Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Tompkins Cortland Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are different styles for different kinds of people. This school is good for a wide variety of part time or full time students from all age ranges! Placement testing is available to get you started in just the right classes you will need in order to be successful. There is also a great writing and research center and also tutoring is available in all areas of study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work with an adviser that you feel comfortable with. If you feel like they are not understanding your wants, needs, and desires for your future, do not be afraid to request a new adviser! Also, staying in touch with financial aid is very important in order to remain focused on payments. The financial aid department is also key while attending school in order for the student to find available scholarship and/or grant opportunities!!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors I have had for all of my classes have been very well educated in the field of study and class they have taught. Many have brought life experiences into the room which makes me, as a student, feel more comfortable and able to understand some of the material of the course better.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The officers on campus can be seen regularly in the halls and seem to thoroughly investigate all claims. All of the officers are very kind and will assist with any concerns.

    Greek Life

    Tompkins Cortland Community College has no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tompkins Cortland Community College has many clubs and activities. There is a club for nearly every major as well as theatre, Active Minds, and others. Starting a club that does not already exist is a simple process and the individuals who work with the Student Advisory Board offer a lot of aide and advice. There are also many sports on campus that students partake in. These include baseball, basketball, and softball as well as others.

    Great for these types of students

    Tompkins Cortland Community College is great for students who are nervous about the transition from high school to college, and for students who are unsure of what they want to get out of college. TC3 is good for students who just need to take a semester or two to fulfill requirements for other colleges or to raise their GPA.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Located on campus is a field house, uncommonly found on two-year college campus. There is also a raquette ball court hidden underneath one of the side staircases of the school. As for unusual traditions, TC3 has been known to play the movie Groundhog Day on February 2nd.

    Bang for the buck

    Tompkins Cortland Community College opens up a lot of opportunities for GPA improvement and transfer options. The tuition is very affordable and can be taken advantage of greatly by enrolling in more than 12 credits each semester and activating the free gym membership.

    What to do for fun

    The college has both a free gym for students and a pool. In the student center there are pool tables and games, and often times movies are playing or events are happening during lunch hour. Tompkins Cortland Community College is one of the only colleges in the area with a permanent Disc Golf course.

    Food and Dining

    For the most part the food is very good. There is a huge variety of foods, from sandwiches to salads, and sushi to burgers. The food is hot and always fresh.

    Dorm Life

    As a commuter student, I cannot accurately rate this area of the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are more difficult than high school but the scheduling is flexible enough that as a student you can make your course load as rigorous as you'd like. Some semesters can be easier than others and some majors can be more difficult. It is all up to the student to decide how much they can handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors. These are the people that will help you with everything you need throughout your college experience. Not only in classes but when you're planning to transfer and need recommendations or advice.

    In three sentences

    Tompkins Cortland Community College is a wonderful school that ease the transition between highschool and college. The professors at TC3 truly want the students to succeed and make learning very enjoyable. Tompkins Cortland Community College is a very good school.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Always something going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Self motivated, looking to geat a good education without breaking the bank.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school at which to start your college career! Tc3 offers wonderful certificate programs as well as Associate degrees.

    What to do for fun

    Ithaca and Cortland are within 15 minutes of campus so you have an array of fun things to do depending on what you are into. Art, hiking, dancing, restaurants, festivals, are just a few things to check out.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria does not offer a healthy array of dining choices.

    Dorm Life

    Unless you can get into one of the quiet dorms, it is out of control. Noisy, parties, too many students going crazy and not respecting that this a college not a teen free for all.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a mixed bag as far as challenging student academically. I have had classes that really pushed me and a few that I found uninspiring.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to get the most out of this school is to keep your focus on your work. There are many distractions since the school is close to Ithaca, Cortland, and Syracuse. I see way too many kids partying a lot and are unable to keep up with their course load.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college for both the self motivated student as well as the student who is a little unsure about what educational journey they want to take. The wide array of courses is impressive. Class times and online course options make it accessible to everyone.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Tc3 is a great school for students who may not have done so well in high school and would like to get themselves together now and get a higher education. Tc3 is also good for students who may wish to transfer to a larger school in the future but would like to save money during the first two years of college.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and sports teams on campus. some people complain about being bored but if you look there are always things to do. you can get into a club or join a sports team or start something new f you want.

