Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Thiel College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Thiel College is great for students who need and want hands on experience, personal and helpful hints, and community interaction. Here is where one can ask any one on campus a question, answers are always provided, and students are never left astray. Being lost or confused is not an issue because at Thiel College everyone cares about you!

    Tips for prospective students

    A few helpful tips from my encounter with school are: be smart, take advice, study hard, and always be prepared. Anything can happen in the real world (and yes college is the real world); however, the opportunity is completely yours. A student cannot be discouraged because of tuition or one bad grade or even a few bad grades. There are many obstacles involved pertaining to college and yes the road gets rocky. The key is to be patient, remain focused, and always have a goal.

    Bang for the buck

    I must say that tuition is always a huge importance in choosing a school. As well if the school has an expensive tuition rate, that does not necessarily imply how good of a school it is. But with a tuition of about $30,000 a year at Thiel College, my first year has been worth every penny of it. I didn't know how I would pay for school, but that was beyond my control. I can honestly say that my education is well worth the buck!

    Am enjoying being here

    Although Thiel is a small college and the campus is not entirely huge, my experience here has been great! I love the small, community feel of the school and how interactive the students are. The help here from staff members is great and very effective.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much being at Thiel College. I've learned that being far from home isn't so bad; making good friends helps a lot; studying hard pays off; as well the first year is always rough!

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who enjoy the smaller classes where they can really get to know their professors and peers. Thiel is a great school for students who are willing to work hard for the grades they earn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set your goals high and make sure to go to your professors' office hours whenever you can. Getting extra help will make the learning experience better for you and the teacher because they will see that you're making the extra effort to come meet with them after class. Plus, it definitely bumps up your grades!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very expensive, but the education that I've received from Thiel makes it worth it. The professors are great, and so are most of the students. The overall environment is good. The library is an excellent source for academic help, and every professor has flexible office hours.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is just a call away if you lock your keys in your car, get a flat tire, or need a ride someone quickly. But, they also take care of problems students may have concernng their safety on campus. They are always out patrolling campus making sure all is well at all hours of the day so you can feel safe no matter what!

    Greek Life

    Thiel offers four sororities and fraternities, which all have great philanthropies. The groups are always doing some type of activity to help raise money for their cause.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different types of clubs and organizatins offered here on campus. There are church-affiliated groups, Habitat for Humanity, Circle K which is a service group, there is book club and academic clubs. Thiel even offers an outdoorsmans club! There are so many opportunities to help you get involved!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Thiel College is an extremely old college set inside the very old city of Greenville. It's age and history can be seen throughout all the surrounding houses and buidlings. The architecture is beautiful and different.

    Bang for the buck

    The Liberal Arts edcuation you receive from Thiel is definitely going to get you ahead of fellow competitors when applying for a job. That, and all the opportunities for netwoking you have.

    What to do for fun

    What isn't there to do?! Thiel offers country line dancing and salsa lessons for those with a spirit for dancing, various health activities such as step aerobics and free zumba classes multiple times during the week, and the campus-wide favorite Wings N' Sings which is free wings and karaoke once a month. Joining various clubs and/or fraternities and sororities is also a way to keep yourself busy on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Thiel is located in the center of Greenville, Pennsylvania which makes it easy to get to local restaurants and fast-food places when you get tired of the same boring routine of class and eating. However, on campus Thiel has two options: eating at The Rotunda Bistro or down in the Galleria. The Bistro offers various types of food from soups and wraps to pizzas and starbucks coffee. The galleria is your typical cafeteria setting. Either place is a great atmosphere to dine in and you will love the food from both options.

    Dorm Life

    Although I am only a second-semester freshman at Thiel College, I would have to say that I am so glad I chose to live on campus. The dorm life is truly a great experience for first-years and just in general. Living in a dorm helped me form more frienships here than if I had simply commuted to Thiel. Thiel's resident assistants in each building put on multiple activities during the month to help the dorm halls bond and become a tiny family within Thiel's boundaries.

    Academic Rigor

    Thiel makes it very difficult for their students to NOT succeed. Whether you fall behind in a class or would like a tutor to make sure you pass yor class with your desired grade, Thiel is all about setting you up with the right people to get things done. Various study groups are also set up weekly to help students further succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you look at Thiel earlier on in your high school years, make sure you keep your grades as high as posisble; the better your grades the more merit scholasrhip award you receieve. Trust me, the more help you can receive the better. Remember, apply to as many scholarship contests and forms you can!

