Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Trident Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone from recently graduated high school students to grandparents who need something to occupy their time!

    Tips for prospective students

    If wishing to transfer to a 4 year college, be sure to take classes that a transferable. The advisers are extremely helpful in this situation.

    Bang for the buck

    I received the LIFE Scholarship this year so I'm literally not paying anything for school. Even if I had to, it wouldn't be a problem because the tuition is extremely low in comparison to some other colleges and from my experience, it's low-priced attendance is not a reflection on its academic ability.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met dozens of new people (students and teachers alike) and have not had a single bad experience with anyone. I find that the environment at Trident is much different than I had anticipated, but only in the best way possible. Getting to and from class is easy and the attendance policy is flexible to my work and personal schedules with I appreciate.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been at Trident since August of 2010 and so far I have nothing bad to say about the teacher and academic advisers who I have had or come into contact with. I have a full 15-hr schedule this semester and although my classes are all quite different and unique, I am learning many new things in them. One of my favorite classes is Western Civ post-1689; which may not sound important but it is because I usually resent history classes about western civilizations. This one however, I quite enjoy.

  • 01/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 2 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Trident is a great school for low-income students who wish to transfer to a four-year college after they graduate from Trident. The advisers at Trident are great at helping students select their classes so that they will be able to transfer. Students who are looking for relatively easy classes. Like I said above, Trident's classes are not that challenging at all. As long as you show up for class and pay attention, you should do fairly well. They also have free tutoring for students who are struggling in a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT get your books until after the start of classes. Some of the teachers do not even use the books that the bookstore tells you that you must have for the class. For my history class last semester, I never used the book at all. My English teacher for this semester told the class straight up that we would not need the books for her class either. If you are getting financial aid, make sure you apply early. The financial aid office has a history of pulling people around in circles and canceling grants at the last moment. Do not wait until the deadline to get things paid for. If you do not pay on time, then you lose your schedule and your classes and you have to re-register and hope that the classes are still available. Go to the first day of class! Most of the teachers at Trident will give notes on the first day of class, so make sure that you go.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for. Trident is a very in-expensive school. The classes are just enough to be able to transfer to a 4-year school. Scheduling can just be plain miserable since the system they have set up for that is not too effective. They do though have a really nice learning center that allows students to go in to get free tutoring in almost all the subjects that Trident offers.

    Am enjoying being here

    Trident's an okay school though I have noticed that there are not a lot of student activities going on within the school. They have a student activity period once a month for an hour, but that's it as far as student get togethers are concerned. I tend to find that if I don't have a class, then I'm not on campus. There's not much to do on campus unless you enjoy playing video games in the cafeteria.

    Am learning a lot

    For the most part, I tend to feel that Trident's classes are easier then similar classes that I took in high school. Trident does not present much of a difficulty as far as classes are concerned. For the most part, if you show up and pay attention, you can pass the class.

  • 07/02/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want hands on experience in your field of choice. Anything pertaining to IT, Medical, Automotive, Hospitality/Tourism and other fields. One thing is for certain, everything you learn here, can and will be applied in your field of choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep a To Do List handy with all school tasks so that you won't have to worry about forgetting anything along with help keep things orderly. Also, if you are majoring in a field that requires a computer or certain programs on the computer that you don't have access to outside of class then take advantage of open lab hours. In addition, sign up for work-study while attending so that you can have some extra cash on hand to purchase school supplies for unscheduled tasks that may pop up every now and then.

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth it; financial aid covers the cost of everything (for my major anyway) plus whatever is left over from purchases on account gets sent to you. Came in handy sense school supplies didn't come cheap.

    Did enjoy being here

    It was an interesting experience and became more compelling when I started working at the school within their work-study program.

    Did learn a lot

    Everything was fun and the learning environment wasn't like the environment I was used to. There were some teachers that made learning so fun that we forgot we were in class. In addition, there were teachers that didn't teach from a text or didn't have them as mandatory. Also, some gave alternatives to buying textbooks from the bookstore; i.e. going to library of school and or public library.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student you are you would fit perfectly in this school. It's very diverse

    Tips for prospective students

    Study ! Study ! Study ! And focus on your schoolwork without distractions.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is a top priority for the security team at this school. there are few problems around campus, so they really aren't necessary but always a good thing to have.

    Clubs and Activities

    the student clubs and activities are definitely in a huge supply. from the honor society to international society, we've got it all. we even have a video game club for all the gamers out there.

    Great for these types of students

    if you want to be involved in culinary arts, this is the place for you. not to say that that's all there is, but the culinary institute being on campus is pretty impressive. a huge building is yours for the taking when you go for culinary arts. even in it's magnitude, it's not intimidating at all. everyone here makes you feel so comfortable you will have nothing to fear and everything to gain.

    Bang for the buck

    trident technical college is a great school, considering it's a technical college. it's surprising to me that some people actually classify technical schools as below the bar because this one is definitely way above the average.

    What to do for fun

    there are people of all ages here so you're bound to make friends. the student activity area is a great place to get together with classmates to talk or find out what's new in the area. the library is solid, with plenty of resources for whatever you might need. if you're bored you can always walk around in different areas of the school and see what other future scholars are up to.

    Food and Dining

    the culinary institute of charleston is part of trident technical college. need i say more?

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at trident technical college.

    Academic Rigor

    keep in mind this is a technical college. the curriculum is not hard, but it can be fast paced. you are provided with ample time and resources. there is no reason anyone attending should get less than an a.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask questions. the faculty at this school is always willing to help but you have to take the initiative. this isn't highschool anymore. this is your stepping stone for an amazing future, but it belongs to you and no one else. what are you waiting for?

    In three sentences

    so far, my experience with trident technical college has been wonderful. for a technical college, everyone is very professional and knows their area of expertise and is more than willing to help students in any way that they can. i look forward to finishing my associates and then transferring, and i will always remember trident technical college as where it all began.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt uncomfortable at this school. Every time I look up, there is always some form of SRO wandering around. They will even come jump your car should you get to it and find your battery dead.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not very many clubs on the Trident Campus, and the ones that are usually started tend to be disorganized. Also, since classes run all day, they tend to not meet but once a month.

    Bang for the buck

    With so many programs that the scthool offers to help students pay for classes, not to mention the lottery assistance, it is certainly worth the while.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe on the Main Campus, or what they would like to call a cafe. It's not that great, but if you are there all day, it's food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is not a school that will baby a student. The student must always be on top of their own deadlines, not only in classes but with the financial aid as well.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College is a great place to start out for those who have not been in school for a while. There is an ability to get much schooling done in a short period of time. For the most part, it is quite evident to the students that the teachers love their jobs.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Charleston is a tourist town. what isn't there to like or do?

