Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Trevecca Nazarene University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    -Study Hard -Aim high for ACT score -Pace Yourself -Always Ask for Help, it's there! -Get a room and get it fast!

    Bang for the buck

    There is a clinic that you can get medicine when you need it for almost nothing, the cafeteria has amazing food, the teachers are involved in not just classes but after hours activities, and it is a beautiful campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    Student life is amazing, there are always fun activities going on, there is free study sessions and study guides.

    Am learning a lot

    Education here is great, the teachers are just pouring out knowledge

  • 12/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to feel at home in their college and want to feel like they are an important part of the school they attend. If you want a personal education form administrators and teachers that really care about your success Trevecca is the place for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study for you ACT and take it a couple times to get your best score, the scholarship money will make all the difference for you, it certainly has for me!

    Bang for the buck

    As far as private colleges and especially Nazarene colleges go Trevecca is less expensive than many others. Plus you get to live in Nashville, just minutes from downtown Nashville! The social life here and the instant feeling of fitting in and feeling at home are obvious as soon as you start going out to different events on and off campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    Movies in the Quad, Courtship week, Celebrity Skate Night, and those are just a very small number of things that Trevecca's student elected Student Body Government helps to put on throughout the semester. The first week of school, Welcome Week, was welcoming in so many ways with a slip and slide beside Mark's Guest house and a large birthday party for President Boone I had very few moments in which I was bored! I grew up hearing my parents and their friends from college talk about their wonderful experiences at Trevecca and how much fun they had in college so I had high expectations coming into this year and those expectations were definitely surpassed.

    Am learning a lot

    The professor to student ratio helps a lot in assisting the learning process in any and all classes at Trevecca. Even in my class of seventy-five students my Professor is very good at making the class seem smaller by generating discussions. In my Graphic Design class for my major the learning is even more specialized with a class of around ten people.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Warning: You are in the ghetto of Nashville, BUT the 24/7 security on campus is absolutely amazing! Never had any problems my 2 years there, now going on 3.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some sports, random clubs, not a whole lot of activites.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're serious about your faith and education, this is the place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Welcome Week is pretty fantastic. And the random events and concerts always have a great turn out. Friday Night Live is guaranteed to make you laugh!

    Bang for the buck

    You get a great education with class.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few Wal-Mart's, movie theaters, food options, malls, etc.. Not much to do on campus, even on the weekends. There are many intramural sports to be apart of. Thankfully downtown is only 5-10 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    I've had better. WAY better.

    Dorm Life

    There are some activities that you can go to. Strict rules on curfew, open dorms, etc..

    Academic Rigor

    The professors and counselors are there to support you and help you with YOUR future. They are not there to be your parents. They want to help you with what you want, not what they want for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you read into every detail about a school before you chose one. You might be surprised what you find out. Talk to multiple students at the college first for their opinions on the school. You just might see a different side of the campus than the internet shows.

    In three sentences

    Trevecca is a great place to grow in your relationship with God, others, and even with yourself. You become connected in ways you wouldn't even be able to understand until you go there. The possibilities and opportunities are unlimited!

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Loves the city. Loves a beautiful campus. Nice people. Big on sports. Big on music. Big on LIFE.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to love the city life.

  • 01/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    for any type of sutdent. It's the perfect fit for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard Get good grades

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth every penny. You get the education you want and friends that will last a lifetime

    Am enjoying being here

    I was nervous at first but once I got here and settled in I am so happy that I came. I love the atmosphere and the people that I am with.

    Am learning a lot

    I love the staff my advisor really cares and all the teachers just want you to succeed. It is smaller class sizes so all of my questions are answered.

  • 01/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - Music Lovers (5 minutes from Downtown Nashville) - Want a smaller school and campus - Want a Christ-centered environment

    Tips for prospective students

    - Save up as much money as you can ahead of time - Look for scholarships - Don't room with a friend from high school (thankfully, I do not know this from experience) - Ask questions - Get to know new people

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is extremely high for me, but I've taken out loans and have received some grants and scholarships. It was a big decision, but after a semester here, I haven't regretted it. The services, campus, people, education and Christian environment are worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The professors are wise, insightful people. It's great to get to know them. There is a wide variety of students on campus, so there are many interesting people to meet. There are also lots of on-campus activities and service projects to get involved in. It's truly a special place.