    In three sentences

    Thiel College is the perfect place to be if you are looking fo a great education in a small, welcoming atmosphere. With activities put on every weekend, there is alwasy something for students to do when they want to break away from the studying and hardwork they endure duing the school week. Thiel may be a little bit more pricey than other colleges, but being a Thiel student is one of the best experiences I have had in my life so far, and I do not regret attending here for one second.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a fully authorized staff of trained officers, and, in general, it is a peaceful, calm place to be.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students used to a small town life, but for those looking for a hardcore party school with an active nightlife Thiel probably wouldn't be a good fit. Academically, Thiel offers a variety of majors with knowledgeable professors, but the variety of classes is limited.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, Thiel College is a great small campus school. It consists of a small student body, which make for a very close knit community atmosphere. Despite its small size, the college does try to provide as many opportunities for students as possible.

    What to do for fun

    On-campus there are monthly Wings 'n' Sings, which is a night of free wings and karaoke, the college also hosts many different clubs and activities. There are other special events such as holiday-themed events, the annual Black and White Affair, International Food events, and annual trips and concerts. Of course, one cannot forget all of the various sporting events. Off-campus there are bowling alleys, a Walmart, Family Video, and some local shops in Greenville, but a trip to Sharon/Hermitage (about 20 minute drive) will take you to a movie theatre or small shopping mall. The school is also only about 15 minutes from Pymatuning State Park.

    Food and Dining

    For special events and guest visits the food is often fabulous, but the meals for everyday students tend to be lackluster. The same foods are repeatedly served in the cafeteria, and most of them are not very tasty. The Bistro does have a bit better food, but is somewhat pricey. Healthy options are also harder to come by at Thiel.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived on campus, but have had friends and a sister who have. The quality of dorm life is pretty good. All of the RAs and RDs seem reasonable and helpful. Most of the dorms, however, could use some updates and remodeling. Plus, wireless Internet is still not available in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I think it's hard to give one singular rating, since every professor has different standards. Overall, I think that Thiel has a fairly strong curriculum, so be prepared to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to find your own entertainment as Greenville doesn't have much to do. Students will find themselves having many classes with the same professors and students, so strive to make a good first impression. Don't be afraid to ask for help, most of the professors and staff are very willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    Thiel College is a fantastic small school with a staff that really takes time to care about their students. It's a beautiful campus, and the school strives to create many fun events for students to participate in.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety at Thiel is always available when you need them no matter when you call. They are very nice and always willing to help you out. Public Safety definitely makes the campus a very safe environment.

    Greek Life

    There are 4 sororities and 4 fraternities on campus and many students at Thiel are involved in Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Thiel has any club you want just name it! If Thiel doesn't have the club you are looking for starting your own club is super easy and encouraged at Thiel! There are many clubs dealing with volunteering, athletics, Christian outreach, freshman orientation, school spirit, the arts, and specification to majors.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like the small school environment, Thiel is definitely perfect for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brother Martins Walk....This is a walk way on campus lined with trees from different graduating classes. It is believed that if you walk down the path with your boyfriend or girlfriend and kiss at the end under the Thiel arch you are bound to be married!

    What to do for fun

    Thiel does an outstanding job always trying to have something to do on campus for the students, because the town of Greenville is small. Recent movies that are out of theaters but not yet on dvd are shown in Bly Hall every Wednesday and Sunday night. Wings n Sings happens once a month which is one of the biggest hits on campus. Wings and karaoke are a big hit among college students. Another favorite is grocery bingo which also takes place once a month and is playing bingo to win a huge laundry basket of drinks and snacks. The are also many concerts, dances, trips to big cities, athletic events, plays, and much more. The best part of it is that all of the events hosted by Thiel are free to the students. Fun stuff to do in the community would be bowling, going to the coffee shop downtown, going to the park, or heading over to the Grove City Outlet Mall!

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on campus our galleria (cafeteria) and the bistro. There is something there for everyone to eat!

    Dorm Life

    Little by little Thiel is renovating the different dorms. I always loved how everyone always leaves their doors open so you would always be chatting or hanging out with the other people in your dorm. You meet so many people living in the dorms and it creates great friendships. Living in a dorm is one of the best possible experiences you can have at college.

    Academic Rigor

    Thiel's focus on academics is very strong. The professors are wonderful and always are available when you need help. Thiel wants to see you succeed so there is lots of help all around campus with any class that you need help in. It is also very easy to double or even triple major and have many minors.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is what you make of it! It's all about you and your attitude! College will be the best four years of your life if you get involved on campus and in the community! Also, always put your studies first. Your friends can wait for you. After all, you are at college to learn and get a degree, always remember that!

    In three sentences

    Once you attend Thiel College you become apart of the Thiel Family. Everyone at Thiel makes you feel at home whether it is the admissions, professors, staff, community, or other students. Everyone supports the students by helping them not only in the classroom, but also supporting them with what they do outside of the classroom!