    Food and Dining

    I haven't had time to taste the food , but the campus has plenty of machines available for students to get drinks and snacks and they have allot to choose from

    Academic Rigor

    I really am enjoying my instructors. They are top quality

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the college, once you are registered and get all the hiccups out, you'll enjoy your experience there. I know I am.

    In three sentences

    I like Trident for my college of choice because it has a high rate of jo placements and it is a credited college.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Yes, the money is very worth the education that I am receiving.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eating at the dining cafes they have, but I heard great things about them.

    Dorm Life

    Trident Technical College does not have on-campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Its excellent, the school has campus officers all around the school during school hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    To make sure before going in to college that your FAFSA is straighten out.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College is a great college for temporary two-year school. It let freshmen experience and see how a real college takes place. Lastly, it has excellent tutoring opportunities.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    My sister goes here, and I'm excited to start in the Fall!

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of places that you can hang around with friends and enjoy the beautiful outside weather in South Carolina. The campus is both shady and sunny so there is a style for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    I cannot personally comment on the food at the campus. I tend to go off of campus for my meals inbetween classes. I do hear very good things about the food from other students.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are very challenging and the teachers as well. They have high expectations that you would not find at any technical school. Be ready for a tough ride through.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you go to this College, make sure you keep a good GPA so that you can get the LIFE Scholarship. This will pay for all of the tuition and books for this school making it a great choice of education.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College is a very good college for the money. The level of education there is just as good as any other University that you will go to. Most everyone is friendly, and the campus is rather nice for a Technical School.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Trident Technical College is committed to providing an atmosphere for learning by preserving peace and order, and promoting safety and security for everyone on campus (person and property.)

    Greek Life

    See Clubs and Activities above.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a long list of clubs and organizations, including Greek organizations, and other clubs relating to student life, and specific majors.

    Great for these types of students

    Students just out of high school, older students who have families, students wanting to improve skills for work, students focusing on a career. Trident Technical College is set up to accommodate everyone who is interested in learning.

    Bang for the buck

    Most definitely, money well-spent. I retained more of the material from Trident than form another institution.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student groups to join. I intend to investigate and participate in at least one this time. I was unable to participate before because I had small children at home.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining room with food prepared by the culinary arts students. Divine.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging, and I was able to use the course content to improve my position at work. The teachers expect a lot from the students, but it is worth it in the end. I'm looking forward to the challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, and don't feel intimidated.

    In three sentences

    I previously attended Trident Technical College. I chose Trident again because of the quality and commitment from faculty that I received the last time I attended. I am in a transfer program and on course.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found it offensive. 12 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    From the looks of things use the free wifi! Just kidding I'm much to old for fun maybe next review.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very poor but its that or zaxby's and they are not cheap!!!

    Dorm Life

    Did not stay on campus housing

    Academic Rigor

    They hire regular people off the street with any educational back ground so one teacher may say this is wrong and next term no that's right.

    Tips for prospective students

    The financial aid department is filled with people who don't know what they are doing don't give up.

    In three sentences

    I would say if you live near and have nowhere else to go then attend you will be fine. However its not somewhere I would send my grandchild. The teachers and financial aid office alone make the hairs on the back of my neck stand up.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Trident is not in the best part of town. It has lower income houseing near and around it, but I've never had a problem with saftey. I do get email alerts about issues on campus, but I'm not leaving anything of value in my car nor am I walking to my car alone at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm joining the Student Nurses Association, but that's really all I know.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Trident is great for students who can't handle the full 4 year program. Even though nursing is a hard subject, 4 year programs are very difficult as well and again it requires a lot more focus than people are willing to give it.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Trident is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    I play sports, run, participate in water sports (SUP, jet skiing, boating) and I have a vegetable garden.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus but I hear they have a food court.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing is a challenging program to begin with because it is dealing with people's lives. You have to mentally and physically prepare to handle the fast paced work load and be ready for anything that comes your way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have all of your ducks in a row before you begin college. This is your chance to make something really great for yourself and you really need to be prepared. When in doubt research it out, don't just assume because 9 times out of 10 you will be wrong and it can affect your college status.

    In three sentences

    I think Trident Technical College is on the verge of something great with the Nursing program with classes only being 7 weeks long. This not only makes the student responsible for mostly self-teaching to get the required work done, but it helps keep the student focused on the subject at hand. Most colleges run about 15 weeks long and students can lose focus and forget what they learn because they were not forced to do the work in such a small amount of time.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe even late at night. We have a public safety crew who take their job seriously, so we can not only be safe but feel safe.

    Greek Life

    PTK... love it...

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society. It has been tremendous fun. I have gone on paid trips and been to N. Carolina and Seattle, Washington for the international convention. The goal is to teach and promote completion of college degrees. Our country needs to catch up with the world in education. PTK is working to get people to commit to complete their college education. The president of our college is 100% for all the clubs because it keeps students involved and encourages completion of our education. She, Dr. Thornley , is a fantastic person. We are blessed to have her guiding us.

    Great for these types of students

    The one who wants to transfer to a 4 year school, the person who needs a new career because the economy has ended their job, the person who wants a life change. This school is for everyone no matter the age.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    between the 100 and 300 building is a great place to meet. Shaded and lots of places to sit. Private lounges in the library, 100 building and 600 building. Most offer machines to get refreshments as well.

    Bang for the buck

    A 2 year technical school is the way to go because you can transfer to the 4 year colleges that our state has. About 95% of the classes transfer as well. This places so much less financial burden on the student and/or parent. There are 4 campuses across the tri-county area with new additions being added and new construction occuring now. The school is growing and meeting the needs of the community. I am so proud to be a student at Trident Tech....

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and organizations offer extra curricular activity that looks great on one's resume. It is a great way to make new friends and become involved in your community. Most teach leadership skills and are so much fun. It is a good way to learn about the different facets of the school one attends.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a small cafe to purchase meals where there is a nice variety to choose from. The food is very inexpensive. We have a culinary school and one can make lunch reservations and be served a sit-down meal. It is great food and very elegant.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply.. but the parking lots are nice...

    Academic Rigor

    Show up to class, do the homework and participate. That is half the battle to A's. The teachers make the lectures interesting and most elective classes are fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go early and find out all the information you need to get started. Talk to your teachers and advisor because they want you to succeed. Get involved in clubs and organizations because it is fun and teaches one leadership skills.

