Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Thomas Nelson Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take Math first, advocate for your education, ask questions

    In three sentences

    Excellent school for preparing for 4-yr college

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have never gone to college before, or who are returning to further their education.

    What to do for fun

    Thomas Nelson is a very laid back community, and many of us enjoy playing frisbee on the lawn, or soccer in the field, or other misc. outside activities. Occasionally there are activities for the students as a whole to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Because TNCC is a community college, there is not much to expect out of the food. The addition of the new Subway is pretty awesome though.

    Dorm Life

    Thomas Nelson does not have dorms. But the location of the campuses is very convenient for anyone living on the peninsula.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be sure to have your classes settled in the first month of registration 2. Don't be afraid to ask questions to the professors, they are all willing to answer any questions you have. 3. Be willing to share your story and struggles with others, sharing will help broaden your range of possibilities for the future.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson is a great place for people who are either returning to college or just starting, because it gives you a feel for how a 4-year institution will be. Thomas Nelson has many pluses and minuses but I think that the overall positive impact that it has on our community is far outweighs any negatives.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's cheap. In-state tuition can be covered by grants.

    Food and Dining

    Off-campus

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    For me, it's not crazy hard but it is challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just like anything else in life, you get what you put into it. You work hard, you'll come out with good grades and well prepared for the future.

    In three sentences

    It's a pretty good stepping stone school to transfer off into a four year.

  • 01/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Community colleges are great for adults going back to school, people with children or who are married, military people, or people who want to save money or live at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to a community college may not be your first choice, trust me it wasn't and still isn't my first choice, but I know it will help me down the road when I have to repay my loans.

    Bang for the buck

    It is much cheaper than any four year college so I know in the future my school debt will be a lot less.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a very nice campus but I would love to transfer to another four year college.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much information so far and especially in my English class I have been reviewing and relearning information I forgot long ago.

  • 02/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If your tying to save some money then this is the place for you. Also if you are not sure where you want to go college by going to TNCC it can help you find out where you wan to go.

    Am learning a lot

    I actually learned a lot from going here. At first I really did not think I would because it was a community college. They have such amazing teachers and they really want you to excel in your schooling. I would highly recommend this school to anyone and plus you can save so much money.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Not alot of muney for college, and students not sure what they want to do yet in life.

    What to do for fun

    they are always hosting activites.

    Food and Dining

    4 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to plan for what you want. Stay ahead of registration and buying bools because of the large amount of students its gets hectic.

    In three sentences

    The school has a lot of people who want to see you succed. They have a lot of activites that you would expect to see at a four year school. They don't have a good grasp on helping students finds their passion.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    TNCC cares about there students who work hard by acknowledging them with Phi Theta Kappa if you have a 3.0 GPA. They also raise money for special activities such as ball room dance, prom and dance clubs.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of activities, basketball, baseball, soccer and they have plenty of organization clubs you can join and be invited to join.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms at TNCC but living arrangements are affordable around the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join TNCC there have plenty of activities for you and they care about you graduating it will show in your graduation. They have online classes that are understandable and great teachers.

    In three sentences

    TNCC is helpful and they take the time to communicate with you. We have teachers that are dedicated and will go out there way to help you. Plenty of activities for you to join and be nominated for.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never any severe problems on campus. I sincerely believe that is will a safe school year. My schoolmates will make sure that no one is going to dismantle our safety and communication of TNCC!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    If there is either Yearbook or Drama (for my voice acting skills), I'll be thrilled to join with a blink of an eye. Additional clubs and activities will be nice. I would like to know what are in this campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual about the campus. It's just that I've never been here before.

    What to do for fun

    Me? If I have nothing to do, I'll might as well look for something social around the campus, like play sports with others, make new friends, do my homework, relax quietly with some music from video games, try to find a job flexible enough for school and work.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria looks glamorous, and I sense good lunch and/or dinner in that nice and clean area.

    Dorm Life

    I not planning to live in campus just yet because I currently live neraby.

    Academic Rigor

    No one is to have one problem with other students in the campus, causing to become dangerous.

    Tips for prospective students

    We Gators will gain our right to do well have a fun time at college other than any other social places to go or at home.