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life dominates Thiels campus. A good majority of Student Government positions are held by members of Greek Life, and many other leadership positions in almost all clubs are held by greek members. Thiels greek life is very active, holding a formal recruitment in the fall and informal in the spring. Each womens group has 45 girls, and the mens groups vary. They do a lot for philanthropy, with Kappa Sigmas annual 72 hour see saw over homecoming weekend (Don't miss it!) to Chi Omega's Jail A Thon in the spring. There are four national sororities and three national fraternities and one local fraternity on campus. Joining Greek Life at Thiel is a great decision.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many options for clubs to join on campus. We have things ranging from Art Club, Choir and The Thiel Players for the artsy types, to outdoors club and shooting club for adventurous folks, to business, honorary, and major fraternities and clubs. There is a Circle K for community service oriented students, Women Inspiring the Next Generation, Organization of Black Collegians, Lutheran Student Movement, The Alliance, a paranormal investigative group, and many more. There is really something for everyone on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    - Coming from a small town or high school and hoping for the same atmosphere. - Family oriented - Religious - Dislikes big city buzz - Enjoys being in the middle of nowhere - Doesn't mind snow - we are in the snowbelt after all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Thiel's annual Winter Weekend celebrates the opening of the dome around the football field. AVI serves dinner down at the dome and every student gets a free tee shirt. They have bounce houses, volleyball, and hot tubs. This is also before the annual Black and White Ball, a massive event where the alumni return, everyone gets dressed up and drinks, and dances the night away.

    Bang for the buck

    Though it is very expensive, I think it is worth it. Everyone on campus is very friendly, and you get the feeling that you aren't just a student, they really care about you. There is a 1 to 12 faculty student ratio, and that makes it great for out of class help. Also, despite being small, there is an activity on campus for everyone, including religious clubs, shooting clubs, writing and arts clubs, greek life, and intramurals. Thiel's sponsored activities are amazing too. And every class is allowed on field trip per semester, so in my first year I went bowling and to the Cleveland Art Museum, both paid for by Thiel. I know in the future I will go to the Zoo, again to the museum, and on many more trips.

    What to do for fun

    The town of Greenville is tiny, with not much to do. One of Greenvilles best kept secrets is Fresh Grounds Coffee House, a small coffee house on Main Street. They are ran by volunteers and all profits go toward Christian ministry. Their prices are very cheap, and on Saturdays they usually have a live band. Not too many Thiel kids go there, and its a great place to hang out. For those looking for more lively activity, there is usually always something going on at the frat houses - drinking, music, dancing. There are usually two big parties a month. I've attended a Naughty office party, Anything but clothes party, paint party, America party, and Halloween party. These can get broken up by public safety and underages handed out so beware. Also, Thiel sponsors many activities, including Wings and Sings, Grocery Bingo, the annual Black and White Ball, special dinners around holidays, trips to NYC and Pittsburgh, and much more. All these things are free. Also, Pymatuming lake isn't far for the outdoorsy type. And nearby Riverside park has 1 mile of trail through the woods for biking, hiking, and wandering. The outdoors club at Thiel is also installing their own trails behind campus, with one entrance behind the freshman dorm Hodge. Finally, clubs and sporting events keep everyone on campus busy. The clubs will have trips, activities, and meetings. Sports always draw a crowd to cheer on the Tomcats to victory and are usually always fun to watch.

