Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Transylvania University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Science, Business, Teaching

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide whether a small college is best for you and how much you are open to becoming a better and more successful person.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth everything I pay. The school listens to demands from the students (most of the time) and they are very big on sustainability to decrease spending on wasteful things. They have tons of resources such as a writing center to help with papers, a career center to help you plan for the future, a resourceful library, a really helpful staff, and a fitness center to improve yourself overall.

    Am enjoying being here

    The faculty and staff are friendly and proud to work here. My friends are awesome. The dorms are a little hard to plan around and can be crowded. Easy to get to classes and fun events always happening. Various and delicious meal options. Opportunities to volunteer are very frequent.

    Am learning a lot

    I have taken Biological Interactions, Women's Studies, Cultural Anthropology, Latin-American Civilizations, Computer Science, and Lifetime Fitness. I do not regret taking any of them because they have all taught me so much. The teachers are all passionate about their subjects so it is easy to get interested in the class and actually want to do assignments and join discussions.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Department of Public Safety is always on call and is located on campus for any form of emergency that may occur, 24/7. Also a school nurse and athletic trainers on campus. Very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    Even in a smaller school enviornment, Greek life still plays a large role in campus activities and events.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life, Quidditch team, all sports (except football), InpromTU (improv group), and others

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love furthering their knowledge and education beyond their own career intentions. There are still plenty of fun things to do, though. (yes, parties too) close-knit envioronment really helps the process of making friends and meeting new people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A room in the admissions building, Old Morrison, supposedly contains the corpse of an old professor who is said to have placed a curse on Transylvania after being fired.

    What to do for fun

    There are always fun activities being put on by various groups, greek life, and organizations. There are also exciting sporting events to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to classes outside of your intended major and prepared to take these classes, as well as learn about a variety of brand new things.

    In three sentences

    In love with the atmosphere. Professors are outstanding. Close-knit, fun, academically challenging and prestigious school.

  • 01/13/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 12 people found this review useful. 2 people found it offensive. 4 people found this inaccurate. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    english majors

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want a small judgemental school go ahead! You better be a fabulous writer as well because that is all you will be doing!

    Bang for the buck

    awful school for $35,000 a year! have fun paying for this awful place!

    Did enjoy being here

    I HATED it here, 75% of students are in a soroity or frat and if your not then your a weirdo! plus one of the frats is a racist organization! seriously!

    Did learn a lot

    I came in as a freshman from Hilliard Ohio and I knew everything that I was taught for my first year here, so it was kind of a waste of time. If you come from a town that you don't know anything the first year will be challenging because all you do is write paper after paper!

  • 05/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Transylvania is great for students who are willing to put in the work it takes to make good grades. Also it's a small private university, so therefore the community is pretty close and just about everybody knows everybody compared to a large public university.

    Tips for prospective students

    I definitely recommend that prospective students visit and/or do an overnight visit. It's important to get a feel of the community and the university as a whole. Also if possible attempt to schedule sitting in on a class. Sometimes prospective students have a general idea that's not always correct about the school they are looking at, so therefore it is important to see firsthand what the college is really like before making a decision.

    Bang for the buck

    Because of the fact that Transylvania is a small private university, it is a little expensive. However The school does offer scholarships and financial aid. Also the tuition from year to year does increase like every other school, but the difference is that the tuition increase is below the average national increase. In other words, tuition does not increase as much as it does at other colleges and universities. Also the school is generally pretty well known among graduate schools as a good school. I believe the price of everything to be worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love the community here. Yes, greek life is a major part of the community here on campus and I myself have joined a fraternity, but one does not need to join a fraternity/sorority to be a part of the community. I love the size of campus and that it's a nice small private university.