    In three sentences

    The school itself looks neat and well organized, yet it is bigger than I thought it would be. I think I can hang out there and find previous, current, and new friends there. I just hope I don't get too lonely like I was before because no one talks with me anymore.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Completely safe. I never worry. I walk to campus from my house sometimes at all times, day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a community college there is a lot to get into. They have anything you could think of. If they don't, starting something wouldn't be a problem.

    Great for these types of students

    new students, returning students, all ages.

    What to do for fun

    The beach! Virginia Beach is good, but can be crowded. Closer beaches on the bay are a definite plus. Perfect for tanning and having a low key dip. Bushe Gardens and Water Country are nearby. Concerts are held in many different places nearby.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of places within a 5 mile radius and even more if you want to explore. Downtown Hampton has some great hole in the walls, you just have to go looking.

    Dorm Life

    The surrounding area has some decent prices for renting situations, but there isn't anything offered on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on your classes and what type of professors you have. Its not cut throat which is nice because it is an easy environment to learn and adapt into college life whether you're young or old getting started, or a veteran student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive and know what you want before you talk to anyone. Do your research about anything from course offerings and especially financial aid. Be on top of your deadlines...do things weeks in advance!

    In three sentences

    The school is a good start or good place to get back on your feet. There are many programs and resources available. The surrounding area is nice and quiet.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are constantly employees patrolling the parking lots, in addition to the police call boxes located around each building.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than any other community colleges in the area, and better services and educational experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of on campus events, sports, and student clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    I have not had any experience with the food/dining at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes range in their level of difficulty; some are great for beginner college students learning how to be successful students, while others are much more rigorous, preparing a student for the next level of education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go talk to counselors; there are a wide range of people to help with financial aid, research, tutoring services, transferring to a four year school, and more.

    In three sentences

    TNCC offers a wide range of associate degrees, throughout two campuses convenient to just about anyone living in this region. The professors take genuine interest in the success of their students, offering feedback and going above and beyond to teach both in and out of the classroom. The staff sincerely cares and works incredibly hard to ensure the affordability of classes, success while enrolled, and further pursuit of education after graduation.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is great campus security. If you needed to be walked to your car at night, there are buttons you push to have an officer there.

    What to do for fun

    They have a tennis court and you are not to far from the Movie theater and the mall.

    Food and Dining

    They have a food court in the college, but not a lot of selections.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms on the campus but there are apartments all around the town.

    Academic Rigor

    I did not like any of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interest in Arts,Languages, or nursing this college is great for you.

    In three sentences

    The campus is great for people who wish to pursue a career in arts or languages or nursing, but for everything else it isn't worth it.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    not know

    What to do for fun

    test each other on what we learn

    Tips for prospective students

    dedication honesty ready ask question if needed

    In three sentences

    my school is clean.very helpful.Agood graduating percentage.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty good here. I haven't witnessed or seen any danger on campus and there is security everywhere.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, there is rarely any greek life on campus, but there is a fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always activities going on around school. The Student Government Association is a very good club to attend to in order to discuss some issues dealing with the school and making propositions to host certain events for the school. Sports are always fun! I love going to games and cheering for my school and show my pride! I mean who wouldn't?

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for ANYONE!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions or locations.

    Bang for the buck

    Thomas Nelson Community College is sooooooo cheap for students who find finances very limited or low. I used to go to Virginia Commonwealth University and I haven't received any financial aid whatsoever. I couldn't even get a loan there or a private loan to that school, but TNCC made it possible for me in every way!

    What to do for fun

    For fun, it's always great to join activities and clubs. Always stay engaged in school!!!! It actually makes a difference.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty great and acceptable. I can't complain. Plus, there are a few food places near the campus if I didn't want to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Well there isn't a dormitory on campus for Thomas Nelson, but my living situation is absolutely fine.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers do prepare you at the beginning of the semester to start studying now and forming study groups is very important and helpful not only for you but others as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think that this school prepares alot of students in order to transfer to a 4 year university. I can honestly say as a transfer student myself, I wish I would have chosen to go to community college first. It's more of a steady-paced step to take if you are scared as a freshman to go to a four-year university.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson Community College is very affordable. The teachers I had here are very supportive in helping you pursue your career. The class scheduling is not that bad.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you do choose TNCC, make sure you stay on top of them! You have to constantly follow up and make sure they're doing their jobs, especially the financial aid department.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson can't get their act together, they are constantly screwing up and pointing the finger at others. They have canceled classes I was registered for, screwed up my financial aid too many times to count, and their advisors enrolled me in the wrong major, which again held up my financial aid! I know we all choose community college because its affordable, but don't bother with TNCC if you can help it; not worth the hassle.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always at least two cops on the campus which is nice since it isnt that big. I always feel safe going to school even at 10 pm.