    Food and Dining

    The food services offered on campus are from AVI. Every student, no matter living in dorm, apartment, or townhouse, is required to have a meal package. Each meal package costs the same. You can either get 16 swipes into the cafeteria a week and no bistro points, 14 swipes and $150 bistro points, 11 swipes and $300 bistro points, or 7 swipes and $450 bistro points. The swipes admit you to the cafeteria which every day has a salad bar, sandwich station, two types of soup, cereal and milk, pizza, pasta, dessert bar with soft serve, and an entree station that changes daily. There are also soda fountains, and fresh fruit seasonally. The food isn't terrible, but they serve the same seven things over and over again. They claim to be vegetarian friendly but their vegetarian options are lacking in nutrition. The bistro is overpriced and very unhealthy but delicious and great when you are in a hurry and cannot waste time swiping into the cafeteria. The bistro points can also be used in the vending machines in the academic center, where almost all classes are located.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms need some renovations and updates but overall aren't bad. Each dorm has a printer, TV, vending machine, and wifi in the lobby's. The dorms are double occupancy, and are decent sized - bigger than some other campuses. Most dorm rooms come with a closet or wardrobe, dresser, bed, desk, and desk chair as well as blackout blinds on the windows. None of the buildings have air conditioning, but if you need one you can get a doctors note for one, usually for those with asthma. Beds aren't that comfortable, bring a mattress pad. The freshman dorms are all located surrounding the freshman quad and up campus located close to classrooms and dining services. Upperclassmen live across the street down campus. Up campus is completely alcohol free, zero tolerance. Down campus you can apply for 21+ status in your room to have it. The bathrooms aren't bad either. The freshman dorms Hodge, Florence West, and Sawhill have undergone some renovations of varying degrees. Hodge is completely rennovated and $800 more expensive. Flo West got new furniture for fall of 2013. Sawhill's bathrooms were updated and new lighting put in the hallways making them bright and nice to navigate. Upperclassmen dorms are Bane and Stewart. Upperclassmen also have the options to move into 5 person townhouses, or apartments, though these are quickly filled by super seniors then seniors, and very rarely reach sophomores.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are super tough and some are total slack off classes. This depends on your major and your professor. A Dr. Hall class will have you sweating all semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in open minded. Though the college and surrounding town is small, there is a lot of fun to be had. Between fraternity parties, school sponsored events, and shopping in Hermitage there is a lot of fun. Pymatuming lake isn't too far either, and i love going down there for a day of swimming and sand with my friends. The school sponsors grocery bingo, weekend trips to NYC, and trips to Pittsburgh to shop all the time. They're free, so take advantage. They also sponsor Wings and Sings, free wings and karaoke in our bistro. Greek life is great, and it seems that those in greek life know each other and those that aren't are friends, there isn't too much mixing except with sports and activities. Greek life dominates leadership positions on campus.

    In three sentences

    Being at Thiel isn't like being at college, it's like being at home! With such a small campus, the student's aren't just acquaintances, they are family. You receive the one on one attention, care, and support you will need.

  • 06/22/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All!

    Tips for prospective students

    GET INVOLVED. Honestly, you will not get nearly all that you should out of Thiel if you aren't involved on campus. There are tons of clubs to join, as well as greek life and sports teams, and if you don't find something that suites you, make it. In the four years I attended Thiel, I saw multiple clubs originate and thrive, all thanks to students with a drive. DO YOUR HOMEWORK. It's the reason you are going to college, so actually get your education in. DON'T GO HOME every weekend. Yes, your parents will miss you; yes, you will miss your friends from home, but you will never get out of high school mode if you are constantly away from your college. Experience it.

    Bang for the buck

    Is Thiel expensive? Yes. Tuition will continue to rise especially in our declining economy, but their financial aide will work with you to try and find you student loans. Also, Thiel has a lot of great scholarships like merit and leadership scholarships and the Thiel Top 5 award which is given to students who graduate high school in the top 5% of their class. Your experience and education is worth every penny of tuition.

    Did enjoy being here

    Every second of it. There is so much to do at Thiel and your experience is what you make it. I got involved in Greek Life my freshman year and that helped me not only grow as a person, but also develop professional skills I never would've attained elsewhere. It isn't a large campus or in a big city, but Thiel definitely makes it's students get creative. Another plus is the Thiel Activities Board which is a group of students and an Advisor that plans events that happen on campus, from a Flo Rida concert to trips to New York City and Chicago to kareoke and wings in the bistro.

    Did learn a lot

    Wow, my education at Thiel is something I consider priceless. I would be flat-out lying if I said that every teacher is amazing, butt there are also some of the best. Professor Miller has been at Thiel for over 40 years and is still one of the best teachers they have. I was able to graduate in four years with three degrees: Business Administration, Accounting, and English: Writing. I feel this is not only a personal accomplishment, but also a nod to the professors who taught me all I know in my majors. You are also able to develop personal relationships with the professors at Thiel because of how small the classes are. This really helps when it comes time for recommendation letters or even help in your personal life.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It has been said that if you walk on Brother Martin's walk with someone and you kiss them, you and your partner will potiential get married.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though Thiel College is located in a small town, all the on campus activies make up for the lack of off campus activitie.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. There are formal events, plays, art shows athletic games, and concerts to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very healthy. AVI Food Service offers veggie meals as well as hardy meals.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is funny, especially for freshman. As a freshman you have the able to live closer to your classes. I only takes five minutes to walk to class when you live up-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Prospective students have to learn how to balance socail and academic life. There are a lot activities on campus so prioritizing is a must.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always communicate with your Professors. Study and re-read your material before and after classes. Do not hesitate to ask question because your professors are always there to help you.

    In three sentences

    Thiel College is a great place for students who wanted to build a personal bond with professors. The faculty really cares about the students. Its easy to make friends and join organiztions on campus.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is always around and it is easy to call them if you ever need something.

