Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Tiffin University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 out of 21 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are athletes. Students who want to major in Corrections, Forensic Psychology, Forensic Science, Homeland Security/Terrorism, Government and National Security, and Law Enforcement.

    Tips for prospective students

    First of all make sure you find out what you want your major to be. That helps you out in the long run. Second, make sure your grades are good and standing above a 2.8. That helps you out a lot when it comes to choosing colleges. Third, If you want to major in Criminal Justice, come to Tiffin University.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a private school so it expensive. If your major is criminal justice then this is the best university to attend. Tiffin also tries to find great athletes to offer them scholarships that they can't resist. If your an athlete that is trying to get a majority of there college education paid for then Tiffin University is the best school to come to. Make sure you score over a eighteen on your ACT though. That will make you eligible for a scholarship. Overall its pretty pricey.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a small school, so you see the same people a lot. The events that Tiffin University have are very fun and interactive. Every week they have a movie night where you can go enjoy a movie with all of your friends. Everybody is friendly and makes you feel at home. The clubs at Tiffin University help you enjoy this school a lot more. I stay busy so I don't get bored and that's all you gotta do. Just get involved. The club scene isn't the best out here but it wont hurt driving twenty minutes to Findlay to go dancing. College night on Thursday is my weekly scene in Findlay.

    Am learning a lot

    When I go to ever class I learn a lot. The instructors make sure they teach you as much in the time provided. I learn a lot inside of class and outside of class. The class sizes are small compared to big university classes, so you have more interactions with the instructor. There are a lot of hands on activities that help you learn a lot more. The instructors are here for you to learn all they teach and if you don't get it then they are here to give you extra help.

  • 07/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes and highly motivated scholars

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be shy the first couple weeks of school because that is when most of your friendships bloom. Also, ask your professors for help... that is what they are there for!

    Bang for the buck

    I have learned so much from my professors. Again, it is the effort you put into it though. Many professors will give you their home phone number and help you outside classroom hours, which is extremely useful if you are uncertain about an assignment.

    Am enjoying being here

    Even though the campus is ultra small, it makes getting to know people a lot easier. Since roughly 85% of the student body is involved in athletics it is enjoyable making friends because a majority have something in common. I met my best friend at Tiffin and my current boyfriend! I really do love the small town aspect and the intimate relationships built with friends and professors.

    Am learning a lot

    It is all about how much effort you put into your educational learning experience. I am paying an exorbitant amount of money to go to Tiffin, but I am definitely making the most of my resources and connections here.

  • 05/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Tiffin is great for all types of students. If you're studious, there are study labs all over campus. If you like involvement, there are tons of clubs and organizations. If you are athletic, there are varsity, junior varsity, and club sports available. If you like music, there are musiic groups that tour regularlty. If you're religious, there are religious groups on campus and churches all around the city of Tiffin. If you like scholarships, they have them! I've met so many people from so many backgrounds at Tiffin, and we're all a family!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise all students to jump in and have fun. College is about making connections. Once you find something you're interested in, jump in and enjoy yourself. When people see you enjoy something they are more likely to help you succeed! Also, make sure you bring some ramen noodles!

    Bang for the buck

    You get so many free offers and discounts. I recently won a new 22' Flat screen Vizio television from entering into a contest sponsored by the financial aid and retention offices. Every week there are awesome events for all students, and of course most of them are free. The education and experience are good too. (I just really like the free stuff too though!)

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something going on at Tiffin. It's a small place, so the environment is ideal for someone who loves a family atmosphere. You meet so many different people here. It's great! I also have learned alot from older students. The atmomsphere at Tiffin allows everyone to be friendly and make connections that prove to be very valuable both in your stay at Tiffin and when you leave.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the professors I have encountered at Tiffin have worked in the fields that they teach in. I love the fact that I learn from their experiences and not just the text book (Some of the professors even wrote the textbooks they teach out of).