    Am learning a lot

    Transylvania University is a magnificent school with a great curriculum. Students are pushed to learn, especially once the student starts to get involved in the area they are interested in. The professors are great and knowledgeable and are willing to help students, all they need to do is ask for it. Professors are always willing to meet up with students to help them. Also it is helpful that overall the classes are pretty small, the majority of my classes have not had more than 16 students in them and this allows the class to be more personal. Also the set up of the academic calendar is nicely structured. There are two, four month semesters and then mayterm. During the regular semester one takes regular classes and such, but then the year is ended with mayterm in which students only take one class everyday. Some of the classes even travel abroad. I like it as a nice way to end the year without the usual stress of a ton of finals, but rather just ending with one final.

  • 07/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Transylvania students are not confined to the classroom by any means, but they do love learning. If you have an academic work ethic, check Transylvania out!

    Tips for prospective students

    A warning about tuition: It will go up. It will go up anywhere you go. For me, the difference is about six thousand dollars more as a rising senior than when I entered as a freshman. It's a broken record, but please visit campus. There's no better way to get a feel for a prospective college than by experiencing it yourself. Come be a student for a day or two and see if you like it.

    Bang for the buck

    Transylvania is a private school, and it is therefore expensive when compared to the tuition of state schools. However, Transylvania was one of the cheapest private schools I looked at in high school. For a private school, it's a great bargain.

    Am enjoying being here

    The small atmosphere of Transylvania's campus makes it nearly impossible not to know students from all over the academic spectrum. And it's mixing an economics student, a music student, a biology student, and a Spanish student together that makes the classroom atmosphere vibrant. Now, about Greek life. No, you can't avoid it. The campus is too small for that. But as someone who is independent of Greek life, I can let the Greeks do their thing and I can do mine. And it's more fifty-fifty than eighty-twenty. Drinking goes on, too, but again, you can either choose to partake or choose to abstain. I'm not much of the outgoing type, but there is usually something to do on campus. And if not, there is the surrounding city of Lexington to explore. Athletics are not an embarrassment to the college, but an enhancement to it. Our sports teams are annually in the running for conference championships, and there are always a few that make it to the NCAA's. The campus has the feel of being very liberal, but conservatives like me are around. If you are conservatively minded, though, be prepared to be outnumbered.

    Am learning a lot

    Academics at Transylvania are great, but that is not all that college is about. There is other learning to do, such as growing as a person. I am one of the few Classics majors on campus, but my two professors—Dr. Russell and Dr. Svarlien—are amazing! A class is crowded if it has more than twenty students in it, and professors are happy to meet with students whenever they are in their office. Being a liberal arts college, Transylvania is not all about answering multiple-choice questions correctly. Rather, it's through the discussions you have in your classes that you learn the most.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On one side of campus is beautiful downtown Lexington, on the other is the ghetto. Although campus feels safe, one step off campus in the wrong direction and you aren't in a good place to be.

    Greek Life

    4 fraternities (Delta Sigma Phi, Pi Kappa Alpha, Kappa Alpha Order, Phi Kappa Tau) 4 Sororities (Delta Delta Delta, Phi Mu, Alpha Omicron Pi, Chi Omega) Due to the university cracking down on greek life, who knows if it'll even be around in 5 years. Presently, greek life is over 80% of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything from sports to greek life to ski clubs to quidditch.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who need attention from professors. Also, small class sizes make it great for class discussion, something you couldn't get at a big university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Raf's tomb- a supposed ghost on campus who's tomb you can view in the administative building. Also, Transylvania=vampires. Don't worry, you'll here that joke plenty in your next 4 years.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive, but with a reasonable scholarship, the memories you'll make and education you'll get cannot be matched by and other college in Kentucky.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown is only a 10 minute walk away and Lexington is one of the best college towns in America. There's the farmers market on summer Sunday mornings and ice skating on winter nights- both only a 10 minute walk. Rupp arena is less than a mile away, making it convenient for games and concerts. Transy's back circle is the location for socialization with a sand volleyball court and room to play football, Frisbee, or lay out and relax.