    Greek Life

    There are four sororities on campus: Sigma Kappa, Alpha Xi Delta, Zeta Tau Alpha, and Chi Omega. There are also four fraternities: Sigma Phi Epsilon, Delta Sigma Phi, Kappa Sigma, and Phi Theta Phi.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is honestly just about any club you can imagine.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing people and people who genuinely want to learn. In order to enjoy Thiel, you have to be someone who can make friends easily, because since it is a small campus, it is imperative to be able to get along with anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have winter weekend when they set up an ice-skating rink, two haunted houses Halloween weekend, Farewell Festival at the end of each year... the President does a good job at making sure there is always something fun to do on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something happening on campus. But since everyone is so close, the fun lies on campus. At frats and sororities, the townhouses and apartments, there is always something going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study!! It is a hard school, but you really learn a lot. And also make connections with other students. It's easy to make friends and be included if you make an effort.

    In three sentences

    Thiel College is one of the few schools that actually cares about their students. The faculty is genuinely there to help and the student body is very close. It's like a home away from home, where everyone knows everyone and everyone cares about you.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always around and the campus is so small and pretty open that you can see everything around you.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join as many as you can! They help you make friends that are interested in the same stuff as you plus they are really fun.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out w/ other people at there and go to the events that the school provides, those were really fun. Play sports or join a club! I played soccer an I met a lot of people that way plus it's fun. Even going to a sports game is fun especially when you go as a super fan.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is small. There aren't too many good food places around either, but the school does take suggestions from the students and hold small events and special dinners where we can eat some really good food.

    Dorm Life

    It more fun to live in the dorms rather than commute, you get to be more involved on campus that way.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't impossible, you just have to plan out the right amount of time to do the assignments and don't fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in as many activities as you can because they make them fun and keep in mind that this is a good school if you are looking for a small campus.

    In three sentences

    Thiel College is nice and small. I really like the individual attention that each student is able to have with their professor. Lastly I like the amount of activities that I'm able to participate in.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Student safety is the number one priority here. The campus police are very nice, kind, loving people. They care about your safety at all times. Even if you are not here at Thiel, and you have a problem, they will do their best to assist you in whatever ways they can.

    Greek Life

    Greek life here is very important. After your first year here, you will be moved into a Fraternity or Sorority house. Being in one of them gives you instant friends, and your brothers or sisters will share much insight to things you may have never learned about.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are endless clubs and activities. There are things from Thiel's new marching band, to tennis, or soccer. No matter what the club or activity is, Thiel college will support you %100.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to be challenged with your college experience, then Thiel is a good place to choose. There are many advanced placement classes, that can challenge you. If it all becomes too challenging, there are people everywhere, standing by to assist you in whatever ways they can.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only unusual thing that I have noticed, is that everyone here is treated as one big family. It is a nice change, any all the professors, staff, and security members care about you, your well-being, and you safety.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things you can do for fun at Thiel. There are so many sports, clubs, and job opportunities to choose from, you will have your hands full in less than a month!

    Food and Dining

    The food here at Thiel is great, and there are many opportunities for different dining experiences. We have the Bistro here, which is an alternative eating choice to what is in the cafeteria. The cafeteria, usually has the same things. While the bistro does as well, it is a nice change from cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms here are very nice. There is not air conditioning, however if you have a window fan, it suits just as well. The cold air at night, can cool down any room, in 20 short minutes.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are very important. Like previously stated, the professors here want everyone to be successful. They know you want to be done with school as quickly as possible, so that you can get your career started, and they help you out with that every step of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Thiel is a great school. The teachers here do want you to succeed; every single one of you. If there is an assignment, and it doesn't quite apply to you, they are usually quite lenient, and will do whatever they can to help you out.

    In three sentences

    Thiel is an amazing school for many reasons. The student to teacher ratio is 13:1, so the teachers really get to know you here. Also, there are many study groups, and people who want you to succeed; therefore, asking for help is never a bad thing.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Thiel College offers a wide variety of extracurricular activities such as: band, intramural sports, club sports, clubs, Greek life, and so on. Also, Thiel settings allows for students to go to the near by parks, ponds, and as well as the many sports areas on campus; such as the beach volleyball courts, basketball courts, and open fields.

    Food and Dining

    My favorite part of about Thiel College is the all you can eat buffet offered here. Being someone that did not always have enough food in the household for three meals, the all you can eat buffet allows me to finally eat at least three meals a day, as well as the food being phenomenal. Aside from the food, the service here at Thiel College is the utmost welcoming. I have never made such a connection with food service workers in my life. I love them all if they were my own personal friends and they have become to be over the past year.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is easily the best part about being a college student. Moreover, here at Thiel College dorm life has made me realize that not only am I a Medicinal Chemistry major, but also a Sociology major. Being apart of a dorm you get to know everyone and everything about other roommates, as well as life lessons from other cultures of life.