  • 07/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are from a poorer class and can't afford the expensive college or you have too much going on at home that you can't leave but really ant to go to school, I would recommend this school for you. The distance learning program is terrific and the staff is wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to you would be study hard and use your time wisely. Classes are challenging so don't wait till the last minute. As long as you try you don't get graded badly for it.

    Bang for the buck

    I never realized how expensive college was until I ventured out on my own. Every college I have attended has been super expensive but Ivy Bridge College is workable. The teachers are always there rather it is office hours or not and they give you their cell phone or home phone numbers so you can reach them when you are having problems. I believe Ivy Bridge College has a great price range and comes with excellent service to go along with the lower prices.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is so nice and helpful. The teachers are always ready to help you along your path to success. The admissions counselors and success coaches are great as well. All the staff are excellent. The coursework is enough to keep me busy but not too busy that I don't have time to spend with the ones I love.

    Am learning a lot

    I am attending Ivy Bridge College which is the distance learning program of this school. I love it so much. The teachers are very friendly and always eager to help you out. The classes are challenging and you will get plenty of education from them. I have only attended a few semesters but I can't even begin to explain how much I have learned over the past few terms/semesters I have been a part of this wonderful college.

  • 10/20/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up the school work and the grades!!! work hard! study a lot! dont slack off and keep on the right track!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes!!! I was just awarded the Trustee Scholarship today so im extremely excited!!

    Will enjoy being here

    Very much so! I come from a school town/school atmosphere already and this school will be just the right size for me. Not too large, and not too small. a good variety and amount of students.

    Will learn a lot

    I plan to go through either the Government and National Security or the Homeland Security and Terrorism programs and go into a Law Enforcement career or into the Air Force after I graduate and the skills I will learn here will definitely help me reach those goals.

  • 06/07/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I didn't realize how expensive college could be but I intend to make the very best of this experience.

    Will enjoy being here

    The college is small and has a family atmosphere and that's very attractive to me.

    Will learn a lot

    This will be my first experience away from home and my parents and this will give me the opportunity to show them how independent I am.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    LOOK AT OTHER SCHOOLS! Go to a community college. You can get the same (or better) education for less money.

    Bang for the buck

    The cafeteria has terrible food, yet you are required to buy a meal plan! You're read to, not taught. DEFINATELY not worth the money!

    Am enjoying being here

    I have enjoyed meeting people from across the states. However, when the school says that they are their for the students and help them every way possible, they are just saying that to get you here. Once you're here, you're pretty much on your own. There was a student who got punched and SHE was punished for disruptive behavior! Yet she hadn't done anything!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors read from slides. They don't really TEACH. I can read. I came here to learn from them. I am totally disappointed in Tiffin!

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a group of people called night watch that will walk you to your classes or dorms at night and they patrol the campus throughout the night to keep the campus secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many different clubs around campus and it is easy to start clubs too. this year, an airsoft club was created. the criminal justice club is a great way to get internships and meet new people. they often bring in speakers.

    Great for these types of students

    tiffin university is great for students who wish to pursue criminal justice or business careers. they have an amazing forensic program and business program.

    What to do for fun

    for fun, they have a lot of events going on around campus. they do movies or other events. there are two ping pong tables and two pool tables. there is a bowling alley near campus and they have free glow bowling once a month. the movie theater is not too far and they have two discount days. other than that, i go to findlay, which is about 30 minutes away. they have a mall and other stuff to do there.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is not always the best. they always have pizza and usually a burger, but that gets old sometimes. some of the other food they make is really good, but often my friends and i go out to eat. unfortunately, there is only one place on campus to use your meal plan. you have to be willing to try some of their foods if you get tired of pizza and burgers, but all in all, it is not too horrible.

    Dorm Life

    i live in one of the smallest dorms so there is not a lot of people, but i still enjoy living in the dorm. the other people in my dorm are very nice and friendly. i often stop and talk with my hr (head resident) and ra (resident assistant) about what classes to take, or how their day is going. they are very nice and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    some of the classes are challenging, but the teachers are willing to work with you. i am in the honors program so some of my classes are challenging, but they are not too bad. there is also a lot of flexibility for the scheduling of the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are planning on enrolling in tiffin university, but are not positive, schedule a visit. the campus is small and the town itself is easy to navigate. also, there are a lot of clubs to get involved with and the people on campus are very nice. don't be afraid to ask any questions you may have.

