Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Toccoa Falls College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking into the Missions field or just ministry should attend to this school!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small, peaceful, and beautful college and you want great professors, then come to Toccoa Falls College! I love this college! This college is home to me... I get home-sick when i come home from college...

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but OUT OF STATE TUITION is the Same as in-state Tuition!

    Will enjoy being here

    It is small and everyone there is really nice... Everyone is open and loves to make friends

    Will learn a lot

    If you listen well to the professors, then you'll Learn a lot! Make sure to have Professor Reese as your Professor! He's one of the BEST!

  • 11/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive, although, I really love TFC.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have always dreamed of being in a place such as Toccoa Falls College. And I have met several nice people there too.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so many things in Toccoa Falls College; how to interact with other people with different point of views, how to be a better christian, and how to succeed in life education.

  • 07/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I truly love this college. It is the perfect place for me. It is small, but the community is wonderful. We have a huge support system that makes the stressful times less frustrating. This college truly is a place for men and women of God.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only safety issues are in the woods on and around the campus: we do have legit wildlife here. So watch out for bears and panthers if you're on a trail at dusk and dawn, and don't hike Dead Man's Trail at night alone. Other than that... occasionally this random guy will run around campus with a bigfoot mask.. but he's not really a safety threat.

    Greek Life

    HA! There is none. No greek here. Unless you're taking New Testament Greek, but.. I don't think that's what the review was getting at.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs on campus (Drama club is great! There's also a martial arts club, an outdoors club, I'm not really sure what else...). The best part, though, are the diverse student ministries.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a small, personal, atmosphere, like the outdoors, and want to authentically grow in their Christian walk.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Umm.. The only one I know about is that when students of the World Missions Department graduate, they walk across the stage barefoot - in reference to Romans 10:15 - And how can they preach unless they are sent? As it is written, 'How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!'

    Bang for the buck

    It's about $23,000 but the school does give you some nice scholarships. If you maintain a 3.5 or above, you'll get $7500 a year. There are several other scholarships that you can receive, and frankly, money's not a big deal for God so He will provide if He wants you here. That said, for the quality of teaching, it's not a bad price - and since its a small school, the professors all know you by name and care about your personal life. It's not uncommon for a professor to invite a class to his/her house for a cookout or movie.

    What to do for fun

    Toccoa is a small town, so there's not much of a social scene. I love hiking, so when I have spare time I hike EVERYWHERE. There are supposedly 14 waterfalls on the campus (a large part of the campus is woods; only 1/10 of it is buildings); I have found 5 of these waterfalls. So that's great if you like the outdoors. If you don't like the outdoors... well, we're only 40 minutes from Commerce, which has great shopping, 1.5 hours from Atlanta, which has EVERYTHING, 1 hour from Greenville if you don't like Atlanta, and 30 minutes from Helen, which is a precious german tourist attraction.

    Food and Dining

    I've had worse food, but I've also had better. Our food supplier is Aramark, and they have some really stellar food on occasion - especially good cultural food.. but for the most part it's pretty average.

    Dorm Life

    Every dorm on campus is different. Underclassmen girls live in either Fant or LeTourneau Hall (both of which have their advantages and disadvantages) while guys live in Forrest Hall. Upperclassmen can choose to live in the Terraces and Cottages, which are smaller dorms. The cottages are actual houses - usually reserved for seniors only.

    Academic Rigor

    I expected college to be more difficult. It's not necessarily easy, per say, but if you listen in class, take notes, turn in assignments on time, and study for your tests, you'll make A's or B+'s every time. The professors here are great (for the most part) and are very reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be authentic. A lot of places will tell you to try to impress the school, but at Toccoa authenticity, sincerity, and integrity is valued. The school seeks to develop character with intellect, but character is the more important of the two.

    In three sentences

    Toccoa's a great place to get away from the hurry and scurry of life and focus on God, fellowship, and academics. It's only 1.5 hours from Atlanta and an hour from Greenville, SC, so you can still get to civilization when you want it! Great professors, good fellowship, and a beautiful campus tucked into the foothills of the Appalachian mountains make this a great option for college.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For a private school the price is not bad and the financial help available is great.

    Will enjoy being here

    The atmosphere is so welcoming and enjoyable. The students and staff are extremely nice.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    tfc does not have sororities or fraternities anymore.

    Clubs and Activities

    outdoor club: hiking, backpacking, camping, rock climbing, white water rafting, various instructional clinics, caving, rental equipment etc. drama club: two plays a semester plus dinner plays philosophy club, student minority club, hmong student club, student ministry fellowship: weekly services, raises money for students doing internship overseas.