    In three sentences

    The school process to get started toward an Associates Degree is very easy and the people make it simple and quick for one to apply. The staff and teachers are truly caring and amazing people. The school offers an incredible amount of degrees and certificates.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a lot of security on campus. Every thing is carefully watched. And they have great safety measures.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities. I'm currently in the criminal justice club and they are very informative. They also have exciting activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are enthusiastic ambitious and dedicated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are really know unusual traditions so far that Ive seen.

    What to do for fun

    I write poetry ,and spend a lot of time in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome the environment is very clean and the people are courteous.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are are good they have lots of resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to go all the way. Be dedicated. And always stay focused.

    In three sentences

    Trident Tech is a very good school. Everyone is helpful. This school has great instructors

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great teaching for a lot less than most traditional four year colleges

    Food and Dining

    They have vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are made much easier due to the teachers and their willingness to help you succede

    Tips for prospective students

    This a good way to get started if you are unsure which direction you want to head in after high school.

    In three sentences

    The teachers at Trident Technical College have been great. They are willing to meet with you and help in anyway possible. The school is affordable and has several campuses.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At main campus public safety takes forever to get to you location, but at Palmer campus, best believe they will be there in a hot second

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    TTC has plenty clubs & activities for all kind.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are trying to save money, Nursing students, Engineering/Boeing Students, students who simply love the southern hospitality

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Before the week of exams, they have a little flash mob thing I guess its somewhat cute.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends, join clubs, and go on tour sites around Downtown Charleston. Just simply be involved in school and the community.

    Food and Dining

    At main campus the food is always on point. I can't speak for Berkely or MT. Pleasant never been there. Palmer on the other hand..... their ok I guess.

    Dorm Life

    NO DORMS = NO STARS, but they do have apartments around campus that give out student & military discounts

    Tips for prospective students

    Have faith in yourself, Be self-disciplined, Be motivated, Join clubs to build up skills, and always say hi to the dean.

    In three sentences

    The professors I've had so far are the best. They are always willing to help. They also love their students very much.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found it offensive. 18 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself to transfer.

    In three sentences

    It is an awful school. Good teachers. Bad student body.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall, Trident has been a safe environment for me. I've never had any occurences or have ever felt unsafe.

    Great for these types of students

    Any students needing a flexible schedule or wanting to dedicate all their time. Part time/Full time. Great for students of any age!

    Bang for the buck

    Trident Tech has been everything I have expected and more!

    What to do for fun

    There are many different clubs to join!

    Food and Dining

    Has a nice cafeteria area that serves hot/cold food.

    Dorm Life

    Does not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    *Attend seminars to get information. *If you are not sure about somthing, ask!

    In three sentences

    Trident Tech is very flexible, if more education is what you are looking for, Trident most likely has the perfect time and day schedule for you! Trident is helpful answering any questions you may have and their website can also be very helpful. My experience with the professors at Trident has been awesome so far!

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lots of security, also great to have numbers available

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    love the 920 building

    Bang for the buck

    Trident Technical College cares about your knowledge or lack of. I enjoy

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria, a little expensive

    Dorm Life

    None available

    Academic Rigor

    You have lots of opinions to attend classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you always check your college emails for important information about your financial aid. ASAP!!!!

    In three sentences

    It is in a bus route It has lots of resources The staff is friendly

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus patrolled day and night

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students, Highschool Graduates, Adults

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for a small price

    What to do for fun

    Mall close buy, movie theatre, strip malls, book stores

    Food and Dining

    Cafe on campus, plenty of restuarants across the street, easy access

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very Good

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up, if you can dream it, you can achieve it

    In three sentences

    Awesome school to attend Having fun learning what I love Great experience

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always around making people feel very secure.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for older people going back to school and its also great for young adults to attend with their busy schedules.

    Bang for the buck

    Its really great for people who don't want to spend a lot of money on getting their basics done first.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of stuff to do with all of the clubs that you can join.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is ok.

    Dorm Life

    They have no dorms at all. its a community college

    Academic Rigor

    It is great academic wise and I have learned a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check ratemyproffesor.com for every semester to choose your teachers.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school with great professors. I have enjoyed it the year and a half I have been there so far.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities that you can do on campus, but since this is a technical college, students live off campus and get to experience the beautiful Charleston for fun!

    Food and Dining

    I have not yet eaten in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    They do not provide dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes have challenged me, but it was nothing that I couldn't overcome!

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should definitely apply as soon as possible, register for classes as soon as possible because they do fill up quickly, and always manage your time efficiently. Education is important to your success.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College has been very helpful in making sure that I am taking all the classes I need to succeed. I have been challenged in all of my classes, but I am doing well. Most of the professors make it known that they wish nothing but the success of all students.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Charleston is a culinary wonderland. Although Trident does off a cafeteria of sorts, you're not limited to going downtown and getting an awesome meal there.

    Dorm Life

    Trident Technical college doesn't have their own dorms; but finding a place to live in Charleston can be pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you don't know what you want to do as a career, get your basics down and then go from there to get a degree.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College is a great school with so many opportunities. Its perfect for those of us who have busy schedules because of their variety of classes and times. Anyone at any age can attend.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Saftey staff always at the call and ready to assist anyone if something arrises.

    Great for these types of students

    Night owls because logs of afternoon classes available. Not for every subject but enough to keep stress levels low.

    Bang for the buck

    With a low tuition it helps keep all loans low and makes it more appleaing to the financially challanged individuals.

    Food and Dining

    Food is delicious with great opptions available.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Not too difficult but not so easy that just anyone would get through with a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep track of all class updates and make sure not to let the laid back schedule cloud your mind. While it is nice for the less focused student it can be an issue.

    In three sentences

    I wonderful school with very compassionate staff and dedicated professors. It works well for students who are night owls and day walkers. I would recomend this school to anyone just stepping into the college life.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is very good for your money even with help from the lottery. It is a great school. There are scholarships available to those who qualify.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and activities. They have little festivals for around Christmas time. They always have bulletin boards around campus with a lot of events on them.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but pricey. I wish it was less expensive but it is really nice to be able to grab something to eat while I have some time before class.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They have so many programs to choose from. They also have a great nursing program. The classes are small and they fill up fast so sign up early.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely look into scholarships although it is cheaper the scholarships can save you even more money. They are great with helping out veterans or people with disabilities.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school and is a lot cheaper than most colleges out there. I am getting a great education and the classes are generally small.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cars are broken into and bikes are stolen. But what can you do?