    Academic Rigor

    Thiel College offers a wide variety of majors and minors for students interested in all aspects of life. As well as being a Liberal Arts school, it allows students who are undecided in their aspirations of life to figure out what their interest are while taking the mandatory courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Thiel College is a great setting for students, where they can get to know their professors and faculty and are not just another payment to the college.

    In three sentences

    Thiel College is a place where big city kids can go and feel wanted in a small setting. A place where students can get to know their faculty members and classmates closely, and feel apart of a family. Thiel College, a place where some can call home.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Very popular and organized

    What to do for fun

    Local restaurants and an bowling alley and movie theater

    In three sentences

    Thiel is very academically oriented and is interested in what is best for the student.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on this campus and the police officers who maintain that are all very friendly towards those people who do not disturb the peace.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of clubs and activities to get involved in, considering the size of the school, but I am sure that it does not have anywhere near as many as larger schools

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for students looking for a school with academic rigour and prestige.

    Bang for the buck

    Thiel provides a very useful education for a somewhat steep price.

    What to do for fun

    Watch television, participate in the occasional campus activities, or drive to a nearby city.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and Bistro provide a pretty good variety, but everything can be improved

    Dorm Life

    Some say it is boring due to a lack of activities, I would say it is too loud most of the time.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses can be difficult, but they're not insurmountable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, do your work, and ask the professors for advice.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small, but beautiful. The professors are all extremely helpful towards students. The coursework is demanding but worthwhile.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is so much fun! There are four sororities and four fraternities on campus. The Greeks play a major role on campus because there are so many of us! There are two recruitment opportunities each year.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and organizations, it's unreal. This is one of the main reasons I chose Thiel.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Thiel is so worth the money! I love every person that I have met at school, there is so much to do all the time, so many organizations to be a part of and every student gets a laptop and can keep it after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    There is an organization called Thiel Activities Board and they make sure the students have things to do. There are programs such as grocery bingo, wings n sings, dance parties, etc. They're all so much fun!

    Food and Dining

    There is the option for students to go to the cafeteria or the bistro. IN the cafeteria, there are many options and there are vegan/vegertarian options. There are always soups, salad, sandwiches, pizza. For the bistro, there's a huge/wide variety on the menu.

    Dorm Life

    The college is good about making sure the students have the opportunity to be occupied on the weekends. RAs are forced to have the floors participate in group activities, which makes the students on the floors close and bond.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are hard, but it causes you to remember the information and do every homework assignment correctly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities/organizations right away because it helps you meet new people and focus less on home sickness.

    In three sentences

    It is such a great school. There are not many students (about 1100), class sizes are small, the campus is close together and many activities to take part in.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety Police are great! Easy to talk to and always making sure the event that is going on for that week is safe and secure.

    Great for these types of students

    Thiel College is great for students who really want to succeed.

    What to do for fun

    Fraternities & Sorities! They are the ones who throw house parties/late night activities. Other than that there's not much to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Thiel College's cafe doesn't have good food everyday. If one thing is nasty were always welcomed to throw it away and get something else.

    Dorm Life

    As far as appearance it isn't the best, but it's adaptable.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of Theil college isn't that difficult. It depends on the subject and what professor you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have more than one college in mind just in case Thiel College didn't turn out to be for you. Social sites such as facebook, twitter, etc. can show you the goods the bads and the ugly of the school.

    In three sentences

    Thiel College is not a party school. This school helps you focus on your education, the professors are great. If you are coming to party, turn right back around, this school focuses on education and education only.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is relatively small at Thiel with four sororities and four fraternities. However, this can be a very positive quality of Greek Life because it allows us all to band together rather than form rivalries.

    What to do for fun

    Thiel has a very involved and active student activities office that provides many fun events throughout the year. There are karaoke nights, build-a-bear workshops, and a Spring and Fall concert with popular artists like rapper Mac Miller or country artist Chris Cagle.

    Food and Dining

    At Thiel there are two options for dining; the cafeteria and the Bistro. Thiel makes meal plans easy and it is very convenient for students to get to lunch or dinner even with a tight schedule.

    Dorm Life

    There are all types of dorms to meet any students needs at Thiel.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are what you make them, as at any school some classes are more difficult than others. With the brand new DHI and the new Pedas Communications Building at Thiel there will be a swell of Honors students and more ways to challenge yourself academically at Thiel.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to become involved in campus activities; there are tons to choose from and if there isn't something you like start your own club! A small campus allows for very close bonds between you and your peers so take advantage of it!

    In three sentences

    Thiel College is a wonderful, small school with more diversity than one would expect. Thiel's campus is welcoming and everyone quickly becomes a part of the Thiel family. I would choose Thiel all over again if given the chance!