    Great for these types of students

    great for outdoorsy students or those wishing to persue a major in outdoor leadership and education. great for students who do not want to go to a large school. great for students wishing to persue a career as a missionary.

    What to do for fun

    various clubs at tfc plan and host events and trips such as the outdoor club or the drama club. tfc's campus is perfect for those who enjoy the outdoors as there are many hiking trails on campus as well as off and rock climbing 15 minutes away at currahee mountain. for those who prefer shopping buford, ga is 40 minutes away where the mall of ga is located as well as many other attractions. atlanta is only an hour away. the town of toccoa has many fast food options as well as a walmart, antique mall, and bookstore.

    Food and Dining

    food services at tfc are provided by aramark. the food in the cafeteria requires creativity and patience. however, there is a small fast-food type place in the student commons that is slightly better. students have a variety of meal plans to choose from so that they have the option of forgoing aramark food altogether and cooking for themselves.

    Dorm Life

    freshman are required to live in dorms. the dorms at tfc are old however, they all have wireless internet and cable tv. upperclassmen live in apartment-style buildings called terraces. all halls and terraces plan and hold different events for their residents which may be anything from a trip to atlanta to a morning brunch.

    Academic Rigor

    professors at tfc want to make sure that you are getting it and often times will grade you according to what they think you can do rather than against the others in your class room. many departments have specific gpa requirements that you must maintain to stay in your major. however, professors are willing to work with you if you do not understand something or are not happy with your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are planning to visit the campus take you application with you and they will waive the application fee. ask questions about all the fields of study, not just the one you may be interested in. don't take the yearly tuition number as the final amount. go through the list of tuition expenses and determine how much you will need. a lot of times they will tack on miscellaneous costs that you may not need.

    In three sentences

    toccoa falls college is a private christian college in northeast ga. tfc holds academic excellence, spiritual growth, and relationships as the important aspects to mature in. students will find various opportunities to grow spiritually, academically and relationally as they pursue their degree.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security entrance, security guards walk around. very safe.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a ton of clubs and activities to do.

    Great for these types of students

    christians, loud and bubbly personalities. people who like to hammock.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a waterfall on campus that is as tall as niagra falls. alot of the students hammock on trees around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    it is really good price and they offer lots of scholarships

    What to do for fun

    toccoa is small but there is stuff close by in habersham there is a movie theatre. atlanta is only an hour and a half away.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has a lot of options they have a salad bar, a grill section, and home cooking section. no college is complete without pizza too. there is the eagles nest that is reasonably priced good for studying there as well.

    Dorm Life

    it sometimes can be very loud. the people are vey nice and there is lots of dorm events.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are somewhat easy if you read, study and do your homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    come visit the campus. check out the website. attend a class to see if you like the college.

    In three sentences

    great spiritual atmosphere. there is somewhat good food. it is a very small town with a wal-mart.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security walking around all hours of the day and we have a guard shack that keeps an eye on anything suspicious.

    Greek Life

    We do not have any Greek life clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are fun and active. We usually got something going on every week here on campus that get all the students involved.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love the Lord and the outdoors, than Toccoa is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a little waterfall that everyone likes to go to. It is about a 10 minute hike, but the view is so beautiful and peaceful.

    Bang for the buck

    Toccoa is a wonderful school for learning and will help you grow in your spiritual walk with Christ. Yes, it may seem expensive, but compared to other private schools, it is not that bad.

    What to do for fun

    At Toccoa, the most fun thing to do is go hiking or visit the waterfall. Outdoor activities are the main attraction here in Toccoa, but it is so beautiful and a great joy to be able to encounter everyday.

    Food and Dining

    I am not a fan of the food, but they are trying hard to come up with new ideas to incorporate a better variety that would meet all the students dietary needs.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very family oriented. You will be able to meet so many new people and gain friendships that will last a life time.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the academics at Toccoa are great. The teachers are very caring and are always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    At Toccoa, you will be attending 48 chapels a semester and will gain an immense amount of knowledge about the bible. It is best to remember that you will be eating campus food so you might want to prepare for the everyday meals we are provided.

    In three sentences

    Toccoa Falls a christian school that has a wonderful campus and beautiful waterfalls. At Toccoa, we are able to graduate with a bible minor and achieve the goals of gaining the tools for the career we would like to pursue.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very few problems with safety on campus.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent, as far as I know.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are good because the campus is so small. This school involves a small community in which you can really get to know and enjoy one another.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The waterfall is the biggest on-campus attraction. We are always having tourists drop by to take a hike and enjoy the view.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is the cheapest one that I looked at when I was searching for a college. It is a very old campus, so some of the buildings and the food quality are lacking.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of groups to join on campus (i.e. outdoor club, ministry clubs). There are also events to participate in throughout the week and on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    One of the downsides to TFC is the food. Some of the food is great while some of it is terrible. There are a couple different meal plans to choose from, so please do not choose the 21 meals per week plan.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is one of my favorite parts of TFC. Living on campus and in the dorms allows me to become a part of the community here and to make great friends. Most of us know how to enjoy life and have fun without breaking the law.