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many.

    Great for these types of students

    Returning, Middle-aged, and Veterans.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Cost about 1/4 less than other colleges in the area and still fully credited.

    What to do for fun

    Video games in the cafe and culinary arts bake sales.

    Food and Dining

    Fresh food daily in the cafeteria. Staff is pretty awesome!

    Dorm Life

    NONE/ off campus choice only.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply online and talk to an admissions coordinator about options.

    In three sentences

    Trident Tech is very convenient. It doesn't matter how old you are, they have people to assist you in every subject. I definitely highly recommend TTC.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None because the school do the same activities every year that caters to older students. Nothing to set the world on fire

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap to attend, but do your financial aid very early.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really because the organizations you want to be part of, only meet once a month during the day. Instead of meeting at night which can be more feasible especially if a student is working during the day.

    Food and Dining

    The student run dining room is the best to go to. However, the school's cafe is less desirable.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Trident Tech is a mixed bag, but the curriculum can be challenging. But it is all worth it in the in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Trident Technical College is an open school anyone can go there. Even the less desirable individuals. Great college if you want to learn a trade or get a certification for a career. Also be on top of Financial Aid. The office is very unorganized. Do not like to return calls.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College Department of Law Related Studies is very decent program. The instructors respond to you quickly and well organized.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 68

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Trident is a good starting point to get into a regional or state 4-year school. Most programs here are transferable to bigger colleges. Counselors and teachers are helpful, tuition is reasonable, lottery assistance is available to all.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and organizations you can get involved in. Make sure you look at each and every one.

    Food and Dining

    The food at TTC is delicious! They need a little more of a variety however.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms at TTC, it is a commuting college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging, and educational. The Academics are no joke!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out their majors, and financial aid. Check out the location of the campus you want to attend, and think about if you want to possibly transfer to a 4-year college.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College is a great school for students who have not been in a school environment in a while. It is also great for students who are getting started and are not sure about what they want to major in. Trident is a great school for those who do not have money for college, Trident offers a lot of help in scholarships.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are dozens of clubs and organizations to keep the fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is an excellent on campus restaurant where the culinary students prepare the food and serve it. They do different cuisines every week, and though I haven't been there personally, I've heard only excellent reviews on the food, staff and atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Trident Tech.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is hard enough to make you think but not so hard as to push you too far.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd tell prospective students not to expect teachers like the ones in high school. At Trident, the teachers are all so helpful and they care and they do everything they can to make sure you succeed in not only college, but throughout your life as well.

    In three sentences

    Trident Tech is amazing. The teachers are all very helpful and caring. The school is not so big that any one student gets lost in the crowd but not too small either. It's very clean, attractive and just all around a great place to get a degree or certificate.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 68

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Its great and the teachers are awesome.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure you stay connected with your advisor.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College is a great school. The class sizes are outstanding and the professors are very educated. I would recomend this school to anyone who is looking for a well rounded school.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Public Safety is a priority here. They do regular drills and checks to make sure all attending are safe and informed. It is easy to reach them, and they are always available for questions or concerns. They are on top of things for safety at the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wade variety of student activity groups and clubs on campus who provide informed data to make a decision on who to promote. There are clubs and groups for almost every major concentration, and they get you involved. To list a few, there is the National Honor Society - Phi Theta Kappa, there is the Student Accounting Association, Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP), Call Me MISTER, Clemente Coalition, Criminal Justice Student Association, International Club just to name a few. The list goes on and on. All of these groups are they to assist you in obtaining the most out of your college experience, as well as giving back to the community that supports it. Check them out.

    Bang for the buck

    Trident is a great educational facility. It has ties to College of Charleston, Strayer University, Culinary School of Charleston, the list goes on. They are focused on providing the top education classes for further development to another school, as well as making the transition painless for the student. On top of that, there are faculty and administrative alike that believe their success comes from your success, and so help make you successful! This school is one of the best to attend in the South, and also one of the most affordable. It is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Trident has all kinds of organizations and student activity groups for fun things that are free. Downtown Charleston is a 20 minute bus trip with tons to do and see. There are several beaches in the area and the buses go there as well. You will definitely not be bored.

    Food and Dining

    This school is outside of Charleston, with some of the greatest dining places in the world! Also, the cafeteria at school (the break area) has a wide variety of foods prepared fresh daily, from sushi to pizza, to burgers and fried chicken. Take your pick. I haven't eaten anything that wasn't really good.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus. Don't know about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    When you go to class, you know you are in college. This is not for the soft at heart or quitters. They really teach you something. You are not in Kansas anymore, Dorothy. This is the big leagues. Study, study, study! And do your homework. It is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to your advisors. Listen to your financial aides and professors. They will steer you in the right direction that will get you to where you want to go. And they will be there every step of the way to help make that happen.

    In three sentences

    This is one of the easiest schools to enroll in. All the administrative people are there to help you get settled, and will do EVERYTHING they can to accomplish that goal. This school is truly about the student first.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is so good I know all of them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs to choose from and some of them are extremely active. The JAEC has anime night every month, the international club puts on skits and shows, other clubs have food sales through out the year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not many people know about the garden area, or they just don't think other students are allowed in there. It is a great place to take photos, relax and sit a while studding. Check out the green house to see some beautiful orchids too.

    Bang for the buck

    The student bus pass is the best deal you could ever purchase. You just have to show your student ID each time you get on the bus. But it could save you hundreds a semester in gas.

    What to do for fun

    I personally take photos of the campus for the School News paper the Trident Times. Students play hacky-sack, & Frisbee on the campus green. Students gather on the patios to talk and play music. Many of the student clubs have events and shows that are put on in the main buildings. Keep an eye out for theater productions by the theater classes and

    Food and Dining

    The cafe in the administration building is slowly getting better. The prices are high and the quality is low. If anything eat the sushi...it is made right there and pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    The Commercial Graphics program is rigid, due to the due dates and imitation of real life experience. The program gives students a taste of what a real client will expect in this field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early...when you do you can win something through financial aide. Visit your adviser at least once or twice a semester and get to know them academically, most likely they will also be your professor one semester. If you need help on assignments don't hesitate to ask your professor, they are there to help you, ask them.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College is in my opinion one of the better community colleges here in Charleston. The campus is beautiful, the professors are helpful and the programs available are multiple. The college strives to help each and every student as best as they can.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always seen driving around on duty and if anything happens they are quick to alert the students and staff for your safety.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately we do not have sororities or fraternities.

