Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Thomas More College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletic scholarships- seems many students are here due to this fact. Nursing program is also highly prestigious here, due to the fact of the hospital in close proximity to campus. I can imagine it would be easy, with the right credentials and recommendations, to place a job upon graduating in the nursing field. Would also be pleasing to students looking for a small, low-key school in a safe and quiet town. Plenty of restaurants and shopping in the area (shopping outlet mall right across the street), and campus is about fifteen minutes from Cincinnati. Their is only one sorority on campus- so girls interested in Greek life should take this into consideration. Thomas More is also a Catholic school. Their is a small chapel on campus, but plans are in the works for building a larger one very soon. Mass is usually at noon; so you can go to class, pray about the test you just took, then on to the next one. Their is something cute about walking through the old, dim hallways and smelling incense lingering in the air. Campus ministry is also very active, and it's easy to get involved if you so wish. Catholicism is definitely not forced down your throat here, though, and a large portion of the students are not of the faith. You will have to take a religious education class at some point during your time here, though. All in all, this is a small, quiet school. It's very community oriented, and tight-knit; with a STRONG foundation centered on athletics. You would love this school if you want to see familiar faces between every class, get to know your professors well, and have a lot of flexibility with your schedule. Basically- the overall appeal of any small school, but with athletic and Catholic undertones to it. The mission statement of Thomas More is clear-cut. It's a liberal arts college with the goal of letting you find your role in life, your place in the world, and taking on social responsibility.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus if you are financially able to- it adds depth to your experience. Join clubs, and take careful notes of names of the individuals in sponsoring/running these clubs- chances are you will have to follow up on the status of your membership/activity. If you plan to commute, buy the smallest meal plan available. Commuters might also want to time their arrival to the parking lots with class schedules- if you don't want to have to circle endlessly searching for a parking space, or just a little bit of empty pavement to create your own. Buying your books online would definitely save you some money. The only cost of doing so would be the convenience of having your books ready a day after you order them through the book store, and waiting for you in a nice, little bag on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the only qualm my family and I had for this school. Due to the fact that Thomas More is a private, Catholic College, the tuition is very high. I do not live on campus, and just the tuition is comparable to going to a large University and ROOMING there- combined! From what I have seen, students that end up choosing this college from out-of-town or out-of-state have done so because of athletic scholarships. The bookstore is small, but effective and personable- yet used books are not readily available all of the time due to the small size of the school. An off-campus bookstore would help to alleviate the high costs of books here. I would also advise commuters, if they plan on eating on campus, to buy a meal plan. If not, the individual meals are rather pricey. Parking on-campus is free all year! This was a nice thing to discover during Freshman Orientation. Their are only two connected lots on-campus, so it's basically first-come-first-serve, and luck to get a close park.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a definite advocate of living on-campus at Thomas More College. I am a commuter, and feel as though the bonds that my fellow classmates have made with each other are due to their presence in the dorms, and the many dorm activities that go on every evening. I have a part-time job, and find it difficult to attend these, and feel as though I am missing out on a vital part of the college experience. From what I have heard from residents here- their are always little activities, movies, free-food (what's better than that?), and sporting events to attend. For such a small school, it is important to get as involved as possible. I have had a small problem trying to get involved in extracurriculars here as well. I attended a club fair the first week or so of classes, and signed up for several, and even after going to the club meetings- never heard from the club sponsors again. It was pretty disheartening, in all honesty. So it would be wise to get names and e-mail addresses of individuals in charge of clubs, and stay in communication with them if you would like to actually be involved in the club's activities.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a freshman at Thomas More College- pursuing to get most of my general education classes accomplished in my first year. During my senior year of high school, I was able to earn 24 credit hours through dual-enrollment courses to Northern Kentucky University and through Advanced Placement courses. The classes here- although just general education courses- are certainly more involving and time-consuming. They involve little day-to-day assignments and homework (in other words, a definite step up from your high school course load), but a great deal of outside study time. You truly must engage yourself in every subject daily to build up a reservoir of knowledge. The professors are helpful and knowledgeable in their respective areas, and incredibly easy to contact or meet with if you so desire. Fellow classmates are also very interested in the subject, and it was a pleasing change from High School to see my peers actually MOTIVATED and CONCERNED about their grades. Finding a study partner is not difficult, and the library is always full of little clusters of people bent over books. Thomas More has an online reference database called 'myTMC', that every student has an account for. This definitely comes in handy should you want to ask your class, professor, or an adviser a question. Schedules vary a LOT- from what I have heard. Personally, all of my classes have one to two hour breaks in between. This provides a great deal of study time, and time on-campus with access to all it's resources. Other students don't have schedules with as much time in between, but are done with their day relatively earlier than I am. If any scheduling conflicts arise, the Bursar's Office is extremely approachable. I was able to stroll in during the summer, and one of the advisers dropped everything she was doing to sit down with me (without any appointment) and plan out my day. It was truly appreciated, and just part of the small-school appeal Thomas More has to offer.