    Clubs and Activities

    Even though its a community college they have TONS of clubs and even some sports, including : Soccer, tennis, badminton, basketball and many others!

    Great for these types of students

    Thomas Nelson is great for anyone who is ready to start a new chapter in their life and to gain better knowledge of their career while doing so.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year they have a fall festival where all the faculty comes out for games and food. It is a lot of fun and i love that there is a holding tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    Since there is no dorm or dining the cost is very reasonable and the financial aid counselors really help you out! Since you arent paying a lot it is easier to save the money for bills and for when you are ready to transfer to another college or to a university.

    What to do for fun

    Since its in the prime of the hampton roads area there is plenty to do! Shopping in newport news, mini golfing, busch gardens and water county usa in williamsburg, bowling and yorktown beach; There really isnt anything else you could want!

    Food and Dining

    Since there is no dining hall we can eat at any restaurant we please and we do get student discounts at a lot of fast food joints so my friends and i can still go out to eat and save money!

    Dorm Life

    Since there is no dorm life it makes it easier for the student to experience the real world while gaining an education.

    Academic Rigor

    While the teachers do have a lot of knowledge to give out they are understanding and make most of the assingments up to date and fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont take this as a joke. A lot of the proffesors were professors for william and mary, Old dominion university, James Madison university and many others. The professors do take their jobs seriously!

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson is an exciting and caring school. They open the doors for everyone including those who just graduated high school to those, in an older generation, who are ready for a new beginning. Thomas Nelson has really shown me that no matter your age everyone deserves the right to their own education.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Subway is very good here

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It is thought very well and is understandable

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus have a good crew of campus security, who are always available in their office, and are always alert.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who can't fully afford a four year school, but still want to get more than just a high school education.

    Bang for the buck

    The rates per credit hour are pretty good for Virginia residents, and actually make you feel like you won't spend the rest of your and your parents life drowning in debt over school.

    What to do for fun

    they have a few interesting classes, some of which include exercise, like Yoga, Pilates, and even bowling!

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway available on campus for a student who needs a quick lunch in between or after class. They also have tons of vending machines available all over campus.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live at home since this college is very close.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are mostly organized, stay on topic, and always there to help a student in need. They have great notes for study material, and keep their websites updated daily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose classes that you will need in order to reach your goal. Make sure you don't overwhelm yourself with too many classes, and always ask your teachers for help when needed. Also, constantly and review notes for future tests and quizzes.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson is a good school, with a wide selection of classes and teachers. The employees are helpful and make you feel comfortable. the atmosphere is very welcoming for just about everybody.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is plenty of on campus security, they constantly surveillance the campus on golf carts and there are emergency buttons all over campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for just about anybody trying to get a degree in something or just further their education for a fraction of the price of a four year school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The center of the school is a giant open area with a strange metal art piece in it. Good place to sit and relax between class.

    Bang for the buck

    Good prices for credit hours and worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers a handful of exercise and physical classes like bowling.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, the cafeteria has a subway which is nice because you know the food is decent and quick to grab

    Dorm Life

    I live at home so i can't really say much here. Also i don't believe community colleges such as thomas nelson have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is pretty thorough in their work

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pay attention to deadlines for signing up and tuition because a lot of students tend to not meet these deadlines and end up having their classes dropped. Also to keep in touch with the schools online system blackboard which will help keep you organized with your school.

    In three sentences

    The school has a very open environment with a huge open area in the center which makes it relaxing and comforting. The parking lot is huge which is good because its not too hard to find a parking spot. And the cafeteria has a subway which is also nice.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have many campus police and help boxes around school at all times!