    What to do for fun

    Trident is near everything so if you don't participate in school activities such as programs or community assistance. Downtown is only 10-15 minutes away and the beaches are beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is amazing! They always have something new or you can get the same snack/meal as always. They have a wide variety so try everything once and trust you won't be disappointed.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately Trident Tech doesn't have dorms but they do have nice apartments nearby that give discounts for the school students.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Trident is a great school. They help you succeed and prepare you for life when you plan on transferring or finish your associates degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Starting off at a big school isn't for everyone and attending a small community college first can help more than you know. Like any other college, staying up on work is a must to become a better person that you desire.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College is a step away from for some but it is one of the best academic technical schools that I have looked into. The classes are small so your instructors can focus on you more and the online instructors are very helpful as well. Starting off at Trident has helped me look into more into what I want to do and as has prepared me to further my education at a university.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has excellent security .The security team ride around the school.The security team reports any crime vie e-mail.

    Greek Life

    There are many offered but do not belong to Greek life.I heard Greek life is fun.Greek life do lots of fun activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs offered to join.

    Great for these types of students

    all students would like this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The food court has a variety of good food and conversations

    Bang for the buck

    There is reasonably priced food.

    What to do for fun

    For fun join clubs. For fun volunteer.For fun start your own group.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and has a good variety.There are several drinks to choose from.There are other students to talk to while dining.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is non applicable, I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    There are terrific selections to choose from.The classes are great for your field of study.The school gives you opportunities for academic scholarships.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions if you are not sure. Buddy up with a fellow student.Attend group studies.Attend group study.

    In three sentences

    This a great college.It offers many opportunities.The staff is friendly and helpful.The grounds and inside the building is always clean.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always see security on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Student's that need the flexibility of attending classes because they work.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of courses and books at TTC is a great savings to those that don't want to accrue student loans to get the basic / core courses completed before transferring to a four (4) year college.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't great at the Berkeley Campus and the food at the Main Campus isn't much better than typical High School Cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    TTC doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    TTC is harder than the average student anticipates. I feel that many come thinking it isn't as hard because it isn't a four (4) year college, but that isn't the case at all. The courses are comparable to that of a University .

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a good foundation with your academic adviser and stay in touch with them. The same goes for your assigned financial aid advisor. Get involved with study and student activity groups around campus.

    In three sentences

    TTC offers a wide range/variety of courses. They course are compatible with transferring to four (4) year colleges. The atmosphere is good.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a fantastic gym there! Go workout and stay healthy!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do you best taking the placement test!

    In three sentences

    My experience with Trident Technical College so far has been great. The people who help to enroll students are fantastic, especially in the Admissions and Financial Aid department. My advisor has been hard to get a hold of to set up an appointment with to register for classes but other than that, I haven't had any problems! :-)

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest, yet best and well known nursing programs in the state

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs at the school, but also plenty to do around town, including the beach not too far away

    Food and Dining

    Most of the time, the food is great

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Read everything carefully. If they put it in print, they mean it, no way around it

    In three sentences

    TTC's application process was great. Most of the teachers seem to really care about you. The only problem I'f found is that the classes I need aren't offered at a variety of times and that makes going to school and working at the same time hard

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every student!

    What to do for fun

    Hanging at the cafe, or working out in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing ! The school has a healthy cafe and a regular cafe. BEST OF BOTH WORLDS.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared with everything you'll need and what you think you need when applying. Pace yourself when it come to classes only to 2 at a time max, unless you can handle 4.

    In three sentences

    Trident technical college is a very nice two year school. Programs are very up to date. The faculty and staff are very helpful.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've never been to the cafe but it is ran by culinary students and I hear it's delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I've heard that classes at this technical college are more challenging than some of the universities in the state.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and set aside time to study. Teachers at this college do not go easy on you.

    In three sentences

    Trident is a very good college for students who are working and have families. Their online college is amazing.

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe at Trident, We have police officers that patrol the area and drive around campus, We have a campus safety numbers. I even used them when I locked my keys in my car twice!

    Greek Life

    I do not know to much about he Greek Life on campus it is not a overnight school so they would not being living in the same area together or anything it just would be time where they attend meetings and maybe activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not know to much about the clubs for Trident. I do know they talk about them on the website for the school and just for how small Trident is I just know they do not have a ton of clubs that do a lot.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who need flexible schedules, have a job, or a family.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the best part I think of Trident is how much it costs compared to another school. It is the best alternative to a University or some other colleges. Since Trident holds classes that other University or colleges have also so college kids will sometimes go to Trident to save money on any classes they could that would transfer.

    What to do for fun

    Trident does not hold a great deal of fun activities for students. I do not blame them since they are not a university and does not have students living there. Sometimes the school holds activities for the community.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria area that does not serve a ton of food. It is pretty basic food that is already prepared the school just purchases it. There are a couple of drinks machines around the campus but nothing too much. Trident is just not a dorm held school so their food area will not be great its not a focus considering its not use liked a dorm held school would be used.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms here so I rated it low for having none.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't get me wrong they give you warnings if you fail all your classes or withdraw from them. They then put you on probation with a second chance but if you continue you will have to pay for your classes. In class situations with work not completed and things the teachers usually will try to help you if they can and think you deserve it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone can succeed here. Trident provides everything to help you succeed all you have to do is take the help. Always attend class because of flexible schedule and times they need to teach you more at each given time.

    In three sentences

    Trident Tech is great for working individuals and people with families. They have flexible classes and ones online. Trident provides everything you need for your education at a smaller tuition.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety officers keep the school very safe and secure.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer, 2 year associates, culinary, fitness.

    Bang for the buck

    For such a low rate, Trident does not disappoint on the education or academic rigor. It is a great starting point for someone looking to transfer.

    What to do for fun

    You can go sit by the pond and study, go hang out in the cafeteria or common room in the 410 building or go relax quietly in the library! There is also a well equipped gym on campus for those who are interested in fitness like myself!

    Food and Dining

    The food is prepared by students in the culinary program and is actually very tasty! I recommend it for students!

    Academic Rigor

    Just because it is a Technical school does not make the classes any easier or less challenging than a university! I feel very challenged in my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I recommend coming with intent to study and work hard. They will challenge you, but they will also educate you very well.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical college is a great school to get an associates or even start off a transfer. They are easy to deal with, affordable and professional. They also offer many programs of study.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety are always around, super friendly and always on the lookout for trouble!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities and clubs for students, I myself haven't been involved in any because I don't have the time.