  • 12/25/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    who want to perfect their work

    Tips for prospective students

    you will not struggle to much

    Bang for the buck

    its not expensive but affordable to most of us

    Will enjoy being here

    enjoy to the fullest

    Will learn a lot

    learn more than a lot in this college

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    the psychology club is a blast! we do fundraisers, make t-shirts, and have a monthly meeting going over what we are planning to do for fundraisers or other exciting events coming up. cross country is also something that has just started out. we have a small team, but hoping it grows! feel free to join!

    What to do for fun

    there is plenty to do for fun near thomas more college. there is a outdoor shopping mall right across the street. the interstate is right next to thomas more, so it has easy access to any location of choice. mainstrasse, florence, erlanger, cincinnati, etc.

    Food and Dining

    food tends to be expensive at this school, and not worth the dollars you spend. it could be a lot better, or if it isn't going to get better then the prices should definitely be lowered.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    there are rough spots at thomas more. certain classes will be a lot tougher than others, but you have to stay focused. don't get discouraged by a professor or a test, just keep your head up and keep going.

    Tips for prospective students

    students need to be prepared. they need to stay on top of work and get assignments completed and turned in on time. it is important that a student becomes responsible, from waking up for class to studying for finals.

    In three sentences

    thomas more college is very demanding, yet provides the necessary amenities for success. this school has well qualified teachers who are dedicated to their work. thomas more helps pursue the goal of togetherness in the pursuit of truth.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    tmc has student from different age ranges and lifestyles.

    What to do for fun

    there are many activities, many trips like habitat for humanity, jamaica, & mexican border.

    Dorm Life

    i'm a commuter

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask questions don't worry if you're undecided they will help you make the right decision.

    In three sentences

    small class size provides individualized attention. numerous on-campus and off-campus activities that enhance students' education. friendly faculty and staff who help in every way they can to facilitate learning.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to any sporting events that deal with the college. All sports are always competitive. Also, Cincinatti is 10 minutes away, many great things to do there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go here!!! It's awesome

    In three sentences

    I give Thomas More 5 stars. Everyone is so helpful and really care about each student. Small school but is a good thing because of the close relationships formed with teachers.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has security on campus all day and you can see them wandering around different areas to keep an eye on what is going on.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has many different clubs to join and if they don't have something you want to hoin then you can create a new club.

    What to do for fun

    The school has all of the up coming events and all the sporting events are free to students. The school likes to keep the students active in campus life.

    Food and Dining

    There is always something to eat if not in the cafeteria then in the interlude which is open for people who have missed dinner. They have many different options of things to eat from salad to pizza and anything in between.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life it is a good experience to have . The other residents are considerate of the other people in the dorms. The RAs are very helpful and take everything you say into consideration to make dorm life better if it is needed.

    Academic Rigor

    The school likes to keep you trying in all courses and want you to focus and try your hardest at what you are learning. The teachers like to challenge you and like to move fast so we can learn as much as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep trying and don't get distracted from your studies and ask questions when you are confused. Get to know other students and get help when you need it don't wait until the last minute.