    Am learning a lot

    Trevecca offers a wide range of classes, majors and minors. There really is something for everyone here. The professors actually care about each individual student and are willing to take the time to help them. Not only am I learning a lot in the classes I am taking, but I'm learning a lot through the relationships I've made and through the Christian environment on campus.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Scholarships do help and you should apply early.

    Did enjoy being here

    Yes, great school environment. It is almost like a small family. It is a traditional college experience. There is a curfew for all students.

    Did learn a lot

    The small classes are the best. The general education classes were not small but I manage not to get lost among all the other students.

  • 08/27/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Religious/Spiritual

    Bang for the buck

    I suggest saving, as well as applying for as many scholarships as possible. For a Nazarene University it's a great save, but overall it can be pricey for smaller pocket books.

    Will enjoy being here

    Located in Nashville it's a short distance from large attractions, but it's campus is small and student life can be dull...unless you like sdkating in costume.

    Will learn a lot

    This University features a well-rounded education with focuses on religion. Religious world-view permeates most classes.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security but when called they tend to take a very long time to come to wherever you are unless its a really big emergency then they might come faster. They do try and keep criminals off the campus the best they can.

    Greek Life

    Not Allowed

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports Student Government Residence Hall Association

    Great for these types of students

    Students who went to a private christian high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a small homecoming parade at the beginning of basketball season because we don't have a football team.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Trevecca isn't the place for me a lot of people who are from close around love it because they get to be near their friends and family and play sports.

    What to do for fun

    Everybody usually goes home on the weekends and there aren't many people left around so the school doesnt have any weekend activities for those still on campus. Students aren't go into places where they will be in the presence of social dancing or alcohol, even if they aren't participating. So a lot of downtown is off limits. All in all there isn't much to do.

    Food and Dining

    I find hair in my food, and plastic packaging pieces constantly, but the workers are very nice

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have a lot of rules, and the resident assistants give out fines to everybody constantly except the residents that are their friends, and happen to be the ones making the most noise at three in the morning.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a math major and there is only one math teacher teaching almost all of the required classes, and he is not thorough, and gets very mad if you ask questions at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    The required Biblical Faith classes are very hard, even though they try to make them seem as though anybody could take them and be successful.

    In three sentences

    Trevecca has a very judgemental environment. It is overpriced for the quality of education. Trevecca does not have a very good rate of equality among students.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe on campus. Trevecca isn't in a great part of town, but we are one of the most secure campuses in the state!

    Food and Dining

    The continuous meal plan is nice! You can go into the caf as many times as you like between 7am and 7pm. There are things that could be improved, but the staff is willing to listen and make adjustments. They are pretty good at accommodating people with food allergies.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are.... dorms. At Trevecca, the dorms have two girls to a room and two rooms to a suite, adjoined by a bathroom. As long as you are respectful, you'll be just fine. There is almost always something to do, and the RAs are kind and easy to talk to.

    Academic Rigor

    I took most of my gen eds before transferring, but I have been satisfied with the quality of the classes! I am an education major, and LOVE the classes and the professors. I hate busy work, but I do not feel that we do much of that here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't just sit in your dorm! Get out and meet people - there's something for everybody here. Before you sign up, read the student handbook. Most of the people I know who have not enjoyed their time at Trevecca were people who were not aware of the restrictions (but they really aren't that bad).

    In three sentences

    Trevecca has been a wonderful experience for me. You will find a community that wants to accept you and learn from you, if you are willing to seek it out. The professors actually care about their students here, too!

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security on patrol 24/7.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Nashville is a few minutes away, there is always something to do!

    Dorm Life

    Although the girls dorms are not the most modern, there is an attitude of community and family!

    Tips for prospective students

    While Trevecca is a great place, it isn't perfect for everyone. It is a small campus with fairly strict rules, in place to keep the students safe and in line with the schools beliefs.

    In three sentences

    I very much enjoy attending Trevecca Nazarene University.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    second safest campus in america

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports, athletic events, campus events and dorm events

    Food and Dining

    Great!!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could be better but you form relationships with the people in the building because of the size.