    Academic Rigor

    Like anywhere else, some of the professors are easy while others are very difficult. As you move deeper into your major, the work becomes much more rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Live on campus if at all possible. 2. Don't be shy. People here are super friendly, and friends are essential to the college experience. 3. Go to the baseball and basketball games and the school plays. There are plenty of people to meet. 4. Chapel is great. Just don't get behind on chapel credits. 5. Get plugged in to a Barnabas group and a student ministry.

    In three sentences

    Toccoa Falls College is the best college decision I could have made. The campus is small, the professors really care about their students, and the emphasis is overtly Christ-centered. It offers all kinds of majors and includes men's and women's soccer and basketball, as well as women's volleyball and men's baseball.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a ton of outdoor activities on campus and in surrounding areas! If you like being outside, then TFC is perfect for you! There's also the campus coffee shop which sells .50 cent coffee! And it's so awesome!

    Food and Dining

    The food is probably the biggest downside to TFC, but the cafeteria is trying to improve the foods that it puts out and I think it's getting better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is awesome and everybody should experience it! The Residence Life staff are so intentional and they really make a positive difference in your development. The dorm is like a big family and such a wonderful community. Whenver a crisis of some sort happens, it is so amazing to see everyone come together and show the hurting person so much love, just like the body of Christ is supposed to do!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are really awesome. They really challenge you and are always available to talk outside of class if you have questions or need help with something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on campus! Come for campus preview in order to really get a feel for college life!

    In three sentences

    Toccoa Falls College is a great place to pursue your Bachelor's degree. If you want to go into ministry later in life, this is a great place to be. This school is a training grounds for anyone who wants to go into any kind of Christian services after college.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think it is great that we have campus security, but am concerned with the ammount of stealing that goes on.

    Greek Life

    There is none. Wish there was.

    Clubs and Activities

    I enjoy the intermural sports. I wish there was more things to do through out the community. But there is definitely plenty of clubs and activities to get involved in, its jsut finding what fits you.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are looking for a small college where everybody knows everybody which sometimes means everybody knows your business. Looking for structure.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are alot of hiking places.

    Bang for the buck

    I am getting a lot out of this school, but it wouldn't hurt if tuition was lower.

    What to do for fun

    There is sports to watch, getting involved in a church, and then lots of fun you create with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    A lot of people complain about the food. It could be better, but I'm thankful for a meal.

    Dorm Life

    I personally have had trouble with dorm life. I enjoy it to an extent but I also want my space. I think that students should be allowed to move off campus sooner or the college should promote some sort of independent living.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned alot at this college. I enjoy the professors they really know they're stuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students is to really take the handbook serious. Also, to accept the school for what it is, it is a great place to make true friends and enjoy the pleasures of a small town. It's nice and peaceful and great for having good fun.

    In three sentences

    I think it is a great college, but could also use some improvements. I enjoy the community here but feel that it can sometime be to pressed upon us. I like the principles it stands on and all that I am learning here.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very safe place. It's literally like living at a camp amongst your family members. There is nothing to fear except the fire alarm going off and you being in the shower.

    Greek Life

    You would have a blast!

    Clubs and Activities

    They have wonderful activities and clubs to join. Toccoa Falls College is really dedicated to reaching the youth, serving people, and leading them to Christ. So if you love to be a part of the community, come on and join us.

    Great for these types of students

    Just take a visit, you'd want to stay for life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only disadvantage of Toccoa Falls College is the distance and the place. It is in the middle of nowhere, I would say. But the greatest thing about that is that you can find things to do and explore.

    Bang for the buck

    One word: expensive But if God wants you hear, He will make a way

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do in regards to going to a an arcade place or mall, but that's where your brain works. It's fun to explore and make up games and things to entertain yourself and friends. Now there are places like the movies and bowling places to go, but nothing beats doing things off the top of your head. Oh, and you can cliff dive, did I mention that?

    Food and Dining

    There is surprisingly restaurants in Toccoa, Georgia, When I got here I was surprised. There's a Zaxby's, McDonald's, Chick-fil-A, Applebees, and other great restaurants and place to eat. However, the school's food honestly is not that great at all.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty great. We are like a little family, and we try and do things together frequently. The resident assistants (R.A) and SLC's always love to be around you, they are like big sisters. They are very good at keeping accountability, sometimes it's annoying but it's good to know someone is there for you and behind you in all you do.