    In three sentences

    It is very easy to get help from the teachers when you ask them questions. The atmoshphere makes me think of my high school which makes it easy to relax and concentrate. Everyone is very nice and is very helpful.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus always has people on patrol. eveywhere you turn you see a golf cart and they are great if you need the extra help!

    Clubs and Activities

    Student life is great at livening up the activities. i just did the relay for life this year and it was so much fun!

    Great for these types of students

    If you need someone to keep you motivated. If you need a schoolt hat cares about you, then these is the school to attend. their big concern is small class sizes and great help for eveyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a library that quiet and great for going to to do homework. that coming from someone who is so easily distracted!

    Bang for the buck

    I couldnt have chosen a better school. i started college somewhere else and efter the move to TMC i dont plan on going anywhere else! the facutly are great here and really seem to care about the students.

    What to do for fun

    the have acivities on campus all the time. it is so easy to get involved and eet new people. its like one giant family here!

    Food and Dining

    it is an open buffet breakfast lunch and dinner for a small price. but you ge so muc food!

    Dorm Life

    My sisters live on campus and it great because they are all about saftey and privacy!

    Academic Rigor

    education is my major nd they are so focused on helping you gey to were you need to be come graduation time!

    Tips for prospective students

    try to find financial aid asap. The price tag is high but it is worth it if you find the scholorships!

    In three sentences

    It is a great school if you are looking for small class sizes and one on one help/ attention!

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is only one sorority (Theta Phi Alpha) and one fraternity (Alpha Delta Gamma) on campus. I am a member of the sorority and have been extremely pleased. The sorority has offered me a lot of opportunities, several friends, and new experiences.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an endless amount of clubs at Thomas More. Each club has its own strengths, but overall all of the clubs that I have been involved in (cheerleading, Chemistry, biology, sorority, student activities, etc.) have been excellent.

    Great for these types of students

    Thomas More is perfect for a student that wants the professor to be available for help or advice in a class or career choice. It is also great for students who want small classes and an opportunity to get to know a large amount of people.

    What to do for fun

    There is always an event going on somewhere on campus. Some if the events include; Zumba, sports events, cookouts, dance classes, themed nights such as casino night, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Thomas More is very good, but it seems that the same food is served a little too frequently.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Thomas More College are extremely nice. The only downfall is that the school is small so there won't necessarily always be a big group of people around available to socialize. At the same time, students will get used to the school and their friends schedules allowing them to know who is available and at what times.

    Academic Rigor

    Thomas More will expect your best at all times. The school wants each student to succeed and will push the students because of this.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are currently interested in Thomas More College, it is important to realize that the school is very small. This means your professors will know who you are and what you are capable of. This also means that it is even more important to attend class and always work at your best because your professors know what you are capable of. Thomas More College allows students to get individualized help when needed because of the small amount of students. It is very important to take advantage of this available help.

    In three sentences

    I rate Thomas More College at the very top. Thomas More offers endless opportunities for success with professors who truly care about each students' progress. This school will prepare students for anything life may throw at them.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have our own campus safety number and the offices for campus safety is located in thestudent center, which is between the main school building and the dorms. They patrol throughout the day and even at night.

    Greek Life

    since we are not a big school there is only one boy and one girl greek life opportunity for students.

    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for people who want to be in a small school and for those who want the one on one interaction with their teachers.

    What to do for fun

    we have a student center that has a cafe that is open hen the cafeteria is not but also in the student center there is a rec room that has a ping pong table, games systems such as the wii and there is also a hockey table. If you want to go somewhere off campus we are right across the street fromm the crestview shopping center that has clothes stores and a book store.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is amazing, you havea lot of variety everyday so you get to experience many different types of food and expand your tastes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing, from personal experience, there my b rules for living on campus but it is a good opportunity to use the schools resources and to make friends. Living in the Dorms makes getting to classes easier and helping ith school easier.