    Food and Dining

    There are only a few places to eat here and a usually only one is open at a time. Not to mention high prices. It's like Starbucks prices and frozen dinners anywhere you eat. Luckily, downtown is only two blocks away. Unfortunately, there are no plans for any new dining facilities. Fortunately, your mothers homemade cooking will taste that much better on the holidays.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are old. Livable, but old. The good news is that Transy plans on building brand new dorms in the next 10 years on the new land they recently bought.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard. Classes here are as hard as any in the country, depending on your major. Science and math classes are known for their difficulty and many social sciences are hard to get A's in. Unless you plan on studying business administration or theatre, you're in for tough classes. Although they are tough, you are guaranteed to learn more than you would at a public school and MCAT and other test scores are, on average, higher for students from Transy.

    Tips for prospective students

    The size, location, and academics of this school cannot be beat. Transy's athletic teams are very competitive in their divisions and this campus is overflowing with greek life. Only warning here is that it's hard to fit in if you do not go greek or are a part of an athletic team. Not to mention the administrations desire to watch your every move. The administration is being too controlling when it comes to social events on campus and, for this reason, greek life is punished. The school has been letting a majority of the fraternities get away with whatever they want, and now that they are finally cracking down, they are punishing everyone, instead of just the guilty. Who knows if greek life will even be around in 5 years.

    In three sentences

    Transylvania University has a beautiful campus and is located in a great college town. With only about 1200 students, small class sizes allow you to form great relationships with your professors. Just a 7 minute walk from one end of campus to the other and only a 10 minute walk to downtown, this campus is the perfect size and in the perfect location to enhance your college experience.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    i am not involved with our greek life, but it is very easy and encouraged to join.

    Great for these types of students

    those who are serious about their education and willing to put in the effort and do the work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    raf's tomb is in the basement of old morrison, and there is a raffle every year for someone to spend the night with it.

    What to do for fun

    the university always has things to do on campus, whether there is a sporting event, an outing, or dance lessons in the campus center. if not on campus, there is tons to do in the city of lexington.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you are serious about your education, because transy is a tough school.

    In three sentences

    transy has an amazing community that includes students and professors. the education here is amazing. the professors genuinely care.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Transylvania is a very safe campus. The department of public safety here is always patrolling and making sure students are safe when walking to their cars at night or during the day. They are so friendly and it's a safe feeling knowing they're around.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is awesome! Transylvania offers four sororities and fraternities each and each one is astounding in their history and service opportunities. It is a great way to make even more friends and really connect with campus life.

    What to do for fun

    The activity board here is always planning events. This year so far, to name a few, they have held fun dances, laser tag, dodgeball, 3 on 3 basketball tourneys, and so much more. Not to mention, Transylvania is right in Lexington so you have the option also of going to the mall, going to a UK basketball or football game, or kit going out to eat.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining offers a variety of cuisines and meals that reflect different cultures around the world. However, if you simply want a turkey and cheese sandwich, you can still get it. The options here are nice and allow for taste changing foods that taste great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life isn't terrible. There are different food options so you're not stuck with just one place to eat, and the dorms are a fun place to interact and get to know other college students who are going through the same experience you are as a new college student.

    Academic Rigor

    As a freshman, I feel Transylvania is academically rigorous, but in a great way that benefits you. I look forward to the day I receive my diploma from this wonderful institution because it will represent more than just surviving college itself. A diploma from Transylvania represents and shows for upheld academic integrity, hard work and dedication, and success. I feel confident in the faculty and staff here who does more than a fantastic job at preparing you for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Transylvania is a college that really cares about you as a person and who you will become in the next four years. They really assist you in all aspects of learning, and whether it's a social or academic aspect, Transylvania has just what you need. You can go directly to the professor if you're having trouble with class material and in going to them do you make connections that could open doors for you later down the road. Campus life is always active, the student activity board is fantastic at planning events, so you'll never feel like there's nothing to do on the weekends. Studying is also important, and there are tutors, a writing center, and a great library to aid you in developing great skills and study habits that you'll keep with you for the rest of your life.

