Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Thomas Edison State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For those interested in distance learning, like me, this is a recommended school because it takes like all of the credits from CLEP and DANTES tests, etc... I plan on working through CollegePlus! and they told me this...

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are top of the class, you might want to consider a higher school. This college isn't as strict- hence the open admissions.

    Bang for the buck

    Once again, distance learning students will get the most for the time and money, I think.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Older students, non traditional students, active military, veterans, and working adults.

    What to do for fun

    Whatever you usually do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Again, this is an online school, so I'm responsible for my own food and dining, and I'm a good cook.

    Dorm Life

    I'm attending classes online, so my dorm is my own apartment, and my apartment is pretty sweet.

    In three sentences

    This is a great option for non traditional students, especially working adults. Everyone in the financial aid office has been friendly and helpful over the phone. Web interface is easy to use, too.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult, working students.

    Bang for the buck

    FANTASTIC. $5,700 in-state for up to 36 credits. Other colleges can charge more than $20,000 for that!

    What to do for fun

    it is an online school, you can live your life and still take classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Great courses, expected to do the work, but it is similar to the classes I took online at my local community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    TESC is a STATE college, such as Rutgers. It is not a here today, gone tomorrow college. It has been around for a while, and it will continue to thrive.

    In three sentences

    Great distance college with excellent classes. Shorter semesters gives students more flexibility to manage taking classes and working jobs. Great professors and a truly caring school.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    thomas edison is a great online school that has a military friendly degree completion program. the course instructors are knowledgeable and helpful.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's online...so, anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use their transfer policy to your advantage.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Edison fits the needs for adult students and they seem to have the best interest of this specific type of learner.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    A very re-inventive college. It is unique in its overall learning structure. It has creative teaching techniques

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to transfer a number of classes to a new college or are looking for a place where you can get a total degree online.

    Bang for the buck

    Competitively priced and the $3,000 enrollment fee is more bearable when it more than makes up for having to repeat numerous classes.

    Academic Rigor

    All the courses I've taken thus far are challenging and I've learned alot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check them out, especially if you are going back to school and have several hours to transfer over or need to transfer somewhere where you can get a total degree online. You have to have patience with their lack of timeliness.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love TESC! So many options including Guided Study, Online, TECEP tests, and PLAs plus they accept Straighterline and ALEKS courses as well as individual courses from other colleges. They also took 54 of my 60 credit hours, including a D, from 15 years ago, so I didn't have to retake them all!

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not know because I will be going to school online

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT FALL BEHIND!!! It is so hard to catch up again.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college to finish quickly and efficiently. They give you everything you need to succeed. The professors are very understanding that these courses are on top of the responsibilities of everyday life.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners, professionals and business people with full schedules.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value with two enrollment options, based on your planned credit load, time to completion and desired learning options. Also offer very reasonable fees structure for non-New Jersey residents.

    What to do for fun

    Join student and other support associations.

    Food and Dining

    NA - Non-resident student

    Dorm Life

    NA - Non-resident student

    Academic Rigor

    Thomas Edison State College offers several options for earning credit and completing course work. Explore them all based on your time frame for degree completion, other life priorities, time to be dedicated to studies and applicability to your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Include Thomas Edison State College in your planning process, you are eligible for two free credit and past experience evaluations in a six month period before formal application. Call and talk to admissions and the registrar's office for input on your plans, past credits earned and the time frame for current degree program plans.

    In three sentences

    As an Alum and returning student, it has been a pleasure becoing re-acquainted with a college that offers flexible options for adult learners. Staff and support is professional and timely.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not relevant.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    This college for adult students who are motivated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    At $5,000/year, I think I am getting good bang for my buck. Other online colleges, such as University of Phoenix are double that. This college requires work and effort and is worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    It is an online college.

    Food and Dining

    No food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I would rate Thomas Edison's academic rigor as average. There are many written assignments which can be time consuming but not overly difficult. Some exams are more difficult than others, but studying for them is very important.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to not fall behind in your schoolwork because it becomes very difficult to dig yourself out of the hole. If you happen to find yourself behind though, email your mentor and keep him/her up to date on your issue. Most instructors are quite reasonable and lenient because they know adult students have more going on than just schoolwork.

    In three sentences

    The mentors are reasonable and do not expect the world from their students, however timely completion of the discussion questions and written assignments is required. It is important to keep up with your school work so that you do not fall behind. There is little communication between students however.

  • 06/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for military or anyone who needs to complete a degree quickly. The online and guided study options are almost limitless, as long as you don't have a very specific degree.

    Bang for the buck

    A degree is a degree, and for $250 per a semester hour, that's not bad at all.

    Food and Dining

    I am an off campus student, so I wouldn't know.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on Campus, so I don't know.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like the classes are appropriately difficult/easy. The upper level definitely require more work and can be rigorous, but the lower level can often feel like a joke.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early and make sure you hop on FAFSA and fill out the financial aid application. Enrollment is easy and simple and the degrees are easy enough to understand you don't have to work with an advisor if you don't want to.

    In three sentences

    A great school for Military looking to complete their degree! Advisors and instructors are easy to work with and very helpful. The school also offers lots of different degree programs.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is not applicable to me since I attend university 100% online as a distance learning student.

    Greek Life

    This is not applicable to me since I attend university 100% online as a distance learning student.