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends, go to sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    Its college food, but it isn't to bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out and join groups, clubs, and sports.

    In three sentences

    Thiel is a very nice institution. They have a welcoming and kind enviroment. Being a small school, you get to know your professors and they are very helpful.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have visited many colleges to find the right fit for myself. One of my biggest expectations I had for a college was to make me feel safe. If I will be living on campus for four years I wanted to feel safe. At Thiel I will always feel safe. I have had many friends go to Thiel and all of them said it was a safe place and once I took my tour I saw Thiel was one of the safest colleges I had visited. That is one of the reasons why I have decided to accept to Thiel College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities at Thiel College. I am also the type of person who will most likely start new clubs. I was in many clubs in high school, and to feel as comfortable as possible I will join as many clubs as possible. On my registration day they had a club and activities fair. I had joined a few clubs there. One of the clubs I joined was the book club. I will get to keep educating my brain with new pieces of literature while I have fun doing it, with new friends. I also joined the W.I.N.G. club. W.I.N.G. stands for Women Inspiring the Next Generation. That is a club that does a lot of community service. These clubs will help all students keep involved while in a area that they are not familiar with.

    What to do for fun

    I like that the school pays for the students to go to New York for one day. The school usually does this right before winter break. The students get to experience the busy streets of New York City right before a large holiday. The school also hosts a black and white ball. There is always something to do at Thiel. It is never a boring place to be.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is amazing at Thiel. Every student has an option for what meal plan they would like to have for each semester. My personal opinion for the meal plans was to pick the fourteen meals a week with some money for the upstairs barista. The food is amazing and the school puts out signs for allergy alerts. I have a nut allergy, so it makes it easier for me to know what has nuts in the which foods.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is an experience that many people look forward to when they have made up their mind to whether or not they want to attend college or to where they are attending. The dorms are safe, but they are coed dorms. The nice thing about the dorms is that each floor is alternated with a different gender. That makes it better than having each floor coed. That would have made me a little uncomfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics was everything I was looking for. The classes are small, so you can get more one on one time with your professors. You can also get a more detailed lesson with less people. Your professors will also know you and will be able to track your progress easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking at colleges you need to find the best fit for you. Knowing you are going to college soon is a huge step for most students to take. You realize that you have to go through many changes. Just make sure that you are ready to be on your own, and to study a lot more than you do in high school. You also need to make sure whatever college you choose needs to make you comfortable and feel safe.

    In three sentences

    Thiel is one of the safest colleges I have visited my junior and senior year of high school. When I took my first tour of the school, after I had already been accepted, I fell in love with Thiel. Thiel is a good fit for myself, and I hope many other students that look at this school see how safe, fun, and assuring this college really is.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is is campus police who are very nice and good at keeping the campus safe.

    Greek Life

    There are 4 sororities and 4 fraternities on campus. They are extremely nice, totally against hazing, and do a lot with community service and their philanthropy. There are many students involved in Greek life, however, they are friends with everyone else on campus. People from every Greek organization are friends with people from the others. They are not cliquey, and they are not the stereotypical party Greek groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and sports to get involved in here. There is a club for almost anything you can imagine. And if there is a club you ant to be in, and we don't have it. The college will give you money to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for student who work well in small class sizes and like a small campus. Shy people excel here and the students here help shy people to get involved and break out of their shell.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All students are given a free laptop as freshmen.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many free activities for all students. All sports activities are free to attend for students. There is a movie that shows in one of the nice lecture halls 2 times a week (they are movies often not released on DVD yet, or recently released). There are usually random things that the activities club sets up like bounce houses, slip-n-slides, mechanical bulls, etc. that will just appear around campus sometimes. There is a concert every spring and many bus trips throughout the year that are both free. The concerts usually are famous singers (like maklemore and flo rider). The bus trips are to places like Chicago, Boston, New York, Cedar Point, White Water rafting, Snow Tubing, etc.There is also a free shuttle service that will take you anywhere you want in Greenville (everyday), or anywhere in Hermatige, Sharon, Grove City etc. on weekends. It will also make monthly trips to places like Pittsburgh and Cleveland.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs for student to join on campus and they are all really fun. There are also many free activities for all students. All sports activities are free to attend for students. There is a movie that shows in one of the nice lecture halls 2 times a week (they are movies often not released on DVD yet, or recently released). There are usually random things that the activities club sets up like bounce houses, slip-n-slides, mechanical bulls, etc. that will just appear around campus sometimes. There is a concert every spring and many bus trips throughout the year that are both free. The concerts usually are famous singers (like maklemore and flo rider). The bus trips are to places like Chicago, Boston, New York, Cedar Point, White Water rafting, Snow Tubing, etc.There is also a free shuttle service that will take you anywhere you want in Greenville (everyday), or anywhere in Hermatige, Sharon, Grove City etc. on weekends. It will also make monthly trips to places like Pittsburgh and Cleveland.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not five star restaurant meals. However, it is pretty good. It is better than most high school cafeterias, and better than many of the other college campuses I visited while in search for a school. I enjoy the food prepared by the nice cooks in the kitchen. They are really friendly and are willing to make foods that are specific for dietary needs. There is a kitchen in every dorm, so if you really don't like the food, you can make some yourself in the kitchen in the basement.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly nice. There are 3 freshman dorms where all the freshmen stay so that they can get to know each other. Then there are several different options for upperclassmen. The RA's in the dorms are really nice and are willing to help you with anything. The dorms are clean to our awesome, friendly cleaning staff who work hard to make sure you are happy. The bathrooms in the freshman dorms are community bathrooms for the floor. There is a laundry room in the basement of every building as well as a full kitchen. There is also a game room (with a pool table and stuff) in every dorm building and there is a lobby with a TV in every building.