    In three sentences

    College life here at Transylvania University is full of learning experiences, opportunities, and offers courses to better engage students in a more worldly manner and assist them in gaining new perspectives through more broadened horizons that become available through liberal arts education. Truthfully I love it here. The small campus does not limit your ability to go beyond the walls or boundaries or the classroom and it is the perfect home away from home in Lexington, Kentucky.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS is always dependable. You can call them up whenever you need a ride home or feel unsafe walking down the streets. They are casual and will talk to your like your best friends. We are in Lexington, but as long as you stay aware and cautious, you are always safe.

    Greek Life

    I'm an independent at the school. Although, I do have a lot of friends in Greek. Although it is nice to have that feeling of sister/brotherhood, you do not have to be a part of Greek life to be active or have friends on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus and they are growing. Students always have the opportunity to start their own if they wish. One that is my favorite is the Quidditch team, something that is unique for our school.

    What to do for fun

    The great thing about this campus is that we are surrounded by what Lexington has to offer. Besides school activities and Greek Life, there are Gallery Hops, movie theaters, sketchy bowling alleys, great restaurants, and plenty of shops to go to with friends on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. I am a Vegetarian, so it was always my worry that i would not have a lot to eat. This school offers many choices for Vegetarian, Vegan, gluten-free restricted diets and are willing to make you something if you are not satisfied. Jazzman's is my favorite on campus, they have great coffee and huge cookies the size of your face. Erica is super nice too and she will make you the best Sunrise smoothie.

    Dorm Life

    Most people will tell you all about the moldy rooms and showers, the broken furniture, the cracking structures, the slow wifi, the ancient plumbing, and never regulated heating/cooling units. I, however, will focus on the community. We know our neighbors, talk to them and hang out. It is a bit like high school except you get to know more about these people and grow real friendships and relationships with them.

    Academic Rigor

    The Transy campus strives to keep an open mind and ear. They teach you in the first week to question everything- the key to the liberal arts education. There are many classes that offer different political or artistic classes past what your major might be to open yourself to the sides of life you would never imagine yourself to see. Students and Faculty always try to look towards the future into the liberal progression as the way we see life is constantly changes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Becoming a student of Transylvania is wonderful once you get past the fees. They offer you many majors and minors that you can look into, and the opportunity to create your own major if you wish. Once you become a student here, try everything. Try classes you would never picture yourself taking in fields that you have no intent on pursuing. You never know when one might become your future. Also, the faculty is always available and willing to help you in whatever you need, or if you just want to talk.

    In three sentences

    Transylvania is a great University who hopes to uphold its identity as a liberal school and provide opportunities for its prospective and current students. Here you are given a world full of knowledge and discussion where your opinion matters and wants to be heard. Here you are able to recreate yourself as a human being to open your mind and offer your skills to the awaiting world around you.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security officers are always so nice and helpful! You can go to them whenever you need help. Transy also has it set up so that you will receive emails and text messages whenever danger may be in the area.

    Clubs and Activities

    This school offers many different clubs for you to join and allows you to create clubs if you want to form one.

    Great for these types of students

    There are all types of students on campus and there is a group for everyone to feel at home with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Halloween, the ghosts come alive! We have our annual ghost tours where you can go around campus and learn a little on our supernatural history and maybe get spooked along the way.

    What to do for fun

    Transy always has events going on: speakers, music concerts, games, bike riding days, plays, and lazer tag. But not only are there events on campus, but there's also events going on around campus in the city. I recommend going contra dancing. It is a really interesting and new experience that can be fun if you let yourself have fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great variety of food, which includes healthy and delicious choices. And, whenever there is nothing for you to eat, the staff in the caf are always willing to fix you up something. They are also up for recommendations and comments.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life on campus is not that great. Many of the buildings on campus are old, including Clay/Davis and Forrer Halls. These buildings are falling apart and have formations of mold on the walls. The showers in the bathrooms are usually very dirty and don't like to stay at neutral temperatures. There are plans for the future to destroy these buildings and replace them with new dorm space, but until then we have to deal. Regardless of how the buildings lack in perfection, I do love dorm life because of the community it creates and the friends I have made because of it. There are more options after freshman year, so you should definitely take advantage of those if you can.

