Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Tougaloo College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am Greek and I Love It!!

    What to do for fun

    Attend games, our campus provides lots of surprising activities for the students. You never know what they have under their sleeves.

    Dorm Life

    For a freshman it is what you make of it. For an upperclassman it is nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    I consider our campus to be pretty safe. Be prepared to experience a journey of a lifetime. Even though our campus is historical it is still apart of history and while you are learning school work you are also learning how history meets the future.

    In three sentences

    I love my college, I consider us to be one big happy family. Everyone is friendly and the teachers are understanding.

  • 06/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hardworking, prospective doctors, lawyers, teachers; science majors; people that enjoy a small setting and getting to know their teachers and peers on a personal level

    Tips for prospective students

    don't expect to get here and just do nothing. be ready and willing to work. look for a great deal of homework and reading assignments. don't overload yourself with courses but do enough that will help get you out in 4 year or less

    Bang for the buck

    big bang for the buck (really big buck)

    Am enjoying being here

    Contrary to popular belief, I love being on a small campus. I enjoy being here more that being out at a big school with everything going on.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a great deal here.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great and always on patrol.

    Greek Life

    We do have greeks at our school and you can find out more about these organizations on the Tougaloo website.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of clubs and activities that pertains to your major, honor students, dance, music, theater, sports, and even chess.

    Great for these types of students

    This school would be great for a student who doesn't like the feel of a university but the feel of a smaller environment and less people. Tougaloo is known for producing a lot of doctors, lawyers, and entrepreneurs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When you're a freshman it is required for you to attend chapel every Wednesdays at 10am and while in chapel you'll learn different organization, get formally introduced to our president of the college, and other important people on the campus grounds. And also we pray before every event that is held on campus and off campus.

    Bang for the buck

    A very big bang for your buck but it's worth it. Budget, budget, budget!!!!! Budgeting is the key!! Instead of going out to eat with your friends all the time buy groceries and eat in the cafe. Renting books from the bookstore is cheaper than buying but if you have to buy your book that semester with your book voucher just sell your book to a student who needs it and save that money you get back.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going especially in the spring like volunteer work, group discussions, sitting under the historical moss trees in the spring with friends, or if you have an idea for a new club or campus activities it's easy to get it start yourself because if it's a good idea the students wouldn't mind to help you get your idea in motion.

    Food and Dining

    Tougaloo College is located down south in Jackson, Ms so the only food you'll eat is good home-style cooking in the cafe. And if you want fast-food you'll have to go off campus for that desire.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorm is where you'll meet all your close friends that you'll take this new experience with until you graduate and even after graduation you'll still have those close relationships.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Tougaloo College are very rigorous, in depth, and involve a lot of critical and ethical thinking. So studying is a must to get a great grade but once you received your A I promise you'll feel a sense of accomplishment because you worked hard yourself and not depending on someone else answer.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I had any advice for new incoming students I would tell them that our teachers and staff have a lot faith in our students so please do your best and since our school is very prestige we the students get our work done in a timely manner and we suggest that you do the same. Also, there isn't anybody at school to wake you up in the morning for class so set many alarms. Take pride into Tougaloo because we the student do.

    In three sentences

    Tougaloo College is a very prestige college in the state of Mississippi so being a student there we show pride and respect towards our school. The teachers are very hardworking,easy to work with if you're a student in need of extra help, and the students are gladly to help you achieve your goals as well. Tougaloo College is where History meets the Future.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always a security officer around, and great emergency system.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone wanting to pursue a degree.

    Bang for the buck

    As a non-traditional student it has really been a joy to attend classes on campus. The smaller classes make it possible to obtain more one on one time with the professor . I work full time and I currently have a 3.18 G.P.A. This has been made possible through the willingness of most professors to assist their students.

    What to do for fun

    Attend some of the museums around Jackson. Join one of the organizations on campus. Study on one of the campus student unions, or play in the game room. Attend the chapel services.

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten there a couple of times, but the food was good. And they send you a menu to your email each day.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm, but my classmates that do, love it.

    Academic Rigor

    The work can be challenging at times, but I have found that most of the young ladies and men on campus are friendly and willing to help. Teachers have high expectation of the students .

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a wonderful college experience. teachers that make classes interesting and understanding. Please take advantage of the tutorial groups. And please don't go broke with student loans.

    In three sentences

    Professors are helpful, and available to the student. The small classes are helpful to older students. The online classes are helpful the those who work and are unable to attend some classes.

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great place for students that are hard working and have big dreams of becoming someone great in the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure grades are on point.