    In three sentences

    tiffin is a medium sized school in an average sized town. the teachers are all really nice and are always willing to help. i am getting a great education and it is a great school.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On a scale of 1-10 I rate campus safety a 10 for safest!

    Great for these types of students

    Tiffin University is a great school for all students, whether you are a single parent, work, or stay home parent.

    What to do for fun

    I exercise and read for fun.

    Food and Dining

    A 10

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are easy and rewarding. The Instructors are very helpful and you will assist you in every way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Allow Tiffin University to help make your dreams of becoming a college graduate a reality.

    In three sentences

    I rate Tiffin University on a scale of 1-10 a 10. I am a single mother, and I am employed full time, and Tiffin has made my dreams of attending college a reality. Tiffin is the best college for working individuals, individuals that do not have free time to spare and single parents.

  • 12/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working adults and returning students. This applies only to the online programs. I do not know about their campus details.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very professional with admissions and financial aid. Prepare before making your phone calls, have the list of questions ready, and learn how to ask the Right Questions. Get those documents in on time--it strengthens rapport, and online students must build these relationships via telecommute.

    Bang for the buck

    The Degree Completing Program is very affordable to students who have had their studies interrupted. It is easy to navigate and get into, if you have basic online proficiency. I am in the Business Administration DCP, and find that it is well-designed for the working adult. The courses are given one at a time for focused study, while maintaining full-time enrollment status. This is the best feature, and makes other drawbacks worth it. The admissions staff is exceptional. Financial aid is lukewarm, especially for online students; it is best to have a backup plan for financing graduation. However, they say that online students enjoy a lower tuition cost then the traditional student does. Pell and FSEOG, yes--early FAFSA on Jan.1 gets the rewards--Perkins, no.

    Am enjoying being here

    The online forums are mandatory; the quality of discussion with fellow students is very low. Many do not have critical thinking skills and have poor spelling and grammar. The online teacher tolerated multiple incidents of a student plagerizing another students work in the forum posting. This led me to conclude that the instructor is not really reading the posts. If this kind of thing does not bother you, the online program certainly gets the job done, but it is more suitable for the independent-minded person.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been to other colleges, and based on that, so far, the online instruction quality is exceptionally average. There is not much help available for the online student, which is fine... until you need help. Many classmates struggled and could not get the help they needed. I am more realistic about what one should expect from a program, so I did fine. They routinely subsitute personal instruction by telling students to read/study other websites. Some teachers are available by chat, but sometimes students can not get connected that way for undetermined technical reasons. In this case, there is only email communication possible.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    tiffin university is a small campus so safety is not much of a worry. they have their own student run group called nightwatch that patrols campus at night time and offers to walk students back to their dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is an over abundance of clubs available on campus. if you still don't find one to cater to your needs, it's quite easy to make your own.

    Bang for the buck

    tiffin is a bit overpriced for those who are not receiving athletic or academic scholarship money.

    Food and Dining

    The school's cafeteria does not get the best of reviews, especially on the weekend. Repetitive menu choices.

    Dorm Life

    residents assistants do their job when it comes to organizing events for their dorms. they are really helpful and become very much like family.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit as many times as you can, ask to sit in on a class, and talk to any athletic coaches before you decide on where to attend.

    In three sentences

    Tiffin is a smaller university, but a good fit for those who are intent on focusing on learning. Classes are a bit on the easy side and parking can get hectic. Professor are very understanding though.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I hang with friends, go to games, plays, etc..

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that good!! Need more selections. Especially Mac & Cheese.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is exciting! Co-ed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend college to gain knowledge. Not to party. Be yourself!

