Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Thomas College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like to have fun, like to live life in the fast lane

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to the campus with an open mind and the first few weeks it will seem as though this will not work and everything is going wrong but after you get settled down it turns out to be a good experience

    Bang for the buck

    It is for a college that is not state subsidized and so the dorms and the meal plan do cost extra but other then that it's cost effective

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here their is always lots to do and people are not bored. The people who plan the student events really work hard to make sure that we are going to like what we are doing and have a blast. After all it's about having fun and building friendships.

    Am learning a lot

    Since it's a small college the professors can give you more one on one attention

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a wonderful auditorium that can be used for many things such as singing, acting, and playing musical instruments. There are wonderful staff who set up events with comedians and entertainers to come and perform.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a place that is small, cozy, and very flexible in schedules? Thomas College is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Thomas is a very warming and comfortable college. The Faculty and Staff are all here to help and seek better education for their students. I am proud to say that I attend Thomas College.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    thomas has a lot of events that go on on campus so there is always tons of things to do during down time and theres always hanging with friends

    Food and Dining

    the dinning center has great food and great people who serve it too

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is great, when you have great neighbors to interact with make wonderful memorys your freshman year

    Academic Rigor

    thomas challenges there students acedemicly so they get the best education and have the best knowlegde of there major so when they apply for a job they have succeed greatly in there carrer.

    Tips for prospective students

    everyone here is friendly and is willing to help people succeed in there major.

    In three sentences

    thomas college is a great priviate business college. it really foucus on your major and helps you get the best education. it also has a very friendly and helpful staff.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I don't see it being worth the cost but I am still only in my first semester.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a good school, just a little small. The good news is that it is being expanded.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are really easy but I am only in my first semester so I am thinking that they will probably get harder.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is very good at thomas college. they provide a very good selection. i would give them a 9 out of 10 rating.

    Academic Rigor

    thomas college offers alot of choices for classes. there is always extra help available if needed.

    In three sentences

    i like thomas college because it is a small school. the teacher to student ratio is good. they also have alot of planned activities.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There usually is no need to call public safety unless your locked out of your room. There are no real serious threats to students and it is a small enough school where everyone knows everyone and if something bad happens the whole campus will know within a few minuets.

    Clubs and Activities

    Thomas offers many clubs and activities for students to get involved in. Whether it be intramural sports or chess club, and if the school doesn't have something they are willing to try and start a new club as well. Thomas molds itself to fit everyones standards they are willing to help every student find their way to fit in.

    Great for these types of students

    Thomas is great for any type of student, they offer so many opportunities for each personality that it is easy to get involved and find a group that you fit into.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a lot of wooded areas behind the campus that are great for nature walks and have trails already laid out on them. In the winter its easy to rent snow shoes to explore the woods.

    Bang for the buck

    They help students financially to pay for tuition while also guaranteeing a job placement after graduating. Thomas helps students achieve what they want throughout all four years.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of different sports at Thomas that are fun to join, but they also have intramural and pick up games if you don't want the seriousness of a real college team. They offer many trips to free movies and free mini golfing throughout the year. As long as you stay involved on campus it is easy to find things to do.

    Food and Dining

    They have six different food stations as options but if you don't like what their serving then it is easy to combine options from each station to make your own meal. The food is really what you make of it, though you might not always like whats there, they usually have enough options for you to create something.

    Dorm Life

    It is easy to go out and meet new people as an incoming freshman because there is a huge lobby area in the freshman dorm that has pool, ping pong tables and computers for all freshman to use. It is a great way to start up conversations with new people and begin friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    If you pay attention in class and keep up with the readings that your teachers assign then you will be more than prepared to handle the tests and essays they assign. But if you neglect your work then you won't pass the exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you buy your books before coming to classes. Also, take advantage of the schools financial aid options because they will greatly help with the cost of tuition. Finally get involved on campus because it is the best way to meet new people and get acclimated to the campus.

    In three sentences

    Thomas college is a great school that offers many opportunities to get involved on campus. As long as you pay attention to your school work it is easy to manage a social and academic life at Thomas. Thomas is what you make of it, if your willing to go out and have fun then you will have a great time at the school.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student looking for a great school with great people :)

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tips I would have is get your finances in order. Also do not give up when you think its more than you can handle because there are always people there willing to help out! Make the best of it! It is an amazing experience.

    Bang for the buck

    I have saved a lot of money because I live at home and commute, however a lot of my friends say that the amount is well worth it for the high education and all the fun and extra things they provide. Such as comedians, movie night, a full gym, cafe, and other activities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it there! All the staff is friendly and they are always willing to help a student or co-worked in need. The teachers are amazing and are always willing to help more than they need to. Most of all I love the campus and all that it has to offer, the gym, amazing cafe, and all the amazing people and new friends that I have made! If you are a commuter they even have a lounge place for you to hang and work on homework in as well. A top notch school in deed!

    Am learning a lot

    yes, I recently just finished my first semester there. I learned so much about becoming a teacher. I also learned a lot about my writing skills. I can not wait to learn more with all my history classes there!

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Thomas is right in waterville, so you have the movies and such. The bowling alley is across the street. There are always activities going one each weekend like ice skating, or free movie night.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do you Hw as soon as you get it.

    In three sentences

    Thomas is a great college. It have a very family like atmosphere and is diverse. The teachers are also willing to sit one on one with you.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Yup! Way cheaper compared to out neighbors like Colby College.

    What to do for fun

    There is ALWAYS something to do. Trust me.