    Academic Rigor

    Thomas More is very intense in its curriculum and really pushes you to know what you are learning and gives you opportunities to improve your self.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not slack off hen you enter into college because it ill come back to bite you in the butt so try your hardest.

    In three sentences

    Thomas More is a small school where everyone knows everyone. All the teachers know their students by name and everyone is really friendly and helpfl.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Just like any other school, it offers many chances to join fraternities or sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who need individual attention.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It has one main building like a high school.

    What to do for fun

    It is very close Newport,Cincinnati area in which you can see the Bengals or Reds play or do many different activities

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a good place for those who want or need more attention when learning.

    In three sentences

    Thomas More College is a very individualistic college. It focuses on quality of education rather than quantity of students. It is a great place.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is the safest campus I have ever been on. However, some of the rules make you feel like you are living with your parents still (not enough freedom.)

    Greek Life

    There is only one sorority and one fraternity. They are both fairly small.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is many different clubs you can join. If you play a sport we have them all.

    Great for these types of students

    Thomas More is a great school for ANY TYPE of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are in the process of building a new chapel. Other than that there is nothing too unusal about he campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Thomas More is a very expensive school. However, parking, laundry, and printing is all free.

    What to do for fun

    Thomas More has very good athletic teams. There are alwys games you can go to and with your student id you get in free. They also have a numerous amount of clubs that you can join. The location of the school is great because you are very close to shopping malls and night life.

    Food and Dining

    Over all the food at Thomas More is good. The worst part about it is the times when it is open. There is not something open at all times, Also, you are only able to use your meal plan at certain times of the day and only a certain number of meal plans per week. And if you do not use all of them in that week you lose them

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year you have to live in the freshman dorms (community showers and common areas.) There are three freshman dorms: two girls and one boys. Your other years there you can live in the co-ed upper class dorm. They are four person suites and each suite has their own bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Thomas More is very well known for their academics. There is an honors programs for higher level students. However, no matter what your desire to learn, you can succeed here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about coming here, go on an over night visit. It really helps you understand what campus life is like here. Also, talk to some of the professors in the field you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    Thomas More College is a great school. It is a small school, but you get that one on one contact with your professors. I would not change schools if given the chance.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    This is also not applicable for me, the TAP campus does not have dining.

    Dorm Life

    This is not applicable for me, as I am an adult (non-traditional) student.

    Academic Rigor

    The TAP program is set up around the schedule of a working adult. The majority of the time the workload is definitely workable and easy to maintain.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is a lot of group work. You must be able to work well in groups, because you don't always have a choice to who you work with.

    In three sentences

    I've been attending Thomas More's TAP program since August 2010. I feel like the curriculum best fits my schedule, out of all of the schools I researched before enrolling. I think that this adult program is set up for success.

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus safety! I feel completely safe there and I know that security does their job.

    Greek Life

    Only one sorority and one fraternity. Very small and no many people are involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hardly any clubs. There are only clubs for majors. I wish they had more clubs to get more students involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who plan on living at home and working hard at their academic career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Great bang for the buck! It is definitely worth the money. It's a great school at a reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of shops, things to do in Cincinnati, and groups to become involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is alright. It gets monotonous after a while. I would prefer if there was more variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, but majority of students commute. If they could get more students to live on campus, it would greatly improve dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Thomas More pushes their students to be able to reach their best abilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared because it's not going to be easy. It's very small, but that allows you one-on-one time with professors along with their help. Thomas More gives students plenty of potential.

    In three sentences

    Thomas More is a small, private, Catholic college that provides many possibilities for their students. The professors there are incredibly helpful and truly care about the students. The student housing life is small, but pleasant, and many students commute.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is possibly one of the safest, most friendly college campuses around. The campus safety department is rarely busy because of this, although they are always keeping their eyes open for any suspicious activity, and will take any opportunity to help anyone on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Thomas More College is great for students who are love to learn and are dedicated to providing themselves and the people around them with a happier and brighter future. It is more on the expensive side because it's a private school, but there are plenty of scholarship opportunities, and for those who are willing to put the work into it, the experience definitely pays off. It's not a school for students who are going to slack off, and the businesses in the area respect the school for this reputation.