    In three sentences

    Tiffin is an wonderful University. It has family atmosphere and it a great University to attend. Tiffin has a wonderfu criminal justice program.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is renowned for Business and Criminal Justice students and this is for a reason, it has many great instructors from these disciplines that provide students with real world experience and prepare them for the realities of the field after school. Those students interested in vocal and instrumental music should also be sure not to sleep on Tiffin University as well. For a school it's size, the university has a fantastic music department that ranges from the basic band and choir, to the touring instrumental and vocal ensembles. The department provides its students with experience in not only instrumental and vocal performance, but also with demonstrations on how to successfully work a sound board, and manage a studio, if they so choose. These options are available to both music and non music majors, so anyone interested in the musical arts, no matter what their skill level, should give it a shot!

    What to do for fun

    This is really all up to you! Some leave on the weekend's to go to the surrounding cities and schools, others stay on campus and play corn-hole, Frisbee, hit up the movies with friends, play video games, all sorts of stuff. The student activities board has comedian's and musicians that come to the school periodically for events, and the local Ritz theater has shows from a number of acts, some even from the school's very own music program. While some students may swear there's nothing to do that's only as true as you make it.

    Food and Dining

    My biggest gripe with the school... The Caf. While some days it can be halfway decent, other times I swear it seems like some of the chef's just give up. Be prepared for largely the same mediocre meals week after week, with little selection and even littler taste. Taco Bell run's will abound.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is much like that of any other school, except on a smaller scale due to Tiffin's size. Other than that, you have the usual: the party goers, the athletes, the musicians and all other sorts of candidates that make up the spice of the college atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    As it is in every College, academic rigor sort of varies with the instructors. Some of the professors at the school are extremely lax, while other times one would swear that they are taking a lecture at Harvard Law! If you come in with a good work ethic however, and have no qualms being in school to do just that... go to school, you will have no issues making it through the courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage prospective students to be prepared to make your own fun! Being a lifetime resident of Ohio and being from a small town much like that of Tiffin, I can honestly say that it isn't always the most exciting place on Earth, but if you give it a chance, meet some people and aren't afraid to look dumb every once in a while, you may just find yourself having a better time than you may have ever thought you could in such a tiny place.

    In three sentences

    Tiffin University is a small private University in Ohio where surprisingly big things are happening. At first glance, it may appear to be indistinguishable from any other small college, but after being here for a couple years I can honestly say there is more to it than meets the eye. I encourage anyone interested in the study of Criminal Justice, Business and Music (quite a wide range, I know) to give this University a review, you may be surprised.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel that I will be safe and secure on this campus. Anyone considering coming to Tiffin should know that it is a small campus and it is quite secure.

    Greek Life

    I know there is a Greek presence on campus, but I have not investigated it any further.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not been exposed to any clubs or other activities. My main focus upon arrival to campus will be to work with my track and field team.

    Great for these types of students

    Tiffin University would be good for a variety of students, in my opinion. If you are outgoing or to yourself, Tiffin seems to have something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any as of yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Tiffin University seems to have everything I need to be successful. I like the size of the campus and the class sizes and I believe that it should be a great value.

    What to do for fun

    As I will learn more when I arrive on campus, I have been told that there are social clubs and various other programs I can be involved in. My main activity will be track and field.

    Food and Dining

    During my registration visit, my parents and I had a chance to eat in the main dining hall in the Gillmore Center. The food and service was good.

    Dorm Life

    I will attend freshman weekend very soon. So far, I have observed the dorm as being safe and the dorm staff looks to work with residents to ensure their safety and security.

    Academic Rigor

    Because of Tiffin's high expectations of their students, it seems as if the program will be quite challenging. This level of challenge will certainly keep me busy and interested.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should keep a folder of all information received when applying for the school. This will help you to keep track of the individuals you speak with.

    In three sentences

    Tiffin is a welcoming campus where the focus is on community and academics. Tiffin is a small campus where the administration cares about the success of their students. Tiffin has high standards and expectations of their students.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Excellent bang for my bucks. You cant beat the tuition for a university.