    Food and Dining

    Yeah...like all college food, it's disgusting. Most people still eat it, I just like to think of myself as someone with complicated taste.

    Dorm Life

    It's different for everyone, but I'd recommend living on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly easy, and most teachers are willing to help. When you come across a teacher that's absolutely ridiculous, see your adviser or get out of the class by the drop date.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for what you need. But, also do some research if it's something you really want, like studying abroad! Don't be afraid to try new things and join lots of clubs!

    In three sentences

    A small school dedicated to you and your education. Very helpful staff (especially Career Services) and very awesome teachers (like Biffle, Dog, and Grindall)! Lots of opportunity, all you have to do is ask!

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many club sport opportunities and academic clubs as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Competitive athletes looking for a Division III NCAA school.

    Bang for the buck

    An expensive school, but if you do well in high school you will get decent financial aid. The money spent is used to give students more late night programs throughout the week and getting bigger name performers on campus.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is plenty of lawn space for lawn games, as well as access to the two turf fields as long as there are no athletic teams on it. In town you have a few shopping plazas, and Augusta is just 20 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is brand new and absolutely gorgeous. They have a wide variety of food and you will always be able to find something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The campus is small, so everybody knows everybody. There are many people who love it and some who hate it, but that's just how it is. You will make a few close friends on a small campus like this, rather than many acquaintances like you would on a large campus. Housing for non-first year students is very nice, though the first year dorms have gotten recent upgrades.

    Academic Rigor

    There are very challenging courses at Thomas. The general education classes taken in the first two years are not nearly as challenging as the major-specific classes, though they will challenge you to go outside of your comfort zone and try new classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Though the campus is small, it is expanding at an incredible rate. Many new buildings and complexes are in the plans for the future, which makes the already beautiful campus even nicer.

    In three sentences

    Thomas College is a very tight-knit campus. The professors and advisers actually care about each and every student. The atmosphere for learning is incredible.

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students like me who don't want to go to a big school. The environment is very inviting, classes are small, and you really get to know each and every one of your classmates one way or another.

    What to do for fun

    Well Thomas has a lot of small activities like gingerbread house making, pre-release movie nights, mic night, man hunt, comedy shows, two dollar movie nights at a movie theater near us, bowling, and many more. These things are usually during the week or on Fridays. Sometimes we have things on the weekends like the movie nights but people are rarely here, seeing as they go home on the weekends so mostly it is like a ghost town on weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Hmmm tough one. Our food at Thomas has good and bad food depending on the day. When we have conferences or days when parents come the food will be excellent and other days it will be dull. I have to say the hamburgers are pretty good here, but they have that way too much as well as pizza. There is always a salad bar as well as sandwich bar. There is a stir fry section and home cooked meals section. The food isn't that bad, but some days there is literally nothing to eat that looks appetizing. They don't really have a wide variety of fruits and vegetables either. The only time I see fruit is when I go to breakfast which is rare.

    Dorm Life

    Personally the dorms are pretty spacious and easy to move around. We have a bureau, desk, chair, bed (obviously), and open closet. The only thing I warn about is the shelf that is on the wall because sometimes when you move things around it gets in the way. Many of my friends have moved their beds so that it is below the shelf and always hit their heads on them when getting up. There is trash bins in the hallways for first years as well as a washer and dryer in the bathroom per floor which is nice. There are people who clean the bathrooms every week day, but be warned that during the weekend the bathrooms get pretty dirty.

    Academic Rigor

    I found that the academics here are way easier than I thought it was. It could be because I'm still a freshman, but in my classes teachers tell me exactly what is on tests (one teacher gives the actual questions) and the teachers I have had so far are pretty lenient on grading as well as letting class out early. There are however projects that they plow onto you before Thanksgiving break so look out for that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet a lot of people during orientation because at this school once you make your clique of people it is very hard for others to get in. Get the meal plan with the terrier dollars that you can use in the dog pound because the food here isn't always great and instead you can use your dollars on your card to buy food from the dog pound which in my opinion is better than the dinning hall food. Get to know your professors. They will become a big help for you in your success.

    In three sentences

    Thomas College is very small, but also has a strong community. People always feel welcome at the college, seeing as they see mostly everyone on campus at least once. One downfall is that most people are from Maine so they go home on the weekends leaving nothing to do for those who live out of state.

  • 06/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing ever happens.

    Greek Life

    If Greek life is any priority then Thomas is not the place. There are no sororities and one fraternity which you never hear from or see.

    Clubs and Activities

    I highly recommend the dance team!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Senior week! Pub crawl! Limo!

    Bang for the buck

    You pay a lot and sometimes you see the benefit other times you wonder where all your money goes.

    What to do for fun

    Depends. Sometimes there is a lot sometimes there isn't. If you put yourself out there you can have a lot of fun. You get out what you put in.

    Food and Dining

    If you like pizza and bugers this is the place for you. It's pasta, pizza, and bugers for days. But then again, that's almost all schools.

    Dorm Life

    There is lot for freshmen, but other than that there isn't a whole lot going on. they have events for all students now and then but that's about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the teacher. Some are harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put yourself out there. Don't hold back. Try something new. I had never danced before going to Thomas but had always wanted to so I went to the meeting for the dance team and it was the best decision I made. The girls are amazing, the coach is wonderful. They are very accepting of everybody regardless of experience and they are some of the best friends I've ever made. So don't be afraid and try something new!

    In three sentences

    Great choice for someone who wants a small school with big dreams. The teachers are very personable and very caring and helpful. Not a lot of on camps stuff going on, but you get out what you put in.