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students and students whose careers do not require more than an Associate's Degree.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway on campus, plenty of areas to eat, and many (many) vending machines (one in the cafeteria by the Subway has frozen meals).

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers definitely require a high level of work but there's also some who are extremely easy and you basically have to attend class to get an A.

    In three sentences

    I am going here in order to transfer to a 4-year college and it definitely has a variety of academic programs that fit almost everyone. Although it's not top-notch education, there are good teachers and good classes from which you can get a well-rounded education. It's definitely beneficial for students who plan to transfer or who are pursuing degrees that don't require more than an Associate's degree.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have been rather impressed with the safety of this campus.

    What to do for fun

    People in this area usually go to Busch Gardens and Virginia Beach or just invent their own fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is only a Subway on the Hampton Campus. Even though there isn't much to eat on campus, you can get a decent off campus meal rather easily at both the Hampton and Williamsburg campuses sense they are surrounded by several restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the classes at Thomas Nelson, as with any other school, depend on your teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip for a prospective student would have to be for them to check their e-mails so they can avoid being dropped from a particular class.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson is a small college with a friendly atmosphere. The teachers here are very passionate about what they do and most of them are willing to go out of their way to make sure you understand the material. The worst part of my experience here so far has been dealing with the financial aid staff, meeting with them is very time consuming.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In between classes, you can find many students hanging out in the cafeteria on their laptops or maybe even having fun with their peers. There are many different clubs and sports teams to join like soccer or the ballroom dance club. In reality though, it is all how you make your experience at the school. You can either make it fun or boring.

    Food and Dining

    Inside the school there is a Subway. Students who don't bring their lunches or dinner from home can easily buy something from the restaurant. It is a nice addition and a lot of the students here enjoy eating from there.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, Thomas Nelson is a community college and therefore it cannot provide student housing on campus. So the dorm life here is not quite happening.

    Academic Rigor

    Thomas Nelson is high in its academic standards. The instructors expect a lot out of their students. Most classes there are challenging and can make one think very profoundly for the rest of his stay. There are a multitude of choices for majors in associate degrees ranging from programs like social sciences and even pre-nursing. The instructors there have a personal tocuh whenever they teach. They will remember who you are, what your face looks like, and they will help you to graduate on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is just like any other four year college. Which means that time and effort will have to be put into all of your classes. Don't treat it like a joke. Make time for yourself to get your assignments done and turned in on time. On a side note, and this is from personal experience: Do not allow your personal life to mingle with your studies, and most importantly your ambition. Other than that, try to make the best out of what the school has to offer. (i.e. getting involved with a club or sports team etc.).

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson Community College is an excellent starting point for any aspiring students going into a myriad of careers. There are many programs which offer a step into the next level of education. It is also ideal for any student wanting to transfer to a four year university.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus, there are soccer fields, a volleyball field, tennis courts, and several gazebos where people like to just hang out. Its a small campus but there are plenty of places to go to in order to enjoy yourself.

    Food and Dining

    The only dining they have on campus is a Subway, which is a very cheap, good, and healthy way to keep yourself fueled throughout the school day.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. Thomas Nelson Community College is a commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    I went to a college prepatory school so the academic rigor to me is nothing that I am not used to. In fact, I did more work in high school than I am doing now at Thomas Nelson Community College. However, they do keep you busy, but the work is not difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare well in advance in order to register for classes and/or apply to the college. It's a difficult process due to a relatively unorganized staff but after the process is complete, its all smooth sailing from there if you do your work.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson Community College is a great way to save money and get your general classes out of the way before transferring to a 4-year institution. The teachers are amazing and the students are humble. However, the staff in financial aid and enrollment services are unorganized and are infamous for losing your information.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always cops driving around the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody that cant afford a four-year university right away, or maybe can't get in because of low grades.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a fall festival where they blow up a bunch of basketball hoops.

    Bang for the buck

    It's great. Not more than $5,000 a year!

    What to do for fun

    There are some activities like plays and recreational sports, but I usually just talk to the people around campus then leave.

    Food and Dining

    They have a Subway and a bunch of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm because it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the work is challenging, but most of the courses I've taken are simple and easy to follow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure you set aside enough time to study for all of your classes at least three times a week. Go to class on time and never skip unless you're sick.