    Academic Rigor

    Transylvania asks a lot from its students, but it gives them every tool to make sure they can achieve academic success. I have found most of my teachers to be very helpful when I ask them questions or need advise. Transylvania also has every resource that you would need so you can reach your goals for success.

    Tips for prospective students

    When choosing between the last two (or three) schools, take the over-night stay. It really gives you that extra real-life perspective that just walking around the campus and speaking to the admissions office. You get a real taste of what goes on, what kind of students you will see around campus, the food, what your classes and teachers will look like, the real dorm life, and maybe even some events that go on while you're there.

    In three sentences

    Transylvania is an incredibly expensive school, but it is worth its cost. It was here that I began to really see what kind of impact I could make to the world around me and how I can make choices for my own life to become something greater. I have only attended the school for one year, but I am so inspired by our alumni, our professors, our staff, and our history and hope that I can achieve the same feeling of success.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS at Transy is very involved in student safety, by patrolling the parking lots and campus. You can call DPS to pick you up from you car and drive you to the dormitory if your car is parked farther away, you can call DPS is your car is having trouble or if you locked yourself out of your dorm room. The DPS officers also know what restaurants are best in Lexington and are fun to talk to.

    Greek Life

    Greek life at Transy is very inclusive and does not follow the stereotype of Greek life portrayed in movies. The Greek chapters take their organizations seriously, raise a lot of money for their philanthropy, and make sure the rest of the student body is included in their events. Greek life at Transy ranked #2 for the best Greek community in the nation. About 70% of the student body is involved with Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is usually a fair type event for all the different clubs at Transy to get new students to join their clubs. This event is usually fun for students and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a tight-knit community of academically driven peers and professors, Transy is the place for you. Writing is a HUGE part of academic life, as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A biology professor, Constantine Samuel Rafinesque cursed Transylvania University in 1826. Before Halloween, the improv comedy club lets students put their name in a bowl to have a chance to spend the night in Rafinesque's tomb in Old Morrison on Halloween night, to keep the curse at bay.

    Bang for the buck

    Transylvania University was too expensive for me, hence why I had to leave. The university awarded me with generous scholarships and grants, plus I received decent federal aid, but it still cost too much for me to continue attending.

    What to do for fun

    Transy always has something going on. The Greek chapters are very inclusive of the entire student body, so a lot of their activities are not strictly for the Greeks. The Greek chapters always have something fun going on for everyone, the university organizes many events for the student body. Downtown Lexington is also not too far of a walk, so there is always something to do downtown like food festivals or art galleries. A lot of students also enjoy walking to Third Street Stuff for coffee and studying and listening to music.

    Food and Dining

    Forrer Dining Hall was okay. Sometimes the food was not favorable, but sometimes is was amazing. Like a regular public school cafeteria, I suppose. The Rafskellar has a fast food place and a sub sandwich place, and both were good to have for a quick lunch. Jazzman's Coffee is great, and their breakfast sandwiches, lunch salads, and bakery items were great at any time of the day; and their fair-trade coffee is almost as good (if not better than) Starbucks. Sandella's (but if you get there, it's the 80) is a great place for late dinners or snacks. The flatbreads are all very tasty.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Forrer, which is the women's dormitory. My room was small, but there was plenty of living room. The two twin beds fit comfortably, the two desks were in good spaces for natural and artificial light, and the fridge and microwave were in a good place. My roommate and I could have bunked our beds and had more room, but we decided we liked the space as it was. The RA for our hall was amazing! She gathered us together often for hall activities, and they were really fun. The community bathroom and shower room is manageable, but the water pressure in the showers is not very good, but the water is always warm or hot.