    What to do for fun

    Great clubs, football games are great, and plenty of meeting areas for students to develop friendships.

    Food and Dining

    Clean dining areas, great menus. Fits well within the budget.

    Academic Rigor

    You will take courses that encourage personal development, as well as academically. The plans are not overwhelming but challenging you so you wont become bored. Be the dragon, and you will conquer your academic plans.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be honest with your instructors about your needs. Challenge yourself to attempt one online course. Don't procrastinate your projects and plan for the best in your self and you will achieve your goals.

    In three sentences

    Tiffin University brings all of your weaknesses and strengths into your learning experience and molds you into your career choices. The staff encourages you through the process, and accommodates you and your needs. Tiffin University instructors guide you through individual growth and provides help on individual basis.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang with friends .

    Food and Dining

    GREAT

    Dorm Life

    AWESOME

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused .

    In three sentences

    Tiffin seems like a great school to attend. I have not yet started but when I do I think I will never want to leave. I believe that their academics are amazing.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is great for when you want something quick to eat. The dining in is wonderful if you have a special someone to dine with.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is fair and not sloppy. If you do the homework that is being asked then your grades will be fine. I do my homework and I have a great GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    To the new students just do your homework, attend class, and be yourself. You will go far if you follow those three steps. The college is a great college.

    In three sentences

    I give Tiffin University a 10!!!! The college is flexible and friendly. They really understand the students needs.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Tiffin is one of the safer campuses in Ohio.

    Clubs and Activities

    Chess club, Fraternities, Business clubs, and communications arts.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is looking to be proactive in finding a job should consider this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a spot where you can stand and whisper. However, the sound will be heard from everyone on campus because the sound is trapped inside the campus. It is really neat.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs, sporting events, and other campus activities to get involved in. Just being on campus is entertaining enough on some days.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and fair priced.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone on campus is really fun and friendly. The dorms are average size. Tiffin University also offers apartments for students as well.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very easy to fall behind in class. However, if you stay organized it is very possible to stay on track.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't get scholarships, make sure you go to a 2-year school first and transfer in for a scholarship which will save you tons of money in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Tiffin is a small school that is big on your career. I personally, have only been here for one semester and already received two internship opportunities. They receive a 9-10 from me.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You have campus police and the city of Tiffin police, watching out for every student, as well as students watching out for the safety of each other!!!!! What a family!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Frat houses and sorority houses; intramural sports of all kinds, spiritual clubs and just a wide variety of activities: concerts, pizza parties, pajama parties

    Great for these types of students

    Great place for any student looking for a great education with lots of fun while pursuing your degree and the different seasons you get a chance to do different types of physical activities out doors!!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A football stadium that is shared with another college nearby and the excitement at the games by the student section is crazy loud for any visiting opponent....Go Dragons!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    What you spend for this education, you will enjoy for a lifetime. Memories, friends, the campus, other colleges nearby and big city malls, the weather ....etc....should i stop....!!!!!

    What to do for fun

    You name it, we have it here, softball, freesbies, dance-offs, block parties, malls, nearby big cities and small seclured parks with wild-life just a little something we have....!!!!!

    Food and Dining

    A dining area with several choices on the menu, spice of life dining from all over the world. Clean dining area and the atmosphere of excitement and joy going on in there!!!

    Dorm Life

    Chance to meet students from all over the world and share life stories, as well-as, creating your own with new found friends in a journey to prepare us for life!!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, the classroom studies are challenging but well worth it; after you receive your degree and more than capable of going out into society and flourishing, plus, enjoying what your doing!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus of all campuses, you will love the family atmosphere and the professors that will go out of their way to make sure you receive all you need to be successful!!!

    In three sentences

    A family of students working toward a goal of learning, discovering and challenging our minds to create a great neighborhood, a great society and a wonderful educated United States of America!!!

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The IT program for online students and general assistance for email accounts password resets etc., has been really beneficial, because they are always their at odd hours of the day.