  • 07/31/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is great for those students who like to live in small settings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and socialize. Become aware of everything you available to you. Do not procrastinate and stay on top of your game. This is your life, live it up!!.

    Did enjoy being here

    I was only here for a summer program. During this time I was able to get a feel of the college, but I think an extended stay would have improved my appreciation of TC.

    Did learn a lot

    The instructors here will push you to your limit and this is only for the better. After completing every task presented, you will most definitely appreciate the education you have been offered.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As stated before, Tougaloo College has a very small campus, so before one can even get onto campus, they must encounter campus security at the gate. If there should happen to be an emergency on campus, or a disturbance, security responds very quickly!

    Greek Life

    There is certainly Greek life at Tougaloo College. There are eight of the Divine Nine National Pan-Hellenic Council, as well as various academic Greek societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tougaloo College has many clubs and activities for students to join. The Baptist Student Union (BSU) is for students who are very religious conscious, and seek to find like-minded people. There is also Unconsciously Creative People (UCP) for students who like to do various types of performing. NAACP is for students who believe in justice for all races, and types of people, as well various types of academic, and social clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Although the student body is majorly African America, it is great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know of many colleges in Mississippi that partake in this, but every Wednesday, a student- hosted event entitled What's Up Wednesday. It is a chance for students to, not only enjoy a great meal in the cafeteria, but to also come together on Warren Hall patio to fellowship, and listen to music.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Tougaloo College may seem a little rough on the outside, it is truly like a diamond in the rough. I have gained unique experiences and knowledge that would have only been available at Tougaloo College. If I had the choice of going to another institution versus Tougaloo College, I would pick Tougaloo College every time.

    What to do for fun

    Tougaloo College has a very small, very close student body, so for fun, students tend to do activities together, such as listening to music, exploring each other's cultures, and planning campus-wide socials!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Tougaloo College is amazing! They provide choices for those who are health conscious, such as salad bars and grilled options. However, it is the great southern meals and flavors that tend to be a campus favorite!

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dormitories at Tougaloo College are very outdated, and this may make it hard to adjust as a freshman. However, the experiences that you gain, as well the people you meet, can make any gray situation seem brighter!

    Academic Rigor

    Tougaloo College is very rigorous academically. Rated as one of the top historically black colleges in Mississippi, as well as nationally, a standard must be maintained.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although professors at Tougaloo are very nice, do not mistake their kindness for weakness. To receive outstanding grades at Tougaloo College, he/she must put in outstanding effort. In the end, however, it makes for better, hardworking people who strive to reach goals.

    In three sentences

    Tougaloo College has been an awesome experience for thus far. With its rich history, and outstanding academic programs, I have been very happy with my decision. I could have not chosen a better institution!

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is necessary to lock up any valuables. There have been many break ins.

    Greek Life

    This considered to be a big aspect of the college. Many of the students are involved in the Greek organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and organizations that are available to the students. There are always activities that are organized by these clubs and organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    This institution is great for students that are focused and not easily distracted. Students with big dreams will enjoy this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshmen are called freshpersons to prevent discrimination. It is believed to be unusual to call females the term freshmen.

    Bang for the buck

    Tougaloo College is expensive but the degree is worth way more. Students can basically get any job with a degree from this prestigious institution.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous student activities that are held by clubs and organizations. The home basketball games are the most popular during the fall semester. There are also inter mural teams for football and basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great on most days. Chicken Wednesday and Fish Fridays are the best days for the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are enough to live comfortably. The dorms will be better due to the renovations during this summer.

    Academic Rigor

    There is much work but there is more one on one time at Tougaloo College. The small number of students makes it easier to seek help inside and outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to get to know the professors. This is easy because there is a twenty student limit for each class.

    In three sentences

    Tougaloo College is a place where students can bond with the students on campus. It is a small college which makes it easy to fellowship with others. This college makes networking easier because of the small number of students.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On the Tougaloo College campus you can usually find the security everywhere around the corner. The security team tries their best to do a good job.

    Greek Life

    Greek weeks are always the best!

    Clubs and Activities

    More and more clubs seem to be established each year. Most students should be able to identify with atleast one.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to personally know their teachers, and the entire campus would be interested in Tougaloo College! It is definitely one big family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tougaloo College usually serves fried chicken and plays music outside on Wednesdays! Its probably everyones favorite day of the week. Another tradition is singing the Alma Mater after most events.

    Bang for the buck

    Getting an amazing education is always worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Tougaloo College usually has many activities planned for the students to attend, but if not, thr co-op is still there!