    Food and Dining

    I attend the Palmer Campus which is located downtown Charleston, there is a small cafe that sells coffee, snacks and sandwiches, pizza. Its nothing too lush but is great to have when you need something quick between classes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think they actually have dorms at TTC, I have always lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had a couple really hard classes, but in all honesty if you read the materials and ask questions to clarify what could be confusing you, you will be successful at this college!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest turning in any paperwork or forms as early as possible before the semester starts, and checking up on the progress of your application. I had a couple issues after applying but they were quickly resolved once I took the initiative to get the ball rolling!

    In three sentences

    I believe TTC is a great school to go to whether you are just starting out, or planning on transferring to another college one day. I have attended classes here for a couple of years now and haven't taken one class that I didn't like, the teacher to student ratio makes it more of a personable experience in my opinion. Many of the teachers and staff are really helpful and friendly too, which has made my time at TTC wonderful.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    46 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is really safe. I feel really protected. Well protected.

    Food and Dining

    Eat on your own. You have to bring your own food. Or, you have to go some where to get your own.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. You would have to find a place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    It is pretty easy. It is not that hard. They are interested also.

    Tips for prospective students

    To start of with some basic courses to get there feet wet. Then go for it full force.

    In three sentences

    Trident Tech Is one of the best 2 year schools to go to. I have taken classes there before and I am returning there. I send everyone there to at least get started with there college education.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    47 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are phones all over campus that connect you directly to Campus Security if you need them. They are pretty good about contacting the student body about major issues, even using public radio when need be. They send out emails with tips and reminders on safety issues.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school for students who are undecided or who want to send a little less money. They have transfer programs with just about all of South Carolina's four year colleges. The transfer advisors are great. Trident also offers a great many vocational programs.

    Bang for the buck

    With Lottery Assisted Tuition (SC residence only) the cost of attendance is pretty low. Only about $2000 a semester.

    Food and Dining

    Trident Tech does have a cafeteria but it's mostly snack foods offered. I would schedule enough time between classes to walk to a nearby restaurant or bring a lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    It's harder than high school but not as hard as a four year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking at the main campus is crazy! I would get there an hour before you're class starts just to get a spot. Or carpool or use public transportation. The bus stops right in front of the campus and there is a page in the student site dedicated to carpooling. Use ratemyprofessor.com to discover which professors to avoid and which ones to seek out. I wouldn't buy my books until you have attended at least one class of the semester because some professors don't require you to have a book. Every class has a section on Desire 2 Learn (D2L) where most of you're assignments can be found. Math classes have homework that is submitted online. You must make a 90 or higher to even take your test.

    In three sentences

    Trident Tech is a great option for students who are undecided or who have limited funds. There are a variety of classes for you to explore and discover your passions. It is South Carolina's second biggest college so the class sizes are pretty big.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on this campus. There are a lot of public safety officers around, it is very well lit, and they have public safety boxes around so that you can immediately be connected to someone if you need help.

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for student just out of high school to get their feet wet and get into the swing of college classes. Also great for people like myself who are returning to school after a period of time. Very accommodating for students with families and jobs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable. They have a lot of options for times and days to take classes which makes it easier to work or have a family while attending.

    What to do for fun

    They do have a reasonable amount of clubs to join.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to class early to get a decent parking space. Start admissions and financial aid processes very early.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College has very caring and helpful teachers. The buildings and classes are nice and very accessible. However, the administrative side is very hard to deal with and inefficient.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions of your advisors Learn the many different financial aid options Audit classes you are interested in to learn if you may be sucessful based on your findings.

    In three sentences

    TTC offers a wide variety of two-year degrees and certificates. TTC enrollment and graduation rates are a direct reflection of the wide variety of coarses to choose from. TTC offers continuing eduacation training programs and evening programs for working adults

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are so extremely nice on campus. Except one of them who will give you a warning for not using your blinker.... He's always looking for someone. But if you are ever feeling unsafe, they will walk you to your classes. They will do absolutely anything you need. Also, they have safety polls all around campus to call them for help if anything is ever going wrong.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL students. The campus is extremely diverse and I absolutely love it.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money I spent!!! I would do it ALL over again.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there's not much to do. But they do have a gym that is free to students and it is pretty nice!!

    Food and Dining

    THEIR CAFETERIA IS SO AMAZING. You get so much food for what you pay for and it is made fresh right before your eyes. TRY THEIR FRENCH FRIES!!!!!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms at this college. As far as social life on campus goes, there is not much of one unless you join a club.

    Academic Rigor

    You can pass Trident as long you pay attention but if you strive for high grades, it can be difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Trident is going to switch to a fast-forward schedule ONLY. Definitely think about this and see if you are up for 2 hour classes. I love Trident the way it is now and am very disappointed it will be changed. Hopefully, it will still be enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College is incredible, caring, and fun! All of the professors want you to be successful and will help you in whatever way you may need. Definitely recommend this college!

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is so safe I actually lost my computer because I walked away for a moment, and someone got concerned and turned it in to Public Safety! We all had a good laugh afterwards.

    Greek Life

    I've never been involved in this.

    Clubs and Activities

    Once the Model UN voted to establish a world religion based on The Flying Spaghetti Monster.

    Great for these types of students

    Hands-on students who don't require too much focus on theory.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are often impromptu Console Fighting Game tournaments in the main student lounge when Academic Affairs is feeling amenable to it.

    Bang for the buck

    Good.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends in the main student lounge - you're bound to meet interesting people and form your own cliques. The Group has had several generations, each having a hand-off from previous ones.

    Food and Dining

    Bring your own food.

    Dorm Life

    There is none. There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes range from easy enough to lull you into complacency to very intense towards finals, at least where Digital Media is concerned.

    Tips for prospective students

    Deal with Financial Aid as early as possible or else. Make sure you get a bus pass - $10 for an entire season!

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College offers an incredible education in hands-on Digital Media for a reasonable sum. Unfortunately instructors are either absolutely remarkable or lousy - a real hit or miss. Still, if you need a hands-on focus for Digital Media Trident Tech is worth attending.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is right in the middle of North Charleston and there is shopping all around. The most popular places are within a 5 minute car ride from the school and there are bus stops all over campus.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has multiple lounges and has a culinary school on campus. There is a great deal of choice in what you want to eat and relax between classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The instructors are always willing to help. The student resources on campus are always available and up to date.

    In three sentences

    Trident Tech is a very small but comfortable school to attend. The classes that I have taken are almost all transferrable to school around South Carolina. There are so many fields of study that it was difficult to choose at major in the beginning but I had the opportunity to explore without losing much money.