    What to do for fun

    There are meetings, lectures, and club sponsored events happening almost everyday if not everyday to keep students moving. There are dances, lazer tag, carnivals, trips with the outdoor adventure club, and if you want to get away, many study abroad opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    A cafeteria provides meals for students on the meal plan. The chefs are super friendly, and the food is surprisingly delicious for a school's cafeteria. Also, it's a buffet. If that isn't enough, there's a cafe as an alternative that is also most hours the cafeteria is not. There are plenty of good restuarants around if you don't like they school's food.

    Dorm Life

    Of course, dorm life is not suitable for the introvert that likes quite to study, but for anyone looking to become closer with the students they will be having classes with dorm life accomplishes this very easily because of the small size of the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Thomas More College is a liberal arts college. They do not only train you well in your area of interest, but they also provide students with a much more broad perspective. The school takes their academics very seriously, and a lot of the times have more challenging courses than what people expect, which is good for students who are bored easily or want a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not decide on if you like the school until you go there. Many students that go there fell in love with the school the day they stepped foot on campus.

    In three sentences

    Thomas More College becomes your second home. The staff are nice and considerate, and are always glad to find a way to help anyone and everyone. You will also find the happiness on campus is quite contagious.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lock your dorm door and you shall never have a problem.

    Greek Life

    Just one chapter of Greek life is available on campus for females and males. However, the price for Greek life is extremely reasonable and everyone is admitted.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join an activity or club the people you met there will become your friends for life.

    Bang for the buck

    While a private college rates are reasonable as the college is a non-profit.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events on campus it is just up to you to be present for them.

    Food and Dining

    There is always room to sit down and eat or time to grab a food box if you are on the go. However since we are a small school the food can start to be the same old, same old.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorms is great as long as you choose to participate in it.

    Academic Rigor

    College is not high school assume the proper attitude and you shall achieve academic success.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, end to end on campus is visible from one spot anywhere on site.

    Greek Life

    NOne

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of athletic teams, limited non- athlete groups. No Greek Life

    Great for these types of students

    Local commuters or within a 2 hour drive for the weekend at home.

    Bang for the buck

    It's okay, price was great for what I got.

    What to do for fun

    Visit Cincinnati mostly. Not much happening on the campus itself, not much of a town either.

    Food and Dining

    Limited choices, and terrible!

    Dorm Life

    Mostly commuters, unless you are an in season athlete. Very one leaves every weekend

    Academic Rigor

    Classes were good, I enjoyed the professors

    Tips for prospective students

    Being a local resident or within a 2 hour commute is probably best for your chances of enjoying this campus.

    In three sentences

    The Campus is small, and the student body is mainly commuters. The Housing is nice, the football program is very good. The classes are small, and professors are good.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Most are pretty cool, however, there is that one that gets bored and does whatever he can to do his job

    Greek Life

    One of each and they don't do much

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes

    What to do for fun

    There is so many sporting events that everyone goes and you get inf for free. There is also other activities throughout the year (esp. the fall and spring and fall) that the RSA puts on.

    Food and Dining

    The salad bar, sandwich bar, and create your own are definitely the best foods. Everywhere else kinda sucks or is under a heat lamp too long.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms suck not gonna lie but the upper class man dorms are great. However, most people after their freshman or sophomore years live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The Biology department is definitely tough and you will find out first semester if you are made for it of not. The Business department is also tough, however you have a lot more fun there and meet great people.

    Tips for prospective students

    First semester is rough but you will get the hang of it. Take tips that the professors themselves give you at the beginning of the semester.

    In three sentences

    Its a great small college where everybody knows everybody. More athletic based than anything. If you're not an athlete you are basically a nobody.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food service is moderate. They go out of their way to constantly poll students on how they are performing and actually take steps toward fixing whatever concerns students may have.