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should figure out their priorities, and realize that their academics come above everything. Students should push themselves and study hard.

    In three sentences

    Tougaloo College is a very loving environment. This college has wonderful professors that push the students to their highest academic ability. Tougaloo College is very welcoming, and prepares its students for a career after college.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Tougaloo is a private school. Anyone that comes on campus has to pass our fine security tower and check in if not reconized. Guards make regular rounds 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is Greek Life!

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Activities are very active on campus. Students are very much involved in the inner workings of the fine school.

    Great for these types of students

    Tougaloo is great for all students but especially great for minorities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tradition is very deep at Tougaloo. We have an process that new students go threw to become part of the school. Historic Woodworth Chapel has hosted famous speakers such as Martin Luther King Jr. and Malcolm X that still look great.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is fairly priced, less than many major universities, but one will get what one pays for.

    What to do for fun

    Fun is always avaliable threw pool, ping-pong, basketball, tennis, but is up to the person to engage with others.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise that one only come to Tougaloo if you take academics seriously and can balance academic and social life.

    In three sentences

    I give Tougaloo College a 9 out of 10 for providing a great libral arts environment.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Well, if you are looking for the wild life, Tougaloo would probably not be the best place for you. But, if you want to be push to greatness and professors that care about you doing your work, come to Tougaloo.

    In three sentences

    Tougaloo is not just a college with students and professors; we are a family. I wouldn't have it any other way. Tougaloo is where I belong.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to your friends room. do the activities offered to you on the campus, make the best of it if you can. go to the parties when they have them.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe is alright on some days, such as catfish friday, and chicken wednesday. the pizza and baked potato are what i would call the best things to eat besides the catfish and chicken. the cafe is small and on wednesday they have whats up wednesday its fun and exciting.

    Dorm Life

    its fun and scary at the same time, simply becasue you will be staying in Renner if you are a female. get to know your housemates. the showers and bathrooms aren't the best in Renner but you only have to deal with it for one year so make the best of it! do no drink the water out of the sink, buy bottled water. always have a blanket laying around your room, it stays cold. get to know your roommate before you come so you can know what to expect of her. the rooms are extremely small in Renner, bunk the beds for more space. do not bring a lot of big containers, it only makes it less space in the room.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are hard when it comes to the science and math but you just have to put your mind to it and you most definitely pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all the tutoring sessions that are offered to you. Meet new people go out to the little parties and organizations that they have for you. It can get boring on the weekends, so always have something planned out. Work first, party later. Live in a dorm your first year its fun and exciting that's when you will get to meet all of your classmates and really get to know them. Get to know some upperclassmen, they can help you out and give advice at times. The labs are your best friends when you don't have a computer or printer. Lastly, the library will be your absolute best friend when its time for finals or mid-terms, but make sure to take a jacket.

    In three sentences

    I would say that Tougaloo is a good school to attend if your thinking about studying in the biology/chemistry field. The people here are nice and friendly, almost everyone speaks, and makes you feel like a family. Tougaloo is just your home away from home, and its not that big so if you don't want to go to a big school this would be a great choice.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe! There is a security guard standing at the gate and he check all of the vehicles to see if they have decals and public safety do walk-throughs throughout the night to make sure everything in the dorms are ok.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life here at Tougaloo College is great! There are new lines that come out every fall.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a countless amount of clubs and activities to join within and outside of your major.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to attend an overall great HBCU College, choose Tougaloo College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have many traditions here at Tougaloo, from pledging only being in the fall to graduations only being outside.

    Bang for the buck

    Tougaloo College, honestly, is the best choice you could ever make. We have it all-family, fun, food, and most importantly a GREAT education. Tougaloo, unlike other colleges, is a place that you as a fresh person will soon be able to call home. I promise you won't regret choosing to attend thee historic Tougaloo College.

    What to do for fun

    College at Tougaloo, is all around fun! There is always some on or off campus activity going on! Yes we focus on our academics first, but we do make time to parlay!

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is quite routine. Nevertheless, Tougaloo's location is in the perfect spot. It is literately in walking distance from all the great restaurants! Therefore, food isn't a problem>

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life, as a freshmen female, is quite hard. However, there is a lesson in everything that you do at Tougaloo. What I learned as a freshmen staying in Renner Hall is to be grateful for everything. No, its not the best dorm in the world, but I had to humble myself and learn that the dorm isn't the reason I came to Tougaloo.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics come FIRST! Yes, you can come to college, join extra-curricular activities, gain leadership position, become Greek and so much more. BUT, if these things are hindering you from your lesson, my advice to you, would be to reprioritize the reasons why you came to college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grade point average high. When starting college, the best thing to do is start with a high GPA. If your GPA is high then others won't mind helping you out in the near future. Plus, with a high GPA, everything is easier!