    Food and Dining

    The food is quite good. there is a very small variety and there is not much to choose from but what there is to eat is very good. If someone is a picky eater then the dining hall is not going to be very satisfactory.

    Dorm Life

    I actually do not live in the dorms because i am a commuter student. However, I have many friends that do live in the dorms and from what I can tell and what I hear my friends say, it isn't the best environment to be in. Only a couple new buildings are of good quality and many people that don't live in the new dorms complain about how bad they are.

    Academic Rigor

    Tc3 is a community college so it is not as intense of a curriculum as other colleges have. However, I am very pleased with the classes that I am taking and I think that so far, I have learned a lot here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that what Tc3 offers is exactly what you want because although it is a great school, it is also substantially more expensive than other community colleges in the Finger Lakes. Make sure that you look at a wide range of schools that you think might have what you want!

    In three sentences

    Tc3 is a good school to get started at! I think that if you plan to transfer to a larger college that it can be a good stepping stone for that. I think that TC3, overall, has outstanding teachers that really care about the students and want to help them learn.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Every semester, TC3 has a club fair at the start, where you can find information about each one. There are opportunities to join at any time of the semester!

    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional, foreign, nursing, dual credit, and all other students can benefit from this college!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus grounds and rural scenery is lovely!

    Bang for the buck

    Some new degree programs have just been started! Check them out on the main site!

    What to do for fun

    I live off campus, but there is always an interesting schedule of activities on campus! I also hear that the Commons in downtown Ithaca is a great place to explore when you get a chance!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the most of your time in community college! Some students see community college as 13th grade, but it is really the most important time of your college career! Don't waste these 2 years by not taking advantage of the abundant resources in college to help you discover that perfect career or job! Creating a strong work and study ethic early on can save you thousands of dollars, If you consider those two years as a chance to get past the basics, if you are hoping to master the essentials and raise the bar for yourself, you will not only be guided through these two years most effectively, but by the end of it, be more than prepared for the next stages in your education or profession!

    In three sentences

    This is a great 2 year college for students of all sorts! Here, you get quality learning and because of the small classes, you can get more personal feedback from the teachers. Definitely a great place to start in choosing a major, as well as a helpful springboard for moving into a new career or another school!

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working

    What to do for fun

    Open recreation, performances, exercise, clubs, events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard. Classes aren't as easy as a community college is. We turn out many top notch prospects for four year schools and jobs.

    In three sentences

    This school is fantastic for a community junior college. There is top notch education from top notch teachers.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide variety.

    Great for these types of students

    All students will fit in at TC3.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs to join to meet new people and there are usually some good programs at night or during the class day to broaden your horizon or to just plain enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    Dining choices are very good for a school its size. Healthy choices and comfort food is available. A pretty good value for what is offered.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor really depends on the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind. Get tutoring when you need it. Take your education seriously.

    In three sentences

    If you are motivated to get a great education, this is the school for you. Instructors are fabulous and the classes are small. There is lots of tutoring availability for those who need it.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities mainly depend on how the are advertised and by the students leading it.

    Great for these types of students

    Any. It all depends on the student to take advantage of the opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is in the middle of nowhere. If a student is from a large city, this school may take a lot of getting used to.

    Bang for the buck

    Students will receive a great education, especially in the Television Production, Nursing, and Global Studies degrees.

    What to do for fun

    Besides attending school activities, unless you make it fun, there isn't much other fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Students will choose what they like and do not like. Without a meal plan, the food is very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Very strict, but it depends on how the student prefers to live.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not fall under the influence.

