Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Three Rivers Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    TRCC is great for all types of students, except for maybe those just looking for a party. I don't live on campus, so maybe there are parties in the dorms. I couldn't tell you. The environment is great for both traditional and non-traditional students and the class schedules are very flexible. The teachers work hard to connect with you and ensure that you understand the material you are working with.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a small school with a great teacher/student ratio. Because of this, classes fill up quickly so make sure you register early.

    Bang for the buck

    TRCC has the cheapest tuition in our area.

    Am enjoying being here

    All of the teachers/staff members I have encountered have been friendly and the classes have been very interesting and enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    I've been taking a lot of classes in Psychology so they kind of repeat the material. I start my advanced science classes in the Fall, and I am looking forward to learning a lot more.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Police are great! They are always walking around campus and will walk you to the car if it is late or unlock it if you lock your keys in it.

    What to do for fun

    The Staff offer a lot of activities like outdoor movies and video games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There is a lot of clubs and extra help offered if you are willing.

    In three sentences

    Three Rivers is a stepping stone for Seniors who are coming from small high school. The classes are small and the professors are willing to go the extra mile. The staff are very interested in you and your success.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel very safe attending trcc as they have campus police that keeps a close watch and is readily available.

    Clubs and Activities

    trcc offers several clubs to become involved in depending on the students area of interest.

    Great for these types of students

    trcc is great for all types of students. it is especially great for those that like a smaller school where there is a good student/teacher ratio. alot of hands on with the students from the teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    trcc has the most affordable tuition in the area.

    What to do for fun

    get involved in the sports teams at three rivers. join a club that you have interest in. volunteer.

    Food and Dining

    food is great with a variety of selection. very good hours. lots of seating available. the food is not over priced.

    Dorm Life

    i don't stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    very impressed. i would give them a 5 star easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    be open with counselor when not sure about what field you want to obtain your degree in. if needed, ask about the times different classes are offered to accommodate you. feel at ease with the financial counselor as they are there to help you find as much financial aide as possible.

    In three sentences

    i rate three rivers community college a 10, 10 being the highest rating. this rating is based on flexibility of when classes are offered. this is also based on the entire staff's knowledge and willingness to help students.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    great so far. the classes are easy to find. the advisors are very helpful.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I did not have any problem with safety while attending. Also, there were always police patrolmen close by.

    Great for these types of students

    Student who want to get their basics done for a smaller chunk of money than a university.

    Bang for the buck

    Good classes and teachers. Lots of places to eat rather close to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers seem really with it. They are interested in the learning abilities of the students and they REALLY care about your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most of the classes I attended where based on attendance for the grades. So if you're expecting a college with classes that will let you skip but still make an A, this college is not for you.

    In three sentences

    A good college to get basics done for a cheaper price. Staff and faculty are very helpful when asked.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is easy to feel safe while on campus because there is always a police officer on duty either near the classroom buildings or at the dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are great opportunities in the clubs that are provided at our school, unfortunately there is a limited amount of clubs that are available.

    What to do for fun

    There is a pool and a sand volleyball area by the on-campus housing that is a fun place to hang out at.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is limited on choices and only serves food at times that are greatly inconvenient to an athlete.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are by far the nicest on campus living spaces that I've seen provided of any college so far, universities included. They are kept clean, safe, and provide several helpful amenities, such as a laundry mat.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the professors I had this past year thoroughly tested me on a new level of academic demand while still assisting me through my struggles during the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to experience a new level of academic stress that will challenge your knowledge, but is achievable with extreme focus and work ethic.

    In three sentences

    The academic environment has encouraged me to improve upon my scientific knowledge and my composition skills. The athletic program has aided me by improving my skills as a softball player. Also, the housing community provided me with a safe and comfortable residence in my first year of college.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the movies, or to local shops.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms to know what they are like.

    In three sentences

    I really like this college, there are many professors that are willing to help with any problem. This college is near my hometown and is easy to get to when I need to retrieve my books for my online courses. I think the online classes for Three Rivers is a great way to earn your education.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I watch a movie with my family or have a big family dinner, I go to church, or I may go for a walk or play volleyball with my kids.

    Food and Dining

    I go home and eat.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I am determined to be the best nurse that I can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should give this college a try. They have many programs to get you into the job field that you want to be in. Or, if you are interested in doing something different, they can help you with that, also.

    In three sentences

    I think it is a very good college. The instructors are helpful and explain everything you need to know. I am glad that I am attending college there.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I hear the food is good. I do not know personally.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Grading is very fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feel free to come check it out. Don't be afraid to get a step ahead.

    In three sentences

    Three Rivers is a very good school. I would recommend it to anyone. I like that it's close to home.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security cops patrol on a daily basis and are available for all students

    Greek Life

    TRCC has a greek society

    Clubs and Activities

    TRCC offers sports programs, concert and jazz bands, rodeo club, forests clubs, theatrical club, academic clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not ready for dorm life or don't have the finances for a university would greatly benefit from a community college. TRCC has expanded to several towns and cities to help keep cost down for students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown.

    Bang for the buck

    Fees at TRCC are very reasonable considering most colleges accept the classes you've taken.

    What to do for fun

    I was a member of the band while attending and enjoyed working the ag expos.

    Food and Dining

    I did not utilize the cafeteria from this college.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classroom settings are very similar to high school classes. I was able to get help or ask questions with no problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Deciding what area of study you enjoy before enrollment is helpful so you don't waste time and money taking unnecessary classes.