    Academic Rigor

    One of my favorite things about Transy was class. All of my teachers were interested in my academic achievements and pursuits at the university. Classes may have been structured a certain way every day, but never boring. Students are often engaged in discussions with other students, as well as the professor. Students are often seen studying together around different parts of campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students: ask to tour the Shearer Art Building, the library, Haupt Humanities Building, and Forrer. These buildings are all usually lively, and many will have quiet spaces to study. Also, ask about vegan and vegetarian options in the campus eateries: there's always something interesting. Try Jazzman's Coffee, too; lots of students gather here to study and converse.

    In three sentences

    Transylvania University is a great university for the student seeking an education from passionate and driven professors and fellow students. One of the best aspects about Transy, for me, was that the students were all academically focused, the professors showed genuine care for students' learning, and the student body organized many interesting events for students to mingle and have fun. The campus is small and cozy, so getting to class on time and getting lost is never an issue.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its a city, but DPS will come to get you should you need them

    Greek Life

    amazing, but there are some stigmas, enter with an open mind and make your own opinions

    Clubs and Activities

    literally a day doesn't pass without something happening

    Great for these types of students

    work hard, party hard study driven initiative takers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    sleeping in the crypt on halloween, hidden tunnels under the campus, awesome ghost stories.

    Bang for the buck

    the cost is pretty high but it all depends on your style as a student.

    What to do for fun

    back circle, visit the halls, movies, take a walk!

    Food and Dining

    Get the 10 meal plan, the food is so-so and meal points are magical.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm its self is sub-par, but the people around you and the convenience make it worth while.

    Academic Rigor

    Its brutal and will shock your system

    Tips for prospective students

    Administration needs some work on communication so make sure to stay on top of things and don't be afraid to call in the parents. Make sure you leave time to hang out with friends, college isn't just about grades and homework, the friends you make will be the connections you use forever.

    In three sentences

    Great school with lots of amazing opportunities. The name, and subsequent vampire jokes only apply during finals week; all the students are up all night, super pale from being inside, drinking red colored energy coffee mixes and hide from sunlight. The location is perfect with UK nearby, biking is always an option and getting anywhere is a 5 minute walk.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS is the BEST!! They are always around campus, and are always willing to help. In the cold weather, they drove to the freshman lot to pick me and friend up, and then drove up back to campus so we wouldn't have to walk in the cold. Its the small things...

    Greek Life

    All of the different sororities and fraternities on campus are great! Even if you choose not be become affiliated, you never feel excluded.

    Clubs and Activities

    You don't have to be in Greek life in order to find a club or group of people you fit into. All the clubs and organizations put signs up all over campus. This makes it easy to know what is always going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want to study or focus on academics, play sports, and still have fun!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Anywhere you go on campus, you'll always run into someone you know. This is great because you get a sense of familiarity and of closeness between all the students and staff.

    Bang for the buck

    A little on the expensive side, but totally worth it!!!

    What to do for fun

    Because Transylvania is located in the large city of Lexington, it is easy to get off campus and find things to do. If you want to stay on campus, you can always find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, and the staff is great! If you have allergies or need special accommodations, the Sodexo staff is always willing to help.

    Dorm Life

    You get to know the people on your hall, and floor rather quickly. Because the campus is so small, its easy to find or be close too your friends.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not going to lie...the academics are Transylvania are rough. However, there are several resources provided to help you succeed to the best of your ability and beyond.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, and attend the Scholarship interview days. Schedule overnights in order to get a real sense of the college. Also, if you play a sport, email the coaches - they are so helpful and always willing to meet with you!

    In three sentences

    Transylvania is a great University!! The staff and professors all know you by name, even if you don't know them. Its a tight-nit college...but still one big family!