    Academic Rigor

    The work here really isn't too hard. The professors really work with you and there is a tutoring center here if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your grades are good and apply for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Trevecca has a great atmosphere! There are so many resources for students to succeed in class and in life. The only downside is its expensiveness.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Least amount of crime and violence on any campus in Tennessee!

    Greek Life

    No greek life. It tends to alienate people and create more clicks that promote disrespect for those not involved in Greek life.

    Bang for the buck

    Pays off in the long run because of the many career opportunities available from the connections you make at Trevecca.

    What to do for fun

    Nashville is full of concerts, many of which are free! There are countless of events going on in around Nashville. Trevecca is located right outside the city and right next to the highway making it easy to go to and from campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great for a small private school! They offer a full time sub line and rotisserie chicken line. They offer two hot lines with salad bars attached. Their is a grill line with

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good. Somewhat strict about dorm rules. Separated by gender.

    Academic Rigor

    Great focus on academics! All the majors offered are credible and have teachers that are more than willing to help tutor and find real jobs for current students and graduates!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be turned away by the Nazarene background, its not all crazy Christians trying to convert everyone. The campus is small but it has a lot to offer in terms of community outreach programs. Nashville is a great place to live and its a melting pot of culture. No matter who you are there is a place for you to fit in at Trevecca!

    In three sentences

    A great school for those wanting to advance themselves in their specific field of study, while at the same time strengthening your faith. Trevecca pushes students in a healthy manner that provides goals that are challenging yet still achievable. Trevecca is centered around doing the work of Christ, positively influencing the lives of the students and community, and furthering the Kingdom of God.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though campus is located in the older section of Nashville, it is very safe. Trevecca has 24/7 security, and crime is rare around here. I personally feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who need encouragement! I transfered from Middle Tennessee State University (the largest university in the state) and coming here has been like a breath of fresh air. I was treated like a number at MTSU, but here I am an individual, and professors encourage, and believe in me, and really want to help me succeed. If you are like me, and have had horrible experiences, this is the school for you! I love it here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Welcome Week, they have many fun activities like All School Worship, which is a blast, and many others.

    Bang for the buck

    Everybody is so encouraging! Trevecca really is a close-knit community. You will meet people. Don't worry about not fitting in, there is always someone. You are not alone.

    What to do for fun

    - Go to student activities--they are a blast! - Go to the Basket ball games--they are fun! - Abba Java-- Delicious Coffee/ Smoothie/ Tea shop in the CLCS - We're located in Nashville, only 5 minutes from downtown music city! - Sign up to receive discounts at the Nashville Symphony (student discount= $10.00 instead of $80.00). - Lots of Malls, food, movie theatres, there is an imax theatre, at Christmas time the Opryland hotel is the place to see! - There is always something going on!

    Food and Dining

    Delicious!! Their pizza is the best, but they have a sub line, the pizza line, rotisserie chicken line, salad line, cereal line, dessert line, and different hot meals every day to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Bedlofts are space savers, and the desk in your dorm fits perfectly under it--just take off the top shelves and store it in the closet for shoes, food, or more storage space. The dorm layout and the space that you share with your roommate is convenient and spacey, but be warned, you do have to share a closet with your roommate, and a bathroom with 3 other people. Overall the dorms are pretty quiet. Make sure to pack only what you need. Don't bring anything that screws into the wall, but if you want to hang pictures or posters, etc- bring a hot glue gun, putty, or those sticker hooks.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are always willing to help, and most are available outside of class! Also The Social Work program is in the process of becoming accredited!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are staying on campus, get the meal plan--you will not regret it. Bedlofts are space savers, and the desk in your dorm fits perfectly under it--just take off the top shelves and store it in the closet for shoes, food, or more storage space. The dorm layout and the space that you share with your roommate is convenient and spacey, but be warned, you do have to share a closet with your roommate, and a bathroom with 3 other people. Overall the dorms are pretty quiet. Make sure to pack only what you need. Don't bring anything that screws into the wall, but if you want to hang pictures or posters, etc- bring a hot glue gun, putty, or those sticker hooks. Bookstore books are decently priced, everything is easy to find, and Chapel is required and a lot of fun!

    In three sentences

    Trevecca is a wonderful, beautiful university! Professors are kind and are willing to help at every chance they get, and they really want to see all of us succeed. Cafeteria food is delicious, housing staff is helpful, and the students are my family away from home!