    Greek Life

    Currently I am a member of the American Criminal Justice Association, along with a Greek chapter umbrella under the national chapter.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not gotten a chance to interact with some of the clubs due to being a student who is a distance learner.

    Great for these types of students

    Accelerated program and online program is great for those who have to work, parents, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition I experience at Tiffin University is the personal interaction that the advisors have, the will do their best to make sure you are able to complete your degree program.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want the bang for your buck you will learn to utilize all the university has to offer.

    What to do for fun

    Sandusky is not to far away, with Cedar Point Amusement Park, Kalahari Waterpark and Put in Bay not far their is plenty of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Never dine on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have seen the dorms located in a small town.

    Academic Rigor

    Like some of the course work was tough, however the professors at Tiffin University made learning a lot more interesting due to their first hand experience within the area of courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand the program of interest. Check on funding for online, traditional seating, etc. Finally understand college concept of higher learning.

    In three sentences

    Tiffin has programs and ways to complete your degree without having to change your normal lifestyles, ex: employment. Their are not a lot of scholarships for distance learning so know your options. The accelerated program has been well worth it.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's such a small town there is very little to worry about, not to say that we don't! To make sure all students are safe and secure we have a campus night watch and to anyone who feels unsafe at night, you can call and they will walk you anywhere you need to go to ensure your safe!

    Greek Life

    As I said before, there is no hazing on campus and the great thing is the campus is so small you have a greater chance of making it than on bigger campuses!

    Clubs and Activities

    The great thing about our campus is, if there's a club we don't have, find some people interested, start a petition and make it! They give everyone the opportunity to make changes on campus and they are always adding new clubs and even sports!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking to stay in a smaller town, possibly be able to work a job, work one on one with professors, and keep college costs low.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One thing that's good about our campus is we do not allow hazing for Greek life. There is pledging, but they keep a very close watch on it! We also have the traditional Ritz theatre if you are interested in plays, comedians, and musicians.

    Bang for the buck

    The college really isn't that expensive for what most colleges charge and they give you plenty of options! They are flexible with majors and class options and try to have enough events on campus to make it worthwhile!

    What to do for fun

    On campus they always have clubs and sports and little activities to do. The clubs try to sponsor events on campus for students who can't afford to go anywhere. Off campus there is a movie theater, bowling alley, lots of bars (not that I'm encouraging that), and if you drive a little ways you can go to some pretty nice night clubs!

    Food and Dining

    They do have a good selection of food but the food isn't always that great. But not to fear, if you have an on campus apartment you can cook for yourself and buy your own food!

    Dorm Life

    They try to make dorm life fun and give students something to do! There are fraternities and sororities on campus for a choice of living in frat housing and there's also a choice of on campus apartments!

    Academic Rigor

    No, I do not mean that the classes are easy, but with smaller classes its easier to stop and ask questions and really understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Asking questions is great! They are extremely helpful and are willing to take the time to help you if you are willing to ask for it. Don't let the small town scare you. There are things to do and they try to have something going on on campus at all times.

    In three sentences

    The small town and small classes make it safe and easy for students to get around campus and meet new people. With small class sizes the professors are able to have one on one time with students. They give great opportunities to students who want to make a difference.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a watch dog type of program with students who patrol the campus and dorms after hours as a security measure. School is also close to local police station.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs available

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school, so it's not cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Tiffin is a small town with little to do for fun, but the school does attempt to plan activities for students that are intended to be fun.

    Food and Dining

    I have heard good and bad about the food but I have never eaten at the school.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging academically for many classes. Many classes require papers in lieu of testing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to write a lot of papers. Know the different formats because several are used. Make a legitimate effort and utilize resources and the coursework is less intimidating.

    In three sentences

    The school is very student athlete oriented, which can make non athletes feel alienated. There are a lot of resources available though, and the course work is challenging.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe at all times.

    Greek Life

    Sororities an fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Music, Cheerleading and so much more.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student. Young and adult students are easily fit in on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    You will receive a great education that is far less expensive than what other institutions will charge you.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, organizations, shopping and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food.