    In three sentences

    A nice alternative to a regular four-year institute. It's cheap and there are plenty of good teachers; however, some of their foreign teachers need to learn the English language better. Overall, Thomas Nelson is a great community college.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports, Volley ball

    Food and Dining

    Subway available

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Educated progessors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early so the class doesnt fill up.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson is a great college with small class sizes. The counselors are very helpful. Also the campus is small so its easy easy to navigate.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Spending time with my girlfriend and family.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is okay.

    Dorm Life

    The school doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    My academic rigor is a 1 star.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep checking on your financial aid everyday.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson which I rate, is 1. Simply because they don't have major that I want which is music instrument (drums only). Besides the fact they just want more money.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police has a major presence at TNCC. There office is located in a easy to spot location on campus and they are in constant surveillance of the school grounds. Every student is required to get a college decal for their car and if it is not posted in plain site campus police will definitely issue you a ticket.

    Greek Life

    I have not noticed a substantial greek presence at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student life is very visible in the amount of clubs and student participation in the various clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Thomas Nelson is great for the student that is serious about completing an academic course of study. The admissions staff is knowledgable and will map out the best classes and schedule for prospective students. Your professors will teach, guide, and make themselves available to you. And the job opportunities and on the job experience through work-study programs are an added bonus. If you are serious about succeeding and working hard Thomas Nelson will have a place for you and prepare you for success.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Thomas Nelson Community College has been recognized for the 4th year in a row as a military friendly school. Traditionally the namesake of the school was a governor, signer of the declaration of independence and helped to finance Washington's army during the Revolutionary War.

    Bang for the buck

    Thomas Nelson is a great community college. If you are pursuing an Associates or looking to transfer the school is accredited and worth every penny. You save money and time by attending a community college and then transferring into a state school. As previously mentioned many engineering and medical majors start there career at TNCC. Which is bolstered as well by the work-study programs that TNCC promotes as well.

    What to do for fun

    The local area is great for just about anyone. TNCC has several locations but its centered in a very military and college friendly part of Virginia. The Hampton Roads area hosts several museums and outdoor theme parks. Busch gardens is about a half hour away. The nightlife scene is far from boring many bars and movie theaters are minutes away from campus. Virginia as a whole is a very historical state so there are many landmarks and historical sites to view as well

    Food and Dining

    On-campus dining consists of subway and a plethora of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any on-campus dorms but in the common area there are several listings for tenant housing and roommate seekers. This is a heavily populated military area so house sharing isn't uncommon.

    Academic Rigor

    TNCC boasts agreements with some of the top state schools in the state. The academic rigor of the courses taken here is comparable to those at the University and State college level. Many engineering and medical major start their respective pre-requisites at Thomas Nelson Community College. Due to the small classroom sizes and the immediate email and blackboard response from professors academically challenge courses are manageable. Tutoring is available through students as well as on-campus math and science labs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Thomas Nelson has several transfer agreements with the state colleges. VCU, Hampton University, and Norfolk State University all have transfer agreements with TNCC for a variety of majors. The class room sizes are small, and the admission staff is always welcoming to questions from prospective students. Many engineering and medical majors attend Thomas Nelson for their pre-requisites. TNCC is one of the few community colleges that offer transfer agreements and the necessary courses needed for engineering and the medical professions.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson is an exceptional 2-year community college. If you are a new college student or transfer the educational opportunities are overwhelming. This school is one of the largest and most influential community colleges in Virginia.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would have to say that I would give five stars to the Williamsburg Campus. Beware of the hampton campus though! It's in a sketchy part of town.

    Clubs and Activities

    Bible study, chess club, and many others.

    Great for these types of students

    Parents, part time students, students needing to save money, people going back to school, people looking for a second career, veterans, and students looking to transfer to a 4 year university.

    Bang for the buck

    I paid $120 per credit hour. Had I gone to the 4 year school that I originally applied for, I would have paid $495 per credit hour for the same courses! Definitely a bang for the buck!

    What to do for fun

    Check the student activities calendar! There are lots of fun things to do that are sponsored by the student activities office! Students also get discounts on public transportation, trips to movie theaters, restaurants, and more!