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can literally walk around on campus at 3 am and not have a worry in the world

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs one can choose from: SGA (Student Gov't Association) Futuro (Hispanic minorities aiming for success) ISAT (International Student Association of Trevecca) Mission Club Fellowship of Christian Atheletes etc..

    Great for these types of students

    Christian Faith based. Students who want a smaller community. Friendly students who enjoy meeting new people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Welcome Week is the first week of the Fall Semester each year. Each day is contributed to different events, however, the best (which is usually the last day) is the Paint Wars. Everyone is out in the field (including the deen of the school) throwing paint at each other.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is a private school, Trevecca is a bit pricey, however the smaller community allows for a better quality of education since the class setting is much smaller than a typical university

    What to do for fun

    This school is located 5 minutes away from Downtown Nashville, as well as West End and Midtown. There are a variety of restaurants that you can find, whatever you're craving, you can find it. Nashville also has the only replica of the Greek parthanon, which is located in Centennial Park in West End. (Approx. 10 min away from campus)

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a small community, so if you are looking for a big party school, Trevecca is not that. It is a private christian college and does have some regulations that are not found in other public schools.

    In three sentences

    Trevecca has the most welcoming atmosphere to anyone of any background. The professors take more than enough time out of their schedule to help the students succeed in any way. By far, Trevecca, is the friendliest environment, it even contributed to a more positive attitude for my myself.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of events and clubs going on all the time! They're always being advertised around campus, so all you have to do is take a look around and see what's available!f

    Food and Dining

    The CAF food (the rotisserie chicken) is usually good, but can't always be relied upon. Yes, there's a variety of food. No, I usually don't know what half of it is. Therefore, the hub is open late at night, and I usually head down there if dinner is not satisfying.

    Dorm Life

    You share a dorm room with one person, and have 2 suitemates. Altogether, the 4 of you share a bathroom. It's not a bad arrangement, especially if you get along well with your roommate/ suitemates. TNU asks you to take a sort of personality test to try and set you up with a roommate that you will get along well with.

    Academic Rigor

    YES! The professors try and help you understand the material. There's definitely a lot that you have to do on your own though. Spiritual life definitely has a larger emphasis than academic life, though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded. Keep in mind that you have to have 24 chapel credits; however, you can definitely sleep through them. Keep on top of studying/ homework; it will help in the long run!

    In three sentences

    I love the way Trevecca challenges me emotionally and spiritually. The CAF food is so-so most days; stick with the Hub if you want to be safe. The campus is beautiful; so many places to relax.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Trevecca is placed in a rather sketchy part of Nashville, but on campus it's safe. People in the community respect Trevecca and the students so there is very little to worry about.

    Great for these types of students

    Trevecca if best for students who are looking for a close community of students and teachers.While it's not required to be Nazarene, students are required to profess some sort of faith in God. If you enjoy a lot of hand-on work in community volunteering, you will love it here. Trevecca provides plenty of opportunities for students to serve the community.

    Food and Dining

    Often times the food does leave something to be desired, but there's a lot of variety. There is always pizza, roasted chicken, or subs to eat if you don't like what's being served.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are well kept and comfortable. Since it is a private Christian university, the rules are rather strict. No one of the opposite sex is allowed in the dorm rooms except on open dorm nights (every weekend). There is a curfew every night. A lot of events are held in every dorm: parties, movie nights, curfew breakers, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are, for the most part, extremely reasonable when it comes to assignments and tests. You get graded on effort and quality of your work, and your grade does reflect the amount of effort you put into it. Teachers are tough with the standards they have set, but they set the standards at a very attainable level.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Just about anything you can think of! There are plenty of extracurriculars and intramural sports, and if that doesn't suit your fancy, just go off campus! It's very near to downtown Nashville, so there's always something to do!

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria food, and there is also a small student run cafe and a small student run coffee shop on campus

    Dorm Life

    Typical college dorms, tight-knit community.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are difficult, but not impossible. Professors do all they can to help students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the ACT early and often. Apply for any scholarships you can.

    In three sentences

    Based on my visits to the campus, I can't think of a better, more Christian oriented place. I can't wat to be a part of this community!