general as well for all kinds of arts. If you are an american, the tuition should be acceptable for you.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You're living in the city, so most of the time you're at your own risk. The school and faculty can't keep you from making stupid decisions like being out alone late at night, but they do make every effort to warn you. As long as you heed their advice and stick to the main streets with friends, you should be able to keep yourself safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not currently involved in any clubs or activities, but the school does have several student organizations that they offer. A lot of times, seniors will have shows or showcases that they are organizing for a part of their project, and students have plenty of opportunities to get involved with those as well.

    Great for these types of students

    The University of the Arts is a great school for students who love to express themselves in unique ways and have a passion for pursuing their talent.

    Bang for the buck

    It's your typical expense. It's not cheap, but it's not over-the-top.

    What to do for fun

    Well, you'll be living in the city, so there's almost always something to do. There is a lot of sight seeing that can be done in Historic Philly, as well as an abundance of fun places to shop and eat. Being at an art school, there is almost always some sort of event going on whether it be a dance showcase, musical, play, or some other kind of performance or art display. If you like the outdoors, the Schuylkill Trail is a nice little path that many people use to run or just find a bit of peace by the river. It's only about a mile away from the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't of bad quality, and they usually have some different options, but sometimes it can get a bit repetitive. The dining staff are all extremely friendly and kind though.

    Dorm Life

    This depends on what you make of it. The dorms themselves are very nice, and they each have their own bathroom and some sort of kitchen area. Living in the dorms, though, you can't expect to have peace and quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on your field of study. You most likely will not have a lot of typical classes, and a lot of your grades are talent and effort based as opposed to having written exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to this school with an open mind and know where you stand. If you made it into the school, that means you have something that the faculty feels that they can nurture. Getting in doesn't mean you're already perfect, it means you have great potential. Never give anything less than your all.

    In three sentences

    The University of the Arts offers degrees in a wide range of art forms. The school maintains a very open environment and is accepting of all people. Students have the amazing opportunity to work with real professionals in their field of study.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    STAY WITH A BUDDY AT NIGHT

    Clubs and Activities

    SALSA CLUB

    Bang for the buck

    Freshman don't get the FRESHMAN 15. Stay away from drugs. Go to a Uarts party experience it. Get used to walking everywhere. Friends are key.

    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun invest in a tv and netflix. As long as you have those you are entertained. Go see a show either a professional show or a school performance. Did my mention all school performances are free!!!!!!!! Always wear your ID badge that is your VIP card into anywhere.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty gourmet most of the time. You can never be hungry food is always there. Buy your own food sometimes but use the dining hall to save money. Lunch and breakfast are the bedtimes to eat in there. Late night when your hungry hit up Mangia the late night dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the best. Be sure you room with someone you trust. Always be clean. If you get paired with someone you don't like make compromises. Stick to the roommate agreements.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are just as important as your major. Show up to class. Study hard. Get a tutor no one will criticize you if you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and live it up. Be responsible because mom and dad aren't there with you now School comes first before anything you are wasting your parents money if you aren't focused. Make friends everyone is friendly, and always walk with someone at night time.

    In three sentences

    The school is very community based. The school is very prestigious and you are around so many great artist. The school is welcoming and everyone is a family.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is located in Center City, not North or South Philadelphia, so it is pretty safe.

    Great for these types of students

    People who love art.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The un-official mascot is a unicorn.

    Bang for the buck

    The dorms and meal plan might be costly, but education wise it is pretty good, especially if you are learning foundations. The teachers really engage the students to stretch their creativity.

    What to do for fun

    It is center city, you can explore around Philadelphia and go to a variety of different shops and restaurants. I suggest you to Yelp it or Google it.

    Food and Dining

    The food was good for the first month, but gets really repetitive and gets really boring. But food is food, and it is better than nothing. I suggest you to not get a meal plan, simply because the food tastes really plain.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at this university is quite bad. If you are near the campus, I suggest you to commute, since the dorms are pretty expensive to live at. If you dorm at this university they require you to get the platinum meal plan, which are 19 swipes per week with no roll-overs. It is quite expensive as well, so I suggest you not to dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically they challenge you to stretch beyond your comfort zone, which is amazing because you get to learn more about you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a strong passion when you go into this school, without it, you will surely burn out and want to give up. The workload depends on the teacher, but usually it is fair.

    In three sentences

    They have changed the curriculum for this year (2013-2014). Most of the work is foundation, and really stretching your creativity in the arts. You get to explore different mediums and learn new techniques.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's the city so obviously you should always be smart and safe. Don't walk alone in the middle of the night. Yes there will be homeless people outside. It's the city. There are bad things that happen but that's just life. We alert and be aware and you should be fine. (Not bad to carry mace with you just in case though)

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm personally not very involved in clubs and activities around campus but there are organizations you can join, work study jobs, volunteer opportunities and the ability to create your own club if you feel daring!

    Great for these types of students

    People who love art, whether it be dance, visual, performing, music, writing, teaching. If you are passionate and want to make a career out of something you love, in an amazing city that is thriving in the art community, this school might just be for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Jeans! Local breakfast food place right around the corner on Walnut street. Cheap but delicious food!

    Bang for the buck

    Art school is going to be expensive. There's no other way around it. You will spend money while you are here. But I think as long as you work hard, you'll get your money's worth. You have at your disposal for 4 years the facilities, the faculty and the community to bounce ideas off of, do projects, study abroad and meet people you would never get to meet in any other sort of situation. You make your college experience what it is. As a photo major there is the darkroom your freshman and sophomore year. So buying film, paper. Then you get into digital so cameras, lighting. Obviously we have equipment that is available to students, printer and several computers. But it is also important to invest in your own equipment, since this is something you will be doing once these facilities won't be at your disposal.

    What to do for fun

    First Friday! Hanging out with friends. Ice skating, bowling, movies. Art museums. Center City, Old City, South Philly, West Philly, University City. The Flower Show. The Kimmel Center. UArts has some events they offer, free food, games and such.

    Food and Dining

    I was a sophomore when they implemented the dining hall services at UArts. To be honest I am not a big fan of their dining experience. I personally enjoy food shopping in the city, making my own food and eating at local eateries around the city.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the Spruce dorms my freshman year and it was nice being new to the city and not knowing anyone. But after a year I was ready to be living on my own, and not having an RA and all these rules.

    Academic Rigor

    You will definitely be busy while attending this school. Although classes and academics aren't your atypical Liberal Arts college experience, it costs money and you must work hard and efficiently to get not only your creative projects done but your liberal arts classes as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research. Come to the school and visit, take a tour of our campus. Go to portfolio reviews, auditions, interviews etc. Ask questions from alumni, current students and faculty. UArts isn't for everyone so you should make sure before you decide to attend. I majored in Photography so my experience will be different from someone who wants to come here for Acting, Dance or Writing for Film & Television. I can say that the photo department is this tight knit group of part time and full time teachers who are all successful, well known working artists in the field that cover a wide spectrum of all sorts of careers. You spend your years here working in traditional processes, learning 35mm, medium format and large format cameras. You learn lighting techniques, printing digitally, editing, and hanging for galleries and shows. You meet artists through lectures and get internships.

    In three sentences

    An up and coming city experience where you are immersed with students and faculty that know their craft and encourage you to find your own voice and artistic style. The University of the Arts gives artists the opportunity to expand, grow and challenge themselves academically and creatively in an urban setting.