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see campus police everywhere I go on campus so it seems pretty safe. All the classroom doors lock when you close them so nobody can enter the room unless the person on the side lets you in or you have a key.

    What to do for fun

    Biology lab is fun.

    Academic Rigor

    If I can do it. Anybody can do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone working there understands that starting college can be nerve racking. Just walk in and say I need help and they will guide you from beginning to end.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College is very affordable and as far as nursing goes, it is the best college to go to for nursing. No other college has such a great technical program for nursing students like Trident Tech does. The hands on experience you get through Trident is like no other college.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Amazing really quit to react.

    Greek Life

    I am not completely sure, but I am thinking of joining.

    Clubs and Activities

    I honestly have not made it to any of the activity periods due to my schedule being so hectic. However I am part of the Scholars Network Program and Participating in the student work study program.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are really coming to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't say that I know of any

    Bang for the buck

    Super cheap college with great funding programs, and I definately know I am getting my money's worth and then some.

    What to do for fun

    I don't have mush time for that, but when I do I am with my daughter Kamora.

    Food and Dining

    Snack machines and 2 diner/cafe places, but they close by 12 pm and 4 pm. I take classes in the evening and that does not benefit me. Honestly the food isn't great at either one anyways.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this college

    Academic Rigor

    I am a freshman and I dropped out of high school with only 2 credits, never passed 9th grade. I have had ADHD my whole life and I do not take medication for it. I have not been to school until now in 13 years. I never thought I would be able to do it. Also I have a crazy but awesome 2 year old and work full-time. I started in the spring fast foward semster full time with 12 credit hours, because I didn't know any better. So without being at school for that long and all the obstacles I faced, my proffesors were awesome and I made the Dean's List my first crazy busy semester back! What a great feeling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the Scholars Network Program. They are only reliable source of help I have come across since I have been there.

    In three sentences

    Every proffesor I have had so far has been amazing. Unfortunatly I don't feel the same way about the departments that are suppose to help you figure things out. For example the financial aid office, the student advisors, and the counselors you talk to before you apply.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    55 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At the moment we have been having a few break into cars and a flasher bothering female students.

    Clubs and Activities

    I didn't joining many clubs but I hear that there are a lot on campus

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great start to do transfer to a higher learning institute.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some great profesors there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Obtain the classes needed and move on as quickly as possible,

    In three sentences

    It is a step between Highschool and those truly wanting to go to a college.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who is willing to learn!

    Bang for the buck

    Trident Technical College isn't an expensive school. You can be a full time student for $771.00 a semester.

    What to do for fun

    Trident Technical College has many different clubs you can join. The college also just added on a gymnasium for students to access for free.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms provided.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's best to study everyday! Material is hard to learn all at once, so if you study each day, it'd easier to take in.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical College is great start here college. Many students of different age groups, ethnicity, and goals are accepted here. Trident Technical College provides many different programs to all.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and secure! There are boxes all around to dial for safety. There are also cameras everywhere

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities at TTC! There is a club for people who love technology!

    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional!

    Bang for the buck

    The price is definitely right to start your prerequisites and then transfer to a 4 year college! You will save on the back end at Trident Technical College!

    What to do for fun

    There is a new gym at the school! There are clubs that meet and different activities the school does on a consistent bsis!

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright but not the greatest.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms...

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of academic life at the school is good! I'm glad they are moving toward a schedule where the classes are now shortened to 14 weeks as opposed to the longer semesters! This, I think will give nontraditional students like me the opportunity to advance faster than expected and still meet all my obligations as a mother, wife and I work part-time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and don't stop because if you do, you will not finish! I graduated high school when I was 16 years of age. I didn't finish college because I wasn't sure of what I wanted to do in life. I have been going off and on to Trident Tech for years and have finally gotten serious about the educational field I desire to be in. Now that I have gotten to the point where I need to be, I am struggling financially to pay for college. When I was getting grants, I didn't buckle down and do my work consistently! So, I was placed on Financial Aid probation and now cannot attend classes. You don't won't to be in my situation! Keep going, take college seriously and don't stop!

    In three sentences

    The price is good for an education and skill you can use to better yourself and your community. It has nice facilities throughout Charleston and Berkeley counties. The locations and hours are convenient. The online classes offered are good as well.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    absolutely safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    48 clubs and different activities on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for aim-oriented student who knows why they going to school. if you are transfer student, you should know ahead what classes to take , so you won't be wasting you time for unnecessary classes!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the main campus: 1) Nice place to relax is next to building 100 (china garden for meditation) 2) At the building 500 in the library on the second floor a lot of private spaces where anyone may do homework (free WiFi all over the campus) 3) at the building 950, next to the book store, free fitness center for student and faculty (only student ID needed)

    Bang for the buck

    As I sad earlier, the most affordable college in Charleston,SC For any instate citizen the lottery assistance is available (which is covering 70% of tuition) If you qualified for FAFSA - you are full covered + about 500-900$ a semester are going to your packet!

    What to do for fun

    Student launch at the building 410 every day from 8a.m till 6p.m. Join Phi Theta Kappa club - they are really fun! Other club of interest as well (I only been at PTK)

    Food and Dining

    Main campus of Trident Technical College has three cafes. On of them (the oldest) at the building 410 (i try not to it there), another at the Building 920-we have an restaurant there, very nice and space big place! The only problem they open just in the particular time and particular days (need to know a schedule). Student from culinary school will serve you there, and you may see all the process in the back of the kitchen through the windows! Interesting place to est!.And the last, but not list, place at the main campus it is a brain new cafe at the building 950. Very nice! I have my lunch there often!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms at trident Tech.

    Academic Rigor

    as usually: you should follow the schedule of your homework, quizzes and tests, to make sure you do everything on time

    Tips for prospective students

    Be smart - think about where you can get en education without dept.

    In three sentences

    The most affordable college in Charleston, SC area. Best choice for transferable students: safe money and prepare for the next steps. Great opportunity for a career change.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here, many emergency phone booths throughout campus.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    lots to choose from, take your pic

    Great for these types of students

    Beginner students, first time students back after sometime and anyone wanting to learn again.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, the tuition is very affordable and much appreciated.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student activities here and tons of clubs to join. There is always something going on campus.

    Food and Dining

    great new café area with lots of options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    It is a commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not let the term technical college, mislead the curriculum here is that of any four year.

    Tips for prospective students

    stop by, sign up for tours to really get a feel for the campus.