    Clubs and Activities

    This is not applicable to me since I attend university 100% online as a distance learning student.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults returning to school after long periods of time since their last education period. Working professionals and/or stay-at-home parents returning to school for a degree or certification.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is not applicable to me since I attend university 100% online as a distance learning student.

    Bang for the buck

    As a New Jersey resident, I receive in-state tuition which is still more affordable than other NJ colleges and universities. They have several tuition option plans to better suit any student's needs.

    What to do for fun

    This is not applicable to me since I attend university 100% online as a distance learning student.

    Food and Dining

    This is not applicable for me since I attend university 100% online as a distance learning student.

    Dorm Life

    This is not applicable to me since I attend university 100% online as a distance learning student.

    Academic Rigor

    Thomas Edison is dedicated to your success. They will not require you to complete heavy work loads as a working professional, returning adult student. They understand most of their student population have a responsibility to full-time careers, spouses and children at home. But they will not let you fail or fall behind. Their mentors, for the most part, will remain in contact with you and are available via phone or email to answer any questions and help you through the courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students who work full-time, or even part-time, Thomas Edison is the right choice. Their mentors and professors, though required to adhere to school policies, have schedule policies that fit most work schedules' needs. Their advisors will work with you on your best course options. The greatest part is that you do not need to physically attend courses. All courses are available online, at your convenience. They even offer testing online, as well as testing in courses that you may have prior knowledge in.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Edison State College is a well-suited school for adult students planning on returning to school to obtain their degree. They have a significantly wide selection of degree and certification programs to choose from. They are accommodating, flexible, and understanding of the adult working professionals' scheduling needs.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe, however, this college has most of its offerings in an online, distance education format.

    Great for these types of students

    Thomas Edison State College is an outstanding option for motivated, self-directed, independent adult learners. Students who have a broad or extensive life, work and academic background and are well organized tend to thrive in this environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Thomas Edison State College has a student award called Arnold Fletcher Award which is given to students who utilize a majority of the course delivery methods. So many course credit must be completed and in a variety of the course delivery methods. Graduates whom have achieved Arnold Fletcher Awards receive a graduation tassel chord and a specialized notation on the studentstranscript.

    Bang for the buck

    Thomas Edison is an excellent price value. The college is one of the New Jersey College and University System learning institutions. Thomas Edison accepts CLEP and DANTES challenge exams and TECEP Thomas Edison course equivalency testing all which are far less expensive than the online and guided study courses. Thomas Edison also accepts some FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency courses (which are free).

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor: Academic Rigor is sufficiently robust at Thomas Edison: While students under 25 are allowed to enter Thomas Edison, typically the most successful students come from a variety of cultural and working backgrounds. Each student brings life and work experience which enhance the critical thinking components of the courses at Thomas Edison. While some students put in the minimal effort, most students are serious and demand a more rigorous or robust approach from student colleagues (particularly in the online format classes where discussion forum questions and answers are a required assessed part of the overall student grade. Like any business TESC has both students and faculty who are outstanding and those that put in only minimal effort to pass. The more a student is involved and engaged in a course, the course objective rigors and assignments meet the expectations of those students and employers looking for graduates of an academically rigorous college or university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here are several tips for success at Thomas Edison: Thomas Edison is well noted for its many alternative methods of learning, aside from traditional classroom based lecture. Guided Study: Work independently with assistance of a mentor. Online Courses: Work with a mentor and other students through a series of lesson, reading assignments, discussion forum posts. TECEP: Thomas Edison State Course Equivalency Examinations: TECEP's are exams which must be proctored (by an approved proctor) for a variety of courses. The examinations cover the subject matter normally covered in a twelve week semester. Course on thumb Drive: Independent Study with course materials loaded onto a thumb drive. EPACK: EPACK's are independent study with no faculty assigned. Assessment is online with an approved collegiate proctor. CLEP/DANTES: CLEP and DANTES are independent exams taken online at an approved college near your location and on a variety of general education topics. Prior Learning Assessment: This is independent study with an assigned faculty member, in which the student must provide a portfolio validation of previous work and life experience which directly speaks to the course objectives which will be provided to the student. All course delivery methods have an examination assessment with an approved collegiate proctor or testing center with the exception of Prior Learning Assessment. PLA is a portfolio completed by the student and assessed by the course faculty member. The student must provide formal documentation such as; letters from sponsors or educators, supervisors, human resources, video or audio tapes, photos, or other proofs of compliance which must respond to each of the course learning objectives. Many PLA courses also require a narrative essay to support course learning objectives. While CLEP/DANTES and, TECEP course challenge examinations can help the student save quite a bit of money, I recommend blended learning with challenge exams as well as PLA, Guided Study and Online Courses. The benefit of taking Guided Study or Online Courses is that it helps the student to develop his or her writing skills. PLA courses help the student to identify course learning objectives and critically think of how to develop a regimented portfolio of validation to support the claim of prior learning experience. One other tip for students is to utilize the student electronic bulletin board to gain additional insights and helpful strategies to mitigate your educational adventure. Finally: Communicate with your Academic Advisor; discuss course selections, course strategies, and how your curriculum will benefit you in the working world.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Edison is an excellent college for independent, self-motivated, disciplined adult learners. If this sounds like you, you could really have a very successful academic experience at Thomas Edison.