    In three sentences

    I rate TC3 as a very good school. The professors that apply themselves to be great are great and the students that want to successful will succeed.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Film students, Television students, Radio students, News Production students, Broadcast students, News Reporting students

    Bang for the buck

    The television and film program is the best experience you will get from any community college in the country. There is a Los Angeles class in which students will work on sets in L.A. as well as meet with professionals, tour studios and go to show tapings. There are also trips to New York City every semester. The Cinema Club goes to the Tribeca Film Festival every spring. There is an ever-growing network of alumni from this program that are currently working in the television, film, radio and news industry. Lots of wonderful connections and opportunities to work in the business.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of your opportunities. In high school, we called TC3 Tee-hee-hee or Harvard on the Hill or Dryden University. It can be a great school and a great experience if you make it. You get out of your schooling what you put into it.

    In three sentences

    When I started I had low expectations, thinking I would only use it as a step towards a better school. I was wrong, TC3 was the best experience I ever could have hoped for. From my time at TC3 I was able to work on a nationally televised cooking show, work on a film in Los Angeles, tour Sony Video Game studios, meet professionals in the TV and Film Industry and know for certain that this is what I want to do for the rest of my life.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Saftey is always there. I felt very safe while in the dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The dorms are nice. I stayed the first year and then because of familyuissues I could not stay this past year. I still visit and stay with friends when playing sports. Everyone is like a family on the sports teams. WeAny help each other.

    What to do for fun

    Minature Golf Fitness Center Sports

    Food and Dining

    Many different selections from salad to pizza and other choices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice. Many activities. Learn to be responsible and cook for yourself. Security

    Academic Rigor

    Great for a two year affordable school. Well prepared to transfer to four year. Many students do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great support if you need it get it. A range of ages so something for everyone. If you live far away, dorms are great.

    In three sentences

    Excellent for Students who otherwise could not afford to go to college. Excellent for Sports. Great opportunity to be with people you know,as well as, meet new people.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play sports with other students or if you are into computers like me, play pc games together. You can also go out walking with your camera and take some beautiful pics of landscapes or animals (Have seen rabbits, deers, squirrels, ducks, birds and some others)

    Food and Dining

    There is not much choice, pizza, salad, special of the day or a wrap or sandwich. Food is expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Fire alarm goes off so frequently, maybe because of the people. Furniture is in bad conditions (broken or missing). If the people of other dorms likes screaming at 1am, they will continue doing that until the sun appears. Had some trouble with a sink when I arrived and it flooded all the apartment, we had to clean it ourselves and it smelled so bad, no one came to clean something, just to repaired it.

    Academic Rigor

    There are lots of homework, research and a good learning level, don't think they are gonna give you an A if you don't deserve it. Hard work is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to study, check the TC3 website and try to contact them in order for them to help you, the advisors here are always nice.

    In three sentences

    Quiet place to learn with beautiful green surroundings. Awesome teachers that are always willing to help you and discuss some things after class even if it doesn't concern 100% with the subject. International college community where you can learn about other cultures from first-hand

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. You have campus police constantly patrolling the area.

    Greek Life

    unfortunately we have none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs at tc3 but not a lot and there are activities for the students every week.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do in this small town. I usually just hang out with friends on campus or go to some of the activities that are created for the students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, you do get a variety. But after awhile i get rather bored of the food choices.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life. At this school you get an apartment that you share with 3 other people. You get your own room but you share a kitchen, living room and bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is different for each professor and subjects. Im currently in business Administration and the classes where pretty easy my first semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your only going to college to party than don't waste your money or time.

    In three sentences

    This school is alright. There is some positives and some negatives about the school. But Its really what you make it to be.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good security

    Great for these types of students

    for playing sports

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    very good money for a degree

    What to do for fun

    play soccer

    Food and Dining

    tthe food is great

    Academic Rigor

    they are great teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    try hard , do your homewok, study hard

    In three sentences

    it is good i enjoy it there 3 the people are nice