    In three sentences

    Tougaloo College is an awesome school to attend! Everyone is there to help you. It doesn't matter what your classification or major is, if you are serious about your education and want to go somewhere in life, Tougaloo College is the place to be!

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No one can get on campus if their not a resident, unless they hand over a drivers license or I.D. Of course during move in this is different.

    Greek Life

    The school offers all Greek letter organizations within the Pan-Hellenic Council except Iota Phi Theta

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of clubs on campus. I am a member of most of them, they are listed on our website.

    Great for these types of students

    Any students! We often have exchange students from everywhere mostly Korea, Brazil, and even Brown University, an Ivy League college, and they don't want to leave when their time is up!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tougaloo used to be a plantation, so it's rumored that our campus is haunted. Places on the campus to see would be the mansion, where the slave owner lived, and the chapel.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Tougaloo is expensive, financial aide is going to try to get you as much funding as possible so you don't have that many loans. They don't want to see you in debt, so they post a lot of scholarships often. I honestly feel that the history, and the education is 110% worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on at Tougaloo! It could be a gospel explosion, a basketball game, the president speaking, a festival outside! Anything! Since We are close to other colleges like Jackson State, Millsaps, and Belhaven, anything going on at their campuses we'll also attend. A lot of time other schools like USM or Alcorn will come to our school too.

    Food and Dining

    I have three words! Fried Chicken Wednesday!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't the newest, but the way the dorms are set up, you're going to know everyone in your dorm, which I love. There's always someone hanging out, or something going on in the dorms or outside on the patio of my dorm. I love it!

    Academic Rigor

    How strenuous a major is depends on the student. Every department, and major gives you plenty of work to ensure the student knows their stuff. If the student stays on the their game they shouldn't have a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Come in with an open mind! Tougaloo doesn't have the newest or nicest things, but it has the most history, and is the best place for education! -Be prepared! I promise if you want to call, and talk to someone whether it be a professor or even the president, about your future at the college, and what you may need to know, someone will talk to you! -Learn the history of the school! Tougaloo was once the center of the civil rights movement in Mississippi, learn about it, this history will make you appreciate the school so much more. -Take a tour of the campus. Tougaloo offers camus tours, given by students. Whatever questions you need to ask they can help you most of the time, and if they can't they'll find someone who can. This is also a great way to make friends!

    In three sentences

    The motto of the school is Where history meets the future, and that is truly the case! I love my school, I believe I get the best and most personal education in the State of Mississippi, I don't think I could go anywhere else where I could have this experience. How many schools can a person go to where the president and vice-president knows a majority of the students on campus, nowhere!

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard. If not, there is a possibility that you will not graduate.

    In three sentences

    Tougaloo is not for the student who wants to graduate without putting in any real effort. Only students who are willing to put in time, dedication and an enormous amount of effort into their academic work will make it at this institution. When a person graduates from Tougaloo College, he/she will know that they truly earned his/her degree.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Lots of Greek life!

    What to do for fun

    - Mall - Reservoir - New Orleans is 2 hours away - Memphis - Sports - Walking trail

    Tips for prospective students

    . Be willing to accept the fact that Tougaloo is a small institution .

    In three sentences

    The historic grounds of Tougaloo College will open up their arms and embrace you into an academic environment. Here, you can truly indulge in your career path, have close relationships with your professors, and create networks that will last a life time. As it's motto states, Tougaloo College is, Where History Meets the Future!

  • 04/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is there for any student. If you feel threaten by anything they will be there to help you.

    Greek Life

    There are different types of greek life on Tougaloo College campus. There are now three different fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many organizations at the college. You have to find the organization that fits you. There are some that might help you with finding your major.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great place to receive your education. Being here can take you places. Tougaloo is known for raising lawyers and doctors.

    What to do for fun

    You can play basketball. You can either join the basketball, cheer, or dance team.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better but they are trying to keep us healthy.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshmen the girls dorms are small. I am used to a bigger room than my dorm room. The upper dorm rooms are better than the freshmen.

    Academic Rigor

    Tougaloo College has a great academic outlook.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that your major is at Tougaloo College. And college is not high school any more. You are responsible for your own actions. Do your work this is not a game you can play at any time.

    In three sentences

    Tougaloo College is a great college to attend, not just because it is an HBCU. This is a great place to receive your degree and meet new people from all over. The professors are there to help you with any thing you may need.