    In three sentences

    TRCC is a great community college it has been a stepping stone for me to continue my education in aviation.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is the most secure site in town! The cops minimum are stationed on campus at all times, both male and female! You cannot help, but feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    The BSU is the most active in my opinion and obviously where I spent most of my time! With the friendly faces, free lunches on Mondays, worship Monday at noon and Wednesday nights, free wi-fi, and comfy couches, there is no way to replace the BSU's effect on my life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Last year, there was a Zombie vs. Human war. This year, the college hosted a laser tag competition. For the last two years, the Show Me Whatcha Got Talent Show has been help on campus as well as many visiting acts.

    What to do for fun

    The college has a lot of sports teams as well as a very active BSU on campus. Last year, the big thing on campus was the Zombie vs Human war. The city's coliseum often has fairs or concerts going on as well. We have a theatre, but the biggest hangout in town is still Wal-Mart.

    Food and Dining

    There is no real cafeteria at the college. The Bess Student Center offers a small cafe but the food is horrible; for the same price or cheaper, it is better to travel to one of the many close restaurants. Bread Company, Burger King, Papa Johns, Pizza Hut, Wendys, Buffalo Wild Wings, Long John Silver's, A&W, Exotic Grill, Fazoli's, El Alcapulco, and Marble Slab are all very close.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms but they cost $1600 per semester and that is not including food or gas money. The students that do live in the dorms grow very close though.

    Academic Rigor

    TRC does strive to have competent professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Check finances. They offer tons of scholarships. No reason to pay. 2. Make sure to sign up for the A+ Program! 3. Be involved with sports. 4. The BSU is AMAZING! Stop by on Mondays to Worship!

    In three sentences

    TRC is a wonderful college that attempts to cater to a wide range of students. Their constantly expanding programs is excellently detailed to prepare you for the next step in your life, whether you are heading into the work force or continuing to pursue education. TRC has two big cons: the dormitories are outrageously priced and a lot of the professors are bad about cancelling class without any notice (when a lot of students have to drive thirty minutes to class).

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are not very many opportunities for events.

    Food and Dining

    I live with my parents.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    They semi-encouraged me to finish my assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    I could encourage you to take in class courses as opposed to web based.

    In three sentences

    Three Rivers Community College can seem unprofessional. Not only do the teachers cancel class at times, they also forget to grade assignments. Most are very good teachers, but some seem unqualified for the positions.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always patrolling and never far away. Not that our college is dangerous but the knowledge that they are there is a bonus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not a lot of clubs but those that exist are fun to join.

    Great for these types of students

    All types

    What to do for fun

    The town has a bowling alley, skating ring, movie theater, stage theater and multiple parks. There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Campus Bread Co. is about like walking into the off campus one up the street.

    Dorm Life

    No experience with our dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors want you to pass and offer extra help and often recommend the tutoring center if students need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think that because it is a small school, that it will be easy to go through. Small town-everyone knows everyone.

    In three sentences

    I love my college. The campus may be small but it is growing and though the classes are limited to maybe 30 people I see that as a better learning environment. The teachers are centered more on making sure each student understands the lesson and in some cases the class is somewhat like a family.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Three Rivers is one of the safest colleges in Missouri! They have actual police officers who are employed by the city of Poplar Bluff! There is at least one officer on campus at all times! The officers are very friendly and willing to assist you in almost anything you need!

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several different clubs that you have the opportunity to join at the beginning of the year! If you want to have fun and boost your social life joining clubs is a great way to do that!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who didn't have a great GPA in high school or if you're from a low income family. It's really great if you don't know what you want your major to be because of how affordable it is!

    Bang for the buck

    Poplar Bluff is a fairly small town (about 17,000 people) but a lot to offer! It is a growing community that is expanding everyday! There are three local gyms plus the one the college has. There are a bunch of great fast food restaurants located all over town! There are even a few more fancy restaurants if you want to go on a date. There is a pretty big movie theater and a bowling alley!

    What to do for fun

    You can attend basketball games and watch one of the greatest college coaches of all time in Gene Bess! You can play intramural sports, go to the Baptist Student Union, or just play pick up games with friends on the basketball court.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one restaurant on campus and it is alright. There is a coffee shop right beside the library that usually has good snacks! If you want great food though you will have to go off campus, luckily there are a variety of restaurants within a few blocks of the campus!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great! The dorms are a suite style set up. There are usually four people in each dorm and everybody has their own room. There are two bathrooms in each dorm so that means two people share each bathroom. There is a kitchen that has a refrigerator, dishwasher, and stove!

    Academic Rigor

    Three Rivers has a great science program! All of the science instructors want to push their students to learn and they will do just that! The English department is slacking a little bit, most writing classes can easily be passed with an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    The financial aid office the only downfall to the college. It's very affordable but you must stay on top of financial aid so all your scholarships are applied.

    In three sentences

    Three Rivers Community College is a great place to attend if you are still undecided about your major. The staff is very friendly and helpful! The staffs main goal is to educate and prepare students to go on to a university.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Three Rivers provides meals that are both desirable and nutritious.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm's at Three Rivers are wonderful. It is much like having your own apartment. Being on campus allows you more time to ready yourself for class. All locations are within walking range such as:classes, restaurants, and walking trails. It is a great place to meet new people, and make new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Three Rivers professors are eager to help you obtain your goals. It is necessary that you are putting in as much effort as they are. If you are struggling they offer on campus tutoring sessions, and after class meetings. Participate and Excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Three Rivers is a great start for all students of any age. I have discovered that most everyone is in a rush to earn their degree but I would suggest limiting yourself to no more than twelve credit hours your first semester. If you are comfortable with the hours and your progress you can enroll in more classes the next semester. The campus isn't too large but it is important to be in class on time. Arrive a little early to ensure that you know where you are going.

    In three sentences

    Three Rivers has been an extraordinary step toward earning my degree. Their staff made the transition from high school to college an easy process. Whether you are on campus or online Three Rivers provides a wonderful atmosphere for all students.