    In three sentences

    A great experience before jumping into a four year. Very reasonable on tuition. Amazing support from your instructors and professors with willingness to provide full understanding of material.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I just finished auditioning for The Odyssey as told by Dr Seuss. Clubs, organizations, meditation groups, free gym, marathons, and more.

    Food and Dining

    I work for the catering company that provides the food for Trident's cafeterias; each have their own unique menu to provide a plethora of tasty options. Sushi is prepared daily and the gym has a healthy option/smoothie bar.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, 2 year commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the courses taught at Trident are put into 7-week formats, and transfer to all SC state colleges and potentially others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources given to you, don't miss a class unless you must, and have fun with it. Life is too short to give up trying!

    In three sentences

    Trident is a very eclectic student body filled with quirky personalities and local flavour. Most of my teachers are average, but most will work with you on problem areas while providing a wholesome education. It's growing and growing, so much has been added for activities and resources since I attended 4 years ago.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun times when not hitting the book studying, you can find me hanging out downtown with friends grabbing dinner and a show. In the Spring and Summer months you will always find me soaking up some vitamin D on the beach.

    Food and Dining

    I mainly eat at home to save on money. I do not go out to eat very often simply because it can get expensive. I save my money to go out with friends on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    I actually do not live in a dorm. I live with my parents while I am going to school. I commute back and forth to the connected campus in Mt. Pleasant. I do not think that living with a bunch of strangers is my forte.

    Academic Rigor

    the diversity is amazing, you can be who you want to be without a bunch of judgement. The professors do not over load you with more than you handle. You must be able to time manage a great bit in college. Period.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not be afraid to ask a bunch of questions, it is likely that someone else did not understand it as well.

    In three sentences

    Trident is a very confusing school. it took me a while until I finally caught on how things worked. I had to not be afraid to ask questions about anything.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    SO MANY VARIETIES FROM HAMBURGERS TO SUSHI!

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 68

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study

    Food and Dining

    Did not eat on campus / vending machines work less than half the time

    Dorm Life

    Did not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    They could offer higher level classes that wont need to be retaken at other colleges or are transferable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are undecided or unsure of which educational goals or degree that you want to be placed in, choose carefully and make sure you read the reviews of the current on staff advisor for that area before meeting with them. Most of the advisor's are awesome, but there are a few that will show you the door before you can even say hello.

    In three sentences

    Trident is an excellent college to attend if you have done your research and already know what courses you need to take.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    64 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I'm pretty sure they have a club for every major which is rare in technical colleges. I'm a CRJ major and they even have a club for us!

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, relaxed, passive.

    Bang for the buck

    Location location location. Plus Charleston is just an all around great city to live in!

    What to do for fun

    It's Charleston!! Go downtown, head to Folly Beach, explore historic parts of town, go to Tanger outlets, or just relax at the battery. Never Bored.

    Food and Dining

    They do have a cafe, never been in it though.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms since it's a technical college.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't attended any classes yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your transcripts sent early, call the office if you have any questions, you'd be amazed at how helpful they can be based on your situation. Keep track of all deadlines for financial aid, applications, and registration.

    In three sentences

    Easy to apply Helpful admissions staff Great location

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For those busy with life and in need of flexibility.

    What to do for fun

    Learn, work out, and watch the ducks swim the pond!!!

    Food and Dining

    Multiple dining areas, cafes and vending machines are available at the students' convenience.

    Academic Rigor

    The more difficult it is; the more you learn!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do it! Don't let fear of the unknown stand between you and a better future. Your life will remain static if you don't step up and attempt to make a difference.

    In three sentences

    Continuing my education and finding a program suitable to my specific needs as a mother, wife and full time employee seemed to be an overwhelming task. Trident Technical College was able to suit all of these areas in my life and help me to get rolling on making my life even better with an education leading to an amazing career in Radiologic Technology. Couldn't have asked for a better beginning!

  • 04/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    66 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose from.

    Bang for the buck

    TTC offers free gym privileges for current students.

    Food and Dining

    TTC has 2 cafe also a dining room for select dates you can get a 5 course meal for about $12. If you not to keen on campus food there are many great restaurants nearby.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early classes fill fast depending on course your taking.

    In three sentences

    Great school! Most professors are great, but you have a few that seem like they have no bedside manner (just my opinion).

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    67 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security in strictly enforced on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of activities and clubs to join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The have a new Nursing building that I am very happy about.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it, the college tuition and fees compared to other surrounding colleges are way cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    I love to dance and listen to music. I am not a very good dancer or singer but who cares.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has really good food and a big selection of choices.

    Dorm Life

    Its a community college so no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had really good teachers and learned a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best not to miss any days from school the college is getting really strict about attendance and they will take some of your financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Trident Technical college is a great affordable community college. The tuition and fees are affordable. I would rate it an 8 only because some of the teachers seem a little inexperienced in their field. But overall it is a great start to further your education goals. The campus is pretty nice and all of classes I've had about 20-30 people.

  • 05/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    68 of 68

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have top notch campus safety. We will get email alerts and text messages alerting us of any accidents, strange activity, and even severe weather alerts its really good to know if your concerned for your own safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have plenty of student clubs and activities at Trident Tech for a lot of different people, one of my favorites is the vet club. They also have other clubs like cooking club and international club, even an anime club. They are a lot of fun too!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who put 100% into focusing and learning the material given.

    Bang for the buck

    At Trident Tech if you are a student that takes notes and pays attention in class and attends class on a regular basis then I assure you, you will get what your paying for! Whether you get the Bang for your Buck is up to you initially!

    What to do for fun

    I like to ride my horse fancy she is a good physical therapy for me that I need every week. I don't know where my life would be without her she is my inspiration for wanting to become a veterinary technician.

    Food and Dining

    They have excellent dining options available but if your a thrifty person then I highly suggest you look into other food options even if it means bringing your lunch to school like I do.

    Dorm Life

    Trident technical college does not have dorms on site.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic expectations are high. There are plenty of teachers that drill information into your head quite literally and expect you to know every inch of the material forwards and backwards. Instructions are always clear, lessons are always concise, and learning experiences are unforgettable.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips is to always do your best and to remember that professors are like students in the sense that not every professor has a teaching style that best suits you. I would ask around about your professors and go to ratemyproffesors.com to get student reviews about your professors before blindly taking a class with them. Its a life saver and you will find a professor that is right for your learning style.

    In three sentences

    I love trident technical college and I would recommend it to anyone. We have an excellent and willing staff members and wonderful students whom are willing to help you as well. Trident is a hands down excellent college at little expense with high expectations and professionalism.