    Academic Rigor

    Paying attention and keeping your grades up is a must. If you don't understand they are always there to help, and they even have free tutoring and things for helping you understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    For the prospective students, I suggest you really have God's confirmation and even in your heart that He wants you at Toccoa Falls. When you do that everything will work out for both You and His good.

    In three sentences

    I would give Toccoa Falls College, on a scale of 1 to 10, and 8. This college is so loving and the atmosphere here is wonderful.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have quite a few food allergies as well as being a vegetarian. The food doesn't really cater to people like me. It isn't horrible, but they could definitely do better. If you change to the 15 meal plan you can have $100 declining balance for the on-campus diner called the Eagles Nest. They have more options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms can be wonderful places and terrible places. If you are a light sleeper I would recommend bringing a fan to help drown out the noises at night. Things can get pretty rowdy, but quiet hour is 11 on weekdays - don't be afraid to ask for that to be enforced if you need it.

    Academic Rigor

    Toccoa is much easier than the school I transfered from, but I'm not sure that everyone finds the work so simple. Depending on your major and your class schedule it can be very demanding. However, there is tutoring and professors are usually willing to work with you if you're having a serious issue. As long as you stay on top of your class work and study it isn't difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest changing your meal plan immediately after registering. The cafeteria food is not always awful, but there are definitely certain things to avoid. The fifteen meal plan saves you money and is much more reasonable. A car isn't necessary for campus and everything is pretty much within walking distance, but if you want to take frequent wal-mart trips it's probably a good idea to bring your car along.

    In three sentences

    Toccoa Falls College is a place that I have found to be very accepting and encouraging. They help students to develop and strengthen their Christian values in order to function in a secular world. The instructors and professors are willing to work with you in order for optimal learning in the classrooms.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians, people who love hiking and camping

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Beautiful campus!! If you come for a visit, don't forget to see at least one of the waterfalls!!

    What to do for fun

    The town of Toccoa is small, and besides eating and bowling there isn't much to do, but TFC students are experts at making our own fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't gourmet, but it could be worse.

    Dorm Life

    This is definitely one of my favorite parts of being a student at Toccoa. Participating in hall events and getting to know people is fun, and the small school fosters a strong sense of community.

    Academic Rigor

    I was able to learn new study skills and improve academically, but the work wasn't too rigorous as to leave me no time for socializing or fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus; that was a big factor in my decision.

    In three sentences

    I have sooo enjoyed my freshman year at Toccoa!! Packed with new friends, new experiences, and learning, it has been a great experience! While no college is perfect, I would definitely recommend TFC!

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hike, go to the pond, go to the creek, work out, go to a sporting event, coffee shop, chapel, SMF, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Amazing, so personal. Have a close connection will my hall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring hiking shoes for hikes up to the several falls/lakes around campus!

    In three sentences

    TFC is an amazing school, I didn't think it would be this great. I love the scenic view to walk to class. The school lunch is not that bad either!

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty safe. we have our own security team who do their best to keep us safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    there are plenty of clubs and activities to join and there are always new ones popping out of nowhere. Anything from martial arts to international students club.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who has a relationship with Christ.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are two bells if you touch one it means you will soon get married. The other means you will soon be pregnant. We also have a waterfall taller than Niagara falls.

    Bang for the buck

    this college is definitely worth the price. It is a little pricier than other colleges but also makes the effort to make it affordable.

    What to do for fun

    there are many things to do for fun such as go to the campus coffee shop, play sports on the intramural field, playing in the gym as well as visiting the falls or hiking in the woods.

    Food and Dining

    the food could be better but it is a great chance to hang out with friends and just talk.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life could not be better getting to know your brothers and sisters in Christ while having fun at the same time.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor at Toccoa allows you to challenge yourself and have a steady environment to learn with helpful professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't touch the bells on campus, they have stories behind them (superstitious). Get to know your professors they want to help you. Get involved with campus activities.

    In three sentences

    Toccoa Falls College is a wonderful place to go to college with a great environment. The teachers get to know you on a personal level and are willing to level themselves with the students through their experiences. The education you receive is solid and is very useful for the rest of your career.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Playing intramural sports, visiting the water fall, practicing baseball with the team, and spending time studying in the library.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome food, can't complain.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is really nice and quiet.

    In three sentences

    Toccoa Falls is overall a great Christian life and Academics school with really good sports programs such as Baseball, Volleyball, and Soccer. Would recommend anyone who wants to live in a Christian Environment and work hard to go here.