    Food and Dining

    I would have to give it a one star. The Historic Triangle campus has no dining facilities. This has disappointed many of the HT students.

    Dorm Life

    Thomas Nelson has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of people assume that because it's a community college, it's less rigorous! Do NOT make that assumption. And do not go here thinking it will be the 'easy route'. It is not.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Register as soon as possible. 2. Pay as soon as possible. 3. Avoid buying books at the bookstore. They are WAY too expensive! But be warned that the Math, ITE, and foreign language books MUST be purchased at the bookstore due to having specific access codes.

    In three sentences

    Awesome!

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Full time workers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    So far I have not been able to find anything unusual at school.

    What to do for fun

    Hit the gym

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that the classes you intend to take will transfer to a four year university. Make sure you research the professors or teachers that you will eventually get.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this school as a somewhat competitive college. The level of education that I receive there is acceptable but I do feel some of the teachers are just there to collect a check. I also feel that they need more staff professors actually teaching at this school.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    they have a subway

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    It is not hard if you apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class.

    In three sentences

    Tncc has helpful teachers who only want you to excel. There was not much extracurricular activities. Good place to go if you are not ready for a four year university.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They always have plenty of activities going on that you can get involved with. These activities are announced on bulletin boards throughout the school along with the one posted right in the entrance of the building, and they are also announced at the start of each class every day by your teacher.

    Food and Dining

    They have a little cafe lounge where you can enjoy a break from the classroom.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so they do not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes seem to be very easy for me, but I have always been a quick learner. It is a great place to start your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of being able to talk to the guidance counselors and financial aid advisers. Also, don't create a schedule for yourself that seems unobtainable in reality.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson Community College has been a wonderful place to begin my education. The staff has been nothing but helpful in getting me on track in my busy life. Even when it has felt like there was no hope in getting school financially taken care of, they came through with the answers.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The student center has a Subway.

    Academic Rigor

    Some are difficult, but most are manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are up on all the information you need to attend clases. Ask questions.

    In three sentences

    The school is very easy to get around. All within walking distance of each building.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its campus police on campus at all times

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    LOCATED IN PENINSULA WORKFORCE ON CERTAIN DAYS

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ITS A LOT OF WALKING WHEN YOU DON'T HAVE REGISTER DECALS.

    Bang for the buck

    IT LOCAL AND CONFIDENT PRICES AND DISCOUNTS

    What to do for fun

    EXPLORE BY WALKING TO DIFFERENT HALLS ON CAMPUS

    Food and Dining

    SUBWAY ON CAMPUS

    Dorm Life

    I AM NOT A SUTDENT ON CAMPUS. I LIVE OFF CAMPUS IN A APARTMENT

    Academic Rigor

    Administrative Support Technology

    Tips for prospective students

    If having any questions, talk to your academic advisor.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson is a great college. Its made me proud from what I learned over the past 6 weeks. From attending so far, I would recommend any student to attend Thomas Nelson Community College.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    working or parents

    What to do for fun

    All types of activites hosted by clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious about the classes, they work very hard.

    In three sentences

    Great school. Very involved and knowledgable teachers. Makes you feel right as home.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The adherence on safety is top of the line and no joke. The campus police will even reinforce the rules while you are on campus for your safety.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Thomas Nelson is undeniable with the subway offered, that is more of a reason to keep coming back for more.

    Dorm Life

    If Thomas Nelson had dormitory I would live on its campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this school are set very high and pretty much gear you for more advance stages of your field. Although its a community college its standards in academic difficulty would be the same at a university.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a SUBWAY!

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the Nursing program and it is extremely hard!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and you will do great! Try to look on rate my professors.com...some of them aren't great teachers...

    In three sentences

    i enjoy a lot of the professors there. The overall college experience here is convenient and affordable! Great college to attend!

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    student commons

    Tips for prospective students

    be open to enlightment

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson community college is our community education go to. They supply all our educational needs at a reasonable cost. Thomas Nelson has 2 campuses, so the peninsula has adequate places to attend.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police and security guards can always be located easily.

    Bang for the buck

    They offer many of the classes of the same course at different times of the day, and different days of the week to it your schedule.