    Dorm Life

    It is very convenient living on campus. Everything is close and students have the opportunity to experience living on their own.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is very stimulating and challenging. The faculty goes to great lengths to insure that students will graduate with a high quality education that is relevant to the fields they are entering.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is rarely if ever any issues on campus and if there are it is small and can easily be solved by the campus safety which is in the Saints Center next to the dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs on campus. From Biology Club to Student Government. Also language clubs, student life, sorority and fraternity.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are quiet and like the comfort of home. Also those who love athletics.

    What to do for fun

    For fun we go to Five Seasons Country Club, all students have free access to its facilities. The Interlude Cafe is another hangout on campus. There is the outdoor basketball court, gym and weight room. Also there is the volleyball court and the villa (game room).

    Food and Dining

    There are two options for food on campus the cafeteria and the interlude (cafe). Cafeteria is a buffet and is under the meal plan. The Interlude has both meal plan and flex cash options. It is nice because it the hangout of campus with the pool table and big screen. Everything you want that is not on campus is across the street at the outlet mall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. There are three on campus: Murphy- co-ed, Ackerman- all male, and Marian/Howard- all female. Each dorm has its own events, multiple a month, and you do not have to be from that dorm to attend. The rooms are spacious, have own heat/ac, free wifi, free cable, free laundry, and everyday clean bathrooms. The visitor hours are nice with every week day Sunday thru Thursday is 10am-12am and weekends Friday and Saturday is 10 am to 2 am.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic level is a little stringent. I will say that my chemistry professor, among others, will tell you that their implemented curriculum is harder than what they went through in college. Applying yourself is necessary to succeed at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a will to learn and for excellence. Always try your hardest.

    In three sentences

    Small and quiet campus with tons of opportunities to succeed. Anything you need in terms of academics is at your finger tips every day. The social atmosphere is great because there are always events occurring.

  • 10/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a big concern here on campus and they don't take it easy, Campus Security is all over the campus and always accessible. At nights there's suppose to be someone from security at the front desk in the dorms, however, I can't say if that is accurate or not because I don't leave my dorm to see.

    Greek Life

    I am part of a Greek Sorority here at Thomas More, Theta Phi Alpha. Honestly, I really like it although I feel very different than most people there, no one really talks to me except for a very select few of the girls but I still get a very welcomed feeling when we are together as a group.

    Clubs and Activities

    There didn't seem to be very many interesting clubs. Mainly major based clubs. It would be nice if there were more clubs based on hobbies or interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Thomas More is good for any type of student however it is a little uneasy for me because I am not Catholic. I am not really religious at all and it seems like every where I go there are crosses. Even in some of my classes religion has been brought up.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Something that I think is unusual is that sometime they have bonfires on campus. Normally when I think of a college bonfire, I think of everyone going to a discreet off-campus location but they actually do it on campus so those who don't have transportation can go.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I am getting my moneys worth here. From great classes, alright dorms, and good food, it is money well spent.

    What to do for fun

    They have on-campus events quite a bit. We also get to have admission to the country club right next door.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fairly good. There have been some things that I just didn't like that I normally would. Sometimes the spices or seasonings they use, just don't go well with the food. Overall the food isn't bad at all.

    Dorm Life

    It's way too noisy. Between people being loud outside, people next door being loud, and having the marching band practice outside the dorms, it is just too loud to get a good study. However, the rooms are pretty good sized and very comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are big on academics. They expect a lot out of you but they also do a very good job with what they want you to know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save yourself the hassle of taking classes you have already taken and make sure that your college transcript from high school gets transferred ahead of time. Don't come alone, try to get a friend or two to come along with you.

    In three sentences

    Attending Thomas More has been the best choice I have made in a while. The entire group of staff here is quite phenomenal and they make me feel like a part of the school. The school here has an all around great atmosphere and I am very comfortable with going to school here.