    Dorm Life

    I hear the dorm life there at Tiffin University is awesome experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are hard, but you can gain a tutor if you need to have one. Always ask help if you have no clue what you are supposed to do, by asking your professor and/or another classmate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research Tiffin University, make sure its accredited, and know what you want out of your college education.

    In three sentences

    Private institution. Top notch academics and professors. Advisors, Fin. aid and other departments care about you.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Big criminal justice school

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes or International students

    What to do for fun

    Play sports or go home.

    Food and Dining

    The food was terrible.

    In three sentences

    Way too small. There is really nothing to do here except play sports. I would not recommend attending Tiffin.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With TU being located in such a small city, safety never seemed to be a problem during my four years there. I felt safer there than I do in the city I have grown up in.

    Food and Dining

    At that time, the cafe service was awesome; and the staff were able to honor any special or particular requests.

    Dorm Life

    It's was small and quaint, but I know the university has grown in size since I've graduated. From what I can still see, it just added to the culture of the university community. This has opened up other opportunities especially in regards to their already large international program.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the professors will let you know that you're being taught at a Master's level. Since enrolling into a Master's program, I can tell you how accurate that is.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a big university, this is not it. If you are looking for some great one-on-one attention and folks who will care about your personal success, this is the place.

    In three sentences

    TU was a great experience for the person interested in a small-to-mid-sized university. I enjoyed all of the professors who taught me the value of the education I was receiving. Even better, you're being taught by individuals who are major unknown heroes in their respective fields.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have Night Watch especially for the residents in Miller Hall.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Miller Hall is far away from the rest of the campus! It's not that bad really though. It's only a 6-8 minute walk from campus.

    What to do for fun

    There's not really much to do here for fun. Join clubs but not too many clubs, you want to stay on top of your academics.When there is a party, take up on that because there's really not much to do here... :\ But don't party too much...

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, just make sure not to eat the same thing every day. I eat pizza every day (their pizza is amazing!) and I've reaped the benefits...

    Dorm Life

    It's really hot in the Freshman dorms, but you'll get used to it! (:

    Academic Rigor

    It is not easy to fail here. This school gives you so many opportunities so that you don't fail out of school, one would be crazy not to take up on all of the opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about getting lost here on campus. You can't get lost here, everything is literally right in front of you. Get to know your professors! It will definitely pay off in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Tiffin University is a very small campus. You don't have to worry about anything everyone here is really nice! Do not worry about getting lost everything is literally right here.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition that TU has is called Campus Crawl

    Bang for the buck

    I just love my college. My classes are close together. My professors are the best, there are very understanding. It is so many people on campus to get help from, sop many workshops. Tiffin University has a lot to offer to students.

    What to do for fun

    Sports Tiffin has so many activities, it is so easy to get involved here.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Go to class - Stay focused - Be the best that you can be

    In three sentences

    Tiffin is small college, that's the best part. Classes are not to far apart and the students and staff here are excellent. Everyone here is treated with respect.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At first, I thought Tiffin was so boring but then I found out that if you hangout with the right crowd you will always have fun. College is what you make it of.

    Food and Dining

    I'm going to be honest I do not like Tiffin food at all , but don't get me wrong sometimes they have good food. I do not eat pork at all, and most of their food is pork but you just have to adjust to their dinning hall.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life, one of the best dorms to live in is Miller its like five or ten minutes of walking distance to go to campus. The thing with miller unlike most dorms is that its away from the school , but do not worry miller dorm is the best. The reason why, is because you become a family and you get to know one and another. There is not that much drama that goes on.

    Tips for prospective students

    * Learn how to manage your social life and school work. * If you need help TALK to your professors and go to the student success center ( which is a place where you go to get tutor and they also edited your papers). * Stay focus and get to know everyone before you start to judge people.