    Academic Rigor

    Their is a high standard for academics on this campus. Teachers as well as coaches an other students will push you to be the best you can be. They will help make sure you succeed in all your classes. There are many different study groups and private tutors who are available for you free of cost. The professors are always willing to meet with you as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking for things to get involved in, look at clubs for people in your major. This will help you get to know people who have the same interests as you. Also, join as much as you can, but don't get over-involved. leave time for study and a social life. Talk to your professors. They are willing to help you no matter what. Their number one priority is to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Thiel College has a small, beautiful campus with about 1,000 students (and small class sizes). The professors are really friendly and helpful. There are many extracurricular activities and fun events hosted on this campus.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Amazing!! I just got initiated and the brothers are so helpful.

    What to do for fun

    All kinds of activities on campus as well as off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and check it out. I think you will be surprised.

    In three sentences

    This is my freshman year and so far I love it! The professors are great and they help when you need it. The other students here are so nice and I dont have any problem fitting in.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Can sometimes be rather unfair about things they aren't supposed to worry about, but they keep a good watch on us to make sure we are safe and abiding by the law.

    Greek Life

    Four different fraternities and four different sororities, all offering different things that would interest different people. There is a zero-tolerance policy on hazing and semester dues are not as high as many other colleges.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, inter murals, music, educational clubs, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working, diligent, time-managing

    Bang for the buck

    Thiel offers the challenge (in my opinion) that one would like to see from a college, as well as other opportunities for fun activities.

    What to do for fun

    One can join a sport, the band, a club, a fraternity/sorority, or simply hang out with friends when you would like.

    Food and Dining

    Food has it's ups and downs but is never inedible. The bistro food is typically better than the cafeteria (which is buffet style).

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not magnificent, but offer you everything you will need. The dorms are also cleaned every day by hard-working workers. Showers rarely run out of hot water. They offer included cable service and Ethernet ports in every dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    Thiel is a fairly challenging school to some and relatively easy to others depending on what type of high school you come from. It will still offer a challenge to those who seek it however.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you spend as much time as you can studying, for it will benefit you greatly in the end. Be sure not to blow through your bistro points (part of the meal plan) too early in the semester. Also, make sure you go out and talk to people, make friends, and check out all that Thiel has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Thiel College is a relatively small college and has a very beautiful campus. The lasses are small so you get to have that desired connection with your professors. The number of extra activities is extraordinary and can help you make new friends very quickly.

  • 03/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are good at keeping everyone safe while letting everyone have a fun on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am personally involved in 2 sports at Thiel. It has been extremely enjoyable.

    Great for these types of students

    Very social students will fit in well here. People get along pretty well.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on how much effort you put into your time on campus, Thiel can be worth your money.

    What to do for fun

    Thiel activities is very good at putting different activities together that get everyone around campus involved. They have had inflatables on campus, the black and white ball, wings and sings and much more. The important thing is that people actually get out and try to attend these events.

    Food and Dining

    This is the worst part about Thiel. AVI is the food service company and the selection is small.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are relatively small. Usually maintenance is good about keeping up on work though which is good.

    Academic Rigor

    Study as much as possible. It is important to take advantage of any tutoring the school attempts to provide. SI, GPS, and PAL are very useful.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip is to get as involved as possible. The fact is that this is a small college, but you can make the best out of it. Go out, meet new people, and get out of your bubble and take advantage of any opportunities given to you

    In three sentences

    Thiel is a very enjoyable and educational place to attend. They put a lot of effort into finding things that can provide us with more educational help with our careers. I would recommend Thiel to others.