    What to do for fun

    There are always different activities to join, such as flash mobs and poetry contests.

    Food and Dining

    Subway at the hampton campus is really good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know of any dorms for TNCC, but the commute isn't bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look through the work force development opportunities for quick education to help land a job. Speak with a counselor when you are unsure of what classes to take. Never be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Great opportunities in the medical field. New Williamsburg campus is fresh and full of friendly people willing to help you in any way. Distant learning classes make it easy to earn a degree with a busy schedule.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security all over the place in parking lot and in the hallways.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't had any meals here.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms this is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    Thomas Nelson's adademicial well rounded. It has a set of standards and expectations for all students and the school faculty and administration.

    In three sentences

    I feel that Thomas Nelson is the right school for me. Thomas Nelson is in a convenient location, it provides the academic curriculm that in need for my major, and the credits are transferable. The course instructors are very knowledge and helpful.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, I have never personally had any difficulty with anything.

    Great for these types of students

    Wonderful setting for adult students.

    What to do for fun

    You can join many clubs offered in the school. Volunteer and be proactive, its very easy to start your own club if you have specific interest not addressed or offered by the school.

    Food and Dining

    The Historic Campus does not have a dining facility, however they have a vending/lounge area. Also there are restaurant that are reasonably priced within minutes of the school. The Hampton Campus has a Subway with in the school along with many vending machine options. This Campus also has reasonably priced restaurants within minutes of the school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this school.

    Academic Rigor

    No matter if you have just graduated college a year ago or twenty years, the school provided resources to help you where you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking of attending Thomas Nelson my favorite campus to attend is the Historic Campus. It has lots of up to date equipment, and many school community events.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson is a wonderful school. It has people of all ages. I feel a sense of community within the school and I am happy to be attending.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The school itself only has a Subway franchise at average quality, but there are other great restaurants, fast-food restaurants, and franchises just down the street from the school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms offered by this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are taught very well by professors. Professors are there to help when you ask, not fail you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I personally think every student should start at a community college such as Thomas Nelson. You can learn at a slower and less overwhelming pace. Thomas Nelson Community College is great for this reason.

    In three sentences

    Thomas Nelson is a great school for all people of different ethnicities and backgrounds. Know matter who you are, everyone has access to great benefits such as joining the organization TRIO, free tutoring, and jobs that students can take on to help for tuition. It's a great way to start your college experience and get your feet wet.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a few police officers patrolling, not to mention campus police (although I don't know how much power they have). Never felt worried about getting jumped or my car being jacked.

    Clubs and Activities

    Practically non-existent

    Bang for the buck

    (Mostly) great teachers, small classrooms, very cheap tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Meet some friends, go out for drinks after class, standard stuff I guess.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway in the Hampton campus I think...

    Dorm Life

    ...It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Not hard, just take notes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you enroll early, otherwise you might be taking classes at the further campus of the two!

    In three sentences

    It is excellent for what it is. What it lacks in campus life it more than makes up for with its versatility in use and inexpensive tuition. Their motto is something like from here you can go anywhere, and I believe that to be very true.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is fully staffed with a security crew keeping the student body safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most organizations are located at the main campus, leaving few activities for the satellite campuses.

    What to do for fun

    Various student organizations and activities are offered, and an appealing social climate is maintained.

    Food and Dining

    Few venues are available for food on campus; however, many quality restaurants and fast food venues are nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Quality courses are offered with a serious and challenging faculty. However, they are truly interested in your success and will offer all the help you need to achieve your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college has high-quality academic advising. Take advantage of it by meeting often and clarifying any questions you have. Choose your classes and professors prudently, perhaps referencing existing students or resources such as RateMyProfessor.com

    In three sentences

    The college is an excellent institution committed to academic success and promotes a healthy learning environment for its students. Additionally, the college offers an easy and affordable venue to help many achieve their personal and academic goals. Finally, the college is an excellent choice for anyone wishing to transfer to a four-year institution, receive certifications, or simply become academically and personally enriched.

  • 06/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your work. It is not that difficult.

    In three sentences

    Personally, my experience here has been a good one. I am doing good here, and my grades have improved since transferring. I wish I came here first.