    In three sentences

    When you come to Tiffin University you have to remember that you came here for a reason which was to get an education or to be apart of a sport. Don't be mad or upset because you think that Tiffin is boring you have to find things to do and hangout with the right crowd of people. Tiffin is a wonderful school you learn so much and you will get a good education out of that school.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Tiffin university offers many extracurricular activities. They also have a great student center.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should take advantage of the many resources TU has to offer! The staff is committed to making their college experience worth every dollar.

    In three sentences

    Tiffin University is an excellent institution of higher education. The staff is determined to help students reach their full potential. They off many academic and carrer planning resources to students.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It's terrible

    Great for these types of students

    Small town kinda person. Like knowing everyone and okay with being bored or alone.

    What to do for fun

    Literally is nothing. Besides sports there is nothing to this place. There is 3-4 good restaurants and the rest is fast food. Then you have a movie theatre and walmart. That's all there is here basically. Most nights you sit in your room

    Dorm Life

    After freshman dorms it is great

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like sitting in your room and reliving your high school then this is the place for you. Most nights you're bored and majority of the people you see over, and over, and over again. I like the professors and the academics. Other than that there's nothing else I have liked here.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have an organization called nightwatch that will escort you back to your room or to other parts of campus if you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    i cant help you here i am not apart of greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many! and if you have an idea for a club or organization it is easy to create one.

    What to do for fun

    ahhh and here is where it gets complicated. things to do for fun... well we are in the middle of no where with fast food restaurants and a walmart. things to do for fun include.... well bowling, movies and hanging out with your college friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is honestly not that bad. it could be 100 times worse. we have an organization that is student run that helps plan meals and the weekly menu so if you dont like the food help change it.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are small and the dorms can be some what crazy but the longer you are there the better dorm life becomes. so hang in there

    Academic Rigor

    the university is known for its criminal justice and business. the academic side of tiffin university is very worth while it is obvious why Tiffin University is one of the best in the country.

    Tips for prospective students

    This campus is relatively small. so doing things for fun may come as limited but with the right people it can be a fun and enjoyable experience to be a dragon.

    In three sentences

    The academic atmosphere at Tiffin University is eye opening. The people here are nice and very friendly. coming from a big city this school was a culture shock but the staff and students made my adjustment easy.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    it's a very small and close knit campus.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play rugby, workout, hang with friends, study, sleep, and play video games!

    Food and Dining

    The food for the most part is nice. It's like everything is homecooked and that is good after not being home for months on in. It would be nice though if the students could vote on what should be served the next day more.

    Dorm Life

    I kind of feel like I live in a hotel room. With Tiffin expanding the school needs more dorms for us, but besides the size quality they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers give plenty of work and I'm actually learning more than I thought. My brain is always thinking, it's amazing thinking of all the opportunity's that will be available to me after I graduate.

    In three sentences

    Tiffin is great! It has plenty of activities, the teachers there are great; I never though college could give me that one on one experience. Lastly, I cannot say how awesome the Heminger center is 4 basketball courts, an indoor track field, and a inside turf field.

  • 03/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food in Tiffin is amazing. They always mix up cultures to give a different taste everyday. They have a variety of choices to eat. Healthy choices are available to and they are also vegetarian friendly.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome here in tiffin. They are all co-ed dorms. Every dorm is like its own individual family. Every one is open and fun people to be around. There are some house the school has bought so student can have housemates. For the upper class students, They live in beautiful apartment style dorms. they have full kitchens multiple bathrooms and single rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are challenging. Teachers are always helpful during their office hours. Schedules for classes are always easy to manage no matter how you organize it. Classroom buildings are pretty close to the dorms, apartments and houses so its easy to get to classes on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a criminal justice major, this college is great for you. this school as good connections that can get you a good job quick after graduation. Also, the internship opportunities are great. They help build connections and one may even hold a permanent job wherever one interned.

    In three sentences

    On a scale 1-10 this school is a 9, this is a great school for Criminal Justice majors. Its a quiet school with very few distractions so its easy to stay on a good track. The teachers are easy to talk to and the staff is amazing and is always there when you need them.